140

4.5 based on 140 customer reviews

88
40
5
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

140 Customer Reviews

0

Stabilisation and Quality is great

FDR-AX53 26/12/2020 by Small D

Have been using a camera phone (S20) for a few months and have been fairly happy until you have to zoom. So started using a DSLR for more distant videos but keeping the hand shake to a minimum is difficult. Bought the AX53 as I was fed up with both of the above and the fact there is a £100 cashback offer. The quality and stabilisation is phenomenal, very happy with results even in low light. Would definitely recommend buying one even if its for a novice like me, just point and record.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Camcorder update.

FDR-AX53 19/12/2020 by IAN1952

Purchased this to replace/use along side my Panasonic for my youtube channel after researching, not had chance to use it yet.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

FDR-AX53 26/10/2020 by BRC0801

I bought this to replace my 6 years old Sony PJ530e to enable shooting in 4K. The AX53 feels comfortable in the hand and very easy to use. Compare to the previous camcorder this is a little big bigger and heavier, though comfortably so, giving a feeling of good balance and accessibility for shooting video. I have only had this model for less than 2 weeks, so haven't had the opportunity to do much other than test its capabilities. Sometime in the next couple of weeks I hope to get out and about to more fully explore the potential - mainly for own personal video work, though does have capability to be used for semi-pro work. So far I am very pleased pleased with picture quality, both video and still, though for the latter I would still use my Nikon digital SLR. Overall an excellent point and shoot camcorder, with much more ability to step up with manual controls available through the menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

perfect camera great features

FDR-AX53 10/10/2020 by dz tlr

hi all just to say as a real-world user of this camera must say it beat my expectations I bought mine from castle camera Bournemouth as at the present time there the only one I could find with stock if you wish to fit a lens hood then your have to get a 55mm to 72mm step up ring and a 72mm petal lens hood which works perfectly with the BOSS stabilization system of the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great picture quality

FDR-AX53 30/09/2020 by Simon57

The Steady shot system is really great, keeps the image steady even when zoomed in. Not quite so good if trying to walk and film in 4K, slight side to side jitter in playback. Picks up wind noise outside. Side screen not very easy to use in bright sun light, viewfinder is fine, but need to remove glasses to use properly. Use it on fully automatic and it produces great quality film.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent battery life

FDR-AX53 13/09/2020 by Shurst

We bought this camcorder to film our wedding with reduced numbers to play back to family that could not attend it was really easy to set up and the battery life is really good will be using this a lot it even has an external microphone socket the only down side it will only record stereo in 4K not the 5.1 but so far is a really good video camera for the price.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony FDR AX53

FDR-AX53 07/07/2020 by Mick 19

I have had the camera a week. I purchased it from Park Cameras with a very good discount and £80 cash back from Sony. After considerable research I came to the conclusion that it’s features it’s price and the excellent reviews were a good reason to buy. The camera does not disappoint, light, and easy to use in both manual and auto mode. Over the past 20 years I have owned Canon and Panasonic top end cameras, and this is the first Sony . Colour accuracy is excellent as is audio quality. For those people who are looking for a small top end 4K camera packed with features, I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent handycam.

FDR-AX53 03/07/2020 by Socky

A very recent purchase, so I am still learning its pluses and minuses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 16/06/2020 by DaveHD

Very pleased with this camera. I've spent my life as a TV cameraman so I wanted a camera with some manual features available and a decent zoom range. I also needed it to be small and easy to carry around. The 4K quality is excellent and gives a great finished video after editing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great choice for 4K video

FDR-AX53 15/03/2020 by Dick1234

Thought long and hard about which video recorder to buy and I am pleased with this one. Easy to use, good quality 4K and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 22/01/2020 by TB2359

I bought this product just under a month ago and so far, so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I wanted the best and I got it in the Sony AX53 Ha

FDR-AX53 10/01/2020 by Dancing Dennis

In the past I have used 35mm and 16mm & 8mm film, both professionally and as a general member of the public, as well as an assortment of Video cameras but it was time to update. I was using a fantastic Canon but this used mini tapes and so I wanted to move up to the next step without hitting the bank account too much. I searched the internet as well as speking to other people who use video and the Sony was always the highest up the list of recomendations. I have only had the Sony AX53 since christmas but have already made two videos which have been up-loaded to YouTube sand Facebook. I am very pleased with the results. We have a trip to India coming up and am really expecting the very best of video recording for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camcorder !

