Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

£669.00

(incl. VAT)
716

4.6 based on 716 customer reviews

501
189
12
6
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

my new a6000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09/06/2017 by trampas45

i purchased this camera 2 weeks ago and i have nothing but praise for it. the main reason i bought it was for street photography. on a trip to glencoe i used it more than my dslr. i have attached a few images so that you can see what i mean about the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/12/2015 by tomktoo

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

717 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

GOOD camera to start with

Body Only 17/11/2017 by King Arthur

My first pictures with camera . Its so good to start with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great small professional camera

Body Only 16/11/2017 by BGarcia

This is a great camera, full of features, even if some are only accessible via purchasing extra apps (time lapse, for example). The size of the camera is great for travelling, or simply to not to use too bulky equipment. This camera will do 95% of what a full frame DSLR will do, and with same of better quality (no DSLR will shoot 11 frames per second) The main disadvantage of this camera, for me, is that being an APS-C there are not many options for wide angle lenses, and the ones that exist are extremely expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent value for money.

Body Only 13/11/2017 by Norrie19

I owned an a5000 for several years and have been very happy with it apart from the lack of a viewfinder which can be a problem when framing shots in bright conditions. The features on the a6000 are remarkable for the price and the compact design makes it great for travelling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera at a great value

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11/11/2017 by Jren

Bought this about two weeks ago before going on a trip and am really happy with the performance so far! It’s auto settings are great but gives you enough flexibility to adjust everything manually in more challenging settings. Loving the picture quality so far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My First Mirrorless!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 08/11/2017 by martyg1950

I was looking to reduce the bulk of hauling my DSLR kit around with me whilst retaining the ability to produce quality pictures. After much research I dcided to start with the A6000 and it hasn't dissapointed. All the controls are logical and easy to reach, it's much faster start and focus than my Canon DSLR ever was, the picture quality is a revalation. I'm sold, as my Canon kit wil be shortly :)l

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera.

Body Only 06/11/2017 by RonFS

Bought from London Camera Exchange,Chichester,easy camera to carry around and produces high quality results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 05/11/2017 by Pip150186

I’ve wanted a nice camera for years. I got saving up and went out to look at some cameras. The Sony A6000 just feels so nice in your hands. The quality of the photos produced are awesome too. I love the Wi-fi feature so I can send the straight to my smartphone. This camera truly is brilliant. I’m glad I chose this over a conventional DSLR. The lightweight mirror less system is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic compact camera

Body Only 01/11/2017 by Jamiejars21

I bought this camera while on holiday, it has great features and takes the 'E' series lens, which makes it very versatile, I am very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 30/10/2017 by Magsy May

I've had this camera about 1 week now and am delighted with it. I researched the 63 and 65 before committing to this, but the 6000 fulfils my needs.The body is beautiful to hold, very light and comfortable, menus are easy to follow and find on screen, I wear glasses and the view finder is a great size, no probs. The buttons are easily accessible. I also purchased a 18-200 zoom lens and 50mm prime. I've updated from a bridge camera and this little camera will help me to improve my photography, I'm not a beginner but this camera would suit someone just starting out. Plenty of information is supplied on screen, a lot still to learn but very pleased with this Sony purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

has all the features that I need in a compact form

Body Only 30/10/2017 by suziman

Not been able to evaluate properly as yet, will know more later

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Proper contol in a compact

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 27/10/2017

Purchased three weeks ago and living up to expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera!

Body Only 20/10/2017 by yvts

Still very good camera even 3 years after it first appeared on the market. Bought it 9 months ago and very happy with it's performance, picture quality and handling. It is not perfect but it is good enough for me!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera, great features and very compact

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 17/10/2017 by Chrisw67

I’ve not had the camera long but have already decided that it’s a complete replacement for my old DLSR. Very fully featured and handles well, takes very high quality pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

a6000 best cheap mirrorless camera

Body Only 14/10/2017 by scorpio9

a6000 best cheap mirrorless camera. I bought this camera 2nd hand. i was looking for a light weight, good in the dark sport type camera on a budget. the 11 fps beats the rivals. And on using at a wrestling event where light is not good and getting some really nice images. would put some up but files are just over 10 mb each. i have to say the main downside is battery life. but note all mirrorless cameras are the same so just carry more batteries. this camera came out in 2014 and it still I think beats the 2017 canon m6 for some features and the fps. for the price even new for beginners it is a very good camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Won't go anywhere without it!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 12/10/2017 by Cmsml

After a few months of research I decided to buy the A6000. Can tell you it is worth every penny. Amazing pictures, handles low light like a champ and it is so easy to carry around. Unless you want to make a living of photography (and look at the A7i), I would not look anywhere else.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

2 weeks in and thrilled with my purchase!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09/10/2017 by Anat

This is my first camera purchase (not including my iphone) so im a newbie to the whole world of photography. The first week or so was pretty frustrating since I had no idea what I was doing. My first instinct was to blame the camera. Of course, after I did an intensive amount of reading, I figured it out and now I'm in love! It is the perfect starter camera. I don't know how someone who has more experience would feel with it but I have the starter kit and it is great for my purposes (travel photography mostly).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera but don't expect it to work fully

Body Only 07/10/2017 by Manuel100

Camera is excellent I'll give it that but none of the apps download nor the transfer of apps from the online site to the camera. The sweep panorama feature crashes every single time I use it too, something that seems a common issue based upon online reviews.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer support
12/10/2017

Hi Manuel100,

Thank you for the review, you can get help with these points by contacting our customer support team here: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

0

Pro Camera at the size of a pocket camera

Body Only 07/10/2017 by shrey

Both this a few weeks ago. Photos have been great. Great Colour, Dynamic Range and low noise at high ISO.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 03/10/2017 by DaveM

Very impressive and easy to use Camera. Handy design and amaxing picture quality.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great first camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 27/09/2017 by ICR121

My first camera (proper camera) and it is so easy to use. The picture quality using the supplied kit lens is very good and I have taken amazing shots that many friends and family are impressed by. The build quality, being a Sony camera, is excellent as you would imagine. I purchased a glass screen protector and a lens protector/UV filter and help to keep the camera looking new. It is a bit of a steep learning curve at first but the more I play with the camera the more I learn.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony Alpha 6000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 24/09/2017 by OdaMenTaL

,it's small,nice loking and rly easy to use .. um best camera for new photographers like me ..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect camera for beginners

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 24/09/2017 by Johanna

Best value for an all-round interchangeable lens mirrorless camera.Takes brilliant pictures with no effort. Nice one for a beginner like me. It's easy to use. Just don't expect it to help for your selfie, since the screen cannot tilt 180 degrees. And no touchscreen, but it's fine since i don't really need it anyway. It contains one battery, but back-up batteries are necessary if you do not want to miss any beautiful scenery!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent camara

Body Only 24/09/2017 by Stirlin

Coupled a6000 with standard F 1.8 35 mm lens and test shots in RAW are superb. cropped one pic to a very small area and the detail is stunning. Money well spent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Seems good.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20/09/2017 by Jonty711

As a complete novice to digital photography with manual settings I have found this camera fairly easy to use. There are some more affordable lense available to get you started with a decent range of lenses. Doesn’t come with any kind of case which was disappointing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0