CD BOOMBOX

Product Reviews

RRP

£100.00

(incl. VAT)
80

4.3 based on 80 customer reviews

44
26
3
5
2
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

80 Customer Reviews

0

Super sound experience

ZS-PS55B 24/08/2021 by Ally katz

I bought it for a specific reason and so glad I did.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

OK, nothing brilliant.

ZS-PS55B 25/06/2021 by Neil B

It's OK loud enough but certainly hasn't got much BOOM about it - not really a boombox

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good value for money

ZS-PS55B 27/04/2021 by Sid

Good sound for the money and easy controls. USB port and jackplug enables it to connect to other devices.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not bad but sound not great

ZS-PS55B 24/03/2021 by Chuggs

Pretty good but sound could be better for the price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Blast from the past

ZS-PS55B 24/03/2021 by RetroDad

Compact, portable, good sound, versatile.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

My radio looks great

ZS-PS55B 16/03/2021 by Thelma

Very pleased with my radio, cd player sound great

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Poor value

ZS-PS55B 10/03/2021 by SussexWood

Nice neat little unit but little to commend it, performance-wise. Seemed smaller than I was expecting for a 'boom box' and bass performance unimpressive. Acceptably sensitive on both DAB and FM. No backlight for the display, only three presets to cover both DAB and FM, incredibly slow to tune and operate, no remote control. Did not bother testing the CD player because the overall performance was so disappointing.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony DAB CD

ZS-PS55B 02/03/2021 by Cityslicker

Very good sound quality. Much better than I thought it would be.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

CD failed after 9 months

ZS-PS55B 15/02/2021 by jfgh

CD player failed whilst still under warranty. Other reviewers from various sites noted the same. Try another brand - not up to expected standard from Sony

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony Support UK
18/02/2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to learn that you are facing difficulties with the playback on this unit. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information so that we can help using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09.

Sony Support UK

0

Uitstekend product

ZS-PS55B 10/02/2021 by radio4

Ik ben zeer tevreden over deze Sony Personal Audio System. De klankkwaliteit is erg goed voor zo'n klein toestel. Zowel CD-speler als de DAB+ radio en FM-zenders functioneren erg goed. Het toestel is ook gebruiksvriendelijk te bedienen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

It's just what I was looking for !

ZS-PS55B 26/01/2021 by FRANK

It's very convenient & the price is just right , & it doesn't take up to much space !

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good

ZS-PS55B 13/01/2021 by Rosy

Really enjoy using this, it’s great for what I needed it for

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great little sound machine

ZS-PS55B 13/01/2021 by Gledders

Easy to use and set up. Good sound, though as others have mentioned it's quite small.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound

ZS-PS55B 01/01/2021 by Lindylou

Bought this to replace a mini stereo set. Really good sound and easy to operate. Would recommend.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Does the job

ZS-PS55B 01/01/2021 by Evania234

It does exactly what I wanted, play CDs and dab radio. Not too big. Very pleased

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Small and compact for on the move

ZS-PS55B 31/12/2020 by Annie43

Just wanted a simple machine to play my cds when not in car or at home and this little machine fills that nicely.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good radio

ZS-PS55B 26/11/2020 by 303007

Good powerful radio and not over big as some boom box radios are, so will not take up too much room. Don’t try making sense of the manual, life’s too short. I haven’t worked out yet how to preset 30 stations.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good piece of kit

ZS-PS55B 28/10/2020 by James

Good piece of kit and great clear sound, but could do with a remote control.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Love my CD Boombox

ZS-PS55B 13/10/2020 by Dragonlady

I get great pleasure listening to my CD's and the Radio in which ever room I am in. Easy to unplug and take it with me. Very useful in the garden, using batteries, while pottering about. Wouldn't do without it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good while it lasted

ZS-PS55B 11/09/2020 by Unhappy johnny

Bought it 7 months ago and it has packed up and they could not repair it at this time so I got a refund .we never used it very often .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

CD player was a nice gift for my doughter

ZS-PS55B 11/09/2020 by Gringo

It’S a good brand . It’s working very well. Perfect for listening music .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Start niet op na enige niet gebruikt te zijn

ZS-PS55B 08/09/2020 by Saxofoon

Gekocht op 16-07-2020 Start niet op na enige niet gebruikt te zijn . Gaat wel van :Stand-by naar "-Wait" maar doet verder niks meer.Na de steker te hebben uitgetrokken en weer ingestoken doet hij het wel weer. Zeer frustrerend..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

3

0

0

Excellent

ZS-PS55B 18/08/2020 by didvil

cela correspond à mes attentes, lecture CD, USB, radio. Je mets moyen aux qualité audio, mais cela me satisfait car ce n'est pas une chaîne stéréo

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Good tone and very good sound reproduction

ZS-PS55B 19/07/2020 by tom boy

Bought two weeks ago. very pleased with the product. Instruction book could be a bit clearer especially about tuning the radio pre-sets.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact design.

