39

4.6 based on 39 customer reviews

28
8
2
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

39 Customer Reviews

0

Best Camera I have ever owned

ILCA-99M2 31/08/2020 by Stuarts5757

I bought this 2weeks ago and love it. It is a great camera. I hope Sony stick by the A mount.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality and reliable

ILCA-99M2 19/08/2020 by Bod Dennis

I've always had Sony camera they have never failed me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

As a previous sony user I found it very easy to us

ILCA-99M2 23/05/2020 by Scrappy

Great camera so very pleased with it only one thing card writing and buffering can be a bit slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wow

ILCA-99M2 23/01/2020 by Day348

Great camera have the a99 and now I’ve got the a99 -11 so so easy downloading my photos and with twice as many pixels the pictures are WOW

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Few worries but stunningly great camera...

ILCA-99M2 01/11/2019 by TimGR

Takes my beautiful alpha mount Zeiss and G lenses as well as all my legacy glass from Minolta. Brilliant low light performance, super resolution and some slick features. Very quick. HVL58 flash works a treat but not sure if I’ll need it much! P Mode is very good, no particular over exposure, colour rendition in standard mode is frankly beautiful. Resolution was not important to me (I was happy with 24MP), but FF was. If you pixel peak make sure your techniques are sound, because any slight shake or misfocus may lead to you being disappointed. Get it right though and you’ll be blown away. Movement pictures (Kids running, swinging jumping) sometimes have weird artefacts... not sure if firmware (aggressive processing and compensation?), sensor, technical issue or technique... need to experiment more. Will update in a couple of weeks... if you hear nothing, I’ve probably figured it out. Generally comfortable, intuitive and easy, esp if already a Sony Alpha user, and never be afraid of Manual mode, the electronic view finder is a real treat and makes life easier, and you know instantly that you have a good shot.. before and as you shoot. You will need some High capacity Class 3 SD as 32GB will fill up quickly! Spare batteries too, as a battery may not last all day, even if you are being casual. Disappointing on amount of attention A Mount is getting as latest firmware is v1.01, but for A9 (e-mount) they are introducing Pet Eye AF, and are on v6.0! Shame really because the power of this camera is amazing and I reckon can be squeezed more, and the alpha mount lenses fantastic... (and an expensive investment I don’t want to ditch). I paid £2400 from London Camera Exchange, which is about the same price as my flagship A900 in 2008. So a veritable bargain compared to history and comparative Nikon’s and Canons, and definitely a real competitor in pro, and serious amateur market. So well done Sony and thanks, not perfect (there may be a good reason to upgrade to A99 mk4 when you decide), but overall better than brilliant and retains me as a dedicated alpha mount fan. The A900 a long friend of many adventures got ill in August, and is probably unrepeatable... long live my new friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

good but not perfect.

ILCA-99M2 30/10/2019 by jackie2287

price is acceptable. picture quality good. battery life miserabel. not enough buttons.lcd monitor is turning upside down by itself and it annoys. no gps. joystick is bad. size of a99 was better for grip. software outdated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great for sports action

ILCA-99M2 04/10/2019 by Neil h

i had the a99 and upgraded to the 99ii vast improvement, almost no startup lag 12fps awsome autofocus great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best camera I have ever had

ILCA-99M2 10/06/2019 by Kevinalala

I switched to Sony after trying the fiancé's A58 and finding that I really liked the fact that image stabilisation was built into the camera rather than the lenses. I bought myself a used A99 and found myself preferring that to my Canon gear. Since getting my A99 II I have been able to take the kind of shots that I was unable to with my previous Canon camera because I have good lenses and the stabilisation rather than having to set up a tripod. The camera is friendly and easy to use. There are some great lenses out there which are affordable (Minolta 50mm f/1.7 for example) and give impressive results. The camera itself is the perfect size for me and it feels very comfortable to use over long periods. I am currently using my camera for wildlife shots, it performs well in low light conditions (if I concentrate on my breathing etc I can still take shots without a tripod!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

It's the Best A-Mount Camera

ILCA-99M2 30/03/2019 by SCPH1000

I've wanted this camera since before it eventually came on sale, I saw the basic reviews, I read the specs, I saw Various write ups etc - But none of those mattered.... I wanted to make my own mind up (also I couldn't afford it at the time anyway). fast forward to 2019 and after finally getting the funds together there was another possible contender - The A9 appeared and threw my mind into turmoil, do I go E-Mount with an A-Mount adaptor or stick with my original choice - The A99II!?. Only one way to find out. I Went to the one shop in London that had both in stock, as soon as I picked up the A9 I immediately put it down - it was far to light imo. I didn't and don't care that it had the newest tech and the newest lenses, where as the A99II felt perfect, it was weighty, it just about fits my big ole hands and adding the vertical grip made it absolutely perfect. For me this was the perfect upgrade from my battered but still working A900. I've now had the A99II for a few weeks now and the images are perfect - even with my old Minolta lenses. 4K video on this is beautiful too. Everything about this camera is perfect, it's solid build, design, weight,the specs, speed of focusing, low light capabilities are fantastic too. The Perfect purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Disappointed.

