26

4.4 based on 26 customer reviews

19
3
1
1
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

69 Customer Reviews

0

Average Performance with Clumsy Controls

WF-1000XM3 06/12/2019 by Richarf

I decided to try these Sony headphones but am really disappointed and sorry I bought them. Sound Is okay/average. Tap controls are frustratingly unresponsive and battery life is nowhere near the 4 hours promised. I'm going to try to return them but I'm not hopeful of a refund. I do not recommend this product. Stay away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

What a disappointment

WF-1000XM3 05/12/2019 by Anas82

You'd think that when pay £219 for a pair of earphones that uoi would at least get a decent performance. For some reason, when making phone calls the mic seems to prefer to pick up amient noise more than my own voice. Could a single phone call without the other party complaining that they couldn't hear me. The worst of all, th e right earphone decided not work or more accurately, decided to attenuate the output by more than 80%. Now I have the music coming out of only the left earphone

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Excellent quality

WF-1000XM3 05/12/2019 by Slavekd

Excellent sound quality but noise cancelling is questionable. Also issues with bluetooth connection (even if apps installed on the phone are blamed for braking the connection, this issue does not exist with other headphones). On the other hand, volume control added in the last update improved usability significantly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Appalling

WF-1000XM3 05/12/2019 by Alyx

Bought this last week, the charging case is now non responsive. Impossible to recherche . For more than £200 this is simply unacceptable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great earphones

WF-1000XM3 04/12/2019 by nix90

I am really happy with these earphones. The sound quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

The call quality is HORRIBLE!!!

WF-1000XM3 02/12/2019

Such a disappointment for Sony claiming to have the best noise cancelling earphones when the call quality is utter TRASH. No joke. The noise cancelling is useful when you are listening to songs only. But when you are on a call, you can hear the background clearly even though you are wearing the earphones. You can't turn on the noise cancelling for some reasons. Hence, what you hear is background noise when you are on a call. The receiving end of the call has even worst quality. They can't even hear my voice. What they heard is just the background noise. Loud and amplified background noise. That is how bad it is. I don't know if this is due to the update or this pair of earphones are just horrible. I bought this earphone mainly because it has an ANC feature and clearly it is a waste of my money. A premium earphone that has a premium price of £220 with a FAKE premium feature is just utter disappointment. I DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone buying this unless you have extra £220 to spend on. Not till SONY make a huge update to its software on this issue. Just go to the community page and see the review of this earphone's call quality. Everyone is talking about it. Please do not get fooled by the review on Youtube or online. See the community's review as this is the genuine review of the earphone.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Customer support
06/12/2019

Hi DanielChung16,

Thank you for your review.

We would like to point out that the noise cancellation technology is not effective during calls. Although it protects the user of the headphones from the surrounding noise, it does not apply to the receiver of the call as they will hear the background noise. The surrounding noise is picked up by the microphone used for the call, located outside the shell of the headphones. You can find more information about the noise cancellation and what to expect here: clc.am/s44Y7Q.If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: http://bit.do/feBvw (copy and paste the links into your web browser).

Sony support team

0

Forget the fashion and embrace the quality

WF-1000XM3 01/12/2019 by amadorfun

The earbuds are amazing, regarding quality and functions. Maybe they are not the most fashionable but who cares when the important is the sound?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Somewhat disappointing

WF-1000XM3 01/12/2019 by Wizzo1

I have a pair of Bose NC full headphones, but bought these "in ear" phones for their convenience and looks. I selected them for their NC feature passing up the option of much cheaper non NC 'phones. I must say I am disappointed. Firstly the NC feature is poor, all it seems to do when it is selected is turn up the volume in an attempt to drown ambient noise. When in use they also seem to "check" what mode has been selected, interrupting the music being played and often - for no apparent reason - switch from noise cancelling to ambient sound. I then have to manually cycle back to the desired mode of NC. While I was aware that for controls I had to use the Sony app on my phone for volume etc., it has proved a fair bit more inconvenient than I expected. The power charge is good both in the 'phones and the case and gives good period of use on a single charge. The acoustics are OK, but not a patch on over-the-ear 'phones, but I guess I should have expected that. On balance I'd say this was not a worthwhile purchase.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

Response From Customer support
05/12/2019

Hi Wizzo,

Thank you for your feedback.
We recommend making sure the headphones are running the latest firmware version to improve the overall performance and stability: https://clc.to/H3fnXg (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

We would like to offer our help with the issues you may still be facing with the headphones after the update. You can contact us using this link: https://clc.to/fbwqdw

Sony support team

0

Great features.

WF-1000XM3 30/11/2019 by Sheila63

I bought these ear phones as I have hearing recruitment and the active noise cancelling feature is exactly what I need in noisy situations. When paired in my car I cannot hear road noise and I am still able to have a conversation or listen to music. I also use Bose QC25 over ear headphones which are also very good however the Sony in ear buds are better as they adapt to ambient sound automatically. Very pleased with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Wow

WF-1000XM3 30/11/2019 by British Bulldog

What can I say except these are the Bogs Dollox.. I bought 2 pairs for me and my partner. The sound quality is out of this world. Would definitely recommend. 5*

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Truly Wireless & Truly Superb!

