Starting at

RRP

£2,000.00

(incl. VAT)
26

4.7 based on 26 customer reviews

20
3
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great, Game Changing Camera, Awful Menu.

Body Only 02/05/2018 by SmilingG

I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers’ models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing ? All over the place ! It has been trial and error finding out what works and what doesn’t work. Two of us who own this camera have spent hours ” fiddling “ to find out how to track, find out when Eye AF works. It isn’t intuitive, it is not a camera for the faint hearted. When focusing using the viewfinder or in live view, the light grey box is almost impossible to see, it should be yellow or orange. If there had been a fully articulating screen with proper touch screen using the camera would be so much easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

2

26 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

They squeezed Helvetica!

Body Only 22/05/2018 by chiefdesigner

Pros: • Very good image quality • Works well with my C**** DSLR lenses over 3d party adaptor • Eye focus for portraits is great and very reliable • Very solid low light performance, working ISOs even beyond 12800 • The best system in the market to use with legacy lenses Cons: • Slow turn-on time. Feels around 2.5 seconds to the point where AF is ready. • Colours are good but surprisingly not on par with my 6y.o. DSLR. And lag behind my L**** mirrorless. Sony's rendering is too mass-market — all bright, contrast and saturated and lacks subtlety, accuracy and delicacy. Colours in the shadows are usually overcooked or compromised. • Terrible lack of attention to designing details. Squeezed(!) Helvetica in the menu. That really hurts. • Generally poor ergonomics and usability. • Non-removable useless marketing labels on the body (4k ready, T*). I can't understand why I have to look at those helpless marketing efforts for the rest of my ownership of this camera? It's just a very bad taste. • At the same time port covers lack any designation and you have to open them one by one to find what you need. • Menu is awful. Poor English translation, poorly structured, torture to use. • Body design is just poor. All button labels made with different font size, haptic feedback differs between similar controls, some discs just unpleasant to use. • EV correction disc is pretty useless. You may have +0 on the disc and -3 in the camera simultaneously which is not very clever. • Lock-on autofocus is a bit unpredictable. Works well for one object on plain background but in most of environments it tends to suddenly jump from one are of the image to another. • The display and EVF show different colours and generally lag behind other cameras I used in terms of quality. Also EVF tends to noticeable flicker. Conclusion: A very good sensor in a mediocre body. Very poor design culture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Overly rated

Body Only 20/05/2018 by dino124

The camera is trying to do much work itself.. it constantly trying to focus and trying to be smart. I really don't rate the support from Sony either... they have a lack of knowledge of their own products. In Phase detection AF the cameras is constantly jumping. In contrast AF the camera is constantly focusing.. Although the clarity of the images and colour is fantastic, the camera is overshadowed by the lack of support. I would rather have less of a camera and better support.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer support
22/05/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

This camera gives you the option to control all the shooting settings manually. Here's the link to the user manual to help you in case you needed to change the settings: https://bit.ly/2IFvESs.

Hope this helps.

Sony support team.

0

The Future is here

Body Only 19/05/2018 by JPRolley

I have used Nikon for years, latest being a D500 for sports and wildlife, a D610 for portraits. Both excellent for what they do. The A7 III does both jobs in a smaller body. Full frame and 10 frames a second. Awesome focus with amazing eye detect and tracking. I have read plenty of complaints about the menu system, after spending a few hours on youtube, I have no issues with the system and love the function menu. Image quality is excellent, colour and sharpness. The one down side G lenses are very expensive. The upside my Nikon lenses work very well manual with adapter, in fact my Nikon 85 1.8 produces fantastic images, they seem sharper than they did on the Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply brilliant

Body Only 16/05/2018 by Syashinka

I bought this camera to replace my bulky Canon kit around a month ago. The combination of size, resolution and features is simply streets ahead of anything at a similar price and above. I also use a Leica X2 and the Sony is threatening this for portability vs features. I use this for my work as a designer and also for travel shots which I take a lot of. I cant recommend it enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Early days but highly delighted

Body Only 13/05/2018 by Kennuk

Had the a7iii about two weeks. Limited use as yet. Rings are great very detailed and drisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High specification using latest technology

Body Only 13/05/2018 by Laverdaman

I bought this camera at the Photography Show at the National Exhibition Centre in March. Have not really used it yet, but first impressions are good. I have switched to a Sony DSLR having found my 8 year old Pentax set-up wanting on a recent overseas trip. I will need to invest in a telephoto lens and a flash gun and Sony seem to have a high quality range of accessories - but they are not cheap! I have bought a 16-35 f4 lens and because the camers is small and quite heavy, the essential grip extension which screws onto the underside of the body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early days but Wow what a camera

Body Only 12/05/2018 by Flyingtame

Only had this camera for a few weeks but love it. For a so called entry level camera it’s stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great! Insane video

Body Only 09/05/2018 by Mwnija

The video out of this thing is insane. It’s an amazing camera, and great in low light. The only two little things I don’t like: the screen is not fully articulated and the door covers on the side are a bit annoying. Otherwise it’s crazy what you get out of this little camera, battery lasts all day too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

Body Only 08/05/2018 by Lowlander

Problem with shutter mode and aperture mode images overexposed. Auto was fine if a little vivid.

0

4

Response From Customer support
10/05/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

You can get in contact with Sony support to get help with this issue using this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV.

Sony support team.

