RRP

£850.00

(incl. VAT)
16

4.5 based on 16 customer reviews

10
5
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16 Customer Reviews

0

Nicely engineered.

FDR-AXP33 06/08/2018 by Farmboy Charlie

First camcorder I've ever owned or used, worth buying something that's got good reviews, steep learning curve and haven't had to resort to the instruction book very much - all fairly intuitive. Bought from John Lewis, recommended carry case (Sony LCS-BBJ) useless, won't even take device with battery fitted on, and no other storage.

0

0

0

Picture quality + features choice

FDR-AXP33 14/12/2015 by Alf09

I have not used much but I am very pleased with the quality of what I have done with this Camera so far eg. Stabiliser system,quality of video and pictures,Auto mode very good,plenty of choice for manual operation,a nice weight to hold,Battery life OK but you will need a spare,Projector OK as novelty value,??view finder good alternative to LCD screen, I should add that 4K video is excellent and in conclusion I would say that it is a step up in performance and quality to my previous model HDR - PJ810 which i have been pleased with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony HDR-AXP33 Initial thoughts

FDR-AXP33 22/11/2015 by feethea

I bought this some 10 days ago and as the weather here in the NW UK hasn't been good at all I've only used the camcorder on a few occasions. First impressions are that the picture quality is superb both in 1080 and 4K. The BOSS system really adds to the functionality. The build quality is top-notch. A small niggle is that the hot-shoe is covered by a plastic flap which cannot be removed (unless you an expert DIY person) which hinders/prevents the use of an attached microphone or light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A truly affordable wonder of modern videography!

FDR-AXP33 15/09/2015 by Scubalover

A lightweight entry into 4K video on both weight and pocket. Amazing ease of use and long battery life make it a must have on any trip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

4K is better?

FDR-AXP33 13/09/2015 by DuncanS

The AXP33 is a very good camcorder, but you also need a very good TV to see the difference. I have a 42" LG and a 55" Samsung, both 4K; but it is only really on the 55" can you see that it outperforms HD. The camcorder is also very fussy about SD cards, it really does need UHS-I 3 versions to record UHD. It's also quite heavy to carry all day. But I would call it semi-pro, you could sell wedding footage or similar. The stabilised lens means handheld shots are easy, but be careful with panning or zooming too much which can look unnatural.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great 2nd Generation 4K camcorder

FDR-AXP33 14/06/2015 by markpd

The AXP-33 is an excellent camcorder. It is smaller, lighter and 40% cheaper than the 4K Sony AX100 of 2014. The active 2 Axis gimbal style BOSS stabilization works extremely well. This stabilization is the best on the market today. The AXP33 is best used as a camcorder to record family and travel. It achieves a amazingly sharp 4K image in a compact body and the stabilisation yields super stable (and therefore watchable) "walk around" footage. Since the sensor is 7.76mm (diagonal) the low light performance, while very good, is not, and can not be, as good as Sony's AX100 or Panasonic's FZ1000 which have sensors three times larger (25.4mm) for the same resolution. So this camera is perhaps not ideal for "professional" film makers who want noise free images in low light and with shallow depth of field (wide aperture). For the rest of us this camera is an excellent compromise between weight, stabilisation and picture quality. The output down sampled to 1080p is really very good, with a much better HD picture than my last Canon HV30 camcorder. Although the camers supports several resolutions I am recording only in 4K. I don't have a 4K set yet but surely will one day and then these 4K pictures will really shine. I have camcorder footage from way back in 1990 (taken on an 8mm Sony TR55 Handicam) when the resolution was a mere 576 high X 320 wide ! Nevertheless videos from that time are very wonderful for me to watch. Priceless memories! Imagine had a 4K (2160 X 3840 wide) image been available to me then? The moral is always shoot the best image possible. In years to come you will be glad you did! Other points: Fast start up from off - 2-3 sec. Battery life is excellent (> 2 hours). And WiFi remote control by iPhone works well. The widest 4K zoom angle is 29mm (35mm equivalent), but it would be nice for it to have been a little wider (some cameras reach 25mm). The AXP-33 is quite a bit heavier than recent typical HD camcorders, and therefore a bit tiring to hold, but the image quality is worth it. Finally I really miss a live "data" display of the aperture/shutter speed/gain currently in use by the camera. As far as I can tell this is only visible on playback. I have had this live display before on other cameras and I found it very useful. The AX100 does have this feature so Sony choose to omit it I suppose. In conclusion overall I think this will be a hit camera for Sony. Bravo !.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

