Skip to Content
718

4.1 based on 718 customer reviews

367
200
69
44
38
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

65" Android

164 cm (65") 09/07/2015 by Herefordshire Batman

Well packaged, easy set-up, great image (though you really do have to play with all the screen settings to get best impact based on what you whatch and where TV is located). Android updates really do take the 20-30minutes as advised on screen (very slow compared to other Android devices so be prepared to be patient) updates also seem to disconnect wifi and some settings....but all said a truly great panel! Upscalling is brilliant so you don't need native 4k to appreciate the superbly sharp 4k panel. 65" benefits from full active backlight, i could imagine smaller panels with side backlighting might not be quite so evenly illuminated but don't have one so i can't say that for sure! Even with these niggles, with patience and good set-up it is truly awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sloooooooow

164 cm (65") 24/11/2015

The picture and sound is as good as it can be - very good. Unfortunately the experience is overshadowed by constant software problems. It freezes, it is slow and responds very reluctantly to the remote control (yes we changed batteries 3 times, no better). It just seems to hang in some software loop that slows everything down. More than 20 times have we had to go to the power switch to restart it and get it working. It reminds me of the problems we had with windows some 10-15 years ago. Also it took 6 months before the YouView function was enabled, and we are still not able to pause and resume live TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

718 Customer Reviews

7 Models

Models

0

HDR Let down

139 cm (55") 18/09/2017 by gafjonesy

Overall I am disappointed in this item. The general display is fine until you get to anything with HDR. I bought this specifically for 4k yes but bought this one as it had HDR built in. I then rushed out and bought a 4k player and started to build my collection. The picture quality at times is phenomenal and at others unbearable. I have seen forums on the subject refer to it as "whitewashing". Annoyingly there doesn't seem to be any way to switch off HDR(not that I feel I should have to) so watching 4k is frustrating and it shouldn't be.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer support
20/09/2017

Hi Gafjonesy,

Thank you for your feedback.

You can check the information in the following link to view 4K and HDR content on your TV: http://bit.ly/2plqJMN

Hope this helps.

Sony support team

0

Great picture, and good value for money!

139 cm (55") 11/05/2017 by Socksnpants

Amazing quality all round! I like the interface and has all the features I was looking forward for. Bit disappointed that 3D glasses were not included and the new android marshmallow update is a bit slow, I hope this will soon be updated. Overall though, those 2 points aside, I am very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worth it

139 cm (55") 05/05/2017 by B murray

Bought this last year and was never too enamoured with it, it wouldn't keep me signed in on any of the apps and was constantly updating and interrupting viewing. Had to do a factory reset countless times just to see if it would make a difference but it didn't, not being one to complain I just let it go as lesson learned about picking tv's, then for the past 3 weeks it has been switching itself off and on constantly so iv had to contact Sony support who eventually arranged a repair today, needless to say it's been taken away and it should be back on Wednesday so if anyone is buying a tv try and avoid this one.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality build

139 cm (55") 27/04/2017 by Hibby boy

Had it up an running for a couple of weeks and very pleased so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent colors!

139 cm (55") 27/04/2017 by Ahmy

You cant go wrong choosing this TV. Perfect colors! Perfect facilities as it is a smart teli. We use Youtube and netflix all the time!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Large 55 TV

139 cm (55") 15/04/2017 by wepl

appears to be good value and no problems so far excepting the set-up of the Sony sound bar.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mint TV

139 cm (55") 10/04/2017 by englanddmw

easy to use great picture great sound direct through the tv nice looking regular updates could not have bought a better one at the time if i had tried.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

4K Ultra HD

139 cm (55") 26/03/2017 by ralph3rs

I bought this television several weeks ago, and chose another Sony product. This will be my fifth Sony television. I am blown away with the picture quality, but the overall sound quality is a bit poor and is definitely improved with a sound bar or hi-fi system. The Android system is a bit slow on occasions and the television has suddenly done a cold restart several times. Apart from this, I am still impressed with my television and will still buy another Sony television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very Good picture quality, poor HDR and 3d

