Skip to Content

RRP

£2,239.00

(incl. VAT)
41

4.5 based on 41 customer reviews

27
11
1
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

41 Customer Reviews

0

Very good for my needs as stills photographer.

ILCE-7S 15/04/2017 by Melbourne

I bought the Sony A7s to shoot film stills. it's one of the only full frame cameras that shoots silently and also has top of the range high ISO ability, as a stills photographer these are two absolute requirements. I also use it for shooting video too which is very good.. I like the files from this camera and do not need mega pixels. I use this camera professionally and find it reliable and does what it says.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

More than a camera

ILCE-7S 19/03/2017 by mmaja

The Sony A7s is the perfect companion for every situation. Not only does it have the most detailed Full HD sensor of all cameras in this price range, but also the endless possibilities this camera gives are amazing. It starts with mounting pretty much every lens that was ever designed apart from the m43 standard and ends with low noise performance even in high ISO range. It is small, lightweight and unreached in pretty much every aspect in it's price range and way beyond that. There are a few things which should be improved (hopefully in future models) such as: - 4:3 video mode for anamorphic filming (i put this on top together with 4k 60p because it is sooo important) - internal 4k 60p - internal nd filter - Full HD slowmotion up to 240 frames - keep the menu system it's great, just make it a few less options - shutter button record video, I love the side button, which is great but it should be able to record on the shutter too, don't you think. - 2 sd card slots (pretty much every wedding videographer who is serious about his business uses this camera) we trust you sony, but we need that 2nd slot for double recording in case of card failure! - better and more codecs (the images sooc are amazing already, imagine what a 10bit prores or whatever could achieve) - give us some a6500 AF performance, not for video but for stills, 20mpx would be awesome too. I think that's pretty much it. Add my features and we have the perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't take a bad shot.

ILCE-7S 11/11/2016 by Notgoliath

Loving the A7S. With the 1.8 55 lens, I'm suddenly far more talented. The best thing is the iso. Why do they even make the other cameras? I had the A7r for a day and immediately went back and swapped for the 7S. Stunning shots. I can see in the dark with style!! My only complaint and it's a big one, is Playmemorieshome and software upgrades and use of online features does NOT play nice with Windows 10. Come on Sony, the whole creative world is NOT on Mac. Sort this out now please.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera l've ever owned

ILCE-7S 10/09/2016

I purchased this photographic revelation a while ago and it has proven it's worth. Despite it's 12 megapixel sensor it takes excellent stills and in low light situations it execels capturing vibrant colours even in the dimmest of lighting conditions. This camera is best suited for videography. You really have to own one to experience what would have been considered almost impossible a view years ago. Sony products have always been my first choice and have never let me down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good

ILCE-7S 30/07/2016 by DuFi

I'm using it for 3 months and I'm happy to have this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

ILCE-7S 14/05/2016 by Cowboy mike

Great camera very disappointed with instructions book very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

EXCELLENT CAMERA FOR VIDEO

ILCE-7S 05/05/2016 by MD Khaled

This is the best dslr camera for video i ever used for my production.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent but more needed on battery & resolution

ILCE-7S 24/04/2016 by ElegantSolution

Product is excellent for landscape, night, portrait, zoom, and general photography. Not as good for extended use in video due to battery length limitations (2 hour videos) and timing (30 min videos only) and heating limitations (heats fast).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7S 11/02/2016 by ayam747

I bought this about 2 or 3 weeks ago and its truly a fantastic camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Low Light, bad battery, not straightforward

ILCE-7S 30/01/2016 by Ant M

If you're coming from a Canon, you'll know the ergonomics are terrible on this camera, the ease of use is not so good, but there are Youtube vids to help, definitely look for an external battery source and a cage to help with ergonomics. Always good to join a forum to discover the potential of this camera. Picture quality and low light performance is great, a real upgrade from Canon rebel lines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7S 20/01/2016 by szmyk

Bought about 2 weeks ago as main astrophotography and night photo camera. My first impression on build quality is excellent, well made solid feel metal body. The only thing I don't like is the strap which looks very cheap. Company should improve that. Image quality is excellent, I could reach around 10 000ISO without much noise appearance. Still experimenting with the settings but I'm sure the one interested in low light photography will be very happy with this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony A7S

ILCE-7S 30/12/2015 by Shanvest

I love it for its compactness and digital viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent camera, especially for video BUT......