FDR-AX53 19/12/2019 by E456

Bought this very recently. So far I’m very happy with it. Helpful to have stereo mic input jack to connect with mobile receiver and 2 radio mics. picture quality and usability are great. One wish.... more detailed instruction manual. At the moment you have to work through menus and some of the things I just don’t know really what they do or show.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Customer Support
23/12/2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find a detailed description of all the settings available in this camcorder here: http://bit.ly/34NYZ3E. If you need any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Excellent value

FDR-AX53 21/11/2019 by Hymer1

Still early days, but the features used to date, i.e automatic focus, zoom, wide angle lens and the brilliant stability system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handheld masterpiece

FDR-AX53 06/11/2019 by Dommyp

I brought this to replace a DSLR for filming, and I could not be happier. It’s super fast auto focus, lowlight quality and just general ease-of-use, not to mention how long the battery lasts

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super 4k handycam

FDR-AX53 02/11/2019 by Videoman of Leeds

Owned this fabulous AX53 over two years now, so happy to confirm it has lived up to, and beyond my expectations. It has never missed a beat. Perhaps the best thing is the ability to record 4k images, say a stage widescreen, and then to zoom and crop in post production to feature specific areas of the stage. Doing so still allows a full HD image to be created for burning to blu-ray disc, for example. While manual control is somewhat limited, the auto functions, such as focus and colour balance work seamlessly in the background, allowing glorious 4k images to be captured. I am delighted to see that this model is still available to purchase. Usually such products have a shelf life (before the launch of 'the latest' model) of around 9 months. Well done Sony for keeping what is a superb compact Handycam available for the long run. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic features, not confident about body.

FDR-AX53 25/10/2019 by Lenseman

I purchased the FDR- AX53 about two weeks ago. It's got superb feature's and the results are amazing. I love the time-lapse facility and the steady shot is truly amazing. I am sure that there are many more things I will love about this camera and hope I get many years service from it. My only concern is the actual build quality. The door covering the hot shoe seem very fragile and if an external microphone is used the door just flaps in the breeze just waiting to be ripped off, also the tripod mount appears to be very flimsy and not really fit for purpose. there is one shown on you-tube that is being repaired with plastic metal. whether the damage was caused by an heavy handed user or average use I don't know but it does pose a question. The night shot facility failed to impress me compared to the night shot on my ancient but still functional Sony DCR-TRV320E. I hope the AX53 proves my initial concerns are totally wrong, only time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pictures at a value for money price.

FDR-AX53 24/09/2019 by ColCGE

I bought the FDR-AX53 HandyCam primarily because my previous tape-cassette camcorder had become problematic due the tapes attracting moisture and dieting the Rec/Playback heads. This being a record to disk model it is really up to the task I wish it to be used for. Its steady shot design is a great boon and the Zoom is - for the price paid - impressive. Two niggles I have, are a microphone jack-input that is placed too near the space required for 'Zooming' and other recording tools needed whilst videoing events. The free software (for MAC's) seems pretty good, but would seem in need of an update - particularly in its 'How to/Help' department. Summary, a value for money product which just misses being really GREAT c/o finishing touches from Sony's design and aftermarket departments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 20/09/2019 by Xxxxlllll

Excellent video quality, and surround sound recording, but surround recording doesn't work when you are using 4K.. Plus no internal hard drive..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camcorder

