RRP

£60.00

(incl. VAT)
215

4.5 based on 215 customer reviews

144
56
4
5
6
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

215 Customer Reviews

0

Great Earphones

MDR-EX650AP 05/08/2019

I bout these about 2 weeks ago and and they are brilliant, the sound is great, and the anti tangle actully works much to my suprise. are missing volume controls and it would be good if there is an option to purchance with usbc rather than 3.5mm Jack

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Realible so far

MDR-EX650AP 17/07/2019 by the DonM

Bought them a while ago as my previous Sony headphones broke...Lately i think the quality has reduced. Last chance Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality, questionable durability

MDR-EX650AP 11/07/2019 by DavidN

I bought a pair in January and was really surprised by the sound quality and balance. The weighty feel was a satisfying bonus along with the almost perfect fit. However, after just 4 months post-purchase I began to lose sound in the left ear. This was sadly accompanied by audio being paused and skipped mid-play. I had always been careful with these headphones; using them in appropriate environments where they were unlikely to be damaged and placing them in the appropriate pouch after use, hence my surprise when I noticed these faults. This particular pair of headphones had been recommended to me, so you can imagine my disappointment. Overall, the experience left me with mixed feelings. A great product, but with a short lifespan.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound for a great price

MDR-EX650AP 02/07/2019 by Gerry77

I originally paid nearly £60 for my first pair of these headphones from John Lewis about 4 years ago and now they can be got for £35 online. The new price only made them more appealing. They won a what hi-fi magazine award for good reason when they first came out. The sound is clear, the treble is sweat and the bass respectably low. I have no regrets about buying a second set. Recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good tone

MDR-EX650AP 01/07/2019 by Rachel_lincs

The time quality seems to be great however my ears seem to be too small for the product which means it can be painful after a while

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great value & sound quality

MDR-EX650AP 23/06/2019 by Confcaller007

Bought these for smartphone use, but also great for music, very pleased and recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best headphones I've had

MDR-EX650AP 22/05/2019 by allgood

Fantastic products highly recommended everybody should have a pair of these headphones wonderful sound

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not compatible with all phones

MDR-EX650AP 21/04/2019 by Catharine

Loved the idea of customising your control settings. Sadly, the app didn't work with my phone (One Plus One 3T). I'd launch the app, use my earphones but would find the app always reverted back to the standard settings. I'd have to relaunch each time to use my own settings which is frustrating when running. The design, sound & user ability all terrific, but no good for my phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Customer Support
24/04/2019


Hi Catharine,

Thank you for your feedback. The Smart Key application is compatible with Sony Xperia phones and devices supporting Android OS 4.0 and above. You can find more information about this here:http://bit.ly/2ZszjrP.

Sony Support Team

0

Excellent!

MDR-EX650AP 11/04/2019 by Ben726

Great sound quality, very even and balanced, not too much bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Descent product.

MDR-EX650AP 29/03/2019 by InToXiCaTeD

Very good quality of sound, although i still find my old cheap Samsung's had matching sound quality. Overall the product Is of high standards and great sound quality compared to other competitors.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product, volume is just a few decibels low!

MDR-EX650AP 04/03/2019 by Molly91

Very happy with the product, visually love them... Maybe the volume is a few decibels too low but to be fair not by much!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is brilliant,sound quality perfect! Comfortable

MDR-EX650AP 14/11/2018 by Dave

I can just say good thing about it. So don’t hesitate. Cheap and good quality

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-EX650AP 05/11/2018 by Dammy

I bought this pair about 2 weeks ago after losing the in ear buds of my previous in ear headphone. They really do block out all external sounds and the actual sound quality is brilliant (bar limited to the quality of the mp3 I download). The bass is radiant and full and not an overkill. The cables are sturdy though so get tangled quite easily and the overall weight a the earphones is pretty lite Highly recommend given the relatively cheap price tag

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great for the first 6 months

MDR-EX650AP 05/11/2018 by iamziko

this was my 2nd set of these, since I was so happy with the sound quality of the first set I decided to replace those (faulty/defective after a couple of years use) with the same. However, these developed the same fault after only 6 months of moderate usage, the inline mic/button worked only temperamentally and there were frequent track skips, volume changes, pausing, and activating the voice command function of the phone (i.e. Google search, or Bixby on Samsung) upon only the slightest touch of the cable or the jack. Simply putting my phone back in my pocket would usually cause the voice command to activate, or the track to pause. Or both. Or volume to turn to full. Sometimes I'd not even be listening to music and it would start playing and crank the volume up all whilst in my pocket. This obviously rendered the product useless, as frankly it was infuriating trying to listen to 2 tracks in a row without an issue. They were subsequently returned for a full refund. Other than the above, the sound quality is very good compared to many other headphones I've tried, and the reason for purchasing them twice (though obviously the product is overall defective to have the same issues occur in such short time), I liked the brass housing and the twisted cable. Although the brass discoloured after only a couple of months and the cable would often become twisted and awkward very quickly if taking phone out of pocket and replacing more than once. It could also benefit from the mic having a track skip function and volume buttons like some other similarly priced headphones have. I wouldn't recommend based purely on the life span of the product, which is a great shame for such good sounding ear buds that are hard to find at this price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Really good low budget earbuds

