Starting at

RRP

£1,699.00

(incl. VAT)
208

4.6 based on 208 customer reviews

140
57
6
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great camera just gets better...

Body Only 18/01/2015

I've only recently jumped to Sony from Panasonic (Nikon before that) and only had my A7 for a few months before the A7 II was released but I'd already fallen for the A7 so I took the plunge. In all honesty I didn't have any issues with the build and setup of the original A7 but the A7 II really is a much more DSLR feel without the DSLR size and weight. Sony are clearly listening to their customers with small but much appreciated cosmetic changes. The BIG thing for me though is that headline 5-axis in body stabilisation but the new grip and shutter placement are welcome improvements. I got my camera the day I was flying out on a holiday to Disney World in Florida so I knew I'd get the chance to try out the camera while having some fun and I can honestly say that this is a killer camera for anyone wanting a serious camera without the bulk. Even though I was still getting used to the Sony system and I'm also nothing more than an enthusiastic photographer and not a professional I was over the moon with some of my photos (attached). I've only had chance to play with JPEGs so far but I took RAW+JPEG so I'm looking forward to see how better they will be with some processing. My advice to anyone who wants an all-round camera with the great image quality and ease of use without the bulk, buy this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

All good but THE BATTERY

Body Only 12/05/2015 by Damiano

I got this camera about 2 weeks ago. It's fantastic. The design it's great, after 10 years Nikon D series this is a jewel. The problem is that a photo camera is made for shooting pictures right? Well, buy 6 extra batteris if you are planning to go our for a week-end. The best I get with one battery it's 60 pictures. It's a real handicap to be honest.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

208 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

In 2019 probably the best value camera on the mark

Body Only 07/05/2019 by pvandck

I bought the A7RII as an an upgrade from the excellent Sony A7, which bought in 2014. I was so pleased with the A7, and the A7RII, being no longer the latest model, was at a price I could justify. It's a phenomenally capable piece of kit. I was an industrial photographer for more than 25 years and used to use medium format cameras - 6x7 and 6x4.5 formats. Everything was for publication. If the A7RII had been around when I was a working photographer I would have bought it immediately and abandoned my other equipment - the image quality is so very good and it's such a versatile camera. It excels at practically everything except perhaps at the highest level professional fast-moving sports photography. I would have no hesitation is recommending any of the Alpha 7 line of cameras to anyone who takes photography seriously, amateur or professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sony A7ii

Body Only 07/05/2019 by Javier_sonya7ii

I bought this camera as my first introduction into the full frame and I am very happy with the quality of the camera, my only complaint is the fact that as old model it needs a software update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

Body Only 05/05/2019 by raescu9

The camera arrived two days ago, and the pictures they take are extraordinary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Still in " Honeymoon Phase " !!

Body Only 14/04/2019 by notyet100

I bought the 7ii as a present for myself. I have yet to really push the camera but I have taken about 500 images. The detail in the images is exceptional compared to my Nikon, and I look forward to the better weather.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome

Body Only 02/04/2019 by Elica

I bought this 2 months ago and it's everything I need from then. Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Focus problems for a-mount with Sony adapters.

Body Only 23/03/2019 by Helio_ss

I'm using with A-mount lenses and Sony adapters LAE -3 and 4. Experiencing focus problems especially with moving subjects with LAE-4. SmartRemote control doesn't work with my iPhone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer support
27/03/2019

Hi,

We have read your review, and we recommend that you visit the following links to make sure your camera is running the latest firmware version: (For MAC: https://bit.ly/2Ud5pI7) - (For Windows: https://bit.ly/2U9P0V1)

If the issue remains, you can get in touch with us using this link: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

fantastic features Great all rounder

Body Only 21/03/2019 by jj6415

Iv been saving for a few months for this camera and boy I'm glad i did outstanding

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

disappointed with the A7m2 purchase

Body Only 20/03/2019 by paulA13

bought this camera last year - the most disappointing aspects are the play memories app and the short battery life.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer Support
25/03/2019

Hi Paul,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find more information about the duration of the battery in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/2PhRXw3. If the battery performance does not match what is mentioned in the link, you can contact us to help you further using the details on the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Great camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17/03/2019 by Frodri

