65

4.6 based on 65 customer reviews

43
17
4
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

68 Customer Reviews

0

amazing camera although expensive and quite big

DSC-RX10M4 22/10/2018 by daninet

I got it two weeks ago, so I'm still learning it. So far I'm very satisfied with it's features, picture quality, focus speed, large zoom. There are so many menu options, but I'm getting used to it and find it quite manageable. One issue that disturb me is the "running on NTSC" start up screen each time I activate the camera (it's a Pal region version), without a way to cancel it from the menu.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Read the reviews yes uts that good

DSC-RX10M4 22/10/2018 by Rodney Goosebump

For the past 30 years i have used another brand of camera the last two cameras were good quality DSLR. Carrying around all that glass just got too much. So a little apprehensive changing brand and camera type. Oh boy i should have done it sooner this camera really is that he all in one solution FANTASTIC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fast, very fast

DSC-RX10M4 21/10/2018 by Nellie151

To be honest this review is only a first impression, which is very good. 1. I did have to lower the speed of continuous shooting as 24 frames per second is amazingly fast and found myself doing a lot of deleting. 2. I print and frame a4 and have printed one photo it was perfect easily as good as my eos 7d mk2. 3. It is incredibly versatile with the 24-600mm lens, landscape or wildlife it handles them with ease 4. The auto focus has worked really well tracking birds in flight. So far so good. I will give a more in depth review in about six months as I've only just touched the surface of what this camera can do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality photos

DSC-RX10M4 09/10/2018 by Robbiebox47

Just brought this camera to upgrade from my Panasonic FZ1000. It was touch and go whether I bought this or the Panasonic FZ2000 to upgrade, especially as the Sony is twice the price of the Panasonic upgrade.. However the Panasonic is more geared towards the video user and I felt the Sony better for the photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very near perfect lightweight "Bridge" camera.

DSC-RX10M4 05/10/2018 by The converted

Only had the camera for a short while but very impressed with the performance overall. Super fast focus speed. Image quality for a 1 inch sensor very good. I am now of older years and find my DSLR kit is too much for me now for my wildlife photography, so I opted for the Sony after doing lots of research. With an excellent lens in all ranges I can now capture fast moving things even smaller birds in flight. The only thing I would like to see is an even longer zoom range 600mm is fine but I would like it slightly longer if at all possible. The only other thing was the price "ouch" but I suppose if you want near perfection you have to pay for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great zoom and so easy to use

DSC-RX10M4 04/10/2018 by joyful76

fantastic zoom all in one lens, so don't have to carry heavy lenses around

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best in Class

DSC-RX10M4 04/10/2018 by Pony049

I bought this camera a month ago and am still working my way through all the features. So far I am extremely impressed with the versatility of this camera. I currently have a Nikon SLR analogue camera, a Canon DSLR with several lenses (one of which incidentally cost more than the RX10 IV) and I am tired lugging all this equipment around. Consequently I am much more likely to take the camera along when travelling. The RX10 IV is amazing with a zoom range that is very impressive, program choices to cover virtually all situations. Looking forward to getting to know and using this camera much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Astonishing peace of technology

DSC-RX10M4 27/09/2018 by bitjuus

Very good camera. Especially for a bird enthusiast!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing Wildlife shots!

DSC-RX10M4 10/09/2018 by mirage rider

Swapped seven lenses and a pro camera for the RX10 IV and apart from saving my back from carrying the extra weight, this camera out performs them every time for 90% of the photos I want to take. Optical stabilisation is probably the best today. I would like to see the next RX10 with F1.4 to F22 and a higher range of ISO because night shots need a tripod for quality, and on holiday this can be a pain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX10M4 08/09/2018 by mpala51

I bought the camera 1 month ago and I'm happy with the product and completely meets my expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So Easy To Use

DSC-RX10M4 07/09/2018 by Boysie

Has All The Features I Need And More, It Is Easy To Use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of equipment

DSC-RX10M4 06/09/2018 by 929HML

Still getting to grips with it, but very clever technology and great pictures. The manual that comes with it is absolutely hopeless, however. Also, although the technology is amazing, it falls short in a couple of areas: the most obvious is not having touch screen access to functions and the menu in particular. Also some of the functions assignable to a custom button may be better to be labelled directly to a button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sorry just not for me

DSC-RX10M4 06/09/2018 by Santa messervy

I bought this camera as a walk about camera it has some fantastic features but with the 1" sensor I had problems with noise .I take a lot of shots at dusk or dawn and even at 100 ISO it still produced noise at a setting of FD8 SS1/160 using a Tripod .It is a great camera but I guess I am to used to full frame or a larger sensor .I am sure a lot of people will love this but just not for me SORRY

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Customer support
10/09/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

This model has an electronic shutter mode which doesn't have the mechanical noise the standard mechanical shutter can produce. You'll find instruction on how to switch between the two shutter modes on this link: https://bit.ly/2x05qCu.

Hope this helps.

Sony support team.

0

Wonderful.

DSC-RX10M4 04/09/2018 by Horters

This camera meets more than my expectations. It’s definitely the best Sony camera on the market. Still haven’t used all the features but I’m getting there!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The great all rounder.

