Skip to Content
93

4.7 based on 93 customer reviews

73
18
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Tiny yet Mighty

ILCE-7RM2 26/01/2016

I've always liked small cameras because the essence of photography, for me, it to go places and photograph what I see, and a heavy, bulky camera has many drawbacks for this use. Until now small cameras have come with compromises, but the A7RII leverages Sony's technology and design expertise to put everything that's needed into a very small package. The viewfinder has removed all my previous doubts about non-optical finders, the silent shutter option is brilliant in many situations and the image quality is spectacular. I've paired the camera with the Sony 28mm f2.0 lens and the Wide Convertor that gives me a 21mm f2.8, also a Leica 50mm lens which is very fast to focus using peaking. This setup fits into a very small bag, one that was originally bought for a Leica M kit. I'm able to continue using my Canon EOS lenses using a third-party adaptor. AF performance is excellent but long term I'll be switching to native Sony FE-mount lenses to unleash all the camera features, e.g. eye focus. It's no small thing to switch camera systems, especially when you rely on them as tools to make a full-time living, but after 25 years it looks like "sayōnara" Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke Down after 3 Weeks!

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2015 by Taid

I sold my A7 and had my A7r2 for 3 weeks when it went wrong on me. It kept switching itself off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

93 Customer Reviews

0

A decent switch

ILCE-7RM2 18/07/2017 by robpotter22

I bought this camera three weeks ago, so after a long period of umming & ahhing I made the switch from Canon to Sony. I'm a big fan of canon glass, so I awaited the arrival of the 6D MKII, but the body of the A7RII offered a variety of functions I couldn't have with my 6D (And the newly announced 6D MKII) so I decided to go make the jump. Some of the appeals were 4K filming, with 720p footage of up to 100fps & obviously the camera sensor itself. I use the A7RII for both filming & photography & it blows a lot of previous cameras I've used out of the water for both. The slow motion footage obviously isn't the best, but with the right post production it can look fantastic. In terms of photography, when taking photos in the RAW format, the images are a dream to edit in lightroom/photoshop etc. So as a digital camera, this ticks most of the boxes for me. The menu is a lot more complex than that of the canon menu, but after three weeks of use, I'm already getting used to it. Negatives are - the battery life isn't fantastic in comparison to the 6D & the lens functionality could be better (bearing in mind I'm using canon lenses with a sigma adapter).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it!

ILCE-7RM2 11/07/2017 by Sarnia

The quality of the images surpasses my expectations and I particularly love the silent shutter option and the excellent low-light capability. I get sharp shots at very slow shutter speeds and hand held. It is battery-hungry but at least Sony now supply two as standard. This has all the functions/features of a heavy, bulky DSLR and more on top. I love the balance in the hand, the fact that it is relatively compact with a 50mm prime and I found the controls highly adaptable so that both me (ex Canon) and hubby (ex Nikon) made the transition without any hassle. We liked it so much we bought a second one so that we didn't fight over it! The icing on the cake would be to have either a screen that flips toward the body for protection when not in use (Canon) or at least a protective cover to prevent damage to the screen when putting in and out of bags - you can buy a very good hard cover but I think that this should be provided as standard as you pretty much need one from the get-go. I would also like a screen that flips out in both the horizontal and vertical planes for portrait orientation but, hey, I guess you can't have it all. The range of lens is a little limited but is growing and Canon lens fit (I believe) with full functionality. Otherwise, happy, happy, happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

LIVING UP TO EXPECTATIONS

ILCE-7RM2 28/06/2017 by Yelmottob51

I bought this product to replace my D7200 as I wanted to go full frame. After considerable research I came to the decision to buy this product and even after a short time I can see and feel the difference in handling and results. To date I am more than happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb Images

ILCE-7RM2 27/06/2017 by Gwahir

I have now had my A7R ii for three weeks, after trying one for a fortnight a few months ago.It is a truly stunning camera, however I find the controls and particularly the menus very difficult to navigate and not in the least bit intuitive compared to my Canon 5D Mk 4. The Image quality is exceptional and well worth making the effort learning the camera operation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

very good camera

ILCE-7RM2 17/06/2017 by bigboytwin

I have just bought the camera and am very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Nearly there.

ILCE-7RM2 29/05/2017 by Trev Staff

Just got the A7Rmk 2. What a camera. Does everything I want it to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-7RM2 27/05/2017 by Pencaled

Have only had a few days with the camera but so far very happy. I liked the alpha 7r but this is such an incredible improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The A7RII is a beauty and a beast.

ILCE-7RM2 18/05/2017 by Sharky61

Only had this camera a few weeks having moved from a Canon 5DMkIII and it's simply amazing with so much packed into such a small body. The AF and IQ is top notch and the EVF allows me to get the correct every time. Looking forward to adding more Sony Zeiss and G Master lenses to my camera bag. Thank you Sony and long may your development in the full frame mirrorless system continue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Digital 35mm Full Frame Camera out there

ILCE-7RM2 09/05/2017

Excellent in every way, very fine pictures, the full frame sensor is beautifully sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 01/05/2017 by JimmyG76

I bought the A7rii 3 weeks ago mainly for landscape photography. Having heard reviews of its complicated menus I wasn't sure how easy it would be to get used to but I've been simply amazed. I find the menus intuitive, with the custom buttons easy to set up. The camera is the most forgiving I've ever used. It allows you to make something out of even a mediocre shot with its gorgeous sensor. Coupled with a couple of Zeiss lenses, the pictures are rich and the colours pop to an extent that you almost get a 3D look if the lights right. Build quality is excellent and it's already taken several knocks with no damage as I've clambers up and down rocks and through streams. I honestly couldn't ask for any more out of a system except a longer life battery although adding an extra couple isn't the most expensive thing in the world. Certainly up there with the best cameras you can get at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Features

ILCE-7RM2 29/04/2017 by John4p

Great camera. Fun to use. Lots to learn. Looking forward to getting the best out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The Best.

