253

4.3 based on 253 customer reviews

148
68
12
15
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

253 Customer Reviews

0

GREAT

123 cm (49'') 25/02/2020 by milk77

I'M HAPPY WITH MY NEW TV I'm to waching every day good film.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Picture!

123 cm (49'') 24/02/2020 by JPhill

Great picture average to good sound quality, but not always straight forward to access the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great purchase.

123 cm (49'') 23/02/2020 by Ted 7

Delighted with the choice we made - justifying the research we undertook beforehand. Great picture, lots of excellent features but most important a great product from a company with a well known reputation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb picture

123 cm (49'') 23/02/2020 by Pasq

A huge step up from a 12 year old upper mid rangwe Samsung. Noteworthy is the ability to dispay a bright and contrasty picture even in the brightest sunlight. One downside. No fully documented manual to be found either through Sony downloads or within the purchased items box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great TV, Poor software

123 cm (49'') 22/02/2020 by jehuk

Great picture and good looking tv. Wanted to change from Samsung TVs and not disappointed. However found that the softwardt/smart TV bit is really not at the level it should be. It's complicated, not flexible, not intuitive. No apple TV, very cumbersome to navigate through....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer support
24/02/2020

Hi jehuk

Thank you for your review.

We recommend making sure the TV is running the latest firmware version available using this link: http://bit.ly/350H5va

If the issue remains, you can contact us here: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Fantastic picture quality

123 cm (49'') 21/02/2020 by Ted137

Great picture quality for the size of screen However operating system is very clunky and even after the upgrade is not easy to navigate I don't want to be forced to use Google services

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer support
24/02/2020

Hi Ted,

Thank you for your review.
We have passed your valuable feedback through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support team

0

Unbelievable picture quality!

123 cm (49'') 17/02/2020 by Steve82

Recently upgraded from an LG and am so pleased we did! This TV is fantastic! The picture quality, definition and movement is fabulous for it’s size (49inch) and very easy to use. We are using a third party soundbar so cannot comment about the internal speakers but we are so thrilled with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 17/02/2020 by Seabat

Very pleased with this tv easy to operate and great picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best TV by far in my opinion except for ....

123 cm (49'') 16/02/2020 by CFw1949

After weeks of research I narrowed my choice down to two of the best professionally reviewed (on the internet), 49 inch TVs available. I visited Richer Sounds in Leeds where both were on display and one look at the picture on the set made the decision to purchase the Sony a "no brainer" and I have no regrets. Setting it up so it operated and at what "What HiFi'S" review suggestions was straight forward and I would recommend doing this. ( The review can be found on the Internet). The but.... I find this set has the least intuitive operating system I have ever encountered.... even so I would buy it again as I believe this it is the best 49 inch TV under £900.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The best

123 cm (49'') 15/02/2020 by Mr David H

Very good picture adjust the sound in settings so speech is clear no need for sound bar

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dont bother.

123 cm (49'') 14/02/2020 by Tommy123

Just bought this tv and what you should know is what you are not being told. If you dont have youview when setting up you dont get access to the ITV hub or ALL4. If you have youview you cant use the record ability through connection of your own hard drive through the usb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Customer support
17/02/2020

Hi Tommy,

Thank you for your review.
We can confirm that using Catch Up services and Youview are incompatible with recording programs. We have passed your feedback through the relevant channels regarding this.

Sony support team

0

great features

123 cm (49'') 11/02/2020 by PAULINE11

I bought this TV a month ago and love watching it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super picture

123 cm (49'') 10/02/2020 by Pip57

Fairly straight forward to set up. Switch the set on and follow the online instructions which covers connecting your set to the internet and smart phone plus searching for the digital channel signals. The help info is within the TV - no book coverage. You can get info from Sony web site though. Lovely picture and better sound quality than my previous Panasonic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful Picture.

