93

4.7 based on 93 customer reviews

71
14
7
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

94 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Great Picture

139 cm (55") 25/09/2020 by Kiffer

I bought this because it was the best quality I could find at the price , I have had many Sony TVs this is by far the best. The voice instruction is very good and straightforward

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Picture Quality and Good Audio

139 cm (55") 24/09/2020 by bazzafilms

Was initially going to buy an LG OLED plus a soundbar but after seeing demo at John Lewis thought the extra price over the LG model was worth it as I think the audio is very good. At home I'm finding the picture quality superb. It's so good uprating HD that it's not worth paying for 4K broadcasts but can see how good they are as there are plenty of 4k and 8k demos on YouTube. Audio is very good though could still be improved by soundbar or mixing audio with an output to my hifi system. However that is not possible because if I connect the hifi via the optical outlet the TV speakers are disabled so I can't mix audio to bring in better low frequencies. That's the one annoying thing about the A8. Otherwise I'm very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Set-up is a cinch!

139 cm (55") 23/09/2020 by 44DrOops

It would remiss not to mention that I bought this TV only because of a screen failure on a Sony Bravia KD-55XD9305, which wasn't economic to repair. Having never had an issue either with Samsung or LG TVs, I paused before buying another Sony. Indeed, had it not been for its uncooperative feet (the irony of which will become apparent), I'd have gone for an LG. I've not had the A8 long, so I cannot vouch for its durability, but I was very impressed by technology working at its best. Thanks to having a Google account, the set-up process - always a fairly lengthy process previously - look less than 5 minutes. The acoustic panel is clever. While the sound quality doesn't match that one would get from surround-sound speakers or a decent soundbar, it's decent and facilitated some decluttering. Beware, though - there are A8 variants! Having carefully measured the feet in one national electronics outlet and then bought the TV online from another household name, I was aghast to find the feet on the one that arrived were different and didn't fit on my TV unit, so I had to buy a separate VESA stand anyway! Will I regret not buying the LG? Only time will tell!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Deep black, vivid picture.

139 cm (55") 22/09/2020 by Resh2005

First OLED TV I have bought. The picture quality is excellent. The picture is punchy even in a well lit room. Really impressed and pleased with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

164 cm (65") 21/09/2020 by Philippe47

Beautiful picture, with deep darks and excellent contrast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 21/09/2020 by Cypress19

I purchased this model a few weeks ago. I have been doing my research on line looking at different models on which I decided to purchase Sony for the 3rd time due to features it has always been easy to set up and the quality of the picture is very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best tv ive ever had

164 cm (65") 20/09/2020 by Drazzzzzzzzzil

Fantasitc picture and sound. Menu good but would be better if now tv app was on it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 20/09/2020 by Douglba

Bought this to replace a TV we have had for 10 years. Very easy to set up with great picture and sound. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Product

139 cm (55") 18/09/2020 by Agisilaos

I bought this product a month ago and i find it is a great value for money. Excellent design, awesome colours, vibrant sound and build to last structure. I would recommend this to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing tellyvision

164 cm (65") 18/09/2020 by Micky moo

Really happy with the TV , fantastic picture & sound ,and really easy to use .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing picture quality

139 cm (55") 18/09/2020 by ShahDiv

Was hesistant to purchase when compared to other TV on line which were cheaper. However when i looked at the quality of the picture in the Sony brand, i was much happier and got the TV. Worth the value fo rmoney.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic picture and sound

139 cm (55") 17/09/2020 by Tony4a

We have always had Sony Bravia TV sets but this time we decided to push the boat out and go for the 55in OLED model. Absolutely delighted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great looking TV, but With 1 major issue

139 cm (55") 17/09/2020 by Carpman79

Great looking TV picture is amazing. Loving Android TV. The major let down for me is the TV guide doesn't work on the satellite tuner in the UK and Sony has known this has been an issue but maintaining there is not an issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic

139 cm (55") 17/09/2020 by Kyas nan

We went looking for a TV and this was shown to us among others. The picture is amazing. Sound quality is important to us. This TV solves our difficult-in-hearing issues, without having to have volume too high. So glad we invested in this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best in its field.

