835

4.5 based on 835 customer reviews

582
149
41
34
29
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

839 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Outstanding TV

139 cm (55") 01/06/2020 by Benny Mc

Purchased my AG8 a few weeks ago and can not fault it. The sound is fantastic. The picture quality is incredible. I watch a lot of streaming services in 4k and play a lot of games and as soon as I loaded into either I could tell a good purchase had been made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

πολύ καλά τα android χαρακτηριστικά προχωρημένα

139 cm (55") 31/05/2020 by vga1402

...στους 4 μήνες που την έχω προσπαθώ να ανακαλύψω τις Android δυνατότητές της, είναι διαφορετικές από αυτές που είχα στο μυαλό μου... είναι ένα ιδιαίτερο προϊόν... πολύ καλά σχεδιασμένο όμως θέλει χρόνο και γνώσεις για να για να αξιοποιήσεις όλα της τα χαρακτηριστικά. Αν κάποιος θέλει την δουλέψει σαν μία κοινή TV δεν θα έχει κανένα απολύτως θέμα....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quality product

139 cm (55") 29/05/2020 by Daveyk64

Bought this tv as I was in the market for an Oled tv. Hasn’t let me down. Picture quality is excellent and the sound for the thickness of it is phenomenal. Bit of a shame Sony didn’t introduce the sub whoofer until the AG9 was released but I still don’t feel the need to invest in a sound bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Features not as expected but picture very good

139 cm (55") 29/05/2020 by Rich 77

I bought this 55" AG8 tv a month ago and find the picture even better than my old Sony Bravia 55W815 which I used to think was amazing.However it did take some time to adjust to my liking. I was however very disappointed with the Youview service as I expected it to provide a recording and playback facility which the Youview box my internet provider supplied. The picture quality also is not as good as the Freeview function which I now use. This also allows the use of recording programs to a USB memory stick provided it is well over 32Gb!! Overall I am very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Big mistake

139 cm (55") 28/05/2020 by DJ32

Loads of issues, already had one mother board replaced, still have issues.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Can’t Connect To Sky By Ethernet

164 cm (65") 28/05/2020 by Bon3

Great TV let down massively by one thing. There is an incompatibility between the TV and Sky broadband. The TV won’t connect to the network via Ethernet. It has to be wireless and that slows everything down in the house. I’m not an IT wizard and there is No Sony support to get around the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Brilliant tv

139 cm (55") 28/05/2020 by false_tooth

Great tv, brilliant features. Ignore the bad reviews on andriod TV once updated to 8.0 it works very well, quick and no issues. Easy to stream to even from a apple device. One thing to note, potentially your HDMI cables are too old to support dolby vision, check before getting too excited for your first 4k experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 27/05/2020 by Sazzy

I bought this tv 10 days ago very good service online and great delivery. So pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super picture

164 cm (65") 27/05/2020 by Cantconnectiphone

Love this tv ,apart from the fact seems impossible to link to my iPhone 11. I’ve repeatedly tried but the tv doesn’t recognise the phone. I also have a Sony stand alone speaker which connects with ease . Only the tech gods know and as your put on hold for over half an hour I just live with this issue!.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
01/06/2020

Hi Cantconnectiphone,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you are enjoying your TV’s picture.
You can use Wi-Fi direct as an alternative to connect your iPhone to the TV, you can find the instructions here https://bit.ly/3dmFggh

Sony support team

0

Fab TV with some great features

139 cm (55") 26/05/2020 by thetworegs

Only had it a few weeks but we are all chuffed to bits with it. Better than expected!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 26/05/2020 by Ashshaw04

Very easy to use easy to screen mirror from your phone very happy with the found and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

TV Broke after three months

139 cm (55") 25/05/2020 by LHM1578

I bought this TV in November and by January is started having problems turning on. You’d turn it on and the screen would stay blank/black for two minutes. As if warming up. Two minutes became ten, ten became thirty and eventually it stopped turning on at all. When we called up to have it fixed we were told it was a known issue with the ribbons inside. If it’s a known issue - call a recall! Very disappointing. Hopefully once fixed and returned to us it will improve. Other than that, the picture quality is incredible and the sound isn’t bad either. Knowing what I know now, I would still buy it again. Good range of ports at the rear. A solid purchase that should last ten years or more. Just a shame about this one glitch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality of the image

