Skip to Content
86

4.7 based on 86 customer reviews

68
16
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Tiny yet Mighty

ILCE-7RM2 26/01/2016

I've always liked small cameras because the essence of photography, for me, it to go places and photograph what I see, and a heavy, bulky camera has many drawbacks for this use. Until now small cameras have come with compromises, but the A7RII leverages Sony's technology and design expertise to put everything that's needed into a very small package. The viewfinder has removed all my previous doubts about non-optical finders, the silent shutter option is brilliant in many situations and the image quality is spectacular. I've paired the camera with the Sony 28mm f2.0 lens and the Wide Convertor that gives me a 21mm f2.8, also a Leica 50mm lens which is very fast to focus using peaking. This setup fits into a very small bag, one that was originally bought for a Leica M kit. I'm able to continue using my Canon EOS lenses using a third-party adaptor. AF performance is excellent but long term I'll be switching to native Sony FE-mount lenses to unleash all the camera features, e.g. eye focus. It's no small thing to switch camera systems, especially when you rely on them as tools to make a full-time living, but after 25 years it looks like "sayōnara" Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke Down after 3 Weeks!

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2015 by Taid

I sold my A7 and had my A7r2 for 3 weeks when it went wrong on me. It kept switching itself off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

86 Customer Reviews

0

The A7RII is a beauty and a beast.

ILCE-7RM2 18/05/2017 by Sharky61

Only had this camera a few weeks having moved from a Canon 5DMkIII and it's simply amazing with so much packed into such a small body. The AF and IQ is top notch and the EVF allows me to get the correct every time. Looking forward to adding more Sony Zeiss and G Master lenses to my camera bag. Thank you Sony and long may your development in the full frame mirrorless system continue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Digital 35mm Full Frame Camera out there

ILCE-7RM2 09/05/2017

Excellent in every way, very fine pictures, the full frame sensor is beautifully sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 01/05/2017 by JimmyG76

I bought the A7rii 3 weeks ago mainly for landscape photography. Having heard reviews of its complicated menus I wasn't sure how easy it would be to get used to but I've been simply amazed. I find the menus intuitive, with the custom buttons easy to set up. The camera is the most forgiving I've ever used. It allows you to make something out of even a mediocre shot with its gorgeous sensor. Coupled with a couple of Zeiss lenses, the pictures are rich and the colours pop to an extent that you almost get a 3D look if the lights right. Build quality is excellent and it's already taken several knocks with no damage as I've clambers up and down rocks and through streams. I honestly couldn't ask for any more out of a system except a longer life battery although adding an extra couple isn't the most expensive thing in the world. Certainly up there with the best cameras you can get at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Features

ILCE-7RM2 29/04/2017 by John4p

Great camera. Fun to use. Lots to learn. Looking forward to getting the best out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The Best.

ILCE-7RM2 28/04/2017 by malcitmoon

Having had over the years cameras from the other manufactures i.e. Canon and Nikon I decided to change to Sony to reduce the overall size of my gear and I was pleased I did and pleasantly surprised. I started with the A7ii and moved up to my present camera which is the A7rii and I must say its just what I've been looking for its compact has every thing i need and very customisable. The files it produces are excellent clear and crisp and ripe for cropping if needs be. An all round excellent camera, Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love this camera!

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by weatabix

I switched from the Canon platform to the A7Rii. It took a while to make the decision, but it was basically driven by my need to balance high quality photography with video. Some of the reviews I read had issues with the menu system, but in fact I have found the menu to be pretty straightforward. Whenever I've got stuck, there's loads of information on the internet about how to do x or y. Yes, its a high-end camera and takes time to get to know, but its a straightforward step-by-step process. I'm looking forward to getting the most out of this beautiful product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Image Quality

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by Squirrelman

Bought as a 'walk-around' camera for landscapes and general photography, l did try it out on wildlife (slightly cropped image attached) and was delighted by the results. Weight and ease of use of the camera are great. I found manual focus a little tricky for some subjects (focus-magnifier, set on one custom button did help). Battery life is a little limiting, but this is a well-known issue, and two batteries are included in the kit. So far, I have not run into problems, despite recording wildlife videos. Overall, a big 'thumbs up'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

best upgrade todate

ILCE-7RM2 03/04/2017 by grn31

I have been using the a7R 2 and I am still finding out more ways in which it works

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Mirrorless CSC

ILCE-7RM2 31/03/2017 by John not a nickname

This camera is mostly very good. However, I do a lot of astronomical photos. It would have been helpful to provide for a cable release to hold the shutter open for more than 30 seconds. In low light conditions, the preview screen is very faint and shows a lot of sensor noise. Perhaps an "Astronomy mode" could be created whereby the sensor integrates the signal over a longer time to bring up the image intensity and reduce sensor noise on the preview screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/03/2017

Fantastic camera the offers a compact design with advanced features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic cameras with avoidable flaws

