34

4.1 based on 34 customer reviews

16
10
5
3
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

34 Customer Reviews

0

This bar really is easy to use

HT-ST5000 27/10/2019 by 2mike6

I’m still getting used to all the features but delighted so far, set up was easy including the bluetooth connections. I have seen reviews moaning about the woofer unit mine works well and can be adjusted to play music of all genre just as they sound in reality. Pleased with purchase despite the price tag it IS WORTH IT !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superb Sound

HT-ST5000 05/09/2019 by BenLLLLLL

I have had this for a couple of years and the sound is amazing. It really ramps up the movie experience as Dolby Atmos and DTS X fill the room with sound and helps create the atmosphere of the image on screen. Only downside is connectivity hiccups when changing devices. I have Sky Q, Sony 4K Bluray and PS4 connected and sometimes takes a while for the sound bar to register which device is playing. Not a major issue but a little annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Excellent Sound

HT-ST5000 08/06/2019 by Oyodin

This soundbar has excellent sound and clarity but let down by not being able to add rear Sony speakers which it desperately needs when cheaper soundbars in the Sony range can! I did not realise this at the time of purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

19

3

0

Could have, should have, would have!

HT-ST5000 23/05/2019 by LDDC7080

I have owned my sound bar for nearly 2 years. I jumped onto the band wagon of wanting this 3d sound or atmos as its called. from my point of view getting the effect to stand out is difficult and i needed to boost the top firing speakers upto maximum level to hear it. a positive of the soundbar however is the dialogue. my experience of surround sound systems has always been that the dialogue can be washed away by the effects coming from the Front and back stereo speakers. not in this case. the clarity of the voices are very clear there is also an option to boost it like the top firing speakers. the effects can be a little bit underwhelming, but this is a soundbar and its never going to portray something behind you without a speaker there. The sub unit is very impressive(when it works) the unit has 2 drivers in the cabinet a forward facing speaker 8" i think and a oval shaped down facing one. the bass is room shaking if you wish and very powerful. one tip i have found from owning the soundbar and if you can i would advise you to do the same is to have the unit at your eye level and obviously the TV above it. it makes the sound feel much wider because the unit is over 1m wide getting something to put it on may be a challenge, but i used my dining room sideboard which was of the right height and wide enough to fit the unit on. it really makes a difference. The last point is no option of rear speakers! Sony now sell a unit that is capable of this, why do they not make a software fix so that users of the HT-ST5000 can also add the option rear speakers? a shame if you ask me. If i had my time again i think i would have taken my £1500 and purchased a group of separates but only hindsight is twenty-twenty

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

16

0

0

Good Video upscaling, non existent Dolby ATMOS

HT-ST5000 24/04/2019 by Nickname Goes Here

The audio visual aspect of this speaker is very good - read other reviews for specifics. I want to point out however that the Dolby ATMOS from this sound bar is non existent. There is zero 3D sound and any claim that you will hear sounds above you (bouncing off the ceiling) is pure marketing. The rest of what is provided in this package is very good - I have no regrets purchasing it, I just wish I'd know how effective the ATMOS was before buying as I would have opted for a multi speaker option instead.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

Response From Customer support
29/04/2019

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.
We recommend adjusting the settings of the Sound bar to match the distance between the system and the listener in order to achieve the best results. You can find the steps on page 46 of the Manual here: https://bit.ly/2Fd3Dxp

Sony support team

0

Has Sound Issues

HT-ST5000 14/04/2019 by Jimmer001

I bought this December 2018 and it is fantastic sounding soundbar.........but and this has to be software related it will not play DTS or DTX sound without part through a film just randomly start playing a very loud continuous tone. Unfortunately this means half my 4k bluray collection is unplayable i have tried factory resets as recommended by the Sony Community but nothing works...frustrating for such a high priced product i have seen others on YouTube and here with the same issue so it's not just me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Customer Support
17/04/2019

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback. You can improve the performance of your soundbar by making sure that the software is updated as explained here https://bit.ly/2VRQhgP . If you are still facing issues with the soundbar, you can contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Has Issues

HT-ST5000 10/03/2019 by Tk426

It’s a bit of a beast and when I got it I was impressed off the bat, it feels the room with a great immersive sound. The wireless sub was easy to setup and had been a solid performer. Sadly my disappointment started when the unit started emitting a high pitch sound randomly when watching movies, in the example attached 40mins into LoTR this happened, it’s not just this film and always at different times. I’ve replaced cables and my Blu-ray player. Now I dread having anyone over to watch a film

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

Response From Customer support
14/03/2019

Hi,

We have read your review and we recommend that you reset the system to the default settings following the steps on Page 71 of the following Manual: https://bit.ly/2Fd3Dxp

If the issue remains, you can get in touch with us using this link: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

Top sound bar

HT-ST5000 01/03/2019 by nirrom

I bought this soundbar after reading reviews about it and i must say that it is every bit as good as reviews suggest. The only downside is the price is very expensive but if you can afford it buy with confidance

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good product

HT-ST5000 01/03/2019 by Pete3460

Bought this item 2 weeks ago. For the price, i am not impressed

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

0

Great product loved it so much bought another

HT-ST5000 12/01/2019 by JagR61

I liked it so much decided not to put speakers in the ceiling when re-doing house, purchased additional hi-res speakers and hid them behind curtain palmets in each room. wired through Ethernet and got electrician to add electrical socket behind curtain pelmets. Sounds great when grouping speakers using google products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Wow

HT-ST5000 26/11/2018 by Johnny A

Awesome sound! Earth shattering immersive when used with Ultra HD 4K TV & Blu-ray player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

super sound clarity and dynamic!!!