ILCA-99M2 02/02/2019 by Schutz670709

I bought the a99ii reading a lot of reviews and to say I’m disappointed is an under statement,the previous camera was the a99 with a Sony 70-400 lens was fantasticly sharp,the rx10iv is beating the new combo hands down,wish I kept the a99,less hassle,with better results.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

0

Top notch gear for the A series lenses.....

ILCA-99M2 06/01/2019 by I have no nickname here

I photograph wildlife so wanted a second camera body to avoid the need to change lenses. I was intending to buy a second A77 Mk2 but was invited to explore an upgrade to the A99 Mk2.... I bought it and have recently used it on safari.... the quality of photos it produces are stunning. The auto setting produces great results yet the equipment allows for individual freedom in manual etc. It was especially pleasing to find quality equipment that would not need an adaptor for the wide range of A type lenses I have already invested in. There are a host of settings (one friend compared the options to that you'd find flying a plane) many of which you may not need or want (but they can be switched off). You need high quality cards due to the fast speeds the camera can deal with. Overall, for a top end amateur, I'm not sure you could get better than this. More specialist and pricey than some of the competition but if you are serious about your hobby and pleasure worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Up there with the best of them

ILCA-99M2 23/12/2018 by paddy1mlt

This model represents state-of-the-art excellence at a better price than the competition

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Not supported

ILCA-99M2 18/12/2018 by Darrin66

I purchase this to replace a Sony a900 I don't think it was worth doing now. Sony no longer supports the a mount lanes. The a99ii only slightly better than the 10 year-old a900 if I could go back I would

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Smashing

ILCA-99M2 15/12/2018 by Binus1963

Upgraded from a77ii and so glad I did lot better quality pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great camera a welcome update to the range

ILCA-99M2 20/11/2018 by Brian in Hereford

So I picked this camera up as part of the Sony Winter offer, this camera has been on my wish list for sometime. A truily great feature is the compatability in using my existing battery grip and my existing lenses. The camera is new to me but the features and options feel farmiliar despite some of them being new to me. It is too early for me to comment on real world imagery but I am very confident that this body will allow me to capture some stunning images, especially at concerts when I am trying to avoid noisy images in tricky lighting conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quality camera

ILCA-99M2 19/10/2018 by marcusandronicus99

So I recently bought the Sony a99ii chiefly because I had a bunch of 'a' mount lenses and didn't want to start from scratch or faff around with lens converters etc. I have to say the image quality from this camera ( used in conjunction with Sony/Zeiss 24-70mm lens ) is outstanding. I am using it for landscape photography in manual mode so can't really comment on the AF system but overall I am very happy so far...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Packed with features

ILCA-99M2 01/10/2018

A great upgrade from my old A99. The improvements in resolution, focusing speed and processor performance certainly justify the price. This level of performance would cost you much more if you were a Canon or Nikon user.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great build quality and superb image quality

ILCA-99M2 28/09/2018 by Columbusbuild

This was an upgrade from the excellent A99, which is great but this A99 MII is fantastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great a99mk2

ILCA-99M2 01/09/2018 by Menachem

Coming from an a77mk2 the a99mk2 takes you to heaven

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fantastically Built Camera

ILCA-99M2 10/07/2018 by TechDude

Brilliant camera that reproduces colours as the eye would see it. I've owned 6 Sony a-mount cameras over the past decade, 2 of which full frame, the 99m2 is by far the best to date. Continuous Eye AF is probably the best feature to have been added to this machine. Only drawback is the lack of a thumb wheel like in the A7R models to zoom in on previews.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Amazing Camera

ILCA-99M2 16/05/2018 by Johnnymark

Had this camera a year now and still learning from it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great but complicated

ILCA-99M2 21/11/2017 by Dauphin64000

I bought this device 2 weeks ago. I'm not a pro and all the features are impressed et some are out of my knowledge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Superb

ILCA-99M2 10/11/2017 by Joe go wild about

Only had the camera a month but it has far exceeded my expectation.Great speed in all conditions and brilliant images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

A pleasure to use

ILCA-99M2 29/10/2017 by HanselAdamsrevived

Very pleased with the body. Everything works as it should. Video control is limited and a big minus is the inability to use downloadable apps. (E.g. timelapse)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