Great camera, just missing 4K. But amazing picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pon sharp images

Body Only 16/03/2019 by BigJohn14

Great camera, got fantastic pics on first day. Stabilisation really good, lens gives pin sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

Body Only 09/03/2019 by MJani17

I bought this A7II body two months ago and I'm so happy i did. I use them a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

You get what you pay for

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19/02/2019 by Mikkkogu

I bought my camera after long considering and research. I was not disappointed, because I already knew what I was going to get.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

weight

Body Only 18/02/2019 by Dejay

I am happy i did buy this camera, I will recommend this to friends

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Compact, rugged and has some great features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 18/02/2019 by DStealth

Amazing picture quality especially when pair red with the zeiss 55mm lens. Much better than a DSLR to carry around and I use it as my sole camera for shoots. Wish it had touch screen controls. The issues I have with this camera I understand has been totally sorted out with the Sony A7Riii but that's unfortunately out of my price range at this point in time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16/02/2019 by Roger 77

Having upgraded from a nikon d7000 this is lightyears ahead,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fantastic little camera

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 12/02/2019 by Zsombex

it is very fast camera dose the job for what a bought is perfect i highly recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good value, good times

Body Only 07/02/2019 by Davie1234

Takes amazing pictures. Has a decent battery life and the stability it has while taking video is superb. The balance through the viewfinder is helpful too. Only issue I have is I feel like you cant raise the ISO very high before seeing large quality dips.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good features

Body Only 05/02/2019 by nikaraoka

I started my journey with sony a7III couple months ago. 5-axis stabilization technology is great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 01/02/2019 by McGuire

I am very happy with the product, it has the proformance of a high level dslr but is light compact easy to travel with and you can also see exactly what you are taking befor the do it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 30/01/2019 by Doug60

I have moved up to full frame and I'm pleased that I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Neat features, handy size, excellent performance

Body Only 27/01/2019 by PhilH27

I purchased this to be a back-up/reserve camera for my full-frame Nikon DSLR but it is so good the roles will almost certainly be reversed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

Body Only 26/01/2019 by Deegray

I bought this camera one year ago, I am happy. But battery it is not very good. In general is very good camera. I recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

beautiful object

Body Only 24/01/2019 by GusC

I love this camera, coming from a Sony RX1R the focusing is really fast and tight. I've paired it with the lovely Zeiss F1.8 55mm lense and the results are superb. I would have loved to have for the A7iii but this is a good compromise at a much lower price point. Its not "is the camera good enough" anymore, its more, "am I good enough for the camera" 10 out of 10 - I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I'm sold

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16/01/2019 by Eric_dublin

Big sensor. Low light capability. Light. Sturdy. Brilliantly capable. Excellent photo quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 16/01/2019 by Justyna

So happy I finally decided to upgrade from a6000!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Nice entry level full frame.

Body Only 10/01/2019 by fullstereo

So happy I join the mirrorless race. I finally move for DSLR to mirrorless and I can't be happier.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery life...time to eat my hat!

Body Only 09/01/2019 by Puredodee

I had been considering a new camera for several months after being with Canon for decades. After several chats with other street photographers and the odd camera shop visit and hearing that Sony were "slaying" it I finally took the plunge. It was only after my purchase did the "battery" issue (number of images per battery) rear its head, according to the manual 350/battery! I just hadn't considered that in this day and age this would be an issue and I guess my inexperience with a digital viewfinder showed, it certainly wasn't mentioned at sale. I was sick to the stomach, thinking I had made a huge mistake! Anyway, back to that hat; after pretty much closing everything down on the camera that I deemed unnecessary, I did my first real street shoot yesterday and got 2400 images on one battery with still 15% left. I'll take it fried...Kentucky style!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, poor battery

Body Only 06/01/2019 by DJMR

This is an excellent camera, and has given me the improved quality that I was looking for; I switched from a Nikon D5500. I went mirrorless to minimise the weight, and this Sony fitted the bill. It has all the features you’d expect from a camera of this cost, but my (and many others) complaint isn’t the very poor battery life. This is exacerbated by having, as standard, to recharge in camera. What this means in practice is that you must be additional batteries and an external charger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pixel Flare & Bad software for Mac Owners.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29/12/2018 by Simon1967

