18

4.9 based on 18 customer reviews

16
2
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18 Customer Reviews

0

Absolute banger of a product! A definite suggest

SRS-XB33 19/09/2020 by Max42

So many amazing feature the possibilities are endless!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My dream speaker

SRS-XB33 17/09/2020 by Lolita

Great design, great sound, easy to use, long lasting battery. Flashing lights make you happy, especially when partying. Super product!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good sound, built well and easy to connect

SRS-XB33 16/09/2020 by Soundsmove

Nice good quality sounding speaker and still sounds good when turned up full volume. I will buy another Sony speaker and pair them as happy with product

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Awesome piece of kit

SRS-XB33 10/09/2020 by Cheeky chappie

Only bought yesterday but I’d had a play with in John Lewis wow

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great features !!!

SRS-XB33 03/09/2020 by REDEYE

Fabulous !! I love my new toy ! my son showed me what to do as I am not very techcnical but I need not have bothered just follow the instructions and away you go. I think it is fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound quality, especially for its size

SRS-XB33 30/08/2020 by astronut101

I found the XB33 very easy to use. Unboxing you're presented with the speaker, a quick set up guide, warranty card and USB A to USB C charging cable. The speaker had quite a bit of charge when switched on so I was able to pair it very quickly. I paired it with an Android device which was quick and easy. The sound is great with the ability to turn on 'Live' mode which gives a little bit more oomph, however I found to get the most from it, it's recommended to download the Sony Music Centre and Fiestable apps. These let you adjust both the sound and visual output of the speaker with a mini equaliser and several preset options for the lighting. My favourite lighting mode is 'Rave' which matches the lighting to the beat. Brilliant, can create a really good atmosphere. I found the sound to be clear and pure and it really packs a punch when you turn the volume. You can even answer your calls through when it's connected to a mobile device. Controls on the top are simple, power on/off, blue-tooth, play/pause, volume up/down and a 'Live' mode button which doubles as a stamina mode enabler for when the battery is running low. Haven't had to use that yet though as haven't come close to running down the battery. The back of the unit has 2 USB ports - one a type A which can used to charge your device as this speaker doubles as a battery pack, the other a type C connection for charging the speaker itself. These are supplemented by a further 3 buttons: a light/battery button, a party button and a ST Pair button. You can connect several of these things together to really get a party going though it is only compatible with other speakers in this series and is not backward compatible. Finally, the speaker is both IP67 rated and saltwater resistant, so thanks to it's light weight is ideal to throw into a back pack and take to the beach. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Well featured speaker that's easy to use

SRS-XB33 30/08/2020 by MikeN

This Bluetooth speaker is measures 10" x 4" x 4" and weighs about 1 Kg - so not too bulky but the secret is it is so simple to set up and use! Out of the box, I had this speaker connected to my Iphone 6s and my Sony Walkman NW-A40 Series mp3 player in seconds. Turning the unit on (it came out of the box with 50% charge) I was immediately able to see the device "SRS-XB33", connect my phone to it without issue and stream music from the internet and my online streaming library easily. The quality of the sound was amazingly good for such a small unit, and pressing the LIVE button on the top panel enhanced the spread and depth of sound. Connecting my Walkman was even easier - I enabled NFC (near field connection) on the device and then held it over the "N" symbol on the top panel - the unit informed me verbally that Bluetooth connection had been made! As simple as that! In addition, the unit remembers/finds your devices on startup. I switch the unit on and if my phone has Bluetooth active, it connects immediately, and "tells" me that connection is made. It also appears to maintain connection to more than one device at a time - so I was able to have phone and Walkman connected, play a track on Walkman and then select and start a track on my phone - the new selection was actively transmitted to the speaker unit and the first device put into pause/stop mode - pressing play on that device switched so that track was then heard over the speaker - not sure if this is an intended feature but would be useful in a party situation? Talking of which pressing the battery button on the rear panel and holding it for at least 3 seconds switches on the light mode of the speaker, resulting in a "disco type" light display on the speaker which appears to be influenced by rhythm and bass sound - not something I'd use a lot but nice for "the youngsters" in a party situation. The rear panel has a USB C socket which the supplied lead connects to with the other end in a PC USB socket you are able to charge the unit - one downside is that it doesn't appear to be a quick charge - it took around 3 hours to get the charge on my unit to 100%. There is also a normal USB socket which can be used if a phone or Walkman runs out of "juice" - using the supplied charge leads will take an emergency charge from the speaker unit to get you out of a tight spot? The speaker also has the ability to let you answer a phone call and be used as a speaker phone over Bluetooth, again a feature that would be possibly rarely used but useful it it happens. Other interesting features include the ability to connect a number of units over Bluetooth so you could put a speaker in different rooms at home? Another button allows two of the speakers to be linked as a stereo pair useful if you and a friend meet up for a listening session? All in all, I found this speaker easy to use with my devices, with good features and excellent sound quality. Yes there are cheaper speakers on the market, but my experience of alternative speakers are that they are fiddly to set up and sound quality is often limited - which cannot be said for this SONY device. I'd certainly recommend it to someone looking for a bluetooth speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great sound and all round use

