1000

4.4 based on 1,000 customer reviews

615
253
62
29
41
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1,002 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Great picture quality and features.

139 cm (55") 03/06/2020 by East Sussex Jock

We decide to make the most of the Lock Down and bought this excellent Television. My wife was concerned that a 55 inch screen might be too large, but it suits our lounge and the picture clarity and definition is superb. Can't wait for Sport to resume!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture but issues already with internet(eth

139 cm (55") 02/06/2020 by Hearmenow

Excellent picture with great features, incl the android TV - ability to play games and use other apps excellent. Only problem is that I worry the internet will go quickly on it. I've only had the item a week and already there has been issues with the ethernet not being picked up. Strangely this causes everything EXCEPT Netflix to stop working that uses internet... makes no sense. Luckilly it has a 5 year warranty so I hope this will be incl if it get's worse. Turning it off and on constantly seems to reset it for a bit however frustrating that a new TV is doing this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV!

139 cm (55") 01/06/2020 by Tolya999

I bought it last year. I like picture quality, new android version update, chrome cast...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 31/05/2020 by lufcparki46

I've owned this TV for a couple of weeks now, and can honestly say I'm absolutely delighted with it. I researched for quite some time before my purchase, and decided that this Sony was the best TV I could get with my budget. I had read some reviews that stated the TV was laggy when changing channels etc, but I have not had any issues with this. I did make sure to update to the latest software via a usb flash drive, so maybe this is why I haven't had that problem. The picture from the TV is phenomenal, and I also think the sound is very good. Thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture but sound could be better

139 cm (55") 31/05/2020 by Wayne N

Initially I purchased a Panasonic TX50GX800B from richer sound after watching countless YouTube clips, the Panasonic seemed a very highly rated unit . The sound quality was excellent for such a slim TV but the picture was a little lacking especially on fast moving scenes. I called richer sound and the sale's guy advised I tried the Sony. The picture quality is better than the Panasonic but the sound quality isn't. At the time of purchase the Sony was £799 and the Panasonic was £599. I can highly recommend richer sounds and there 5yr warranty gives piece of mind on quite an expensive purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV Set

123 cm (49'') 29/05/2020 by Jagnavy

Amazing TV, especially in UHD 4k. OS could be smoother and less jerky and also quicker in response but this is a minor flaw in what is otherwise an exceptional viewing platform with all the apps you could want and voice control through the Chromecast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great overall.

139 cm (55") 27/05/2020 by MikeFi

I bought this 10 days ago, and I am quite satisfied. My only complaint is that the response to the remote control is often slow, and the display transfer from my laptop to the Sony tv does not work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
01/06/2020

Hi MikeFi,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you are enjoying your TV.
In regards to the remote control performance, try the following steps: https://bit.ly/2TWxiCQ .
After we read your review about the display transfer between your laptop and the TV, we will need more information in order to be able to assist you further, you can follow this link to contact us: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Fabulous

139 cm (55") 27/05/2020 by Lainey208

We decided to treat ourselves to this tv during lockdown as our old Samsung had seen better days. We found the tv easy to set up and the features and apps are great. So glad we went for this model so pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High quality

XF9005 Series 26/05/2020 by Fadel

I liked it because it is high quality and its screen is excellent easy to use and beautiful that I use it even for Arabic channels I do not need another device and also less use of the number of the remote

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent

139 cm (55") 25/05/2020 by Thinlizzie

Wonderful 55inch screen. We have on order a Bose Soundbar to enhance the sound. Very good value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV and great picture

139 cm (55") 24/05/2020 by SumanS

I bought this TV a few weeks ago knowing that it has got FALD screen. Nice picture as expected and I connected it to a Sony AV Receiver, so having great sound as well. You have to update the tv using USB stick as auto update doesn’t pick up the update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb image quality and motion handling.