123 cm (49'') 09/02/2020 by Rob 46

I am generally pleased with this tv but there are a few things I'm a bit disappointed in, for example, the stand legs look like a pair of ducks feet sticking out. In my case the outer points of the legs extended just beyond my stand and I had to buy a universal pedestal stand. There is no adjustment on the legs. Secondly I haven't yet managed to find a way to reserve a program on the Sony Youview system and have the TV come on when the time for the program is achieved. The information about the program is more difficult to access than my previous TV (which was a Sony). Apart from that it does seem a excellent bit of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer support
12/02/2020

Hi Rob,

Thank you for your review.
We have passed your valuable feedback through the proper channels for future consideration.

At the time of writing this reply, the functionality to set a timer for a program isn't available in the Youview guide.

Sony support team

0

Easy set up

123 cm (49'') 09/02/2020 by Travsy

Looks great straight out of the box. Easy connection to sky q box. Really nice natural colours, sound adequate for me maybe not for music lovers where a sound bar would improve matters Overall I’m glad I chose this tv, it certainly lives up to the reviews

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV.

123 cm (49'') 09/02/2020 by Japetus

Over all it is a great TV . Good picture quality, easy to use and set up. Only niggling issue is, if you connect a Bluetooth headphone (A2DP) , in Netflix y you can not play ultra-high-definition (UHD) 4K or Dolby Vision videos. They only play in hd. I guess this is a software issue that Sony knows a while but prefers to ignore it till now. That is why it is only 4 stars not 5.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent definition

123 cm (49'') 08/02/2020 by conal42

I required a new television and together with the dealer, decided this was the ideal unit for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic TV

123 cm (49'') 07/02/2020 by Jaymeister

My last tv was the X2000 bought in 2006 but this new tv is just awesome. The 4k picture is out of this world. So handy to have the apps and catch up tv built in. Not a fan of YouView though but and

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi Jaymeister,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony support team

0

Excellent picture quality

123 cm (49'') 06/02/2020 by Saltwinds

Delivered 2 days ago more than pleased with this television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Multiple Issues

123 cm (49'') 05/02/2020 by NotProvided

I likely received a faulty item, so some of the following points will not necessarily be valid to most units. - The integration with Google Home was fairly poor. Only sporadically worked. - The sound would connect to HDMI Arc only when it felt like it. Would randomly switch back to TV speaker at super loud volume each morning and refuse to switch back to Arc without multiple TV restarts. Arc worked fine with Phillips and Samsung TVs I've had in past. - The motion control wasn't as good as I had expected, regularly had to turn it off, as it was not handling motion well. It felt like every time I switched channel or changed source, I had to mess around with the picture settings. - You cannot remove the bloatware. They sit top and centre of your Home screen and cannot be moved. There is a lot there. - Slightly unfair but multiple apps I use were not available to Sony's version of Google Play store, where as they are on Samsung. So I had to cast to the TV from my phone. - The speed of navigation was frustratingly slow in general. e.g. When pressing the microphone on the remote, it took between 5-10 seconds to register I had pushed the mic, then even longer to start searching my voice command. - The voice control (Pausing / switching off etc) very rarely worked, if at all. I had to send the product back after 1 week, as it was gradually getting worse with ever day I used it. Especially disappointed as this TV was voted best in category on some of the websites I looked at.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer support
07/02/2020

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to learn of the issues you experienced while using the TV and would have loved to help you find a solution. We can be reached using the following details for assistance with any technical issues that may be encountered: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

excellent picture

123 cm (49'') 02/02/2020 by kg13

Excellent picture and interface with my other Sony equipment. The remote keys are not as responsive as I would like but the remote works well with my Virgin box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rubbish Bluetooth

123 cm (49'') 01/02/2020 by eddie4444444

Dont want towaste anymore time on something you will ignore

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer Support
04/02/2020

Hi Eddie,

We appreciate your feedback and we’re sorry to hear this. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information so that we can help using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony Support Team

0

Stunning pictures

123 cm (49'') 31/01/2020 by John the biker

This is my third sony tv. They just last and last. I only changed to update to a 4k one. This is the best by far. If you are after a TV buy a Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really happy with Sony tv

123 cm (49'') 29/01/2020 by Lolly 1

Very happy with Sony tv, brilliant picture, sound and looks good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound bar next