SRS-XB33 26/08/2020 by Mark

This product looks smart and feels durable the unit is very compact with the added bonus of some of the great features it has to offer. The Bass brings out the best sound when connected to any music system/phone and smart tv. The party connect lets you add extra speakers which is ideal for different rooms at any party. The live sound takes this speaker to the next level making you feel like your actually at a gig. Battery life is great with 24hrs charge. The lights had a party feel to any music playing or if you don’t want them on there easy to turn off. This Speaker connect to any smart telly and can be used to enhance the sound The instructions are easy to understand and straight forward. The Sony XB33 Speaker is the new state of the art equipment to enhance any music experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Xb33 extra bass portable Bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB33 26/08/2020

I received this speaker a few days ago And I must say it looks awesome. Couldn’t believe the power this speaker Puts out and the bass is really good Build quality is up there it’s solid and it Looks good to the eye with the option to Have ambient lights on or off while listing To your favourite tunes there’s also a charging port on the back if you need to charge your mobile phone which is really handy if you are out an about and the speaker battery has a 24H Run time the speaker was easy to set up straightforward enough usability is good there are 3 buttons on the back of the speaker with a waterproof cover you can control the speaker with the buttons or use the Sony app to use some functions all in all great bit of kit And it’s salt water resistant if you take it to the beach and dust proof ip67 rated

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Awesome sound from a quality product

SRS-XB33 26/08/2020 by davenray

So my first impression when my speaker arrived was the weight. Not overly heavy but reassuringly heavy So on opening the box you find the speaker and a charging cable So first off an overnight charge and a read through the paperwork Being an older user, I’m more used to cabling up a hi fi so all this cordless and Bluetooth malarkey is something I’ve always steered clear of because I didn’t understand it really, to be honest I still don’t, but pairing the speaker to my I phone was as simple as switching on my phones Bluetooth Done! Then came the real surprise Previously it played my music on my phone via a Multiply patched cable through my ancient but top notch hi fi. So I was really pleasantly surprised to hear how deep the bass was, how clear the tops were , and the clarity of the mid range through this small but quality speaker They are astounding And the power! The power from this unit has to be heard to be appreciated. At one point my carpeted floor was vibrating!! But there’s more As a major plus the unit also lights up by the clever use of multicolour leds which change with the beat and turn your room, or wherever your using it into a bit of a disco! So I’ve mastered the basics On reading through the paperwork included and the online manual, you can also charge your phone through it, and you can gain more control over the lights. That I’ll learn about later, but for now this unit is in daily use, and that’s something I never thought I’d say! All in all an excellent product from a company who never fail to deliver I’ve attached a few photos but attaching a video I couldn’t work out I’m afraid but at least you can see the speaker in action

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

After Two Weeks I Cannot Live Without It!

