14

4.7 based on 14 customer reviews

11
2
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14 Customer Reviews

0

No rolling shutter

ILCE-9 10/06/2018 by Sebastian Squirrel

I work as a stills photographer on film sets where silence is compulsory. For years I used Nikons, or Canons, housed in sound proof blimps. The blimps were never completely sound proof, and were cumbersome to use. My first Sony was an A7Rii which was completely silent while using the electronic shutter, but it did suffer from "rolling shutter" causing fast moving subjects to distort. Then I bought an A9. This is a fantastic camera!!! Absolutely no rolling shutter distortion. As with all Sony Alpha cameras the flip out screen affords you waist level operation which is another fantastic benefit above the Nikon and Canon rivals. I have actually sold all my Nikon and Canon kit, plus their blimps. I even sold my Leica M9 as the Sony A9 is far superior. Buy one, you'll love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Focus monster

ILCE-9 11/05/2018 by Recon

I have been looking to get into the serious end of photography for a while now and was lucky enough to not be already financially tied into a brand, which gave me carte blanche as far as new gear goes. I also wanted a travel camera and ended up getting the RX 10 Mk4, which was a jaw dropping intro to Sony cameras, 24-600mm lens and 24 fps(superb feature!) being the two outstanding features that lifts this camera to a level unimaginable 10 years ago. The quality of this camera made choosing the A9(almost went for A7R3....) farily straightforward. I wanted a high fps rate as I shoot a fair bit of action, good low light capability as I shoot a lot of concerts and I wanted to go full frame for that extra bit of quality. In use the A9 is a really solid bit of kit. It is built like a tank, heavy in all the right ways and has an incredible array of features. Having got used to Sony's menu setups with the RX10 I found it easy to set up eye recognition, turn the camera into a fully silent shooter and was able to figure out the key features quickly. The reason I ended up going for the A9 over the A7R3 was the focussing system. No point in having twice as many pixels if they ain't in focus. This camera will focus on all sorts of things that would defeat normal AF and can track it all the way across the screen. Centre focus really is right tight in the centre. Flexible spot is good for focussing off centre. Tracking focus is outstanding. It can even focus on midges floating around in the sunlight. More pixels would have been good, but we can't have everything I guess. As it is the camera produces superb images, accurate colours can shoot in light that would be too weak for a lot of other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great tech but..

ILCE-9 06/04/2018 by Whoareyou

Love the technology and capacity of the A9, but it’s body needs a bit of work. Already have a bit of paint rubbed off and less than a year and it needs sending over because of defective wheels. Pro capacity, so please have a pro body!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Best camera for 35mm I have used today

ILCE-9 15/03/2018 by BerndinBerlin

Nothing really new to report here that hasn't been published before. The autofocus on this camera is second to none. This includes with some limitations even adapted lenses from Sigma which work for my line of work (fashion) almost perfectly. The massive buffer is amazing and the image quality is without a flaw. The silent electronic shutter is amazing, even though for model shoots you should have an acoustic feedback that the shot was taken. Models seemed a bit confused and were wondering when I would get on with things. The user interface is over all still a bit crowded and confusing but I could get around it by setting up the personalised menu as well as storing the most used settings. Only one thing raised a red flag: After only two days in the studio the PC sync terminal became loose. To the point that the camera needed repair as I was afraid it would break off completely. In 20 years working in the business and being in the studio with almost every camera system available I have to say that this is a first. With the known hot shoe issue Sony should maybe have a second and close look at quality control and sturdiness. Overall: Best 35 mm camera I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-9 24/02/2018 by RGillibrand

This feels like that camera I've been waiting years for. Fantastic autofocus system, excellent high ISO performance and customisation that allows you to get the camera to work the way you want. The only downside is that the camera lacks Playmemories App and S-Log support, for the price and spec of the camera this is a real let down. Other than that I couldn't be happier with the camera and I hope it serves me well for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best camera

ILCE-9 22/11/2017 by John34533

This is the last camera I will buy because I am 70yo and I know it will perform for many years to come. I have 2 other Sony cameras R1 and Next which have been great. I am selling my Olympus and Nikon gear because the Sony A9 is so much better in many the menu is very easy to navigate, the features like eye tracking and 20 frames a second are brilliant. I get to use my Minolta lenses Regards John

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

amazing camera

ILCE-9 09/11/2017 by ChrisS9

Bought a few months ago and have used regularly for weddings since July this year (2017) Love using it and the speed and tracking is great using eye autofocus and for other uses like for birds in flight etc tracking is incredible

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Best Camera

ILCE-9 08/11/2017

This is probably the best camera I've ever owned. Having followed the evolution of the A7 series I made the leap from the A7RII to the A9 and haven't regretted it at all. Superb quality, ease of handling - the best of the best?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20/08/2017 by Photography Bob

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Sony Revue the A9The speed of the camera is the ma

ILCE-9 14/07/2017 by Dinky

The speed of the camera is the main reason I purchased it also the size making it easier to carry

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

5

0

Great Features

ILCE-9 19/06/2017 by Chris7W

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago and so far I'm delighted with its ease of use, excellent auto focus and its light weight, I traded in a Canon 1DX plus Canon lenses and I'm 100% sure I made the right decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

4

0

Never miss a shot

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by Sydney2

Since my purchase of the A9, my photography has moved to a higher level. The fast focus, Eye focus and stabilization, means perfection in every shot. Erganomics of this camera makes the A9 ready within seconds for any situation. The silent shutter is perfect for wildlife. I am not a professional, but having the A9 makes me feel like one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

8

0

The perfect wedding camera

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by TomB11

The lack of banding with the electronic shutter means I can use it with confidence all day at a wedding under any lighting conditions without disturbing anyone or disrupting a ceremony with an annoying click. The new joystick and touchscreen makes precision spot focusing a breeze and coupled with the fast auto foucs I rarely miss a shot. The improved battery lasts so long I only need two for a 12 hour day shooting up to 5000 photos. A 2nd card slot means I can shoot with two in all day and not worry about switching cards regularly throughout the day to guard against card failure. I really like the new dial for drive mode & focus mode select, and the overall design is a step up from the a7ii series. The no blackout takes a bit of getting used to, but once you've used it for a while it's annoying going back to another camera without it. These cameras instantly feel outdated compared to using the a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

2

0

Interesting camera

ILCE-9 12/06/2017

I bought this camera to take stills on movie sets because it is silent. I haven't had enough time to review it properly yet, but so far, so good.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

49