8

4.6 based on 8 customer reviews

6
1
1
0
0
Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8 Customer Reviews

0

Fast, Flexible and Friendly

Xperia 1 II 12/07/2020 by RedStag

First set up on June 17th when I activated my new 3 account. The transfer of the data from my current smartphone was no problem at all courtesy of my Google account and as I was planned to use the two phones side by side for comparison, I de-selected my two regular VOIP apps so as not to confuse me and other long-distant members of my family. Although my sim included the 5G capability to match the X1’s specification the network availability in our area is virtually none existent and I have not been able to review the X1’s performance. It worked equally as well with my favourite Spotify streamed tracks although I am not convinced that “Dynamic Vibration” adds much to my listening pleasure. The sizing of the X1 proved easy to fit into pockets and other regular storage places especially the car and when I used it to view my regular Netflix sessions I was very impressed with the quality of the 4K OLED display and the sound thru the speakers or headphones was exceptional too. I have yet to acquire an approved Sony glass screen protector or cover with a stand facility as I do not want to compromise any functionality by using “none brand” substitutes. I use my Outlook account a lot on the move and I soon fell in love with X1’s keyboard which seemed so much easier and smoother to use and the screen clarity was a bonus too. One small bonus is the very easy way to capture a screen shot compared with the competition of have I to press two side buttons simultaneously. I also like the finger print sensor function as it keeps the screen cleaner yet still maintains maximum security. I am still learning to fully utilise the novel two screens feature but I can see in the work environment this could prove invaluable. I know the phone has outstanding features but I am afraid I am at an age my gaming is limited to Solitaire so I must “pass” on those features. Where I am realising the X1 has great potential for me is in the use of the camera for stills or video. The simple experiments I have carried out so far show the quality and potential of this outstanding package. I am a committed phone-photographer and the X1 does not disappoint and I am looking forward to exploring more of the extensive still and video enhancements Cinema and Camera Pro. Whilst recording a short video in the garden a low flying jet passed over head and the sound pick up of the microphone was accurate. I am a committed Android fan and this phone will only enhance that. The Sony crisp and speedy Android adaptions have confirmed this and when going back to use my old “big brand” smartphone I am already noticing some of the X1 features and benefits are missing.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

11

13

0

This phone will allow you to take better photos!

Xperia 1 II 12/07/2020 by Idjbell

Camera I have an A7 and a A9….so I like my photography, and this is the key reason for using this phone. Its so seamless for anyone who’s used a Sony Alpha camera- with the menu and control in Photo Pro mimicking the Alpha cameras so well. The photos come out very well indeed- but they are more reflective of the actual image you see. Many cameras these days are so full of programmed software that you get a picture that might have that “filtered” look but is nothing like what your seeing with the naked eye. And for me I want the photo to reflect reality. You can always filter away to your taste once you have a good photo. It just gives you more choice. There is a dedicated shutter button- which makes the whole experience so much more camera-esque. It allows for half press too. This is game changer in terms of making this a camera focused phone. Photo Pro is where you find all the options to change your camera- with Auto/Programme/Shutter and Manual. Eye AF and focus tracking are as per the camera range and ensure your locked onto the thing you want in focus. For anyone who’s never used this before you will be amazed….especially when taking a snap of your pet! Lenses go from ultrawide 16mm, 24mm and zoomed 70mm- although all are 12MP there not all the same quality. (more later). There’s 20 frames per second if you want to capture that perfect moment and when stored in google photos they store as 1 picture which is handy for easily reviewing your shots. Imaging Edge pairing is easy enough and transfer simple and quick. The app allows camera control, although for me its just the best way to get a shot out that you want to share immediately. Shape/Design It’s a tall phone, but not as wide as you’d expect based on the normal design. Which at first seemed odd, but it afforded me a good grip of the phone- not got the biggest hands in the world so was always able to have a good grip on it. The side tap activated menu was clearly designed well to fall into reach when holding it with one hand. Glass feels great on both sides and it feels like a solid well-built quality item. Game Play/Video The shape of the phone comes into its own for gameplay and video. Game play allows loads of screen to be on display with your hands well out of the way of the action. Call of Duty was amazing. The display is perfect for gaming or streaming movie. Vibration Adding in the vibration for both games and video was a new experience and one I liked a lot. It really makes a lot of sense when playing games and brings the game alive in your hands. I’m not sure I can live without this function in my life now I’ve experienced it. Battery I had no issues with battery life and getting through a day of work and play. I was using a phone with a pretty good battery anyway so for me this wasn’t a major change- but if your struggling on your current phone this should sort the issue. Head Phone Jack What a revelation….no more adapters or syncing issues….just a good old actual physical socket…Well done to whoever put that one in! My Niggle Let’s face it we all hope for too much and there’s only so far tech can go….but being a sports shooter at heart I was expecting too much from the 70mm lens. It’s naturally a bit softer as the sensor is the smallest on the phone so the photos are fine for mobile social media but not when trying to go large. Note the frames per second drop to about 11 on that specific lens (based on a simple test). Conclusion In summary….I’m an enthusiast photographer- so I adore the camera….adore! But I also fell in love with the design and shape, the vibration on games and movies. The battery does the job and it’s great to have a headphone jack. This phone is for you if you love putting some effort into taking amazing photos, are a gamer or an avid movie watcher.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