SRS-XB33 26/08/2020 by TheJacksini

I acquired this wireless speaker just over two weeks ago and I have not looked back since! First Impressions: After removing it from the stylish packaging and reading through all the simple to understand and straightforward user guides - taking a closer look at it while charging the battery, my first impressions of its design, manufacture and workmanship was that it looks and feels Sleek, Durable, Compact & Modern and that it speaks of Quality. It also has a good balanced weight to it (not too heavy/ not too light) which also further emphasised the quality. Features: -USB Type C Port for fast charging/ USB Charging Port for Smartphone: The battery only took roughly three hours to charge, making use of the supplied cable and one of my home's USB wall sockets. I think it is a brilliant idea to design this speaker with the added functionality of serving as a power source enabling Smartphone charging by means of a secondary USB Port. This could in fact come in very handy when being stranded somewhere remotely with a flat Smartphone battery. I was slightly disappointed by the fact that the Secondary USB Port (Smartphone charging) did not support USB Flash Drive MP3 playback but considering the product I understand why this was decided as part of the design. I needed reminding that this is a waterproof, dust proof & shockproof Bluetooth wireless speaker unit - having an exposed USB Port would defeat the purpose of making it waterproof & dust proof. The ports are located in an easily accessible compartment in the back panel tightly covered by a rubber lid. It is also very important to ensure this lid is always securely closed in place. -Up to 24 hours battery life: I have used this speaker unit moderately almost daily over the course of the last two weeks and the battery had not yet needed recharging. That is brilliant if you consider everywhere I have used it so far. Not only was I able to make this speaker part of my daily life by enjoying my music while exercising and training indoors & outside in the garden; shaving, bathing & taking showers in the bathroom; cooking and cleaning in the kitchen; doing chores in the house; washing my car and working in the garage; doing various bits of garden work and relaxing outdoors around the BBQ, but it is all still on the same initial charge! I am really impressed by this. -Waterproof, dust proof & shockproof: Having the confidence to use this speaker and not feeling overly protective over it was such a load off my shoulders knowing that it was designed with wireless use and an active lifestyle in mind. Yes, of course I do take care of it according to the guidelines in the user guide and by applying common sense but it is good to know that this speaker was designed as being Waterproof, Dust Proof and Shockproof covering all the possible risks in the areas where I have used it to date. -Stand up/ On its side: This design feature (being able to stand it up on its side which I was unaware of before) is brilliant for situations where space is limited. The ends of the speaker unit have been designed with this in mind which still allows the bass to be effectively emitted from the active side radiators when standing on its side. -Party Connect - Connect up to 100 units: This is a nice to have feature to use in the future where circumstances call for the need of more sound power! My friends have already shown much interest in this speaker unit and being able to meet up and connect multiple speaker units together in the future would be great. I can also see the benefit of having a couple of these units throughout the house all playing the same music when connected together or different music when used individually. I can also see the benefit of connecting this speaker to my two other huge Sony EXTRA BASS Party Speakers and leave it in another room (let's say the kitchen or toilet) enabling guests to still feel part of the party while getting food, a drink or freshening up... Brilliant feature! -X-Balanced Speaker Unit for clear, powerful sound: Now, to get to the most important features and the best according to my opinion! This speaker unit delivers incredible sound quality for its size. The sound clarity and available power is remarkable. I can only put this notable difference down to this new speaker design feature. -EXTRA BASS sound with LIVE SOUND & STAMINA modes: The default mode when switching this speaker unit on for the first time is as the name commands - EXTRA BASS! The sound is deep and rich with no shortage of bass in addition to the already mentioned sound qualities. I was struck at how good my music sounded when especially using the speaker unit in the bathroom and kitchen. I was smiling ear to ear! Then came the activation of the LIVE SOUND mode... 'as if the sound could not get any better', I thought to myself! This mode adds a magical three dimensional sound effect quality to music which fills the room. Something I have only experienced when playing the same music on my Sony Home Theatre System. The sound clarity is further emphasised and the available power exploded into the room to a whole different level. And all of this coming from a small wireless speaker? Impossible, right? A sure reality with this wireless speaker unit! At certain times and settings background music was required and I found that by switching off the LIVE SOUND mode and activating the STAMINA mode delivered this superbly. This mode also prolongs the battery life as it is claimed that by using this mode the 24 hour battery life is attained. -Boost your party with flashing lights: I have not yet had the need to use the flashing lights feature but to try it out I activated it at night in a darker room setting and it looks really great especially as it flashes to the beat of the music. The colours are great and the lit-up speakers are visible through the mesh and it looks phenomenal. The lighting patterns and colours can also be adjusted or customised using either of the Sony Music Center or Fiestable apps. -Music Center app: After a quick and simple download and installation to your Smartphone this Sony app enables you to control the speaker unit functions remotely including accessing playlists, songs, lighting patterns and sound modes. -Fiestable app: After a quick and simple download and installation to your Smartphone this Sony app also enables you to control the speaker unit functions remotely including accessing lighting patterns etc. but with the added benefit of making use of Motion Control Gestures through your Smartphone. -Hands Free Calling: This was another feature I really enjoyed - making and receiving phone calls, making and receiving Watsapp calls and listening to Watsapp Voice Notes in between listening to my music. At the time the music playback is seamlessly and automatically paused and the audio of either the call or the voice note enabled. I really enjoyed this feature as it enhances the experience of your Smartphone. Imagine your Smartphone audio on steroids! This of course also opens up a whole new dimension and opportunity to Conference Calls from home or at work, Watsapp calls & Voice Notes as already mentioned, enhanced YouTube video and music playback, Spotify subscription etc. The application of this speaker unit is endless. So my verdict? After two week this wireless speaker unit has become so entwined with my daily life that I would not be able to live without it or in other words if it was taken away I would definitely miss it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