139 cm (55") 23/05/2020 by Tony_C_UK

Save yourself a load of money but not buying current generation TVs, and instead get a high end TV from 1 or 2 generations ago. As is common with TV manufacturers (I'm looking at you Samsung) they often downgrade and remove features in the newer models and/or alter model numbers to trick buyers into thinking they're getting previous years equivalents but in fact you are getting previous years lower model. This particular model has fantastic 5000:1 contrast for excellent black levels, upto 1000nits for hdr and of course Sony's first in class motion handling, and to get the same image specs in current models from 2019/2020 models you need to spend £300 more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WHY DIDN’T SOMEBODY SAY ......

139 cm (55") 23/05/2020 by BonnieSkye

This is the most expensive tv we have ever purchased and to find that we can’t even see what there is on each tv channel because we have connected it to a satellite dish (as instructed by retailer) rather than an aerial is appalling. We are also unable to get the ITV Hub of programmes and who knows what else???? We currently use our phone to get into the tv system !! How silly. We really hope that we are wrong about this terrible fault/oversight by Sony but we will continue to ask our techi friends to see if this can be rectified. After lockdown is over we will be asking questions of our retailer as to why Sony can sell such a set which we don’t believe to be fit for purpose. Again hope that we are proved wrong because we don’t have the knowledge to resolve .........Please can we have a call from Sony to help. You have our e mail address and dialogue can start from there. Thanks in anticipation of your assistance and cooperation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer support
27/05/2020

Hi BonnieSkye

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn you're facing issues with the TV.

Having read your feedback, we can confirm that the functionality of the guide is not guaranteed when tuning Satellite channels. On the other hand, access to catch up services requires the TV to receive digital terrestrial broadcast to enable the Youview Program Guide built into the system.

We have passed your feedback regarding the functionality of the TV with Satellite reception through the proper channels.

Sony support team

0

Good features

123 cm (49'') 21/05/2020 by Fred 46

I bought tv a week ago and very pleased of my choice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Super TV

139 cm (55") 21/05/2020 by Tomo59

The picture is so sharp and easy to setup. Limited apps is the only downside.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it brilliant picture and sound

XF9005 Series 19/05/2020 by 8045stef

Love my new tv it’s like having my own cinema it’s huge and picture and sound quality is superb

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Love it

164 cm (65") 19/05/2020 by Stef8045

I bought it a few weeks ago and am thrilled with everything .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture but rubbish app restrictions

139 cm (55") 14/05/2020 by Gingerfifi

I bought this for a new extension. It was selected based on picture quality and the android apps. I have no aerial, cable or satellite into the extension. The sony software insists that I use an app called YOUVIEW to watch ITV Hub and channel4 players. YOUVIEW will not load unless it has access to an aerial signal so I can watch BBC Iplayer and My5 but I am.not allowed to watch ITV Hub. This is stupid restriction as I can watch these on all other android running hardware. SONY make users aware that they cannot access these due to someone's decision in SONY to restrict access to the Play App store.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi Gingerfifi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with YouView. You can find more information about the different features of YouView and Sony modes here: http://bit.ly/2uFg1ou
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 13/05/2020 by Ironman3000

I bought this TV a few weeks ago, having bought this model that is not the very latest technology but the quality of picture and build is fantastic just as you would expect from Sony. The design would fit seamlessly into any home and any devote with it’s subtle framing and discreet signage. Seriously I don’t believe you could buy better at this price. The functionality and connectivity are also as you would expect from a quality product. The sound quality is good but for the real cinema experience you might want to upgrade to a sound bar, this can easily be done and all controlled by the Tv remote with no need for extra remotes littering your home. Set top boxes can also be controlled From the Tv remote. Thumbs up all round

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV!