139 cm (55") 16/09/2020 by The voice

Recently bought this tv. The picture is excellent and the sound is up there with the best of them. Some may require a sound bar for a more beefier feel. Easy to set up once I found where the settings button was, only because I’d got used to my old Sony remote. If I was being picky it would be nice to have a link to YouTube for a tutorial.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very happy

139 cm (55") 15/09/2020 by Andrew V

Sp pleased we chose this model. A bit more than I wanted to spend but well worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fab picture qualit

164 cm (65") 13/09/2020 by Catswhiskers4

Bought this a couple of weeks ago, so pleased I did. Sound comes from speakers in the screen no need for a sound bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice looking easy to use great pic

139 cm (55") 13/09/2020 by New tv buyer

Brought this to replace a 14 year old tv, so still finding lots of great new features. Easy to use, great pic & sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 11/09/2020 by Raffers1664

Picture is awesome, install and setup was a breeze. Got this tv to replace a LG which had burn in. So far it is proving to be a better all round product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 08/09/2020 by pkum

Bought the TV a couple of weeks ago and has been wonderful. Easy to set up , great pictures and good sound . Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional picture quality and amazing sound

139 cm (55") 08/09/2020 by PinkLipSync

This is a sleek piece of equipment with outstanding picture quality and great sound. You can view the screen from any angle and the picture is crytal clear. The sound comes through the screen and can be calibrated to the shape and direction of the room so you can hear perfectly when in front of the TV, but the neighbours won't be annoyed by it. Loads of HDMI and other ports. Easy to select and quick response to change from HDMI, TV or apps. More apps than other TV's I've had, although some apps are not available, such as Sky News, but you can get that via Youtube which is available. Perfect! A bit pricey, but love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A8

164 cm (65") 03/09/2020 by mjnacn

Had TV approx 3 weeks, only negative is Volume control is not very smooth with sound bar, we tried 2 other sound bars and they all glitch/lag. Otherwise TV is Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Customer support
06/09/2020

Hi mjnacn

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn you're facing issues with the performance of the TV and would like to recommend improving this by updating the software to the latest version available: https://bit.ly/2ZdqByX

In case the issue remains, don't hesitate to contact us: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support UK

0

Great picture quality, but some glaring omissions!

139 cm (55") 31/08/2020

I’ve had the Sony OLED kd55A8 for two weeks. The picture quality is great. Without a terrestrial feed I used a direct feed from a satellite dish for linear TV. Unfortunately the EPG TV guide doesn’t work. After an hour on the phone with the Sony help desk I was told the tv wasn’t ‘sat verified’ and therefore wouldn’t display the program guide. I was advised to use the ‘youview’ to see the TV guide feed from the internet, and was sent instructions to set this up. The support desk struggled to help as despite checking the software version of my tv they were clearly working from a different Menu structure to the one I was looking at. The ‘instructions’ for the youview app arrived by email but didn’t explain how to set the TV guide up. So after spending £1,800 on a tv I have great picture quality but can’t see what linear tv programs are on or what is scheduled. How hard can it be to have made the epg work from the in built sat receiver. Tvs we’re capable of this 20 years ago!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great TV shame about the defect

139 cm (55") 31/08/2020 by bistodog

I purchased this TV 10 days ago via John Lewis, after 8 days a vertical green line appeared and will not go away, spoke to John Lewis customer services and a replacement TV is being sent. I am confident this is a manufacturing defect and nothing else as I have great confidence in the Sony brand and was very happy with TV upto the defect appearing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible online TV menu

139 cm (55") 29/08/2020 by David E at Trinity

Extremely cumbersome menu system to search for different channels, and don’t expect Google assistant to help. It takes me to You Tube when I ask for BBC 1 or Channel 4 for example. I have to manually navigate the menu to play these channels. The menu for TV set up is clear and easy to use, but the menu for the Smart TV operation of the set is a disaster area.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great picture quality, improvement in sound slight

