48

4.4 based on 48 customer reviews

26
17
1
4
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

89 Customer Reviews

0

Great picture quality especially on 4K Ultra HD

123 cm (49'') 16/11/2019 by raider 101

I bought this TV about a month ago. Overall the picture quality is excellent. However, the colours do fade slightly if viewing the screen at an angle instead of looking at the screen directly. Good integration with the Virgin Media V6 box and the Ultra HD channel looks amazing. A bit annoying that there is still not a built in Now TV app. There is no master on/off switch on the TV - just turns off by the remote control. Overall really pleased with the picture quality especially on Amazon Prime 4K HD and BBC iPlayer 4K Ultra HD streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent all rounder

123 cm (49'') 15/11/2019 by Quavereater

Picture quality much improved on last Sony with lots of built in features. Topped off with a decent soundbar and we are all set!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb tv

123 cm (49'') 13/11/2019 by Kkd62

Fantastic TV,great picture,also packed with features,really easy to set up,connection to my phone and wifi was very easy too,it's a expensive but of kit,but well worth it in my opinion

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony XG90

123 cm (49'') 13/11/2019 by ANTHONY 99

Only had my tv for two weeks and love it . Picture sound great and I like the fact that it’s Android for app’s.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb picture quality

123 cm (49'') 12/11/2019 by sidevalver

Have always been a fan of Sony TV's have three in the house.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT TV WITH EXCEPTIONAL FEATURES

123 cm (49'') 11/11/2019 by Geoffo

Bought this tv a week ago and now installed today and really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent performance generally

123 cm (49'') 11/11/2019 by Cathead666

Performance generally excellent, however found the internet interface over-complicated and invasive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Brilliant Picture

123 cm (49'') 08/11/2019 by George 219

TV arrived on 28 October 2019. Set up only took 30munutes. I purchased this TV because it appeared to have the best picture of the QLED TVs on sale. I have not played with the original factory settings as I have a brilliant Picture as it is. I have been pleasantly surprised as to how good the sound is and can see no reason to purchase a sound bar. I recommend this TV .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very satisfying

123 cm (49'') 07/11/2019 by My Ride

It took me a while to decide on this model and I got it right. It took some setting up but Google assist helped a lot. Modern technology offers some fantastic opportunities if you willing to work through the complex setting up process. A lot of the stuff was entirely new to me but once you up and running the full benefits are amazing and this kit is no accept ion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/11/2019

Hi, My Ride9f89d68139518d5cb030290bd6d25360c67b0853!

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for the positive feedback!

0

Great picture but doesn't turn on half the time

123 cm (49'') 05/11/2019 by Umshamrock

The picture is great and the sound bar makes the sound good, but half the time the TV won't turn on and I have to unplug it, wait, and plug it back in. This fault is so common it's even in the product FAQs on the Sony support website. There is no solution to it. When you pay £1000 for at TV, the very least it can do is turn on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
11/11/2019

Hi Umshamrock,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. We recommend tuning the service replacement settings off in attempt to resolve the issue by pressing on Home - Settings - Channel set up - Digital set up - Technical set up - Service replacement - Off. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Great picture, but Android TV is slow...

123 cm (49'') 05/11/2019 by Skeeve

Overall, very happy with the TV but find the Android TV OS to be quite slow. Against my other TVs in house, almost painfully so. That all said, it's used with Sky, so it doesn't really impact day-to-day use greatly. The picture is superb though and it definitely looks the part.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
07/11/2019

Hi Skeeve,

We appreciate your feedback and we’re sorry to hear this. To improve the overall performance of your TV we recommend ensuring that the software of your TV is up to date as explained here: https://bit.ly/2K1FZqO . If the issue is not resolved, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Detailed picture

123 cm (49'') 05/11/2019 by GAT007

I have only had the tv for just over a week but so far extremely pleased with performance. I have not altered any of the features from the standard set up as picture in this mode is extremely detailed with vibrant colours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent quality and features!

123 cm (49'') 02/11/2019 by michaelcassel01

Bought to replace our old Sony Wega Plasma 37” TV. Easy setup with SkyQ and sync to Sony Soundbar HT-X8500. Everything just works. Design is non flashy and sleek. Picture quality is excellent. The features is top spec and you would expect to see in larger TVs. Overall this is an superb product with a great blend of quality, features, spec and value. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely set but!