DSC-RX10M4 26/08/2018 by itsbigmal

Fed up of lugging a huge bag with 14kg of Nikon bodys and lenses now I am retired and travelling a lot more. I didn't know this camera exsisted but after a few hours of research on the internet looking for an alternative the RX10 IV kept topping reviews. I have sold all my beloved Nikons (been a Nikon man for 45 years) so time for a change, purchased this camera and am not disappointed, the versatility, build and picture quality of this camera far exceedes my expectations. Many Thanks SONY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent but instructions poor

DSC-RX10M4 15/08/2018 by Gig G

Very poor instructions but excellent camera all round

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Doing what I need

DSC-RX10M4 15/08/2018 by brian1208

I purchased this after extensive research as I needed a bridge camera I could shoot a range of subjects using just my right hand. So far I've used it for shooting windsurf action, bees and butterflies in flight, garden birds and show jumping and it does everything I need. On a personal note, I find the grip is a bit uncomfortable, pressing on my top finger

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing all round camera

DSC-RX10M4 10/08/2018 by Glynmar

I bought a secondhand RX10 MkIII a month ago as I wasn't sure I wanted to commit the money required for the MKIV. Well I was so impressed by the MKIII I sold it and bough the MKIV. These are great cameras and because it has such a long zoom with a very good image stabilization the results are amazing. It is a complicated beast but that means it has so many options you can tweak with. I get great really good quality sharp images looking at them on a 21" monitor (thats bigger than A3) that you would not believe possible from a 1" sensor. I have had full frame in the past which meant I rarely carried a heavy bulky and very expensive system around with me so then changed to the Fuji system to reduce the size and weight which was good. However I couldn't tell the difference between shots taken with the Fuji camera and these Sony cameras so the Fuji system went and I now only have the Sony RX10 MKIV which focuses better and quicker that the Fuji ever did. OK the Sony is not perfect but for me it is as close as I can get at the moment. It really is a fun camera to use and I take it with me more than any other camera I have owned. I love it. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Lightweight and good features.

DSC-RX10M4 07/08/2018 by Jules8

This camera was bought to replace a Canon 5D Mk 4 and lenses. The electric viewfinder I find disturbing in use and loading and removing the SD card is annoying. Otherwise the results to date are satisfactory.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Consolidated features

DSC-RX10M4 06/08/2018 by B Granny

I bought this as when on holiday I did not want to carry my DSLR + lenses as this covers a large field.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great performance with superb quality for a Bridge

DSC-RX10M4 02/08/2018 by Paul 11

I bought this camera only last week and am amazed by its capability and overall quality. There is much to learn to optimise its performance which i will pick up with practice and time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Technically great, but has some usability issues

DSC-RX10M4 30/07/2018 by RachaelP

I bought this as an upgrade from a Lumix FZ1000. The key features that appealed were the fast PD autofocus, much larger buffer and maximum continuous shooting rate, 600mm equivalent focal length (compared with 400mm on the FZ1000), and the fact that it claims to be at least somewhat weatherproofed. The FZ1000 manual focus is very poor, and I also wanted something that worked better there. And I thought separate rings for zoom, focus and aperture would be an improvement on the FZ1000, which has one ring for zoom OR focus, and a rather awkward rear wheel to adjust both shutter speed and aperture. In use, the optics do seem to be substantially better, even at 400mm equivalent, and I am getting shots of distant birds that seem to be equivalent to what others are getting with (true) 400mm lenses on cameras with APS/C sensors. The manual focus is much better, so I can focus on birds surrounded by vegetation, for example. So that has been very successful. Overall, clearly a better camera, great for travel, and a worthy competitor to a full DSLR/ILC Against that, I have yet to see the full benefits of the PD autofocus, and for most purposes it does not seem to be much faster than the FZ1000 in an equivalent mode, using DFD technology. Sometimes, even with the zoom range limited to greater than 3 metres, it takes seconds to focus on a distant object and seems to prefer minimum focal distance when it isn't sure, instead of infinity. I tend to use the EVF rather than the screen, and have found I need to turn off all the touchscreen features in order not to make some horrible change just as I am about to press the shutter. The RX10iv also lacks several usability features I really appreciate on the FZ1000. - Focus priority -- If selected on the FZ1000, the shutter won't release until focus is acquired. - Zoom resume: the FZ1000 returns to the current zoom setting on switch-on or after reviewing pictures. Handy if you are walking around at full zoom hoping something interesting will pop up in front of you. - Selective photo delete: FZ1000 lets you select multiple photos for deletion and then do them all in one go (although, it would be even better if you could delete a range rather than selecting up to 100 individually) - Selective photo export: FZ1000 lets you export one or up to 100 selected photos, either as just the JPG or JPG+RAW. The RX10 exports all or nothing. - Faster WiFi. The RX10 WiFI photo export is painfully slow compared to the FZ1000. - The FZ1000's dedicated "quick menu" button. - The FZ1000 still has a more structured and pictorial menu system. Why does "Setup 2" seem to be entitled "Movies" when most of it is again about Still photography? Ah, but that's only the title of *that* screen. - The fully-articulated screen And of course, the RX10 is quite a lot heavier, but that is presumably all down to the larger optics required still to get f/4 at 220mm (true) focal length, so it's hard to complain about the weight. I suppose the test is, Is there ever a time when I would now reach for the FZ1000 instead of the RX10?, and there isn't. But it seems like Sony have missed an opportunity with regards to the user experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A camera for all reasons....

DSC-RX10M4 19/07/2018 by Rollipics

Although I have not had the camera long enough to give a full review, hence the four stars, it does show the promise of why I bought it. It is sizeable for a bridge camera but lightweight to me compared to my largest for taking around ( I live in Cumbria). The speed of focus, the size and usefulness of the telephoto lens. The only thing I have added to the basic camera is a spare battery and charger and five filters including ND 2.4 & 8. It is an expense but worth it for the broad range it covers from macro to Tele. Good Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Missing manual

DSC-RX10M4 03/07/2018 by dodgynees

I bought this as I had seen my friend with his mark 3. I still cannot focus on an image and the 25 page manual TELLS ME NOTHING so I have no idea how to change any settings to make things work.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

8