Skip to Content
120

4.7 based on 120 customer reviews

93
25
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Tiny yet Mighty

ILCE-7RM2 26/01/2016

I've always liked small cameras because the essence of photography, for me, it to go places and photograph what I see, and a heavy, bulky camera has many drawbacks for this use. Until now small cameras have come with compromises, but the A7RII leverages Sony's technology and design expertise to put everything that's needed into a very small package. The viewfinder has removed all my previous doubts about non-optical finders, the silent shutter option is brilliant in many situations and the image quality is spectacular. I've paired the camera with the Sony 28mm f2.0 lens and the Wide Convertor that gives me a 21mm f2.8, also a Leica 50mm lens which is very fast to focus using peaking. This setup fits into a very small bag, one that was originally bought for a Leica M kit. I'm able to continue using my Canon EOS lenses using a third-party adaptor. AF performance is excellent but long term I'll be switching to native Sony FE-mount lenses to unleash all the camera features, e.g. eye focus. It's no small thing to switch camera systems, especially when you rely on them as tools to make a full-time living, but after 25 years it looks like "sayōnara" Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke Down after 3 Weeks!

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2015 by Taid

I sold my A7 and had my A7r2 for 3 weeks when it went wrong on me. It kept switching itself off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

1

120 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 19/01/2018 by RuslanArt

Great camera with alot functions, helps in every moment take amazing pictures.Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, could have less preset

ILCE-7RM2 14/01/2018

It is a surprising camera. Compact and high quality. The sensor coupled with good lenses has a beautiful high quality render. I mostly use the camera in the studio. The autofocus is quick and precise. The eye tracking is surprisingly accurate for portraits. Customising controls could be more flexible. Too many amateurish presets, not needed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good 'Stills' camera

ILCE-7RM2 12/01/2018 by Ybloc

Bought for its ' Resolution & Dynamic Range ' - this camera has lived up to expectation for low noise / highly detailed images & effective post production manipulation Using a loxia 21mm - 1.8 lens the images are superb & the much criticised battery life is not much of a problem as - being a manual lens - I use much less battery driven functions The body isn't the most comfortable to hold - the function buttons are not as 'to hand ' as they could be but - for my first camera since my pentax me film days - this is as close as it gets & you forgive the foibles once you see your first images I don't shoot video so can't comment but the memory function is very useful - I have Hand Held General Aperture Priority / Manual Astro / Manual Landscape / Aperture Priority Landscape & a quick dial selection brings up 85% of the settings for a given type of shot The image stabilisation is excellent & also effective against tripod vibration in wind or when stood in running water My recommendation is upon 'stills' photography !!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Still an awesome camera!

ILCE-7RM2 07/01/2018 by Bravomikefoxtrot

3 years after it’s release there is very little to compete with it at any price. It’s biggest competition is from the recent additions to its own family. Paired with quality glass the a7rII is capable of amazing images be they still or moving. I waited a long time for this camera and it is everything I need it to be and more. I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect

ILCE-7RM2 02/01/2018 by Macaz

I bought this camera as an upgrade to an A7II I owned, it is superb, image quality is amazing as is dynamic range. Sony’s firmwarecentric drive with omission of features to try and make you upgrade ala A7RIII does leave a bitter taste, prime example is ‘my menu’ sorely needed on this camera and implemented on the III, with literally no reason other than the aforementioned to miss it off an update to the A7RII which is a shame because honestly the jumbled menu system is this cameras weakest aspect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Incredibly powerful

ILCE-7RM2 26/12/2017

formerly a long term canon shooter, i made the switch to sony with the a7 a few years ago. After being truly impressed, i upgraded to the a7Rii and wow was it worth it. AF is fast dynamic range is amazing, and the build quality is by far the best I've experienced on a camera. This is definitely a keeper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features like big file size

ILCE-7RM2 26/12/2017 by Labib

I started to buy accessories for it. The only thing that I don’t like is the short life of the battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgraded from the a7ii - very impressed

ILCE-7RM2 18/12/2017 by Jr987

Upgraded from the a7ii before my trip to Myanmar...so glad I did. Can really get close into the subject without being on top of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Next Step Up

ILCE-7RM2 18/12/2017 by PixAl

Despite only having and using this camera for a couple of weeks, a recent trip to Snowdonia has shown me that this camera is a significant upgrade over my previous A7 ll. It is more or less the same to use - comfortable for any current Sony user - but the photos taken are exhibiting greater resolution, dynamic range and detail. Used with Zeiss Batis or Loxia lenses, this camera is giving me the best photographic experience l have ever had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning image quality.