If you though 1080p was good, just try this camera

FDR-AXP33 08/06/2015 by JayKay1

I owned an older 1080 Sony camcorder and wanted to see the difference between the two. In reality there is no comparison. The codec is superior, the lens quality is superior, all resulting in an absolutely crisp image. There are some good manual controls not found on cheaper models, including manual zoom, manual exposure, screen touch spot focus to name a few. There is one programmable button that can be configured to access one of these as a quick access. It would have been nice to have a couple more. The eyepiece viewfinder is a great addition in bright sunlight as the screen is sometimes difficult to see in bright sunlight. Projector I thought was going to be a gimmick and never used, but its a great addition. Its not just a 'wow' feature but actually useful. PROS * Excellent image quality * Excellent image stabilisation, although don't expect miracles * Good array of additional features * Good battery life * Nice size for the consumer market. You don't feel like a geek when videoing the school play * Price vs quality is definitely worth paying * Nice connectivity with built in USB cable CONS: * Slow to configure manual settings through menu system on camera. Will probably speed up when location in menu becomes second nature * Seems to slightly over expose in bright conditions. Would have liked a ND option. Can manually knock down the exposure if wanted though * Screen could be brighter and larger * WIFI options seem an after-thought

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Boss stabilization everything else hmm..

FDR-AXP33 03/06/2015 by onair

This camera has a nice build and is fairly unchanged to my Sony CX700E handycam I used to have. The Boss stabilization is the best feature, the small sensor sadly lets this camera down big time. Also the lack of 4k 50p output is disappointing. After a few weeks with this model I sent it back as felt the image quality and colours seemed disappointing and washed out. My other 4k camera produces better quality footage but that does not have great stabilization like Sony. Will wait for a future model.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

A top camcorder

FDR-AXP33 15/05/2015 by JazzVideo

I have recently filmed about 20 hours over a period of 4 days. The quality of pictures and sound is very good. I filmed mostly in HD, with only about 2 hours in 4K. All the HD footage transferred very easily from the SD cards to my Panasonic BlyRay recorder, but it will not accept the HD footage. All the footage transferred to Play Memories using a SD card reader. The projection facility proved useful for reviewing the footage on the hotel wall. Very pleased so far, but I will avoid use of 4K until I have found a way of transferring it to my BluRay recorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very Pleased

FDR-AXP33 11/05/2015 by pcb1

Always used Sony Camcorders and this is the best yet in terms of functionality and quality, although shame no GPS. Is a little chunckier than my last but am happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good feature rich solid camcorder

FDR-AXP33 05/05/2015 by mike444

This review is not intended to detail the many technical aspects of the fdr-axp33 that information can be found on the Sony website and particularly in the PDF help file for this camera. I bought the Sony fdr-axp33 to replace an ageing DV tape machine. I wanted a camcorder that was easily portable and most importantly included an adjustable viewfinder, very few consumer camcorders feature viewfinders and those that do tend to just be the straight pull out types without the ability to angle them. The Sony fdr-axp33 gives me the features that I was looking for whilst bringing my videos bang up to date with 4K resolution, the ability to record in HD, with 5.1 surround sound and MP4 as well as still images. The menu is easy to navigate using the touch screen LCD and there are plenty of options to choose from for those that like to get creative, or you can just set it to auto and point and shoot. The LCD screen is bright and clear but it is nice to have the viewfinder to exclude the sun on those very bright days. The viewfinder is also clear and the adjustment wheel on the side brought the image into sharp focus even with my poor eyesight. The fdr-axp33 feels solid, it is no lightweight plastic feeling machine like some I looked at. It is quite a hand full but there is something reassuring about its chunkiness and the controls fall naturally to hand. Apart from the pull-out viewfinder some of my favourite features are the Balanced Optical SteadyShot system which makes a big difference to the quality of the recorded video when in hand held use or on the move. There is a nifty little sliding door on the side which covers the headphone, microphone and usb connections. The multi interface shoe is covered by a hinged flap which is nice, although I am a little concerned that this may get damaged when the shoe is in use as it doesn’t seem to come off just hangs open. I didn't think that I would get on with the touch screen LCD panel but it works well even with my fat digits. The still photographs that I have taken all look good, the zoom for stills is not as powerful as the video in standard setting but the picture quality is excellent and saves lugging a separate camera around for taking the occasional snap. I thought the projector was just a bit of a gimmick before I bought the camcorder but I was surprised at how good it actually is. It saves worrying about finding something to connect the camcorder to when away from home and is like having your own movie theatre. Wind noise is a problem with most built-in microphones and this camcorder is no different, wind noise cancelling can be enabled but I have fitted a faux fur wind muff over the microphone which also helps to keep my little finger from touching the microphone mesh. On balance I'm glad that I bought this camcorder it has plenty of features to keep me interested, it is small enough to take just about anywhere without being a hindrance and if my videos don't improve using this camera then that's down to me not it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small but Packed with Features