123 cm (49'') 29/01/2020 by AndyBuzz

Best £800 tv but you always wish you had bought bigger better OLED and you want a sound bar next

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just so nice

123 cm (49'') 29/01/2020 by M360

Very happy. loving this tv so far. The back light led thing that helps in sun reflection and seeing from any angle ( can’t remember it’s proper name) seems excellent. I haven’t even found my way round all the features yet. Excellent though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV, Let Down by Interface

123 cm (49'') 28/01/2020 by Goddmunge

I bought this TV as a replacement for an ancient (but still very good quality) Panasonic; it took a lot of deciding the pros and cons whether I really needed a new TV to finally take the plunge, and after a couple of weeks looking around at tens of 49 inch TVs I finally settled on this. Initially i had my mind set on a Samsung going on price and reviews, but after one final shop visit, standing looking at this Sony side by side with other 49 inch TVs (Including Samsungs), I could see a genuine difference in picture quality and took a last-minute change of heart. Once set up at home (which was fairly painless), the picture quality was still good, and the rear connections and hidden channeling down the legs worked a treat. However, it has to be said that after a month of using it, I am still finding the menu interface grating and unintuitive (which is annoying given my PS4 menu from the same manufacturer is fine!), and the remote - which I didn’t get to see in the shop, but I always feel should be available to check before you buy! - is below par. It feels cheap and light, and like the menu interface, isn’t anywhere near as intuitive as brands I’ve used. (It’s also completely blown out the water by the quality of the remote for a £180 Hisense I bought at the same time, which very pleasantly surprised me!) So overall, though a very good quality TV and not worth taking back and changing, I am left wondering whether I made the right choice, and definitely wondering whether the picture quality was worth the extra money. Very much dependent on what you want out of a TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
30/01/2020

Hi Goddmunge,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony support team

0

Great TV but there are flaws

123 cm (49'') 28/01/2020 by AVJV

The Good: -Great upscalling for SD and HD -Great Motion -Good amount of detail in dark scenes ( for an LCD) without macro blocking -Hardly any smearing/dirty screen effect -TV can go very bright - Sound is not bad for an LCD The Bad: -The TVs BIGGEST issue (its well documented on various forums) is with 4k material and the TVs inability to control the light blooming/spilling, where there is a bright object around a dark area. This is more evident when watching in a dark room and distracting, not so bad in a lit room. You will notice light spilling on to other areas such as black bars or dark scenes, when there are subtiitles and credits, or when activating TV menus on 4k source, or prominent bright objects in a film where there is a dark scene. The sounding area of the light source seems to lighten up!! -local dimming algorithm could be better. -viewing angles are tight and not forgiving however this is a trait of any VA panel and doesn't affect us too much due to seating position. - still doesn't support the newer android OS This would be a killer TV if Sony fixed or even reduced the light spill/blooming issue.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer support
30/01/2020

Hi AVJV

Thank you for your review.
We recommend following the steps in this link to improve the backlight performance of the TV: http://bit.ly/2FmRtCo

Sony support team

0

Great features

123 cm (49'') 28/01/2020 by Suzie35

I bought this tv a month ago and am very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super television

123 cm (49'') 27/01/2020 by Blackbird71

An excellent piece of equipment that should provide good future proofing. I chose this as I consider the picture to be superior to other makes. The full Array LED design is a good compromise to OLED, as the OLED televisions -I had originally set out to buy- start at 55” which I considered to be a touch too big for my room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Into the 21st century

123 cm (49'') 27/01/2020 by DSMET

First new tv for a long time and extremely happy with it so far. Picture quality is first class and can be seen clearly from the narrowest of angles. Easy set up got us up and running in short order.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Where are settings

123 cm (49'') 27/01/2020 by Youngtaff

Wonderful picture. A bit of a faf to set up but managed. Then upgraded to fibre wi/fi and needed to up date. Online all says press home and go into SETTINGS, all my other Sony TV’s have this but not this one. Somehow did it by going into google play but still cannot find SETTINGS on this TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
31/01/2020

