FE 70-200MM F4 G OSS

Product Reviews

RRP

£1,509.00

(incl. VAT)
45

4.9 based on 45 customer reviews

41
3
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45 Customer Reviews

0

Great lens; sharp images

SEL70200G 06/09/2019 by Topher34

Bought this lens a few weeks ago and really happy so far. Good in low light and images are crisp and clear. Quality is good and feels well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL70200G 01/09/2019 by MinoltaD

Bought from Camera Centre UK, Sadly the lens hood was missing from the box and I’m still waiting for Sony to send a replacement to the store, need hood to fully test sharpness of this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

70-200mm f4

SEL70200G 30/08/2019 by Reds fan

I purchased the lens a couple of months ago. I am absolutely delighted with it. I would not hesitate when advising anyone to purchase this lens. It is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Greate Feautures

SEL70200G 28/08/2019 by aaphotography

this lens is amazing for lot of things , i use it for next day wedding photoshoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens with a bargain price

SEL70200G 25/08/2019 by Donkey45

When I bought this lens I already owned the 2.8 GM version and this was a purchase for my son. All I can say is wow. It's a joy to use, af is fast and accurate the iq is amazing and it's so light weight. Obviously the 2.8 is better but at this price it's a must have. Buy it you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Tele lens

SEL70200G 02/08/2019 by borolr

I have this lens from a year ago and I am very happy with the results. It produces a very sharp images from corner to corner using the right settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very sharp

SEL70200G 02/07/2019 by Darylg

I bought this to replace a Tamron SP 70-300 A mount with LA-EA3 adapter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sharp and light in weight

SEL70200G 10/03/2019 by None discript

I bought this about a month ago and I am glad I was talked out of buying the F2.8 version as it is nearly half of the weight but even at F4 minimum I found this lens to be very sharp and with excellent shallow depth of field. Its lightweight means that I can carry and use a telephoto most of the day without getting tired compared to a very much heavier and more expensive F2.8 70-200 lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

An all round favourite zoom lens for landscape pho

SEL70200G 03/03/2019 by Tripod

I've been using this product for eight months in all weathers and have found it to an excellent piece of kit.It's very well balanced making it easy to hand hold and the compact design means it takes up little space in the camera bag.The optics are outstanding and the total weight is comparatively low. Ideal for travel and hiking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony - FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS

SEL70200G 17/02/2019 by Gracai

I have had the lens for about 5 months now and I am very pleased with the resulting images that the lens produces, couple with the Sony A7R mkiii it's a wining combination. I used to have a Canon 70 - 200mm F2.8 but I really don't miss it and this lighter lens is a joy to carry around. I am a wedding photographer but this lens is perfect for portraits, landscapes and brilliant for sports.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

beautiful built lens.

SEL70200G 19/12/2018 by Mikeybikey

only had the lens for a month but what I see is sharp corners even a f4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 16/11/2018 by fredbollox

Bought this summer and really enjoying the balance on my A7R body. Seems to be sharp pretty much across the range with fast accurate autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

SEL70200G 30/10/2018 by W8STY

Used it when I was lucky enough to go on cruise to Greenland _ very pleased with photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Incredibly sharp and versatile

SEL70200G 25/09/2018 by JaWalUk

Sharp, versatile, great functions and size. Came from a 2.8 version and much happier with this as it's light enough to keep in my bag at all times. Brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL70200G 04/09/2018 by Javamidge

I’ve had this lens for about a month and have taken approx 1000 shots with it. The results are stunning. Extremely sharp and quick to lock focus. I am very happy with the performance of this lens and would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

AMAZING

SEL70200G 01/09/2018 by TOPCOACH

TRULY AMAZING GLAD I MOVED TO SONY FROM CANON, WELL BETTER PRODUCT IN 4K ALSO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent if you get a good example!

