Starting at

RRP

£2,000.00

(incl. VAT)
84

4.8 based on 84 customer reviews

70
10
4
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great, Game Changing Camera, Awful Menu.

Body Only 02/05/2018 by SmilingG

I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers’ models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing ? All over the place ! It has been trial and error finding out what works and what doesn’t work. Two of us who own this camera have spent hours ” fiddling “ to find out how to track, find out when Eye AF works. It isn’t intuitive, it is not a camera for the faint hearted. When focusing using the viewfinder or in live view, the light grey box is almost impossible to see, it should be yellow or orange. If there had been a fully articulating screen with proper touch screen using the camera would be so much easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

4

85 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

An awesome camera !

Body Only 20/09/2018 by Emgee

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and i used it at a wedding for video. I am still learning this camera but I am in love with it so far. It brings a lot of value to my projects. It is a well built camera with magnificent capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mind = blown

Body Only 18/09/2018 by funkiegomez

I bought this to replace my ageing Nikon APS-C DSLR and it has totally changed how I approach videography and photography. I'm stunned by how good this camera is, on almost every level. Whilst many amateurs will recoil at the price tag, if you know anything about cameras, you'll know that this is worth every penny it's worth. Sony have turned the consumer photography world on it's head, and now the big players are playing catch-up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17/09/2018 by CWL74

Bought this to replace my A7 Mark 1, although similar in appearance, its a completely different beast. The main reason for the upgrade was for better battery capacity, faster autofocus and in-built stabilisation. The camera has exceeded all expectations. Pros: better image quality, better dynamic range, fast autofocus, the autofocus system, custom buttons, larger grip for better handling, 2 memory card slots, great video quality and in-built stabilisation. Limited touch screen function could be a pro or con for some. I have a works Panasonic G7 with fully functioning touch screen, its ok but I don't miss it on the A7. The layout of the buttons are so good, its quicker and more accurate than a touch screen. Cons: Slightly heavier than the Mark 1 especially with the FE 24-240mm lens, the menu is extensive but I guess there's no getting away from it with such a sophisticated camera, no separate charger and poorly placed USB charging port. When charging via USB, the cover has to be rotated 90 degrees downwards so the cover extend beyond the base of the camera. This prevents the camera from being placed on a flat surface during charging - something so simple that causes great inconvenience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera for daylight shooting

Body Only 17/09/2018 by frasershotphoto

Love it, I shoot on DSLR all the time and was amazed at how well this camera works in low light and focuses so well in comparison to the Canon pro cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

so far so good

Body Only 17/09/2018 by wilhelmjw

i bought this about 3 weeks ago been happy with it so far. still scared of how it will handle the weather tho.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still testing, but happy

Body Only 12/09/2018 by erethilclaw

The camera itself is great, the stabilzer is awesome, can shoot at 1/8 shutter speed without problems and 6400 iso is quite clean. I miss a user guide, has a lot of custom options and will like to have an eplanation of every option inside the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic all round camera

Body Only 09/09/2018 by Sanduk

I bought this camera last month and have learnt so much already. The camera is packed full of features that will satisfy all my needs for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only complete mature full frame system.

