MDR-1AM2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

RRP

£230.00

(incl. VAT)
6

4.8 based on 6 customer reviews

5
1
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic headphones with 1 problem

MDR-1AM2 28/05/2020 by Kiki17

Had these headphones for more than a year now and as headphones these are some of the best at the price range (£100-200) with great design, very light and comfortable with amazing quality. After long sessions of listrning your ears can get hot but that's most closed off headphones. The only major issue is the wire. I have had 3 wires with these headphones and all have broke in less than 6 months. You can't just plug any wire into it as well as they don't fit. So if your wires break out of warranty might be difficult to find a replacement as sony charges £60 for a new wire. If i could plug any wire into these fantastic headphones would be an easy sell to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

Response From Customer Support
03/06/2020

Hi Kiki17,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to learn that you are enjoying your headphones’ sound and design.
We will make sure to deliver your feedback about the wire through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support team

0

The best headphone evaaar

MDR-1AM2 14/02/2020 by Orsettopuzzoso

Since I bought my new portable device, sony walkman nw a105 I was looking for something special for listening my hi res audio files... And I found it.... I made the perfect match

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Best wired headphones.

MDR1AM2B.CE7 02/12/2018 by jpjg_86

The sound out of these headphones is nothing short of a delight to which one can choose to listen. The bass and low-end is deep, full and rich; whilst the mids and highs are clear, emotive and something in which one chooses to be enveloped. All of the note sets are distortion free at full volume in a variety of genres. In short the sound is, as mentioned above, a delight to which one can listen. The style is high end and understated. This serves well if one chooses to wear them outside of the home, as they blend in well and from a distance the look betrays their value. The metal backing gives a nice industrial strength feeling to the construction, which withstands bending twisting and everyday use far better than most. The materials are of high quality; very comfortable and lightweight. All of which results in a very comfortable and enjoyable listening experience. The features are on more of the lacking side, though what is done is implemented well. The microphone in the wire and the control button is easy to use and well built, with excellent sound quality when on a call. It would have been nice to see Bluetooth to be included with such a premium quality headset; the lack of Bluetooth however, does lend itself to a guaranteed uninterrupted and interference free listening experience. So pros and cons. In short I can't recommend these headphones enough. The sound quality is second, only to Sony's top of the range; they're stylish, well made and very desirable. One piece of feedback would be to highlight or otherwise change the design of the box for the headphones to better show where to open it. I may have damaged/ripped the box at the top in an effort to open mine, only to discover the actual open tab. For the record I understand that I am very complimentary to Sony in this review, but I genuinely think this is one of their best products and believe in each word expressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

19

0

0

Perfect headphones for the ‘grab and go’ crowd.

MDR1AM2B.CE7 30/11/2018

Sony MDR- 1AM2. These full sized over ear headphones come in a big sturdy box that also contains two cables, a Sony branded carry/storage pouch and the regular handbooks and warranty cards. They are constructed of a combination of plastic, metal and soft pleather. In the hand they feel very very well built yet are remarkably light. Sporting wonderfully soft ear pads on the thin profile ear cups, that twist to allow you to lay them flat when off your head. I wonder if they are aimed at the ‘commuter’ type wearer, who you see walking to a from school/college or crowded on the buses and tubes throughout towns and cities. The cable is thick and tangle free and has a solid satisfying click into place, when you attach it to the left ear cup. Again, helping to drive home that quality feel that these have. It contains a control section with a single button. Single press for Pause, double press for track forward and triple press for track back (haven’t investigated any other clicks!). The cable finishes in a 90-degree connector for hooking up with your source player, this should help to keep that connection stress free. I have been using these for a week now, listening through an old iPhone 5 that I used to stream Spotify. The sound quality is impressive. Initially I thought it was a little ‘thin’. But either my ears have adapted, they have burnt in or its confirmation bias! But either way, I now find that sound to be deep and layered. There is a test track I used for assessing bass response: James Blake - Limit To Your Love - YouTube The bass seems well represented, not overblown or bloaty (I guess, no or limited artificial bump in the bass region) which I prefer. Vocals are crisp and clean with female voices well reproduced and enjoyable. All sound seems forward and never leave you reaching to hear the finer details. With virtually no leakage (closed back), easy use button, super lightweight profile and an extremely good quality feel build these are perfect headphones for the ‘grab and go’ crowd.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Hi-Res Heaven!

MDR1AM2B.CE7 27/11/2018 by occasionalstan

Arriving in the Hi-Res world a year ago I already own two pairs of in ear Hi-Res headphones (both Sony) and am extremely pleased with the comfort, and sound quality. These headphones however take it to another level, the build quality is excellent as you would expect, they are very comfortable and the audio is rich and full of depth making the experience of listening to my vinyl directly from my PS-HX500 an absolute joy. Couple this with the performance of my Xperia playing this vinyl (24bit/96Khz conversion) and other downloaded Hi-Res music I am actually genuinely blown away. I'm not sure I can bring myself to wander around outside with these cans instead of my in-ear variety but I have to say I have never been more tempted. I have a small array of other good quality headphones to compare these too and they outperform them with ease in quality, looks and sound. Thank you Sony, these are absolutely superb.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

0

Extremely light headphone

MDR-1AM2 01/06/2018 by ASTGHOST

The weight became the first things inspired me. And during daily use, the weight really make sense. It let me use it longer compare with my previous headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

7