Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

£669.00

(incl. VAT)
690

4.6 based on 690 customer reviews

481
184
12
5
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

my new a6000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09/06/2017 by trampas45

i purchased this camera 2 weeks ago and i have nothing but praise for it. the main reason i bought it was for street photography. on a trip to glencoe i used it more than my dslr. i have attached a few images so that you can see what i mean about the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/12/2015 by tomktoo

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

692 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Sony A6000 with 16-50 kit zoom lens

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 18/09/2017 by Steve8

I wanted a small bodied camera with SLR type capability and so bought the Sony A6000 due to its affordable price. I have now had it for a couple of weeks and found it easy to use from the beginning. In normal lighting conditions, the images are very good with the kit zoom lens supplied and in dark street lit conditions the results are noticeably better than my Sony HX90V (compact travel zoom camera) due to the lower noise level in the low light images. This is despite the HX90V being an excellent camera in its own right. I particularly like the electronic viewfinder, I find it very clear and better than some reviews had suggested and use it all the time.. Overall, this is an excellent camera for the price and I am now considering buying a prime lens to fully exploit the image quality that the sensor is no doubt capable of. Battery life could be better but for me, it has proved to be adequate.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Pictures with this camera

Body Only 18/09/2017 by BillMeL8tr

I bought this camera about 1.5 months ago and the pictures are incredible. Mind you I am using the standard lens of 16-50 , and cant wait till I can get more lenses to do more photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight and High Resolution.

Body Only 17/09/2017 by NigelO

Already have other models so this one didn't disappoint. 24mp resolution is as high enough and the camera is nice and light so I can carry two or three with different lenses quite easily. Sony colours are pleasing too. This is a very impressive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great. Features

Body Only 16/09/2017 by Skinny

Happy. With. Product Especially. The. Weight. And. Easy. To. Use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Early days but good so far.

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 16/09/2017

Had this camera a few weeks and happy so far, but feels like the is still a lot to learn about it. I have been pleasantly surprised by the amount of on line training videos and tips and guidance on the Sony website, less impressed with the fact that there doesn't seem to be a comprehensive user guide for the camera, either on line or in book form - not ideal when you quickly want to understand a particular function.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

good progress

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 15/09/2017 by Royzton

upgraded to this after having a CEX for a long time, so it was an easy swap. Loving having the viewfinder, the dioptre adjuster is great for when I have my glasses and don't have them. So much easier than carrying a big SLR around. The sports mode fills up your SD card fast - at least I caught the action!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very poor

Body Only 14/09/2017 by J9epc

Like being able to change lenses and being compact

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Feels solid

Body Only 14/09/2017 by Digidiverdeb

I have replaced my dslr with this fantastic all features compact. I love the feel of it, sturdy, solid and easy to navigate. The menu is very intuitive and the electronic viewfinder is a joy (something I wasn't looking forward to after using my dslr) what I particularly like is the live histogram - you can actually see the result of a slower or faster speed or smaller and larger aperture before you take the picture. I love my new camera and it's now a joy to take it everywhere I go

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

well worth it

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11/09/2017 by janedavy

Covers all I do. Great on close ups, priced well..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

small and handy

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 10/09/2017 by Herr Flick A700

bought for a holiday camera instead of carrying my SLR and is very good for that purpose, small but with what I need

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely little camera

Body Only 10/09/2017 by Davyandjane

Just had a couple of weeks but love it.nice and light.Just like a DSLR but smaller and lighter.great clear shots and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

small light

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 08/09/2017 by giner

this camera is small light and so good equal to slr standards.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality camera. on par with big DSLRs

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 06/09/2017 by Arrie

Great camera. Its as good as big modern DSRL cameras that usually cost over 800quid. Autofocus is super fast.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Can't fault it.

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 06/09/2017 by Stan

None yet and Easy to use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony a 6000

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 05/09/2017 by George

Before to buy the cam we did some research about the camera. As we found only positive results we decided to go for it. Perfect pics and better and more easy use than DSLR. NFC is a big help !

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Just the job for many types of photography.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03/09/2017 by Camera Nut

The initial attraction, was the versatility of the camera, and the size of sensor. My aim is to use it for "Street Photography". My only regret is, that the camera is not, as yet, weather proof.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best quality for so little money

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 30/08/2017 by Shaundo

What can i say about this camera amazing, I have owned my Sony A6000 for just over a week now and it has been nothing short of perfect. I am a videographer so purchased this for the video and some picture taking, and it has taken high-quality, professional photos. . If you're a beginner photographer / videographer looking to get into either landscape or portrait photography, and cinematic video this is the camera for you!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Lightweight

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 29/08/2017 by suemt

An excellent little camera bought this as taking my Canon away on holiday was a little to bulky. The images it produces are high quality and I'm very pleased.Its lightweight and has an array of interchangeable lenses available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good little camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 29/08/2017 by Trevh

Bought this as I already ha e a Nikon DSLR but wanted something light to carry round every day but same sort of quality results. This fits the bill and I am happy with it. Will get a prime lens for it when I have the money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Fully specified camera in a compact body

Body Only 23/08/2017 by Stoneyguy

I bought this camera 18 months ago because I wanted an interchangeable camera system that would provide most of the features of a DSLR in a small, lightweight package and this does the job admirably.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sony a6000 and easy to change lenses

Body Only 22/08/2017 by rogwen

very pleased with camera good images taken easy Instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera, better photos

Body Only 19/08/2017 by made up name

A shop allowed me to take test shots with a number of cameras in the same price bracket. This had the best image quality by far. Sharper with greater colour saturation. This was not going to be my first choice, until I saw the results. Easy to use straight out of the box - with other features I'm still exploring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Rod

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 15/08/2017 by Rod

I took this to an outdoor classical concert and filmed in MP4 The image quality was very good the autofocus was exellent and sound was very good , the microphone tho dose pick up your breathing sound when close up looking through the view finder , and the camera strap rings rattle againsthe casing (so take them off ), but only noticeable during quiet moments.BUT.you cannot transfer acvhd quality vids to IOS DEVICES they must be converted to MP4. And you have to use Sony playmemories app

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

easy to use, high quality

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 10/08/2017 by gaby

all the above a bit pricy

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0