Bought this camera for a trip to Tromso in Norway to capture the northern lights. It did the job quite well. Took some photos of a sunset in Oslo and was very disappointed at the frequent fluorescent green pixel flare in most of my shots where a distinctive green line appeared and ruined the shots. Perhaps this is a manufacturing flaw or a general weakness of the full frame CMOS sensor? Sony, what do you think?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Customer Support
02/01/2019

Hi Simon,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend you to ensure that the camera’s software is up to date, you can find a link to download the latest update in the downloads section here: https://bit.ly/2R8lTkl. If the issue is still evident you can contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the contact details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Good in the hand.

Body Only 20/12/2018 by Coops21

Bought this last month have used in low , very impressed with the results, using 3rd party 35mm f2.8 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Customizable compact Fullframe camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19/12/2018 by Lorenco

Provide great details, fullframe possibilities. Third party lenses is around the corner more and more. Enough customizable and compact camera. Autofocus could be better in lowlight situations, but everyone should decide by his own needs and shooting conditions. Great camera for such a price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Would mostly recommend

Body Only 19/12/2018 by Shutter Dublin

I bought the A7ii as my entry into mirororless shooting. Delighted with its speed, simplicity and lightning quick photo shareability. There are a couple of really slick hacks that help increase your focal lenghths, which is cool. I'm a manual focus photographer so entrusting the Sony to capture my shots spot on has been a challenge; the various auto shooting modes work, but not to the same degree of manually focusing on the area you choose. That's the good. What disappoints is the kit lens doesn't shoot well in dimly lit conditions. It shoots, yes, but tonnes of noise is present even at F5.6 with auto ISO (6400) at dusk. One will need a F1.4 or F.18 lens to truly shoot sharp(er) images in low-lit conditions.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Machine!

Body Only 17/12/2018 by Sunnybunnyme

Nice machine for this price! but the Sony raw file doesn't work for lightroom. that's bit shame!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small in size - big in quality

Body Only 12/12/2018 by StreakyPete

Compared to my previous camera, (Nikon D750) the A7ii falls a little short. Dynamic range, auto-focus and low light performance are the main areas of concern. However, these slight shortcomings are more than compensated by the camera’s compact size and lovely light weight. In the two weeks I have owned the camera, I am seeing an improvement in image quality as I become more familiar with the different layout. IBIS is a game changer- the ability to shoot sharp shots without using a tripod is an enormous bonus. The small size and weight encourages me to take a camera with me whereas previously I may have left a heavy DSLR at home.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Great Camera but with pitfalls

Body Only 12/12/2018 by scottyshere

Great Camera, great images, great video awkward menu, terrible battery life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Customer Support
14/12/2018

Hi Scottyshere,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find more information about the duration of the battery in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/2PhRXw3. If the battery performance does not match what is mentioned in the link, you can contact us to help you further using the details on the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Versatile Full Frame Camera

Body Only 03/12/2018 by JEM_

A nicely compact camera body with full frame performance. The image quality is excellent and it has enough features for me. An added bonus is the way that it works with adapted lenses, providing autofocus with suitable Canon lens with the correct adapter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery Life

Body Only 29/11/2018 by Dodee

I know it's very early days (or hours actually!) but this camera appears to have the worst battery in photographic history. What you gain in image quality, having probably the best sensor ever, size, design etc is all lost in a battery that lasts hours. You would more than likely have got longer if the camera was wind up. How I'm going to manage on a shoot taking over a thousand images remains to be seen. How foolish was I to think battery life would be a problem! Apart from that I'm pretty happy.

