Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

£669.00

(incl. VAT)
628

4.6 based on 628 customer reviews

434
171
11
4
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Small, Flexible and Powerful

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 17/11/2016 by AndrewH

Beautifully small and light, but far from feeling like a toy camera. Looking at the key features - very fast autofocus, plus a range of focus options. 11fps continuous burst with AF tracking. Useful tilt screen. Mine came as a twin lens kit with a 16-50 and a 55-210 zoom. Both are excellent lenses, despite being considered "kit". The camera produces great quality images and provides me with a credible, easy carry alternative to my full-frame DSLRs. I'm not really interested in video, so for me, 1080 is perfectly adequate for any little clips that I might ever take, although I would probably look for an external mic set up. For me, this is a stills camera and a very good one at that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/12/2015 by tomktoo

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

628 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

So far, so very good.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22/05/2017 by Sonybrian

Why the cautious title? Well, I bought this camera to replace my Sony NEX 6 - which I loved - but it developed a couple of faults not long after I had owned it 2 years. It was going to be too expensive to repair when compared with the cost of a new camera. I remain a little concerned about the longevity of my new camera, especially one of the components that failed in the previous camera: the slot which holds the sd card. Similarly, the hinged door which secures the battery and sd card compartment does seem a little less robust than it needs to be. However, having said all this, I thought that the NEX 6 was such a good performer that I bought the nearest new equivalent: the a6000. This camera really does punch above its weight, both physically and metaphorically! Improved menu system, lightning fast autofocus, easy-to-access controls, almost infinitely-variable flexibility to cope with all photo-shooting challenges and amazing images add up to one fantastic package. The proof of the pudding for me, however, will be in its longer term durability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

1

0

0

Novice and already taking great pics!

Body Only 20/05/2017 by Vand

Great camera and very compact. I'm learning so much with it already thanks to so many posts on Youtube. If you want to start taking pics with professional results I think this camera is a great start.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 18/05/2017 by g998

Got this for my birthday excellent build quality, so many good features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Super Camera

Body Only 16/05/2017 by Bez1970

Bought as an grade to my original Sony @. Was looking to go for a Canon or Nikon but a suggestion in the shop was to try this. Now an older version but a bargain buy. Super camera especially for learning manual modes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very light and compact

Body Only 15/05/2017 by Tony1512

Very camera impressive technically, although I've read a lot of criticism of the kit 16-50 lens, I am pleased with the results. On the negative side the viewfinder is not as good as a DSLR and the battery does not last that long

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

amazing camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 15/05/2017 by SpykerBlade

this is my 1st proper camera (full manual controls), love it to bits, picture quality is brilliant even with 16-50 kit lens, learning photography is great with this camera especially because its easy to use once you learn the controls, definitely recommend to anyone starting out learning proper photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A step in the right direction

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 11/05/2017 by Ryan S

Purchased this camera a while back now and having played around with it I have to say it was worth it! The camera quality is great and the video recording is amazing! Still fairly new to this camera though so I can expect a lot more to come from it due to the apps you can download onto the camera! worth the purchase!!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Complex and non-functioning wifi transfer to phone

Body Only 11/05/2017 by Pemser

Bought this with view to easy transfer of photos to smart phone/iPad etc. The offered system is a) extremely complicated and after many attempts fails. Registers ok with wifi in Access Point Set. Sticks at 'operate smart phone to connect this device to wifi. App on iphone 5c lists ILCE-6500 as the supported camera model: our (new two weeks ago) is ILCE-6000. Any relevant support appreciated

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Customer support
19/05/2017

Hi,

We recommend you trying the instructions in the following link for transferring images to a smartphone: http://bit.ly/2pT4dvi

Sony support team

0

Anyone can use it !