Body Only 09/09/2018 by A Gandhi

Purchased after the Nikon Z6/Z7 revealed and now after seeing the Canon R I can say I’m very happy about going to Sony alpha E mount. Love the massive amount of features as a hybrid shooter. I’m completely new to having a hybrid mirrorless system. So I don’t have any old glass to adapt or sell. As a new person I was glad to see what canon and Nikon are coming out with. Why the Sony alpha series is and will remain my choice. Firstly I can’t fault the sheer amount of features on the a7iii. Great sensor with amazing dynamic range with IBIS. And as a video shooter the 4K s-log is amazing even in low light. The IBIS could be better and also I would like 4:4:4 or atleast 4:2:2 even if it’s only 8 Bit. This to me would be much more useful. And I want this internal I don’t want to have a external recorder as I use this a lot with the DJI ronin S. Speaking of which I hope DJI and Sony fix the pull focus and control focus using the Ronin S. I know the they are making a update to control shutter. But overall I still can’t fault the camera compared to the alternatives. The 4K might be the best out the camera and with the amazing autofocus for both stills and video I’m truly impressed given the price. A someone new to a full frame system, E mount Glass is at a level I can do everything I want. I got the Tamron 28-75 F2.8 and can’t fault it. Very very sharp lens. Tried the Zeiss Batis and think they will be fantastic for hybrid use. Battery life is not an issue, love usb charging one wire can charge MacBook, ronin S and a7iii makes it simple just wish my phone had usb c. Use the two SD cards one for photos and one for video makes post processing easy. Play memory’s app sucks sharing photos. Works but isn’t fun or easy to use. But haven’t seen anything good by any camera manufacturer. Wish they would learn from android or iOS. Touch screen should be able to control menu but can’t. First time menu and button set up is complex but once done is set up is perfect. No issue but touch screen for menu control is annoying. Overall I have complaints that I’m keen so say as I’m now pouring money into E mount but the thing is I know if we all complain they will put these fixes into mark 4 versions Sony seem to listen and get better and better. With out a doubt there over 5 years head start is giving them a massive advance compared to the others for mirrorless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Happy with my Purchase

Body Only 09/09/2018 by Asken

I have had this for a few weeks only so its fairly new to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A camera that will reach cult status. here's why :

Body Only 05/09/2018 by K_Dua

I'm mostly a people photographer, either candid or studio stuff. I shoot a lot of architecture and some landscape too... but my gigs mostly rely on events. I shoot big Nikon FF cameras, but i also shoot small Fuji and now SONY, also. Which fits more or less in the middle, size-wise. I must say that .. if you are in doubt, towards an A7III.. don't be. Its a really really solid camera. It does everything i need, in a smaller package..than a FF DSLR. In fact, ergonomics are the only thing i dislike about this camera. I got an L-Bracket with a biffier grip for my tiny Fuji..and i got a similar one for the A7III. Be used to a big camera..this was the way i dealt with this change. Mirrorless is different ! The added bonus is _ whenever i need a smaller camera, i just remove the L-bracket.. Great ! No i can pack a FF body on a tiny waist pouch. Once one gets used to the tighter space for controls&buttons.. one can customize just EVERY single thing, in this camera. It's been growing on me, and soon... i know i won't be picking my DSLR that much, anymore. AF points throughout almost all of the sensor area..and pretty good focus accuracy. To me, mirrorless wins because of : . Silent shooting _ which is awesome, i repeat awesome, namely at indoor venues..and street photography.. (be careful with banding) . . realtime exposure on the EVF. I'm quicker to balance and compose my shot now. The online criticism over the viewfinder resolution is overhyped. It does the job well. The camera performance is unchallenged and at least 2 years ahead of Nikon & Canon's mirrorless.. As soon as Sony gets enough glass on the more niche focal distances it will grab a solid place on the FF market.. and a place to stay. As a Nikon shooter for years.. i must say i'm staying with Sony. 10 or 15 years from now.. i will still be a proud owner of a A7III, i will still brag about the pics i took with it .. and i will be able to say that in deed, it was a game changer. Because it is ! It changed the market.. because it changes the way we shoot. The only ones that don't like it are the ones that are resisting the adaptation to a more capable concept. The video is awesome (although if i was video based i would wait for the A7SIII for the 10bit encoding), the battery is EXCELLENT.. i repeat EXCELLENT.. and the main reason why i got the Sony in the 1st place; the eye AF is just one of those things that no one else is doing.. For stills, colour science is very solid, high ISO noise is brilliant and dynamic range is still raising the bar, on FF sensors. And....all of this for 2000€. It's a no-brainer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best mirrorless camera for its money!

