21

4.3 based on 21 customer reviews

12
6
2
0
1
Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

21 Customer Reviews

0

A Must Have For a6xxx Cameras

HVL-F20M 20/03/2020 by Sonycam

This flash is a"jewel" on my A6000. More power and flexibility than the built in flash. Light weight and compact for travel. I love the "fold flat" feature whilst walking around. Fits the concept of compact mirrorless cameras.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Efficient

HVL-F20M 05/03/2020 by Glenn81

Surprisingly packs alot of power for a flash so small.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just what I need.

HVL-F20M 22/12/2019 by AAAARGH2

This little flash is perfect for what I need, usually a little fill flash outside or to brighten up a dull interior. It's not to powerful but used with my hx400v has enough features for what I need and folds down ready for use, just perfect.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

All you really need

HVL-F20M 05/12/2019 by MarkyMark383

I have purchased large flash guns in the past but came to realise that it is better to have a smaller flash for fill in. This is a brilliant little flash. It has been all over the world with me and remains on my camera almost all the time.It is so light I do not even know it is there. It provides enough illumination for 95% of all circumstances and it is brilliant that it also comes with an internal "wide" filter and has the capability to "bounce" also. When in the "off" position, you can fold the flash down, whist on the camera making the whole unit (camera+flash) very compact indeed. I am writing this review now as I have just purchased another one after I managed to break the last one after almost 6 years! Initially used on my A7R and now on my A7R3.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good travel flash at a great price

HVL-F20M 06/07/2019 by Mbehrsi

I wanted a flash to add to my 6500, for occasional use on holiday. The F20M is physically small and light, and does a great job. I was also pleased to find that it was able to control the off-camera wireless flash that I had bought with my Sony A100 over ten years ago. That was a nice bonus, and makes me even more happy with the purchase, especially at the low price.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent addition for basic flash photography

HVL-F20M 02/07/2019 by JimsZ

Excellent entry level on camera flash for enthusiast who wants to progress their photography to the next level

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small and fits my A7 camera

HVL-F20M 15/05/2019 by chrislemon1955

fits my camera and arrears to work well for failry close up use

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Perfect compact flash gun

HVL-F20M 12/05/2019 by Hifismith

A great compact flash gun with good range of features. Very useful on camera contoller for multi flash environments.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great product,

HVL-F20M 01/02/2019 by Doyle10

Does exactly what I wanted. Small compact flash to give you that extra light when needed, only wanted something small to have in the bag, Very happy

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact, Lightweight, Easy to - just what I need!

HVL-F20M 14/06/2018 by Biffo

Ok so it's not the fanciest flash on the block, but it combines seamlessly with the camera via the hotshoe and is ideal as a fill-in for those situations that need a bit of a boost.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good features

HVL-F20M 26/02/2018 by Bigone

Bought this for my Sony camera different angles of flash works well

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Small and light

HVL-F20M 19/12/2017 by gttt

I don't use flash very often, just for fill-in and photographing documents, so I was looking to replicate the convenience of the built-in pop-up flash on the NEX 7, on my alpha 7R. The F20M is the smallest unit I could find; it is small and light but seems rather fragile mounted on the shoe for outdoor use. In terms of performance it is overkill of course being more versatile and powerful that I really need. It is a pity that 'professional' cameras don't include built-in flash units.

Performance

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Remarkably powerful

HVL-F20M 16/12/2017 by Singingbike

It may only have a GN of 20 but it still packs a punch. Light enough to keep in the bag for any occassion.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

F20M Review

HVL-F20M 12/12/2017 by dndn

Bought this for my Sony NEX-6. Previously had an HVL-F20S on an NEX-5N camera. This one uses its own separate batteries, which can be both good and bad. Not had it long enough to know how long batteries will last, but expect ~90 shots from 2 Duracells and even more if I used externally charged rechargeables. Unit seems well made and works well - as expected. Interestingly, unlike HVL-F20S this one does not come with a plastic diffuser cover - I wonder why not? Only criticism is, as specified no ability to swivel flash head. However I knew this when I bought it. All in all a good unit.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great flash

HVL-F20M 18/11/2017 by Davecamps

Great value flashgun, very easy to use, much better that built in unit.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect extra flashgun for Cybershot DSC-HX400V

HVL-F20M 25/02/2017 by Saxman68

I was looking for an integrated flash for my HX400V and already have a Canon TTL flashgun. There isn't much I could actually do with that except use it in manual mode - rather negates the idea of an automatic camera! I was not after a huge flashgun and I saw this one that seemed to fit the bill. Guide number 20 which is about 4 times more powerful than the built in flash on the Cybershot. The flash is semi-automatic in that wide angle or telephoto has to be set manually, but this is a small niggle for a flashgun that works through the lens and integrates as a wireless sender for remote flashguns as well. It can also be used as a bounce flash. In my (limited) usage I have found it to be very reliable and produces good light coverage against camera settings. Now for the not so good. The head can not be switched on and off manually except by either lowering it against the shoe mount or switching off the camera with the flash attached. This is a nuisance as the OFF position leaves the hot shoe at a 90 degree angle and this bungs up your camera bag. The flash cannot be used effectively in bounce mode with the camera in portrait orientation as the flash does not twist. Other than that it does the job.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Performs well

HVL-F20M 24/05/2016 by salarymanjam

This very light flash performs very consistently. I'm happy with its compact form and power level.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Faulty Sony

HVL-F20M 05/02/2015 by Norrie

I bought this product 3 weeks ago and sorry to say that having bought Sony products for over 30 years without a problem, this was the first faulty item I have ever received. Item returned for full refund from seller. Wont change my high opinion of Sony products but with this item I have a problem as it is the only type available for my A3000 camera.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

19

0

A great little Flash

HVL-F20M 09/06/2014 by johnnyfb

A useful , lightweight portable flash that overcomes the built in flash's limitations, able to "bounce" light effectively. Only downside is that the unit's off position is "folded" so soaring in a amore streamlined fashion will drain batteries so if not using for some time take the batteries out (always good practice!) I would recommend this for use with NEX models and possibly withe the new A7's too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

4

0

good value

HVL-F20M 29/05/2013 by burnie

helped with butterfly pictures with ability to bounce lighting, well and competitively priced by Tesco

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

Great little product

HVL-F20M 21/04/2013

This is a fantastic little product. Sony don't do 'value', but they do do styling in a fantastic way. You could very easily get a much cheaper flash for your Alpha, but it wouldn't look as great as this. This sits snugly on top of the camera, is very easy to operate (lift it up to switch in on, fold it flat down again to switch it off). And is does just the job.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0