SEL70200G 11/08/2018 by iMarGo

My lens is super sharp, handles really well, OSS is amazing, really happy! Only problem is you’ve got to get a good copy, my first one was terrible, blurry shots, OSS issues but was claimed to be ‘within spec’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Best lens in the case

SEL70200G 11/08/2018 by Rjbeecher

This lens has an amazing 200mm zoom. It has captured some of my best shots without being invasive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality. and great features.

SEL70200G 08/08/2018 by Geoff42

I purchased this lens in June and have now had the time to use it in many situations and I cannot fault it. it is a good all round lens and a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ultimate Action Lens

SEL70200G 12/07/2018 by DelayedPleasure

It's a great lens. F4 may not be as shallow as 2.8, but it still does a fantastic job!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than I expected.

SEL70200G 26/01/2018 by Bounty Hunter

I was apprehensive about getting this lens as all my other lenses are prime lenses. I considered that this lens would not be as sharp and the quality would be lacking however I was pleasantly surprised and I can honestly say that I am not disappointed. It offers great versatility whilst on a shoot, it looks good and it performs very well indeed. I am glad I made the decision to buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A terrific lens

SEL70200G 18/12/2017 by DigitalAlan

Had it for a couple of weeks and very pleased with the results on my A7RII. Focus is very fast and it tracks well. Images a very crisp and colours well captured. A great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic lens

SEL70200G 23/11/2017 by brum1234

great allrounder lightweight first expensive lens not sorry brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens. Shame about Sony's pricing

SEL70200G 17/11/2017 by Hughzy

This lens is often overlooked as people seem to be drawn more to the G Master. This is ashame as this lens is a fantastic performer and extremely light. It's just ashame that Sony still sells its lenses at prices that are far too high

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

First impressions

SEL70200G 09/10/2017 by alanealing

Although I have not had the chance to test in depth, I took the lens with my A6500 along a Thames walk last week. Highly impressed with the sharpness from all angles. Zoom is smooth. Colours accurate on the sunny day. Autumn colours especially. Lens is heavy which I expected, but I carried it around all afternoon with no fatigue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good optics but no teleconverter available

SEL70200G 08/06/2017 by Desoscar

As above when are Sony going to make more lenses/converters

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Just the best

SEL70200G 19/04/2017 by Seaton Carew

This brilliant lens that complaments my Sony A7, so pleased to have it in my bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Just the ticket

SEL70200G 23/09/2016 by Camshy

On camera most of the time since getting. Size and weight are reason I chose this rather than to f2.8, being I shoot landscapes f4 is fine. Stabilization works great for hand held shots though that's rare. Image quality so far from lens and the A7R have really helped take my photography to a new level, so much so that I now have prints rather than just digital copies. Regularly print 20" x 30" and 16" x 36", also a 20" x 59". Anyone with E mount who shoots landscapes should get this lens as it doesn't disappoint.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Spot on!

SEL70200G 26/06/2016 by Kohakoo

I had read a few negatives about this lens being soft max zoom. I think I'm one of the lucky ones, its spot on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Light, versatile, accurate and extremely fast auto

SEL70200G 18/01/2016 by dynot

Purchased last month and has been my main camera lens so far and I am very pleased with the results. Though rated at F4 the Sony A7Rii that I am using it with far outweighs this. I am looking forward to Sony releasing a 2,8 which I am sure, when released will become the lens of choice for many photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

A must have lens for sony e-mount users

SEL70200G 09/06/2015 by Fatbobby

A great lens for both my A7 and A6000 . Excellent image quality on both cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

nice balance with camera

SEL70200G 22/05/2015 by Dr Do

fitted in well with my setup and the screen helps with low level shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 15/04/2015 by chriscamera

Having used this lens for a number of weeks on a 7R, I am very pleased with the purchase. I have used it as a general purpose lens, because it has the image stabilisation which my prime lens does not have and with the 7R you do need to be careful of camera shake/movement, so when I cannot use my tripod I like to use this lens. Of particular note for me are some of my outdoor portrait work with this lens, producing excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smooth