139 cm (55") 28/08/2020 by Darlofan

First large screen TV we've had, easy to assemble, picture quality is excellent but claims of better sound quality are marginal. Only major criticism is that at start of "Set up procedure" opportunity to sign in via Google is offered & calamitously I chose that option and it impacted my ability to send and receive eMails via gMail through MS Outlook, for a week & I had to phone MS to get it fixed. I hope Sony remove that option so other gMail users don't suffer a similar fate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture

139 cm (55") 27/08/2020 by Bennreg

Fantastic tv very easy to set up, brilliant picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Picture Good Sound

139 cm (55") 26/08/2020 by Hawkwind

Great picture particularly when paired with Blu-ray DVD , it does tend to show up how poor TV signals and programme quality can be so if you like watching old material it might not be for you. To get the best out of it you need a high quality signal. Sound quality is good and much better than our old flatscreen as the screen also doubles as a loudspeaker. We didn’t bother with a sound bar and at this price you probably shouldn’t need to. Easy to set up but tricky to get out of the box , you will need help! Remote is rather cheap looking but a minor niggle .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic picture

139 cm (55") 25/08/2020 by JE28

Just received this as an insurance replacement for an LG which I loved. This is had a much better picture and sound quality. Only thing better on the LG is it had the Apple TV app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best TV I've ever had

139 cm (55") 24/08/2020 by o Gunners o

Bought this TV and I'm going back for another in bedroom. The sleek design, the picture quality, the sound is nothing like on earth. The bass of 10 times better than soundbar subwoofer and sounds great. The picture is so clear and crisp. Yes it's expensive but worth every single penny. Go buy one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture & Sound But buggy as Hell!

164 cm (65") 22/08/2020 by JD HULL

Currently have the dilema about what to do with this TV. I am on my second set, first was replaced as turned itself off half a dozen times in the first week. On second set it has turned itself off a couple of times but have also also experienced no sound a couple of times now that has required turning the set off & on to get sound. Setup easy, google based with Android OS. Plugging in cables a bit of a pain when wall mounted. Majority of the time love it, upscaling very good as is the sound, and a lovely design.. But just have a niggling voice in the back of my head that I have paid over £2600 for this. Would welcome some correspondence from Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Customer Support
26/08/2020

Hi JD,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your TV. A new update was released to improve the general performance and responsiveness of the TV and is available here: https://bit.ly/3aVWaSN
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great viewing quality

139 cm (55") 22/08/2020 by Ausra

Great viewing quality, great sound , very satisfied with purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant!

139 cm (55") 21/08/2020 by baz4u

Bought to re my 40" 8 year old and Sony TV. What an improvement, the picture quality is stunning and the sound from an Sonos Beam connected via an ARC HDMI cable is super... 5 star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 20/08/2020 by Sjj200

Lovely TV like the colours and sound Easy to use and looks good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good product

164 cm (65") 20/08/2020 by David4862

I have not used all the features the one I have used very happy with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, great catch-up.

139 cm (55") 19/08/2020

I switched to Sony on the advise of my hi-fi dealer - the key feature being the Android system for providing access to all the catch up channels. Having said that the picture is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb picture quality

164 cm (65") 18/08/2020 by NigelMox

Very impressed with both standard and high definition pictures and quality of upscaling. A pity that motion settings are applied to both SDR and HDR rather than individually. I am not into gaming so lack of HDMI 2.1 is of no concern but could be for some.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

standard picture not great

164 cm (65") 17/08/2020 by victor 286

i bought this tv 1 week ago and although it is very impressive im disapointed with the picture when not in hd. my previous sony kd 55, 5 years ols has a far superior none hd picture

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Okay Television

139 cm (55") 16/08/2020 by Bad Gastein

I bought this to replace 1 7 year old 55in Sony LED. To be honest the design of the old one was better, this one looks bland and the Sony badge is virtually invisible. It synchronises with my existing Sony HT-X1 sound system and the sound of the TV itself is better than average, having 2 built in sub-woofers which worked well with the 4K Blu Ray of ‘Gemini Man’. The Sony Blu Ray player UBP-A700 also synchs with this TV. The OLED screen produces glossy blacks but hides the detail in the shades of black-this is the TV weak point - lack of picture features to adequately improve the picture. A lot of reviews praise the 3D - like image which works by contrasting objects by outlining them - I think it ruins the picture but most people will love it, apparently. Like all modern tv’s, this has no 3D capability so you will need to buy one of the excellent Sony projectors if you have a 3D collection, such as the 45ES or 270ES.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV, but