123 cm (49'') 01/11/2019 by graybo

To be honest I've only had this tv 2 weeks hardly put it through its paces It's thicker than I expected sticks out quite a lot from our wall panel. The standard picture and sound are good. Found a 4k series on Amazon to try and the picture comes alive excellent. The only real negative for me is the documentation is very poor not being an expert I need to be told what settings mean,my last Pansonic was excellent in this regard every menu explained and to be honest the stuff on Sony's web site is not much better but I love the Tele So ho hum there you go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture

123 cm (49'') 31/10/2019 by Johnmo

Had TV for two weeks found it very good. excellent picture and good sound. Smart features a bit messy to navigate but will get used to them. Written manual would be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sharp and bold

123 cm (49'') 31/10/2019 by Andyday

This tv was a replacement for a 3 year old Sony and wow!!! This new one is bold and sharp, really looks great too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not very good, disappointed

123 cm (49'') 30/10/2019 by Kingsmere

TV keeps locking up at least once a day and only clears by powering off or holding the on off button down for a while. You can't use the Satitlite input if you have the You View app on. A Internet search shows both these faults seem to be well documented but nothing is being done. Also very slow to react when changing input or app. Expect better of a Sony TV

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi Kingsmere,

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear this.
We recommend clearing the Cached data by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data and making sure the latest software is installed using this link: http://bit.do/ffCCW to improve the overall performance.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: http://bit.do/feBvw

Sony support team

0

Superb picture

123 cm (49'') 29/10/2019 by Do not have two

Great television except the support legs are far to wide which meant that I had to buy a support stand rather than a new cabinet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good for movies, OS a bit glitchy

123 cm (49'') 27/10/2019 by joncrossley

So we decided 49inches was the absolute max screen size we could goo with, and of course OLEDs only go down to 55 inches. In shops you can clearly see this is the best tech available. Second best at 49 - Sonys LED and Samsing Q70 QLED. I went to John Lewis thinking of going for the Samsung, and was won over by the picture tests carried out in the store - the Sony won me over on a natural picture, detail, and accuracy. And it is good - when watching moves the blacks are deep enough, and the definition is great. ....The OS is just clunky. The screen flips between different background greys as you browse options and services, and it just feels overcomplicated and clunky. The remote is not always responsive. I am an Apple user so not bothered about all the Google stuff either. Sound quality is good. So hence four stars. The user experience is just not all that great.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
30/10/2019

Hi joncrossley,

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. We recommend clearing the cached data on the TV by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data, and ensure the latest software update is installed using this link: http://bit.do/ffmHB to improve the overall performance.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: http://bit.do/feBvw

Sony support team

0

great picture

123 cm (49'') 27/10/2019 by ian111

pleased with quality of tv. Easy set up. Goes well in the room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic picture

123 cm (49'') 26/10/2019 by Davybaby

Easy to set up pictures fabulous and really impressed with the sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture

123 cm (49'') 25/10/2019 by Tjcutter

Great picture a bit plasticky for sony and not straight ford to use takes alot of hours to set up and still missing some apps like nowtv sky store shame

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer Support
28/10/2019

Hi Tjcutter,

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this. You can find useful information about using the TV in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/31QSj2X. Also, the availability of a certain application may vary depending on the version available for download added by the developers of the app. If you require any further assistance, you can contact us to help you further using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Great but how I do it!

123 cm (49'') 25/10/2019 by pika choo

Great picture however a comprehensive manual would be extremely useful to learn not only what it can do, but more importantly how to do it. The documentation, that comes with it, is pitiful and there does not appear to be much more on line Ruins an otherwise great experience

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
28/10/2019

Hi Pika,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find useful information about using the TV in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/2opLAzz. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Picture quality

123 cm (49'') 25/10/2019

My while family live this television. Admittedly we've jumped from a 12 year old led to this so i would expect a significant difference, but this TV is brilliant! We bought it in the sale making it 1000 so was a great price too! It would have been a 5 star except the controller for the TV doesn't replace my sky TV remote. It does being up a guide but not the sky guide with the planner and all the other features on sky. If there was a way to sync Sony remote with sky top box fully this would be a perfect TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Bravia