ILCE-7RM2 28/04/2017 by malcitmoon

Having had over the years cameras from the other manufactures i.e. Canon and Nikon I decided to change to Sony to reduce the overall size of my gear and I was pleased I did and pleasantly surprised. I started with the A7ii and moved up to my present camera which is the A7rii and I must say its just what I've been looking for its compact has every thing i need and very customisable. The files it produces are excellent clear and crisp and ripe for cropping if needs be. An all round excellent camera, Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love this camera!

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by weatabix

I switched from the Canon platform to the A7Rii. It took a while to make the decision, but it was basically driven by my need to balance high quality photography with video. Some of the reviews I read had issues with the menu system, but in fact I have found the menu to be pretty straightforward. Whenever I've got stuck, there's loads of information on the internet about how to do x or y. Yes, its a high-end camera and takes time to get to know, but its a straightforward step-by-step process. I'm looking forward to getting the most out of this beautiful product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Image Quality

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by Squirrelman

Bought as a 'walk-around' camera for landscapes and general photography, l did try it out on wildlife (slightly cropped image attached) and was delighted by the results. Weight and ease of use of the camera are great. I found manual focus a little tricky for some subjects (focus-magnifier, set on one custom button did help). Battery life is a little limiting, but this is a well-known issue, and two batteries are included in the kit. So far, I have not run into problems, despite recording wildlife videos. Overall, a big 'thumbs up'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

best upgrade todate

ILCE-7RM2 03/04/2017 by grn31

I have been using the a7R 2 and I am still finding out more ways in which it works

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Mirrorless CSC

ILCE-7RM2 31/03/2017 by John not a nickname

This camera is mostly very good. However, I do a lot of astronomical photos. It would have been helpful to provide for a cable release to hold the shutter open for more than 30 seconds. In low light conditions, the preview screen is very faint and shows a lot of sensor noise. Perhaps an "Astronomy mode" could be created whereby the sensor integrates the signal over a longer time to bring up the image intensity and reduce sensor noise on the preview screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/03/2017

Fantastic camera the offers a compact design with advanced features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic cameras with avoidable flaws

ILCE-7RM2 23/03/2017

Excellent stills and video quality - should be 5 stars but for: 1/ lens "play" - rotation slackness in the fit of lens to body is regarded as "within spec"! This makes the camera feel cheap and badly made. 2/ custom saved menu settings only for the first group of settings. Unfortunate as there are many CAMERA settings that are not in the camera part of settings, which one would want to set as part of a custom setting. 3/ paying for apps to give features which should be free. 4/ Shutter sound should be BEFORE AND AFTER the exposure, not just afterwards!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Best camera available

ILCE-7RM2 08/01/2017 by Axeman

The features, especially the absence of bias filters etc enable a much wider range of photography, including infra-red, extreme night shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

I simply love this camera

ILCE-7RM2 21/11/2016 by Drstoo

I simply love this camera. It's expensive ,but that's because it's the best camera out there? Well I think so, I like the feel, the weight ,the buttons specially the menu , am still getting familia with this. I find taking actual pictures really fun. So straightforward to use and having a girlfriend who's A professional photographer really helps, if I get lost and need help? It's funny because she uses Canon , but with the right adapter you can use any Canon lens you want ,in fact you can use any lens you want, added with Sony native lenses, there is very little you can't photograph . Yes I had to dig deep into my savings but I feel really proud of my camera. A great investment... apologies for not posting any pictures, am still getting my head around PlayMemories mobile

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great compact full frame camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/10/2016 by Dids63

This is a great compact full frame camera which gives great image reproduction highly recomended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Excellent Camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/09/2016 by Anvil

I've only owned this camera for a short time but the improvements over my original A7 are stunning. It is much faster to use in every way and along with the 24-70mm GMaster lens I have paired with it...terrific quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera, really bad battery life

ILCE-7RM2 19/09/2016 by troxley

I investigated a long time if I should buy this camera or the Nikon D810, since I previously own a Nikon DSLR, but heard so many amazing things about Sony new mirrorless, had to give it a try, sadly, there is so many new things to learn, that one cannot grasp immediately, so I would recommend not to go out on the field if not sure what you are doing, the TERRIBLE BAD BAD THING is battery power, although Sony provides 2 batteries, this is not enough for a full shooting, be careful if mixing with video. I love the apps and I am doing some star trails at the moment but the batterie dies very soon, so It is impossible to leave it alone even 1 hour when doing this type of shootings, or when using the EVF, which is the nice new element of this camera, If i want to save the battery I have to turn it off and I am missing a lot. The positive side is the sharpness of the images, but the lenses is another down side since the Master kind is very expensive, compared with Nikon or Canons.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

12

0

Exactly what I want from a camera and more!

ILCE-7RM2 18/09/2016 by Rebel sketchy

I bought this a month ago and the wow-factor at not ooh it's picture quality but all the other features is growing by the day. If you've researched this bit of kit you'll probably know that there's nothing else like it out there. If you can afford it, don't hesitate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0