ZS-PS55B 08/07/2020 by Poppy

I am very pleased with my purchase. Delivery was quick and in the allotted time.Good value for money and easy to operate.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Present

ZS-PS55B 24/06/2020 by Pops

Bought as present very happy with it

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sounds brilliant

ZS-PS55B 03/06/2020 by stringer

Bought it for my mum very simple to use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not as good as it looks.

ZS-PS55B 27/05/2020 by MK

This is not worth the money. It's got no base to it and I could have got the same sound out of something half the price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

All Boom Boxes should be this good

ZS-PS55B 14/05/2020 by Uppers

Front mounted connections are a great help, It receives more radio stations than you'll ever need including Radio Caroline. The sound is very good, crisp and loud.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

ZS-PS55B 12/05/2020 by Rats

Good sound, compact and easy to userats

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The quality and sound is excellent

ZS-PS55B 12/05/2020 by Scotia1958

It’s simple to set up and small enough to fit where I wanted it in the kitchen.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to use

ZS-PS55B 09/05/2020 by taser

Compact, good sound, Simple easy set up. That's all I have to say

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound for a smallish box

ZS-PS55B 27/04/2020 by GordonPen48

Much better sound from CD player and radio than any other manufacturer I've heard. This unit has everything required as I deliberately avoided products with built in cassette players as they take up space in the unit and I would never use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Happy son with first music player

ZS-PS55B 15/04/2020 by EnergiserBunny

Purchased for our son for his first music player in his room. Buttons are really simple for him to use and he is enjoying listening to his own music.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Gute Boombox mit abzügen bei den Boxen

ZS-PS55B 25/03/2020

Dieses Produkt erfüllt seinen Zweck aber die Boxen könnten um einiges besser sein. DAB+ funktioniert einwandfrei ohne irgendwelche Softwarefehler.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

Highy delighted

ZS-PS55B 11/02/2020 by Eric

It is far better than I imagined it would be. It is simplicity itself and I would recommend it to anyone.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

I love it - it's fab!

ZS-PS55B 08/02/2020 by Timeisticking

I wanted something portable to move about the house when cleaning/decorating etc (rather large house!) and this is perfect. When I have had enough of the great sounding radio I just put on my favourite CDs - so easy to use and to set up and pre-set favourite radio channels - I als came across a couple of great radio stations I never knew existed! I am delighted with my purchase and would recommend to others.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My cd radio player sounds amazing

ZS-PS55B 05/02/2020 by Danda

My cd radio player sounds great and looks great & is value for money

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent .

ZS-PS55B 05/02/2020 by Mole

Lovely piece of kit. Enjoy listening to the quality sound.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound quality

ZS-PS55B 29/01/2020 by Hoseman

The features are good, but the sound quality is rather boomy on speech/radio and there are no tone controls. Reasonably good on music.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great portable cd/radio.

ZS-PS55B 22/01/2020 by likeabargain

Very happy with this cd/radio. Good sound, good size, easy to use and great reception on the dab radio - even in our basement. Really pleased.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Compact good sound

ZS-PS55B 15/01/2020 by Tricia

Bought as a gift for my mum - easy to use - good sound and compact - she loves it!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good for the money

ZS-PS55B 08/01/2020 by Mo

Would like the sound to be clearer but then my last Player was a Bose (now way out of my price range).

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound better than I thought it could for the size!

ZS-PS55B 08/01/2020 by Trenchfinder

Very impressed with how the radio looks, and even more so the actual sound is excellent. Additional bonus I hadn't really noticed was I can use a memory stick to play music from as well as the CD player

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The sound from this is fantastic

ZS-PS55B 08/01/2020 by Titch

I bought this for the kitchen, but quite honestly it is far better than the system we have in the living room.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Punches above it's weight

ZS-PS55B 02/01/2020 by Woja

Nice sounds, easy to set up. DAB and FM reception clear without deploying aerial. Great value overall

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

good sound

ZS-PS55B 02/01/2020 by Bendy

Been looking for some thing to play my CD's on for ages, very pleased with the sound, DAB radio works well, previous radio could not pick it up in the kitchen, also a nice size not to big.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

music in the kitchen

ZS-PS55B 27/12/2019 by How

Surprisingly good sound quality and loud enough too. Pleased so far

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Small but beautifully formed

ZS-PS55B 27/12/2019 by Spaniellover

Love it! Looks great and just what I've been looking for, love Sony!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

CD and radio

ZS-PS55B 26/12/2019 by Deerlady

Lovely sound quality easy too operate and being battery as well extremely portable. More pricey than other models I looked at but well worth the extra

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Absolute pile of rubbish

ZS-PS55B 26/12/2019 by James

Bought this as it’s a Sony so thought it would be Sony quality, boy was I wrong! It was made of the cheapest plastic with Dreadful sound to match. And every time you pick it up the battery compartment falls off . Don’t waste your money on this and buy a Bose instead

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Pretty good and easy to use

ZS-PS55B 26/12/2019 by Toddy

A pretty good machine. It has so e nice clear buttons for those who struge to operate machines. I thought the handle was a little weird as it didn't seem to come completely up. It is good that it is a cd and dab as they seems a more rare combination in a quality machine. Not the cheapest machine but some is quite a good make. So hopefully it is worth it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Looks good sounds good yes I would recommend this

ZS-PS55B 26/11/2019 by Joanne

Looks good sounds good yes I would recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Terrific little box of tricks!