17

5

0

Smartphone for creative minds

Xperia 1 II 10/07/2020 by dovydas

Firstly, I was a bit sceptical about the body size and handling experience of this device, cause I am a big fan of Sony's Xperia compact smartphones (I owned Z1 Compact, Z5 Compact and XZ1 Compact). Fortunately, all my suspicions vanished instantly when I took the phone. Yes, Sony Xperia 1 II is the much taller smartphone, but it is much thinner, has the flat sides and proportionately low weight. One-handed mode helps operate phone efficiently with just one hand, which makes Xperia 1 II very compact smartphone in these days world. Perhaps the best characteristic of this phone design for me is that the Xperia 1 II is geared with a trusty 3.5mm headphone jack. Yes!!! A unique music listening experience is back! One more thing about Xperia 1 II – it has IP65/68 rating, which gives me a reliance in the phone, cause I am an amateur nature and wildlife photographer so a big part of my time in the wild I literally spend in mud and rain. Hands-on, I adore Sony Xperia 1 II for the camera features and synergy with alpha mirrorless cameras – for me (I own a superb beast – Sony a9), it is a cherry on the cake! An ultra-wide 21:9 aspect ratio 4K HDR OLED screen (perfect format for photographing), blazing speed (20fps burst shooting), extremely sticky Real-time Eye AF for humans and animals, Photo Pro app (which gives you full manual control of camera settings) and a good old physical camera shutter button – all these together mix into an outstanding impression and pleasure of using the Xperia 1 II. In the end, it almost feels like you are holding Sony a9! Furthermore, I was pleasantly surprised by the messages like "your finger is over the lens" or "move further away from the object", which are very helpful to make better photos when you are in the Camera app. On the other hand, if you want entirely control your shot – use Photo Pro app. The menu layout of this application is very similar to the DSLR/mirrorless cameras, so you can choose and adjust exposure mode (Auto, Program, Shutter, Manual), drive mode, focus mode, focus area, EV compensation, ISO, metering mode, flash, white balance, Face/ Eye detection AF settings. A histogram, level and grid lines can be displayed in real-time, which is super helpful when you need to capture that perfect moment! The three phone cameras (the main 24mm f/1.7, ultra-wide 16mm f/2.2 and telephoto 70mm f/2.4) give plenty of creative choices for users with different levels of experience – from a casual shooter to a professional. Only one slight disappointment in using cameras of this device is the rear camera. It does not support Real-time Eye AF, but images come out still very good. Finally, I am actually impressed by the battery life of this smartphone, cause it is quite small (4000mAh) for the flagship device, which is packed with the innovative features and runs a ton of powerful apps. In practice, just charge it, and you can forget it for the whole day! In conclusion, I highly recommend Sony Xperia 1 II for everyone who needs not only a smartphone but something more. As a creator myself, I primarily advocate it for creative-minded people, who always have that marvellous image in their head and only need a device to make it a reality. I am really enjoying that I can fully trust in Sony Xperia 1 II smartphone for all my needs!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

