Skip to Content

Starting at

RRP

£669.00

(incl. VAT)
797

4.6 based on 797 customer reviews

560
206
14
6
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Ease of use

Body Only 30/11/2017 by George4258

I brought this camera cos it's small and light and good reviews

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30/12/2015 by TomKtoo

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

797 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Easy to use

Body Only 19/01/2018 by Nickyb

Bought camera a month ago looking forward to using on holiday.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Still experimenting

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19/01/2018 by Blob

Just bought this camera for use on skiing holiday. Great images in bright sunlight and I like the panorama feature. Less impressed in low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor camera

Body Only 18/01/2018 by BriMinkie

The focus was way off Muddy and over processed JPEGS Poor stabilization.Even people walking slowly were blurred whatever the settings The screen cut to black when turning the camera left or right.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Stunning camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 17/01/2018 by Bertrum

Bought just recently and still learning the various aspects. Fast auto focus and continuous shooting, now grandkids don't need to stand still it'll keep pace with them, my last camera couldn't. After a few days of playing round with dials and buttons it's very easy to quickly get the hang of. For all the features, speed and quality it's very good value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic product

Body Only 17/01/2018 by Manny reviews

Great quality pictures and easy to use. Perfect for a beginner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera have switched from a DSLR to this

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 14/01/2018 by Chlo

Does the same as a DSLR and is less bulky! Produces beautiful images and has a lower aperture range than some of the canons. Only thing for me is learning how to adjust the settings from the canon .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13/01/2018

I have only had the camera for a month, so early days. However, really impressed with the look, feel, and quality. I have only used the automatic features so far, but interested in getting to know the camera further. Hoping for great things with this camera. So far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Improved features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11/01/2018 by Duncan W

A big step up from the old alpha. I can now use all the features without my reading glasses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Simple to use

Body Only 11/01/2018 by Chatesuman

Christmas and birthday present - ideal present for an old- un

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

a6000 my first compact system camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 10/01/2018 by jamie3833

bought to get into photography, was apprehensive about spending the amount i did at first before using the camera. after using the camera over the Christmas period and discovering all the things you can do with it, i am so glad that i got it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use.

Body Only 09/01/2018 by SYdave

I wanted to upgrade from a basic compact to a camera with expansion possibilities without the weight and bulk of a DSLR. or a bridge style camera. This camera fits the bill. I like having the view-finder as well as a screen. The mode and control dials are easy to manipulate even with the camera at the eye. The auto modes are reliable and intuitive, with the shutter and aperture priorities and manual modes available if required. All information clearly displayed on screen without obscuring the image, with functions easy to alter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

amazing detail in the photographs

Body Only 09/01/2018 by Peem 2

The photographs i have taken since purchasing my camera are of a standard that exceeds my previous camera a Finepix S9500. The improvements in the range of included auto facilities are amazing and I had not realised the degree of technical achievement in the production of cameras had advanced. Wish I had upgraded sooner.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Battery

Body Only 08/01/2018 by NessO

I bought the camera in December and it has been invaluable on our recent family holiday - ease of use, picture quality and great battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The features of a DSLR in a travel friendly pack.

Body Only 07/01/2018 by Igneous

I have switched to the Sony from a DSLR.I wanted something with DSLR features but light enough and small enough to carry around while trail running or cycling. Now I can capture all the images I used to miss or would be turn out uninspiring when taken on my mobile phone. A fantastic camera and safe to say I would not go back to a DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice to have lenses again

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07/01/2018 by Hugh56

Great looking camera, nice size and features. I like having lense options on a compact camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor set up and poor quality pictures

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07/01/2018 by AKH1965

I bought this thinking it'd be an upgrade from an iPhone camera. But teh quality of photos and videos taken indoors are poor. The software for editing the pics is pretty complicated. I'm hoping outdoor photos will be better, but I'll wait and see. Overall not good enough for an expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Customer support
11/01/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

You can select "Anti Motion Blur" for indoor shots following the instructions in this link: http://bit.ly/2D1ZflD (Copy and paste the link in your browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

camera

Body Only 07/01/2018 by Diane1234

i was given this camera as a gift and I am very grateful for it .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent bit of kit

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07/01/2018 by Dantheman923

I bought this camera to replace an old dslr and couldn't be happier it has all the features of a top end camera and with a 50mm lens captures amazing snaps wherever I go

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06/01/2018 by Bohnjarton

As the owner of a Sony A100 for many years I decided it was time to upgrade. I am delighted with the A6000. It has straight forward point and shoot options as well as being able to set or adjust settings. The video and panarama facilities are also great. The weight of the camera is great, being about half of that of my A100. I particularly like the option of the digital viewfinder which is very useful on sunny days. Being able to set the Custom Key buttons is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good reviews but can it take the pics

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06/01/2018 by jaysea

Only had it week not had time to use it out side yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality product

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06/01/2018 by Pix7

I bought the Sony a6000 last month and I haven’t put it down. Huge amount of features, easy to use and it consistently produces high quality images. Fantastic piece of kit!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camera is great, 16-50mm kit lens not so much

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 05/01/2018

The a6000 packs a good apsc sized sensor into a compact body. For anyone moving from a compact digital camera, the improvement in image quality especially in low light is great. There are all the features an amateur or intermediate level photographer could need. The kit 16-50mm lens doesn’t take advantage of the a6000 abilities but it is very small. Maybe worth buying the body alone and buying a better e-mount lens separately to suit your tastes. The newer a6300 and a6500 are improvements from the a6000 but overall the a6000 is still worth buying in 2017/2018, especially at the prices found nowadays due to it being released back in 2014. Recommended.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic entry level mirrorless camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000L / ILCE-6000Y / ILCE-6000Z 05/01/2018 by Mike

This camera is amazing for it's value and can compete with some of the higher end cameras. If you want great stills and picture quality, this camera is perfect. However, for video, you probably want to look for a higher end camera as this does not do 4K and there is very limited option for recording audio. For the price and features, this camera is superb.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Incredible versatility!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 05/01/2018 by Bob the pilot

Very new to this camera as I use an Alpha 77 as my main camera. I am very impressed with the performance, versatility and picture quality. Also it's lightness is a big plus for travelling. Although I am new to it I find the wireless and NFC fuctions complicated, perhaps these processes could be simplified.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0