1

3

Response From Customer Support
03/12/2018

Hi Dodee,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find more information about the duration of the battery in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/2PhRXw3. If the battery performance does not match what is mentioned in the link, you can contact us to help you further using the details on the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

A7ii Sony mirrorless full.frame camera.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13/11/2018 by Mike 09

Very happy with the camera.good quality images and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best Yet

Body Only 10/11/2018 by Mond the First

Downsizing from DSLR, mirrorless is the future. Interested in Nikon Z cameras but way too pricey. Looked at Alpha 7iii but did not need the video features, rarely shoot movies anyway, and with 7ii heavily discounted it seemed the way to go. Camera is well-made and produces beautiful images but user manuals are indecipherable, lucky I am an experienced user.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Astonishing image quality

Body Only 06/11/2018 by Bertiboy

I moved from Micro 4 thirds to Sony for the increased sensor size and have not regretted it for a moment. The image quality is so much better and I am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing value for money

Body Only 29/10/2018 by Mark1010

I bought this a couple of months ago and I've never regretted my purchase. I wish it came with a better kit lens though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

For the pro and hobbyist

Body Only 14/10/2018 by Adam30

Ive had this camera for a day now and am really impressed with the images its producing, im really happy with this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Brilliant all round camera

Body Only 10/10/2018 by CHARCHAR

I upgraded from my Canon 60D to this Sony A7MK2 and I am not regretting anything! Not only is it full frame and light weight; its great with low lighting and many other situations. the screen is one down size to the Sony A7 series due to the 360 degrees LCD on the Eos R is a very nice feature and prevents the screen from becoming scratched easily.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Could be better. Little disapponted

Body Only 07/10/2018 by Badan

I bought this camera one month ago and I still d'nt have the camera really in hand. The notice is not always perfectly clear. The 24 -240 lensis not bad but focusing is not always very good.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

MR

Body Only 24/09/2018 by Magic74

This is my first venture into mirrorless. I find auto tends to be a little under exposed but have learned to adjust for it. I would have prefered the lens release button to be on the opposite side as the space between the lens and grip is quite tight. This could be because I have always been a Nikon user.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera that opens a lot of new possibilities

Body Only 22/09/2018 by ranej

The construction of this camera is very smart and also very precise. I like the firmware but i quite miss a silent shuter mode. I would definitely recomend this product to my friend (i already did) because for me it is litterally the best camera i have ever had in my hands with variety of functions but still very simple and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera!!

Body Only 22/09/2018 by Ian0064

I have owned the Sony A7ii for about a month now after upgrading from a Nikon D7100, and I'am very pleased i did. The picture quality is impressive and it is very easy to use, I read a lot of reviews about the confusing menus and battery life before purchasing but found these to be inaccurate. Nearly all the buttons are customisable with function menu button as well so everything is easily accessible once set up. I bought a cheap £15 adapter and use my Nikon lenses on it fully manually. I own a sigma 150-600 nikon mount and find this works really well on the sony, manual focusing is easy with peaking and magnification, also the IBIS is amazing i can handhold the sigma at 600mm and get sharper pictures than i did with the Nikon. The only issue I'm finding is the price of the Sony lenses and I hope the prices are going to drop otherwise I will only be using adapted Lenses and will be losing out on the full functionality of the native lenses. I would definitely consider upgrading to the Sony A7Rii but this will depend on the lenses! Here are two pictures i took of a Dragonfly with the sigma handheld and using focus peaking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Ideal digital back

Body Only 22/09/2018 by Bobby J

Bought this mainly to use legacy MF lenses from the 60s and 70s on (ie from before the AF era), although I do adapt some A mount glass as well via the La-EA3 and I have a single wide AF prime that I use on the camera for convenience. It is a great little camera (although auto ISO behaviour with dumb adapters could be better and I do keep on knocking the compensation dial, which could benefit from a lock of some kind). Peaking works well for the MF lenses and the ability to dial in FL for IBIS is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A nice camera. Nothing more.

Body Only 16/09/2018 by hopkins

i bought this a month ago and i'm quite happy with it. I love the IBIS on the sensor but the camera has moire problem especially with adaptor for a-mount lenses. I just can't use the adaptor a-mount lens combo cause the video is bad. With the e-mount lenses the moire problem isn't bad at all.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer support
19/09/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

You can get in contact with Sony support to get help with this issue using this link: https://bit.ly/2oUrHPV.

Sony support team.