FDR-AXP33 23/04/2015 by Papi51

I have only had the camera just over a week but previously owned the AX100. Sony have managed to pack most of the features of this larger camcorder into a smaller body. New image stabilization is excellent but focusing still sluggish. The zoom indicator has no values attached (i.e. 2x, 8x, 20x) which would be useful rather than a blank slider scale. The battery is removed from the bottom so if on a tripod plate you have to dismantle to change the battery. Other competitors have a battery removed from the side. Lack of an infrared remote is not appreciated. Images very good but some purple on white when brightness high. Very happy with product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Axp33

FDR-AXP33 14/04/2015 by Luckyclick

This is the best camcorder ever the new steady feature works like a dream and the 4K is wonderfull it also has microphone input and headphone socket and is small and light its getting close to a pro camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Superb picture quality and excellent menu system

FDR-AXP33 07/04/2015 by jrdaddykins

I bought the AXP33 a couple of weeks ago. This review is very much non-technical and gives my first impressions of the camcorder. It is small and can easily be held in one hand. With an NP-F70 battery attached, it weighs 725g (1lb 9oz), solid enough to aid stability. The LCD monitor is clear and very sharp in detail. I like it that I can superimpose a simple grid to help me align horizontals and verticals, just as I would with a stills camera. The viewfinder is extremely useful when the sun is behind you and the LCD monitor is bleached out. Sound is very important to me. The on-board mic is very good: I recorded the dawn chorus yesterday with excellent results. If there is any wind I would of course use an external mic with a wind shield. For this purpose the multi interface shoe is nicely placed, dead centre on the top of the camcorder, and it works very well with my Rode external microphone. I have recorded outdoors on sunny and cloudy days and achieved excellent results, the footage looking incredibly detailed when played back on my Sony KD-55X8505B 4k TV. Indoor footage with poor lighting looks a little subdued and grainy, but is much improved when using the Low Lux setting. Sony have obviously put a good deal of thought into the Menu system, which is the best I have ever had on a camera or camcorder: the options are clearly and logically set out, and there is a simple and effective on/off option at the bottom of the screen for any item selected. Well done, guys! I have tried manual focus, using a menu option and then turning the knurled ring in front of the lens, and it worked well. When using autofocus I did note a short delay in refocussing when I moved the camera quickly to a different subject while shooting; this did not occur when panning, however. The image stabiliser is the best I have encountered in a camera or camcorder. I found it particularly impressive when panning, giving a much smoother effect than before. I can see myself leaving my excellent though heavy Manfrotto tripod at home a little more often! The built-in projector works very well, but you do need to have a plain white surface to project on to, and it works best in subdued light. I think it will prove very handy on occasions when I want to show friends some footage but do not have the means to show it on a TV screen or computer monitor. So far, I am very impressed with this little beast. I am looking forward to trying out some of the manual settings and doing some really creative work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellant Features

FDR-AXP33 30/03/2015 by AnthonycL

Great product with excellent features. When I get a chance to further test, I'll know more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

An exciting new product

FDR-AXP33 29/03/2015 by Garry

I have only had the AXP33 for a short time but the limited use so far has shown really excellent results and was well worth waiting for this fantastic camcorder. I just love it and its features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

10