ZS-PS55B 17/11/2019 by Truth

This is a great little unit. Does everything that the flash all-in-one systems without being overly elaborate. I'm really pleased with it. Simple to use, compact and a pleasure to use. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony is always quality

ZS-PS55B 13/11/2019 by hunter

Great sound. Just need to figure out how to tune in my favourite radio stations and get batteries for portable use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

fijne draagbare audio met alles er op en aan.

ZS-PS55B 09/11/2019

nu ongeveer 1,5 week in bezit. Hij voldoet aan mijn verwachtingen, de DAB werkt goed in huis. Het geluid is voor mij prima. We een minpuntje zijn de zeer kleine symbolen op het displaybij het gebruik van de CD modus

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Lacks bass sound by DAB radio good

ZS-PS55B 15/10/2019 by AliArt

The DAB radio sounds is excellent but I found the playback for CDs lacked bass and there is no way to increase it. Its not a 'boombox'. Compact design and I found it easy to set up the presets.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Ok I suppose

ZS-PS55B 18/09/2019 by Cheekykev

Good value for money just disappointed that it is a bit on the small side

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good Boombox

ZS-PS55B 18/09/2019 by Jon

Easy to setup & operate good value for money...Sound fine for its size...

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Uitstekende radio/cd-speler en mooi design.

ZS-PS55B 10/09/2019 by Bart06

Onlangs aangeschaft voor keuken-radio/cd-speler. In alle opzichten perfect!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Goed geluid

ZS-PS55B 28/07/2019 by Fritske

Dab + gekocht geluid zeer mooi had iets meer bas verwacht zo als beschreven op de doos

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Angenehmes Design

ZS-PS55B 17/07/2019

Gerät funktioniert wie erwartet, DAB-Radio, CD-Player und auch USB-Stick zum Abspielen von Musik.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

Excellent radio both fab and fm!

ZS-PS55B 17/05/2019 by ML57

Got this a few days ago very pleased with the radio performance also has a very useful line input so I can access internet radio via my tablet only have two minor issues one sound is slightly bass light this issue disappears when using headphones (sony mdr 60 ts old and akg 550s new )when the sound becomes fuller and more defined the only other issue I have is the lack of a tone control CD performance is fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Mooi compact apparaat

ZS-PS55B 04/05/2019 by Venema

Zeker geen boombox. Speelt alles af met USB stick en zelfs met mijn muziek player op de line in. DAB is ook perfect. Eenvoudig Te bedienen. Mooi geluid. Ben zeer tevreden met dit apparaat

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Viel dran und trotzdem kompakt.

ZS-PS55B 17/04/2019 by jwbecker51

Mein Frau brauchte unbedingt ein Gerät mit CD. Da fiel das Auge auf dieses Radio mit BAB+ und CD player. Hat einen guten Klang und läßt keine Wünsche offen. So kompakt das es überall hin passt.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

1

0

Excellent quality

ZS-PS55B 19/02/2019 by Stve

Lovely, and it goes with the décor anywhere in the home. I have this radio CD in the kitchen. perfect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Hopeless / Disappointing

ZS-PS55B 20/01/2019

Completely rubbish.Unfriendly tunning.No bass in sound.It is not Boombox.Compare it against JVC Boombox and you will like to throw it in bin.I am returning it back

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

8

0

E' funzionale

ZS-PS55B 07/01/2019 by CENADI

Ho comprato per la sua praticità, però ha delle carenze, che ho descritto nei commenti. Avrei comprato il Sony CMT-SBT 300 WB che è nel catalogo dei Vostri prodotti ma mi è stato risposto che è in catalogo ma non più fabbricato

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

23

17

0

A good Idea with one touch opening.

ZS-PS55B 17/12/2018 by maurice117

I've wanted a Dab radio for some time , this is ideal for my living room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

one of the better ones

ZS-PS55B 16/10/2018 by Banana Mike

The unit is good looking and has all the features you could want. It also sounds fairly good. However I must point out a glaring omission. The screen has no illumination. It is not easy to read in ordinary light and impossible in the dark. If that fault was remedied I would give it five stars.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Mooie aankoop

ZS-PS55B 14/10/2018 by HMvA

Mooie aankoop. Heeft een helder en goed geluid en de ontvangst van de radio is prima. Ook CD-s afspelen is een genot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0