139 cm (55") 24/05/2020 by Djamel

Very happy with the quality of the image of this my new TV Great size TV and loads of new functions to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, superb picture

139 cm (55") 24/05/2020 by denjmay

I have had this a week now, wow, what a picture, definition superb especially on 4k , but when we have watched older stuff, it makes them look so different, deep blacks. Can't fault the sound yet, was going to buy a soundbar but I will wait a while. Still getting used to the remote, finding quick ways to navigate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mr

164 cm (65") 23/05/2020 by Shap

Excellent buy, definitely recommend to everyone...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Design

164 cm (65") 23/05/2020 by Horace356

I bought it a month ago and I am quite happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Disappointing

139 cm (55") 23/05/2020 by CJTBOY

We are very disappointed with this TV as we have been unable to get ITV HUB or More 4.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer Support
27/05/2020

Hi CJTBOY,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to learn that you are unable to get ITV HUB or More 4.
To get these services you need to enable YouView, you can find more information about the YouView functionality here: https://clc.to/AKU9xA. You can also follow these steps in the Help Guide here: https://clc.to/0giArA

Sony support team

0

Really good picture.

139 cm (55") 23/05/2020 by Al127

Good picture. Unfortunately had to contact seller as I could not get ITV Player or channel 4 player. I had to run through an update which seemed strange for a new TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
27/05/2020

Hi Al127,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you are enjoying your TV.
The software gets updated all the time, the latest version might have been released after your TV left the factory.

Sony support team

0

Having to return the Tv 28 May

139 cm (55") 22/05/2020 by dave2407

I bought this Tv 7 May, I am 72. Eventually got all set up. Thought it was ok. Would not record or get freeview only youview. Got help frpm John Lewis tech help. 1.5 hours resetting and checking everything. No good,software problem. Will not get freevoew or record onlt you view. Sky and DVD player fine. HDMI sockets fine. Just tv will only get youview. Which you cant record on USB. Replacement due 28 May. Not at all happy. To old to have this carry on. all take down and set up again,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

K9524X6GB/01

139 cm (55") 22/05/2020 by Audiofan45

Good looking TV it replaced my 58inch Panasonic that cost twice as much and the picture is appreciately better. The control looks a little downmarket conpared to the Panasonic controls (2) but it does everything needed including speach control. I have connected it to my Bose Lifestyle 535 Series 11 suround sound system which gives me a cinema/theatre/sport experience although the speaker build into the TV screen is also very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice TV but...

164 cm (65") 22/05/2020 by Larky

Bought this 2 weeks ago and I'm happy with it but the picture doesn't enhance Sky HD as much as I thought it would. And I'm v unhappy that we have a regular issue getting into Netflix, despite the fact that we have a fine internet connection. Not what I would have hoped for a £1300 TV

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony support
25/05/2020

Hi Larky

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that your having some issues with your TV. We recommend making sure the TV is updated to the latest software version available here: https://bit.ly/2AO4TrY, we also recommend setting the HDMI signal format to enhanced by following the steps here: https://bit.ly/3gdVYAm
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Good picture and sound

139 cm (55") 21/05/2020 by Twinkleten10

Bad mistake buying Sony. First set had to go back as it kept restarting or would not turn on KD55 AF8, replaced with the KD55-AG8 which now requires continually to be retuned as it loses channels when off. Replacement board had the wrong connections so could not be replaced.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
25/05/2020

Hi Twinkleten10


Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you are facing issues with the TV.

Although the TVs pass strict quality tests, due to the nature of electrical components, we cannot completely eliminate the possibility of a spontaneous failure. Sony provides a guarantee to protect users in such circumstances.

We recommend ensuring that the TV is running the latest update as explained here: bit.ly/2VHISDq to improve the overall performance of the TV and to resolve the tuning issue.