WF-1000XM3 30/11/2019 by J455y

These headphones were recommended to me by the Curry’s salesman, as i was in-store to repair/replace my B&O E8 Truly Wireless headphones ... and i cannot thank the salesperson enough, as these are quite simply AMAZING! The sound is awesome, so detailed and precise, the buds look like they are quite big and chunky, but in actual fact they are perfect size and fit so well and easily in the ears. The battery life is fantastic, it really is 24 hours, just as Sony have said. The ease of use is very simple, using Sony’s app “connect” These earbuds truly are the best sounding, the best fitting and overall the best truly wireless earbuds on the market right now. A Truly 5* product, and well worth every penny of their price! A huge Congratulations to Sony on creating such a brilliant product, well done Sony! A VERY VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Trying to, but can't

WF-1000XM3 28/11/2019 by Landluver

Downloaded the latest update. Volume control and Alexa now available. Google there already. Very happy with these earphones. Have Bose and another, but these are better and with the free software updates. And great sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Poor call quality

WF-1000XM3 28/11/2019 by Danbuds

I bought those ear buds 2 weeks ago and when j try to make a phone call with them it's like I am on a wind tunnel. And me an the other party can't hear a thing. It become so rediculaes that I am switching to my old 3 $ wire ear phones when I want to make a call.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

5

Response From Customer support
02/12/2019

Hi Dan

Thank you for your review.
We recommend making sure the headphones are running the latest firmware version available to enjoy the best performance using this link: https://clc.to/uXmFoQ

If you need further help, you can contact us here: https://clc.to/fbwqdw

Sony support team

0

Excellent noise cancellation

WF-1000XM3 27/11/2019 by Mahesh

Awesome piece. Value for money.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Nest sounding true wireless earbuds on the market

WF-1000XM3 27/11/2019 by Bhups

I love these little ear buds the sound quality and bluetooth range are best in class. The active noise cancellation is great considering the size

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic ear buds!

WF-1000XM3 26/11/2019 by Goodspeed

Fantastic ear buds, excellent fit to say they don't have ear hooks, I've used them in all sorts of situations and they have never fallen out, fantastic sound quality too!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Superb sound quality

WF-1000XM3 26/11/2019 by AimeesDad

Superb sound quality, excellent noise cancelling, comfortable, flexible fit and good battery life. There is a slight niggle with the app on iOS devices (sometimes the app won't connect to the earphones and you have to use the iPhone's own Bluetooth utility to connect) and there is no way to control volume on the earphones themselves - you have to use your phone or app. That said, these are the best in-ears I've ever owned, with good dynamics and an excellent sound stage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound and design. A few tweaks needed.

WF-1000XM3 25/11/2019 by Kev13

Great sound once the right sized tips are used. Be great if there was volume control on the earpieces eg slide up/down. Supporting Andriod app doesn't always connect to earbuds requiring the app to be restarted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Customer Support
28/11/2019

Hi Kev,

Thank you for your review. We recommend ensuring that the app is up to date. Also, you can try installing the apps on a different phone and test it to identify the cause of the issue If the issue is evident while using more than one device, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Amazing sound cancelling

WF-1000XM3 25/11/2019 by Kilbane

Got these a few weeks ago. Love them and will recommend to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Just fix the microphone and it will be perfect

WF-1000XM3 25/11/2019 by Josef997

I am really very sad to returned this amazing product from sony and I am really want it again but I cant use it if it's not ready to make a phone call please just fix it and not only me all customer will be happy thanks alot for this product I will just wait to fix it to bought it again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

2

0

Best sound out of earbuds.

WF-1000XM3 23/11/2019 by Satb

I’ve had these for a month and have to say they sound great. They’re a little expensive but then you can pay more for inferior sound, I even thought about buying Apple earbuds but early reviews say the Sony’s sounds better and cost £50 less. Connection to the source and between buds has been 100% reliable, really nothing to complain about. I wish they would go louder but this might have something to do with the source.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Not worth the money dont buy

WF-1000XM3 23/11/2019 by Jaye953

Had these 1 month and disappointed. Noise cancelling only works in quiet room , does not work adequately on public transport or when out. The controls are hard to work and the earbuds struggle to register one tap compared to two or three taps. When wearing a hood it was changing and pausing the music. Laughing, smiling or just walking makes the earbuds come loose from the ears. Very overpriced and not worth it. Also quite clunky and dont look very nice.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

7

0

Looks great even a bit bigger to my ear..

