Starting at

RRP

£2,000.00

(incl. VAT)
103

4.7 based on 103 customer reviews

82
16
4
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great, Game Changing Camera, Awful Menu.

Body Only 02/05/2018 by SmilingG

I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers’ models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing ? All over the place ! It has been trial and error finding out what works and what doesn’t work. Two of us who own this camera have spent hours ” fiddling “ to find out how to track, find out when Eye AF works. It isn’t intuitive, it is not a camera for the faint hearted. When focusing using the viewfinder or in live view, the light grey box is almost impossible to see, it should be yellow or orange. If there had been a fully articulating screen with proper touch screen using the camera would be so much easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

4

103 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great camera

Body Only 12/11/2018 by Salomon1

I have the camera for two months now, and it is very good. I use it for filming and photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 09/11/2018 by tomh9

I was looking for a good value full frame camera - any from the a7 line are good value. The 7iii is outstanding, very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product and value for mooney

Body Only 08/11/2018

I'm so happy and brought this couple of week before

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7iii is a Beast!

Body Only 05/11/2018 by Uddini81

I have upgraded from Sony a7s. This camera is WOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WHAT A CAMERA!

Body Only 30/10/2018 by TimDTNT

A phenomenal camera with amazing features. The AF is spot on, Eye AF amazing... A wedding photographers dream

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

camera from future

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 22/10/2018 by dykumu vejas

I bought a camera for the sony 7 III a few months ago. I used to be my colleague, so I was so familiar with the camera. I met the quality for commercial purposes, but I did not like the life of the battery. After this problem was released, I did not doubt it and drastically shifted from the other firm to the iSony. Take 5-year warranty, quiet shutter speed, dual-focus system, full-screen focus. fantasy Face Detection The focus on the eye system is also unrealistic. I was not going to put 1600 in the past to keep up with quality. Now that quality is up to 5000. Of course, there is a lot of determination for glitches, but to understand and what is needed. instruction is poorly informative. Plus, the battery is not recharged through the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Fabulous camera!!

Body Only 18/10/2018 by Fred55

I bought this camera a few days ago and immediately put it through its paces by taking it on a short trip to Eskdale in the Lake District. This camera replaces my trusted Canon 5D Mark iii which is an amazing camera but is getting too heavy for me. I am so pleased I made the switch to Sony. The Alpha 7 mark 3 is as good if not better than my Canon full frame DSLR. I am so impressed with the fast auto focus, the quality of the pictures (beautifully crisp) and the eye recognition focus. This feature is a real game changer for me. I also bought a Sigma converter which allows me to use my Canon EF lenses (Be careful, it will NOT work with EF-S lenses though!). I bought this Sony camera with a Sony/Zeiss 24-70mm lens and the Sigma converter for Canon lenses from Jessops in Nottingham and I was very impressed by the service. Tom who is their Sony specialist was superb and gave me some excellent advice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

But

Body Only 15/10/2018 by Urmaseero

Everything is fantastic but rear LCD display position possibilitties are not.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13/10/2018 by SokPhin

i would like this produce so much ! and i will try take time with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

No brainer

Body Only 13/10/2018 by joaolpinho

I finnally arrived from my first trip with this camera and it delivered what was promised, good quality photos with amazing low light capability and a smooth slow motion footage. It's size is compact and when combined with a small lens it becomes easy to fit it into a backpack along with other necessities for the day, BUT when using a lens like for instance the GM 24-70mm f2.8 you start to feel like there could be 2 more centimetres in height to enable you to grab the camera with all your fingers. Now, I have to say that when shooting all my fingers are accounted for on the camera, but when reveiewing or walking with the camera in my hand my pinky starts feeling lonely on the bottom of the camera. Overall it is a great great product, the best value for money right now. I just wont give it 5* for the size issue (even though mirrorless are supposed to be small they don't need to be the minimum size possible) and also for the body that could feel more heavy duty like the DSLR cameras feel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome gear

Body Only 12/10/2018 by Youdonneedtoknow

Great auto white blalance, great ergonomic great sensor, great dinamic range. just need something to cover the senzor when changing lenses, i have sony 7 iii for two weeks now and I have dust spots on my sensor,that's something what needs to be develop and fix the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Speedy focus

Body Only 12/10/2018 by gordonelll

This still a recent purchase and I am coming from Canon DSLRs so am still on a learning curve but so far everything I read seems spot on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very disappointing

Body Only 11/10/2018 by fabio_dell

I bough this A7 MIII one month ago after a long research on the web. I come from a Nikon D7100 and I wanted to switch to a higher performance camera. In the beginning I was not so convinced about going for a Full Frame camera but after many many hours spent watching reviews and reading specs, the INTERNET convinced me to for a SONY A7 III + Tamron 28-75 f2.8. They were saying "it's worth 2000$ more it's worth more than a D850 which cost much more...". For these lenses reviews were sensational as well. Once received my sony and unboxed, it seemed to me to have a cheap camera in my hands. Mounting the lenses I noticed a weird friction but at the end the lenses mounted easily, it was just a strange feeling. Now going straight to the point I will summarize here the good and the bad points: GOOD POINTS: - Low light performances during videos. Here I'm really impressed by this camera, I never seen something like that before. - Very good ergonomics. I have medium hands and the camera fits perfectly in them. BAD POINTS: - I thought AF speed was much faster especially during videos. With photos, my Nikon D7100 was faster than sony. About videos I really can't compare but I expected a much higher speed. - During video recording, if there are several people in in the shot, the camera continuously changes focus from a person to another one because maybe it choose that another face is better than the previous one. - EYE autofocus once catched, is very unstable and the little square appears and disappears continuously. It's confusing during the shot. - Center lock on AF is not very stable on the subject and actually you can't trust it. Sometimes the focus on the subject it's not very accurate, sometimes it is completely lost. - Turn on time very slow compared with my D7100 (2 seconds and strange noises happening during this time). - Very expensive lenses. - Low monitor quality: not so big, not so bright. The resolution is not very high considering this will be your main window on the world. The space for the monitor has not well optimized considering the total space available. - Viewfinder has different colors than the monitor. Here the resolution is even lower than the monitor and looking through that it's very irritating. - Smartphone APP very poor. It's almost impossible to use that for professional purpose. You only can use that like a game. - Maybe my unit is defective but there is a problem with the SD card slot 1. Inserting the SD card is not very easy. In my case to attach the SD card you have to push very deep with fingernails. Sometimes it happens that when you turn the camera ON for a couple of seconds it shows "NO CARD" message. Some other times it is ok. So now I'm very disappointed with this camera, it seems to be a game where time after time I discover a new defect with this camera. It seems to me like a fake Ferrari, where maybe there is something really taken from a Ferrari. The rest is taken from FIAT. Nevermore SONY, I'm really sorry about that, I almost want to cry.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

