113

4.6 based on 113 customer reviews

83
22
6
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing number of options

DSC-RX10M4 22/12/2017 by Biddy47

Bought this to update my existing Sony bridge camera. I particularly wanted the speed of focusing as the delay in digital cameras is very frustrating when shooting wildlife. I will probably not use many of the features but enjoying taxing my brain to use those that would suit me. It is a shame that there is not a more comprehensive instruction book provided as it is quite tiring and frustrating looking at the one on line. However I look forward to trying it in the wild and a bit more than my garden birds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing Autofocus

DSC-RX10M4 31/12/2018 by J ChrisM

Traded in my excellent RX10 for the RX10 IV for the longer zoom + claimed improved autofocus. At maximum 600mm equivalent zoom autofocus hunts and fails to focus. Very disappointing!

5

3

113 Customer Reviews

0

Very pleased with this camera

DSC-RX10M4 19/05/2019 by Sheila56

This is a great camera, been trying it out for a couple of months now and I am very pleased with all the results. Unfortunately some of the photos I wanted to share with you are too big to upload, so just a few Close ups. Looking forward to trying other features as and when the opportunity arises to use them such as action shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony RX10iv the all in one camera

DSC-RX10M4 13/05/2019 by Swansealocalboy

After years of using Olympus cameras I wanted to look for an all in one camera so I didn’t have to carry a few lens with me and I heard about the RX10iv camera and decided to go to Carmarthen cameras to have a look at one and decided to buy one, it’s been 2 weeks since I bought it and I am enjoying using it. I like the long zoom range, macro setup, battery life doesn’t seem to be that good, it’s a good job I bought 2 batteries. I would have liked to a see a flip out screen. My photos can be seen at Gareth Lovering Photography on Facebook.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX10IV with 0.03s AF/25x optical zoom

DSC-RX10M4 12/05/2019 by Colinbh

This is an expensive camera, however you always pay for quality and this camera is all quality. As an amateur photographer I wanted a camera that could for fill my aspirations, the RX10 IV meets and surpasses all my expectations. I have one criticism which relate to the manual. If you are going to buy this camera invest in the "Guide to the Sony DSC-RX10 IV" because the published manual is poor in my opinion. As for the camera, in my opinion it is fantastic and worth the expenditure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic take anywhere camera for wildlife.

DSC-RX10M4 09/05/2019 by Mike from Dorset

This is without doubt one of the best cameras I have owned. I use it for wildlife photography, especially butterflies, birds and dragonflies. Of course being so versitile I use it for people and scenery as well. Photos are excellent, but the camera controls need to be selected correctly and the feel of the camera got used to. It is well worth studying the manual to get the best settings. I have had one photo published in a well known birdwatching magazine. This camera is a constant companion and delivers every time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX10M4 04/05/2019 by Robbob

Thought long and hard before buying as this camera is expensive. First impressions are great, well built and everything in the right place. Too early to talk about image quality.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

superb quality.

DSC-RX10M4 01/05/2019 by victor 18

Purchased RX10 IV two weeks ago and am very pleased with the results. Combination of excellent build quality and superb Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far I can’t fault this camera

DSC-RX10M4 25/04/2019 by Wilderness_civilized

I have now had the camera for 3 weeks and have had the opportunity to test it in a variety of conditions and a variety of subjects. It really is a superb all rounder. It has behaved impeccably and the focus really is rather special, it is so quick. The make up of the camera does mean it’s quite big and heavy by comparison to other mirrorless offerings with changeable lenses but I think it’s a small price to pay for always having a zoom lens with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ultimate all in one camera

DSC-RX10M4 23/04/2019 by G Wms

I bought this camera about two weeks ago so still in the early days of finding out what it can do, the quick answer to that is, everything! Bought specifically to use on holiday save taking a DSLR with a range of lenses. I’ve tried all the main settings A, S, P and M all are easy to use and with excellent results. The other evening I took some evening/night shots of an illuminated castle with a tripod and tried one shot on Auto without tripod all brilliant. So far can not find a fault or anything that I would like to change. If you are reading this and thinking about buying one, all I can tell you is, I am very happy I bought one with no regrets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all round camera