HT-ST5000 16/11/2018 by GM MM

I bought this soundbar system 3 weeks ago and i am very happy what a sound and i am a critical it replace a high end system but come near to high range monitor speakers the best buy this year.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound quality

HT-ST5000 02/11/2018 by Justtayyab

I have had this sound bar for about a year. The sound quality is great. Did not support Dts to start with and had trouble displaying input when HDMI was in enhanced mode but that's been fixed with updates. Very modest atmos effects after a lot of tinkering. It would be a perfect sound bar if it had an option of having rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Fantastic surround sound that really works

HT-ST5000 30/08/2018 by f unk y

Very pleased with this. Atmos does work even though a soundbar. Wouldn't have paid the full

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great movie sound, but concerns about lifespan

HT-ST5000 29/08/2018 by TMcArt

I bought the soundbar 7 months ago from and after a bit of time figuring out the interface I had a smoothly functioning home entertainment setup with cinema quality sound all functioning from a single remote via ARC pass through. I am however concerned about the lifespan of the product, as after 7 months of perfect use, the main circuit board has failed outright and I have had to arrange a warranty repair that is expected to take 10-14 days. My main concern at this point, is the lack of option for an extended warranty having not purchased the sound bar directly from a Sony Centre.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great sounding soundbar

HT-ST5000 13/08/2018 by Sparks77

I bought this soundbar to upgrade my 5.1 system to Dolby Atmos. Very pleased with powerful sound effects. Would have given 5 stars if it had rear speakers, that would make it perfect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Great Product

HT-ST5000 10/08/2018 by Jdk01

I bought this after reading reviews and listening to some other disappointing lower priced Sony soundbar products. The overall sound quality is good. I bought it because I like Sony products and for compatibility with my Bravia TV and Blu-Ray player. The user interface can be improved. The synchronisation with other devices works, but can be slow. Switching between sources is clumsy. The remote is clumsy. But, overall I recommend and am pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

ST5000

HT-ST5000 29/06/2018 by Atso

I bought this along with a Sony KD55AF8. The only complaint I have is that with the tv the stand and tv sit directly on to the flkoor tv stand and there is no room for the sound bar to be fitted in front. I have therefore had to position the osund bar on the first shelf under the tv which will take away some of the effect of the 2 top facing speakers. I hope I do not notice the difference. I think Sony has forgotten about this situation with their products design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Impressive Dolby Atmos & DTSX

HT-ST5000 05/06/2018 by poppy63

Upgraded to this soundbar from Sony 5.1 theatre system so I could experience Dolby Atmos with my new 4K Sony tv and 4K blu ray player. Sound has a real punch on Atmos and the immersive sound is quite impressive considering it's just the soundbar. Great that there was a software update for DTSX. Really disappointed I'm unable to listen to SACDs, which I could on my old theatre system, as no DSD through soundbar. Odd that my Sony UBP-X800 can play SACDs but Sony have decided the soundbar shouldn't. I noticed the cheaper Sony HT-ZF9 will support SACDs, how about a Sony software SCAD upgrade for those have the more expensive HT-ST5000?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Brilliant for Serious Classical Music Lovers

HT-ST5000 05/06/2018 by MAC62

The product was easy to set up and connectivity availability good. Able to connect other products; TV and Tuner (not Sony), and Sony Blu-Ray player with ease. Sound from DAB+ tuner sounds excellent even though reduced from 7.1 to 5.1 channels. Streaming from Chromecast and Spotify very easy to set up. Gave the sound bar a real test from the outset, playing Mahler's 2nd Symphony, which it coped with superbly, both instrumentally and vocally. Sounding like you were there in the concert hall. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very good soundbar

HT-ST5000 08/05/2018 by Status123456

ATMOS effect is modest but overall sound is v high quality

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

Clear Sound

HT-ST5000 27/04/2018 by Bobbyb68

This is a great product. The sound is very clear from speech to individual orchestra instruments. When you turn the TV on or off the sound bar also is turned on or off. It would be very useful if it would switch to Bluetooth when it detects a linked item (when the TV is off) and then switch off when the linked item is off or not playing music etc. It would also be useful to switch between different inputs more easily. I keep going past Bluetooth because I can’t tell whether it will move with one click or two! You have to be a contortionist to get the leads in the back. In my case I had to hold the bar then try and line up the hdmi lead the right way round all very fiddly. With hindsight I should have put all the leads in first with the sound bar on the floor, then lifted it up and connect to the other units!! A good job I didn’t want them wall mounted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic

