Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

£669.00

(incl. VAT)
589

4.6 based on 589 customer reviews

408
162
10
3
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Small, Flexible and Powerful

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 17/11/2016 by AndrewH

Beautifully small and light, but far from feeling like a toy camera. Looking at the key features - very fast autofocus, plus a range of focus options. 11fps continuous burst with AF tracking. Useful tilt screen. Mine came as a twin lens kit with a 16-50 and a 55-210 zoom. Both are excellent lenses, despite being considered "kit". The camera produces great quality images and provides me with a credible, easy carry alternative to my full-frame DSLRs. I'm not really interested in video, so for me, 1080 is perfectly adequate for any little clips that I might ever take, although I would probably look for an external mic set up. For me, this is a stills camera and a very good one at that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/12/2015 by tomktoo

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

590 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Great

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25/03/2017 by Ghana

The product is great. But i wish the battery life coulb be enhanced

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 22/03/2017 by Tomaspcl

I purchase the camera a week ago and I can say that it's really good performance at that price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

Body Only 21/03/2017 by markab

great camera many things on it easy happyjust buy it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Camera

Body Only 13/03/2017

I bought it to use at work, currently erecting structural steel on the spurs stadium. Great pictures in fully automatic mode even on poor light. The auto focus is first rate and the camera is small enough to be left in my jacket pocket. Battery life is proving very good, I charge it once a week and am taking around 250 shots between charges.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

New future good

Body Only 13/03/2017 by manhnv110

I bought it and i like it. It is verry excited. i love it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for me!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11/03/2017 by Lowton146

Not too large, not too small, just right size-wise. Easy to switch manual/auto functions, not complicated. A greater selection of (cheaper) lenses would add the cream on top of the cherry on the cake, but this camera merits the investment. Very highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11/03/2017 by aneeka

Its a great camera. However converting raw into jpeg is a pain! It is a more complicated process than other cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use quality camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11/03/2017 by Gresley

I don't know much about photography so I bought this camera which is easy to use with clear menus, has a large sensor to take good photos but has plenty of controls for me to use if I develop my skills.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small but

Body Only 11/03/2017

Ive had this camera for a few months now and as a first 'proper' camera I love it. It's size even with lens is small enough for me to engage in my candid street photography. I can't compare to others but what I love is the size. It feels discreet which is ideal for the kind of street photography i do. I've been self taught in using it and become more confident with the features. The only issue I've had is when trying to use the adjustable screen. if I'm holding the camera at waist hight and looking into the screen it sometimes flickers or jumps back to view finder. Not sure if thats my doing as iv'e not pursued the issue with Sony.Also the screen can be a problem in bright light to look at as it appears dark. However, overall It's got lots of options to suit your ability as a photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07/03/2017 by 1kevdude

It is small and compact, a lot of menus and you can get lost, some good features like face detection and the eye auto focus.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a6000

Body Only 07/03/2017 by Hideaway

Purchased a few weeks ago after much research. I already have a DSL are, and wanted something easier to carry around. So far very pleased with the camera, one or two minor niggles but in the main I think it's very good indeed. My complaints are that the camera does not come with a separate battery charger, and that spare batteries are ludicrously expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great value camera

Body Only 04/03/2017 by AndrewW

Fantastic array of features. Auto focus face detection works well in both photo and video modes. Standard lens is a little soft. Only real negative is that the rear screen will not rotate for selfies. Apart from that its a great camera. I would recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 03/03/2017 by Gregg333

I changed from Olympus to canon and finally the a6000 the perfect camera .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use with great results

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 02/03/2017 by Ady669

Am finding myself around this camera quite quickly and already producing some nice photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all rounder for beginners to enthusiasts

Body Only 02/03/2017 by NeuroSF

Fantastic bang for buck, especially if you're primarily a photographer. Great in built features for enhancing colours and of course 11fps and fast focus capture. Light weight, very portable and an expanding series of good lenses. I primarily use it for videos which it's not so well designed for (e.g. fixed 30 min recording length and no flip screen). The software can be unlocked though (at your own risk) and you can purchase an external monitor. Sound input can be improved with Sony microphones in the hotshoe (no line out jack) . Good phone app to transfer pictures and control the camera. You can even use the app for touch screen focus, however it will NOT activate video recording(?!) In addition, when used with an external HDMI monitor, the back camera screen will not activate which is annoying. Lots of cool add on apps for extra effects. Having said that, I would still purchase it again and am overall very pleased. If I was to buy one lens, I would recommend the Sony 18-105 F4 G-Master, very reasonabley priced and superb value.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