139 cm (55") 12/05/2020 by Alina88

Great value for money, excellent sound and picture quality, love it!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Typical Sony Greatness

139 cm (55") 12/05/2020 by Strang3r

Great picture quality, but after the picture settings have been tweaked to suit your room. Plenty of connections available, the back of tv connections point downwards which makes it easy to plug in cables & hang the tv on the wall without requiring additional adapters. Plenty of apps are available & downloadable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

XF9005 Series 12/05/2020 by Ironman

Obviously this is not the highest spec for a TV today but as an upgrade from a 12 year old Bravia( which is still working perfectly in another room) the picture is absolutely fantastic and at this price it’s a no brainer. The design is bang up to date so would look great in any room. Sound is good but for that cinematic experience you might want to upgrade to a better sound system to increase that deep rich bass.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 09/05/2020 by Rob2083

I bought this about a week ago, upgrading from a 10 year old 40 inch Sony and I am not disappointed. The service from Richer Sounds was spot on, delivered on time. I did a lot of research before buying and I was a little concerned about other reviews criticising the android tv platform but I’ve not experienced any issues, that said I use a lot of external inputs such as virgin media TiVo, which integrates with Netflix, amazon prime and bbc iplayer. I’m using a home cinema system for sound (a 10 year old Sony dav-dz260) so cannot comment on the built in speakers, for those interested in the home cinema compatibility, as expected the tv turns the amp on and off, whether that’s due to both being Sony I don’t know. That’s configured with hdmi inputs to the tv then an optical between the tv and the amp. I’m really happy with it and would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clear picture, good sound ! Very happy with it

164 cm (65") 08/05/2020 by RoxyFoxy

Bought it last month .... best investment yet.....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A decent tv but won’t stay connected to internet

139 cm (55") 06/05/2020 by Victoria Reed

A good tv, great picture but can’t keep it connected to internet. We’ve tried all the troubleshooting guides and it just keeps loosing connection constantly which is an absolute pain when watching/listening via internet.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support
11/05/2020

Hi Victoria Reed

Thank you for your review.
We’re sorry to hear that your TV keeps losing its connection to the internet. We recommend making sure the TV is updated to the latest software version available here: https://bit.ly/3diaxR0
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Excellent all round TV

139 cm (55") 06/05/2020 by danrose78

Really good picture quality, especially if viewing a 4k source. YouTube has some great 4k videos to experiment with and really bring out the best in the images. The colours and brightness are high quality. It rivals the QLED I originally purchased but exchanged for this(due to sound distortion issues). Sound is pretty good too. The smart features are fine too with a big range of apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Still Broken!!

189 cm (75”) 03/05/2020 by Hutt63

Bought this TV less than 12 months ago, it's been broken for weeks, neither Currys or SONY have done anything about it whatsoever!!

0

1

0

Stunning picture

123 cm (49'') 03/05/2020 by Crampy

Purchased recently, proved to be everything I wished for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Display - but broke after 11 months

164 cm (65") 30/04/2020 by PM100

Bought telly 11 months ago. Very pleased with display and Smart TV features, but then TV would not turn on and had huge problems trying to get a repair

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support
04/05/2020

Hi PM100

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that your TV wont turn on. We recommend following the steps here: https://bit.ly/3aV1gwU
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Does exactly what it says on the tin

139 cm (55") 29/04/2020 by Maxs Mate

4k content is displayed in exceptional detail whilst the full array backlighting is a quantum step up from edge lit designs we have had previously. HD and standard definition content is also portrayed very well. The motion processing is also a step up from anything we have seen before. Can not comment on sound as we use a AV amp and external speakers all the time. Top notch product at a great price (including the Sony discount)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exelent

139 cm (55") 28/04/2020 by SportLive

Exelent quality, exelent pictures, exelent navigation. Sony is the Best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning

139 cm (55") 28/04/2020 by Carol1teach

Originally had a 10 year old Sony Bravia. ( prior to that , every tv has been a Sony). Again, not disappointed.This tv has the smart tech. we needed. The old one didn't. Shame really. Nothing wrong with the old one!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product!