0

First Appearances, Good

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 14/09/2018 by seaem

I have only had this camera 1 month, as yet, finding out how to make best use of it, I have an assortment of Sony cameras and while this one is another Sony it will take time to determine if it has been a worthwhile purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13/09/2018 by rebeccaphotography

I brought this last month. It’s amazing picture quality and perfect in some low light situations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 12/09/2018 by KMjanez

I have a7ii for a week now and I am very satisfy with it, except with battery consumption

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great upgrade

Body Only 03/09/2018 by Omartxo

I used the original a7 for almost 3 years, happy with it but I was missing some features like the stabilization. The mark II it´s better built and you can tell the autofocus it´s much better. The stabilization it´s a big plus and combine with a good lens the performance it´s amazing. At the price that is nowadays you can be wrong buying it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 28/08/2018 by Grisly

Terrific camera with wonderful image stability and great features.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Lovely kit

Body Only 27/08/2018 by Marciya

Lovely camera takes great photos and fits in your hands well only drawback battery life is short

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use, excellent results

Body Only 26/08/2018 by Pernod

I changed to this camera from my wonderful Nikon 810, which sadly was becoming just too heavy for me to lug around and I wanted a lighter, but still full frame option. I have been pleased with all the features so far and was able to buy the adaptor to use my Nikon lenses. It took a little bit of getting used to as everything is so compact, but it is certainly lighter and so far pleased with results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Camera I owed

Body Only 24/08/2018 by Dawid1980

I am an enthusiast photographer (been for over 15 years). I had APS-C (Canon, Nikon and Sony), Canon FF and mirrorless cameras (Fuji, Olympus). However I was always curious about the Sony A7 range. Finally, last month I made the decision and went for it. Only regret? Why I haven’t done it sooner! The build quality and ergonomics are fantastic! Paired with the Zeiss lenses, the 85mm f1.8 and 90mm macro just mind blowing. The lighting, sharpness and detail- just wow. It is the best camera and camera system I ever owned!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to use

Body Only 11/08/2018 by bikeman

upgraded my A6000 and i am very happy with the new camera takes great pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body Only 06/08/2018 by Neil Evolving Imaging

I purchased this camera in June 2018, as an addition to my Sony a6300 and Canon DSLR that i use for my semi pro photography work. The build quality is amazing, image quality fantastic and the IBIS (In Built Image Stabilising) is great. I can use this camera with my Canon lenses and have image stabilising on the lenses, that Canon only do on the lens itself. I bought mine with the 28-70 FE Sony lens and they are an awesome combo. It works well with the Sigma MC11 Canon EF lens adapter also so i can switch between Sony or Canon lenses with no issues and they all perform well. Yes that includes the auto focus as well. I find that the AF performs just as well on the A7M2 as my Canon with the Canon 50mm 1.4 lens and Sigma adapter. Eye AF which is available only on the Sony lenses at present, is amazing. It has about a 90% hit rate for me. The battery life is pretty good and better than the a6300 in fact. The video quality although only full HD, at 60fps is great also. Using the optical stabilisation and IBIS together means you get to shoot both video and stills with well controlled camera shake. Not gimbal like control, but very good. I shoot weddings, fashion, corporate portraits and events. The A7M2 covers them all with ease. Ok, so it doesn't have the AF system of the A7M3, but then my Canon (or any Canon DSLR for that matter) doesn't have the AF system of the A7M2, and as I've been a Canon user for around 12 years now, I know the system pretty well. The only gripe I have with the Sony, as with any CSC mirrorless camera, when you press the shutter, it doesn't always fire instantly. There will be an ever so slight (a fraction of a second) delay before it fires. With my Canon DSLR when I'm shooting a wedding, if i see that facial expression i want to catch, i just press the shutter button and it fires instantly. To get round this issue with the A7M2 i switch to burst mode, where it will fire at 5 fps, which is plenty fast enough for most situations at a wedding. If i want faster than that i switch out to the a6300 with it's 11fps shooting (and quieter shutter mechanism, or the option of 3 fps silent shutter). For me the Canon and my Sonys compliment each other and they are my perfect system. (the a6300 is mainly for action and video). Lastly, the A7M2 has great low light performance and shooting at ISO 6400 is very good for noise control, so I don't worry about the ISO when I'm shooting in low light and fast moving subjects (think Bride and Groom 1st dance where you don't want to spoil the intimate moment with strobe lighting in their faces). Ultimately, you have to find the kit that works for you and then concentrate on squeezing the most from it. Once Sony get their CSC cameras shooting with virtually NO shutter lag like a DSLR, That could be the clincher for me to switch out to all Sony. Any one who is still reading this review, I hope it helps you. All the best and thank you Sony for what you do and the fact that you listen and respond to your customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 15/07/2018 by Topcat 691