ILCE-7S 08/11/2015 by solkazu

I bought this just over six months ago. it has been a great camera, but is severely let down by battery performance, and the lack of low cost/low profile native lenses. I generally use 3rd party lenses with an adapter which is a great alternative, but it would be a massive improvement to see a range of small, light and low price lenses which match the potential of the body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing low light for video

ILCE-7S 11/09/2015 by ajchelsea

I bought this camera for it's video capability. I had been using a Canon 7D but I needed something more flexible for lighting conditions. The low light ability of this camera along with S-log2 has greatly increased the quality of my work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera in its own field

ILCE-7S 09/07/2015 by ideas

I bought this camera six months ago. It has become my pet and a great tool in my hand. The satisfying results of video captured with this high end in small body media equipment brings you par with many of the industrial professional acquisition devices. There are features like HDR capture for photos which can be used if you need photos of higher quality than the 12MP the camera's limit. For now I have abandoned an idea to get a video camera. This seem enough for all my video acquisition and delivery requirements when the appropriate accessories are used. Adverts, wedding and poster creation, name them. The automatic switching of the viewfinder to monitor can be turned off if not required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible piece of engineering!

ILCE-7S 01/07/2015 by hectorsole

I can't believe how Sony Engineers could fit in this tiny package all this incredible features. Probably Sony is the best sensor maker company in the market right now, and for this tiny price you've got an incredible piece of engineering full of capabilities... This camera will be in a museum in the future, for how it changed the low light understanding and I'm sure will be the start of great new products either from Sony and competitors.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Gorgeous colours and fantastic range

ILCE-7S 29/06/2015 by Acteon

I've been using the A7S for a few weeks after agonising over the right model to choose - with an RX1R for hi-res shots, I opted for the A7S due to the fantastic colour range, shadow detail and night-time capabilities. I haven't been disappointed. I've produced some fantastic pictures on the camera and have only really dipped into its capabilities so far. Build quality is the usual high Sony standard, the camera feels perfect in-hand. The grip is perfect, the dials are suitably smooth and the weight is lighter than you might expect. Overall I'd highly recommend this camera for people who want to produce high quality shots, though anyone wanting super-enlarged prints might be better off with the A7R or even the upcoming A7RII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7s

ILCE-7S 27/06/2015 by painandvirtue

Happy purchase, disappointed by the firmware update process, and seemingly lack of firmware updates. First camera had fault on USB and had to swapped, second one has been fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

shutter broke after 3 months

ILCE-7S 23/06/2015 by Shootdirect

I owned this camera for three months and the shutter stopped working. Sending off to be repaired now. The bottom line is this camera has too many menu choices, is too small and not at all robust. The sensor is incredibly exposed when changing lenses which as we know if a nightmare for dust particles entering the camera body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great camera ruined by moire and aliasing and stup

ILCE-7S 21/06/2015 by wilco

Potentially a great camera ruined by Moire and aliasing when in full frame video can only be remedied by changing into apc mode The record button is very awkward to use

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera with great specs

ILCE-7S 19/05/2015 by thelaee

Well I bought it few months ago and have already shot my short documentary film with this camera. So far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very happy videographer

ILCE-7S 05/05/2015 by nvida999

What a camera! Size, power, adaptability, low-light, look, feel; everything about it is a delight!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best camera I have ever owned!

ILCE-7S 22/04/2015 by jbh2k5

Having been a photographer now for over 15 Years I have owned a range of cameras. The A700 tempted me away from Canon many years ago - the alpha range kept me faithful and now the innovation of the a7s has totally blown me away. The low light capabilities have opened up so many creative opportunities in photography as well as film making - an area that I have been exploring more and more and was beginning to feel limited with my a55. I love the image quality that comes out of the RAW files from this camera - the colour rendition is good and edges are crisp - even with in camera sharpening turned all the way down. S-LOG is a revelation for those projects where I get the time to colour grade. I am currently using canon glass on this camera and an so pleased to find a lens system that is versatile enough to be used in this way. Keep up the innovation Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Magic

ILCE-7S 18/04/2015 by Xweini

Used for a few months now, great camera. Quality of sensor is superb regarding subtle colour rendition. The ISO ability is miraculous. Start up is slow compared to my DSLR but the the benefits ie small size and ability are worth it. Worthwhile having a couple of spare batteries to hand. A thing of beauty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0