Hi Youngtaff,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear this. The Settings menu is accessible by pressing Home then pressing and holding the Up Arrow button.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Brilliant picture

123 cm (49'') 27/01/2020 by gunner55

Very happy with my Sony TV however after the initial setup which was pretty straightforward I find I am having problems coordinating my soundbar/sky box which I find irritating. Probably my fault but tv’s appear to be getting more complicated and I’m not getting any younger. Overall very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Shame about the legs

123 cm (49'') 26/01/2020 by Jumbo43

Took a bit of fiddling with the picture controls to get a very good picture with excellent depth, the background blacks are deep space black. Only complaint, is that so far I am unable to sync my Samsung sound bar with this tv. I think it will take some time to get to grips with all the features. The instruction manual is in my opinion pretty poor.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 25/01/2020 by Gurpreet

Really happy with the product so far. Great picture and the in-built apps are exactly what I need

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

123 cm (49'') 25/01/2020 by Lizzie w

So pleased with this product....always buy Sony TV's ...this has best quality definition to date. Would recommend this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality poor instructions

123 cm (49'') 24/01/2020 by Dangerfield

Really pleased with the picture quality but can’t get catchup on itv or channel 4 unless mirroring with iPad. Instructions are minimal and Sony unable to help. Also TV guide is not loading properly.. Not entirely happy but will persevere with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
28/01/2020

Hi Dangerfield,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. In order to use the catch up services we recommend ensuring that an aerial is connected to the TV, you can find the possible troubleshooting steps for YouView related issues here: http://bit.do/fqQ2h. If you need any further help, you can contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Great Picture

123 cm (49'') 24/01/2020 by Northernspur

Had this set for a couple of weeks to replace a ten year old TV of same make. The picture is excellent and combined with a Sony soundbar gives a brilliant all round package. Really good purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor interface

123 cm (49'') 23/01/2020 by Simon30

I bought I an month ago and have had problems with freezing. Full reboot required. No good

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer Support
27/01/2020

Hi Simon30,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear this. We recommend making sure the TV is updated to the lastest software version available here: http://bit.ly/2RWya8M We also recommend clearing the cached data to refresh the TV by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data then pressing and holding the Power button for 5 seconds.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Good, but with more thought it could be excellent.

123 cm (49'') 22/01/2020 by East of England

Typical Sony product. Performs well, good picture and reasonable sound, but the controls are not intuitive and verge on over-complexity. Remote control navigation buttons are too close together. All input sockets are situated at the back - making some occasional connections (headphones/video cameras, etc) difficult to reach.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Customer support
28/01/2020

Hi East of England,


Thank you for your feedback.
You can find more expansive help topics and details about the supported features in the Help Guide here: http://bit.ly/2EVwTJ2

Sony support team

0

Terrific choice

123 cm (49'') 22/01/2020 by Dog Jacob

Much more to see than I imagined.Excellent quaility

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding tv

123 cm (49'') 21/01/2020 by Noddy Ob

Really pleased with the tv, though didn’t like the stand it came with so changed it for a table top bracket problem solved.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smart tv, unlike me. Brill pics

123 cm (49'') 21/01/2020 by No nickname just ne

Best tv i have ever had, much better than samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Have had Sony products in the past and found then

123 cm (49'') 20/01/2020 by Spannerman

I bought this TV set as we have had good service from all our previous Sony products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

123 cm (49'') 20/01/2020 by Ron 591

Pleased with purchase and picture quality is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review KD-49XG9005.