139 cm (55") 28/04/2020 by sgrickov

I bought this TV 1 year ago. It has Android OS embedded (with some limitations), but you can install almost all required applications, such as Kodi,IPTV, etc. I am using it to watch Internet TV, play all my media files, and even games. Great TV set!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a great TV

123 cm (49'') 28/04/2020 by Peeekay

I did quite a lot of homework before buying my first 4K TV and I’m not disappointed. This is a brilliant TV. The picture quality is superb, is has plenty of hdmi inputs, I love the way it channels the cables through the feet of the stand making everything neat and tidy. It has Quick and easy to use menus and good sound quality also. I’m really really pleased with it and would recommend for sure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 27/04/2020 by Manny Smiles

Bought a month ago and generally happy - only negative point is the response to remote control is slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
01/05/2020

Hi Manny,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with the responsiveness of the remote. We recommend clearing the cached data to refresh the TV by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data then pressing and holding the Power button for 5 seconds. We also recommend making sure the TV is updated to the latest software version available here: https://bit.ly/3eJ85EX
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

GReat picture quality

139 cm (55") 22/04/2020 by Zany

Extremely happy with my purchase, has all the feature that I required

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HD quality n very good to view

164 cm (65") 22/04/2020

All good. Picture quality is ok. I’m happy with the product

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mixed bag

139 cm (55") 21/04/2020 by Manny B

I bought this tv just over 2 weeks ago and I have some issues with it. Firstly, on 3 occasions it failed to turn on. Only way to get it to work was by unplugging from mains supply for 60 seconds. Secondly, if you use YouView tuner you cannot do any timer recordings or access the Freeview and Freesat tuners. If you use Freeview and Freesat tuners you lose access to ITV Hub and All4 players Thirdly, to output 5.1 Dolby signal via optical cable to AV receiver you have to turn off TV speakers, otherwise it only outputs stereo sound to receiver. Main reason for this purpose was the picture quality, and I'm very happy with that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
27/04/2020

Hi Manny,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you are facing isssues with turning on the TV.

We recommend ensuring that the TV is running the latest update as explained here: bit.ly/2VHISDq to improve the overall performance of the TV and to resolve the power on issue.

Due to Youview’s terms of service, the recording function is not available when Youview is enabled. You can find more information here: http://bit.ly/2t6Zh8Y.

It is also recommended to ensure that the speaker settings are set to audio system when an external sound output device is connected.

If you are still facing any issue or if you need any further help, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Great Picture Quality

139 cm (55") 21/04/2020 by Davegrv23

Amazing TV! Highly recommend. Only -ve is the operating system which is little annoying but not too much of an issue. Specially if you plug your 1tb hard drive, TV takes ages to read the drive and display all the content. However a 32gb USB stick is quick to read. I guess LG scores highly in this area. Other than that I am highly impressed with picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great except

123 cm (49'') 21/04/2020 by Scottish Alf

Everything about this tv is great except you can’t disable you view I have a sky box input only And when I try to install itv hub You view wants to tune tv so I can’t use itv hub

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV, but crashes

139 cm (55") 20/04/2020 by Poohmonstet

Love the tv awesome picture, but it has a habit of crashing...Android I expect is the issue. I can live with it for now, but if it carries on, I'll replace.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
23/04/2020

Hi Poohmonstet,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with the operating system of the TV. We recommend clearing the cached data to refresh the TV by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data then pressing and holding the Power button for 5 seconds. We also recommend making sure the TV is updated to the latest software version available here: https://bit.ly/3eJ85EX
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

superb picture!

139 cm (55") 20/04/2020 by davcom

This TV is total quality, google TV is excellent. best picture I have ever seen on a TV end everything works very fast, no lag from the moment its switched on. can't fault it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Picture

