35

4.3 based on 35 customer reviews

20
9
3
1
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Soundbar. Intuitive to set up

HT-ZF9 05/05/2018 by Coconel

For a 12x10 foot room it is ideal. Very easy to set up. Sound quality is rich and the speakers carry a decent punch. The virtual Atmos is Okay but I really wasn't expecting better without dedicated speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dreadful Support

HT-ZF9 16/02/2019 by steve21

Was planning to buy Toshiba soundbar and TV, sales person in Currys pursuaded me over to Sony and the demo of piccture and sound was incredible. That being said Ive had problems with the soundbar, instructions are unclear and support is non existent. The TV channel navigation is utter garbage compared to a Toshiba as well.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

35 Customer Reviews

0

Consider alternatives

HT-ZF9 01/04/2019 by Natscam

I bought this in the advise of the team in the shop. I was buying a tv at the same time - tv is fantastic btw, but disappointed by the sound bar. Was advised not to go for a Bose or even Sonos but wished I had. Having listened again to both of their offerings again should have not be swayed

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Does what it says on the box.

HT-ZF9 22/02/2019 by DrewM

Bought this to compliment a new Sony Bravia UHD TV, and is much better sound than tv speakers. Only irritation is soundbar doesn’t always kick in when tv is switched on, it should, got to restart tv, and on rare occasion switch all off at mains, then back on, could be settings, but I think all set up correctly. Otherwise great sound, subwoofer can’t be used to full effect as vibrates the neighbours.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing sound

HT-ZF9 19/02/2019 by Acorn

We watch a lot of films. The sound bar has improved our experience a great deal and the separate sub is well worth the space it takes up!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So far so good but I haven’t use it long enough

HT-ZF9 18/02/2019 by Juani r

I’m sure I will give it 5 stars after I use it long enough but for the moment I haven’t so I give it 4 stars , so far I love it and the sound is really good and recommend to anyone to improve tv sound etc

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Dreadful Support

HT-ZF9 16/02/2019 by steve21

Was planning to buy Toshiba soundbar and TV, sales person in Currys pursuaded me over to Sony and the demo of piccture and sound was incredible. That being said Ive had problems with the soundbar, instructions are unclear and support is non existent. The TV channel navigation is utter garbage compared to a Toshiba as well.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Customer support
20/02/2019

Hi steve21

Thank you for your feedback.

We recommend that you contact us using the information in the following link in order to get help setting up the Sound bar: https://bit.ly/2oUrHPV

Sony support team

0

Great features and sound, mostly great

HT-ZF9 10/02/2019 by Musty6458

brought the bar over a month ago, love the sound and power. I work as an area promoter for Sony, so I have used the bar daily. i will say that the bar has an amazing range, but does lack in the upfiring part of Dolby Atmos.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very good features

HT-ZF9 07/02/2019 by Ray39

I wanted a good sound bar to match the television this was recommended by the shop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bad design and poorly made

HT-ZF9 23/01/2019 by Grumpy Moose

Bought this just over a week ago and have had nothing but problems with it. The HDMI sockets on the rear of the sound bar are located at a funny angle and once the cable is connected it is forced against itself and therefore does not make a good connection. Also the HDMI sockets seem to be loose which is also not conducive to forming a good connection. As a result the TV does not connect correctly with the soundbar and therefore does not work properly. Fiddling with the cable can achieve a connection but this is normally lost after a few minutes. This is not really good enough for something that has cost €700 I am a long term Sony user and this is the first time I have experienced a problem with new equipment. I have notified the store I have bought it from of the problem and they have asked for photos of the problem - this is not helpful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

Response From Customer Support
25/01/2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend trying a different HDMI cable. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Great sound!

HT-ZF9 21/01/2019 by NigelG

I bought this a few weeks ago, and, overall, have been extremely happy with its performance, and so would recommend it. There are a couple of niggles with it though, per: 1. The max volume level is 50, but that on the Sony TV it is HDMI linked with is 100. Hence a one step increment on the soundbar volume is shown as a two step increment on the TV. Why Sony hasn't better linked the two scales is beyond me. 2. The soundbar will go into standby if you pause the TV for a while. That is good. However, on unpausing the TV the soundbar remains off, so the sound you then get is from the in-built TV speakers. Some development work on this would be good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Generally good