If you are still facing an issue or if you need any further assistance, you can contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Exceeded expectations. Brilliant

139 cm (55") 21/05/2020

I bought the AG8 55 online after doing research without being able to see a set in a store due to Covid-19. My wife was furious when she saw the size of the packaging on delivery. A few hours later, when she had calmed down I set it up. The set up process was ridiculously easy, it synced perfectly to my Google account and had my Google Play Music, YouTube etc all linked and ready to go. For the first programme, we watched one of the HD channels wildlife programmes. The entire family were open mouthed at the quality. It was a massive improvement over our old 720p Samsung HD TV. We could see every whisker on the Tigers, every drop of water in the waterfalls. I have always been suspicious that the TV quality wouldn't be good when you plug it in at home but... Wow.... Amazing. Netflix shows are all fantastic. We watched one film set in a jail and you could see the chipped paint on the cell doors going down the hall. It was remarkable. The sound has been well above what we expected too. We don't have a sound bar and I don't think we need one. We've watched concert films and it's like being in the audience. My wife loves it. A month on since buying and we are still delighted with the purchase. Films are an experience. We look forward to the evening and putting something on TV. Some films look worse now, e.g. The Departed, in which the sets look quite wooden, but the counter balance is you can see the actors expressions so much better. If anything, we wish we had bought the 65 inch. It's that good. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

More features than i can use

139 cm (55") 21/05/2020 by Digitalpictureman42

There a a lot of features i dont use but it has a great picture, standard speaker sound is not brilliant but would obviously corrected with decent sound bar. The instruction could me more comprehensive. Had trouble switch off if you hold the button on for mor than a few second it would switch off completely. Then you would have to do a full restart details not in help that i could find. Other wise a great purchase. I use it in conjunction panasonic pvr.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture quality and sound - limited apps

139 cm (55") 20/05/2020 by S1m0m

This TV gives great picture quality and sound without having to use a sound bar. Whilst it connects to the Android apps store directly and should have loads of apps (one of the reasons I bought it) in reality relatively few apps are actually supported. One of the the obvious omissions given the price range of the TV we is a video conferencing solution. So in summary excellent picture excellent sound good support for streaming but disappointed that more apps are not supported given the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support
23/05/2020

Hi S1m0m

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you’re enjoying your TV. The availability for certain applications depends on the versions released by the developers, if the app is supported by your TV, you'll be able to find it listed on the Google Play Store.

Sony Support team

0

Does everything

164 cm (65") 19/05/2020 by Bluie1959

HD is amazing nice slim tv,easy to set up has all the things you might need for a relaxing evening watching tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful picture

139 cm (55") 18/05/2020

Great features, beautiful pictures and sound is great for flat TV. Missing 5 stars because Google TV Video cannot plan my clips from SONY cam stored on home network smoothly. TV also occasionally refuse to turn on. Had to unplug and plug in again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
22/05/2020

Hi Jimmy,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you like the sound and picture quality of the TV and we would love to help you resolve the issues you are facing.

We recommend ensuring that the videos you trying to play has one the supported formats listed here: https://bit.ly/2Tw6b1h

To improve the overall performance of the TV and to resolve the power on issue, you can update the TV to the latest software version as explained here: bit.ly/2VHISDq

If you need any further assistance, or if you are still facing an issue, you can contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD

Sony Support Team

0

Great TV, but internet connection is poor.

139 cm (55") 18/05/2020

Picture quality and general functionality is amazing. Cannot fault that. However it suffers with a constant inability to get internet when connected to the router! So incredibly frustrating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi Timwfharris,

Thank you for your review.
In order to improve the performance with regards to network connectivity. We recommend clearing the cached data to refresh the TV by pressing Home - Settings - Storage & Reset - Internal Shared Storage - Cached data then pressing and holding the Power button for 5 seconds. We also recommend making sure the TV is updated to the latest software version available here: https://bit.ly/2yDHs3s
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

great tv

139 cm (55") 18/05/2020 by git1

its a great tv and no worries as it updates over the internet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just a beautiful addition to our home

164 cm (65") 18/05/2020 by Varunchau

I bought this 4 months back and I think it’s my Best Buy in a long time I m glad I chose Sony over other brands

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Needs better software for the incredible screen