123 cm (49'') 25/10/2019

Great machine, very clever, works great with my android phone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Picture

123 cm (49'') 24/10/2019 by linda51

Another quality product from Sony - superb smart tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

123 cm (49'') 24/10/2019 by Dave10

Had for a few weeks now and has exceeded all expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brill Picture

123 cm (49'') 23/10/2019 by Gramps80

I needed Bluetooth so my wife and I could wear separate headphones due to having different hearing levels at our age

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent

123 cm (49'') 22/10/2019 by Yachtsman

Great and clear picture better than OLed or Qled TV’s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good tv

123 cm (49'') 22/10/2019 by Biggles66

This replaced an older Toshiba tv where the lcd screen had darkened with time. This TV brings vastly superior image and sound clarity, an excellent step forward. The remote doesn't quite offer all the functionality we would like (where, for example, is the i button for programme info?) And not everyone may wanted to be plumbed into Google services (we don't). The stand is an awkward design, we replaced with a much neater one from eBay so we didn't have to buy a new TV cabinet. The basic instruction sheet for new users is very skimpy, so you may have to spend an hour or so figuring out what does what like we did - but we don't regret it, for the improvement in viewing quality is worth the effort.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant picture

123 cm (49'') 15/10/2019 by Gibbst

Can’t really go wrong with Sony tv’s. Dolby vision is excellent with Netflix and all other content looks great. Because of the full array the tv handles blacks very well and the brightness is spot on. I tend to think other TVs can make images look a bit unnatural.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great picture no motion blur when watching sports

123 cm (49'') 15/10/2019 by eddy88888

great picture no motion blur when watching sports amazing colours

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best tv

123 cm (49'') 14/10/2019

All you need from a tv with all the apps also a great picture from the full array led

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality.

123 cm (49'') 12/10/2019 by Tonyblue 7

I have had tv about 3 weeks and very happy with it, set up was easy I have not yet added a google account yet.not to keen on you view menu. I wall mounted my tv and tv sound not bad much better through soundbase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Next best thing to an OLED

123 cm (49'') 10/10/2019 by jeddy3

Great to see Sony putting most of their high end features into a 49". Well worth the extra money for the X1 processor and Dolby Atmos alone. With a bit of tweaking out of the box, the picture is stunning. If you're thinking about it and comparing to other models of its size, go for it, trust me you wont be disappointed. The next best thing to an OLED I've ever seen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality picture

123 cm (49'') 08/10/2019 by Homie 59

Bought this tv as a replacement for problematic Samsung curved tv and was surprised by the picture quality and the features provided .Easy to set up and works well with my Sonos equipment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This product was not as good as antisapated

123 cm (49'') 07/10/2019 by Globyden

This product has no EPG and is a complete let-down.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Support team
10/10/2019

Hi Globyden,

We have read your review, and we can confirm that the TV supports digital programme guide. You can find more information on this here: http://bit.do/fcoEp

If you need any technical assistance for your TV, you can get in touch with us using this link: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

Great tv

123 cm (49'') 06/10/2019 by Jayjay20

Bought about 3 weeks ago and delighted with my purchase. Picture is fab, brings everything to life. Sound is also great, don't find a need for a sound bar which is great but I guess it's down to personal preference. Has lots of great features which I look forward to using. Only slight negative is if you switch off the power (Not on standby) it takes a while to come on. Probably because of all the features? Would recommend this tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great picture

123 cm (49'') 30/09/2019 by Lesley9

would recommend this tv could only be improved by a comprehensive instruction book which don"t seem to be supplied these days but would help us greatly to be able to use everything

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic picture but

123 cm (49'') 30/09/2019 by Gemcobra

I chose this to because of the full array backlight. Picture is excellent. Shame about the Youview. It's not a full implementation . Falls well short of my current Youview box. I expected the same functionality. No pause live TV, can't record with Youview, no program reminder. No access to ITV player from the guide. Apps and Home screens confusing seem the. Same. Sony Select is a complete mystety no reference anywhere. Selected an App on Sony select can't remove it don't know what it does. Sony support only states these things not available on Android yet. Shame this wasn't pointed out before I parted with a large amount of money. She said it may be a software update? This suggests to me the development want finished when TV went on sale. Again Great picture , best I have seen. Shame about Youview. Wouldn't have purchased this set I f I had known the shortfalls. I have had to reconnect my Youview box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent picture very poor internet browser