FDR-AX53 18/09/2019 by Sensualize

I was looking for a quality camcorder for some time and my loyalty to SONY contued to bring me back to not only the brand but the AX53 which I can't fault! Amazing piece of kit! I love it and it's ease of use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX53 30/08/2019 by JLT55

I brought this handycam a month ago mainly because it has a view finder, so far I'm very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 24/08/2019 by RanaImage

I am really happy with this camcorder. It does what it says on the tin.Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

slow motion

FDR-AX53 26/07/2019 by whatatodoo

Very disappointing as a casual videographer. The three second auto slow motion is very poor quality. High speed recording shows very poor frame rate despite choosing the recommended format I can only see MP4 files recorded. This is after hours of trying to figure it out from various instructions. What I wanted was a point and click at say half speed with a 100fps say but it requires a degree in videodigital photography to do what is shown in utube examples. I get better results with my £126 CANON legria hf r606 where I choose half speed and point and click but the wings on large sea birds flying show multiple positions, but at least its quick, simple and good resolution.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus ring

FDR-AX53 24/07/2019 by Jarapah

PExcellent pice of equipment great value for money I would also add that this camera could be used proffesionalally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camcorder

FDR-AX53 18/07/2019 by Vds1

I bought this because it had a viewfinder as I have struggled in the past to use screens when videoing in bright light. The image stabiliser works very well Sadly I was unable to edit the XAVC S HD and in with my Roxio NTX 7 software However, it did work ok with Windows Moviemaker and Windows 10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, quality Sony product

FDR-AX53 01/07/2019 by lenzo

I chose this product after buying other Sony equipment and have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well appointed easy to use

FDR-AX53 13/06/2019 by Stompanato

I bought this camera for general use but it has many features that would allow me to use it to make a real movie. It is not a Pro camera but it is close, considering it is a hand held "Point & Shoot" it is quite amazing & with the best Steady-cam type suspension I've come across. the only difference between this & a real pro camera is that on the pro model you can operate it manually, with this camera you can choose one manual setting for the video & put the audio into manual mode that's it everything else is automatic. that is the type of camera it is & it truly is excellent, playback the content on your 4K TV & it is as good as a broadcast picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plane filming

FDR-AX53 10/06/2019 by nobbyt

Bought this camcorder for Aeoplane filming as the stabilizer is the best for the price out there.Would prefer the zoom rocker to be two finger rocked from front to back not side to side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

FDR-AX53 04/06/2019 by Arty 67

I haven't had it long but already I can see that it fixes a lot of my issues such as manual control of exposure and focus at the touch of a button along with the great stabilisation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does almost everything that I wanted

FDR-AX53 23/05/2019 by Cornish Lad

I bought this last month in order to video family celebrations, holidays and for producing short videos for my YouTube channel. The camera is much smaller and lighter than my previous models which all date back to pre 2000! Optics are great, control is simple, results are fabulous either in 4K or HD. Does almost everything that I wanted except for two small niggles and that is why it only gets 4 stars instead of 5. On all previous purchases of Sony camcorders a remote control was included as standard but, for this one, I had to search the internet in order to find and buy one. There is no onboard memory so a SD card is necessary for the camera to operate and there was not even a basic card included in the package so, again, an additional item had to be purchased just to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful instrument

FDR-AX53 06/05/2019 by JMcN

Bought this Sony FDR AX53 a month ago and I have slowly begun exploring the many features of the camera . Having used 8 mm Handycam back in the 80s and then later Hi8 models for years I had left video in favour of still photography until now . And I chose to get back to this having used DSLRs for years as I prepare to go to Kenya on Safari in August . I can see the potential of this camera now even though I am struggling to familiarize myself with the in-camera Menu system . My only criticism is with relation to the Manual which I find to be basic at best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Detailed, dynamic colours, limited manual control

FDR-AX53 04/03/2019 by Jedster

Only used a couple of times, solid unit, lot's of YouTube views to get a shortcut to advised settings... Surprised Lens Hood not included (for sunlight), but I like the features and sockets