139 cm (55") 15/03/2017

Overall good value for money. Very good picture quality in all resolutions and loads of features. Android TV is amazing, using KODI or side loading apps is no problem. So much more possibilities than other brands!! The downside is POOR HDR, TV is simply not bright enough for it. Also 3d picture is poor as there is a lot of cornstalk.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Applications

139 cm (55") 12/02/2017 by Czapik

Absolutely Great Smart TV. Quality finish and slick design in silver, and most of all loving the 4K screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Sony 55" 4K TV

139 cm (55") 07/02/2017 by uftonian

Have been a Sony customer for purchasing TV over the years this most recent purchase reinforces my view that the build and performance is second to none. Out of the box, assembly of the stand was simple and connection to ariel and audio/visual devices straight forward given the wide choice of inputs. Setting up is always a matter of preference; the main and sub menu options give a wide choice for viewing in most domestic circumstances but is made very much easier by utilising a commercially available video/sound test disc which is my preferred method.. Having set up the TV picture options using my video test disc I have been very impressed with the picture quality and definition. The sound from the on board speakers are adequate for a panel set but the best performance is obtained via the rear optical/digital output connected to a audio/visual processor or alternatively a quality sound bar. In conclusion I would recommend the KD55X8507C as a top quality TV if you are considering purchasing a 55" panel TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Picture

139 cm (55") 30/01/2017 by HugoB

The picture quality is very good but with so little 4K to see the value of this set has yet to be tested. The remote control is slow to respond (just like the Sony we have in the kitchen). The control for internet is a waste of time, why not supply a USB enabled Multi Media Keyboard - we have bought an eSYNiC that does a very good job. Apart from these 'niggles' we are very satisfied with both sound & picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great

139 cm (55") 11/01/2017 by Ivars

I bought a month ago, easy to using, good quality I'm so happy!! !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

OK. Android TV is way behind my Nexus Player

139 cm (55") 29/12/2016 by ManCityFC

The Android TV version is miles behind the current latest from Google. My Nexus Player, which is already an old device, is about a thousand times smoother running Android 7 than this version. Other than that, the TV is OK. Let's hope Sony upgrade the OS as it is very outdated already and the TV is only a few months old for me.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Some good features when they work!

139 cm (55") 24/12/2016 by Angry customer

This tv has some good features but as a smart tv it is useless wifi keeps dropping in and out!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Great Picture

139 cm (55") 22/12/2016

Great Picture on a good looking well designed TV. Android system can be a bit slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgraded to a bright new future!

189 cm (75”) 21/12/2016 by Mr Tommo

Bought this as our old tv looked a little small on the feature wall, was shown all the features in store and had a side by side with a competitor (who I normally buy) and the picture quality was totally impressive. Only put a medium rating for sound as we use a a/v amp so it's not an issue. Great tv and at a good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture!

139 cm (55") 15/12/2016

This is our first Sony t v, it is also our first smart t v, we quickly discovered that it is like a computer, it has regular updates, and sometimes a mind of its own. It has a great picture, and we bought a Sony sound bar with it, as we think, it needed it but others might not. All in all a good television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best operating system on 4K TVs android store has

139 cm (55") 10/12/2016 by DfourDaz

I'm extremely happy with my purchase works well with kodi if you don't know what KODI is google it and your welcome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV for price

139 cm (55") 08/12/2016 by Marcie121uk

Great pictures, great features, easy to use Great sound through Sony amp

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great to when it's working

139 cm (55") 26/11/2016 by Big Owl

It's got better as updates have become available. But still slow to respond on occasions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

good looking quality good

139 cm (55") 14/11/2016 by Les71

I purchase two Sony's 55" and 49" few problems, screen flicker and menu greyed out had reboot a couple times but since latest upgrade they seem ok, overall satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great product

164 cm (65") 03/11/2016 by Myr333l

I bought this as a replacement for my 55 LG, I'm happy with my purchase, really enjoy all features!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great but not without faults

164 cm (65") 24/10/2016 by MickeyJo

Pro's - Great picture, smooth motion, natural colours (when you turn all the soap opera processing tools off) Con's - White banding, white edges, blocky shadows and possibly the slowest processor known to man. Press a button the remote, go and make a cup of tea, and when you come back it MAY of completed the action.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0