123 cm (49'') 29/09/2019 by Dave9876

I am very happy with the picture quality but most disappointed with the "smart" features. The on board browser has so little features to be practically useless. No search function. Tried to install crome as a video suggests without success. I side loaded it but it still cannot be seen in the apps. As a modern "so called smart" TV it is a bit stupid

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your review. You can find tips on how to organize the Home menu of your Android TV here https://bit.ly/2pzOhi5 . If you need any further assistance with your TV, you can contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

KD49XG

123 cm (49'') 27/09/2019 by Coops25

I have had this for 3 weeks. The picture as you would expect is very good and the menus and controls easy once you get used to them. I don’t like the legs it stands on. Most TV tables are 36 inches. The legs when fitted properly are 37 inches wide. I have overcome this by fitting them on the wrong side. It is quite stable but they are incorrectly fitted

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Crisp picture

123 cm (49'') 27/09/2019 by JohnMD

Replacement for a previous Sony. Blacks excellent, colour superb, but the sound is not as good as expected. A soundbar would be of benefit. WiFi is 'flaky', even though the rest of the house works uses it ok. Even a Humax directly under the TV finds the house system fine. A mains LAN works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer support
01/10/2019

Hi JohnMD

Thank you for your review.

We recommend making sure the TV is running the latest software version available using the steps in this link: https://bit.ly/2Xf8DbD

If the issue with the Wi-Fi remains, let us know using our contact details here: https://bit.ly/2oUrHPV

Sony support team

0

All one needs from a TV

123 cm (49'') 24/09/2019 by GMS47

Bought at a good local TV shop in Montrose just over a month ago. Great picture and lots of facilities, many of which I have yet to learn about.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality product

123 cm (49'') 21/09/2019 by Sthom10218

I have had this a fortnight and it exceeds expectations. Sport is amazing and so is films.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but one drawback

123 cm (49'') 17/09/2019 by Smorty

I've had this a week and the picture is great. Very happy but.....I was setting up the USB HDD for recording TV and found that it will not work unless you disable YOUVIEW. Wish I'd known that. This should have been made more obvious at point of purchase. The ability to record was important.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture let down by slow buggy software

123 cm (49'') 16/09/2019

After a decade with my previous 1080i Bravia I finally upgraded. The jump from 32" to 49" was a worry.. the alcove isn't quiet big enough but the screen is beautiful. I still wish they sold an OLED at this size for I would have bought it in an instant, but the pictures really good coming from 1080i. The biggest bonus to me was ditching a fire TV and Chromecast as they're built in. So I'm back to 1 plug. I've still got the virgin cable box alas but I'm hoping to ditch that for an aerial or satellite. My main gripe is the software being buggy and slow. I've got an Android phone So it's quite familiar and the setup is very easy as you can jump and use your phone. But IPlayer / itv player / Amazon prime didn't sync from my phone so I had to login in to them all again using a remote (painful and slow). Also I used an Ethernet cable but also had to attach to WiFi for Chromecast to work. This wasn't obvious to me initially. After having set it up it worked well. But suddenly it's not appearing to my or my wife's phone. So no casting Udemy or ITV etc. I've set it up as before with my Google Home mini so I can tell it to play 'blah' on 'tv' which seems to work fine. But it doesn't appear on my phone oddly. Also going to settings seems to start playing trailers for Google Play Movies which is plain weird. Even through I have YouTube Premium it sometimes plays adverts. The remote is slow to scroll around and it's clunky at switching between programmes. Why they put an assistant button on the remote and not mics on the TV itself in baffling. The sound as expected isn't great so I'll be buying a Sonos Beam with the assistant built in soon. Hopefully that'll improve the usage and I can retire the Google Home mini. It seems to occasionally require me to login again, which is frustrating. Overall, it'll do. I'm hoping for software fixes to address most of my issues. But I wouldn't recommend it. It feels a bit like an old pc with a load of bloatware pre-installed installed which seemingly can't be removed.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi Dan,

Thank you for your review. You can always refresh your TV's performance by rebooting it every once in a while by pressing and holding the power button for 5 seconds. You can also clear the cached data on your TV every other week under Home-settings-storage and reset-internal shared storage-cached data. If you are still facing issues with your TV, you can contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Resolution