MDR-EX650AP 27/10/2018 by anoniim

+ Solid metal build, feel really sturdy + Nice soft buds, perfect fit for my ears + Long enough wire to reach my low and deep pockets + L-shaped jack which I hope will prevent cable breakage + Totally in love with the case that comes with it - an absolute game changer - is flat in the pocket and the headphones don't tangle - The wire has a plastic feel to it, would appreciate fabric - Only one button on the controls but that's not a big deal

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love my headphones

MDR-EX650AP 28/09/2018 by SophiaB

These Sony headphones came recommended and I feel that I've made a good choice. They look stylish and sound great. I love the sturdy feel of the metal casing and the one button selection works perfectly with my iPhone. I would recommend it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Looks good but to expensive

MDR-EX650AP 13/09/2018 by Ralph

These headphones are very comfortable but a bit dissapionting sound wise I thought although electro music sounds amazing

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound. Stylish look

MDR-EX650AP 08/09/2018 by SimMcD

This is the second time I've bought these headphones. Sound quality is great. Strong bass but still with even, clear well balanced mids and highs. The polished brass looms stylish too. The previous ones had grey metallic coating which was started to rub off. The reason I needed to replace them was because the wire was starting to break though. It got caught on door handles a few times and as the wire is quite thin it cannot put up with much punishment. And now the old pair will randomly cut in and out, skip track, and most annoyingly turn the volume right up or down. Taking care to tuck the excess wire into my pocket with this new pair will hopefully prevent it getting caught on door/cupboard handles, and improve its lifespan. My last pair only lasted 6 months but I do take them everywhere with me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ear phones

MDR-EX650AP 31/08/2018

I replaced this product with exactly the same phones as the wires of the old ones were broken.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb!

MDR-EX650AP 16/08/2018 by Musix

Comfortable fitting, lightweight and superb sound quality. Very happy with my purchase, including the handy pouch the headphones came with.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stylish with good sound

MDR-EX650AP 25/07/2018 by gazzahazza

I bought these to replace some red Sennheiser 3s which had - of course - lost sound in one ear (it should be their brand promise). I had a Sony pair before that at a similar price range and thought they were much better. The sound quality is excellent compared to the Sennheiser. Much more balanced across the entire range which is good for me as I listen to a lot of podcasts. The cable is very fine and doesn't tangle and they are comfortable and block out most external sound. Very good.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Broken Microphone

MDR-EX650AP 07/07/2018 by RIckson

After I have used it for less than half a year, the microphone started malfunctioning...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Solid quality in-ear headphones

MDR-EX650AP 28/06/2018 by Evilc1964

I bought these earphones about a year ago, then lost them on a flight. I could not be without them so bought a replacement set. Nothing I have used in the past comes close to the quality of sound nor quality of build. Also there are ear bud size alternatives if the fitted option does not suit. I am not rough with my headphones and keep them in the supplied case when not in use which probably prolongs the quality I get from them. Would recommend to everyone who likes in-ear headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pro - Noise Cancellation and Comfort Con - Design

MDR-EX650AP 30/05/2018 by MJ

The sound quality and comfort are good quality for the money however, I do not like the design and colour too much.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good in earphones

MDR-EX650AP 20/05/2018 by Joannea37

Unbelievably clear and great bass. A little quiet but over all a fab product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best Wired In Ears you can buy

MDR-EX650AP 25/04/2018 by DavidBlaney1984

These headphones are a true reflection of the Sony brand! Excellent build quality and excellent sound. If you need wired in ears just get these headphones. You will not be disappointed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great ear hoes

MDR-EX650AP 06/04/2018 by SMD1963

The third pair bought not due to faults but rather having lost the other two. Super quality and sound excellant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good sound quality and comfortable in the ear

MDR-EX650AP 02/04/2018 by Jeffplumb

Excellent compliment to iPod touch good sound quality

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the money

MDR-EX650AP 07/02/2018 by Mudzzz

It's absolutely great, worth every single penny

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-EX650AP 19/01/2018 by Donthaveone1234567