139 cm (55") 20/04/2020

Bought this TV almost a month ago after many months of reviewing other similar TVs at this level and waiting for the right price to come along. This is a great UHD 4K TV, HDR images are stunning, detailed contrasts, natural colours, very good blacks - all making a very detailed and vibrant picture. It takes me a few weeks to get the picture calibrated to my taste in picture. Used no calibration tools, just my own eye taste. For best results, turn off all picture enhancements and adjust the clear motion to your desired taste. I have always been a Sony fan so their build quality is always good, although in previous years I have found they lost their way a bit with features and picture, but they have bounced back. The TV has Android TV as the smart platform. Feature rich but can feel strained in terms of processing. I dont tend to use it as my TV source is fed from my AV receiver and SkyQ. UHD with HDR content is amazing, Dolby Vision is my preference but to be honest, there is little in it between DV and HDR. The TV does an excellent job up scaling HD content, very sharp and good colour. Overall, this is a fantastic TV and with the Full Array display, the blacks and contrasts are more than impressive. I see the benefits of OLED but until the tech offers the same vibrancy of LED and manufacturers solve burn in or offer their own no quibble guarantee and repair / replace screens with burn in, I recommend people avoid OLED - too much investment on an inherited defect the manufacturer is not willing to cover.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best full array local dimming for the price.

139 cm (55") 18/04/2020 by Queue Monkey

I went by the reviews and am pleased with my purchase. I do not trust claims that OLED tv's can avoid 'burn in' and LED tv's are better for bright rooms. Like all google sofware this android TV can have it's nuances but at least it has chromecast built in. You can perform basic control of the tv using voice control on a smart speaker. You also use the smart speaker to control youtube and spotify without needing the tv remote. The 'standard' picture setting is a bit harsh so I use the 'custom' setting with brightness turned down and Auto Local Diming to high as recommended by a trusted reviewer. The picture quality is superb as is the build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

NOTHING SPECIAL

139 cm (55") 18/04/2020 by Jarek5555555

IR BLASTER NOT WORKING ...???? TV. FOR 1100 EURO

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Hard to find better at this price

139 cm (55") 18/04/2020 by Digitaldigger

This is my second tv of this model (toddler smashed the first). Had the option to choose a different tv. I did look as it was 8 months after original purchase. Decided to get the same one again as I was happy with it. Built in android can be a little slow but I use a shield tv so it doesnt really matter to me. Picture is awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reliable, solid TV. Works really well. Quality.

139 cm (55") 17/04/2020 by toli

Bought this 8 months a go and very happy with it. Bought it because of previous samsun tv screen burned just like that out of no where. This tv is working very well despite a heavy use on it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ms

139 cm (55") 16/04/2020 by Waiwaimanlum

I've bought this a month a go and I am happy with most things but when it comes to moving the cursor in adding new programs, it takes for ever to move a cm. Other than adding new pages I am very pleased with sound and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Amazing TV, brilliant picture and natural colours

139 cm (55") 15/04/2020 by MattR

I spent a huge amount of time researching and in the end narrowed my choice to this or the Q70 from Samsung. For me the colours were far more natural on this and the image was far smoother on fast moving content. These are the two things which swung it for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice TV

164 cm (65") 15/04/2020 by lee45

bought this TV as it was it had some good reviews.was going to buy a sumsung (for the first time)but saw this with 10% off in john lewis and an offer from Sony to supply a code for free headphones. we've always had sony tvs but our last one only lasted four years and my wife cant find the reciept and did not register it so hence the new TV. I'll just get this out of the way by saying the code for free sony headphones worth £99 did not work, so no free headphones so thanks Sony! having said all that the picture is good and so audio is good. Its not wall mounted yet so cant comment on audio when wall mounted but its fine for us. No problems connecting to internet or with any apps netflix ,amazon and youtube all working. all in all happy with TV , just dissapointed didnt get my headphones( no customer services at John lewis)as we bought as corona lockdown just started otherwise would have taken issue up with them. I just hope this one last longer than four years or this really will be the last Sony Tv I get!.Cheers

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
23/04/2020

Hi Lee45,

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with the headphones offer. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Amazing screen, great Android features, caveats.

