26

4.7 based on 26 customer reviews

17
9
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound for music; long battery life

SRS-XB12 09/10/2019 by Elusa

Got this for husband who's an avid podcast listener and likes to listen in the shower, so wanted waterproof and long battery life, which this unit ticks. It's solid, well-made and the sound is great though honestly more suited to music than voice. It is very bass-heavy. Would have swapped for one better for voice but nothing comes close to a 16 hour battery life so he stuck with this.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing bit of tech

SRS-XB12 09/10/2019 by Andy

Used this speaker on holiday brilliant value for money and does what it says on the box

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great little speaker !

SRS-XB12 08/10/2019 by 6Ft2

Really pleased with my purchase, paid a little more than I was going to but well worth it sounds great, used it for travel and at home all the time.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Small compact easy to use and has a good sound

SRS-XB12 17/09/2019 by Karma1975

Awesome design for price . Very crisp sound .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great as a travel companion

SRS-XB12 07/09/2019 by Joolsie53

Really useful as a travelling companion and a stay at home buddy - this is my second one as I couldn't find a replacement USB charge cable (the one I bought on EBay had a different fitting) - be good to know if you supply spare cables - especially longer ones?!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Change request

SRS-XB12 04/09/2019 by Highfalutin

Please change the software to allow me to change the Bluetooth name of the units as I have more than one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Very good sound and design easy to set up

SRS-XB12 04/09/2019 by Yids100

As far as finding fault I can't great little speaker

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony speaker

SRS-XB12 04/09/2019 by Seerah

Small, but powerful sound, easy to carry with you, good value for money. Easy to pair with my mobile. Love it

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great little speaker

SRS-XB12 27/08/2019 by JaneyJay

My son bought me this and I am so happy with it. It’s quite powerful and very easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 24/08/2019 by Kazza66

I have had this speaker a few weeks now and am really impressed with the sound quality for such a small item. It seems to have a long charge and would highly recommend this. Looking forward to trying it out by the pool in the villa in Cyprus!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Near the shower, or while making a sandwich

SRS-XB12 21/08/2019 by UndergroundSound

Great product. Does exactly what I expected.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazing soind for amazing price!

SRS-XB12 21/08/2019 by Piderski

I just bought this Speaker yesterday and so far i'm very pleased with the compact form factor and the amazing soind quality. Me being an audiophile on a budget i would recommend this product to any basic person lokking for a good, cheap speaker or another audiophile on a budget like me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

easy to use and very helpful

SRS-XB12 15/08/2019 by pc49

This is an excellent little loud speaker, very easy to use with a lovely sound

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

My speaker looks great .

SRS-XB12 14/08/2019 by Alin

Great ,is very good and I like it.I recommend it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Awesome little speaker

SRS-XB12 14/08/2019 by Steve

Fantastic little speaker, turns up nice and loud and the bass is good for its size

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent

SRS-XB12 08/08/2019 by martin

Great little speakers , great volume and excellent sound good bass and tone, connection via Bluetooth to phone and tablet was very easy and straight forward.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great for my hot tub

SRS-XB12 07/08/2019 by Retired

Great for my hot tub

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Perfect

SRS-XB12 31/07/2019 by Crissie

Perfect for what I need it for!! Sound is good, connectivity is amazing and extremely happy with this product.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

very happy

SRS-XB12 31/07/2019 by cactusman

works wonderfully well in the shower and everybody happy it cover the sound of me singing

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Just the job!

SRS-XB12 31/07/2019 by Rach

Will be perfect for listening to music by the pool on holiday. Great sound and waterproof. Quality as expected from Sony.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Speaker looks very nice

SRS-XB12 31/07/2019 by Cosmin

Speaker looks nice and feels nice . Inwould like a bit more bass but for my wife is perfect

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB12 24/07/2019 by Ben

I couldn't believe the sound I got from this speaker, as I'm more of a 'large something sitting in a corner looking at it's mate across the room for the stereo' type of guy. Looking forward to taking it away on holiday, to get my tunes abroad.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good speaker. A bit pricey

SRS-XB12 23/07/2019 by Bri

My opinion is its a good speaker . It's got a good sound for how small it is. But I don't think it's worth the money .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Super speaker- shower proof too!

SRS-XB12 10/07/2019 by Samstar06

Bought this for my teenage son who needs to listen to grime ‘music’. It straps onto his bag (not sure how) and away he goes annoying the neighbourhood with his noise. In the shower it’s water resistant, so we all can hear it whilst he washes each strand of hair individually and shaves his fluff off his chin. connectivity good, even better when it’s pinging and blinging with all his snapchat notifications. All in all a fabulous buy for him. I’d like some earplugs to block out the sound!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11/05/2019 by DazmoG

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

0

Small and compact with nice sound

SRS-XB12 08/05/2019 by Steve62m

I was totally surprised by the small size of this product and was sure the sound was going to be tinny. But after playing various types of music ( trance, electro mechanical, vocal and instrumental ) the sound was very good for the size of the device. A brilliant feature is you can link two of them to have left and right hand channels, and would of liked to give that a try. The instructions are easy to follow and the Bluetooth sync to my iPad less than 20 seconds , also sync to android phone was straight forward. Overall I was shocked how good this device is , well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

6

0

0

Solid Bluetooth Speaker with wide sound range

SRS-XB12 03/05/2019 by Steve125

I found this to replace an older Bluetooth speaker. This is a bit larger and gives a wider range of sound. Pairing was easy and worked with iMac, Windows PC and mobile phone. I liked the sound quality, but my wife preferred the lower top-end frequency of the old product. Buttons are easy to use and USB port easy to access for charging. Longer battery life is a real bonus. I like the rubberised finish and the slight tacky circle on the base to increase stability and bass transfer. I haven't tested the waterproof capability, but it looks like it would survive a dip in the pool. Hands-free facility is something that I don't think I would use, but can see where it might be useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Take music everywhere

SRS-XB12 02/05/2019 by hobbsy

Just taken delivery of my new XB12 Extra Bass speaker First thing that impressed me was the cool colour of my speaker a reddy orange, very new look The speaker has a great tactile feel with its smooth rubber finish. Once fully charged I switched my speaker on and linked it to my Walkman very easily. I carried the speaker using the great colour match carry strap. The sound is exceptional for such a compact speaker Noticeable is the sharpness of the top line. The clarity is excellent. The bass line is great and in spite of the powerful bass there is no distortion whatsoever I used the speaker both inside and outside and in the open the sound of the music was still sharp and crisp. I got rained on, sudden shower, but water did not bother the speaker. Although the speaker is not stereo this fact is not really a negative, I hardly noticed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Go Anywhere

SRS-XB12 02/05/2019 by Hobbler

Been all over the place with me Background music whilst working Used it in the garage and in the garden Really sharp sound all the top end was crisp and clear Nice bass not too heavy but good and driving beat Even though the signal is mono the sound is spread and makes the music sound great The speaker has a great tactile feel to it The funky colours are great mines orange/red Holds its charge really well Really great speaker highly mobile Bluetooth link perfect

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1