50

3.6 based on 50 customer reviews

20
14
3
3
10
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

50 Customer Reviews

0

Problems with subwoofer bass sound.

HT-RT3 27/11/2020 by Slugube

I was very excited when I bought this, I connected it to my smart TV but after a few weeks I started to have no sound coming from the subwoofer. I tried disconnecting and reconnecting, then there was no bass coming out of subwoofer. I was very disappointed. I just need to get this repaired because I like music with bass sound.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
30/11/2020

Hi Slugube,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your home cinema system. To ensure optimal performance, we recommend resetting the system using the steps on page 29 of the Manual here: https://bit.ly/37jASNn
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

nice design

HT-RT3 19/10/2020 by gask12

I bought one for a trial and I am very pleased. After three weeks, I bought a second set.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

HT-RT3 27/08/2020 by Bob43

Upgraded from a small surround sound setup to this. Very happy, the soundbar makes for less mess with wires. Great sound with surround speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good sound

HT-RT3 16/06/2020 by Aberip

Very easy to set up and connect to smart TV, phone and smart phone

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Easy to use surround sound system

HT-RT3 05/06/2020 by Mad mancx

I bought this 17 months ago and it sounds just as great as my old one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great all round sound, particularly on films.

HT-RT3 07/04/2020 by Anne76

I purchased this a few weeks ago after returning a Bose soundbar due to very disappointing performance. The difference between the Bose and the Sony HT-RT3 was unbelievable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

0

Very good sound system

HT-RT3 18/11/2019 by Spike 2014

excellent sound quality one little grip is that the cooling fan is a bit noisey

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

6

0

NICE SOUND

HT-RT3 07/10/2019 by djgeoff

works well with sony tv,sound clear, plenty of volume could do with a bit longer cabling to remote speakers though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

9

0

Fabulous sound

HT-RT3 02/10/2019 by Elma27

I bought this product to compliment my Sony Bravia TV and it was well worth the money. Excellent choice.l

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

7

0

Good sound system, but annoying fan noise

HT-RT3 19/09/2019 by Austin_101

I bought this a month ago, i love the sound and quality of the product. The only issue I have is the loud fan noise, which spoils the experience of listening to music at low volume. The fan noise is loud and annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

20

12

Response From Support team
23/09/2019

Hi Austin,

We have read your review, and we recommend that you reset the soundbar to default settings following the steps on Page 29 of this Manual: https://bit.ly/2DpYz8Y

If the issue remains, please use the details on the following link to contact us so we can help you further: http://bit.do/eQZGU

Sony Support team

0

Loud and deep bass

HT-RT3 29/08/2019 by Fonytonylovessony

This home theater, is something else! It makes, not only the walls shake but the earth shakes with the fury of a mighty Lancaster ! If you want to be immersed into a film or a game then buy this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

4

0

Constantly breaks! Not fit for use

HT-RT3 23/08/2019 by Maddox93

Useless product! Bought the same model January 2019, finally 8 months later had it replaced and would constantly show UPDT and no matter how many times it would be reset would do the same. The sound was then hit and miss so finally got an exchange. New speakers are doing exactly the same!! Cannot see if on Tv, BT or what volume because the display just says UPDT. Can’t just take the product back, Sony need it repairing and taking to a far away repair store. Would not recommend this product at all! Biggest regret buying this!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

13

12

Response From Customer Support
09/03/2020

Hi Maddox93,

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry to hear this. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony support team

0

Great sound qality

HT-RT3 26/06/2019 by Karoly85hu

I've bought this by mistake. I've thought it is a 5.1 Dolby surround system but unfortunately just stereo on 6 speakers. The sound qality is really great but not what I wanted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

6

0

Very nice surround

HT-RT3 13/04/2019 by Despite

I am very pleased with the quality of the sound. Nice surround and loud speakers with crystal clear sound. Altough woofer could offer little more bass when speakers are not set to very high volume. Otherwise i am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

Sony HT-RT3 5.1 Suround System

HT-RT3 18/03/2019 by MusB

I bought this as I was told in Currys the Sony TV did not have very good sound from the TV itself. (They were wrong, the TV has good sound). As I had an 10 year old Phillips 5.1 surround system which was connected by SCART it would not be able to connect to the new TV. So I decided to buy the Sony HT-RT3. I have been quite disappointed with this model. Good points: Build quality seams very good. It is easy to set up. The sound is quite good, not brilliant. The HT-RT3 comes on automatically when the TV is turned on. Bad points: There is an annoying constant noise of a cooling fan in the woofer. The menu, (operated by it's own remote control), is on a small digital display on the front of the woofer. (No OSD). Although settings are set to "Surround Sound" I have still not had any sound from the rear left or right speakers. Even after playing with various settings. Not even when using my DVD player. My old Philips system was brilliant compared to this new Sony HT-RT3. All in all I am very disappointed with the Sony HT-RT3. It is a 3.1 system and not a 5.1 system as no sound from the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

13

7

Response From Customer support
25/03/2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review and we'd like to highlight that the system can be operated using the remote control of a TV. You'll find more information and instructions on Page 20 of this Manual: https://bit.ly/2DpYz8Y

Also, we recommend that you reset the soundbar t the default settings following the steps listed on Page 29 of the previous Manual.