SEL70200G 14/04/2015

Even though I have had less time using the lense than I would have liked I have found the lense smooth and steady with crisp detail even when hand held and the light levels are not at their best . Worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

WoW fast focus

SEL70200G 06/04/2015 by Sydney2

Using this lens with a mirror less camera is just awesome. It's light small and has an image quality second to none. Used with the A6000 it's focus capabilities are fantastic, Using it with 36 mp gives an image quality which will amaze.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

32

0

0

Fantastic Glass

SEL70200G 03/03/2015 by Gmoney4u

I purchased this lens new and have been completely pleased with its operation. It takes exceptionally clear images at all focal lengths. The auto focus is crisp and fast. The lens is light and well balanced for controlled hand held telephoto shooting. The lens feel solid and well built and looks good.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stable picture even handheld

SEL70200G 28/02/2015 by simonog

Bought last week. This is the first telephoto I have had where used with a Sony Alpha 7 II I can take a full zoom picture handheld and it's rock solid stable. Well made lens with easy action and good performance.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent, sharp lens.

SEL70200G 10/02/2015 by ClarkyAviation

Absolutely excellent lens. The build quality is fantastic, although with my sample the tripod collar moves too easily when it is supposedly locked down. The IS is decent, not as good as a cheaper competitor lens that I have, but it is a heck of a lot quieter. Focussing is essentially silent, as is changing aperture. This lens feels like it's built like a tank and could really stand up to abuse. The size is great for an FE system like my A7s, although I feel it's a lot more comfortable to use with a battery grip installed. It's a bit pricey for what it is, to be honest, but offset against the cost of the camera (in comparison to the competition) the overall price about evens out. But the lens is super sharp, lovely bokeh. I've been using it for aerial photography, and just general photo taking, and it's performed extremely well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Superb!!

SEL70200G 25/11/2014 by Grrrowl

Excellent build quality and superb fast sharp AF all in a nice tiny package. OSS is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

a great lens

SEL70200G 17/11/2014 by warwick72

I bought my sony compact & lenses 3 weeks ago and a few hundred images later, am very pleased with the result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

excellent quality

SEL70200G 03/09/2014 by ms3650uk

Used at Bournemouth Air Show wth A7 camera excellent full frame definition

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great telephoto lens with ultimate sharpness

SEL70200G 01/08/2014 by Rizvan

Having already bought the Zeiss 24-70mm & 55mm I decided to buy this telephoto lens to add to my collection. Some may consider this a very expensive lens but the price is justified by the results it produces. It is sharper than its rivals but in a smaller and ligher package. No negative issues to report and it is one of my favorite lenses so far. I hope Sony continue to make lenses of this calibre and consider releasing a tele-converter for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Best (and only tele) there is for Alpha 7 FF line

SEL70200G 24/06/2014 by priitv8

This lens is capable of delivering impressive results. The build form (size & weight) match very well with the α7 series. It is at the moment the only really useable tele lens, providing both AF and IS, for use with the α7 line of FF cameras. All alternatives that I've tried have had some drawbacks: full manual focus (in case of Canon FD lenses or slow AF in case of Canon EF lenses). I have not had the opportunity to test Sony's A-mount lenses, however. Did I mention the excellent build and finish of this lens?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Solid performance, just about small enough

SEL70200G 05/06/2014 by RayS

Recently purchased as part of a move from a DSLR-based system, complete with giant f2.8 zooms. While I miss that extra aperture stop a little, the overall reduction of size and weight in the whole system makes it worth the sacrifice. Very good performance right from f4, with the exception of the corners being just a little soft until you stop down. That's no a problem for my style of work, though. Out of focus backgrounds look very smooth and clean. Autofocus is fast and accurate, and the stabilisation works surprisingly well. Overall, I'm very happy with it so far!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent sharp Lens

SEL70200G 03/06/2014 by RonSE6

The FE 70-200mm F4 G Lens is very sharp and the quality is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0