123 cm (49'') 20/01/2020 by Mike1066

Purchased as upgrading to 4K system - Very picture quality and links supurbly well the Sony AV Sony STR-DN1080 and 4K player - would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not all great

123 cm (49'') 19/01/2020 by Ravi1994

Google assistance is not proper working When I say something in remote then it's not find that

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great 4K screen for UHD and upscaling HD

123 cm (49'') 19/01/2020 by Hilly21273

Excellent build quality. Great 4K screen. It also upscales standard and high definition extremely well. Best for use on HD programmes, Netflix, Amazon, etc. Sound quality good enough for this type of TV, but would recommend a seperate speaker to get the best out of it. Has a lot of features built in, but the "Youview" app is a little difficult to set up if you don't use an aerial connection to the tv and just use satellite box or internet only. I found a way around this, but had to work it out as there were no clear instructions on how to do this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture

123 cm (49'') 19/01/2020 by Johnywello

Love Sony products they always have excellent build quality with no silly gimmicks like other TV brands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

49 inch Bravia tv

123 cm (49'') 18/01/2020 by keefymeboy

Beautiful picture, all the features i required and no space area wasted,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

123 cm (49'') 17/01/2020 by Jblade

I bought this TV to replace a 40inch Sony. Because of the thin edge on this set, the overhall size is not much bigger, even though the screen size is 49inches. Picture quality is excellent but as is normal with most flat screen TV's the sound is only OK. Having said that, I think a lot of the problems come from the programme makers. The only thing I dislike are the ducks feet sticking out sideways and I have purchased a replacement stand for about £20 from Amazon. The connections can be a bit difficult as they connect upwards but I think its a better idea as they are neater, so worth the trouble. All in all a great TV for under £1000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
20/01/2020

Hi Jblade,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend adjusting the sound settings to suit your preference by pressing on Home - Settings - Sound. We will pass your feedback about the stand and the connections for future development. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .


Sony Support Team

0

Superb television

123 cm (49'') 17/01/2020 by Chillerman

Purchased this tv in the new year after a lot of research and customer reviews.So glad I did,superb quality picture,easy to set up and navigate.Picture quality with both aerial and cable excellent.Only downside as with all thin TV's is the sound quality,although I've heard much worse.Connected this tv to a cinema surround system and the sound blows you away,much better than a sound bar personally speaking.So to sum up cant find anything negative to comment on,would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vision at it's Best

123 cm (49'') 17/01/2020 by Manalive57

Bought this TV on the 2nd January 2020. 49 inch is perfect for my bedroom. Very easy to set up and the Picture is incredible, with many different viewing options. Well done Sony on competing up at the front with LG and Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 16/01/2020 by Tre21

TV just been installed yesterday,really impressed beautiful pictures great features love this tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

123 cm (49'') 16/01/2020 by Clive79

Very clear picture and sound is good. I only bought the tv a week ago so still a lot to learn and see.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant tv

123 cm (49'') 16/01/2020 by Tankyboy

I have had this TV for a month now and can't fault the picture, so impressed even watching older movies brings out detail I haven't noticed before.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV

123 cm (49'') 15/01/2020 by Ianw57

I bought this tv a couple of weeks ago following a lot of research . I specifically wanted a 49 inch tv and this seemed to get the best reviews. Set up out of the box is very easy and took about 10 mins including linking to sky box and logging in to Netflix and Amazon prime. Many tweaks to picture available but only ones need doing are widely recommended - turn light sensor off as well as noise reduction options. Only other change I made was that with Sky Q the picture was a little too vibrant for my taste so changed setting for Live Colour to low Picture for both UHD and HD are excellent from all sources and motion is much smoother than my previous tv. Picture also seems far more natural without the dreaded soap opera effect . Sound is ok but have linked up to my existing sound bar. Overall excellent tv well worth the money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

123 cm (49'') 15/01/2020 by Morbster

Great picture colors are bright and blacks look good with no light bleed, had to buy another stand as the one supplied did not fit on my cabinet. Easy to set up. Can be slow moving through the menu’s and app’s but not to much of a problem. Sound could be better but using a sound bar. Just waiting for the Apple TV app to be available on Android and I will be happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi Morbster,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear this. We recommend clearing the cached data to improve the overall performance by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data then pressing and holding the Power button for 5 seconds.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Again

123 cm (49'') 15/01/2020 by Moneydownthedrain

I bought this item 2 months ago and am very unhappy. Intermittent fault and fails to start up.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear this. We recommend making sure the Tv is updated to the latest software version available here: http://bit.ly/2uT69qQ
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Spot On Picture

123 cm (49'') 14/01/2020 by Rory2020

Bought this TV as my old Plasma finally got solid screen burn. I didn't want to spend a small fortune on a QLED, so was advised to go for a Full Array LED and boy the picture is cracking. Watch it in 4k UHD on Sky / Netflix and its like being there yourself. Got it reduced at £799 so more than happy. I did need to update the system when I first got it but that was a piece of cake. If you are after a new TV but don't want or can't afford a QLED grab one of these beauties.!!.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV, but beware...

