83

4.6 based on 83 customer reviews

57
20
4
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing number of options

DSC-RX10M4 22/12/2017 by Biddy47

Bought this to update my existing Sony bridge camera. I particularly wanted the speed of focusing as the delay in digital cameras is very frustrating when shooting wildlife. I will probably not use many of the features but enjoying taxing my brain to use those that would suit me. It is a shame that there is not a more comprehensive instruction book provided as it is quite tiring and frustrating looking at the one on line. However I look forward to trying it in the wild and a bit more than my garden birds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing Autofocus

DSC-RX10M4 31/12/2018 by J ChrisM

Traded in my excellent RX10 for the RX10 IV for the longer zoom + claimed improved autofocus. At maximum 600mm equivalent zoom autofocus hunts and fails to focus. Very disappointing!

3

0

83 Customer Reviews

0

Quality feel and design.

DSC-RX10M4 20/01/2019 by Jaguarxk

A good camera with a fine range of every day features that are easy to use plus plenty that I may never use but they are there for the more 'expert' photographers to utilise. 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid machine, great features, but easy to use

DSC-RX10M4 17/01/2019 by Raith

I bought this camera from London Camera Exchange who were most helpful. I have found it simple to use especially as I have had previous experience with the sony layouts. The Menues were a little complicated to startwith until I got the hang of them, perhaps a few more than I will use, but WOW the results are fantastic,I am looking forward to the summer, when the results should be even more amazing..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant! Menus can be confusing.

DSC-RX10M4 16/01/2019 by Colin977

Bought this a monthe ago recommend - 100% as long as you are willing to really work at the meus and screen choices.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera with all possibilities that I like

DSC-RX10M4 10/01/2019 by LouBendie

I bought this camera last september and sell my old camera with several lenses to have all in one. Super.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Have had some impressive results so far!

DSC-RX10M4 07/01/2019 by NNB23

I bought this just before Christmas as one of the main features my previous Cybershot didn't have was the continuous auto focussing, which I wanted for wildlife photography. I'm still experimenting, which is why I haven't given it five stars yet as I need to be convinced that it's worth the large investment. Have had some impressive results so far but they're inconsistent and I haven't mastered the slo mo videos either, which appear to struggle to focus but are fine when taken on my Sony phone. It could be operator trouble so will continue to practise with all of the functions of the camera as a whole. The quality of the photos when it does focus properly far exceeds the ones taken with my previous HX400v camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

RX10 IV

DSC-RX10M4 05/01/2019 by jaycee64

Fed up with never having the right lens on your camera, i purchased the mk4 after reading virtually every review i could find, yes very very expensive for a bridge camera i paid 1700 odd pounds, but so far so good the best thing is the lens brilliant and sharp at low iso which rapidly degrades i personally wouldnt go above 1600 but most of us only use in good light anyway, you just have to be aware of the limitations of the small sensor, the auto focus is brilliant by far the best in any camera ive ever had!! the build quality seems ok but not of a £1700 camera, overall I would highly recommend the rx10mk4 and have purchased an a7 off the back of rx10 purchase for the occasional wedding etc that I do

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing Autofocus

DSC-RX10M4 31/12/2018 by J ChrisM

Traded in my excellent RX10 for the RX10 IV for the longer zoom + claimed improved autofocus. At maximum 600mm equivalent zoom autofocus hunts and fails to focus. Very disappointing!

3

0

Response From Customer Support
07/01/2019

Hi J ChrisM,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend resetting the camera to its factory settings as explained here: https://bit.ly/2TzWXyz. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Excellent value

DSC-RX10M4 30/12/2018 by Puffin

Good all round camera. I use it for photographing birds, land and seascapes, portrait work. Tried to take pictures of moon but shows no detail - maybe a firmware update would sort this out. Great not to have to bother changing lenses. I use it more than any of my other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So much to learn

DSC-RX10M4 29/12/2018 by Eaglesnest

I bought this two weeks ago and am finding out more about it every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Completely changed my mind about mirrorless camera

DSC-RX10M4 12/12/2018 by Suffolk Codger

I normally use a top-of-the-range full-frame DSLR with a 400mm f 2.8 lens for wildlife photography. The performance of the RX10 IV does not match such a combination - but it's not far off. If you are travelling, it obviates need for heavy DSLRs and multiple lenses. The camera has more functions than you will ever need. I recently took on holiday - mainly for bird photography. I was stunned just how good the results were - even after heavy cropping. Four niggles: dreadful user manual; fiddly to change custom modes; battery life is poor (buy a couple more with a separate charger); and I haven't found out if I can set the camera to delay the auto zoom retraction (which is irritating if you are taking opportunistic photos like birds in flight).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

IT'S EXPENSIVE BUT IT'S WORTH IT.

DSC-RX10M4 29/11/2018 by CRACKER1

I PURCHASED THIS CAMERA TO PHOTOGRAPH WILDLIFE AND SO FAR I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE RESULTS. ALTHOUGH IT'S FAR MORE COMPLICATED THAN MY PREVIOUS PANASONIC LUMIX I'M FINDING NAVIGATING THE MENUS FAR MORE INTUITIVE. IT'S EARLY DAYS YET BUT I CAN'T FAULT IT. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT I AM A COMPLETE AMATEUR AND IF YOU WANT PROFESSIONAL REVIEWS CHECK OUT THE INTERNET.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Jack of all trades master of all

DSC-RX10M4 28/11/2018 by Roy7

I bought the camera to replace my Dslr setup as I was getting tired of lugging the kit around. Really pleased with results from this camera and I find I am using it more being more portable. A spare battery together with a mains charger is, I would say a must have item. The camera is well built and feels quality without being a heavy weight, have not found anything negative to say about the camera so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A sunning camera.