This is my 6th Sony camera but my first full frame camera and i love it it is by far the the best Sony camera i have had photos and video are just perfect . The price can put a lot you off but do not let that stop you buying it its worth the spend you will be very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the extra features

Body Only 13/07/2018 by Vernz

I bought my new camera about 2 months ago and l love it. I am still getting used to using it but l love the extra features that l can use well l just like the camera and the panaramic and facial recognition everything about it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super resolution and easy to use

Body Only 11/07/2018 by Vivid47

Had this for 2 weeks so not yet done a lot with it but so far the camera is living up to expectations. The only possible drawback is a lack of independant lenses for it and the Sony ones are very expensive. I think I will be using this camera for a long time as it has great potential especially for low light photography.

0

0

0

Reflection on the future of digital photography

Body Only 05/07/2018 by Everything I pick is gone

I have the Sony A7ii for 3 months now. I switched from a Canon DSLR. My main reason for choosing the A7 was its price / specification especially its full frame sensor. i have not been disappointed and am impressed with results so far while still experiencing with its features. The reason for 4 stars is due to a few negative aspects. Battery life is poor and buying a second battery is very expensive. Also the menu system is not as intuitive or user friendly as I would have wished. Camera is compact and light but can be a little unstable with some larger lenses. Overall though I am happy I made the switch and I believe some of the issues I mentioned have been addressed in subsequent models.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

light camera

Body Only 28/06/2018 by Salman66

Moved from dslr camera to mirrorless camera and so happy with my decision. Fantastic result in filming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Step up

Body Only 19/06/2018 by Gozza

For some time now i have been trying to get into photography and have finally moved up to the next level in the what i need out of a camera. I have to say that i love this camera it is easy to get used to the using it and has all the features i need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as a tack

Body Only 18/06/2018 by tharrison28

I am now over a month in to my ownership and these are my initial observations, bearing in mind I have been an a6000 user for 3 years. Firstly build quality, feels very solid and the handgrip is well designed to be able to balance a full spectrum of lenses, it is a huge leap from the a6000. Secondly image quality, wow! Full frame is a game changer and when partnered to good glass the results are stunning. The evf is also larger and much easier to use if like me you wear glasses. Very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great quality

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 14/06/2018 by loui wheel

Great product quality fantastic great for recording and light weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The camera looks and feels amazing in hand.

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 23/05/2018 by Megi

The alpha 7 is all you need. Easy to use, simple to navigate. Makes georgeous photos.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony full frame

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 11/05/2018 by Gamester

Already owning a Sony a6000 , I longed for a full frame camera , the Sony a7 does not disappoint ,the 28/70 lens is sharp with built in steady shot , the camera is small but solid , and there are a growing number of lenses available ,that are affordable, it is the best digital camera I have owned and I would recommend it to anyone.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 03/05/2018 by Daviesm4

I upgraded from my A6000 to this model just before a trip to South Africa. The transition was fairly straightforward and after a couple of hours I had the basics sorted. After 3 weeks away I'm still learning the details of everything this wonderful camera can do. I'm really pleased with my decision to upgrade and the results of my photos especially when combined with my new 24-240mm lens. Looking forward to using it more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A step in the rise of greatness

Body Only 27/04/2018 by SCook

I bought this camera as a 2nd body to my Rii for shooting weddings. It definitely doesn't feel as good as the Rii, as you would expect. but now the camera is older I can appreciate where it fits in the Sony timeline to creating great cameras. the image quality is fantastic on the A7ii and I will definitely look to upgrade to the new mark ii when I can.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera.Great possibilities.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15/04/2018 by Brirevintage

I am happy with this camera.10 years i had Canon and 6 years i had Nikon.... This is the best camera i have.,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0