DSC-RX10M4 22/04/2019 by Aljobe

Only had this camera for two weeks but already I feel at home with it. I bought it to replace my Olympus EM1 Mk 2 with 2 zoom lenses, because I wanted a camera with one lens that does it all, wide angle to telephoto and the Sony fits the bill perfectly. Autofocus and tracking is as fast as claimed and shooting in raw mode gives me excellent results, despite the smaller sensor. Lots of features and options built in which take a bit of getting used to, so I recommend getting a third party manual as I have, to explain in detail the various features. I have decades of photo experience and I feel sure that I will have and enjoy this camera for years. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Everything I need in one brilliant package

DSC-RX10M4 21/04/2019 by Samsontech

Everything as expected more than delighted expensive but never be satisfied with second best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

DSC-RX10M4 11/04/2019 by DaveCardiff

Long term interest in travel and street photography. Previously using a canon 5d mk2 and a variety of lenses. Not an easy amount of kit to travel with. Sold them all and bought this camera and haven’t looked back. I fee the photos it takes match my previous canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A brilliant all in one camera!

DSC-RX10M4 07/04/2019 by Phil2463

I've had this about a month and it is excellent. Build quality is very good. The zoom and auto focus are quick. The end photographs look great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Bridge Camera Ever.

DSC-RX10M4 04/04/2019 by Photoman50

Having used the Sony RX10 Mk3 I was disappointed in the speed of the focusing. Now having upgraded to the Sony RX10 Mk4 this no longer disappoints and in my opinion it is the best bridge camera available. Focusing, lens sharpness and range, plus general camera ergonomics set this camera above all of its competitors. It may be a little expensive but it is worth the extra.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a camera!

DSC-RX10M4 26/03/2019 by Old Brain

It came recommended to me both from a professional fine arts photographer and my local camera retail specialist, and I'm so pleased I followed their direction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple operation

DSC-RX10M4 15/03/2019 by Cas60

Bought this as upgrade from my Panasonic fz72 .althouugh it has not the zoom length it makes up for this with superior sensor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Does everything I want.

DSC-RX10M4 03/03/2019 by qwuwquwquqwuqw

I have been using this camera for about five weeks and I can't find much to complain about. I would like the MENU button to be in a different place. That's it...one problem...and it's not a big one! The picture quality is better than I need. The auto focusing is very quick and accurate. The lens has a huge zoom range...see attached moon shot using Smart Zoom. The image stabilisation works well. The battery doesn't get exhausted too quickly. Multi-Frame-Noise-Reduction works well in low light. The phone app seems to be reliable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

So Many Choices

DSC-RX10M4 28/02/2019 by Dugswell2

I am very happy experimenting with my new camera as I need a new challenge to improve my photography when Time allows. I will still use my phone and waterproof camera where appropriate. This big beast will improve my options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfection!

DSC-RX10M4 27/02/2019 by ABB 1

Exactly what I wanted. No need for me to now buy a long range specific lens for my DLSR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very fast focus and image quality

DSC-RX10M4 23/02/2019 by Kingfisher 12

I have a Sony A 9 bought this to take on holiday and the camera quality and speed almost matches the A9 I'm so pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Bridge Too Far ... Never!

DSC-RX10M4 23/02/2019 by KGG1

A solid quality camera with a great lens and fast focus. So many features that I need to learn but it'll be fun! Sony just need to put the full manual as a PDF not just web based.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal combination of zoom, sensor and aperture

DSC-RX10M4 22/02/2019 by Engineer500

Great all round camera with a very fast focus. Video capability is professional quality with the added capability of high speed / slow motion. Takes some time to understand all the features and capabilities of the camera, but worth doing. The only negative is the weight and a minor point that the camera needs to be turned fully on to view photos, other Sony cameras allow photo viewing without powering up the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Algorhythms Galore

DSC-RX10M4 21/02/2019 by Rarityhunter

FAR too many settings, most of which are incomprehensible, incredibly niche or just plain daft

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Superb camera all round

DSC-RX10M4 18/02/2019 by Marnie

I have owned the Sony RX10 m 4 For 5 weeks now it has done everything I wanted and more. so pleased with it, so light to carry too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great for Wildlife

DSC-RX10M4 15/02/2019 by Upton Mike

I bought this camera after owning many Panasonic Bridge cameras. I have found it straightforward to use & have been quickly able to take some impressive wildlife shots. Although I have not had it long I am very impressed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent, versatile camera for all occasions.

