Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

£669.00

(incl. VAT)
613

4.6 based on 613 customer reviews

423
168
11
3
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Small, Flexible and Powerful

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 17/11/2016 by AndrewH

Beautifully small and light, but far from feeling like a toy camera. Looking at the key features - very fast autofocus, plus a range of focus options. 11fps continuous burst with AF tracking. Useful tilt screen. Mine came as a twin lens kit with a 16-50 and a 55-210 zoom. Both are excellent lenses, despite being considered "kit". The camera produces great quality images and provides me with a credible, easy carry alternative to my full-frame DSLRs. I'm not really interested in video, so for me, 1080 is perfectly adequate for any little clips that I might ever take, although I would probably look for an external mic set up. For me, this is a stills camera and a very good one at that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/12/2015 by tomktoo

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

613 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Love the camera but not the apps

Body Only 19/04/2017 by Sonyalphauser

I really love the camera absolutely 1000% but am disappointed to find I have to pay for apps such as multiple exposure etc, especially when some of these features are in camera on cheaper dslr's . But the A6000 is ace

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great upgrade from the A5000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19/04/2017 by revlucas

I was extremely impressed with the A5000, but having used if for about 12 months, I was really missing a viewfinder - I found I needed my glasses on to see the screen on the A5000 and in bright light it was very difficult to use. The A6000 is a big step up. Far superior auto focus and much better sensor. The only feature I now miss is the option to flip-up the screen for selfie's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lock and load, well locked anyway

Body Only 18/04/2017 by reddave

2 weeks in and its locked up solid cannot use /switch it on

0

0

0

Excellent image quality

Body Only 14/04/2017 by Jerrycork

Got this as a birthday gift currently using nikon d300 and d700 it came with the 16_50kit lens very pleased...can only expect better with faster lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value versatile camera.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 12/04/2017 by Concretekid

I bought this second-hand from a friend and I'm pleased with it. With an adaptor I can use some of my lenses from older 35mm slr's. Early days yet because of only limited use so far. I think it will serve me well!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony A6000 camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 11/04/2017 by Dissappointed customer

After charging the battery, could not get it to work, after some 3hrs gave up. Returned & got money back. Problem was wouldn't accept my SD card, tried several. Recurring mesage was ' card needs formatting'. Never had this message on any camera before. Checked the manual, indicted a fault.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Really good camera

Body Only 09/04/2017 by Tony H1

I bought this camera from a friend. I'm getting on great with it now that I have sorted out the menus. I have had to slow down a bit as I have found that the Optical Stabilisation (OSS) in the lens is only on two axis. This has turned out to be a good thing as I'm taking time to think more. I use the EVF a lot more that I have other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 08/04/2017 by Simmo52

A replacement for my older and bulkier Sony DSC and what a replacement superb quality,design and the picture quality is great. Only negative is the lack of a good manual

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 07/04/2017 by Al Antoni A

I bought this camera a month ago at 08 March 2017. I had used this camera to take many photos. Honestly, this is an excellent camera with many features that very usefull in many condition. The drawback of this camera, the flash range is too short so it's rather difficult to get the maximum lighting when take photos in dark conditions. Although it can be overcome by increasing the ISO, but the result was less sharp. So for better quality to take photos in dark conditions, it need a speedlite flash. Overall, I'm very happy and satisfied with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best features in compact size

Body Only 06/04/2017 by Kaaan

I have been using DSLRs and compact cameras for more than a decade. With the a6000 I found a hybrid of both categories advantages. Compact size with detailed images. I never regret not having my DSLR with me. The two lenses you MUST have, are the sel 1670 and the sel1018.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good gear

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 04/04/2017

I've bought it 2 years ago, I always take it when travelling, event... It's a good camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 02/04/2017

After taking the camera on holiday to Prague I got some great photo's.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A6000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 01/04/2017 by Ossian

I wanted a small compact DSLR with interchangeable lenses for street photography. This appear to have been a good choice and meets my requirements.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 01/04/2017 by actionward

I bought this for when on holidays or hiking so I dont have to carry my DSLR. Its such a fantastic camera, the only thing I dont like is the menu system which is a bit fiddly but otherwise I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Rubbish Handbook

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 31/03/2017 by h445

Hand book provided is rubbish I had to buy a third party handbook to make any sense of the camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Great compact camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/03/2017 by Locoboy0327

I'm so excited to use this camera. Everyday is a learning process .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it!

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 30/03/2017 by Zoe

Had my eye on this for a while as I was after a more professional camera (I previously had a simple point and shoot) and this did not disappoint. Very impressed with picture quality and after watching a few YouTube videos and learning some more I have had great fun putting what I saw into action. Really looking forward to taking it on my summer holiday.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony a6000

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 29/03/2017 by George

Since 2014 bestseller within this pricerange. For this price no competitors on the market.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great travelling companion

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 27/03/2017 by MWB24

Chosen as a Birthday present, as good value mirror-less camera for travelling with good functions & outstanding image quality. Compares favourably with others on market & with my Canon DSLR but lighter & more manageable for travelling. Minor concerns are: High use of battery & not supplied with external charger to facilitate further back-up batteries, which are essential, & also, difficulty using view finder & seeing complete frame for spectacle user. Excellant service from provider ( London Camera Exchange)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25/03/2017 by Ghana

The product is great. But i wish the battery life coulb be enhanced

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 22/03/2017 by Tomaspcl

I purchase the camera a week ago and I can say that it's really good performance at that price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

Body Only 21/03/2017 by markab

great camera many things on it easy happyjust buy it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Camera

Body Only 13/03/2017

I bought it to use at work, currently erecting structural steel on the spurs stadium. Great pictures in fully automatic mode even on poor light. The auto focus is first rate and the camera is small enough to be left in my jacket pocket. Battery life is proving very good, I charge it once a week and am taking around 250 shots between charges.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

New future good

Body Only 13/03/2017 by manhnv110

I bought it and i like it. It is verry excited. i love it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0