Article ID : SX520103 / Last Modified : 24/09/2020

Will I lose my data when I perform a software update?

    IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check Applicable Products and Categories for details.


     

    In the majority of cases, a software update does not remove any personal data from your Xperia device.

    We do recommend, however, that you back up photos, videos, and other personal content to a non-internal memory, such as an online backup option which saves your data to the cloud. Follow the steps below to back up your data:

    Android 10: 

    • Settings → System → Backup 

    Android 9: 

    • Settings → System → (Advanced) → Backup 

    Android 8.x: 

    • Settings → System → Backup

    Lower Android versions: 

    • Settings → Backup & reset