DSC-RX10M4 12/02/2019 by Toffee54

I like to have a camera that I can carry with me when walking or on holiday, but it must be high quality and versatile, without the need to carry additional lenses. I have used bridge cameras before, but I decided that I wanted the best bridge camera. This is it. I am extremely pleased with it after one month. It's a high price, but I think it is worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Feature packed bridge camera

DSC-RX10M4 09/02/2019 by Andyfisher

I bought this camera after much deliberation as it's a substantial investment but it should fulfill just about all of my requirements. The main reason for the purchase was to achieve good quality photography and video when travelling abroad without the need to carry lots of lenses. I've only had it a couple of weeks but already taken some stunning shots of wildlife. The only way this camera would have been better for me is to have a screen that flips around for ease of composing self-taken shots and perhaps having a smile shutter release function (which is only in the Face Recognition mode) that does not have to focus on the face itself. This is important when on your own and you want it to focus on something you are holding and not on your face. However the fact that it has a socket to take an air release does mean you can easily take self-taken shots without having to use the timer and then rush into position. Lots to learn yet!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great, I love Sony products, amazing camera

DSC-RX10M4 09/02/2019 by JITENDER

I bought this camera for some purpose which is fulfilled all my expectations,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not up to expectations

DSC-RX10M4 05/02/2019 by BAGGAGE

I do not think this camera lives up to its hype. f16 is too small, it should be at least f32. adjusting settings is somewhat clumsy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing bit of kit

DSC-RX10M4 01/02/2019 by Reel Wizzard

I bought this camera a month ago and it is a big step up from what i had before, it took me a few days to get it set up how i wanted it, which is mainly for wildlife pictures. but now i have i could not be more happy. the speed is truely impressive and all the pictures are super sharp. I have not tried the video yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very heavy

DSC-RX10M4 01/02/2019 by John1970

Not reaching expectations, focus hit and miss poor auto lack of special effects. No built in nd filter. For the price compared to my other camera costing a third of the price hardly any noticeable difference infact it performs poorer in certain conditions. But early days maybe I’m doing something wrong.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Customer Support
04/02/2019

Hi John,

Thank you for the feedback. You can initialize the camera settings here https://bit.ly/2DTvFOM . If you are still facing issues with the focus, you can contact us using the details in the following link https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony support team

0

Blew me away...

DSC-RX10M4 30/01/2019 by Big Stevey P

Previously I had a Nikon D3x with all the f2.8 lenses. Fisheye, landscape,around town zoom & a long telephoto for wild life. My camera bag probably weighed around 40-50lb & whilst impressive it was very heavy. Although with this camera I can only get 24mm at the wide end (as opposed to my Nikon 14-24mm now I get 600m at f4 as opposed to my 300mm f4 with a 1.4 converter (480mm) f.5.6 & damned heavy (Not to mention the cost (around £6k for that set up & if I suddenly wanted to change to a wide angle @ f2.8...I had to change everything...now I just wind in the zoom. I loved taking various shots but it was hard work with the Nikon set up....Not any more with the RX10...Very happy chappy. Not cheap but then quality never is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera Treat

DSC-RX10M4 27/01/2019 by leZah

I treated myself to this excellent bridge camera as I enjoy taking photos of birds, & the fast 24fps was great, I am using & then reading the manual on line, which is very helpful, for all the features it does, haven't used the movie yet, still trying out all the features,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super

DSC-RX10M4 23/01/2019 by MODBL

I’ve had this camera for five months and after I got used to it I gave my digital SLR to my niece

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality feel and design.

DSC-RX10M4 20/01/2019 by Jaguarxk

A good camera with a fine range of every day features that are easy to use plus plenty that I may never use but they are there for the more 'expert' photographers to utilise. 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid machine, great features, but easy to use

DSC-RX10M4 17/01/2019 by Raith

I bought this camera from London Camera Exchange who were most helpful. I have found it simple to use especially as I have had previous experience with the sony layouts. The Menues were a little complicated to startwith until I got the hang of them, perhaps a few more than I will use, but WOW the results are fantastic,I am looking forward to the summer, when the results should be even more amazing..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant! Menus can be confusing.