16

4

0

Sony Xperia 1 ii - What an Experience

Xperia 1 II 04/07/2020 by Highlanders

I’ve only had the Sony Xperia 1 ii for 2 weeks and can’t get enough of it. It’s a super looking 5G phone which feels solid in your hand and provides an excellent 21:9 4k OLED display with HDR 10 bit colour support. If you are accustomed to a smaller phone, this might initially appear too large and awkward to use with one hand, but with the Side Sense feature, tapping the edge of the phone provides access to all your Apps which are then easily selectable with your thumb. Also, although it is tall, it is also very slim which makes it easier to handle than some blockier phones. Transferring data from my old Sony Xperia was painless and I had everything functioning within approximately 10 minutes and with fast charging it was fully charged in no time. Battery care helps extend battery life and the phone soon identifies your charging pattern and automatically turns it on when you charge the phone during the night. Even better, you can set the time when you want the battery to be fully charged in the morning which also helps extend battery life. A real bonus is the 4k display and 12MP Zeiss lens triple camera which allows you to select 16mm, 24mm and 70mm. The Photo Pro app is very similar to Sony Alpha cameras and I particularly like the face detection Eye Autofocus which works flawlessly with humans and pets, plus the ability to select up to 20fps. The phone connects easily to a Sony Alpha camera so you can step back and remotely operate the camera and view the image on the 4k HDR OLED screen using the Imaging Edge mobile app. I was impressed with the cameras low light performance producing quality photographs, day and night. I no longer fear forgetting to take my APS-C camera with me to evening, family events or impromptu moments, as I now have a quality compact camera in my pocket. It’s helpful having a “camera key” on the edge of the phone to take a photo and if you continue to depress it, the camera key it will continue to take photos which can be turned into an animation with a single selection. I found this easier to use as it replicates a camera as opposed to pressing a button on the screen. Helpful camera messages I’ve noted so far, include, “finger is over the lens” and “move further away from the object”, which reduces the chance of taking out of focus photos. The one issue I found after taking a photo when selecting the thumbnail to view it, was that the camera app would close each time, so I then had to select the photos app to view my results. The Album app also keeps stopping and closes on selection, which isn't a real problem, but hopefully both issues are linked and a software update will resolve this soon. Sound clarity is superb, as a friend said when calling me, “it has a quality depth to it” and the true front stereo speakers make it a joy to listen to music and radio whether it’s through the jack connected headphones or just lying on a table beside you. You really need a protective case for the phone with a slightly raised area at the back to protect the three camera lenses and to prevent it slipping off any surface when you put the phone down – it is very slippery! Also, take care when holding the phone not to smudge the camera lens with your finger. At this price point I think Sony should consider including a cover to protect your investment as it’s not a cheap phone. This is a very tall phone, yet I found it easy to use after a very short time. Sony have pulled out all the stops to produce a quality 5G phone with superb sound quality and capable of creating stunning photos and video viewed on the 21:9 OLED display.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