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

FDR-AX53 20/02/2019 by Fudrus

This camera makes great videos, and the sound is fairly good. But it has a fatal flaw - it is tied to a particular region. If you buy it in a PAL region, such as Europe, it records only at 50/25 FPS (plus 24 FPS). There is no way to set it to 30/60 FPS. The same is true if you buy it in an NTSC region - it records only at 60/30 FPS (plus 24 FPS). Why hobble a great product with this limitation? I want to use it for online videos, and most monitors are 60 FPS. So It would be better to record in 60/30 FPS. But I can't get the camera to do this. The other main flaw with the cameras is the zoom control over the viewfinder - very awkwardly placed and hard to control. The rest of the camera is OK, though the sound quality could be better - tends to pick up sounds from the camera. Use an external mike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

Could do (even) better

FDR-AX53 17/02/2019 by nhm1

I have only had this camera a few weeks and Sony are already asking for a review, which I feel is premature. I bought it mainly because I wanted to move up at least to HD, with some headroom for 4K in the future. I wanted a dedicated video camera with a viewfinder, and the current options for that are limited without going to pro level. I tried out a couple thoroughly in store and the AX53 was the one I felt most comfortable with. So far I am very happy with the quality of the video produced under a variety of conditions. The auto-focus is generally good and the stabilisation excellent. For me the poorest feature is control of the motorised zoom, which I had already identified before purchase. It is impossible to start this really gently, and quite difficult to maintain a very slow smooth speed. If you switch to zoom via the lens ring, control is better but it is well nigh impossible to zoom the whole range unless you are on a tripod. Also if you are hand holding at the telephoto end of the zoom range it is difficult to stop recording without camera shake, so you'll probably need to trim every clip. I feel these are things Sony really need to address in their control system - they are surely basics. One other silly thing which could easily be fixed is that there is an external lens protection shutter, but it is incredibly fragile and could easily be damaged even by something in the camera bag, putting the unit out of action. The first thing I bought was a filter and a lens cap - you would think Sony would at least run to including the latter for a few pence! Finally the camera produces quite an elaborate structure of folders and files on the flash card, and so far as I can see Sony offer no explanation of this anywhere! Yes I found my videos and stills but I had to go on the Forum to try to discover what some of the other stuff might be for...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great features

FDR-AX53 11/02/2019

Has all the features that I want. Great picture quality at a good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine camera - with a few drawbacks

FDR-AX53 11/02/2019 by RB_59

I have owned this camera just over a week and I am thrilled with the picture quality but there are a few 'operating' issues I've got to overcome: - the wind noise when outdoors in even just a breeze necessitates the use of an external microphone, I expected this; - the built in monitor has a highly reflective finish which makes for VERY difficult viewing in sunlight. I'm short sighted and the adjustment on the EVF eyepiece is insufficient to correct for my vision so I have to struggle with glasses, again making it very difficult to use. It's a shame everything is menu driven (I understand that on screen buttons mean not having to pay for hardware and therefore keeps the cost and size down) so making changes always necessitates folding out the screen. I'm still getting used to navigating my way round the menu structure but the layout is quite logical. As I said at the start, I'm new to this camera and I'm sure I'll find ways to work around the problems I've encountered, I'm very pleased with the results I get and I will be keeping the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony AX53

FDR-AX53 06/02/2019 by AllCarsChannel

I bought a second AX53 because i droaped my first and i damege it (after two years of using). For 800 £ it is the best camcoder wichh you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great stabilisation

FDR-AX53 05/02/2019 by airshow22

I bought this on the promise of superb stabilising for the lens, to give smooth filming of aircraft in flight. And it delivers. The smoothest I have ever seen, I think the best possible. Optical Zoom is decent, at x20, with intelligent digital still good quality around x30. Focus can be set to my choice, to avoid autofocus switching from the subject to any post, tree, cloud, etc that the subject passes by. Microphone also has settings to suppress sound close to the camera and wind noise. All features that are important to my chosen subject. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent pictures

FDR-AX53 25/01/2019 by Timbo55

Can't praiuse picture quality enough, sound is great using a remote mic plugged in, less brilliant from the internal one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, terrible software and support.