If the issue remains, you can also get in touch with us using the following link so we can assist you further: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

Great sound

HT-RT3 03/02/2019 by Chippy1964

Very good value for money, the sound quality even via Bluetooth is excellent Highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Ok

HT-RT3 17/01/2019 by david345

It has a delay when playing audio through the aux cord and Bluetooth and also with the USB and the audio quality is poor when i play audio through the aux cord (analog). Also when the volume goes above 30 on the system the bass is lowered .

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

5

Response From Customer Support
21/01/2019

Hi David,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend resetting the system to factory settings as explained on page 29 of the Manual here: https://bit.ly/2DpYz8Y. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

worth the money

HT-RT3 10/01/2019 by anthony17

I just brougth this for the to use with xbox and now sounds great no issue with fan noise as per claims by other people. worthnbuying it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Brilliant quality

HT-RT3 04/01/2019 by gibbo98

The sound quality is brilliant, they are so easy to set up and use, being able to connect to multiple devices using Bluetooth etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

simple! great!

HT-RT3 28/11/2018 by furich

had sound systems previously but this is the best to date

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

poor quality

HT-RT3 25/10/2018 by Mr Nut

i brought this as ive always had sony TV (bravia) for many many years as they are just a beautiful machine ,picture quality is just amazing, so i brought a good sound bar to go with it at the same time , but just total rubbish!!!! failed within 4 months, then failed again at 10 months, now failed again at 18 months no sound at all!! I will not be buying sony soundbars again as they are just cheap rubbish

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

21

Response From Customer support
29/10/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback
We recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with the Sound bar. You can find the contact details in this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony support team

0

Not Outstanding

HT-RT3 05/10/2018 by Unimpressed Buyer

This system is not wireless, as the "Bluetooth Technology" strap line it leads you to believe. The surround speakers wire through the subwoofer and are as much of an annoyance as speaker wires always were. The subwoofer itself has a particularly loud cooling fan, which disturbs quite passages in whatever you are watching. Over-all a second rate product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

11

13

Response From Customer support
09/10/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

The Bluetooth on this model is used to connect smartphones and playback devices to play content from on the system as advertised on the sales page available on this link: https://bit.ly/2pHzvCC.

Sony support team.

0

The worst sound quality ever!

HT-RT3 06/09/2018 by Roberto1975

I am not happy to buy this product! I lost my money for this junk product!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

9

15

0

It has known problems - I should reseached more

HT-RT3 23/08/2018 by iAlan

Disappointed with this sound bar. I bought it at the same time as a Sony 55 TV. The sound is out of sync and the fan is very noisy. After doing research it looks like this is a common problem with this sound bar. Someone has posted a temp fix for the sync problem (go into menu and toggle sound effect off and on) but you need to do this everything you turn the system on. You get used to the noise of the fan but the problem is it speeds up and down so sometimes you hear it and other times you don't. The Sony TV is fantastic. It’s a real shame that the Sony sound bar is so poor. I think the issues could be fixed by a software update but as yet Sony are not recognising this problem.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

6

0

Disappointing!

HT-RT3 30/07/2018 by Cinema Man

Remote control is sluggish or does not work at all dispite resetting to factory values as recommended by Sony advisor by phone. Most functions of the device seem depentant on a working remote. Cannot easily change formats, sound field or volume levels. Local controls on the Sub unit seem okay but slow.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

6

0

Not as good as we hoped

HT-RT3 08/07/2018 by Jon48

We bought this just over a month ago and although the sound is much improved from that of the TV. The problem we have is with lip sync! Everything starts off fine but after a while the lip sync problem sets in. On contacting Sony they sent a list of different things to try to rectify the problem. We are working our way down the list but the problem remains,it is just an annoying fault.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Mr

HT-RT3 21/04/2018 by Gigin

I bought it couple of months ago. It works well with sony 4k tv with hdmi arc system. Good theatrical experience when you watch John wick and Martian. Only down side is that the fan sound is slightly Lauder now but can be ignored as the payment doesn't match the price tag of Bose soundtouch 300. Furthermore, you need to find a way to hide the wires for the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Compact setup up

HT-RT3 31/03/2018 by Big Stu

I got this for its compact design and Sony’s good name Fan in side the amp is a little noisy if you have a echoy room

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Easy setup plug and play

HT-RT3 14/02/2018 by caney97

I purchased this as part of a Sony 4K tv, surround sound and 4K dvd package. Speakers are wired which is the same as my old Sony 5.q theatre unit so run the wires same route as before. Main sub woofer just plugs into the tv via hdmi. The centre and left/right speaker all combined into one sound bar which is easy to locate compared with 3 separate speakers. Only problem encountered was sound bar blocks remote signal to tv, had to raise tv higher to get round this. If you leave the surround on but switch the tv of then speakers go into standby. Turn the tv back on and speakers liven up. Tv does require these added speakers as the built in ones are not that great. All in all a great simple to use product. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Pure sound.