25

5

0

It is a very capable phone with a lot going for it

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by Colin F

I have been using the Sony XPERIA 1ii for about a month now, although I am not a technical person when it comes to using a mobile phone I do have an amateur passion for photography, I am using the Sony A9 move from the A77ii to the A7iii and then to the A9. For me a phone as a means of communicating are all much the same, so that means that a new phone is bought for one of two reasons the first is to have the latest model and if you fall into this category you will not be disappointed with the Sony XPERIA 1ii The second reason is to have a better platform to accomplish certain things be it photography or gaming,etc. for me I was looking for a phone that would enhance my photography experience. Have I found that tool in the Sony XPERIA 1ii well the short answer is Yes, but am I blown away by the performance No, but this is because I am comparing it to my A9 camera which I should not, I am not a video shooter, so the videos I have taken with the Sony XPERIA 1ii are very good and the sound is clear the wind noise cancellation is good as well, the Camera in still mode is a very capable function but the point and shoot person may be a little disappointed as most point and shoot people are in to selfies and that camera is not the best but you are not likely going to print the selfies so this may not be a problem. But the main camera is capable of producing some very good photos but to achieve this you are going to have to use the Sony photo app and this requires a small learning curve, but once mastered you should not be disappointed. If you own a Sony E mount camera there is great communication between the phone and camera and for me this is by far the best reason to own this phone. To summarise, this phone is a very capable and fast, the screen is superb the battery life is also good, lasting between a day and a half & 4,5, or more if just used as a sat-nav and phone in the car, I am not able to say how good this phone is for gaming as I don’t play game at all. As a camera it is not good enough to replace my A9, but the A9 sets a very high bar, but I think it is very capable of doing a very good job, the video side I think will be a good thing to add extra content when I am out with the camera. What is missing from the camera is the ability to edit photos in the camera before uploading, but the way the phone and camera are able to communicate with each other is also a winner for me. Is this phone worth its asking price, that is a personal thing that only you can decide, but for me I think it is a little expensive for my needs but only time will tell?

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

3

0

Brilliant. Love it.

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by Rocket

When changing my mobile phone the biggest worry in advance and the main reason I don't change my phone very often is whether I'll retain the same level of access and interaction with the new one that I have with the old. In this instance I needn't have worried. I was able to transfer all my contact information, history and photos over to my 1 II from my Google backup. It only took a short time and then I was ready to begin trying out the 1 II's features. One of the main reasons I was so interested in the 1 II was due to the camera spec. 3 high quality Zeiss lenses and close working with the Alpha camera team was too much to resist. I'm a strong advocate for Sony's camera range possessing an A7rII and an A9. Claims that the focussing technology from these cameras had been incorporated into the 1 II was something that excited me. In practice the choice of lenses is excellent. I'm not a fan of the digital zooms and in practice they didn't deliver the best quality images but used at their listed focal lengths the lenses are brilliant. The camera workings didn't feel as intuitive as I would have hoped, but after a short while I found them quick and easy to use. The autofocus systems are excellent. I couldn't post the images here, because they're of recogniseable people, but the autofocus tracking was excellent and everything I had hoped for. Even more impressive was the cameras ability to handle difficult lighting conditions. Shooting into the light and low light shooting foxes even the smartest of cameras, but the 1 II's metering system coped really well with both challenges. See the images attached. The colour richness and accuracy of the files was first class. I've never been one to carry a camera with me all the while I'm outside. Now I don't have to, as the 1 II will give me the ability to capture the shots I want to. I know I said I don't change my phone much, but the previous phone is still a current model and can still be purchased. A true indication of how good the 1 II is, is the fact that I use it a lot more than I did my previous one. While waiting for my partner to shop I decided to download and play the Call of Duty game included with the phone. It's brilliant, addictive and loads of fun to play. The sound is good. Streaming continuity is excellent and the screen size suits the game well. The controls are also easy to use. On the video streaming front, I've not had to wait or had videos interrupted when streaming from the usual sites. They search and load quickly. The picture quality and sound is excellent. Music steaming services work well and with a good set of headphones the listening experience is brilliant. I never watched much video on my previous phone. I watch more with the 1 II. The screen is a good size without being too bulky and the fact that it handles 4k is just utterly amazing. Some other clever things that those techies at Sony have thought about is the screen size. You can split the screen in two and use different apps in the upper and lower half if you wish. Another quirky feature is the scale down capability of the screen. You can utilise this feature that reduces the effective working area of the screen to allow one handed operation if it suits you. For me I just love it the way it is. I have so much more to try out. The video for one thing looks to be truly exceptional. I'll try and post a further update when I've given it a try and it's stopped raining outside. But, for now, in summary, I love this phone. It looks great. The black glass makes it stand out as a top class phone. It's a tough as old boots. i've dropped mine a few times and the phone has never flinched and still works wonderfully. Great features, great camera, great sound. Forgotten how much I like the Android system. I never thought I could incorporate a phone into my life as much as I have the 1 II. Just about says it all ....