139 cm (55") 15/08/2020 by DHAUK

I bought this TV last week. Excellent picture a step up in quality from my Sony LED TV. However it is plauged with a black screen and Bravia logo intermittenlty appearing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony support
17/08/2020

Hi DHAUK,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing difficulties using the TV.
We recommend turning the screensaver off: https://bit.ly/3iPf68u. If the issue persists, don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support team

0

Aa

139 cm (55") 13/08/2020 by Smithy 567

Picture quality really good Easy instructions Well packed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brillant

139 cm (55") 13/08/2020 by Pauljohn

Just a brilliant product very happy with it so easy to set up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV very impressed

139 cm (55") 11/08/2020 by Siva71

Bought this TV 2 weeks ago and I am very impressed at the standard and quality of this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissappointed

139 cm (55") 11/08/2020 by Butcher5

After reading rave reviews purchased this model expecting to be enthralled with the experience but as the saying goes "Expectation is often better than realisation" it wasn't a patch on the LG OLED55 B7V it was meant to replace. Picture quality poor which is the main thing I want a tv for, the remote had a very cheap feel to it and when using browser on screen curser was not very responsive, juttery had to press remote a couple of times to get it to react. The fact that I exchanged this tv within a week says it all.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Met all expectations - as always from Sony

139 cm (55") 11/08/2020 by oze1970

Fantastic product, loads of information available online from the Sony website, usual great product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall good quality tv

164 cm (65") 11/08/2020 by Nik26

Very good picture quality, I love the sound front the tv. It’s a very thin screen but has a box in the back in the middle which is the part that is connected to the wall so there is still a 4inch gap between tv and the wall but this doesn’t bother my. My only negative is that the tv is relatively slow to respond to commands, my old tv was faster to scroll through which is a little annoying since my old Samsung was about 7 years older.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My Excellent Choice

164 cm (65") 09/08/2020 by donbird2000

I bought this TV a month ago and it’s an exceptional choice. The TV is remarkable and i won’t regret ever buying it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

55" Perfect size for us

139 cm (55") 08/08/2020 by Illy41

Always had a Sony TV and never had a problem, early days all round this being the best one we have purchased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous TV

139 cm (55") 08/08/2020 by Michael 84

The TV is straightforward to set up, even though I was unfamiliar with the Android system. Use and operation seem intuitive. The stands supplied were unsuited to the location intended – in front of a fireplace – so I purchased a separate stand with a single baseplate. It looks beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding!

139 cm (55") 06/08/2020 by Adamw52

Had an LG oled before upgrading to this and all I can say is I wish I got Sony from the start. The quality is something else. Faultless, very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great OLED TV but....

139 cm (55") 04/08/2020 by Bradster

I've always ( and will continue to ) bought sony TV' s because in my opinion they are the very best TV's on the market and the A8 is no exception.I bought the A8 recently and love it.The picture quality is stunning but you would expect that given that it uses the X1 ultimate chipset.The sound is also very good and there is a ton of options for the tweakers out there like myself who like to fine tune everything to get it looking and sounding as good as is humanly possible without getting it professionally calibrated. As the title says there is a BUT and for me and most likely a lot of other buyers and indeed potential buyers is the lack of HDMI 2.1 and Variable Refresh Rate.It seems like a crazy omission from Sony and I really do feel they have dropped the ball here considering the PS5 is literally a few months away from release.The lack of Variable Refresh Rate is also a glaring omission considering many people including myself buy high end TV's such as the A8 to enjoy gaming on them but the lack of the aforementioned attributes will cost Sony in sales believe me. I almost didn't buy the A8 because of the lack of HDMI 2.1 and VRR but as I'm not a total gaming geek it wasn't a deal breaker for me but for many more people it will be.I understand why Sony don't include 2.1 and VRR on their OLED's as they think these types of TV's are geared more for cinemaphiles who want the best possible picture quality and that's fine too but I still think they should have included HDMI 2.1 and Variable Refresh Rate but unfortunately for now that's not the case at least on their OLED's. To sum up if you're a serious gamer then this is not the tv for you,the 900H is the better option because it has HDMI 2.1 and will be getting Variable Refresh Rates at a later date through a software update but for everything else this TV is an absolute belter worthy of your hard earned.I for one am delighted with it and haven't regretted buying it despite the lack of HDMI 2.1 and Variable Refresh Rate.If you're in the market for the best OLED on the market then this is the TV for you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Magnificent picture quality