FDR-AX53 20/01/2019 by Very disappointed user

I bought the camera to replace (update) an old Sony camcorder that I'd had for over ten years, which used old HD mini cassettes. I was very pleased with the new camera. However, when I downloaded the PlayMemories software it told me it was an update of the old Motion Picture Browser I was using and that it would remove the existing software. I already had 35 files uploaded onto my PC and assumed these would be readable by the new software (as it was said to be an "update"). However, once I loaded it, the new software refused to recognise these. I contacted their customer support who initially seemed not to understand the issue. Finally, after some chasing on my part and taking advice on theirs, they came back saying that I would have to reload all 35 tapes recorded on the previous camera, although they noted that if I did this they would only load as MP4 files, which would not maintain the quality of my original files. They specifically told me to "please be advised that these two cameras are from two different generations and it won’t be easy to transfer all the contents with the same quality." Fortunately, because I am always cautious when loading new software which removes existing software, I had backed up the old Motion Picture Browser. Once I reloaded this it sits alongside the PlayMemories software quite happily and continues to run the old files perfectly (although I can't run both programs at the same time). Sony should have been aware of this issue and I see it as very poor customer service that they remove Motion Picture Browser when their new software is incompatible with any existing files. Providing the ability to maintain usability between "different generations" is very basic customer support. So, great camera but appalling customer support. I did ask for my email exchange to be passed up to a higher level as a complaint but was told I could only do this by by writing to the European Head Office.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

Response From Customer Support
24/01/2019

Hi,

You can always add various folders to Playmemories Home to browse the images and videos inside them via these steps https://bit.ly/2Mw4c8o

Sony support team

0

Great quality videos especially in low light.

FDR-AX53 16/01/2019 by Electric Phil

Had this for a couple of weeks and experimented with the settings to find out what works best for me videoing bands and artistes often in low light. I am delighted at the quality video results which look a great deal better than my previous Sony CX405. Even the built in mic give very good results but I will be buying the Sony ECMXYST1M.CE7 Stereo Microphone for better stereo seperation which isn't very good on the 53. Check out my youtube page Bands & Venues Burnley & Pendle for my recent vids taken using this Handycam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

almost a very good camcorder

FDR-AX53 09/01/2019 by pitney77

3 months old and used to record football games. Lack of full manual controls lets this cam down plus recently auto focus has been letting me down

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

3

Response From Customer Support
14/01/2019

Hi Pitney,

Thank you for your feedback. To ensure you can get the best performance of your camera, we recommend making sure that the software of the camera is up to date. You can find a link to download the update under the downloads section here: https://bit.ly/2CkNVi7. If the issue with the auto focus is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Very impressed it has some fantastic features

FDR-AX53 06/01/2019 by Maltabus

It was a Christmas present although I haven’t had the opportunity to use it to its fullest I am very impress and after consulting the Sony help line because of a small problem which they rectified the next day I can only say thankyou sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06/01/2019 by steambuff

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Epic quality cam

FDR-AX53 26/12/2018 by SG

Works really well for proffesional filming on a small budget. 4k quality outstanding

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic

FDR-AX53 24/12/2018 by lawrence1952

I Ibought this a month ago so glad I did would recommend Sony to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased

FDR-AX53 18/12/2018 by echo mike

Have this a month now and it is living up to expectations. best of all the batteries are the same type as my older model . it is a great idea that Sony keep using the same type of connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

FDR-AX53 12/11/2018 by bob 001

I was looking to upgrade my present camcorder to a 4k with viewfinder.This was the only model in stock with viewfinder which is essential for videoing motor sports.The quality of image is brilliant but the best feature is the stabilisation system,rock steady picture even at full zoom! Also i recorded the local firework display in fireworks display option,amazing picture and sound quality.So far very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Getting to grips with its many (Clear) features

FDR-AX53 09/11/2018 by Newtonairds

I have only begun to try my new AX53 but already find it so easy to operate. The still photographs are just so clear. For me - A worth-while buy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Hk sony

FDR-AX53 02/11/2018 by Ian37

I bought this a week ago and I am very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Better than the AX33

FDR-AX53 22/09/2018 by Toastandjam

They’ve managed to improve something that was already good. Like the extra zoom capacity and the active steady shot support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A perfect little video camera!