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

14

4

0

A poor Music player, but what a screen!

Xperia 1 II 03/07/2020 by rodc

First up I have to confess I am not a person who walks around with a mobile phone glued to my hand, I see them a great distraction on public transport, a nice time filler when waiting on something else and the modern Walkman. :) Firstly let me be clear Im not one of those people who walks aorund with a phone in their hand all day, I really use them for when on public transport or filling time before I do something else. Its first cosideration for me is to use it as a modern day Walkman. Then an access to the internet. Lastly a text messenger. Apparently they can be used for phonecalls too ;) My last phone was a Sony too, I have to admit Im a huge fan of the brand, I have a Sony Playstation, a Sony Bravia TV, a Sony NWZ mp3 player, plus headphones and yes also a (playstation) T-shirt :D The Xperia 1ii is primarily, for me, a music player and I only really listen with headphones on. Unfortunately the 1ii isnt any sort of improvement on the first Sony phone I owned, an Xperia xz, it has a far bigger memory - a mighty 256gb!- so no need for an SD card for all my FLAC tracks. The issue is there just isnt any real options for playing music on this phone. Its Dolby Atmos on or Off and DSEE on or off. Gone are the presets of previous Sony products like Studio, Arena, Live etc There is a Graphic Equaliser but it doesnt seem to actually do much and if you turn off Dolby Atmos the Equaliser is automatically greyed out. DSEE isnt really noticeable either. Im pairing this phone with wired headphones from AKG, Sennheiser, RHA and of course Sony's own, through each of these its barely perceptible that the few options do anything more than a slight change in volume. I get better from FLAC files in my old Xperia xz than its latest incarnation. Volume too is an issue, it simply isnt loud enough for me, Sony seem to have become paranoid about this EU ruling about headphone volumes, it something that exists on the original Xperia, both phones have the pop up asking if you really want to go louder and then not actually going much louder. Ive not experienced this issue with other mp3 players, just the ones that Sony make, in dark corners of the web stories exist about being able to get more volume by changing settings in the Firmware but Im not confident about going there. Hopefully it something Sony can sort with an update for the UK when we finally leave the EU later this year. So for music Im afraid I go back to an ipod. There are of course so many more features to this phone the multi window is an interesting feature, though I still find its easier just to slide left and right to look at instructions on one page and then swipe left to input on another, but I think thats more a habit thing and Im going to persevere with using the 21:9 in the hope of really grasping its benefits. The screen itself is huge. While this means its not fitting in any pockets of my summer clothes securely, it does mean that viewing games and tv are brilliant. The screen is a thing of beauty, having never understood why people would want to watch anything on a small phone screen, the Xperia 1ii has converted me with its punchy crisp imaging it really is fantastic, I actually look forward to watching things of a special effects nature on this and can see myself watching video on long journeys, rather than just using it to play music. There has been no overheating issues, though when trying the pre installed Call Of Duty it was getting hotter. I should admit though that by this time I had purchased a wallet for my 1ii and it maybe that the overheating is due to both the demands of a game like COD and the fact it sits inside a leather wallet. As Im more of a Solitaire man I decided not to push my new phone in this area again, but with music blasting away in my headphones and Solitaire on my screen, hours went by without any noticable heat issues. Which kind of brings me to battery life, the old Sony I had become very good at guzzling the battery juice, it was becoming the main force in making me consider getting a new phone. Granted its few years old now, but I had always used the Sony Battery Care option and regularly used the preinstalled AVG to shutdown battery drainers that werent used. The 1ii still has the Battery care, but theres no AVG or similar, the battery at the moment is substantial. On all day, numerous phonecalls, mindless moments lost of Facebook and news apps, still enough juice to give me 3 hours of music in my wired headphones and not even drop below 50%! A a side note, a fully charged battery doesnt make a sound different from other notifications, or at least I cant figure out how to set it up that way, again my old xperia had a special sound for letting you know it had fully charged, this is more a nuisance than a major issue, but its kind of annoying constantly going over to check if its finished charging or just telling me something else. Obviously there is a whole world to do with the camera and video recording, to be honest its not something I have any real interest in, about 5 years ago tech had got to the point that photo taking was as good as it needed to be for me, since then Ive kind of smiled and nodded along politely when friends start talking about there new phone and its camera, my friends have said they think the 1ii has an amazing camera, though what else they said I didnt hear, I just nodded along until they had finished, but apparently its like good, like really really good. So there. lol Lastly a note for left handers, there is a button on the lower right of the phone that opens the camera app directly, with the 1ii I am constantly holding the phone in my right hand and typing with my left when my right palm nudges that button and the screen is taken over by the camera settings. The weird thing is that as I put my old Xperia xz away for the last time, I noticed that it actually has the same button in its bottom right, yet I had never even noticed it in all these years. So Im assuming its something to do with the larger size of screen with the 1ii, thats causing me to hold the phone too tightly or slightly differently and so trigger it accidentally. I am trying to be conscious of this whenever im typing, but Im hoping theres a way to just turn that button off permanently. All in Im okay, with this phone, there are lot of features I will never use and more I will struggle to get the best out of, but I know its in the top of its range for everything, except the Music Player, which Sony seem to have done as an after thought. Of all the people to get this so wrong, I would never have thought it could be Sony.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