123 cm (49'') 14/04/2020 by Eddie Plum

The set was well packaged and came with clear setup instructions. The stand was easy to assemble, and the TV easy to set up, with one exception which I'll come to later. Anyone familiar with Android will fly through the setup process and be logged into their Google account in no time. I found it easy to install my favourite apps from the Play store, such as VLC and Kodi. The baked-in Google assistant is also a welcome addition so you don't have to type your search terms anywhere; you just speak into the remote. If you're thinking of buying this TV, you've probably read all the professional reviews (I did) so I won't go over what they've already said. The panel is crystal clear and adjustable to your room. The local dimming helps with contrast, but you can sometimes spot it in action (usually when the credits roll) which can be a bit distracting. The upscaling is seamless and makes your old HD content really pop again, but don't go too nuts with the bit rate of your digital content. I found the inbuilt media player struggles to keep up with very high bit rates, causing it to pause the video or drop the audio. VLC fares better, but you lose upscaling and surround (mine's hooked up to an old Sony 5.1 system via SPDIF optical cable). The inbuilt player also has limited codec support, so I've found a lot of my local network content won't play at all - VLC to the rescue again. The other inbuilt apps work very well. I get a lot of use out of YouTube and I was pleasantly surprised to be able to get Radio Le Mans via TuneIn Radio. Unfortunately, I have been unable to test any of the catch up services. This is because - maddeningly - trying to launch any of the catch up apps (e.g. All4, ITV Player, etc.) first insists on setting up YouView, the EPG. Not having a TV License (and therefore not having an aerial) means YouView setup fails and I am unable to use any of the catch up services, which was one of the main reasons I bought a smart TV, so just be aware of that one! Lastly, the set comes with an iR blaster for remotely controlling things like set top boxes or home theatre systems. It's basically an iR LED on the end of a cable so you can place it in front of the device(s) you want to be able to control from the TV. Unfortunately, I have been unable to get it set up to work with my (admittedly relatively old) Sony 5.1 system, which is disappointing. The TV has recently (finally) upgraded to Android 8, which has brought performance improvements and a fresher, more intuitive interface.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony always delivers

139 cm (55") 14/04/2020 by Pepsi73

I bought this in 2019 and its a fantastic TV, great picture and sound quality especially in 4k, linked to my Google account with ease and very handy, lots of apps built in, built in chromecast which is brilliant. Alsonlinked to my Sony phone. I always buy Sony products as I've never had any issues. I have a 55inch 3d Sony TV which is 8 years old and still like new. Highly recommended as are Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

123 cm (49'') 13/04/2020 by MAKKAN

I bought this over six months ago good picture quality sound quality very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
15/04/2020

Hi Makkan,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to know that you like the picture quality and we hope we can help you to improve the sound quality by adjusting the sound settings to suit your preference by pressing on Home - Settings - Sound. If this does not resolve the issue, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Good build quality and picture

123 cm (49'') 12/04/2020 by Hondacop

Looks good with slim bezel, good quality build and relatively easy to operate. Takes some time to get accustomed to the smart tv functions with it being android

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic TV

139 cm (55") 12/04/2020 by Grellman

Bought this from John Lewis and I must say I'm impressed. Fabulous picture and Android TV works like a dream. Picture quality is stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good picture quality

139 cm (55") 11/04/2020 by Luknn

After the last update is even better smooth and fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent t.v top quality product

139 cm (55") 11/04/2020 by Frz87

Have owned the tv for 4 weeks excellent product picture quality brilliant. Would highly recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture

139 cm (55") 07/04/2020 by MikeExxx

Bought this a few weeks ago from John Lewis it is easy to set up just follow the onscreen guide. It does try to enroll you into Android apps etc but we have a sky Q box so most that we want ( Netflix, utube and Spotify ) would be duplicates. Very pleased with the picture but have not gone beyond the standard settings yet. nothing really to complain about I recommend this product. One Small point when it arrives in a big box put it the right way up the opening instructions are just inside at the top. They tell you to remove the four plastic inserts at the bottom to unlock the telly inside. I just went for it then read the instructions DON'T

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

As usual this Sony has more features than the last

139 cm (55") 07/04/2020 by AudiMan1

Again a very good set with many features from the previous Sony Televisions we have had. It was easy to install the set up mirrored our out going one. The one line added information set when you register is useful and a good reference emails to keep handy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture, Great Sound, Easy to connect