WF-1000XM3 22/11/2019 by Mike1369

I bought It a while ago and it looks good even the sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great but not perfect

WF-1000XM3 22/11/2019 by Kev33n

Bought this earphones because after hearing much reviews about online. Everything was good, sound quality, functions etc. But one thing, the seamless connection wasn't that great. there was ever so slightly disconnections, and delays here and there. After using so many earphones, i think that there could be improvements in the area. Another thing is IP rating, i think its important to have a IP rating so you can widen the audience personally i love is earphones and i hope that there could be some water proofing so that i know it wont be spoiled after a few drips of sweat or water.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Review

WF-1000XM3 20/11/2019 by GCYPhotography

Well I've been wanting an upgrade for my bluetooth headphones for quite some time and these do such a great job. They are compact, light, easy to carry round and the charging case is so convenient. I use these for mainly whilst I'm at the gym or when I am travelling. They fit in the ear quite nicely. They come with a range of different changable earbuds. The battery life is decent and the price was reasonable, a bit of a high premium for some but I think it's worth it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony ear buds

WF-1000XM3 20/11/2019 by Storm

Great set of ear buds with excellent sound quality A little on the expensive side but you wont be disappointed with the quality of this item

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Leader of the class (2019)

WF-1000XM3 18/11/2019 by KadirGold

These, being one of the only wireless buds to feature noise cancelling, are one of the best wireless buds available at the moment. They are top 3 of what is on the market today. At times on loud commutes I have hoped for 20% more volume. But they are definitely not quiet. Sound is gorgeous and rich. Musicians will be happy with how their music is being translated here. Make sure to download the app and use YouTube reviews to help you configure properly.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good, but not great!

WF-1000XM3 14/11/2019 by Shayan

Although the sound quality of these wireless earbuds were incomparable to other earbuds in the current market, the over all design is flawed. Due to its bulky shape and design, I felt that the bids were too large to fit comfortably in the ear canal, even with all the ear-tip variations. The control pads n each ears are hit and miss, as sometimes the command is registered and sometimes it isn’t. The addition of noice cancellation and ambient sound mode ensures maximum user satisfaction.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

In ear convenience

WF-1000XM3 13/11/2019 by chunky

These IEM noise cancelling buds are superb. You do have to tweak the equaliser to get the best out of them but the noise cancellation is very good. Not as effective as their big brother over ear headphones but so much more convenient for carrying around. The quick charge topping up is effective and I like that you can use one or other or both ear pieces which is also super convenient.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic pair of true wireless buds

WF-1000XM3 12/11/2019 by Matt

Really happy with my purchase, sound quality is excellent with strong bass and good volume. Design wise I think they are unique in the current market and really stand out. The charging case is great since it holds several full charges itself and also looks very stylish. All in all, I would say these earphones are brilliant and would certainly recommend.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent Pods just not suitable for my ears

WF-1000XM3 06/11/2019 by CMcC

The buds were excellent build quality and the sound was brilliant. Unfortunately they were just not a comfortable fit. They felt like they would fall out

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best earbuds ever owned

WF-1000XM3 05/11/2019 by Brendan

Excellent quality earbuds would definitely buy them again

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound better than expected

WF-1000XM3 23/10/2019 by Oldboy

They sound amazing look the part and last ages on would recomend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Unbelievable noise cancelling.

WF-1000XM3 16/10/2019 by Ddgreen45

Bought this a few days ago and have not taken out of my ears since. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Terrible Sound Quality. Rviews are paid & fake.

WF-1000XM3 16/10/2019 by azaf

Watched about 50+ YouTube reviews and ready many forums and apparently they are the best according to all the people who got paid. But trust me they are not anything like that. The prices is ridiculous. I bought outliers for £75 they sound better and looked better. However case looks very nice. The quality is really good but I bought them for sound not looks.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing product

WF-1000XM3 15/10/2019 by Bruno

Sound and built quality

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The most amasing earphones ever!

WF-1000XM3 15/10/2019 by Mirakuru_ZA

My pair of JBL E500BT wireless over ear headphones broke on my flight to Europe two weeks back for no reason. The left ear just went dud. On my way back home I decided that I'm not going to sit on an 18 hour flight without music. I went into a store at the airport and bought a pair of wf-1000xm3's. Boy... It was the most comfortable flight ever. And the noise cancellation was astounding. I didn't even hear my new wife who was sitting next to me unless I placed my left index finger on the left bud. Needless to say the sound was astounding as well. I'm so happy that I got these and am using it at work now as well to block out the noise in the office area.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Brilliant sound

WF-1000XM3 15/10/2019 by gareth

These headphones are pretty awesome, I’ve had so many headphones over the years and I’m very fussy on what I buy as it needs to sound right , I first bought the Bose sound sport free then took them back the next day as the sound didn’t blow me away , so I bought these ones instead, they blow the nose out of the water , 10/10 for sound 9.5 for comfort.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Don't purchase until windows is supported

WF-1000XM3 09/10/2019 by Macker202

Excellent audio quality, and noise cancelling and the battery life is superb. The only downside is that they don't show up on Windows 10 as an audio device, and as such you can't listen to music/use them for gaming/etc on your PC. I've been given no date to expect this firmware update so am minded to return them. A real shame really; half a product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

10

Response From Support team
11/10/2019

Hi Macker202,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that you have experienced this issue with your headset. We can confirm that our engineers are currently working on releasing this firmware update as soon as possible.

For the meanwhile, we recommend that you download "Support By Sony" application that allows you to get the most recent updates about this update as soon as possible using this link: https://bit.ly/2l5yYvM

Sony support team

0

It looks good until it crumbles!!

