51

4.6 based on 51 customer reviews

34
12
5
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

51 Customer Reviews

0

The sound bar only sounds good with a movie

HT-X8500 03/02/2020 by Lauren

Great value looks good and sounds great for a movie

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sounds great and easy set up.

HT-X8500 28/01/2020 by Gary

Bought this to go with new TV, which was not a Sony, so was quite worried that it may be tricky to link to it. I was wrong, it was simple and both Sky box and TV all work well together and the sound is very good for a single unit, with no sub woofer. Unit isn't too big either and sits well in front of out new TV on the TV unit, without hanging over the sides. This was one of the reasons I chose this soundbar, as I was not wall mounting and a lot of the other units were too long. Very Happy.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

HT8500

HT-X8500 28/01/2020 by nicky177

excellent soundbar very good features,great sound nice design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features! Dolby Atmos All in one Soundbar

HT-X8500 26/01/2020 by Max03

All in one sound is amazing, options of sound effect from remote and bass options too. I will recommend using an 4K HDMI instead of optical cable as the pass through isn't supported at all rates via optical. Dolby Atmos and Vertical sound is speechless! What I don't like is: not fully compatible with AG8 model, sound bar menu not displayed on TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 22/01/2020 by Ali

We like it, the sounds great and just right for space

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sounds fantastic

HT-X8500 16/01/2020 by Tricky73

Very easy to set up using the hdmi cable, looks perfect under my 43inch tv. The sound is so much better than the standard tv speakers, dialogue clear movies with the bass and surround sound so much more enjoyable. I recommend this sound bar. I recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Batteries!

HT-X8500 15/01/2020 by William the conker

Simple set up. Great sound. Couldn't work out why the remote wasn't working with the supplied Sony batteries. Swopped them out and all good. You don't expect supplied batteries to be stone dead!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Soundbar

HT-X8500 15/01/2020 by Brendan

Great product easy to set up, Great sound quality

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good sound

HT-X8500 14/01/2020 by Anvil

Good value for money, but a bit of a pain that buttons only light up on top of product and not on the front too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

EASY TO SET UP

HT-X8500 12/01/2020 by MIKESCO

ONLY JUST GOT THIS VIRTUALLY A PLUG AND PLAY SET UP. WOULD RECOMMEND HDMI AS OPPOSED TO SUPPLIED OPTICAL LEAD. SO FAR IMPRESSED WITH SOUND

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Looks aren't everything!

HT-X8500 10/01/2020 by Silver

I purchased this to partner my existing 4k Samsung TV and, in this respect, it all goes together nicely. Build quality is first rate but, the sound is less than stellar, adequate about sums it up. My biggest gripe is it does not have any kind of on screen display viewable on the TV. This means that every time I choose a different setting, I have to watch the LED's on top of the soundbar itself which, because it is wall mounted below the TV, means I have to stand up to see the LED's on top of it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Mr

HT-X8500 09/01/2020 by GEOFFGB

excellent addition to my new sony tv which I registered thru Domestic and General on 7th January 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Sound Bar and works well

HT-X8500 07/01/2020 by TommyTees92

Very quick to set up and easy to use and good value for money. I would recommend this product.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to set up

HT-X8500 07/01/2020 by Hoppy

Love the sound bar ,easy to set up, Looks great Sound fantastic

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

E, Exellent buy

HT-X8500 06/01/2020 by Lucky boy

Brilliant soundbar far exceeded my expectations in e ery way

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Soundbar looks and sounds great.

HT-X8500 27/12/2019 by Pike

Bought soundbar for hubby. He found listening to dialogue on tv difficult even with sound up. This has made such a difference. Clarity of speech is much improved. Lots of settings according to what you are watching, film, sport etc. Gives good surround sound.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound and good built in sub woofer

HT-X8500 26/12/2019 by Grumpy

Did struggle a bit setting up on bluetooth but once done, the sound is so much better than the TV and the options for different sound depending upon what you're watching are really good.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 30/11/2019 by TV favourite

Looks stylish in front of my Sony TV. Good sound on TV channels and also for music and films. Easy to use and is synced with TV automatically. Very pleased with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 16/11/2019 by Dazu7

Bought three weeks ago and no regrets, easy to set up and the sound is amazing,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value all in one soundbar

HT-X8500 06/11/2019 by NH

Excellent sound quality, fits perfectly below TV, good base without the need for separate subwoofer.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Wonderful piece of kit

HT-X8500 05/11/2019 by JayRK

Perfect soundbar at a fantastic price, highly recommended, like being at the cinema.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Looks very nice and fits perfectly in front of my

