RRP

£3,500.00

(incl. VAT)
17

4.2 based on 17 customer reviews

10
4
1
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17 Customer Reviews

0

Advanced

ILCE-7RM4 13/02/2020 by T Money

Great piece of equipment. My online content is going to the next level. Really looking forward to this new adventure...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09/02/2020 by MikkiY

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Suspect & inconsistent focusing

ILCE-7RM4 27/12/2019 by Rip2ley

I've only had this for about 5 weeks having moved up from the A6500, first impressions, I was blown away, loved the bigger body, the deeper grip, the amazing EVF, the 61 mega pixels full frame, the 26 mega pixels in crop mode, the gorgeous colours. Prior to purchasing I'd read forums and reviews so I knew what I was getting, I expected more visible noise & I expected the focusing to be several milliseconds slower than the A9 but I didn't expect the focus to be quite as suspect and inconsistent as it is. I'm not sure if the firmware update has affected it, it sure seems to have become worse following the install but sometimes the camera just won't focus on the subject at all, I'm pressing the back button focus & nothing happens regardless of the focus area in use, I have to move the camera away from the subject, quickly focus on something else then back to the subject, missing the shot. I've also noticed that it doesn't track well, especially on small birds and the focus point tends to jump around, you can point it at the birds head & it will jump off onto the branch, if the bird moves off, it doesn't go with it. (I have the focus setting at 1 locked on) My most recent use of the camera was in woods in the Cairngorms, I had locked the ISO not to go about 4000, it was fairly dark and overcast so every shot was taken at ISO4000, could it be the dark conditions are affecting the camera? I wouldn't have thought so given Sony's rating of it. Now having said that, before the firmware update was released I photographed red kites and I was thrilled by the amount of keepers I got, way more than I did with the A6500, the example attached was shot using the 100-400 at ISO 4000 and it's sharp. I've read that having 61MP will show up any flaws in technique, you need to up your shutter speed to compensate but using it in the Cairngorms I was getting inconsistent results at 1/1000, not many were critically sharp while some were, example 2, but I really struggled to get anything small, the focus system simply didn't seem fast enough to lock on before the bird was off. So in summary, am I happy with my purchase, not really, would I recommend it? Possibly for landscape works or where something is static but not at this time for wildlife or nature. I'll keep testing and if the focus still provides inconsistent results then I'll sell it and get the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

5

0

Size&weight means much more usage than my DLSR

ILCE-7RM4 19/12/2019 by Tanp01

Menu system is fiddly but once I had my 3 setups stored everyday usage is fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good but not perfect

ILCE-7RM4 18/12/2019 by Booo

Traded in a Nikon z7 for this for the auto focus which is fantastic but colour and noise at hi iso not up to Nikon standards

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

10

29

0

Beautiful Camera

ILCE-7RM4 18/12/2019 by MALKI

Looking forward to using this new Camera next year when time allows

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

5

14

0

Amazing

ILCE-7RM4 16/12/2019 by Ron19578

Love everything about the camera and the focus system for Birds in flight. It's another world makes photography fun again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

9

0

Absolutely the best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 14/12/2019 by chumph

This camera is without a doubt the best camera I have ever owned. The detail in the images form the headlining 60MB sensor is astonishing, while the autofocus modes are varied and very quick and accurate. The amount of customisation available is staggering, and it will take time to find all the available options and set the camera up in the best way for you; but make no mistake: this is currently the best landscape camera that money can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

9

0

Great improvments. Buttons and dials much better.

ILCE-7RM4 04/12/2019 by auchlunies

Owned for 1 month. used for wildlife photography. Excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

18

0

For those who want the biggest

ILCE-7RM4 03/12/2019 by jackie27maybe

61Mp is a thing, and this camera manages it very well. Slightly noisy if you pixel peep, but the focusing and the image quality is immense. The menu system sucks, and Sony need to address that sometime. Overall very happy with camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Beautiful in every way

ILCE-7RM4 02/12/2019 by Zed007

I bought it today and I can not compare it to any camera I have used before

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Superb definition from cropped images.

ILCE-7RM4 26/11/2019 by eddiejpeg

I love macro photography and the superb crop factor of the camera gives me extra magnification without loss of detail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Let me down on a 3 week tour

ILCE-7RM4 25/11/2019 by Pwruss

Fantastic camera in terms of features and performance but seems to have caused my 24-70GM lens to fail. If so want Sony to help. In any case, such an expensive pro lens should never fail for light amature use and it has not been abused in any way.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

Response From Customer Support
28/11/2019

Hi Pwruss

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Fingers crossed

ILCE-7RM4 24/11/2019 by Delboy23

I bought this as a supplement to the A9 for the extra megapixels

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

It's like cheating

ILCE-7RM4 05/11/2019 by GMphoto65

After 15 years with Canon i jumped to Sony , I'm a unit photographer on TV sets . To say that Sony is ahead of the game is like saying a Ferrari is ahead of a Go-Kart . Yes the Menu's take a little getting used to but once you are there are no issues . The quality is astounding , i can't believe 61 million pixels works so well in low light .... this is by a distance the best full frame camera around ..... the surprise bonus tis the APS mode , would never ever had considered it but it packs 26 million pixels and i use it all time for theatre stuff ...... i'm not sure Canon and Nikon will last if they don't up their game

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

9

0

Great upgrade from my A7Riii

ILCE-7RM4 08/10/2019 by Pasbags

Well worth the upgrade from my A7Riii for the auto-focus alone...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 03/10/2019 by Andy 61

I've only had it since Saturday but what a fantastic camera easy to set up and use great quality pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5