I am very pleased with the sound quality, separation and Bass of these headphones. Well made and much better than I had hoped they would sound. Superb!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Style & Comfort

MDR-EX650AP 18/01/2018 by DJA

I have several Sony headphones which provide great sound quality but needed a pair of no nonsense in-ears. These earphones tick all the boxes. Sound quality, comfort fit and stylish look.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good quality and sound

MDR-EX650AP 11/01/2018 by Ryan

Great sound for the price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The best

MDR-EX650AP 06/01/2018 by 4bunty

So comfortable and anti twist is brill. Sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A second pair

MDR-EX650AP 25/10/2017 by Cinerus

A nice pair of earphones . Nice bass to them and comfortable. Are replacing an older set that died after 2 years of use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best yet

MDR-EX650AP 23/10/2017 by DavidHO

I wanted a good set of in ear phones to complement my new digital Walkman. I’m so glad I got these, they’re perfect for the job. Nice clear definition through the mids and highs, and a nice crisp deep bass. Excellent build quality too, as you would expect from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

MDR-EX650AP 26/09/2017 by stig4355

Excellent sound quality from these headphones and very comfortable to wear over a long period of time and I’ve tried a few other makes over the years and these are the best would definitely recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound quality and comfortable

MDR-EX650AP 26/09/2017 by George911

Sony ear phones look great feel comfortable and have great sound quality. Good value for money

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Clean Crisp Sound with good bass weight

MDR-EX650AP 24/08/2017 by Mikeypanther

Excellent sound and comfortable to wear for long periods. Sound is clean, crisp with good bass weight that allows the music to breath and brings life to the whole range of instruments.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SOny

MDR-EX650AP 22/08/2017

I wished that sony would provide 2 years warranty as sennheiser does. It would be a great bonus. All in all, I am happy that I chose earphones made by Sony and probably there will be more purchases...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-EX650AP 17/08/2017 by Phil4355

Really nice headphones good well balanced sound with a nice bass punch ,comfortable to wear and nice build quality would definitely recommend these

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

MDR-EX650AP 16/08/2017 by Sonyuser

Great sound at a great price!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound quality, Microphone doesn't work

MDR-EX650AP 11/07/2017 by reneses

To be fair, sound quality is quite good. However, the microphone does not work neither with my iPhone 7 Plus nor with my old iPhone 5S. I thought it probably was just a faulty unit, so I asked for a replacement. What a surprise when I receive the new earphones, and the mic was not working neither. I threw the original box after receiving them, because I was expecting that earphones of that price would work as expected -BIG MISTAKE. What is worst, even though the mic does not work, I can't use the built-in neither when plugged. Now I'm forced to keep these useless earphones. Worst earphones I've ever bought.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Quality in a small package

MDR-EX650AP 04/07/2017 by Jimbo

Whilst on a break in Yorkshire, my Sony earphones lost sound at one side. The new ones are superior in every way to the old. Very clear definition and excellent sound quality.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good value

MDR-EX650AP 28/06/2017 by NS

Love the look of these, decent sound quality for price, would recommend.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sonic

MDR-EX650AP 19/06/2017 by Iceice

Last pair were devoured by the vacum cleaner. Arggghhhh. Thought about changing to another manufacturer then decided to buy same pair again. Prices have dropped since first pair, quality just as good. For now they do sound slightly different although after using I suspect all will return to another fantactic set of ear phones. I changed the fitted buds to another pair that were supplied in the box. Sound quality and price are my main concerns. I have had many, many earphones over the years. These are the only pair I have sought again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Greetings sounding and very comfortable

MDR-EX650AP 16/05/2017 by ChrisC

These are fantastic in ear headphones! Their design not only makes them comfortable but ensures they stay put. there is the right amount of sound isolation so you can block out the outside world but don't feel dizzy when the volume is low. sound quality and presentation is amazing for the price! Bass is tight and deep whilst mids and treble are clean and clear. Before I purchased I was concerned about the lack of volume control for iPhone but it really isn't a problem worth worrying about.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Earphones that work as expected

MDR-EX650AP 02/05/2017 by MonkeynMario

After a lot of reviews decided on the Sony to go with the HiRes Walkman as impedance is everything .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brass Band

MDR-EX650AP 19/04/2017 by Lord Headphones

Simply divine.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound quality

MDR-EX650AP 12/04/2017 by Saket

Well worth the money.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great earphones

MDR-EX650AP 23/03/2017 by Duquey

Great all-round earphones would recommend them , great quality and build

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product and extras with it...