HT-RT3 07/02/2018 by jrsauce

This sound system provides with pure and clear sound. Bass is strong but not too strong. Perfect listening experience. Good for flats.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best thing i have done

HT-RT3 02/02/2018 by johand

excellent sound very good quality easy to use and good value

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very good

HT-RT3 16/01/2018 by Luke9

Love it, some hardware difficulties to tv, console etc but overall brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excelent System

HT-RT3 13/01/2018 by Gepa

I bought the 5.1 Home Cinema System last month, I love and my kid enjoys the quality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Better than expected

HT-RT3 13/01/2018 by nnumadg

The sound is Sony's usual good quality, definitely value for money and very happy with the first few weeks use using the TV, TV radio, bluetooth and USB functions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Terrific sound bar with back speakers

HT-RT3 21/12/2017 by mocol

This sound system is terrific and the rear speakers are great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sony always a good buy

HT-RT3 18/12/2017 by Gonzagga

This had some good reviews,and a couple of bad ones.I went with Sony name and found it was perfect for what I wanted.I play my music selection from my mobile phones memory card via Bluetooth,and films and other programs from the Television.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

verry good

HT-RT3 08/12/2017

I have been wanting to buy one for a long time and now I finally got a chance to buy one and I’m very happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Not at all happy with this product

HT-RT3 18/09/2017 by Essex

Purchased three months ago and the sub woofer's fan is proving to be very noisy. Even to the point of distraction.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

20

4

Response From Customer support
20/09/2017

Hi Essex

We recommend that you contact Sony Customer Support for help about the fan noise issue here: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV

Sony support team

0

Sony 5:1 Home cinema sound system

HT-RT3 07/06/2017 by Big Geezer

This given to me as a birthday present, and, I must say my family did me proud in terms of knowing.what I wanted and the brand I wanted, I couldn't have done better myself!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

11

0

good sound quality

HT-RT3 21/04/2017 by Nandhu

easy to connect, 5.1 sound system. setup is simple. Would have been better if it had more input ports. only got the optical port.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

I like the sound of it

HT-RT3 03/04/2017 by Syliokas

Easy to connect, works well with Sony Bravia TV from one remote. BT connection thru bfc is very easy, easy setup with Sony Xperia. Sound is solid, much better than TV sounds without this bar. Cons. No radio tuner

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Does what it says

HT-RT3 28/03/2017 by Savage100

Works well and delivers good sound. Others have mention the amount of noise from the cooling fan and although this is sometime audible in general it's not a problem. Connected to my TV using the HDMI (ARC) which means it comes on with the TV - nice that you don't have to manually switched on separately, although I have had some issues with this but I can't tel if it's the TV's fault (not a Sony TV) or the sound bar. There are other sound bars the deliver more features but for the price I think this is a good buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

8

0

Well recommended

HT-RT3 05/03/2017 by Leeevn

Awesome sound bar for the money would recommend this to anyone

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Tv and sound bar

HT-RT3 15/02/2017 by Busman01

Brilliant clear 4K tv. The sound bar just finishes the whole experience

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

9

0

Fantastic sound system

HT-RT3 22/01/2017

I recieved this as a christmas present and boy was I very impressed with the sound it produced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

11

0

Good sound at the price but............

HT-RT3 15/01/2017 by Sheeny

I bought this home threatre system on 3 January to go with a bravia TV being delivered the following week. Within two days I became aware of the fan noise coming from the sub woofer that is the power base for the rest of the sytem. The fan noise goes up and down when thyere is or isn't noise in a programme. This is most obvious during programmes that just have talking and at volumes below 21 on the system. During action movies this isn't noticeable. I have never heard noise from a fan in any previous system.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

20

4

0

Great sounds

HT-RT3 20/12/2016 by Slatch

Great item sound is fantastic, and easy set up. Placement is difficult with original stand as it has to fit in front of tv which blocks sensor for remote. An aftermarket stand took care of this but at an extra expense a little more thought in the design of tv stand would do away with this issue

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

Great sound but keeps needing resetting

HT-RT3 17/12/2016 by Jd84

I bought this about a month ago and it's all been working fine and sounds great. Easy set up. Then the remote stopped working I tried a reset and it worked but now I have to reset every time I turn it on. Will be sending to get fixed if it carries on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

8

0

Very loud fan

HT-RT3 16/07/2016 by Luke1919

Great sound but unfortunately ruined by the annoying loud fan on the subject woofer... exchanged the first one after a week...only to find the new one has exactly the same annoying fan.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

80

25

0

Unacceptably noisy cooling fan in the sub-woofer.

HT-RT3 26/06/2016 by Bladevane

After extensive research and a wait of a month for its release I purchased the HT-RT3 soundbar. From the audio quality, ease of set-up and aesthetics I would score it highly. However, there is an audible, distracting and unacceptable noise from the cooling fan located in the sub-woofer. This is most evident when there is a lull in TV audio output and the fan can be clearly heard to reduce speed with a whining noise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

148

64