XF9005 Series 07/04/2020 by Danny

Great Picture, Great Sound, Easy to connect

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 06/04/2020 by Jackoman66

Very happy with TV and like the voice control.Ecleeny quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Picture great but slow clunky OS, frustrating

139 cm (55") 06/04/2020 by HeavyRightFoot

Had to downsize a year ago for a 65” Panasonic 4k UHD so wanted a similar spec but smaller. The Sony picture is great but the operating system is terrible! Slow, clunky, unresponsive, just frustrating as anything to use. I will defiantly be looking at other options as soon as I can afford to do so.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
08/04/2020

Hi HeavyRightFoot,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear this. We recommend clearing the cached data to refresh the TV by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data then pressing and holding the Power button for 5 seconds. We also recommend making sure the TV is updated to the latest software version available here: https://bit.ly/2RlB4oa
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great tv

139 cm (55") 05/04/2020 by Abbey361

Sony replaced my old tv under warrant with this new updated version...very pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and quality

164 cm (65") 05/04/2020 by Duffelony

Iv had this tv since Black Friday 19 and can say it has been an excellent buy, I upgraded from a 55” Sony as Iv had precious experience with LG and Samsung and although they have improved I seem to be somewhat Sony loyal (tv, sound bar, PS4) only issues I’ve come across are it has crashed once or twice and the tv remote batteries ran out awfully quickly but that was easily fixed. Would definitely recommend especially for the price tag and picture quality combined

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for Gaming and movies

139 cm (55") 04/04/2020 by Markf80

Bought this over a year ago and I still love it the android OS can take a bit of getting used too but the picture is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good tv but disappointing Dolby Vision

123 cm (49'') 03/04/2020 by insei

I bought this tv to upgrade from my old Sony fullHD one and the jump in quality was evident. The android system is much faster than the old OS too and the image is crisp and bright. It handles well old content too. Normal HDR in movies and games is quite good but Dolby Vision in apps like Netflix and Disney Plus is disappointing, there is no option to disable it and it makes the image very dim and for dark movies it makes them difficult to watch (I have not tested it with an external source) One of my points from buying this tv was getting DV support so that was a big miss for me. I could recommend this tv but only if DV is not a must.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support
05/04/2020

Hi Insei

Thank you for your review
We’re sorry to hear this. We recommend adjusting the picture settings as shown here: https://bit.ly/3aL6mwu
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great TV

164 cm (65") 01/04/2020 by DannyF Gosport

I bought this TV a couple of weeks ago and I’m really impressed with it - Great Picture- Easy to use - Great Sound - Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 01/04/2020 by Deano659

Very happy with this TV picture is clear with lots of detail plus the sound output is not to bad either will be getting a sound bar shortly but can wait at the moment. The only thing I would say is that the catch up apps on the TV have to be watched when in youview mode which takes the recording function away from the TV i do have a PlayStation so I watch the catch up channels through there but it would good to use these on the TV instead when out of youview mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
03/04/2020

Hi Deano659,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback, and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony support team

0

Great all round telly

164 cm (65") 31/03/2020 by Chris binge

Definitely will buy Sony products from now on very happy with purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 31/03/2020 by Tricia31

We have owned this tv for about 4 weeks and we are really pleased with it. Everything we expected and more. Great picture loads of features and all easily accessible from one controller.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Remote problem

123 cm (49'') 30/03/2020 by Marg123

I bought this about a year ago, date on back is 09/2018. Remote control no longer works so TV is now useless. Seems to be a massive problem with Sony Android TV's. Wouldn't expect this from a Sony product, would certainly not buy again.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi Marg123,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. We recommend following the steps here: https://bit.ly/2UXPSdw in attempt to resolve the issue with your remote control. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Delighted

123 cm (49'') 30/03/2020 by fraser301

Great picture easy to use would highly recommend to everyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0