WF-1000XM3 04/10/2019 by Hmikels

I had this pair of headphones almost 3 weeks ago, and this is my review: PROS ++ Amazing noise cancelling capabilities with thie small size, honestly, a huge part of the job was done here and it is really evident (+3) Although all Internet reviews said don't take it to the gym as the grip is not stable, but it works me and I can exercise with it ( Including running at 12 Km on treadmill) (+0.5) Battery life of this thing is impressive, I charge the case only once a week and I use the headphones daily for at least 8 hours (not continously of course) and I never face a problem with battery life. (+1.5) CONS - - - Very good sound quality when playing music (Expected from Sony), However, music sound extremely boosted when the noise cancelling function is on, so if you are already in a quiet environment and you want to enjoy your music without noise cancellation (To save battery) you will not have the same experience (-0.5) Problems arise when connecting these headphones to mobile phones, sometimes they just don't connect directly and the process has to be done manually (-0.5) Consistent sound distortion during calls that is reported on both android and Iphone, the other party receives a robotic version of my voice in a disturbing amd annoying matter, this is considered an entry level problem amd I can't believe that sony is making it, I tried all kinds of reset and it didn't work, also I have the latest firmware, this is a MAJOR bummer that literally ruins the experience for me (-3) That is why I have give 1/5

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

16

9

Response From Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi Hmikels,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. We recommend resetting your headphones to the original factory settings as explained here: https://bit.ly/2lxlhpd. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Excellent sound for true wireless in ears!!

WF-1000XM3 02/10/2019 by DB1984

Excellent sound quality yet again from Sony. Noise cancelling is very useful, although it isn’t as strong as the WH-1000XM3. The best true wireless I’ve tried

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

No noise canceling functionality at all.

WF-1000XM3 01/10/2019 by Donttellmeyouwantitunique

I'm on my second pair as I thought the NC was faulty, ran through all the trouble shooting (sony's tips shows you NC optimisation function which does not exist: https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wf-1000xm3/articles/00223302 ), tried all the buds, firmware upgrade seems disabled - I'm stick on 1.2.3, the support on the website consists of a lot of 'have you turned NC on' and a set of questions that swap symptoms from 'hearing noise' to 'sounds dropping' half way through. They sound quite good but no NC functionality at all, registered the product for support and there is none, sticking with my chinese NC over ears which cost £50 - really disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

14

Response From Customer Support
04/10/2019

Hi,

We have read your review and we recommend that you contact us to provide us with further information to be able to help. You may find our contact details on the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Fantastic sound

WF-1000XM3 30/09/2019 by Koleus1

Bought these today and used them on all my Bluetooth gadgets, fantastic sound and all hands free.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Brilliant AirPods slayer

WF-1000XM3 28/09/2019 by ajsaudiswim

bought today. Easy to set up, amazing sound, noise cancel good as is voice reception

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Terrible call quality

WF-1000XM3 25/09/2019 by Allan110

Music sound very good. Call quality really really bad. Microphones are unable to pick up speech clearly. Voice sounds very distant and muffled. The worst headphones I have used for phone calls! The photos of the earphones on the models make them look small. The models used must have massive ears as the earphones completely fill my ears.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

14

3

Response From Customer Support
27/09/2019

Hi Allan,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. We recommend testing the earphones with a different phone to identify the cause of the issue. If the issue is not resolved, reset your headphones to the original factory settings as explained here: http://bit.do/e3htU. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM

Sony Support Team

0

My true wireless silence

WF-1000XM3 17/09/2019 by Tomi0211

Good when they work, but very often, actually in time every 60 sec, they stop playing music and there is silence, nothing , then suddenly they go alive again and after another moment of happy mymusic they stop again. so annoyed by them, of course I tried to change settings and chosen connection over quality, never helped. :( :( :(

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

Response From Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi Tom,

Thank you for your review. You can find tips on how to improve the Bluetooth connection and sound skipping problems here https://bit.ly/2mkxv4R . You can also improve the performance of your headset by making sure that the firmware is updated to the latest version as explained here https://bit.ly/2kcil18 . If you are still facing issues with your headset, you can contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Rubbish product .Overpriced

WF-1000XM3 13/09/2019 by Roob

I have three very cheap Bluetooth head phones and all work on all my devices. I wanted to upgrade to a set of noise cancelling headphones .After several e mails to and fro to sony they finally said it will not work with a windows 10 tablet.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Superior Sound

WF-1000XM3 13/09/2019 by mjfj

I’ve spent a long time searching for Bluetooth headphones that meet my needs. The most important thing for me is sound quality. Beyond my expectations. Comfort is always important. With the collection of ear buds I no longer worry about them falling out of my ears. I often forget I’m wearing them. With sound cancellation I can block out the world. At a tap of a button I can allow in outside noise concentrating on voice or wider ambient sound. At £220 they are pricey but worth every penny. My only issue is that some of the larger ear buds looked a little tired and worn. As they weren’t my size they didn’t cause me an issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Incredible Sound

WF-1000XM3 08/09/2019

I wasn't sure what to expect from such small headphones but I was truly blown away! I also own a pair of Sony WH-1000XM2 and in all honesty, the sound level, sound quality and ability to cancel out noise is on par, to the point I considered getting rid of the over ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Almost perfect earphones.