123 cm (49'') 11/09/2019 by Fludie

Very good resolution, particularly HD films and sport

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 09/09/2019 by Colink86

What a good buy. Such an improvement on picture quality from my last 4K uhd tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super TV - great picture on HD

123 cm (49'') 09/09/2019 by BlairD

The TV is really simple to use - the picture is really superb just with default settings. I have tried HD channels and clarity is really great. I do not have a UHD service yet, but may upgrade Netflix account to UHD and will update my feedback then. I setup the TV with default YouView, but may change to Freeview HD instead. The setup was quite lengthy - and it found and Firmware update and this took a fair length of time install - the TV turns off and back on during the process, which is OK - however at the end of the update the TV turns off again....ad I sat there for 10 mins to see if it would turn back on....but it was a full shut down and required me to do a manual turn on - it would have been better if I had been told.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Shame it does not meet the manual specification

123 cm (49'') 08/09/2019 by Frank Rietz

Bought a month ago. Stand inferior to the same model of 2 years ago(XE9005). Optical out is supposed to support Dolby Digital and DTS. It doesn't work with reference optical cables going to Sony headphone transmitter. Output from Panasonic PVR optical to Sony transmitter shows both Dolby Digital and DTS. Sony support unable to resolve

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Stick with it

123 cm (49'') 08/09/2019 by JohnSussex

Out of the box the picture was awful. Needed lots of tweaking but end result is good. Had to do a manual software update and factory reset. Only iplayer works, the others will load and play adverts but not programmes. Sony is apparently aware of this but I was not told before purchase. There is no sign yet of a fix. A good tv spoilt by niggling deficiencies.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb picture

123 cm (49'') 05/09/2019 by Scot 83

My third SONY TV over 15 years. Hope this is as consistently reliable as before Enjoy easy access to its services

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seems to be well set up with featues.

123 cm (49'') 04/09/2019 by Screen watcher

Only bought two weeks ago so early days but picture is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Clear bright picture. Lots of features

123 cm (49'') 03/09/2019 by robbie163

Bought this TV two weeks ago and am very happy with it. The picture quality is great but dependent on the quality of the programme being transmitted as with all TV's. I only have a small room but it fits in well and anything else would have been to large. I really wanted a full QLED TV but they only really start at 55" which would be to large but this is as good and as close as you can get in this size. Only downside is the interface is a bit slow. I had a freesat box before but connected the satellite direct to the TV and the picture quality is very good and got almost a thousand channels tho not all accessible. Bug bear is when veiwing the listings it says no information available but when you select channel it's there and the information comes up. This would make trying to timer record a nightmare as you couldn't see for that channel. I would recommend when you get the TV you update it as I did. Sound as just TV is not bad but there's no bottom end. Best to use sound bar. All said it's a great TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

new tv

123 cm (49'') 02/09/2019 by 470R

The new tv seem to work really well. Being new to the world of HDR, LED, etc we found setting the whole thing up and working out how to do things none to easy but we succeeded in the end, with the aid of Google and Youtube to explain some words and terms. . We did not know really what to expect, the picture and sound are amazing and even the grandkids agree. We did find that the buttons on the hand set did not want to work at first which made start up a bit confusing but after a few presses all was well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic picture

123 cm (49'') 01/09/2019 by Dacf

Works very well a little slow sometimes to respond to the remote but it gets there in the end still investigating all the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent quality

123 cm (49'') 01/09/2019 by Arthur64

Always been a Samsung buyer but swayed by the offer and so pleased I was, excellent tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could be alot better

123 cm (49'') 27/08/2019 by Jdlvh

Poor viewing angle, leading to pasty picture, sound sounds dull and boxed, not particularly open and clear. Channel and function operation slow, satellite connection not Freesat making channel selection laborious, should have done more homework, expensive mistake.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Support team
29/08/2019

Hi,

We have read your review, and we recommend the following steps to speed up the overall performance of the TV:

(Press Home > Settings > Storage and Reset > Internal storage > Cached data > Yes).