0

Great camera

Body Only 07/05/2018 by wiseolsimon

Considering it’s price position amongst the A7 family, this camera offers the best features. Video performance, still performance, responsiveness, battery life are brilliant. Touch operation should be expanded to other uses including menu operation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Life Changing

Body Only 07/05/2018 by kore86

Super happy with the a73. Shot on Canon for around 11 years, more recently shooting on two 5d4 bodies. Played with a friends a73 and just couldn't believe the features and ability. So sold one of the 5d's for the A73 as an experiment to see how I would get on with a totally new system. At first it was just my dedicated video work system using an adaptor with Canon lenses, however it slowly became my main tool for stills work as well. The focus system is insane. The low light performance is ground breaking. The video quality is better than anything I have had in the past (I know there is better stuff out there but this is comparing it to Canon DSLR video output). I primarily shoot commercial stuff for print and promotion, events and weddings. As for Video, I work as part of a team making documentaries. Up to now it has fit both sides of my work flow perfectly. My first Native Sony lens arrives tomorrow so this will give me even better AF performance. I was a real Canon fan boy. So much that I worked for them for 5 years! And resisted trying anything else. Anyone who has a mixed workflow of stills and video, I recommend giving one of these bad boys a go. I can focus on peoples eyes man! Anyone who claims they can't be used in a professional output is wrong. It's a steep learning curve but worth every second. Quite Enjoy 10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 05/05/2018 by HughGriffiths

Finally got this camera after a month of waiting ... moving from an APS-C to full frame and mirrorless. I particularly wanted a camera and lens combo that was more forgiving to shake, and full frame was part of that decision. The A7 iii is a lot more than I expected. Certain,y the high ISO capability, i camera stabilisation work extremely well; but the whole thing is a delight to use. The controls layout ‘just works’ and the way I can quickly access key menu functions is brilliant.and the image quality ...I’m blown away! There is a negative ... the zoom direction on the lenses goes the opposite way to that which I am accustomed to. Maybe I will get used to that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Autofocus is awesome!

Body Only 02/05/2018 by Kristjan

Pros and cons after a week of use. Pros: + great autofocus, one of the best; + great sensor quality and low light-performance; I can use shots up to 5000 and 6400 ISO without worry; higher ISO-s are also OK in certain cases where the emotion outweighs the quality issues; + UHD video quality is very good; built in 1080p 120 FPS slow-motion is handy; + very flexible for customization; four main c-buttons and other buttons are customizable, too, so there are a lot of options. Neutral: - Eye- and face-AF are great but it'll take experience to nail it when the scene includes many people; I wish there was a way to have the camera to forget the current "face" and try and search for another one on the same scene; - I'm left-eyed so when I'm shooting through the viewfinder, my nose sits exactly on the thumb-stick; I can't control it with my right thumb at the same time, which means that the thumb-stick has limited use for me. Cons: - ergonomics aren't that great, but a lot better than the smaller Sony cameras; it'll take time to get used to; - no separate battery charger; - charging and USB port door design is not good; it'll wear down and break in time, unless you use separate battery charger and separate SD-card reader, so you'll want to get these in time or right away. - viewfinder isn't as good as I had hoped (I've used optical viewfinders previously); white balance is a bit "off" at times and it flickers under artificial light; resolution seems OK, though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great, Game Changing Camera, Awful Menu.

Body Only 02/05/2018 by SmilingG

I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers’ models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing ? All over the place ! It has been trial and error finding out what works and what doesn’t work. Two of us who own this camera have spent hours ” fiddling “ to find out how to track, find out when Eye AF works. It isn’t intuitive, it is not a camera for the faint hearted. When focusing using the viewfinder or in live view, the light grey box is almost impossible to see, it should be yellow or orange. If there had been a fully articulating screen with proper touch screen using the camera would be so much easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

2

0

Early days but good features

Body Only 01/05/2018 by Jetman

I was looking forwards to getting my hands on the camera. My 24-70 Zeiss lens mounted easily but the 35 mm 2.8 Zeiss lens had difficulty- a lot of force needed to turn it into place as if machining of Mount was not perfect. The wheel for choosing display , ISO etc was also stiff . Doesn’t seem to be as well made or finished as my A7ii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic machine

Body Only 01/05/2018 by phill_fisher

I bought this camera as I wanted to move to full frame, I am from a DSLR background but when this was released it blew the competition away. I'm extremely happy with the quality of the pictures and the product itself. My only gripe is the lack of multiple exposure options and a flip out tilty screen, also full touch shutter would be nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Digital cameras came of age

Body Only 01/05/2018 by RWB1

I feel that digital cameras just came of age, I have not enjoyed my photography so much since I moved to digital from film. The size and weight were my main considerations when I first looked at mirrorless, but the more I found out, the more I realised how they are an advancement on DSLR cameras with the Sony A7 having superior performance to any DSLR of a similar price point.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

just love it

Body Only 29/04/2018 by autofocus

i got this about 3 weeks now and i just love it coming from canon 5Dmkiii . A7iii is one of best i had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Features

Body Only 29/04/2018 by Chris7W

I have only had this camera for about 2 weeks but I have already used it on numerous occasions both for indoor portraits and outdoor landscapes and found it to be lightweight, excellent focusing and very easy to use. I also have the A9 and my intention is to use the A7 mainly for videos and so far I'm very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7iii

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29/04/2018 by OFc Yoda

Absolutely fantastic full frame camera, the sheer size or lack of it is unbelievable compared to others. The focusing system is spot on 9 out of 10 times! The battery life is awesome.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 27/04/2018 by Rafi345

Bought this one release and it's amazing! This beats other camera for features and results at an amazing price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera on the market

Body Only 26/04/2018 by Seed123

I've used this camera for the the past few weeks and I still can't get over how good this thing is... I can honestly say this can't be match.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

a7iii a fantastic camera

Body Only 22/04/2018 by roparki

i brought this as soon as it was released as an upgrade to my a7ii and i am very pleased i did,with the upgrades and the way it feels in the hand and of course the pictures. i have been into mirrorless system since it came out with the nex5 an then the 7 keep up the good work looking forward to the 4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0