WF-1000XM3 02/09/2019 by Officially The Fox

In short, the sound quality is amazing, connection is rock solid, literally never had a drop out from power, switching to other devices isn't as fast as Apple's AirPods but it's quick enough, the ANC is good however not as silent as advertised. Very happy thus far, just need to replace the earbuds with ones like Shure's foam tips (This is probably due to more personal preference and those types of tips actually stay in my ears better and everyones ears are different). I've been trying these for a few weeks and I'm impressed, due to work I've used the Shure SE-215's for all my commuting leisurely audio reviewing on the go and these WF-1000MX3's certainly do have a much nicer sound. I was fed up with constantly being strangled by wires because someone or something caught it and there's less faffing about with putting them in your ear holes. Now there are a few nit picks, firstly the noise canceling does work but in very specific locations, it does basically take out low end with the effectiveness of a huntsman spider on a insect. Sadly it's not the silence it advertised and actually amplifies the sound of the screaming potato people might call a baby thats been brought out into the wild by mum, dad or both. I can still have a convocation with someone with little effort with the ANC turned onto full (of course without music playing, for any headphones with music playing would prevent convocations). I can still hear cars plain as day however they do feel like they've been pushed more into the background, the sound a lot further away, that part I actually quite like. I will admit that I do use the ANC because it does actually on the whole immerse me more into my music and anything doing that is a plus, it's just not as effective as Sony made them out to be on the box or adverts. Talking of box's it would be nice to actually have some way to tell the charging level of the case itself, you basically just get the "I'm out of power" lights and that's it, not particularly useful, luckily this is made up by the case charging at a worryingly fast speed so not too bad. My complaint with the ANC might also be due to the only physical nitpick which is the ear tips, the standard rubber ones just don't stay in the ear properly and pop out with no external help, thought it could just be my naturally oily ears but I tried with different tips and multiple people who all experienced the same "I can feel it coming out of my ear" feeling. The rubber/foam style alternate tips that come provided are much better, although for something like this these earphones would have been much better and benefitted massively from ear tips like Shure's SE range, the expand to fill your ear thus giving you much better seal that naturally rejects audio anyway and would only heavily improve the ANC effectiveness. I'll be getting tips like these when someone actually makes them for this set of earphones (And they will eventually). Actually one glaring issue is that of the microphone, if so much as a fly sneezes you'll hear the wind in ANC mode, it has absolutely no wind protection so if you're near anything that puffs a bit of air get ready to switch the ANC off, they're also terrible for phone calling which is an absolute shame, every convocation has been met with the, "We can hear everything other than you" question. Lastly I noticed in the manual it literally states to not use these when walking about, Sony you cheeky so and so's, why put a walking option within the app then you naughty miscreants. The app is actually pretty useful however I wouldn't recommend using the adaptive control, the idea is awesome however rather than sliding up and down it cuts the music for a sec to signal the change, additionally it's entirely based on speed, so while sat on the tube where I want the ANC cranked even higher than it can go, when the tube stops it slams it right off again and gives me blaring public and engines, just find it so much easier to touch my left ear to switch between Noise Cancelling all the way on maximum, ambient noise to listen if I need to and then ANC off if airs messing it up or the previously mentioned screaming potato situation. All in all I so far don't regret getting the WF-100XM3's and would recommend them to anyone looking for a high tier set of wireless earphones, specially over a pair of Apple AirPods and so far worked best on a short hall flight, no deep humming of planes for me, just lovely music in relative silence.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Highly recommended.

WF-1000XM3 29/08/2019 by Naz145

This is an premium product, which ticks all the boxes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Love Them

WF-1000XM3 29/08/2019 by Chuckie8321

I don't usually use ear bud earphones as they tend to fall out of my ears. These on the other hand seem to stay in without any issues. There are several different size buds to choose from but I find the medium ones they came fitted with work fine. The sound is great and they feel really comfy. I thought that the lack of volume control would be an issue but I have used them connected to both my phone and Sony media player without any problems at all. When connecting to your phone you do have more choice as to your sound settings with the Sony sound app that can be downloaded.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Love Them

WF-1000XM3 29/08/2019 by Chuckie

I don't usually use ear bud earphones as they tend to fall out of my ears. These on the other hand seem to stay in without any issues. There are several different size buds to choose from but I find the medium ones they came fitted with work fine. The sound is great and they feel really comfy. I thought that the lack of volume control would be an issue but I have used them connected to both my phone and Sony media player without any problems at all.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

My first wireless earphones, BRILLIANT.