HT-ZF9 13/01/2019 by Derek1960

I have had this product for two weeks. The sound is very good but the are a couple of issues. Firstly, the Alexa connectivity is poor as the soundbar does not have built in microphones unlike the Bose. Secondly, it seems to randomly lose connectivity to the subwoofer requiring a manual re-link

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic sound it’s like being at the cinema

HT-ZF9 14/12/2018 by adawes1012

Really happy with this product curry’s gave me a brilliant discount

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sleek and smart product

HT-ZF9 28/11/2018 by Baggers11

Bought this with a new TV. Delighted with sound and look of the bar - the remote control was faulty and did not work which was irritating but John Lewis , from whom we bought it, sent a replacement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound Bar

HT-ZF9 26/11/2018 by badcolin

Bought this a few weeks ago, did not set it up immediately as decorating the room. Now installed - fantastic sound - looks good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great soundbar

HT-ZF9 19/11/2018 by Redse7en

Bought this as an upgrade for another sony soundbar and what an upgrade. Sound quality is brill and it works with my sony bravia tv seamlessly . It can take a bit of messing to find the right settings but it's worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great stuff

HT-ZF9 17/11/2018 by drk9

I bought this sound bar together with a XF9005 49" Bravia TV. I am very satisfied with the bass output and clear sound. what I also like about this bar is the little display in the front that makes operating it way easier. its quite pricey for a sound bar but definitely worth it, if you like quality for your money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Set up difficulty

HT-ZF9 02/11/2018 by Rb18

I bought the sound bar together with a 49 inch TV and found the setup very difficult. Your illustrations are really inadequate.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

So So

HT-ZF9 22/10/2018 by Andycapp

Bought this on recommendation from sales assistant against the purchase of sonos system.Demo sounded fine but one thing I found since I got it home is how the sound fluctuates during programmes.Personally I wished I had forked out the extra for the sonos.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer support
25/10/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

To help to resolve this issue, could you make sure your soundbar is running the latest firmware version? You can use this link to help you check: http://clc.to/Jc-WMg.
Also, you can try to reset the system by following the instructions on page 78 of the user manual available on this link: http://clc.to/ZGh0Rw.
If the issue remains, you can get in contact with Sony support to get help with this issue using this link: http://clc.to/3LlDJA

Sony support team.

0

Great sound bar but expensive.

HT-ZF9 12/10/2018

I bought this to go with a 65in Sony FX9005 tv,it fits nicely between the feet of the tv.Sound is very good but I don't think it's really a Dolby Atmos bar as it has no upward firing speaker.I have also bought the rear speakers so for the total cost of this sound bar I could of really bought a home cinema amp and speaker package for around the same price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent product

HT-ZF9 09/10/2018 by Tigers26

We bought this to go with our new oled Tv and haven’t been disappointed. The sound is good on films and music

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic Sound

HT-ZF9 04/10/2018 by Carl 52

Bought this Soundbar a week ago and I am 100% thrilled with it. The sound is fantastic with so many options for movies, TV, music etc and really easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice sound

HT-ZF9 01/10/2018

Very good quality product it's worth the money. I'm very happy with

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Looks good

HT-ZF9 23/09/2018 by Fieldy51

Bought 6weeks ago fixed above tv excellent sound from sound bar and subwoofer very pleased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Frustrating!

HT-ZF9 21/08/2018 by Ranger76

The sound is amazing when playing directly through the HDMI's. However when watching TV and using Arc, the sound keeps cutting off. Definitely a problem with the Soundbar as lots of other users have made comment on this. I have tried other Soundbars utilising Arc and they have been fine. So frustrating as the sound quality is incredible especially when paired with rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

Response From Customer Support
22/08/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

You can make sure the soundbar is running on the latest firmware update using this link: https://bit.ly/2zmGvwJ (copy and paste the link into your web browser).
Try to use a different HDMI cable and check the results.
You can also try the troubleshooting steps mentioned in this link: https://bit.ly/2MHFlkJ (copy and paste the link into your web browser).
Try to reset the system following the instructions on page 76 in the user manual in the following link: https://bit.ly/2HTDynL (copy and paste the link into your web browser).
If the issue still remains, we recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with this.
You can contact Sony customer service on 02073652810, 9:00 am - 6:00 pm Mon-Fri.
Alternatively, you can send an email using this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Amazing sound