164 cm (65") 17/05/2020 by Caoimhin

I love Sony Tv’s which makes this even harder to write. Watch The Walking Dead and notice the artifacting in darker scenes - goes from HD to sub 720p. Not the only show to suffer this. Airplay - why only have airplay support on the AG9? It’s networking software and sure as anything the AG8 processor could handle it The ‘google’ voice command button on the remote - how slow is the TV is responding to a press? Seems to take at least 5 seconds to wake up Frankly the first two are awful in 2020 (yes it’s a 2919 model and they sure as anything we’re designing it back in 2017) I’ve never known Sony drop the ball on picture rendering before so I find it astonishing And not being able to cast from my device to the TV? Hope they can roll out that support to the AG8 - it’s not exactly a cheap bit of kit. That all said and done, image is beautiful. Colours pour out of the screen soaking you in their majesty. Sound is a delight. Tv is thin - really thin. Hard wall mounting it - it’s a two person job. Oh and Android works great. Can see my shows in my google library and stream them easily. And hello Disney+ With your 4K loveliness. So... close. A software update would take this from 3 to 5. What an odd world we live in today!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Customer support
21/05/2020

Hi Caoimhin

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn you're facing issues with the performance of the TV and recommend making sure the headphones
are running the latest firmware version available using this link: https://bit.ly/2ZkBu30

We can confirm that Aiplay 2 isn't supported by the TV at the time of writing this replay and recommend keeping
an eye on the Support by Sony app to be notified or related updates.

If the issue remains, you can contact us here: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Great quality

164 cm (65") 17/05/2020

Definitely the main meaning of this product to us is defined in quality, the sound, image, software and finishing. The set of all this points working together make a so unique tv experience. We opted for 55” size and we were really in doubt if it was a good size to our living room or maybe 65” would be better, but definitely 55” got perfect. The widescreen is so fabulous and is fitted so well on the tv wall, the thin edges brings a sensation like the tv is floating, and I couldn’t finish this review without mentioning the led on the bottom of the screen, it gives a so modern detail and certainly change the experience, like the remoto with the voice control. Being really honest we just fell in love with this new tv, that’s it! Thank you Sony for make our new house a even more happy and unique experience!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely picture

164 cm (65") 16/05/2020 by Abigail22

Just received this TV and getting used to it. Setting up was a challenge, and we had to lug it upstairs to get it connected to WiFi!! Still, all is well, now..so may options to choose from..I think that you can connect your other devices too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super sound and stunning picture

139 cm (55") 15/05/2020 by Roy22

Just purchased this great tv. Chose it about instead of similar makes because sound was considered superior. So far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very very good

164 cm (65") 15/05/2020 by bullockt223

I got the tv two weeks a go I have always had sony and this is the best one I have had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best television

139 cm (55") 14/05/2020 by Mannering

We have had our Sony for a few months now and it is the best television we’ve ever owned. Picture is superb whether for tv, films or gaming. Integral sound means no sound bar was required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, good sound, poor documentation

139 cm (55") 14/05/2020 by Mikey1959

We have had this new TV for a couple of weeks now and are very happy with the quality of the picture and sound. However setting it up was a real challenge! being a "connected" TV it includes wifi and bluetooth connectivity and a number of associated services. All great, I'm sure, but if like me you are not knowledgeable about such things setting the TV up becomes a real challenge. I thought I would get some assistance from the documentation supplied with the TV.... WRONG! There is a substantial reference guide (more than 200 pages long) but when I look to it for help I fund only 15 of those pages are in English and they cover unpacking the TV, use of the remote control, the various connections available, how to screw it to a wall and the technical specification. NOTHING about the long and complex process to set it up for first use. I checked the on-line documentation and all that is offered is the same reference guide. So if you're confident with these things get this TV, it's great. If not then get the TV anyway, just pay the store to install and set it up for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Broken within 3 weeks

139 cm (55") 14/05/2020 by Smurfy

Took delivery of this tv on 14th April and by 4th may it had stopped working completely. I reported the issue on 4th May, it is now 14th may and I'm still awaiting replacement/repair. TV is currently €1300 worth of useless monitor

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi Smurfy,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that your TV stopped working.

Although the TVs pass strict quality tests, due to the nature of electrical components, we cannot completely eliminate the possibility of a spontaneous failure. Sony provides a guarantee to protect users in such circumstances.

Also, due to the current situation caused by COVID-19, there may be a slight delay due to the closure of some of our service centres.