DSC-RX10M4 16/11/2018

A simply stunning camera. I acquired it to replace my Leica D-Lux and I’ve been so impressed. It’s actually so good that most pictures you want are taken in Auto mode, as unlike most bridge cameras this one allows to to make many mods even when in Auto. It looks great and feels great in the hands. It’s early days but I am very impressed indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still learning

DSC-RX10M4 09/11/2018 by Bikercambridge

It's a bit premature to give a full review after only having the camera for a couple of weeks but first impressions are certainly good. So many reviews seem to concentrate on the gimmicks and range of facilities so I thought I'd concentrate on picture quality which, after all, is critical. Using only the JPEG file type, set to maximum quality, certainly gives crystal results. I've shown some photos to friends who, without prompting, have commented very favourably on the sharpness and clarity of the pictures. That, for me, is probably the most important compliment I can pay to the camera. So, being satisfied with that, there are some features that do jump out as worthy of praise: the lens is really very good, even at maximum zoom; the zoom range is very satisfying too. The speed and accuracy of the autofocus is also something I have come to appreciate very quickly and is much better than other cameras I have tried. One particular thing that I find very helpful is that macro photography is seamlessly part of the camera's operation. On other cameras I have had to manually set a macro mode which can be a pain. So far there's only a couple of things that I wish were a little different: one is that the on/off switch isn't ideally placed - it would have been better to have had it within thumb range while holding the camera in the shooting position; the second is that the tripod fixing arrangement lacks the usual second little indent to accommodate the locating pin on most quick-release tripod mounts. The tripod fixing is also rather too far back, so the camera lacks inherent balance when on a tripod - especially with the lens towards the telephoto end of the zoom range. I think some kind of lens support adapter will be worth investigating. Overall I am impressed with this camera and would recommend it - especially to photographers who are more concerned with image quality and less with the bells-and-whistles which plague many of its rivals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Quality Product ......... Quality Results

DSC-RX10M4 26/10/2018 by TeamToad

Quality Product ......... Quality Results, lots more to learn about this excellant piece of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

amazing camera although expensive and quite big

DSC-RX10M4 22/10/2018 by daninet

I got it two weeks ago, so I'm still learning it. So far I'm very satisfied with it's features, picture quality, focus speed, large zoom. There are so many menu options, but I'm getting used to it and find it quite manageable. One issue that disturb me is the "running on NTSC" start up screen each time I activate the camera (it's a Pal region version), without a way to cancel it from the menu.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Read the reviews yes uts that good

DSC-RX10M4 22/10/2018 by Rodney Goosebump

For the past 30 years i have used another brand of camera the last two cameras were good quality DSLR. Carrying around all that glass just got too much. So a little apprehensive changing brand and camera type. Oh boy i should have done it sooner this camera really is that he all in one solution FANTASTIC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fast, very fast

DSC-RX10M4 21/10/2018 by Nellie151

To be honest this review is only a first impression, which is very good. 1. I did have to lower the speed of continuous shooting as 24 frames per second is amazingly fast and found myself doing a lot of deleting. 2. I print and frame a4 and have printed one photo it was perfect easily as good as my eos 7d mk2. 3. It is incredibly versatile with the 24-600mm lens, landscape or wildlife it handles them with ease 4. The auto focus has worked really well tracking birds in flight. So far so good. I will give a more in depth review in about six months as I've only just touched the surface of what this camera can do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality photos

DSC-RX10M4 09/10/2018 by Robbiebox47

Just brought this camera to upgrade from my Panasonic FZ1000. It was touch and go whether I bought this or the Panasonic FZ2000 to upgrade, especially as the Sony is twice the price of the Panasonic upgrade.. However the Panasonic is more geared towards the video user and I felt the Sony better for the photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very near perfect lightweight "Bridge" camera.

DSC-RX10M4 05/10/2018 by The converted

Only had the camera for a short while but very impressed with the performance overall. Super fast focus speed. Image quality for a 1 inch sensor very good. I am now of older years and find my DSLR kit is too much for me now for my wildlife photography, so I opted for the Sony after doing lots of research. With an excellent lens in all ranges I can now capture fast moving things even smaller birds in flight. The only thing I would like to see is an even longer zoom range 600mm is fine but I would like it slightly longer if at all possible. The only other thing was the price "ouch" but I suppose if you want near perfection you have to pay for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great zoom and so easy to use

DSC-RX10M4 04/10/2018 by joyful76

fantastic zoom all in one lens, so don't have to carry heavy lenses around

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best in Class

DSC-RX10M4 04/10/2018 by Pony049

I bought this camera a month ago and am still working my way through all the features. So far I am extremely impressed with the versatility of this camera. I currently have a Nikon SLR analogue camera, a Canon DSLR with several lenses (one of which incidentally cost more than the RX10 IV) and I am tired lugging all this equipment around. Consequently I am much more likely to take the camera along when travelling. The RX10 IV is amazing with a zoom range that is very impressive, program choices to cover virtually all situations. Looking forward to getting to know and using this camera much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Astonishing peace of technology

DSC-RX10M4 27/09/2018 by bitjuus

Very good camera. Especially for a bird enthusiast!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing Wildlife shots!

DSC-RX10M4 10/09/2018 by mirage rider

Swapped seven lenses and a pro camera for the RX10 IV and apart from saving my back from carrying the extra weight, this camera out performs them every time for 90% of the photos I want to take. Optical stabilisation is probably the best today. I would like to see the next RX10 with F1.4 to F22 and a higher range of ISO because night shots need a tripod for quality, and on holiday this can be a pain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0