RRP

£972.00

(incl. VAT)
41

4.6 based on 41 customer reviews

27
12
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb quality lens that is sharp and well made

SEL2470Z 08/09/2018 by Iansky

This lens compliments the A7iii very well, it is an all metal lens with Carl Zeiss glass that delivers super sharp images in a size that compliments the camera and makes it an easy carry unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Average Lens

SEL2470Z 29/07/2017

Expected this lens to be sharper. Am disappointed in the quality of the pictures I get from it. Paid a premium for a Zeiss badge!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

41 Customer Reviews

0

Early Days

SEL2470Z 15/04/2019 by notyet100

Excellent Lens - Have yet to give it a proper test but so far Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good focal range, bad distortion

SEL2470Z 23/03/2019 by Chrismark1959

I have been using this lens for several weeks and the results beyond 35mm have been good, clear and sharp. However, from 24mm to 35mm there has been some severe distortion which I have not been able to correct.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
28/03/2019

Hi Chris,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend ensuring that the software of the lens is up to date. You can find links to download the latest software version under the download section here: http://bit.ly/2U3sVrW. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Quick and easy

SEL2470Z 03/02/2019 by Dickinson59

Excellent lens . I have moved from nikon to Sony best decision I have made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far, so good.

SEL2470Z 20/12/2018 by idiot1

Contrary to some reviews it functions well and is good value for money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 22/11/2018 by Brunobear

Only used a few weeks but fantastic results, focus fast and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL2470Z 05/11/2018 by PLST

Haven’t had a chance to give the lens a proper workout yet, but I can see from the test shots I’ve made so far that the lens is going to outperform me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens

SEL2470Z 15/10/2018 by Rich58

I've had this lens for about 3 months now. Right from the start it suited my purposes well. A very good walk about lens which covers my most used range 24-70. Its sharp! Very sharp! Centre is superb throughout the range, its a zoom so one has to expect some fall out toward the edge and corners, which in my opinion is acceptable. Not so great wide open, 4.5 starts to improve noticeably, 5.6 is my optimum for what I do, 8 slightly better again. I have found it to be very good around the 35mm, 50mm and approx 68mm. That said, 24 to 28 does a good job on my architectural shots, no complaints! Slow at f4 but, I don't do much low light stuff and if I do I crank the ISO up, deal with any noise in PS/LR and shrink the file slightly, job done, perfectly acceptable. Downsides, few. Expensive! Build quality ok, alloy outside plastics inside, don't like plastic! Bulky, but not necessarily heavy. Close to hitting the 5* but, I think for the money I would expect slightly better from a lens with the name Zeiss on it. Good all round lens. If you're getting into Sony full frame, I would say go for this lens as a starter, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb quality lens that is sharp and well made

SEL2470Z 08/09/2018 by Iansky

This lens compliments the A7iii very well, it is an all metal lens with Carl Zeiss glass that delivers super sharp images in a size that compliments the camera and makes it an easy carry unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

so clear

SEL2470Z 27/08/2018 by glynnejh

great lens shame about the cash back scheme it spoils it with all the rubbish you need to do to claim it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 23/06/2018 by LizzieO

I bought this lens about 2 years ago and have used it nearly all the time since then. It is a great lens and produces great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful colours, quality glass

SEL2470Z 19/06/2018 by Pete Lonsdale

Having moved over to a7 cameras completely this lens was the perfect choice between size, quality and price. I know the GM version is better but it’s much larger and pretty expensive! This lens hits the sweet spot for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feels good on the A7 M2.

SEL2470Z 04/04/2018 by Seaton Carew

Would like to have bought the F2.8, two reasons i didn't expensive, and balance on the A7 m2 not good. Overall very pleased with the F4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Glass

SEL2470Z 03/04/2018 by Shakey Bluesman

So glad I bought this lens over the 28-70. You get that little bit extra at the wide angle and the build quality is superb. Focusing is ultra fast and photos razor sharp particularly when stopped down a stop. This is my walk around lens of choice and complements my Sony a7 ii perfectly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL2470Z 01/03/2018 by flyingal

I got this lens for closeup work. The quality is excellent. Zeiss lens is great, well made and images are sharp and crisp. Used with Sony A7II, it has a very smooth connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Compact and lightweight for an excellent lens.

SEL2470Z 08/02/2018 by Stoneyguy

I bought this lens very recently to pair with a new A7RII bought at the same time. I got them to reduce weight and enable me to carry around absolutely top quality kit when I don't want to be weighed down with other DSLR equipment. Combined with my FE 55 F1.8 ZA this is perfect combo for my needs and I can already see this will fast becoming my 'go to' kit for street, landscape and general photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sony

SEL2470Z 13/11/2017 by Pedunki80

I bought this product and haven't put it down it's the best purchase I made in a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Ziess glass

SEL2470Z 28/09/2017

I have wanted some Zeiss glass for a long while and have been very please not only by the quality of the image but also the great design, it feel good in the hand and has a very smooth action

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Average Lens

SEL2470Z 29/07/2017

Expected this lens to be sharper. Am disappointed in the quality of the pictures I get from it. Paid a premium for a Zeiss badge!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Versatile Standard Zoom Lens

SEL2470Z 22/07/2017 by ipollen

This is an ideal lens for travel photography as the focal lencth range of 24mm to 70mm will cover 80% of my needs. There are plenty of reviews out there complaining of poor image quality but I have not found this to be the case. I will say it is a little over priced but at present there are not many alternatives.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Solidly Built

SEL2470Z 27/11/2016

I bought this as part of a light weight solution for my outdoor photography, I cover some miles and need high quality but at a lighter weight. This along with the A7ii body has more than achieved this. Initially this was for test shooting and site surveying, it has now become the main camera for the shoot saving me a lot of back ache! Each opportunity it gets it shines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