If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Incredible Picture

164 cm (65") 14/05/2020 by DJS777

I have this TV for a month now and I love it. I mostly watch Blu-Rays via a 4K player and Netflix. For both the picture is incredible. I use a B&W Formation surround system so cannot comment on the sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I bought this product and went faulty in 5 weeks

139 cm (55") 14/05/2020 by AndreaJF

Product is poor went faulty within 5 weeks, you will not replace and have insisted on fixing. 2 weeks later tv is still not working, we have no tv and are unable to go out at a time we we are isolated. Disgusting service from Sony

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

3 TV’s and still problems

139 cm (55") 14/05/2020 by Evolectric

Unfortunately we’ve gone through 3 different AG8 tvs all with the same fault turning off randomly and flashing red lights on the standby light requiring unplugging and turning back on. I’ve had to pay an additional £500 to upgrade to the AG9. My suppliers been helpful but nothing constructive or help from Sony yet... problems over 6 month period.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi Evolectric,

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with powering on. Although our products pass strict quality tests, due to the nature of electrical components, we cannot completely eliminate the possibility of spontaneous failure. Sony provides a guarantee to protect users in such circumstances. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Excellent buy

164 cm (65") 14/05/2020 by Sue58

Having bought this just before lockdown we are extremely pleased we did as our old tv was beginning to show lines across the screen. Lots of features and excellent picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

features

139 cm (55") 13/05/2020 by John at Barkham

superb sound and picture quality, and excellent user interface and features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round tv

139 cm (55") 13/05/2020 by Dantheman13

Bought this as a birthday treat to myself. Really big screen but after a week seems to fit nicely where previous TV was. Sound very good no soundbar needed. Interacts very well with other non Sony components dvd surround etc.picture exceptional and can be adjusted infinately to suit if required. Easy to instantly access apps Netflix you tube etc Remote has plenty of functions and straight forward to use with voice control . Paid decent price on sale at Currys reduced £600 free from 2019 price. Was torn between this and LG but the stand on LG was very long

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent. Nice on the eye.

139 cm (55") 13/05/2020 by Pacman123

Bought this a couple of weeks ago after reading reviews of other makes as well. It was a great choice. The picture and sound are perfect and it is so user friendly. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgrade of TV

139 cm (55") 13/05/2020 by Dennis865

Purchased to upgrade the quality of TV. Delighted with the improved picture and sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Picture superb.

139 cm (55") 13/05/2020 by Mich01

I bought this TV a month ago and I am so pleased with it. The picture quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful screen but issues with Android TV

164 cm (65") 13/05/2020 by spwilliams13

The picture is the best on any TV I've experienced. It is stunning in 4k but does an extremely good job of up-scaling HD and indeed SD. The blacks and contrast are stunning. The TV however is slightly underpowered and is slow to move between tiles on the home page. I've enabled developer mode and turned off animations which has made the world of difference but strikes me as an odd thing to have to on a TV to make it work smoothly straight out of the box. The more frustrating aspect has been the issue of constant re-booting, it can take 5 minutes (no joke) to turn the TV on as the operating system keeps on starting from scratch instead of waking from standby. It seems if you are using a device such as a sonos beam attached via HDMI it causes a crash every time you turn it off for a length of time. I've resolved the issue by following advice on some forums and disabling a number of network features. If you read the forums there is a considerable amount of disgruntled customers with little support from Sony other than suggesting a full factory reset (Which wipes all your settings). So in summary a beautiful set but flawed due to an under-powered processor and software updates that crash the TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Customer support
18/05/2020


Hi spwilliams13

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn of the issues you're facing with your TV and would like to offer our help as our team
is capable of investigating the problem to find a solution. You can contact us here: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Great TV with poor navigation

139 cm (55") 12/05/2020 by sonytwix

I have been a Sony Bravia customer since 2004, and I have always been impressed with the build quality and picture/sound quality of Sony TVs. I was looking for a TV which would not require additional soundbars or other audio equipment and the AG8 comes with an advanced built in speaker system which is more than powerful enough for our front room. The picture quality is great, except when watching certain apps, e.g. for example the picture quality on BBC iPlayer is much worse than on Netflix. The picture settings are quite complicated to adjust. There is no Now TV app available (or at least I have not been able to find it), which means we have to turn on the Playstation which does offer a Now TV app. Overall happy with the purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi Sonytwix,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you like the picture and sound quality of the TV and we would love to help you to enhance the overall watching experience.