FDR-AX53 01/09/2018 by GordoTCG

This camera has replaced my DSLR and I use it everyday! Its my main vlogging camera and the stabilisation is unreal! Ive bought a wide angle lens and a variable ND filter on Amazon to go on the front and it has made it so much more versatile! :) For the price, this is on eof the best video cameras you can get! With an ND you can get really deep DOF and the zoom and stabilisation make it an amazing addition to a vloggers arsenal! Battery gives 5+ hours use and with a big card it means you can shoot all day with no worry! There is no sensor heating, no battery cutting out! Its menu system is easy to use and has a great 'common' button feature where you can choose the three menu items you use most to have on the main screen as well as auto focus, touch screen where you can pick brightness and other options! It also does really well in low light and paired with a ECM-GZ1M shotgun mic which attaches through the Mi Hotshoe mount, it will look and sound amazing and you never have to worry about batteries or not turning the mic on by accident! Flip out monitor is great quality and the camera is small and light and can go anywhere! It even has infrared so you can film in pitch darkness! Again, amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good camera but a couple of things to highlight.

FDR-AX53 30/08/2018 by Geek Street

I'm a YouTuber and was looking take my recordings to 4K and improve stability / quality. This camera is pretty good in terms of picture quality and has amazing zoom with optical and digital you get 250x zoom, but I was let down by a couple of points you can't select the intelligent stabilization in 4K and also recording in 5.1 Dolby surround in 4K which is a bit of a disappointment, but in general I'm still pleased with it. I've done a review of this camera including sample footage for YouTube you can find it by searching for ‘Geek Street Sony FDR-AX53’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

it is ok

FDR-AX53 22/08/2018 by Istvan

it is very well working

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Disappointed it is only a 10X Zoom

FDR-AX53 22/08/2018 by PeteGirv

I am pleased with the AX53 but I am disappointed that it is advertised as having a 20X zoom and it is only actually has a 20X zoom, I do not count the 2X Macro facility as part of the zoom. Otherwise I am pleased with the camcorder, it produces good videos in the good light levels that I have used it in. The Sony software also works well with my Windows 10 computer, some reviews had mentioned problems but I have not had any with the recent software version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

FDR-AX53 14/08/2018 by Vide

Bought this as a gift for my husband. Absolutely thrilled with it.As it is 4K he has connected it to the TV. Picture quality is fantastic sound too . Would definitely reccomendgoodprice too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good camera picture quality is really good

FDR-AX53 11/08/2018 by chrisms

I purchased this product from John Lewis 5 weeks ago what a super camera, however John Lewis were offering a £50.00 cashback from Sony (not John Lewis) trying to claim the £50.00 cashback was not easy to say the least, and I am still awaiting the money back, I had to buy a external microphone for the camera, and set the audio to manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent use, having trouble with some features.

FDR-AX53 24/07/2018 by scaramouche54

This is my first digital camcorder, so I have nothing to compare it against. I found it pretty straightforward to get started, and the 4K video played back on my 2560 by 1440 PC HD monitor looked great. Haven't tried it on the TV yet. Transferring video to the PC is not very clear, I am not sure if I am transferring 4K or MP4. I have not been able to get the wi-fi transfer to work at all: although the network is recognised, the camera keeps insisting I connect with a USB, and the manual is no real help. That said, the wi-fi connection is hardly a problem to me. I don't much like the "Play Memories" software. I cannot seem to change the location of the transfers, from my Windows "Pictures" folder to a folder on one of my support drives (which have far more space). But I would not be surprised if most of this is just what I haven't yet found. The user guide download is very helpful, but I would really like more "help for dummies" such as myself. As a first such buy, I am overall very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice pictures but terrible App