DSC-RX10M4 16/01/2019 by Colin977

Bought this a monthe ago recommend - 100% as long as you are willing to really work at the meus and screen choices.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera with all possibilities that I like

DSC-RX10M4 10/01/2019 by LouBendie

I bought this camera last september and sell my old camera with several lenses to have all in one. Super.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Have had some impressive results so far!

DSC-RX10M4 07/01/2019 by NNB23

I bought this just before Christmas as one of the main features my previous Cybershot didn't have was the continuous auto focussing, which I wanted for wildlife photography. I'm still experimenting, which is why I haven't given it five stars yet as I need to be convinced that it's worth the large investment. Have had some impressive results so far but they're inconsistent and I haven't mastered the slo mo videos either, which appear to struggle to focus but are fine when taken on my Sony phone. It could be operator trouble so will continue to practise with all of the functions of the camera as a whole. The quality of the photos when it does focus properly far exceeds the ones taken with my previous HX400v camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

RX10 IV

DSC-RX10M4 05/01/2019 by jaycee64

Fed up with never having the right lens on your camera, i purchased the mk4 after reading virtually every review i could find, yes very very expensive for a bridge camera i paid 1700 odd pounds, but so far so good the best thing is the lens brilliant and sharp at low iso which rapidly degrades i personally wouldnt go above 1600 but most of us only use in good light anyway, you just have to be aware of the limitations of the small sensor, the auto focus is brilliant by far the best in any camera ive ever had!! the build quality seems ok but not of a £1700 camera, overall I would highly recommend the rx10mk4 and have purchased an a7 off the back of rx10 purchase for the occasional wedding etc that I do

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing Autofocus

DSC-RX10M4 31/12/2018 by J ChrisM

Traded in my excellent RX10 for the RX10 IV for the longer zoom + claimed improved autofocus. At maximum 600mm equivalent zoom autofocus hunts and fails to focus. Very disappointing!

5

3

Response From Customer Support
07/01/2019

Hi J ChrisM,

Thank you for your feedback. We recommend resetting the camera to its factory settings as explained here: https://bit.ly/2TzWXyz. If the issue is still evident, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Excellent value

DSC-RX10M4 30/12/2018 by Puffin

Good all round camera. I use it for photographing birds, land and seascapes, portrait work. Tried to take pictures of moon but shows no detail - maybe a firmware update would sort this out. Great not to have to bother changing lenses. I use it more than any of my other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So much to learn

DSC-RX10M4 29/12/2018 by Eaglesnest

I bought this two weeks ago and am finding out more about it every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Completely changed my mind about mirrorless camera

DSC-RX10M4 12/12/2018 by Suffolk Codger

I normally use a top-of-the-range full-frame DSLR with a 400mm f 2.8 lens for wildlife photography. The performance of the RX10 IV does not match such a combination - but it's not far off. If you are travelling, it obviates need for heavy DSLRs and multiple lenses. The camera has more functions than you will ever need. I recently took on holiday - mainly for bird photography. I was stunned just how good the results were - even after heavy cropping. Four niggles: dreadful user manual; fiddly to change custom modes; battery life is poor (buy a couple more with a separate charger); and I haven't found out if I can set the camera to delay the auto zoom retraction (which is irritating if you are taking opportunistic photos like birds in flight).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

IT'S EXPENSIVE BUT IT'S WORTH IT.

DSC-RX10M4 29/11/2018 by CRACKER1

I PURCHASED THIS CAMERA TO PHOTOGRAPH WILDLIFE AND SO FAR I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE RESULTS. ALTHOUGH IT'S FAR MORE COMPLICATED THAN MY PREVIOUS PANASONIC LUMIX I'M FINDING NAVIGATING THE MENUS FAR MORE INTUITIVE. IT'S EARLY DAYS YET BUT I CAN'T FAULT IT. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT I AM A COMPLETE AMATEUR AND IF YOU WANT PROFESSIONAL REVIEWS CHECK OUT THE INTERNET.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Jack of all trades master of all

DSC-RX10M4 28/11/2018 by Roy7

I bought the camera to replace my Dslr setup as I was getting tired of lugging the kit around. Really pleased with results from this camera and I find I am using it more being more portable. A spare battery together with a mains charger is, I would say a must have item. The camera is well built and feels quality without being a heavy weight, have not found anything negative to say about the camera so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A sunning camera.

