Skip to Content

RRP

£950.00

(incl. VAT)
21

4.9 based on 21 customer reviews

19
2
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21 Customer Reviews

0

The portable music player that money can buy

NW-ZX2 27/06/2016 by rockingdoc

I spend a lot of my time listening to portable headphone systems. Previously have always used iPods as my digital source, but have always found the need for an external DAC and amp to get truly good sound. To this end I have used the ipod digital output into a Chord Hugo or Sony PHA-2. I use many different headphones, but my favourites on the move are Sony SE846s. I wanted to improve on the ipods' storage limits and poor functionality for HD playback, and to see if I could get back to a "one box" player. I was very wary about spending so much on the ZX-2, but it is still a lot cheaper than the hideous Astell & Kern. After a month with the ZX-2, I am completely delighted. The build quality is superb. Loads of power to drive any phones, although I still prefer the easy load Shure SE846 to my Sennheiser 800s. Transfering the music files from an Apple Macbook couldn't have been easier. My first experience with an Android device, but experienced no problems with Spotify. Pros; Great battery life, fantastic sound quality even on non-HD files, handles all file formats well, robust build. Extra storage using 128Gb micro SD cards works well. Nice leather case. Cons; Quite slow to boot up when changing between SD cards. Needs an accessory lead (which I had to order from Japan) to use with an external DAC. Expensive. Should come with a screen protector.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

9

0

Amazing sound quality

NW-ZX2 25/06/2016 by Wonka1962

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and I am amazed at the quality. Not just the sound quality, but the build quality. You may ask why is it so expensive. Well, you have to see one of these and then you will realise that Sony didn't cut costs in it's manufacture or development. It really is a remarkable piece of hardware and I could recommend anyone to at least have a listen and be amazed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Sound quality is absolutely amazing

NW-ZX2 16/05/2016 by Ash69

I have the NWZX2 connected to PHA3 amp and MDR-Z7 head phones what a combo the sound quality is truly amazing when playing hi resolution audio .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Solid product

NW-ZX2 25/03/2016 by Fredspoons

Brilliant product but I cannot seem to get the right set of headphones to accentuate the perfect sound. I am using a pair of Samsung free, white in ear until such times I can find over the ear type headphones!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

23

0

Easy to use

NW-ZX2 24/03/2016 by maggiewo26

I love my Sony Walkman NW-ZX2..There is an mazing amount of space ans |I also bought micro card with a further 128gb

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great+++

NW-ZX2 18/03/2016 by livy

Had for 2 weeks, use mostly as part of my in car set up - the sound quality is amazing - can't fault product. Bit expensive, however you pay for what you get and then some........ no cons at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

At last - a replacement for my iPod Classic

NW-ZX2 26/12/2015 by mattyw88

I am delighted with my ZX2. Sound quality is superb and I have had no problem driving any of my headphones. With the addition of a 200Gb micro sd card I have enough storage for my portable needs. Whilst out I use high rate mp3’s on the device but at home I use dlna to stream FLAC files from my server. If away for any length of time I take my music library with me, stored on a portable wifi enabled hard drive with built in media server. The Sony music app on the ZX2 is different from the one shipped with Sony phones and is much better. However it does not display album art correctly but because its Android I can use any Android media player and after extensive testing I use Gonemad media player. This has no problem with album art, has a great user interface and sound quality is excellent. Battery life is excellent as long as you keep wifi turned off when not using it. Overall an excellent Walkman which only needs the album art problem fixing and ideally a newer version of Android.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

4

0

Sony HiRes Walkman

NW-ZX2 16/12/2015 by equaliser

Well built and solid construction. Tiny chip on upper right of screen Easy to use but a shame not the android version 5 operating system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

5

0

Top Notch Product.

NW-ZX2 05/10/2015 by Filth

Fantastic product. Great build and design. The sound coming out of this device is surreal. Only had one issue with play, forward and rewind buttons not responding. Had to factory reset the device and stop additional android apps from installing. That problem hasn't returned yet thankfully.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Sony Zx2

NW-ZX2 04/10/2015 by Steven2907

I bought this a short time ago and have added some Z7 headphones, it's brilliant. I can't remember the last time I listened to a full cd album, but with the zx2 I Am listening and hearing so much more, it's like my music is all new again. Will be investing in the pha3 as soon as I've saved the £££

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

The soundtrack to my day has never sounded better!