High End product

ILCA-99M2 01/09/2017 by truthinshredding

I was looking for excellent low light capability and this product does an amazing job. Love the ergonomic design and build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Exceptional camera

ILCA-99M2 11/08/2017 by Welsh Kerry

I bought this camera as it does everything I need - rarely can this be said about any camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

step learning curve

ILCA-99M2 21/06/2017 by rhidav90

brought as a retirement present to me, there is a lot to learn from my a77 but I will have time to learn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

Excellent camera, very useable, superb images

ILCA-99M2 15/06/2017 by ifi99

Good points: It's very useable straight out of the box. Superb image quality, with great dynamic range and low shadow noise across a wide range of ISOs. All your good lenses perform better (but it reveals the limitations of any weak ones). The AF is quick and accurate, and it's easy to adjust if you need more control for different subjects. Face-detection and eye-AF are really useful too. Low-light AF is very impressive, although it needs fast lenses to be most effective. Also, you get focus-peaking in MF. The Steady-Shot stabilisation system is excellent, and works with any A-mount lens. Movies are smooth when hand-held, even with long focal lengths. It's chunky, yet well balanced, with a natural and intuitive control layout. You can customise most of the dials and buttons to suit your style, and all settings are quick to reach and adjust once you have set it up. Limitations: It gets through batteries quickly, so at least two spares are recommended for a day's work. Not all A-mount lenses are compatible with the wide-area focal-plane AF (although in practice the dedicated 79-point phase-detection area is large and works impressively well). Auto-review is linked in the viewfinder and monitor so that when it's enabled, the viewfinder image is interrupted. I want live view continuously in the viewfinder, and the last recorded image automatically displayed on the monitor, but there doesn't seem to be any way to do that. Summary: The best A-mount camera ever. You can use your legacy lenses, you get superb image quality and great handling. It's fast, quiet, responsive, and adaptable. The SLT technology means you benefit from the advantages of both mirrorless and DSLR: it's like having several cameras at once. There are some minor limitations, but these are far outweighed by this camera's good points. It’s quick and satisfying to use, with a huge depth of abilities when you dig deeper. Fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Exceptional image quality meets high fps

ILCA-99M2 02/06/2017 by Aardwolf6886

Having had the ILCA-88M2 for a few weeks now, I believe it ios one of the best cameras made so far, I have previously used Canon 1 & 5 series cameras aswell as Nikon D4 & 810's , I find the 42mp image quality of the a99 II to be far better than any of these and coupled with the abillity to shoot 12fps while autofocusing and tracking a subject makes this camera exceptional. I do not shoot video, but my understanding is that the 4k video output is also excellent. There is currently no other camera that can do all the things that this one does so well. My only slight gripe is that the full Hybrid Phase detection AF can not currently be used with 3rd party lenses, but hopefully Sony, Sigma and Tamron will get this sorted out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Superb

ILCA-99M2 27/05/2017 by Squirrel1

Bought this and have found the speed, quality and megapixel count brilliant. Still practising though. Would always choose Sony quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Great Camera

ILCA-99M2 14/05/2017 by Womble67

Owned the Sony A99ii for a couple of weeks now and used it primarily for motorsport. The focus side of things is a big improvement over my A99, and the resolution is superb. This is where I had to hang back from giving 5 stars though, I'm really disappointed that the camera doesn't utilise UHS2 memory cards. My uncompressed raw files have been in the region of 83mb, and UHS2 would have dealt with this so much better. I attended the Speedway GP in Warsaw this weekend and was finding I'm hitting the buffer far too soon and waiting for saving images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Great Camera - wished I held off & have A9 envy

ILCA-99M2 11/05/2017 by Pspy

Good replacement for the A99 and although customer satisfaction was low on the camera after a return issue. I had a meet up at the camera show at the NEC and this made me switch my other A99 for an A99ii. I have problems with the rear preview screen not switching from the viewfinder. Great photos but pro photographers friend of mine from Nikon background didn't manage to get autofocus to work for him and still find my A99 more reliable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

12

0

A heavyweight such fast burst rates at full res.