FDR-AX53 18/07/2018 by MCole2460

I bought this one week ago and have now returned it to get my money back. The only way to transfer data, away from home, is the Wi-fi via an App which doesn’t work. SD card does not work with iPad or iPhone to transfer data. Imagine quality is fine but, unless the issues with the App are resolved, if the only other products in your home come from Apple, then this is not the product for you

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

Response From Customer Support
19/07/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

There are two ways to transfer data from the camcorder to a smartphone. First, using the PlayMemories app, which will transfer only MP4 files and not AVCHD. For more details, you can check the following link: http://clc.to/57rchw (copy and paste the link into your web browser).
Second, you can use the "Send to smartphone" function as illustrated in the following link: http://clc.to/wsVSag (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 17/07/2018 by Paul3780

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Customer support
19/07/2018

Hi Paul3780,

We recommend making sure the SteadyShot is enabled. You can find the steps in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/2NunTNk (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 13/07/2018 by ggstable

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 11/07/2018 by AX53_Novice

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 04/07/2018 by Download Dave

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

FINE PURCHASE

FDR-AX53 13/06/2018 by Robbo

Operation is reasonably user friendly, except, when used with peripherals not produced by Sony.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Nice but difficult to use

FDR-AX53 08/06/2018 by Nigi

The image quality and sound are second to none. So as a pick up and shoot camera it’s perfect. It also has many inbuilt options like a more professional camera but these can only be accessed via a touch menu on the screen making setup very awkward and frustrating. The instruction book supplied is also next to useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Customer support
11/06/2018

Hi Nigi,
Thank you for your feedback.
You can find the online Help Guide and more information related to your camera in this link: https://bit.ly/2JLFmCL

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Super Sony

FDR-AX53 01/06/2018 by Mickieb

Good all round video camera great manual features easy to use nicely built cannot fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It is good ,but I still learning this

FDR-AX53 27/05/2018 by Revaro

I am very exited about this camera and looking forward to start make nice videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing quality movies and perfect sound

FDR-AX53 20/05/2018 by PENDZEL

I had a choice between Panasonic hc-vxf1 and Sony fdr-ax53. Maybe Panasonic is a newer model and has a bit more possibilities but for me the highest quality of movies is important and the image from the Sony camera suits me better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

New video camera

FDR-AX53 20/05/2018 by Steve 1000

I purchased this 4K camera as a replacement for my Sony Handycam bought sometime ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

First impression

FDR-AX53 17/05/2018 by Jwe123

I have made the step from hd to 4k with this camcorder and am not disappointed. The larger camcorder handles well, and the ring makes manual operation much easier than in my old sony camcorder. A big step up in image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very good - almost superb

FDR-AX53 16/05/2018 by MPkr

I bought this to replace my AX33 since the additional zoom range is valuable. On wildlife trips around the world I need a light camera. BOSS is superb (as in the AX33) which made me decide on this rather than the heavier AX700 with the larger sensor with faster focusing. Video quality at 4K and HD is superb. The one niggle I have is the same as with the AX33 - the viewfinder - too few pixels and brightness cannot be adjusted. Improving that and putting phase detection autofocusing on the sensor would make an unbeatable small camcorder. The design of the display could be improved. For example the fact that the manual ring is kept on zoom shows a sign in a white box in the display, in an important part of the field of view. I would willingly pay more for the additional features like a better viewfinder, full manual control and higher frame rate 4K.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Two week review

FDR-AX53 30/04/2018 by Manwithacamera

After some inital test usage, I used this camera to record an outdoor musical event. Good feedback from all the artists including a professional who comment on the good sound quality. Disappointed that seemingly no stock of spare batteries currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1