NW-ZX2 20/09/2015

I'm truly loving the new Sony NW-ZX2 I've only had it a couple of weeks and already I've listened to over 226hrs of music, the soundtrack to my day has never sounded better! I honestly can't fault this fantastic bit of kit, after the 100hr run in time (yes it has high end capacitors which need a 100hrs to settle in) this thing rocks. All my music has now found a new lease of life and Hi Res Audio tracks sound just amazing. I've compared tracks on my iPhone 6 Plus vs. the NW-ZX2 and the iPhone sounds as if it's underwater, Sony have truly nailed the portable audio market again. I just hope people try out Sony's new Hi Res audio players and hear what they are missing out on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

2

0

ZX2

NW-ZX2 11/09/2015 by Den80y

It's big It's heavy it also cut's the volume if you listen on headphones at a high lvl or even playing through car audio port through the earphone port on player it suddenly cut the vol to almost zero last thing I need when driving is to look for the player to turn it back up I looked on line and found a port adaptor which uses the charging port to play the audio rather than using earphone port The volume is at a set lvl and never get cut down> It's shame that Sony don't supply this lead or even tell you about it. To be honest my old ZX1 pumps out better sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

4

0

What an amazing difference to sound quality!

NW-ZX2 11/09/2015 by Weasel1763

Recently moved to listening digital music files on the NW-ZX2 and after a few months of using this wonderful little player, It's ticked all the boxes - it's a high quality product dedicated to playing music at the quality (now that I realise the difference) I should be listening to. Compared the quality of sound between old player and this new player, and it's a no brainer for people who love to listen to music as much as I do. The build quality is superb and looks as if it will last for ever. - Can't praise this enough at the moment as music is sounding so crisp and I am actually hearing more musical content then I have ever heard with a mp3 player of old.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Superb sound and features

NW-ZX2 24/07/2015 by littledoggie

just getting my head round all the features and settings etc. very impressed all round with the sound and build quality and the external buttons are a bonus and downloading and playing tracks are very straightforward.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Sony NW-ZX2

NW-ZX2 23/07/2015 by c00kedup

Just awesome, so much more than an ipod or phone can give!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Incredible sound quality

NW-ZX2 22/05/2015 by ralledmot

Bought this about a week ago and I am very pleased with it. The sound quality is excellent. I can hear things on familiar albums that I have never heard before. You can hear all of the instruments separately and at the same time, if that makes sense? The wide frequency response allows you to hear and feel the lowest bellowing sounds of a bass guitar and the satisfying thud of the deepest bass drum. The midrange and treble are equally spectacular. I particularly love the crispness of the hi hat I hear on certain songs. Sometimes songs have a 3D quality to them and instruments seem to float in the air. The sound makes you aware of all the production effects/techniques of a piece of music. The instruments seem to breath as you can the reverb/echo so clearly. The sound quality is like that of a expensive hi fi valve amplifier. I love it! It is the best Walkman I have ever heard including my beloved Walkman Professional that I have had now for more than 30 years (still works perfectly)! Well done Sony, I love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

Best Music Player

NW-ZX2 08/05/2015 by noka

Fantastic music experience, although is a bit too bulky

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sound!

NW-ZX2 04/05/2015 by Ujidweller

I bought this ZX2 as "consumer therapy", andI am very, very glad that I did. True, the price is eyebrow-raisingly high, but I never heard sound like this before from my other portable players. However I set the options, with ClearAudio+ or other features, this Walkman is simply excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

7

0

amazing sound quality

NW-ZX2 28/03/2015 by Mike Chan

Goood: extremely good sound quality, solid design, dedicated button. Bad: low res screen, the os is a bit old. The sound quality is absolute amazing but you need a good earphone to go with it. The zx2 walkman is a bit expensive but I think is worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

2

0

Outstanding mp3

NW-ZX2 28/03/2015

This latest MP3 from Sony produces a really outstanding sound not experienced on any other player. My own musical preference is for orchestral music and the clarity and sense of separation in the orchestral sections is, at times, outstanding. It seems the particular strength of this MP3 may well be in the lower sound range where a wonderful sense of clearness of tone is commonly heard. Conversely high string sound can be prone to distortion though this may be due to the quality of the original recording. One particular feature I really enjoy is the way all parts of the orchestra, depending on the recording, are beautifully separated realising a great listening experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

4

0

Superlative Music on the Go!

NW-ZX2 20/03/2015 by Lochinvar

Beautifully presented packaging , the device itself albeit, bulky, is of impeccable build quality and beautiful design. I purchased this music player primarily to listen to music with great clarity and sharp resolution and this it does admirably well. In order, to do ZX2 justice you will need to use high quality headphones/ in ear phones to achieve this and the result is truly admirable. The product is loaded with many features which I would probably not use as I only purchased the ZX2 for sheer music quality. So not having the latest android OS is not especially important to me. The screen quality is very good and my general overall assessment of this product is excellent. My only criticism in an otherwise remarkable piece of technology incorporated in Sony's new Walkman is the price! . Does it justify the hefty price tag, well that is moot point!. I also possess an iPod Nano and really their is no comparison to me made as the Sony is infinitely superior.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

5