WF-1000XM3 26/08/2019 by Tobeck

Out of the box and they look great. First things first, I charged them up. It’s an age thing, I always do it. Downloaded the headphone app onto my iPhone 6S. Yes, I should read the instructions..... memo to self "do it". In the box, earphones, charging case, very short charging cable usb C, 6 extra pairs different sized ear bud tips, instructions of many languages. I prefer the light colour ones, silver opposed to the black. Okay open the smart earphone charging unit which shows a charging light when closed and remove the earphones. They light up red then flash blue. Open the app on my phone, press connect and wait. Nothing, earphones not found, try again....nope. Just by chance I open Spotify whilst I look out instructions. No need music is playing and earphone app shows we are connected. Initially sound was not to good, using the app I cycled through different pre-installed sounds. Not my type of sound so made my own. Brilliant. Two custom and one manual, now let’s get the music flowing. Oh no, must of hit something as earphone started to speaking to me, the app to the rescue. The earphones can be programmed with gesture controls and out of the box they are. Switch gesture controls off and settle in, I prefer earphones for music only. Alice Cooper's Welcome to my Nightmare started and it was okay, changed ear bud ends and there are 6 extra pairs for a better fit. Now I did look behind me as some of the track background noise "never heard before from the track" was released with the Sony WF-1000XM3 Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones. Played around again with the sound setting as the were still a touch to bright on the cymbals. Nailed it, walked around the house then out to the garden, no hiss, drop out, interference or problems. Not aware I had the earphones in as they were so comfy. Music collection set to random and really happy with these earphones. I am a convert to these, the sound is awesome, yes I did use reasonably priced wired earphones before and have been missing so much. I normally use wired earphones as I am afraid to lose the wireless ones when jogging, no fear here. When I removed one earphone the music stopped and it started to flash, great idea. So off to bed and via the app I switched them off battery power was still showing 100% left and right. that was after approx 4 hours. Next morning opened the app to connect..... nothing. Then it connected only to show Left earphone 50% and Right earphone 0% power. Into the case as that has residual charging. When I got back to them, all was well. Connected immediately and started music where it had left off. Next time after charging the Left earphone was dead no light or sound. Ah memo time, read the instruction and all was explained. Press top of earphone when in charging case. All well and still is. I have used for some time now and fine tuned the sounds to my tastes. I highly recommend. Issues as mentioned above, the charging cable is too short and is the new usb C. I bought a longer lead to have the charging unit on my table rather than dangling in mid air from my power socket.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

0

0

Not perfect but better than most

WF-1000XM3 24/08/2019 by Deathhunter

I bought this just under a week ago and on that time I've had a few issues and needed to rest the head phones twice but when they are working the sound is incredibly clear and bass is good. However the adaptive noise cancelling doesn't always detect my movements so I get left in noise cancelling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000XM3 18/08/2019 by Martyn1973

Bought these yesterday and first impressions are great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Great sound.

WF-1000XM3 17/08/2019 by panelman

So pleased I purchased these they sound fantastic have some good features and they are very comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great sound, but lacking support for Windows

WF-1000XM3 17/08/2019 by antcee

Week 1. Sounds is great and they are comfortable to wear and easy to use. However, having a bit of connection issues with phone (Galaxy S8), mainly if stop playing for several minutes then no sound is output when restart playing (phone claims they are connected). Other Bluetooth speakers don't have this problem so don't think it is the phone. Will try factory reset of headphones and hope that sorts it. However my biggest complaint is that they won't connect to a Windows 10 laptop (Surface Pro 4), which is very disappointing considering the price and that even my wife's Apple Airpods do. Now means I have to carry 2 pairs of headphones when travelling. Initially Sony said they don't support Windows, which wasn't exactly well advertised if true (and in my opinion is very poor). Sony support came back later suggesting they are looking into it and to look out for firmware updates, so here's hoping, otherwise they may go back!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

18

7

Response From Customer Support
26/08/2019

Hi Antcee,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. A new firmware update will be released soon to resolve this issue. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM


Sony Support Team

0

First class product

WF-1000XM3 12/08/2019 by Driverpmc

Bought multiple ear phones before but none as good as these thank you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Best earbuds ever

WF-1000XM3 10/08/2019

Best earbuds ever, better than competition, best quality sound, very long lasting battery, value for money, good price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Quality & Refined Looks

WF-1000XM3 04/08/2019 by Susie B

Sony’s latest version of their wireless earbuds are a great improvement on the last model. Firstly the carry case yes it a bit on the large size but it still fits nicely in your pocket & I love the rose gold lid & the almost rubberised feel of the black body. The earbuds slide in nicely aided by the magnets to keep them in place so you know there charging. And that slightly larger case is worth it when it act as a power bank for added charge to your earbuds. Only negative is the case doesn’t have wireless charging but I can’t hold that against it when it gives me a minimum of 6 extra hours of power. Now the main event the earbuds, simple classic black looks with slight rose gold touches, yes again they are a little on the large size but they pack so much inside. First off you need to choose the correct size buds for your ears there’s no excuse you get several to choose from. Get the fit right & it will help with the quality of the noise cancelling & also make them feel more secure in your ear. Sound quality is amazing I tried it with various types of music & every time they didn’t disappoint & even with the volume turned up there was no distortion. Then the all important noise cancelling, how can it be so good in earbuds? Okay it’s not perfect in extremely loud situation & getting the bud size right helps but still wow it’s impressive.How did they fit all this in such a small package. I didn’t have any connectivity issues no Bluetooth drop outs and I did use Sony’s Headphone app which I suggest you use as it has a few extras on there that you can tweak if you so wish. Again one slight bug bear is that you can only pair one device at a time which is slightly frustrating. Using them for phone calls was okay while using them no one complained they had issues hearing me they did say it was obvious I was using a headset conversation on both sides could be heard without having to repeat anything. Buttons or touch pads? I prefer the circular touch areas rather than physical buttons yes sometimes you may inadvertently knock them when you are adjusting them but they are much easier than a physical button & again via the app you can change what they do. Only negative on this is that there is no ability available to change the volume level on the buds but you can’t have everything. The only other thing I want to mention is they have no IP rating so i would be slightly worried about using them at the gym or getting caught outside in the rain but fingers crossed when I do they will be okay. So if like me you really want some wireless earbuds that can deliver on sound quality & as an added bonus have wonderful noise cancelling capabilities & plenty of playtime thanks to it’s charging case then these are the ones to buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