We recommend adjusting the picture settings to suit your preference as explained here: https://bit.ly/2ExAsGA .

You may also find some tips and tricks in our definitive guide for the perfect picture settings here: https://bit.ly/3aW30Gf.


If you are still facing an issue with the picture quality or if you need any further help, you can contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/3bH7O2v.

Sony Support Team

0

No satellite and Freeview together.

139 cm (55") 12/05/2020 by Baldy67

ITV Player only available through Freeview. Using Freeview or ITV Player wipes out Satellite tuning. Built in satellite tuner only gives program info when you select the channel and then it is only now and next on program guide. Sony command higher prices but don't give better experience. NOT GOOD ENOUGH TO PAY THE EXTRA FOR!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi Baldy67,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with YouView. You can find more information about the different features of YouView and Sony modes here: http://bit.ly/2uFg1ou
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 12/05/2020 by Oldpeeler361

bought within last week and am extremely happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Purchase

139 cm (55") 11/05/2020 by regnig

So pleased with this telly the picture quality is by far the best i have ever seen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good looking, good picture

139 cm (55") 11/05/2020 by Whytheneed

Purchased online having previously reviewed in store alongside other brands. TV came very well packaged and was easy to set up. Picture and controls excellent - very pleased with this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

139 cm (55") 11/05/2020 by Egorkaia

Very good tv. Colors, the sound is fine. Thank you for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality but not perfect

164 cm (65") 11/05/2020 by IK13

This is my first OLED which I purchased couple of weeks ago. Great motion handling & up-scaling. Excellent contrast thanks to deep blacks. Great sound as well at least in my case I don't need an extra sound bar. Now, discussing some negative points. I wish it were a bit brighter during daytime viewing especially when you are viewing HDR content. Also, the TV processing is slow. This 65 inch TV has replaced my 5 years old 55 inch Sony Android TV & it's a similar performance when it comes to Android TV. (It's running Android 8.) Even with current discounts it's still an expensive product for what you are getting out of it. In short, excellent for nighttime viewing or light controlled room but it struggles a bit in a bright room to my taste. Overall satisfied with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
15/05/2020

Hi IK13,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you like the TV and we would love to help you with the slow performance issue.

We will pass your feedback about the brightness for future development.

We recommend ensuring that the TV is running the latest update as explained here: bit.ly/2VHISDq to improve the overall performance of the TV.


Also, you can clear the cache of the TV by pressing on Home - Settings - Storage and reset - Internal storage - Clear cached data.

If the issue is not resolved, you can contact us using the details here : https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD


Sony Support Team

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 11/05/2020 by Gc86

Had this for 6 months now. Picture quality is suberb. Sound is pretty good from the TV itself, although still worth having a seperate sound system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

After a lot of homework I decided to buy the AG8

139 cm (55") 09/05/2020 by Happy boy

I am not disappointed with the picture quality of this product it is truly realistic I have used it on digital TV and on the web and have not been disappointed with the colourI am not disappointed with the picture quality of this product it is truly realistic. I have used it on digital TV and on the web and have not been disappointed with the quality of picture depth, contrast ,brightness are truly astounding. sound quality is exceedingly good for a flatscreen TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible!!!! Absolutely awesome!!!!!!

164 cm (65") 09/05/2020 by Craziejae

I purchased this in December 2019, and setup just in time for christmas!! This tv replaced my old 55",sony kdl55w905 which I retired to my bedroom! The 65"AG8 is absolutely amazing, the picture quality is flawless! I currently have this wall mounted and connected to the sony HT-ZF9 with the SA-Z9R rear wireless speakers, all I can say is wow!!! I also have connected a Ps4 Pro, sky hd, and a blue ray player. I can honestly say that movie nights are now in a whole other dimension!!!! The sound and picture quality is superior when watching blueray movies, also the gaming experience is beyond Words!!! The colour and fluidity of how this tv carries the images is absolutely spectacular, i can honestly say after watching blue planet on it that I was truely stunned with how amazing the picture quality is on this tv. Also this has the new android operating system, which is so easy to navigate around and has netflix and amazon prime pre installed. Spend the money it is well worth it you wont regret it, It well change your world and how you see it!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound.