HT-X8500 05/11/2019 by Drewbear

Have had it for a month or so and up to now i am very happy with it, looks good and sounds good. Had a few setup problems but Sony soon sorted it out for me with one short phone call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent quality and features

HT-X8500 02/11/2019 by michaelcassel01

Bought with Sony XG90 49”. Easy setup and sync well with TV and SkyQ. Sound quality is very good and more than adequate for medium sized rooms. Easy controller. Enhances TV sound and viewing experience. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound quality no need for surrounds

HT-X8500 30/10/2019 by Nj23

Excellent sound quality and no need for surrounds or sub. Only disadvantage for me was the subwoofer speakers are at the side of the bar which muffled the sound as it was to be placed in a snug fit tv unit. Very sad to have to take it back!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good bit of kit

HT-X8500 28/10/2019 by Dickymint

Wish I’d gone for the htxf9000 as this is more compatible with my Sony 65” android tv. Didn’t know at time but would have worked better with theatre system built into tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Simple and effective

HT-X8500 28/10/2019 by Zebra999

This was recommended by a Sony 'expert' in store and he was absolutely bang-on our requirements. Very easy to set up and works very well. Still haven't used all the pre-set sound options but quick tests suggest will do all it promises

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Good Soundbar

HT-X8500 27/10/2019 by Nicb

I bought this about a month ago and use with my 4K TV the sound is excellent and watching football with Dolby Atmos takes it to a new level

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing sound bar

HT-X8500 22/10/2019 by Konrad

Perfect sound. Easy to install

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HT-X8500 14/10/2019 by buffysaint

VARIOUS WAYS TO CONNECT TO YOUR TV, LOTS OF DIFFERENT SOUND CHOICES. I HAVE MINE ATTACHED UNDR MY TV VIA A SOUNDBAR MOUNT. MY ONLY ISSUE IS IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE AN ONSCREEN MENU

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

50

0

Soundbar

HT-X8500 14/10/2019 by dappadons

Good Sound, easy to operate, very pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

39

0

Neat compact unit

HT-X8500 29/09/2019 by Mike43

A must for wall mounted TV, pleased with the sound from all sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23/09/2019 by josh 177

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17/09/2019 by Mahir007

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

one speaker

HT-X8500 14/09/2019 by mreeee

very good sound worth the money just what i needed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Ok sound bar

HT-X8500 10/09/2019 by Monkeh99

It lets out an audible noise when trying to watch on demand

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Very good value for money

HT-X8500 01/09/2019 by Frankie 540

I purchased the compact soundbar last month was surprised with the overall clarity and detail.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Surround sound great

HT-X8500 17/08/2019 by Ted65

Sound is great, Dolby atmos is fantastic feels that you actually there in the movie, would highly recommend compliments my Sony Bravia Tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great soundbar

HT-X8500 15/08/2019 by Nick

Great sound quality and east to set up with hdmi cable but not so easy to set up with wireless bluetooth connection!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to set up with great sound

HT-X8500 26/07/2019 by Kaiser 1

Had this a few weeks. Was easy to set up and gives very good sound especially with the vertical effect. Price also good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sounds really fab

HT-X8500 24/07/2019 by Barby22

Only recently bought this sound bar , sounds great

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 17/07/2019 by Graham

Forget about the surround sound claims the dolby at is very underwhelming, but the normal sound when watching TV is fantastic I would describe it as alive and vibrant

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

great product

HT-X8500 26/06/2019 by jeff graham

I am a little hard of hearing and this sound bar is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Quality Product

HT-X8500 25/06/2019 by Yack2

I bought this 2 weeks ago from Sony Centre Belfast. I am really happy with the performance and look of the soundbar. I have never had a soundbar before so in itself this is a massive difference to my viewing experience. The different settings give a great edge to your experience, bass and sheer powerful sound from this soundbar are fantastic. My only issue is that you cannot see what input you are on without standing in front of the bar. Wall mounted with built in subwoofer adds to sleek look with no subwoofer gathering dust on the floor. A must buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Good but!

HT-X8500 21/06/2019 by None but

The sound bar gives very good all around sound effects.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

A sonic revelation!

HT-X8500 18/06/2019 by Andy

Once set up, this Dolby Atmos soundbar has proved to be an outstanding piece of kit, with modes to suit every conceivable sound need, a rich ambience and superb surround-sound.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Ok..great features but I've heard better sound

HT-X8500 15/06/2019 by Jfghhfv

Had this a good few weeks now. Lack of display is hard work trying to see what light sequence comes on and what that combination of lights means is very tiresome, performance is nothing more than ok though the features are good with earc etc

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Awesome - pretty darn good!