123 cm (49'') 14/01/2020 by Moonie66

I’ve had this TV for about 3 weeks and it’s picture quality is superb, but beware the native Netflix App output! The so called Ultra HD content is locked into Dolby Vision, which is very poor quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
19/01/2020

Hi Moonie,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. We recommend trying different content from different sources to identify the cause of the issue. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Disappointed

123 cm (49'') 14/01/2020 by Dave1952

Bought a couple of weeks ago. Picture looked great in Currys, but the reality of watching it in the lounge is that it’s no better than my 6 year old LG which it replaced. That’s even with it connected to top spec Sky Q box

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi Dave1952,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/feBvw (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony support team

0

Amazeballs!

123 cm (49'') 14/01/2020 by Matana

We decided to treat ourselves to a new TV as the last one was over 10 years old. I knew the picture and the features would be better, but nowhere near as good as they are. Amazing clarity, easy to use and great features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

123 cm (49'') 14/01/2020 by Everton59

Really pleased with this purchase. Exactly what I was looking for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality TV

123 cm (49'') 13/01/2020 by L7 PGM

Purchased in the sales from John Lewis good service. quality of the TV is as expected with Sony products, this is my third TV in 15 years, unfortunately the feet stick outwards, I’ve had to purchase a new TV/ stand. On my previous Sony telly I had by hi-fi speakers connected given me excellent sound, the sound on the TV is adequate but it looks like I will have to purchase a sound bar, to get a quality one they’re not particularly cheap!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delighted with my Sony XG90!

123 cm (49'') 13/01/2020

Delighted with my Sony XG90, easy to install and operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality

123 cm (49'') 12/01/2020 by Peagee

Used for week. Outstanding picture. Easy to set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Tv remote issues

123 cm (49'') 11/01/2020 by The ferret

The tv remote was temperamental and had to go to customer support after only 7 days The picture quality was outstanding The sound was good The features were excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
15/01/2020

Hi The ferret,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. Although the accessories supplied with our TVs pass strict quality tests, due to the nature of electrical components, we cannot completely eliminate the possibility of a spontaneous failure. Sony provides a guarantee to protect users in such circumstances. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

What a picture!

123 cm (49'') 11/01/2020 by Mike60s

Only had the TV for a couple of weeks but very pleased with it so far. Set up was very straightforward. The quality of the images we are seeing is a massive step up from the previous 10 year old Samsung 720p set. Even the upscaling of a 50+ year old film broadcast on TV was impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

123 cm (49'') 10/01/2020 by Wraith63

Just set up picture first class looks stunning sound bar recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tv’s have changed so much...

123 cm (49'') 10/01/2020 by Jony753

I bought this tv due to the specification, although I would have preferred a 43inch with the same spec, full array etc...although it’s only available from 49in...Wall mounting was fairly easy as the TV is lightweight, although build quality is much lower quality than the 13 year old unit that’s coming off the wall...In terms of picture quality the tv is very good, however there is a slight amount of light blanching on the LHS, Sony advise this is normal although it’s annoying...The sound is better than I expected although a bit thin...nevertheless a good buy...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture and sound after small adjustment

123 cm (49'') 10/01/2020 by Ltechst

Bought this after going into John Lewis and running round all the TVs showing the same programme. This tv stood out from all the others when showing standard tv. The upscaling is excellent. I don’t need a sound bar as sound is rich enough from tv speakers. I stopped the legs over easily so tv would sit on a smaller cabinet yet still be stable. Turned off ambient lighting feature as this was making picture too dark in my lounge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0