ILCE-7RM2 23/03/2017

Excellent stills and video quality - should be 5 stars but for: 1/ lens "play" - rotation slackness in the fit of lens to body is regarded as "within spec"! This makes the camera feel cheap and badly made. 2/ custom saved menu settings only for the first group of settings. Unfortunate as there are many CAMERA settings that are not in the camera part of settings, which one would want to set as part of a custom setting. 3/ paying for apps to give features which should be free. 4/ Shutter sound should be BEFORE AND AFTER the exposure, not just afterwards!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Best camera available

ILCE-7RM2 08/01/2017 by Axeman

The features, especially the absence of bias filters etc enable a much wider range of photography, including infra-red, extreme night shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

I simply love this camera

ILCE-7RM2 21/11/2016 by Drstoo

I simply love this camera. It's expensive ,but that's because it's the best camera out there? Well I think so, I like the feel, the weight ,the buttons specially the menu , am still getting familia with this. I find taking actual pictures really fun. So straightforward to use and having a girlfriend who's A professional photographer really helps, if I get lost and need help? It's funny because she uses Canon , but with the right adapter you can use any Canon lens you want ,in fact you can use any lens you want, added with Sony native lenses, there is very little you can't photograph . Yes I had to dig deep into my savings but I feel really proud of my camera. A great investment... apologies for not posting any pictures, am still getting my head around PlayMemories mobile

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great compact full frame camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/10/2016 by Dids63

This is a great compact full frame camera which gives great image reproduction highly recomended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Excellent Camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/09/2016 by Anvil

I've only owned this camera for a short time but the improvements over my original A7 are stunning. It is much faster to use in every way and along with the 24-70mm GMaster lens I have paired with it...terrific quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera, really bad battery life

ILCE-7RM2 19/09/2016 by troxley

I investigated a long time if I should buy this camera or the Nikon D810, since I previously own a Nikon DSLR, but heard so many amazing things about Sony new mirrorless, had to give it a try, sadly, there is so many new things to learn, that one cannot grasp immediately, so I would recommend not to go out on the field if not sure what you are doing, the TERRIBLE BAD BAD THING is battery power, although Sony provides 2 batteries, this is not enough for a full shooting, be careful if mixing with video. I love the apps and I am doing some star trails at the moment but the batterie dies very soon, so It is impossible to leave it alone even 1 hour when doing this type of shootings, or when using the EVF, which is the nice new element of this camera, If i want to save the battery I have to turn it off and I am missing a lot. The positive side is the sharpness of the images, but the lenses is another down side since the Master kind is very expensive, compared with Nikon or Canons.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

12

0

Exactly what I want from a camera and more!

ILCE-7RM2 18/09/2016 by Rebel sketchy

I bought this a month ago and the wow-factor at not ooh it's picture quality but all the other features is growing by the day. If you've researched this bit of kit you'll probably know that there's nothing else like it out there. If you can afford it, don't hesitate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

An excellent camera with great video

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2016 by Encephalartos

Had the a7rII for just over a week now and I am really happy. Upgraded from the a7ii and I am very impressed with not only the photo quality but also the video performance. I was also very impressed with the build quality of the camera too which is an improvement from the a7ii. I would recommend this camera any day!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

New Era of Professional Camera Stills/4K

ILCE-7RM2 11/08/2016 by FDAC

I have been a Pro for 30 Years. This Camera embodies everything Traditional especially build quality and everything Futureproof. It's an inspiration to work with. The image quality beats that of my previous medium format digital back. With Sony E-fit lenses especially G Master or Zeiss you have a world class tool at your disposal, plus let's not forget 4K Video. Superb achievement by Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

a7mkii

ILCE-7RM2 05/08/2016 by Braggers

I spent some 12 months looking at cameras before buying the a7 mk ii as having a Sony Bridge and DSLR prior I was concerned about lenses and wanted the right camera for my circumstances. The a7 gave everything I desired and Full Frame. I bought the camera on 24th June and have now had it just over 1 month and can honestly say I am impressed by its capabilities. For the first time I have used this only in Raw and am amazed by the picture quality and ease of editing. This is a very good camera and one I will cherish for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM2 25/07/2016 by P3NG

A well executed product with superb pictures and nice styling and innovative features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A game changer

ILCE-7RM2 18/07/2016 by Sony man

The sharpness of images I have taken with the A7r ii are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Excellent camera with a couple of small flaws

ILCE-7RM2 03/06/2016 by crentonphoto

Bought this primarily for the 4k video and in body image stabilisation. Also bought a metabones adaptor so can use with my Canon lenses. Light, great image quality and brilliant video. I'm a pro photographer, and would expect a second card slot at this price, and there is no option to assign a custom button to super 35mm/aps-c mode. Eye focus only works in still mode, not video and focus tracking in video is good, although not perfect. Menu is quite complicated, but I guess that's because there are an awful lot of features! Overall though, this is a great camera and very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

7

0

As usual Sony leads the field.

ILCE-7RM2 03/06/2016 by Smerdy

I haven't used this camera a great deal yet ,but what I have seen it produce is fantastic. I sold my Nikon outfit so I am used to good equipment and expensive camera's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2