HT-X8500 07/06/2019 by ALLP

Easy connectivity and set up with Sony TV. Subtle, unobtrusive and sleek design - complements TV. Sounds great on auto setting but for the more refined the sound options are well placed. Bluetooth connectivity to multiple devices is a breeze & is most convenient.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great all rounder but a little disappointed

HT-X8500 30/05/2019 by Kingeman7

My initial thoughts of this were great when it first arrived, easy to set up. I liked how it came with an hdmi output plus optical cable, however for convenience I feel a normal 3.5mm jack should have been added as well. I value music a lot as I have a pair of MDR-1RNC Noise Cancelling Headphones, which I use mostly everyday. First thing I did was hook up my music from my phone using the bluetooth on the soundbar. I started to play songs with lows that worked well for the built in subwoofer and sounded great. However this kinda was short lived when I moved onto normal midrange to high tracks where the lows didn’t tie into the track at all, at times, which was a let down. I have been using this for a week now and and I tried all the settings from using it on cinema, sports, news and game. The subwoofer works well with the surround sound and veertical sound especially when watching movies. I would say the surround sound system is not the best I’ve had but it does well to fill the room. However, though you do really hear the lows needed to provide that added suspense. One of the options I do really like is the “night” option as It does what it says, basically takes that normal base and smoothens the sound a bit. This worked well with the news and sports options.Moving onto the game option which I was torn to half about because on one half the subwoofers do a really good job in providing that in game feeling if you are playing a first person shooter for example. But, on the other side when you are playing a game like Halo with the added tracks it has while in gameplay, you do really here the discrepancy if your into the sound stuff like me. Lastly to add, the finish of the bar is high quality, it’s something that isn’t going to break suddenly if you drop it, not that I have. My overall opinion is that, for the normal consumer who has a normal home cinema or just want’s to add a soundbar to their TV, this is the sound bar for them. This is more tailored to everything but music but don’t let this deter you as overall it does a good job just not for the ones who know more about sound and stuff. All I’m saying is that don’t expect it to be at the level of Bose if you already have their products, this sound bar is a more of an all-rounder.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

Solid, Powerful, Consistent

HT-X8500 27/05/2019 by Southy72

Exceptionally easy to set-up, probably no longer than 10 minutes if that. Quite heavy, and fairly chunky, so maybe some room for improvement on the design side of things, however when it comes to sound, this delivers, both in ambience and power. Bass is very evident, and power is right there from the start. Would dearly love to have a bigger room from which to test this, I can imagine the cinema sound is superb. Price-wise I think this would appeal if it were maybe £50-£75 cheaper, but this is Sony, so high-spec goods come at a premium. Recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Phenomenal sound, once you have figured it out

HT-X8500 27/05/2019 by SouthamptonG

The soundbar arrived and I couldn’t wait to get it installed as we love a movie and with the Dolby Atmos and Vertical Surround features, we were excited to take it to another level. The instructions were really easy to follow and I chose to feed it through our SkyQ box. Once I figured out that I had to turn the sound bar on first, we were away and watched BlacKkKlansman to try it out. The sound (especially in the vertical surround mode) is phenomenal and the built-in bass is really effective. It really is a huge step up from the built-in speakers in my non-Sony television. The only issues I have are that I have to stand up to see what mode it is in as the lights are at the back of the top of the unit (I would have incorporated a small flip-up lcd screen so you can see clearly what mode you are using) and sometimes, when pausing, rewinding and forwarding on Sky, there is a delay in the sound catching up. Sound-wise, I can’t fault it (it’s great for listening to music from my phone too) but for someone who doesn’t have much tech knowledge, it may be difficult to set up and figure out. Now we are used to it’s features, it is a great product and would recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Awesome without the the need for a subwoofer

HT-X8500 24/05/2019 by CC200806

Firstly this is a little bigger than other sound bars, but if like me you don't have room for a separate sub woofer then this soundbar is ideal as it has it built in. It is still small enough to position in front of your TV or hang on a wall with looking to bulky. The design is pleasing to the eye and i like the fact the LED's turn themselves of after a short while. Connectivity was easy and it seamlessly integrated with my TV and PS4. Sound quality is superb with plenty of differing options to give you the right sound for the right situation. The reproduction of surround sound is good from a 2.1 speaker and the bass is adequate enough to fill a good size room without the need of a sub woofer. Connectivity with Bluetooth is easy so playback of music from smart devices works well. The only slight downside to this Soundbar is navigating the different settings. There is quite a few of them and without the instruction book it would be hard to remember how to access and change them all. However with that said once i found my desired setting I pretty much do not need to access or change them again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0