17

1

0

A pair of high end earphones

WF-1000XM3 01/08/2019 by Illuminate_95

Best in ear headphones I’ve ever used. Comes with 7 different ear tips so I could get the perfect seal. Nice cancelling works really well on a busy bus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

4

0

Outstanding

WF-1000XM3 01/08/2019 by Iconoclast123

I bought these to replace Sony’s previous flagship in-ears ( which have been ‘ borrowed’ by my daughter whilst she travels. The charger/case is perfect to slip into a pocket or back and the magnetic closure is reassuringly secure. the headphones themselves are pleasant to hold and to look at and fit into my ears snugly and do not give the impression that they might easily be dislodged. As it happens, my first ‘field test’ was literally that, 3 days at a music festival and all my impressions are positive. The sound quality is without peer, beating the previous ‘phones, not by much, but enough. But, the one area where these beauties wipe the floor with their older siblings is the rock-solid Bluetooth connection- the signal did not drop out once in almost three days of soak testing ( excuse the pun - it rained cats and dogs for two whole days!). I listened to a variety of music mp3 and hi-res files via my Sony portable player and the headphones handled everything with aplomb. I also tried all of the settings- ambient and noise cancelling, though with so many people around me at a busy festival, ambient was my preferred setting out in the field though I reverted to noise cancelling back at my tent. Battery life is impressive, I charged the case unit overnight before I left home for my trip used the ‘phones for hours each day, popping them back in the case overnight and they were ready to go again all day the next morning. Even at home, these have now become my ‘phones of choice as I prefer them to bulky on or over ears that I also own. If you are serious about listening to music and want to go truly wireless, why look anywhere else?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

11

4

0

Absolutely impressed with the battery lifetime

WF-1000XM3 31/07/2019 by TomtomLondon

I have been using in-ear headphones for a while but these I have to say are outstanding, particularly when it comes to the battery lifetime. They come with a very elegant black/rosegold box, which needs to be fully charged for a good 4 hours at the beginning. The design is nice as well and they are very comfortable to wear, even for longer. The headphones, once charged, last easily for 3-4 hours of extensive usage, I used them at work, during my commute, for calls. Once the in-ears battery is empty you just put them back into the box for a few hours and they recharge in little time, I have been using them like this for almost a week before I had to recharge the box. The sound quality when listening to music is excellent, same for taking audio and video calls, excellent quality for sound and microphone. I have also been using the noise cancelling function on the tube or in the office and have to say it's quite good. Not completely cancelling all the noise off but rather good. Improvements could maybe be made around the ambient sound function, especially when using the headphones outside, the sound of wind impacts a little bit on the music sound. I've also had a few issues sometimes with my Bluetooth connection being interrupted every few seconds, had to turn everything off an on again. They seem to be slightly confused between my phone and computer connection and sometimes it's a bit hard to control. Overall an amazing product in usual awesome Sony quality, which I would totally recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

5

0

First ear buds I like.