0

0

Nice speaker very well made

SRS-XB33 25/08/2020 by Iceman

I like this unit when first open if feels very well made it is very easy to connect to my iPod and I also like that the unit tells you that you have connected to your unit. I tested the range that the speaker worked from my iPod and went outside about 40 feet and had no loss of sound better than my internet. I only found one problem that the charging lead a bit short needs to be 2 times longer and would be nice to have a remote with this unit. I do like the lights on the unit when using I think this adds to the look of the unit and like the live sound affect overall was very pleased with this speaker sounds nice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Fantastic Speaker!

SRS-XB33 25/08/2020 by Flappy_asdf

The sony XB33 speaker is fantastic. Featuring a 24 hour battery life, RGB lighting around it, and IP67 support, makes it brilliant. The speaker chargers over USB-C which is very convenient. The RGB lights add to the experience, making your audio feel more alive. With IP67 support, I never have to worry about this beast becoming wet dusty or dirty! The speaker is quite heavy, but it looks really nice. Two apps for using the speaker, firestable and music centre; I did not love these. They did not have a great UI, but they worked. Something that is really useful, is the USB-A port at the back to charge a phone. A great feature which is bound to come in handy sometime. Sony's X balanced speaker unit, Live sound, and extra bass support make it very good. The X Balanced speaker allows for high quality audio, live mode allows for your party to become alive, extra bass is noticeable to a laptop or phone speaker, and there is a big difference. I would recommend this product, it is fantastic! A great product to add to my sony collection!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

Great Speaker With Great Lights

SRS-XB33 25/08/2020 by Flyfisherman

As soon as I took the speaker out of the box I could feel it was solid and designed to be moved around. Because of the shape it sits comfortably in your hand and is easy to carry one handed. Charging was complete within the suggested 5 hours. Pairing to my phone which I had already installed the app on could not have been easier. The sound is great and there is plenty of volume when you need it. The control of the lights with the app is a great feature that adds to the fun. With the two lights in the tweeters it looks like Johnny 5 from Star Wars and so we nick named it Sony 5. Overall a great speaker with good battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Compact,portable,robust,speaker

SRS-XB33 15/08/2020 by Buck61

The Sony SRS-XB33 is a great looking speaker, it has a "rubberised" feel to certain areas and a material mesh for the speaker grill. A good quality feel to it and pleasing, simple to use. The bass ports on the sides vibrate with bass notes, it has two oval shaped front speakers, a flap at the rear gives access to the charging port and various buttons such as to pair other Sony speakers and to turn the "party" lights on and off. I find it easy to connect devices by Bluetooth and a female voice tells you when you have done so. [I think this unit would also be user friendly for anyone who is visually impaired]. The sound I find clear and pleasing, good treble and middle register. Where the speaker would maybe disappoint some people would be the "extra bass." I find the other speaker I own [the SRS-XB41], produces a more powerful bass sound. Overall though, personally I find the quality of sound superb. There is a "Live" button, which, when used appears to give a wider stereo sound which I prefer, so mainly I use the speaker with this turned on all the time. The "party lights" feature I find I can do without and I leave them turned off, but I can see this would be great at an "event" to help create a "party vibe." All in all I have to say a great Sony product, looks great, very portable, long battery life between charges [slightly less when using the party lights], a good quality build that will last, for it's size, great sound, I am very pleased with this Sony wireless speaker. Recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great looking speaker which gives that something

SRS-XB33 13/08/2020 by DMB

Service quick and efficient, product much better than expected looking great sound good and the lights actually giving it a little something different. Bought product as had mo ways of listening to music (moved no internet) and for the price and comparable to others in the market it's a great addition

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

GOOD Speaker

SRS-XB33 13/08/2020 by SH46

Good Speaker Could Be Louder Probably No Difference In The Other Sony Speakers

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing sound and volume

SRS-XB33 11/08/2020 by Cutz70

I was surprised on the quality of sound it gives and how loud it is, needless to say my neighbours hate me but having removed the bulky stereo from the lounge, this is a great replacement. Only downside is that it doesn't have an aux input option which I think could have been a great addition .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0