MIS lets it down

Body Only 26/02/2017 by Lurcherboy

The camera itself is excellent but unfortunately for me the Multi interface shoe lets it down . I bought a flash with the MIS connection and on the camera it works fine . But if you want to use it as an off camera flash there doesn't seem to be any adapters that will take the MIS connection on the flash and turn it into a standard hot shoe/cold shoe to attach to a light stand. You can get them to turn the MIS on the camera into a standard hot shoe so you can use hot shoe flashes with that connection but not the other way round,or if they do I haven't found one yet.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost 5 stars

Body Only 23/02/2017 by paulSB

Would have given the A6000 five stars but the USB cable that comes in the box is only suitable for charging and not for data transfer had to buy a separate cable so could transfer info to my computer such as apps and updating camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great first camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 22/02/2017 by GavBrinson

I shoot mainly with a full frame Nikon with a large heavy lens which gives fantastic results but it is not practical to lug it around everywhere due to the size and weight. I decided to buy a small mirrorless camera and after a lot of research I decided on the A6000. It is the right size to chuck in a small bag and gives fantastic results with the kit lens. For those not technically minded it has a brilliant auto mode which is literally 'point and shoot' For pros there is full manual.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great photos

Body Only 21/02/2017 by Monish

I use SLR and DSLR cameras for almost 30 years. Recently I switched to this camera for something light but still able to control my camera. Fortunately I had few Sony E lenses. Picture quality is superb. I am so happy with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Camera Understated high tech.

Body Only 16/02/2017 by Payrick

I bought this 6 months ago and it has surpassed all my expectations. I invested some time on you tube getting to know all the functions. This made all the difference and I am now able to take a full variety of shots on appropriate settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

friendly use

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09/02/2017 by kahimojosh

i love my sony a6000,bought it 2 monthsago its worth

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great performance in a small and light package

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 07/02/2017 by snappybob

I bought this 4 months ago to replace a broken DSLR, and I am so glad I went mirrorless. I particularly liked the size and weight advantages of the alpha6000, compared with my old 350. The 6000 complete with standard 16-50 lens and 55-210 lens weighs less than the bare body of some DSLRs, and when you are carrying it around for a whole day this is significant weight saving. This size /weight advantage would be pointless if the camera did not perform, but I am very pleased to say that the performance exceeds that of my old alpha350 by some margin, pictures are crisper, colour is better, low light performance exceptional. From 3fps to 11fps shows the level of improvement over my old camera. Auto-focus is very good, as is continuous focus when tracking. The poor battery performance is the only thing that lets it down, the best I have had is 87 images from freshly charged to 5% charge left. The fact that you have to charge the battery in the camera just exacerbates the problem. You definitely need a spare battery, and you need to plan ahead to ensure both are charged.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera. Almost Perfect.

Body Only 01/02/2017 by manfaceuk

The camera is one of the best I've used in a long time. The fact it has an APS-C sensor means low-light images almost always come out beautifully. The wireless connectivity features are second to none and general speed and performance is stunning. For a mid-range Mirrorless DSLR, you're not going to find better. A screen that flipped all the way around rather than just partially and for it to be touch would have been the icing on the cake; however these aren't major drawbacks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Little gem!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25/01/2017 by Combo

I bought this camera with the view that it would be a good second camera and when I didn't want to be caught up with a full size DSLR. I half expected from reading the reviews that it might slowly become my camera of first choice. I can see this potentially happening although it will be a tough gig. The camera is a delight to hold and use, and the pictures have been stunning. Its portability means I put it in my coat pocket when leaving the house, something I would never do with a bigger Canon DSLR. There is a but though and that might be simply a lack of familiarity with the menu system which I feel is not as clear as Canon's. Time will tell but for the moment I am delighted with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0