Body Only 10/05/2017 by Tommo 2

Very good photos at all light conditions. Also can be used by anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality, easy to use camera.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 10/05/2017 by MisterG1507

Bought the camera a week ago so not had chance to put it to full test, but for the shots I have done so far, I'm very impressed. Produces beutiful, crisp images and is so fast at focusing that you don't miss anything, 11 frames a second with auto focus..... You can pretty much use it as a beginner point and shoot and progress to full on manual set up to produce pro quality images. I was also given access to sony training videos which were brilliant at describing various modes and settings. Would definitely recommend this camera, or any sony products......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/04/2017 by Colambert

This camera has excellent features and all easily accessible. There is no touch screen but I personally don't think it needs one. The fast shutter speed is quite remarkable and has proved itself to be an excellent feature. The lens range is not as large as other makes but is still more than enough to choose from, especially when you can use other manufacturers lenses with a converter. For me this replaced a fujifilm compact and has already shown that it has been more than I could have hoped for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25/04/2017 by Stanbar

I bought this to replace a broken DSLR. It has taken a bit of getting used to, but I am glad I made the switch. I now take my Sony wherever I want. Previously, taking the DSLR was more of a considered option.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SonybA 6000

Body Only 23/04/2017 by Aferg

Read a lot of good reviews about his camera, so decided to purchase. Top quality photos and ease of use in automatic mode with the choice to use with advanced photography. Also nice and compact. Excellent product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 23/04/2017 by johnjo135

Very quick auto focus makes shots of kids easy and spontaneous. Excellent low light door shots both still and video - very impressed. Panoramic shots excellent with wonderful fine detail - so good for slide shows in Mac photo - adds another dimension that is really useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolutely fantastic product

Body Only 22/04/2017 by Jack rabbit9

Sony make good Products but in my opinion the apps and programs , absolutely terrible I am very disappointed frustrated about the way that the manner time that I spend trying to connect to Sony PlayStation memories even there PlayStation that with the whole thing is just absolutely terrible I spend more time uploading trying to upload and getting things to work properly with password after password it's just it is in flowthrough it's terrible really is I'm disgusted and they must try harder

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the camera but not the apps

Body Only 19/04/2017 by Sonyalphauser

I really love the camera absolutely 1000% but am disappointed to find I have to pay for apps such as multiple exposure etc, especially when some of these features are in camera on cheaper dslr's . But the A6000 is ace

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great upgrade from the A5000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19/04/2017 by revlucas

I was extremely impressed with the A5000, but having used if for about 12 months, I was really missing a viewfinder - I found I needed my glasses on to see the screen on the A5000 and in bright light it was very difficult to use. The A6000 is a big step up. Far superior auto focus and much better sensor. The only feature I now miss is the option to flip-up the screen for selfie's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lock and load, well locked anyway

Body Only 18/04/2017 by reddave

2 weeks in and its locked up solid cannot use /switch it on

0

0

0

Excellent image quality

Body Only 14/04/2017 by Jerrycork

Got this as a birthday gift currently using nikon d300 and d700 it came with the 16_50kit lens very pleased...can only expect better with faster lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value versatile camera.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 12/04/2017 by Concretekid

I bought this second-hand from a friend and I'm pleased with it. With an adaptor I can use some of my lenses from older 35mm slr's. Early days yet because of only limited use so far. I think it will serve me well!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony A6000 camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 11/04/2017 by Dissappointed customer

After charging the battery, could not get it to work, after some 3hrs gave up. Returned & got money back. Problem was wouldn't accept my SD card, tried several. Recurring mesage was ' card needs formatting'. Never had this message on any camera before. Checked the manual, indicted a fault.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Really good camera

Body Only 09/04/2017 by Tony H1

I bought this camera from a friend. I'm getting on great with it now that I have sorted out the menus. I have had to slow down a bit as I have found that the Optical Stabilisation (OSS) in the lens is only on two axis. This has turned out to be a good thing as I'm taking time to think more. I use the EVF a lot more that I have other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 08/04/2017 by Simmo52

A replacement for my older and bulkier Sony DSC and what a replacement superb quality,design and the picture quality is great. Only negative is the lack of a good manual

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 07/04/2017 by Al Antoni A

I bought this camera a month ago at 08 March 2017. I had used this camera to take many photos. Honestly, this is an excellent camera with many features that very usefull in many condition. The drawback of this camera, the flash range is too short so it's rather difficult to get the maximum lighting when take photos in dark conditions. Although it can be overcome by increasing the ISO, but the result was less sharp. So for better quality to take photos in dark conditions, it need a speedlite flash. Overall, I'm very happy and satisfied with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0