DSC-RX10M4 16/11/2018

A simply stunning camera. I acquired it to replace my Leica D-Lux and I’ve been so impressed. It’s actually so good that most pictures you want are taken in Auto mode, as unlike most bridge cameras this one allows to to make many mods even when in Auto. It looks great and feels great in the hands. It’s early days but I am very impressed indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Still learning

DSC-RX10M4 09/11/2018 by Bikercambridge

It's a bit premature to give a full review after only having the camera for a couple of weeks but first impressions are certainly good. So many reviews seem to concentrate on the gimmicks and range of facilities so I thought I'd concentrate on picture quality which, after all, is critical. Using only the JPEG file type, set to maximum quality, certainly gives crystal results. I've shown some photos to friends who, without prompting, have commented very favourably on the sharpness and clarity of the pictures. That, for me, is probably the most important compliment I can pay to the camera. So, being satisfied with that, there are some features that do jump out as worthy of praise: the lens is really very good, even at maximum zoom; the zoom range is very satisfying too. The speed and accuracy of the autofocus is also something I have come to appreciate very quickly and is much better than other cameras I have tried. One particular thing that I find very helpful is that macro photography is seamlessly part of the camera's operation. On other cameras I have had to manually set a macro mode which can be a pain. So far there's only a couple of things that I wish were a little different: one is that the on/off switch isn't ideally placed - it would have been better to have had it within thumb range while holding the camera in the shooting position; the second is that the tripod fixing arrangement lacks the usual second little indent to accommodate the locating pin on most quick-release tripod mounts. The tripod fixing is also rather too far back, so the camera lacks inherent balance when on a tripod - especially with the lens towards the telephoto end of the zoom range. I think some kind of lens support adapter will be worth investigating. Overall I am impressed with this camera and would recommend it - especially to photographers who are more concerned with image quality and less with the bells-and-whistles which plague many of its rivals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Quality Product ......... Quality Results

DSC-RX10M4 26/10/2018 by TeamToad

Quality Product ......... Quality Results, lots more to learn about this excellant piece of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

amazing camera although expensive and quite big

DSC-RX10M4 22/10/2018 by daninet

I got it two weeks ago, so I'm still learning it. So far I'm very satisfied with it's features, picture quality, focus speed, large zoom. There are so many menu options, but I'm getting used to it and find it quite manageable. One issue that disturb me is the "running on NTSC" start up screen each time I activate the camera (it's a Pal region version), without a way to cancel it from the menu.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Read the reviews yes uts that good

DSC-RX10M4 22/10/2018 by Rodney Goosebump

For the past 30 years i have used another brand of camera the last two cameras were good quality DSLR. Carrying around all that glass just got too much. So a little apprehensive changing brand and camera type. Oh boy i should have done it sooner this camera really is that he all in one solution FANTASTIC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fast, very fast

DSC-RX10M4 21/10/2018 by Nellie151

To be honest this review is only a first impression, which is very good. 1. I did have to lower the speed of continuous shooting as 24 frames per second is amazingly fast and found myself doing a lot of deleting. 2. I print and frame a4 and have printed one photo it was perfect easily as good as my eos 7d mk2. 3. It is incredibly versatile with the 24-600mm lens, landscape or wildlife it handles them with ease 4. The auto focus has worked really well tracking birds in flight. So far so good. I will give a more in depth review in about six months as I've only just touched the surface of what this camera can do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent quality photos

DSC-RX10M4 09/10/2018 by Robbiebox47

Just brought this camera to upgrade from my Panasonic FZ1000. It was touch and go whether I bought this or the Panasonic FZ2000 to upgrade, especially as the Sony is twice the price of the Panasonic upgrade.. However the Panasonic is more geared towards the video user and I felt the Sony better for the photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very near perfect lightweight "Bridge" camera.