139 cm (55") 04/08/2020 by Kev62

Have now had for two weeks and can’t fault it. Amazing picture quality and sound. So pleased I upgraded from my previous Sony TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome TV !!

139 cm (55") 04/08/2020 by Paul Reini

Superb picture, style and features.... Very pleased and I can’t stop watching tv now !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb

139 cm (55") 03/08/2020 by Ducks

I bought this set a few weeks ago and its my first oled tv. I must say I am highly impressed with the stunning picture quality, the ease of use, the wide angle viewing. The sound is also sublime. Played a 1080p bluray and the way the tv upscaled it was amazing it looked almost like 4k content. I would highly recommend this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality but connectivity average

139 cm (55") 02/08/2020 by El Duderino

The TV's picture quality is not just OLED like awesome, it's better than that. The possessor seems to be doing an excellent job with up-scaling lower than 4K content and display fast moving scenes incredibly crisp. The built in speakers / actuators produce a nicely balanced sound so I do not even consider adding a sound bar at this point. The height adjustable feet are a nice feature if I change my mind and add a soundbar later. Peak brightness could be higher which is noticeable when watching in a bright room. Dark scenes are just that and combined with the screen's reflections it is not very entertaining so best to watch such content at night. The Android TV OS does not appear to have any lag which is great. Two of the three USB ports are only USB 2.0 which is outdated in 2020. The one USB 3.0 port is for recording which I don't intend to use. For some reason all external NTFS formatted HDDs I connected to the USB 2.0 ports (these were Western Digital My Book drives - 9 of which in total with capacities between 1TB and 8TB) are either not showing their content completely or not at all. Some web search revealed that other users have the same issue although drives up to 16TB should be supported. I tried a 1TB drive after reformatting it with exFAT file system and then it worked. This is unacceptable as there appears to be no apparent reason why this is happening. NTFS formatted flash drives do work without any such issue! The fact that Sony didn't bother adding the new HDMI 2.1 standard makes the TV less usable for hardcore gamers (PC or PS 5 etc.) from next year on wards when HDMI 2.1 becomes the new normal which is regrettable but isn't a big issue for me personally. I'd give it five stars if it had USB 3.0 (also known as USB 3.1 Gen 1), a USB-C port and HDMI 2.1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic Picture

139 cm (55") 01/08/2020 by Richard1st

Bought 3 weeks ago and so impressed with quality of the picture in particular, which was the main reason for purchasing. Having read lots of reviews this model replaced our 46 inch LCD which is now on our bedroom wall. I am sure we will adjust the picture to suit more in due course, as there are so many ways to ajust it but the factory settings are a great place to start!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

164 cm (65") 01/08/2020 by Filbus

I bought this a couple if weeks ago as an upgrade to my Panasonic 1080p TV. Compared several major brands before purchase and the Sony stood out for better sound quality. Since setting up at home I have been very impressed. However the quality of the manual is poor. No mention of how to adjust table top stand height.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb quality

139 cm (55") 01/08/2020 by Jmc1888

Got the new 55inch a8 and a 8500 soundbar both are absolutely crystal clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

139 cm (55") 01/08/2020 by Banister

I’ve always brought Sony tv’s, but this is by far the best one yet. The picture is amazing and the set up was so easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant tv

164 cm (65") 30/07/2020 by Sonyag8

Very happy with the quality of the picture . 65 inch awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

139 cm (55") 29/07/2020 by Uncalex

I'm very happy with the picture and sound on this TV. The OS is easy to use and not sluggish. I don't like the feet much - they are too far apart and protrude forwards and backwards too far when they are in the lowered positon. In the raised position, my soundbar doesn't fit underneath so I'll probably end up buying a VESA stand eventually. Also, given the price of this TV, the remote control doesn't feel premium enough, but is ok in all other respects. Finally, I would really like a 'framed art' app, like LG/Samsung have on their TVs but I can't find any equivalent in the App Store.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant TV - what took me so long!