2

0

Lens

SEL2470Z 11/08/2016 by A Rainy Night in England

Good to use although it would be nice if maximum aperture was f2.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

11

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 11/08/2016 by Jacquib

I bought this lens before going to India for a wedding...the lens performed great and the photos were precise, sharp with beautiful colours. Focus is easy and precise..love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

Good for the money

SEL2470Z 02/05/2016 by keefiman

It's a delight to own, as a light weight moderately priced walk around travel zoom. Not as sharp as expected but good colour rendering. Not bothered about bokeh myself, but it can deliver in the right conditions. uf you want an 'ace' 24-70 go for the G.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Lens for Sony a7RII

SEL2470Z 02/04/2016 by Malky6

I bought this lens at the Photography show just over 1 week ago. Recommended by retailer. It has so far proved to be a great buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best lens ever purchased

SEL2470Z 03/02/2016 by Cacey

I bought this lens to complement my new camera, a Sony A7r ii. It was important that I produced great photos the first time I used my new camera and wow, was I pleased. Amazing quality fron a great Sony pairing and I know I will get endless endless enjoyment from this lens through its great build and top top quality. Do yourself a huge favour and purchase one as soon as you can you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

8

0

Great walk about lens

SEL2470Z 11/01/2016 by chasby

I use primes most of the time but as a reliable no luggage, no nonsense lens with great glass this more than does the job.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Great standard zoom lens for full frame

SEL2470Z 16/09/2015 by Pauld77

I recently upgraded to Sony full frame. This lens is beautifully balanced on the A7 body. It is smooth to operate and gives beautifully sharp images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

1

0

Super sharp

SEL2470Z 11/09/2015 by fboleto

I am a new Sony user, coming from a canon world, I must say this lens is super sharp and versatile from macro to portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

The best of the best

SEL2470Z 11/09/2015 by Ray Bilcliff

This is my first Zeiss lens and I have to say is it is quality. I know you have to pay more, but it is worth every penny you will spend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

fits the bill

SEL2470Z 06/07/2015 by warwick72

Having upgraded an A6000 + sony 16-70 f4 zeiss for an A7ii and the sony 24-70 f4 zeiss and having read numerous reviews beforehand, I was slightly concerned as to whether the 24-70 would at least equal the 16-70 in performance. But I should not have been concerned for the 24-70 surpasses my expectations and is the perfect companion for the A7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Not a fantastic zoom lens by Zeiss as I expected.

SEL2470Z 20/04/2015 by Lingham

Bought this lens some months ago and had used it several times and formed an opinion that it is not an exceptional quality lens as I expected from Zeiss.Good enough for candid photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Great crisp lens.

SEL2470Z 29/03/2015 by Muddly

I always think there isn't much to say about a lens. But this does the job and works brilliantly with my A7 II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

STUNNING LENS...

SEL2470Z 16/03/2015 by John Batten

This excellent lens lives on my a7ii. The combined weight of ±1,000gms puts no strain on my neck. Results on my 30" Apple Cinema Screen at full size are pin sharp. The attached snaps were nearly all grabbed on a dull morning within 200yds or so of Nelson's Column in London

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

It is OK for the money

SEL2470Z 10/03/2015 by Skyviz

It is an OK lens. I think the distortion is a little high and I don't like the focus by wire. It is pretty sharp and chromatic aberration is OK. I have so many Zeiss ZF lenses and this lens has a lot to live up to. Slightly disappointed it is not f2.8 even if the price is a lot more, but the OSS works well. I have the A7s and the A7ii and it works well with both

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Everyday Lens

SEL2470Z 09/03/2015 by simonog

I bought this with the camera rather than the lower specification 28-70 mm kit lens. This lens is an excellent everyday lens for amateur usage. Crisp, clear, stable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Happy with it, really good results

SEL2470Z 10/02/2015 by BarneyB

I bought this a few weeks ago with my new A7 II. I have sent back the first copy because the sides on 24mm were really bad. This second copy is better, but it is still far from perfect. I have tested it and over 30mm everything is super sharp, and even at 24mm stopped down is useable. So I decided to keep it, because I will get the 16-35 as well, and that will cover the weak 24mm part. So apart from this it is a really good lens, really sharp and lots of detail. I recommend it! And if you are a street/portrait/family photographer, you won't even notice this problem, it will be a perfect lens. I like the colours it produces, and the built is really high quality as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Fantastic lens extremely sharp.

SEL2470Z 19/12/2014 by Bigboytwin

I bought this lens few weeks ago and am well pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Sony - Vario-Tessar T* FE 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS

SEL2470Z 08/08/2014 by Just a barrow lad

Have had it now for 2 months and love the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice Walkabout Lens

SEL2470Z 23/06/2014 by kensom

Easy to use but best on 'automatic' mode. Good colour rendition and pretty sharp throughout all apertures. Do not expect this lens to be as good as the 55mmF1.8 or 135mmF1.8 but it is very useful for those walkabout shots - which do not disappoint. Get one, I'm pleased I did!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good but expensive

SEL2470Z 03/06/2014 by SMary

Its a seller's market for the full frame E mount lenses - this is the only current choice if you want wider than 28mm, which as a landscape photographer I do! In general the lens performs well, but it does have a very large amount of in-camera correction which saps its resolution somewhat on the A7r. It makes a quite nice combination with the A7r and does manage to take really nice portrait shots. It has optical stabilisation which sets it apart from anything you can mount on the camera via an adapter.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent performance

SEL2470Z 02/06/2014 by nickj

Sharp images, easy to use. Reasonably compact a little heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0