ILCE-7RM2 15/12/2017 by Philcam777

Decided on A7rii after reading so many great reviews and I was certainly not disappointed. I am just blown away by the image quality. The amount of detail from this 42 megapixel sensor is amazing! I would definitely recommend this camera without hesitation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbelievable camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/12/2017 by Dovber

I switched from canon. Was nervous but best decision. Amazing camera. So clear. So sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning resolution

ILCE-7RM2 08/12/2017 by KWTMEDIA

Bought this to pair with my A7sIi use mainly for video, wanted it mainly to match but also to take photos. Not only is the photo resolution crazy good. But video capability particular in APC mode is unmatchable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just the ticket

ILCE-7RM2 01/12/2017 by Camshy

Replaced a7R mk1 as needed autofocus that worked faster. mk1 was used for landscape work so not an issue. mk2 is great, still small and light but with the features I need. Considered mk3 but the improvements and new features are not required at this time and I already have lots of spare batteries. On that note I will say that, in nearly two years use I never found battery life that big a deal. They are small enough to carry spares around plus I charge camera via power bank or car when out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost unrivalled images

ILCE-7RM2 28/11/2017 by Nevalti

I bought my α7R II with a Sony 28mm f2 + 55mm f1.8 + 85mm f1.8 and the images from the α7R II and these E-mount lenses is almost unrivalled. Comparison: I have owned Olympus, Minolta and Canon systems. I also have a Sony α900, a Sony α65 and a Sony α6000. All are excellent cameras but with drawbacks that I hoped the α7R II would overcome. It does to some extent. Surprisingly, the α7R II is noticeably slower than the α6000 in virtually every respect. I will keep my excellent α6000 which now forms part of a compact 2 body E-mount system. The α900 is far quicker to use in my hands and it feels far more of a professional tool. The small size of the α7R II limits how many controls you can cram on the body. I will probably speed up a bit when I get more used to the α7R II but it will never be as easy to use as the α900. The lack of instant digital zoom is disappointing. It is available on both the α6000 and the α65 and can be very useful, especially for a fast sequence of images. It may sound odd wanting a feature that will obviously degrade the image, BUT it works remarkably well on the 24mb sensor and should be brilliant on the 42mb sensor. You CAN fool the α7R II into thinking it has an APS-C lens fitted in which case it will ‘zoom-in’ but I can’t find any way of assigning that to a button for instant use. You have to slog through the menu to do it – which is a great shame! I do realise that I can crop the image later BUT the way it works in-camera seems to give better results, don’t ask me why, and if you are taking a lot of distant shots, cropping in camera saves a lot of time. Maybe Sony can enable it in a future software upgrade, so let me explain some other advantages. If you are using (say) the 55mm lens for full length portraits, you could use the button to ‘zoom-in’ to head and shoulders without changing lenses. The α65 does this in 2 stages, which is even better. If (say) you are taking head and shoulder portraits with an 85mm you could instantly ‘zoom-in’ to a close-up head shot. With a 42mb sensor and a good lens – why on earth not? Complexity: Hmmm. Every facility has a use, so perhaps I shouldn’t complain BUT access to the right part of the menu is a challenge to the old grey matter. The menus could be better! Battery life: Let me just say that I always carry at least three batteries. It is the penalty for small size but the α9 battery, with a bigger grip, would be far better. It was a strange decision by Sony to continue to use this tiny battery. Conclusion: The α7R II deserves high praise. The image quality is nigh on unbeatable. The camera does have flaws – but don’t they all? I can live with the flaws and hopefully Sony will upgrade the software to remove some of them. I can’t really claim that it is good value for money but I have no regrets that I bought it or the superb E-mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Huge Performance in a Small Package

ILCE-7RM2 20/11/2017 by Vision of You

Purchased approximately 3 weeks ago. Full disclosure I am a Canon user for over 30 years and bought the Sony as it was smaller, lighter, better resolution and could be used with non native lenses via an adaptor saving me replacing all the glass I own. Images are amazingly sharp with lots of detail, the what you see is what you get is fantastic and saves all that chimping that we are sometimes tempted to do. Battery life once you have learnt your way round the menu is pretty good, somewhere around 250-300 shots which is roughty a 32 gig card of Raw images. Have not tried any of the apps as of yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/11/2017 by KANAPATHI

easy to carry any where and use full frame camera, takes very good picture.Trying to learn more about it, too early to review fully

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 30/10/2017 by Pauld77

I bought this camera because of the resolution and great dynamic range. I do a lot of interior shots in low light and the dynamic range in the 42MP raw files give me the exposure latitude I need in difficult lighting situations. The silent shutter mode is also a very useful feature. Coupled with the new FE 12-24 mm f4 G lens I am getting great sharp detailed images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just a great camera.