HT-ST5000 25/04/2018 by lunarben

Although quite expensive, this is a fantastic sound bar. I have it hooked up to my 65" LG OLEDB7 and it's a match made in heaven. Superb sound and it looks great too. Once again, Sony does not disappoint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

superb sound

HT-ST5000 05/02/2018 by Victor71

I bought this product two weeks ago, very happy with the sound with Blu-Ray and 4k discs, music even better,plenty of volume and with good separation and a nice even bass with good volume control. Setting up was another matter as no matter how I tried I could get no sound from the television through the arc hdmi cable and after much swapping of cables I had to connect with the optical cable now everything is fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Top quality sound

HT-ST5000 12/01/2018 by Virgo the great

Easy to set up out of the box good intuitive home screen and it sounds great. A really top quality soundbar and sub worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good Dolby atmos sound

HT-ST5000 02/01/2018 by Dolby atmos lover

Had this item for a fortnight and for the most part a positive purchase. Would like the option of mini speakers to give a more surround sound Behind you. The sound quality is still very good though with plenty of bass. Good product but very expensive. I would like to see on the soundbar when the sound is producing Dolby Atmos as well.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

42

2

0

Worth it !

HT-ST5000 01/01/2018 by Lucas696

Brought a Sony A1 Tv with this sound bar sounds fantastic and have it set up for tv movies and pc with customisation sound presets that can be saved. It was that impressive when i tested with dolby atmos files and 4k blu rays compared to the tv speakers itself which was not bad either, other family members went and brought the same setup too. Used bluetooth to connect bose wireless headphones no trouble at all and use it to play hi-res music from Sony xperia z2 and it sounds great. I also use a 2006 Sony NW-A1200 walkman which i could connect via aux jack nice to see i can connect older hardware to it. Granted a bit pricey but as I don't change this equipment very often it was well worth the investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Don’t support surround speakers

HT-ST5000 25/12/2017 by Jono73

Good quality soundbar however not brilliant with surround sound either atmos, if you could add speakers like the zr5 and have them added with surround sound/atmos effect (on par with the Samsung hk950 I believe it will be out standing until then I wouldn’t recommend it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

102

4

0

Underwhelmed

HT-ST5000 22/12/2017 by Buchi

Certainly no bells and whistles to find. The wireless sub woofer kept disconnecting every few minutes. The sound overall was average.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Great sound but concern over connectivity with sub

HT-ST5000 14/12/2017 by golfer00

Have owned this Dolby Atmos soundbar for 3 weeks and am generally very pleased with it apart from one issue. Initially I heard intermittent stuttering and popping from the subwoofer. I checked the Sony Support site and found that this problem was listed along with an advised fix which involved a reset. I carried out the reset and so far there has been no recurrence but I am obviously concerned that this might happen again as it clearly has with other customers. This is very disappointing given the very high price of the unit and the exceptional reviews it has received. So far with everything working as it should the sound quality is excellent for TV, movies and music via bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Impressive sound!

HT-ST5000 09/10/2017 by curlypaws

One of my main reasons for purchasing the Sony HT-ST5000 was the fact that it offers 4K support with 4 HDMI sockets. And it supports Dolby Atmos. Even with this, the quality of the sound was a very pleasant surprise - much deeper and more involving than my previous soundbar. While the remote could do with some dedicated input selection buttons, the fact that the interface appears on the TV screen is welcome, rather than trying to work through a small display on the unit itself. The build quality is top notch, and this feels like a sturdy piece of kit that should last well. The separate subwoofer is wireless and connected automatically. I just love it! It isn't cheap, but it is worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

2

0

Excellent sound quality

HT-ST5000 15/08/2017 by Derekvxr

Have had the unit for about 1 month and it really brings the sound alive when watching films etc. the bass is very good and not over powering. Would highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Superb & extremely surprising !

HT-ST5000 01/08/2017 by prettypretty

After buying the new Oled Sony tv I wanted a decent all in one sound system to go with it. I looked at quite a few until the Gent in the Sony store recommended this soundbar. I was extremely sceptical as I had never heard a decent soundbar that gave the same dynamic sound as a separates system but after reading online reviews from leading magazines I took the plunge. This system is quite honestly stunning. Out of the box was a straightforward setup with minimal tweaks required and the Atmos sounds fantastic. More features than you can shake a stick at literally and bluetooth connection to other room speakers is straightforward. I also have my new vinyl player connected to it and it sounds rich and full. Maybe a lot of money but there is an awful lot there for your money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

6

0

State of the Art

HT-ST5000 26/06/2017 by Bill0

This acoustic wave projection sound bar / woofer was bought in conjunction with the new Sony OLED TV, for an immersive audio visual experience. For an AVC source with any form of Dolby surround audio content, it produces high quality room filling sound ,with several discernibly different selectable pre-set sound fields . Careful input of the room and seating dimensions during setup is necessary to achieve the full immersive surround sound potential. Test tones confirm set up. All auxiliary AVC sources must be HDMI routed via the sound bar to the TV, for the full system audio visual capability to be achieved, as per the specification .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

35

0