6

Response From Customer Support
15/10/2018

Hi fabio_dell,
Thank you for your feedback.

- When recording videos, to keep the focus on a face, arrange the composition so that the focusing frame and face detection frame overlap, or set the [Focus Area] to [Wide].
- If there is a difference between the display on the screen and the viewfinder, try to turn off the "Live View Display" as explained in the help guide in the following link: http://clc.to/jRfirA (copy and paste the link into your web browser).
we also recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with all other concerns you may have on the camera.
You can contact Sony customer service on 02073652810, 9:00 am - 6:00 pm Mon-Fri.
Alternatively, you can send an email using this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Amazing all round performance and features.

Body Only 03/10/2018 by I3R0k3N7FEET

I bought this just as the Canon EOS R came out, and I was very tempted to go for the Canon, would have saved a little money over the A7III + the 24-105 G lens. however, I am glad I went with Sony, despite a few niggly problems, such as 1. it is heavy! 2.non flippy screen! 3. takes a while to get around the UI. 4. takes a little while to get used to the focus modes and how they can change. 5. the 'weather sealing' is a little underwhelming. the fact is, this thing takes amazing shots all thanks to that sensor, and right now for my uses, that sensor means everything, when combined with the fantastic range of lenses available, this simply captures the moments I want regardless of lighting conditions. I have barely got used to it and am blown away, and the battery life is fantastic. The primary things that would make this 5 stars is, a full flippy screen, and an improved UI, but on that latter note, its far better than Nikon's UI. Overall Glad I went to Sony, and this camera delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent camera. Very fast autofocus! Love it!

Body Only 03/10/2018 by Gert1972

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago. Still very happy that i got it. I really love the camera with my tamron 28-75mm F2.8 lens. Very fast! Awesome photo quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7 111 What a camera

Body Only 26/09/2018 by Spitfire7950

What a camera! leave Nikon and Canon for dead This is the best camera I have ever own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fast focussystem and many possibilities

Body Only 25/09/2018 by Revodiver

with the different focusing systems it really easy to make pin sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing top quality in every way!

Body Only 23/09/2018 by JaWalUk

Amazing. Sharp. Detailed images. Ergonomics, buttons, switches are fantastic. Battery life amazing. Beautiful upgrade from my previous APSC cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

An awesome camera !

Body Only 20/09/2018 by Emgee

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and i used it at a wedding for video. I am still learning this camera but I am in love with it so far. It brings a lot of value to my projects. It is a well built camera with magnificent capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mind = blown

Body Only 18/09/2018 by funkiegomez

I bought this to replace my ageing Nikon APS-C DSLR and it has totally changed how I approach videography and photography. I'm stunned by how good this camera is, on almost every level. Whilst many amateurs will recoil at the price tag, if you know anything about cameras, you'll know that this is worth every penny it's worth. Sony have turned the consumer photography world on it's head, and now the big players are playing catch-up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17/09/2018 by CWL74

Bought this to replace my A7 Mark 1, although similar in appearance, its a completely different beast. The main reason for the upgrade was for better battery capacity, faster autofocus and in-built stabilisation. The camera has exceeded all expectations. Pros: better image quality, better dynamic range, fast autofocus, the autofocus system, custom buttons, larger grip for better handling, 2 memory card slots, great video quality and in-built stabilisation. Limited touch screen function could be a pro or con for some. I have a works Panasonic G7 with fully functioning touch screen, its ok but I don't miss it on the A7. The layout of the buttons are so good, its quicker and more accurate than a touch screen. Cons: Slightly heavier than the Mark 1 especially with the FE 24-240mm lens, the menu is extensive but I guess there's no getting away from it with such a sophisticated camera, no separate charger and poorly placed USB charging port. When charging via USB, the cover has to be rotated 90 degrees downwards so the cover extend beyond the base of the camera. This prevents the camera from being placed on a flat surface during charging - something so simple that causes great inconvenience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera for daylight shooting

Body Only 17/09/2018 by frasershotphoto

Love it, I shoot on DSLR all the time and was amazed at how well this camera works in low light and focuses so well in comparison to the Canon pro cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

so far so good

Body Only 17/09/2018 by wilhelmjw

i bought this about 3 weeks ago been happy with it so far. still scared of how it will handle the weather tho.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Still testing, but happy

Body Only 12/09/2018 by erethilclaw

The camera itself is great, the stabilzer is awesome, can shoot at 1/8 shutter speed without problems and 6400 iso is quite clean. I miss a user guide, has a lot of custom options and will like to have an eplanation of every option inside the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0