MDR-EX650AP 21/03/2017 by Anonymous again

Great quality sound for ear buds and fit well due to being offset. Happy with case too. Absolutely no complaints. Typical quality Sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product and even better service

MDR-EX650AP 21/03/2017 by Jc

The earphones are incredible, as a working musician I am constantly listening to music and these have been perfect for general listening and mixing. The quick collect service was also really great, I was in and out the shop in 3 minutes. Will definitely be coming back.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Hero to zero!

MDR-EX650AP 14/03/2017 by Tonebabone

The earphones were fantastic for the first few months, great sound, great fit, great look and feel. Then suddenly a few months later the left side stopped working and has never worked since. Very disappointed considering the price!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

MDR-EX650AP 10/03/2017 by Stephane Az

GOOD performance

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

They're OK

MDR-EX650AP 08/03/2017 by MH

I'm a little disappointed with these Sonys. My last pair were Sennheisers CX 300 II which, although evidently fragile in construction, had more bass, but never overpowering. By comparison, these Sonys are a little treble-happy. The volume output is also noticeably lower. These flaws are most noticeable in noisier environments where you have to crank up the volume. At home, or a quiet office, you do start to hear the quality of sound reproduction, probably thanks to the brass construction.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

MDR-EX650AP 07/03/2017 by Lor

Thanks i happy

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-EX650AP 27/02/2017 by markimarki27

These have been an excellent buy. Now the price has dropped they are great value and great sounding headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality

MDR-EX650AP 27/02/2017 by Yasir

After using beats and bose id say it certainly is one of the best quality earbuds

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and comfortable

MDR-EX650AP 17/02/2017 by Silven

Received as a gift - appreciated! Decent sound quality and deals with bass reasonably well. Nicely designed both for comfort and functionality - hands-free gives good audibility and the cord shortener is a nice touch. Would have benefited from incorporating volume control on to hands free control but otherwise no complaints!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sounding bargin headphones!

MDR-EX650AP 15/02/2017 by VRG

Great feeling sounding headphones ! Bass response is amazing due to the brass body really makes a reasonably priced headphone punch well above it's weight !!! Would recommend to anyone ! All day long very happy with them !

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Disappointing for use with MP3

MDR-EX650AP 08/02/2017 by Gym bunny

Poor bass compared with some cheaper Sony earphones. Very edgy top tones, disturbingly so.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Superb quality for price

MDR-EX650AP 11/01/2017 by Elephantsocks

Bought to go with nwz-a15 and wow. The two make superb quality. Much better than my iPod and sennheiser combination.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best in ear headphones I've owned

MDR-EX650AP 11/01/2017 by stix1812

I consider myself a bit of an audiophile and own and have owned several pairs of headphones including high end sennheiser and beyerdynamic models. These are excellent good bass, excellent mids and perfect Hi's. Makes my daily run a joy.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Still great value for money

MDR-EX650AP 11/01/2017 by cralyd

What Hifi magazine award winner in 2014, these ear phones still take some beating for the price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good headphones

MDR-EX650AP 09/01/2017 by LuceM

These headphones exceeded my expectations. They are far better made than cheaper headphones I've used before. Excellent precision engineering, fit, materials, sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound. Very comfortable.

MDR-EX650AP 07/01/2017 by thepars85

Excellent sound quality and very comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Value for money

MDR-EX650AP 05/01/2017 by Skidderz

These headphones look good, well made and fit good. The sound reproduction is excellent, I would say better than the Beats, that they replaced and much cheaper at just over the £50 mark as opposed to the £85 that I paid for the Beats. I also saw that these came a good third out of the top 10 of a well known Hifi magazine, the top 2 being in the £100 +category, they are a must if you are into your music.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing earphones and what hifi winner

MDR-EX650AP 05/01/2017 by Kmaid

These were a present to myself and an upgrade from sennheiser cbx 300 II. The sound quality improvement is so vast i really struggle to go back to them when i don't have these with me. The only negative is the brass makes them quite heavy.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Brilliant Sony MDX-ER 650 In-Ear Headpones

MDR-EX650AP 03/01/2017 by Knightwho23

Sony MDX-ER 650 In-Ear Headpones are brilliant sound quality very good bass and really good design and they are very comfortable in ear headphones well worth the money

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Don't last long

MDR-EX650AP 29/12/2016 by Ogen

Unfortunately these headphones broke after about 3 months of usage, very nice sound but the price to longevity, don't really make it worth it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sound is OK but.........

MDR-EX650AP 28/12/2016 by Fred00000001

Have owned for a few weeks so can't talk about build quality but sound is slightly better than stock Ipod earphones, not as good as expected however.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Not working properly with iPhone 6s

MDR-EX650AP 13/12/2016 by PAOP

Today I made new update of IPhone software and headphones not responding but works in another devices rubbish

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4