Body Only 02/09/2018

I've had it for about a month and I can safely say that exceeds all my expectations. From its hardware, to its weight and endless settings, the a7iii is the best camera for pro-summer photographers. Whether you plan on shooting video or photography, be sure to test this camera before spending ridiculous amounts of money on other high end cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The future

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 02/09/2018 by sadphil01

For years I've struggled with cameras being too expensive for indoor sports photography but not anymore! This camera is amazing. I've been a nikon guy for years but that's gone now. This is just the most amazing camera in low light. Even with the stock lens it takes amazing photos & the tracking is unbelievable. Oh yes & it shoots 4k video! It's amazing & has just changed the game as far as cameras are concerned. This is the one!, don't delay, get out there & get one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blew my socks off

Body Only 01/09/2018 by Wanderer3

This was taken with the 100-400mm G master lens handheld from approx. 200 metres. I am blown away by the detail and sharpness of the image. I had a High end Nikon camera prior to this and using a 200-500mm lens and tripod I could not get results this good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera ever !!!

Body Only 29/08/2018

Made research, checked pros and cons and decide to go for Sony A7III. None of my friends has Sony but after so many good reviews I made my decision. I bought few weeks ago and it's exactly I wish for. I hope now to get some lenses ... the price is still a bit expensive for me but until now so fa so good :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7M3

Body Only 28/08/2018 by dcash

Pros Noticeable improvement of image quality from the A7M2. Excellent battery duration upgrade Dual SD slot Cons Charging body cover, prone to breakage Unable to view Histogram & electronic level simultaneously in EVF (same issue on A7M2 - easy firmware fix) No Panoramic picture mode No allowance to view focus point location in software

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Glad I made the switch

Body Only 27/08/2018 by alkalloyd

As a former Nikon user it took me a while to get use to all the changes of this camera but I wouldn't look back, the autofocus is crisp and you get use to it very quickly. My first outing was in Indonesia on a campaign and Ive got some of the best photos i've ever taken on that trip. Cant wait to use it some more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect Pictures

Body Only 27/08/2018 by Big Mal

Purchased this to reduce the weight while still shooting full frame, it takes a little while to get used to the menu layout, but the use of allocating buttons for different modes is really useful. The whole design and layout is great together with fantastic glass makes this a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding value for money

Body Only 23/08/2018 by mchoudhury

Bought this from Jessops over a month ago. The camera is nicely weighted and is constructed with excellent materials. Went for body only and bought the FE 85mm and FE 28mm prime lenses instead. The pictures are stellar sharp, and focus is exceptionally fast. Low light capability is incredible. If the articulated screen could come round to the front for vlogging it would be perfect. Favourite features are the silent shutter and the ability to customise the buttons for fast and simple shooting. Using this camera for portraiture and street photography. Size makes it less conspicuous and easier to take candid shots. In short it’s a camera packed with features found normally in premium cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This camera delivers!

Body Only 22/08/2018 by Belendax

I'm not a new costumer to Sony mirror-less cameras. But this camera surprise me again although I knew what am I going to get from it. I've upgraded from the basic and the first a7 to a7iii. The quality of the sensor is amasing, auto focus is like wow (thanks to a9 technology), low light performance is not an issue at all. I tried this camera on weddings, live show performances photography , portrait and beauty shots, dancing photography and street photography. it delivers all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera ever

Body Only 16/08/2018 by brinx

Really enjoying using this camera, so smart focus and user friendly teachers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Too good to be this cheap

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15/08/2018 by nunordm

The build quality is amazing but the pic quality is even better! I could not believe what I was capable to do with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It seems to have all I want going full full frame

Body Only 14/08/2018 by Camera Pete

I have a A6000 but wanted to go full frame. Only had the A7 for a few days but seems to have every thing I need to go full frame

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Comparison with D750

Body Only 11/08/2018 by Blackwood57

Normally camera is a D750, but after reading about the focus capabilities of the A7iii, in particular the eye focus, I decided to buy. Impression after taking it on a 3-week holiday and about a months use at home are: 1. Smaller form factor, but no noticeable difference in weight. 2. Focusing system is as good as they say. 3. Low light does not produce as good a result as the D750, both cameras were hand held, so there may be a difference when on a tripod. 4. I’ve be struggling to find a camera bag that fits it, most that I have end up with the Sony at the bottom and I have to reach down to get, rather than as with the D750 where its right to hand. Overall I’m happy I changed, but will continue to use the D750 for night work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Almost perfect camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09/08/2018 by Didiermobiles

Comming from Canon 7dm2 it's the best step I ever did! This camera makes my shoots less complex and much more fun.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0