HT-ZF9 18/08/2018 by Azam designer

Bought this with oiled tv and both are stunning together

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good product

HT-ZF9 11/08/2018 by Classy Lady

I bought this as a replacement for an STR system. In the main I am really satisfied my main niggle is the slight lapse in sound at times which cannot be corrected. You can raise the time lapse up but not down and it would be better with 10 instead of 25 increments. But overall a good product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good features when they work

HT-ZF9 07/08/2018 by Nick nolty

I bought it just over 3 mths ago for the first 2 mths apart from a bit of messing around and resetting was ok .Then everything started to stop working hdmi arc ,hdmi 1 and 2 no home screen after a few emails to sony and various suggestions to try and solve still the same .To the point i was spending more time playing around with the bar than i was watching tv so back to it went only to get it back a week later and same problems so sent it back again asking for a new soundbar or refund .Very disappointed as i waited 6mths for them to release this soundbar and refrained from buying a different one to get all these problems with it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great TV Experience

HT-ZF9 03/08/2018 by AnthonyE

Very pleased with the design, quality and sound reproduction of this system. Easy to follow setup process. I have ordered the rear speakers also, cannot wait for delivery.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb ease of use and functionality.

HT-ZF9 06/07/2018 by Fulkingmarc

I bought this to go with a Sony KD - 49XF9005 TV and have been delighted with the sound quality and ease of use, including the easy way it connects to my mobile phone to act as a sound system when the TV isn’t on. Can’t wait to try it out with the SA Z9R rear speakers which I ordered at the same time, when the Sony shop was offering an incredible deal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Woof!

HT-ZF9 05/07/2018 by Drewster

The Sony Atmos is the real deal. The sound bar is easy to hook up and as well as bringing cinema sound into your home the Bluetooth functionality allows you to blast out your music collection from your home devices with no distortion noise! Love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent, well packaged , easy to set up.

HT-ZF9 04/07/2018 by Dexter the dog

Compliments my 55" Sony 4k TV well, item fits exactly to width of tv and is not too high with the added advantage of pass through for remote

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Plenty of features and sounds good.

HT-ZF9 27/06/2018 by megabit

I bought this soundbar after narrowing it down to 2 and the other one had many complaints on different forums from owners so that made me buy this one, it is good but you have to remember it is a soundbar and will always be limited compared to a separate receiver and speakers and a room strewn with wires which I had once and never again so it is a compromise but a good one, design wise the hdmi sockets could have been easier to access but it is not as if you are having to get to them daily so it is nitpicking, overall for the money I think it would be hard to beat and the addition of the rear speakers completes it and makes the sound much better, plus it looks better than other sounders, all in all very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Powerful sound from a tiny bar

HT-ZF9 25/06/2018 by Jonny 320

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and am really pleased with it. The bar is quite small and the sub tucks away neatly. But the doesn’t detract from the sound. Get a movie in Dolby Atmos and it blows you away. I sit 5 m from this bar and I didn’t think it would cope, but the sound is awesome and the Atmos really gives it hight that you can hear and feel. You want to duck when an aircraft flys overhead.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Extremely Pleased!

HT-ZF9 17/06/2018 by Hendoe

Previously owned a fully plumbed in surround sound system which enabled you to hear separate and distinct sounds. Unable to fit that into new home but what the ZF9 lacks in subtlety it more than makes up for in delivering a wall of powerful sound which envelops you and does justice to all tv and film soundtracks. An unexpected surprise is how well it plays music. Music sounds excellent. I intend to add the rear wireless speakers and am looking forward to that. Overall extremely pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Soundbar

HT-ZF9 02/06/2018 by Thorntonbloke

Bought this just over two weeks, had it setup in a few minutes.Also bought the rear speakers,together with sound bar -the sound is rich and powerful. The box also contains a demo bluray and the bar also has a built in demo mode. The remote control contains all the buttons needed to adjust the sound. It works well with Googlehome and setups quickly. The front grill just slots on the front in seconds. The rear speakers contain UK plugs and have on/off buttons on the back.The only down side for me are the sharp corners on the subwoofer. I waited months for this soundbar to come on the market and i am glad i purchased it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Soundbar. Intuitive to set up

HT-ZF9 05/05/2018 by Coconel

For a 12x10 foot room it is ideal. Very easy to set up. Sound quality is rich and the speakers carry a decent punch. The virtual Atmos is Okay but I really wasn't expecting better without dedicated speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0