15

11

0

Quality/design/operation.

Xperia 1 II 02/07/2020 by McPor

Product report. Breakthrough by Sony. A phone which has taken me away from big competition. Love this phone but had taken me a week to get the best out of it & it gets better. Have used the larger phones when they first came out 'really liked the screen size for pictures & You Tube" but for the rest of the time it was always a pain to use single handed. The other issues were that they were just too awkward to put in pockets or car dash mountings so reverted back to standard size phones. The Experia X1 11 is the perfect size for me, large screen but can be used single handed & still fits into pockets & car mounts easily. Forward facing speakers allow wide screen hand held viewing without covering speakers,"why doesn't everyone do this?" Thought Multi Window was a gimmick initially until I started to import some of my old apps from a different os so used this function to have log in details from original app in one screen to new app in lower screen. Use this function probably on a daily basis now. Battery over first week lasted until late in evening but as week went on battery life just seemed to get better & better now usually leaving me with about 40% at night. What brought me to this phone was the Photo Pro camera app. Currently I use a Sony A9 with 100/400 & 16/35 Sony lenses which is a great combination for just about everything from landscape to Formula 1 photography. Unless I am doing long exposure photography with filters I have started to leave my 100/400 lens on my camera constantly & use my Experia 1 11 for everything else. It is never an A9 but I am now taking more close up & wide angle photos without going to the bother of changing lenses. The phone layout mirrors the screen settings of the Sony camera which is great. This phone is also a work tool for me & must earn its keep & be reliable. It is used to make & take calls, emails, download attachments, & take photos from 8am to 8pm. It can be used hands free as the speaker is loud as well as being clear to the person you are speaking to. It has been dropped twice with no harm done thankfully. I ordered a non Sony cover which protected the phone & made it grippy to hold but Side Sense stopped working & the screen started playing up when taking calls, so be careful with your covers. I have now reverted back to a bare phone. I am in the fortunate situation where I could go back to my original phone as it is in perfect condition, & to be honest in the first few days of use I thought I just might go back. But now after a few weeks use & setting things up just the way I like I will staying with my Experia 1 11 it is perfect for me. Well done Sony, this is just a great quality device, it's possible this is the start of doing for phones what you have done for cameras.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

15

6