164 cm (65") 09/05/2020 by Dariusz Waterford

I bought this tv 3 weeks ago and in my opinion need nothing more, meet my expectations. Only one thing should be improved... a higher tv stand to make some room for soundbar. Otherwise tv is perfect choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Why the fixed tilt back ?

139 cm (55") 09/05/2020 by Wickedwoods

Great picture (although not very bright) Thin average sound. Unadjustable Tabletop stand that’s been designed for a very low tv tables where you would be looking downwards towards the screen hence the fixed tilt back angle so the screen faces upwards towards the viewer. This is an unacceptable design for normal height tv tables where the screen should be adjustable to stand perfectly upright facing the viewer.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Android

139 cm (55") 09/05/2020 by Hamid Karim

I bought this SONY AG8 OLED month ago and family quite happy on my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound quality

139 cm (55") 08/05/2020 by AmberKJ

Best TV I have ever owned. The sound and picture quality are both sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

164 cm (65") 07/05/2020 by P700DEE

Great picture and sound. Liked that no soundbar is needed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

139 cm (55") 07/05/2020 by Clem442

Very happy. Good colour range and sharp on hd/4K. Very good for games also.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ITV Hub, All4, etc,

139 cm (55") 06/05/2020 by simmo23

excellent picture and sound let down by difficulties setting up to receive ITV Hub, All4 and Disney. As soon as I resolved this issue an automatic software update remove ALL catch up channels and required a factory reset.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi Simmo23,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you are facing issues while using the apps.

We need more information about the issue you are facing with the catchup apps so that we can help; therefore, we recommend contacting us using the details here: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Fantastic TV

139 cm (55") 05/05/2020 by Gary_2020

I bought my previous Sony Bravia 40" 1080p about 8+ years ago and it's still going strong. However, it was time to upgrade to A smart OLED and OMG - what a difference! The picure and sound quality are both superb. I have to admit that I had to wait for Costco to have an offer on before i could afford it but it's well worth the money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great television

139 cm (55") 04/05/2020 by john 1953

Great picture, love the clear surface sound. Looked at other makes and models but decided to go with this television. Previous Sony purchased 11 years ago still works fine, only changed for bigger screen and what a difference.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and colour

139 cm (55") 02/05/2020 by Fletch12

Had the tv about three months and would recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Bravia speaks for itself.

139 cm (55") 01/05/2020 by Cookee

So pleased with quality of picture and sound backed by Sony technology

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don’t bother - what they don’t tell you

139 cm (55") 01/05/2020 by Michelle N

Don’t waste your hard earned cash on this. What Sony and retailers fail to tell you is that they have fallen out with Oneview who refuse now to support any software updates so from the moment we plugged our tv in we have had nothing but issues with it as we can’t watch the free tv package installed as it is unsupported so many of the features like HD channels are inaccessible. We’ve had our aerial engineer out 4 times thinking it was an issue with the new aerial and its not, it’s the fact that Sony and Oneview are no longer in business so unsupported software with no updates as an option! So to be clear functionality affected by unsupported software in the TV

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer support
06/05/2020

Hi Michelle

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn you're having issues with the TV.

Although Oneview isn't one of our partners, the service associated with your TV with a close name to Oneview is Youview,

We can confirm that our partnership with Youview continues and the service is available on our Android TVs.

If you're still facing issues, don't hesitate to get help by contacting us: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Dreadful. Returned the TV for refund.

139 cm (55") 29/04/2020 by DocD

Multiple fundamental faults. Channel change faulty. Picture poor particularly with quick movement and close up images (newsreaders for example). Catch-up apps faulty.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Customer support
06/05/2020

Hi DocD,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to learn of the issues you experienced while using the TV and would have loved to help you find a solution. We can be reached using the following details for assistance with any technical issues that may be encountered: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Impressive picture quality

164 cm (65") 28/04/2020 by Madjohnmacdeath

Combined with the Sony 4K UHD Bly-Ray player I purchased this gives store demonstration quality pictures. Personally I think the sound is also extremely impressive, I don’t have a need for a sound-bar

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0