ILCE-7RM2 25/10/2017 by Mike Mce

As a professional I have moved over from Nikon, to the Sony range of cameras and are extremely pleased with the results. And have no regrets about moving over to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The camera is everything I hoped it would be.

ILCE-7RM2 14/10/2017

I have only had the camera a couple of weeks, and so far it has impressed me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the expanded dynamic range

ILCE-7RM2 02/10/2017 by GailJo

Love the camera - my second Sony full frame - so I found the menu system easy to operate, but I still struggle changing focus points. However 90 % of the time I chose zone focusing and it always seems to focus on what I want - I change to spot focus only when necessary. The Dynamic Range is amazing as well as the low light performance. Love the new silent shooting - but shame this is not possible with some of teh features, if you want to use them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Career Changer

ILCE-7RM2 01/10/2017 by Neilisin

I bought this after being 10 months without a larger format camera. Since getting it I'm changing the hobby to a more professional occupation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

phenominal piece of kit

ILCE-7RM2 24/09/2017

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago from my local camera shop after siginifcant research. I already owned the a7ii so the plan was for this body to become the back up and the a7rii to become my main work camera. I easily configured the camera to my needs as I was used to the menu systems on the a7ii and rx1rii. The camera produces amazing images especially when combined with the G master range of lenses. I shoot everything but enjoy landscapes more than anything and the RAW files that this camera produces is phenomenal. Due to the high megapixel count, I am able to easily stitch panoramas together or crop huge images to highlight key areas of landscape without any loss of clarity or sharpness. I have no issue with the battery life, it is to be expected in a mirrorless camera so I use a battery grip and have a few spare batteries. The build of the camera us good, I haven't tested out the weather sealing yet so I can't comment as only having it for a couple of weeks. The feel of the camera in the hand is good and solid, I don't need the battery grip to increase the stability. I would like to have a bit more time to get used to the camera before writing a more detailed review but I am really happy I have bought this system and really look forward to putting it through its paces in the next few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful Camera, Amazingly Detailed Photos

ILCE-7RM2 23/09/2017

I purchased this camera back in April 2017 with the new Sony FE 85mm 1.8 Lens and that is definitely the first thing that made me fall in love with this camera. The colours are fantastic, the resolution is like nothing I have ever seen before and the build quality is a huge improvement from my old Canom which now really does feel like a toy compared to my A7Rii. The huge focus area is something that I never thought I would need, but I now find myself using it every day. This camera works very well in the dark (authough that crown is taken by the a7Sii) and I have got many great shots. I then decided to invest some real money into my camera and purchased the Beautiful Sony Zeiss 35mm 1.4 T* Distagon, which is my current lens as of two weeks ago. And wow. I know this is more of a review for the lenses but the amazing detail that this sensor collects is outstanding. In my opinion, the A7Rii is by far the best Photography Mirrorless Camera on the market for High resolution shots. (Untill the A7Riii comes out that is) I didn't give this a 5 Star rating however because no product comes without its fault. And to some people it could make or break the decision to buy this camera. The decision to not include 2 SD slots or even UHS-II support or USB3 is a bad choice in my opinion. If there is one thing all Photographers want, it is security... To know that even if their main card fails, there would be a second back up mirroring the main. And that is a big deal breaker for people. The only other thing I have found to be not so good with the camera is the sometimes severe rolling shutter recording video with this camera. It's not the biggest off out for me as I won't be using video alot but to most it would. And for that I recommend instead getting the a7Sii. Overall, this camera has been a true amazement. The quality is fantastic, the pictures are always sharp, the auto focus is lightning fast and the features like the NFC and remote controlling is amazing. If you want to delve deeper into the world of Photography with a professional camera, you have completed the sesrch. Look no further than the A7Rii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera for performance and usability

ILCE-7RM2 07/09/2017 by revdavephotography

I purchased this two weeks ago. Easy to get to grips after the A7R. But so much better handling, shutter and ease of use. Very excited by getting 42MP sharp images at 1/15sec HANDHELD! Fast autofocus especially when use with Eye AF for people shots. Fits well in the hand and the shutter button falls under the finger more naturally. Weather sealing stood up to an early morning shoot in thick mist. Overall, couldn't be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3