If you are still experiencing the same difficulties, please use the details on the following link to contact us so we can help you further: http://bit.do/eQZGU

Sony support team

0

Probably the best 4K TV for the size

123 cm (49'') 27/08/2019 by Rossington

I had to plump for this TV, as space was at a premium. However, I was not disappointed. The picture is great for an LED/LCD display and for a slim TV, the sound is decent enough. But as with most TV's, a separate sound system would be better. My only real gripes with the unit are that the OS is a quite sluggish (although being Android, it plays with all my Google devices very nicely) and it doesn't handle as many file formats as I would like. But that probably wouldn't be an issue for most people. A solid TV and I am very happy with the purchase,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Support team
29/08/2019

Hi Rossington,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review, and we recommend the following steps to speed up the overall performance of the TV:

(Press Home > Settings > Storage and Reset > Internal storage > Cached data > Yes)

Sony support team

0

Better than the rest

123 cm (49'') 26/08/2019 by joe public2

Still in my first few weeks so far so good.I watch a lot of tv through sky and this is outstanding as the upscaling works well.I have watch several blue ray movies through a normal blue ray player and the upscaling provides an uhd picture as near as I can tell.What I was surprised about was the good quality sound from such small speakers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture quality

123 cm (49'') 25/08/2019 by KJC23

We've had this about a month and are really impressed with the picture quality, super sharp with deep blacks, fantastic 4k UHD picture and good up scaling. We don't use it to watch TV, just streaming channels and DVD/BlueRay, so can't comment on the TV bits or internal speakers. Easy set-up with a single HDMI-ARC lead to the AV amp. Wireless connection was initially unreliable until we updated the software that came with it with the latest via Flash stick - very easy too and now rock solid wireless connection including 4k UHD (via 32M broadband router).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good picture quality

123 cm (49'') 25/08/2019 by Nobbsy

Great picture and sound with soundbar and screen size

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic

123 cm (49'') 21/08/2019 by Alastair T

Only been in use for a few weeks however it is certainly the best television that I have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

123 cm (49'') 31/07/2019 by Ange11

Bought a couple of weeks ago. Very pleased with quality of tv. Easy to set up. Excellent picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding picture quality

123 cm (49'') 29/07/2019 by Wooden 1uk

Our old Sony TV died so was considering a rather nice LG 49" replacement, until I spotted this Sony in a local Curry's. The picture quality is truly outstanding ... the Black's are completely Black (much like an OLED TV), colours vibrant, motion blur non existent and the in built speakers are surprisingly good too !! I think the fact it uses full array LED technology must help here ... dark or night scenes are incredible, they're crystal clear but retain their dark atmospheric quality. Highly recommended quality product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture

123 cm (49'') 14/07/2019 by Ourbiz

Picture and sound quality excellent so far, stillplaying with the set up of some of the apps

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointing

123 cm (49'') 12/07/2019 by MJ64

I purchased this TV 3 weeks ago. Everything was fine until the latest software update to Android 8 (Oreo). Since the update I have a temperamental ARC connection, the Ethernet and Network connections keep dropping and the Native Sony Video App stops playing videos after 8 - 15 minutes. I am constantly resetting the TV to restore the functions but even a Factory Data Reset has not resolved all the issues. I have always owned Panasonic TVs and this is my first Sony. It will probably be my last if future updates do not resolve the persistent issues above.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 27/06/2019 by Cath19

This is an excellent TV especially the picture quality. The only problem we have is with the stand which we think would be better positioned in the centre of the TV as the legs are extremely long if not wall mounting the TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 26/06/2019 by AD2392

Really impressed with the TV and great picture. Only down side is that I can’t record to HDD when YouView is activated

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My perfect TV!!

123 cm (49'') 26/06/2019 by handy123

I have always been a Sony fan and this TV has cemented this. The TV is fantastic in every way except for ........Android .......it’s clunky and has no support for Apple which is a big pain. That said, it’s about the viewing experience and it is amazing, you have to see it to believe it. My big concern was the upscaling from BT HD content but the chip handles it easily, if you didn’t know it was HD content you would believe it was 4K content. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Picture quality is excellent

123 cm (49'') 26/06/2019 by Sainesy

Wanted connected TV. Picture quality is great although you will want to watch everything in HD+. Standard TV not so good on big screen (but not a fault of TV). Easy to setup and some great features/ online content. Only small grip is lag on remote when pressing keys sometimes...just takes a bit of getting us to. Overall an excellent TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0