WF-1000XM3 30/07/2019 by Slurry

I use the noise-cancelling SONY headphones WH-X1000XM1 quite a lot to listen to audio books and rock music, but they’re a bit bulky to take out on the street or pack on holiday. So I thought I’d try the new WF-1000XM3 ear buds. The buds come in a neat small box, most of which should be recyclable as hardly any plastic. The buds have a bespoke small storage box to hold them, which also acts as their charging unit. As would be expected the charging box has to be charged fully so I grab the nearest USB charging cable. Nope, that doesn’t work, as unit uses the newer USB C cable. Delayed me slightly extracting the correct cable from the packing box. However, the USB C cables are symmetrical so I don’t have to put my glasses on to plug it in the correct way around. Every time you put the buds in the box they charge, the box is supposedly good enough for four full charges. Currently I haven’t had to power the charging/storage box in two weeks of daily use. Connection of the buds to my new smartphone only took a couple of minutes for the phone to recognise the new Bluetooth device. Adding the Sony Headphones app gives more options to configure the buds. I tried fiddling with settings but reverted to the defaults. It’s a shame that the new app doesn’t work with my mk1 Bluetooth headphones (no app available) or my Bluetooth speakers that have to use a different app. I am more used to using headphones, so ear bud users already know this, but it is a learning curve for me in that I have had to try out different sized ear buds to get a good fit, plus if you suffer from excess ear wax, cleaning is required else the units get blocked (sorry has to be said). Finally get to listen to my books and music. Listening conditions were varied, screaming family, cutting the lawn, cooking with the extractor fan on; result was I could hear every word clearly without having to set the volume to maximum. As to moving around; no cables to accidently pop the units out of your ear every couple of seconds was brilliant. The weight of the buds didn’t seem to be a problem. For me during use; I had to reposition the buds every so often, this could be possibly due to my ears not being used to having buds plugged in. Daily use of the buds involves taking the buds out their box; this switches them on and thus their connecting to my phone, putting them back in their box switches them off and recharges them. Bud controls involve tapping the units on their small circular plates. Tapping the left hand unit changes the noise cancelling function. This I found a bit hit and miss. Successful tapping is rewarded with an audible confirmation of the setting selected, otherwise only a beep is heard. I’m still practicing this process. The right bud controls use with the phone, still have to try this. I gave my rock tracks a good workout with the buds. Having old ears I can drive the buds at very high volumes (if you’re young then you won’t have to do this). Did I notice any break up in sound quality? None at all; no mechanical buzzing etc. In fact I think the bass is better controlled than on the headphones. I have additionally tried linking the buds to the TV set due to the family complaining I have it on too loud. This I did successfully. Unfortunately there is no way to change the buds volume and it appears to disable the TVs speakers. Speaker disabling does not happen when using the headphones. So would I throw away my headphones for the buds. For use out the house the buds are far more transportable, less noticeable, lighter and you can easily put them away in their pocket sized charging box when not in use. At home I think I would still prefer to use the headphones even with the extra weight and bulk.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

3

0

Fantastic Wireless Noise Cancelling Headset

WF-1000XM3 30/07/2019 by Jonnyb320

Sony has managed to raise the bar to another level. These noise cancelling wireless head phones are just amazing. They come in a small compact box, that the main product slides out of. Straight away there’s the instructions to set up the headphones, in an easy to follow step by step guide as you unpack the product. The headphones themselves are unbelievably small, and fit securely in the case. The case is also a battery pack as you would expect with headphones such as these. The case feels very high quality, and very rugged, the case also has a charging light on the front and has a USB-C socket on the bottom. I really like this feature, as most of my other tech kit is USB-C so it means I don’t have to carry a large number of cables around. Sony provide an app to help with connecting these to your phone, tablet or whatever else you want to use them with. Sony also provide another app to use the headphones. To be honest I didn’t use either. They were straight forward to set up and use as you would normally do with headphones. There’s a quick set up guide for those that struggle. In use there’s loads of great features. They fit snugly into the ear, and there’s a selection of buds in the box for different size ears. The noise cancelling on these is just amazing, they lack the attenuation effect of decent over the ear cans, but this is made up to an extent with the noise cancelling. You are, however, getting much lighter and slicker in ear headphones. You can easily switch between noise cancelling and ambient sound with a tap of the left bud, and you can make phone calls with 2 taps of the right bud. One of the features I love is if you remove a bud to talk to someone, your music stops and restarts when you replace the bud. I found clarity of voice calls to be exceptional, and the noise cancelling to be way above what I have come to expect from wireless buds. Overall I have found these headphones to be exceptional. I have tried wireless buds from two other manufacturers and these from Sony are just streets ahead of their competition. Yes there are comprises. These will not satisfy the ultimate audiophile, who wants total noise suppression and ultimate base and clarity. But if thats what you want then the larger Sony WH-1000XM3s would be more for you. These are a fantastic wireless bud headset, certainly the best that I have come across.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

3

0

Amazing sound quality

WF-1000XM3 29/07/2019 by Tzyn94

At first it was a little difficult getting this device to connect but once set up. The Bluetooth connection is good with no issues with it losing a connect. The headphones connect quickly and the battery lasts a good time and with the charging case makes it really good for the commute into work. The sound quality though is epic the bass is deep and the voice is clear and with the noise cancelling it's easy to get lost in your favourite songs. All in all a great device and would recommend to anyone who enjoys music or listening to audio books on the train. Certainly worth the money. Only downside I can say is the ear buds do have a habit of coming loose when your sweating but maybe I have weird size ears. The magnets that help hold the earbuds in the case are a nice feature aswell makes putting them in easier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

7

0

Great piece of kit

WF-1000XM3 29/07/2019 by Audiman54

I got these 2 week ago and on first impression looked bulky but having tried them am amazed at the sound quality and how well they fit in your ear. The noise reduction on them is great easy to use. The charging case they come with makes them very portable and easily stored safely. Setting up to work with my phone was very easy that I also set them up with my pad too. Would highly recommend these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

6

0

Sound of Silence

WF-1000XM3 29/07/2019 by Chas1953

Sony WF-1000XM3 Wireless, Noise Cancelling Stereo Headset are very stylish. Simple set up, download the App and in a few clicks you’re all ready to go. Music that you want to hear and silence from the sounds you don’t! Perfect!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

6