139 cm (55") 28/07/2020 by Gilbo2020

I purchased this TV a couple of weeks ago and am blown away. Fantastic picture and sound; the screen resolution feels so real. Easy and engaging set up. Only downside is that the TV feet are wider than expected so I’ve had to order a new TV stand but it’s worth it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Picture

139 cm (55") 27/07/2020 by Timster

Love this TV clear crisp pictures, sound is very good. Only gripe is that I can’t get Apple TV...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A8

164 cm (65") 27/07/2020 by Brian311

Would have preferred A9 but did not think the price difference was justified. The A8 is a good TV however the remote and you view guide let it down. The sound is OK but needs a home cinema or sound bar added to stand out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony support
29/07/2020

Hi Brian311,

Thank you for your review.
We're happy that you're enjoying the TV.
Having read your feedback, we need to understand more about the issue, don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support team

0

Sony 65 AG8 TV

164 cm (65") 26/07/2020

Bought this 1 month ago, about to wall mount it after decorating. Appearance great, performance exceptional. Fabulous quality picture and screen sound is excellent. In short very pleased with my purchase and very happy to recommend. Bit of a bunfight buying it as this was one of the last few before the new uber expensive new model was launched with pretty much same spec. Supplied by Hughes TV online who did a great job. Very pleased overall.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony is great for tvs

139 cm (55") 25/07/2020 by Tony 1946

I bought this 4weeks ago delighted with it had a bit of trouble setting it up but with the assistance of family all was well. Not a Sony fault mine entirely being 74 and with no instruction booklet except for set up which I managed to do successfully but a booklet on the many different navigation procedures would be helpful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support
29/07/2020

Hi Tony,

Thank you for your review.
We're happy that you're enjoying the TV.
Regarding the Manual, you can find all of the available Manuals here: https://bit.ly/3hNGuD6.

Sony support team

0

Amazing Picture

139 cm (55") 22/07/2020 by redser819

This TV is really really good it's very responsive and the picture is awesome not sure about the sound on TV because I have a soundbar but I cant fault anything else

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Picture

164 cm (65") 20/07/2020 by Sugela

I bought this to replace a 9 year old Sony 46" HD tv. The improvement in picture quality is amazing. Fairly easy to tweak picture settings to suit. Handset controls are simple and respond well. No problems with using apps and having Netflix button and Amazon App (as well as others) make it a doddle to switch between them and my cable box. Sound is ok but I use with soundbar for a much better effect. Overall very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best OLED in the World

139 cm (55") 20/07/2020 by SamuraiJackson

Absolutely love my new TV! It’s totally immersive and beautiful. Amazing blacks, get sucked o to the screen. If you’re hesitating, don’t. Just get this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great tv

139 cm (55") 19/07/2020 by L1nda

I’ve just had this tv a couple off weeks think it’s brill

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic TV

139 cm (55") 19/07/2020 by IanP64

Great features and picture. And for an OLED TV, the Acoustic Surface technology delivers fantastic sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant picture

139 cm (55") 14/07/2020 by BMWGav

We've had this TV now for 2 weeks and we can't believe how much of a step up it is over our old (10 yrs) TV (also Sony). Very easy to set up and get viewing except for the setup diagram showing how to fit the stand. It does not make clear that there are 2 options for fitting and that they make a difference to the height above whatever you are standing the TV on and how far apart the individual feet are which could be important if you intend to use a soundbar. Other than that a great TV that blows us away when it comes to nature programmes on Blu-ray etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0