ILCA-99M2 15/04/2017 by Bartpx

At last a real heavyweight. I shoot in a lot of different situations but one of the most common is sports and it can stand anything I throw at it. The metering is tops and the focusing has not missed out much. I am still taking it through it's paces and I am simply amazed at this Thoroughbred.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Bells and Whistles

ILCA-99M2 11/03/2017 by RogersG

Bought it less than three weeks ago and delighted with the upgrade from A77. What a pity I have to wait up to twelve (12) weeks for a full frame 24-70 Sony Zeiss lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

5

0

Image sensor, metering and auto focus are stunning

ILCA-99M2 03/03/2017 by Trevor125

Pros: 1. The image sensor captures over a very wide dynamic range with very high picture quality. 2. The metering system is superb, accurately capturing the correct settings in challenging lighting conditions, particularly back-lit scenes. 3. The auto focus system is excellent for moving subjects. 4. Frequently accessed features and settings are easy to get to and are customisable. 5. The screen can be moved and rotated over a wide range, making it easy to shoot with the camera help away from you. 6. The view finder is very clear. Cons: 1. The configurable menu options can seem a bit overwhelming. 2. Auto focus for still images, particularly landscape, really requires centre-only focusing. Any other auto focus setting requires frequent tuning. 3. That's about it. This camera really is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

2

0

Great Camera

ILCA-99M2 11/02/2017

Professional level features without the higher price tag of other well know brands

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

5

0

Less than I expected!

ILCA-99M2 02/01/2017 by Zako

1) Advertised that it pairs with Playmemories on mobile and it does not. 2) The multi-selector is very difficult to use even after following recommendations. 3) unable to find out how to remove focus off shutter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

10

64

0

Exactly what an upgrade should be.

ILCA-99M2 26/12/2016 by Timvasvi

Having owned the A99 alongside the A77, I decided to add this to my kit bag and go entirely full frame. The A99II is a model example of how an upgraded version to a camera should be... Better in every way compared to it's predecessor. The Auto Focus system is vastly improved over the A99 and is now locks onto it's target faster and with less hunting. AF in low light conditions has also been improved too. This goes hand in hand with low light performance overall, as ISO performance on this camera is quite simply amazing. I find myself being able to shoot at ISO levels a lot higher than I have ever previously been able to and still manage to get usable shots in relation to noise. NFC transfer of images is a great addition, allowing me to upload to my social media whilst on a shoot which is great for engaging with clients, both current and potential. The WiFi remote via the Play Memories app is another feature that is welcomed and should come in handy when I am shooting my landscape shots and the camera is on it's tripod. Overall, I couldn't be happier with the decision to purchase this. The only thing I would have liked to see is support for 3rd party lenses with the new 4D Hybrid focusing system as I do feel like I am being limited when using some of my lenses with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

51

1

0

The best camera produced by Sony.

ILCA-99M2 02/12/2016

Sony has finally produced a camera that can compete with the professional cameras from Nikon and Canon. The size has been reduced from the original Alpha 99 and has a similar size to the Sony Alpha 77II. The grip has been redesigned and feel very comfortable in your hand, especially when combined with the optional Sony VG-C77AM vertical grip. Those familiar with other cameras in the Sony Alpha DSLT line will feel at home with layout of the buttons. The majority of buttons can be customised to meet your needs. A very useful button is the function (FN) button which can display 12 different camera functions on either the viewfinder or monitor. These functions are fully customisable and allow you change functions without the need to access the camera menu. Another very useful button is the customisable front multi control button. This button allows you to change settings such as ISO very quickly while shooting. The full frame 42.2 megapixel back illuminated CMOS sensor produces the best photos I have seen from a Sony DSLT camera. The cameras have excellent low light performance. There is minimal noise, even at an ISO off 12800. The photos I took so far was very sharp and reproduced very accurate colours. I believe that the absence of an optical low pass filter has improved the sharpness of photos compared to the Alpha 99 or Alpha 77II. In addition to shooting in full frame mode you can shoot stills in APS-C mode or movies in Super 35 mode. In this mode, the camera shoots at 18 megapixels. This can be very useful to gain extra reach with a telephoto lens. The cameras AF and AE is very accurate even when shooting at 12 fps due the newly designed hybrid phase detection system. The camera was able to lock onto and track even fast moving targets. I was able to shoot a fast-moving subject at 12 fps with all the photos taken being in focus. I was able to review the images immediately after shooting compared to other cameras where there was a delay. When shooting at 8 fps live view is continuously available making it easier to track a moving subject. The 5-axis in body stabilisation also works very well when hand shooting both stills or movies. I was able to produce consistent results under fluorescent and other artificial lights due to the presence of a flicker free shooting mode. You have the option to add copyright information to your files on the camera. The OLED viewfinder makes it very easy to compose your image. You can clearly see what your picture will look like before taking it. The effect of changing the shutter, aperture, ISO, white balance etc. on your image is displayed in real time on the viewfinder. The camera also takes high quality 4K movies. Unfortunately, you are unable to change aperture when shooting with auto focus mode. The aperture is locked at F3.5. When shooting in manual focus the aperture and shutter can be adjust. In manual focus mode both aperture and shutter can be adjusted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

87

24