DSC-RX10M4 05/10/2018 by The converted

Only had the camera for a short while but very impressed with the performance overall. Super fast focus speed. Image quality for a 1 inch sensor very good. I am now of older years and find my DSLR kit is too much for me now for my wildlife photography, so I opted for the Sony after doing lots of research. With an excellent lens in all ranges I can now capture fast moving things even smaller birds in flight. The only thing I would like to see is an even longer zoom range 600mm is fine but I would like it slightly longer if at all possible. The only other thing was the price "ouch" but I suppose if you want near perfection you have to pay for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great zoom and so easy to use

DSC-RX10M4 04/10/2018 by joyful76

fantastic zoom all in one lens, so don't have to carry heavy lenses around

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best in Class

DSC-RX10M4 04/10/2018 by Pony049

I bought this camera a month ago and am still working my way through all the features. So far I am extremely impressed with the versatility of this camera. I currently have a Nikon SLR analogue camera, a Canon DSLR with several lenses (one of which incidentally cost more than the RX10 IV) and I am tired lugging all this equipment around. Consequently I am much more likely to take the camera along when travelling. The RX10 IV is amazing with a zoom range that is very impressive, program choices to cover virtually all situations. Looking forward to getting to know and using this camera much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Astonishing peace of technology

DSC-RX10M4 27/09/2018 by bitjuus

Very good camera. Especially for a bird enthusiast!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing Wildlife shots!

DSC-RX10M4 10/09/2018 by mirage rider

Swapped seven lenses and a pro camera for the RX10 IV and apart from saving my back from carrying the extra weight, this camera out performs them every time for 90% of the photos I want to take. Optical stabilisation is probably the best today. I would like to see the next RX10 with F1.4 to F22 and a higher range of ISO because night shots need a tripod for quality, and on holiday this can be a pain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX10M4 08/09/2018 by mpala51

I bought the camera 1 month ago and I'm happy with the product and completely meets my expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So Easy To Use

DSC-RX10M4 07/09/2018 by Boysie

Has All The Features I Need And More, It Is Easy To Use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great piece of equipment

DSC-RX10M4 06/09/2018 by 929HML

Still getting to grips with it, but very clever technology and great pictures. The manual that comes with it is absolutely hopeless, however. Also, although the technology is amazing, it falls short in a couple of areas: the most obvious is not having touch screen access to functions and the menu in particular. Also some of the functions assignable to a custom button may be better to be labelled directly to a button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sorry just not for me

DSC-RX10M4 06/09/2018 by Santa messervy

I bought this camera as a walk about camera it has some fantastic features but with the 1" sensor I had problems with noise .I take a lot of shots at dusk or dawn and even at 100 ISO it still produced noise at a setting of FD8 SS1/160 using a Tripod .It is a great camera but I guess I am to used to full frame or a larger sensor .I am sure a lot of people will love this but just not for me SORRY

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

Response From Customer support
10/09/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

This model has an electronic shutter mode which doesn't have the mechanical noise the standard mechanical shutter can produce. You'll find instruction on how to switch between the two shutter modes on this link: https://bit.ly/2x05qCu.

Hope this helps.

Sony support team.

0

Wonderful.

DSC-RX10M4 04/09/2018 by Horters

This camera meets more than my expectations. It’s definitely the best Sony camera on the market. Still haven’t used all the features but I’m getting there!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The great all rounder.

DSC-RX10M4 26/08/2018 by itsbigmal

Fed up of lugging a huge bag with 14kg of Nikon bodys and lenses now I am retired and travelling a lot more. I didn't know this camera exsisted but after a few hours of research on the internet looking for an alternative the RX10 IV kept topping reviews. I have sold all my beloved Nikons (been a Nikon man for 45 years) so time for a change, purchased this camera and am not disappointed, the versatility, build and picture quality of this camera far exceedes my expectations. Many Thanks SONY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent but instructions poor

DSC-RX10M4 15/08/2018 by Gig G

Very poor instructions but excellent camera all round

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Doing what I need

DSC-RX10M4 15/08/2018 by brian1208

I purchased this after extensive research as I needed a bridge camera I could shoot a range of subjects using just my right hand. So far I've used it for shooting windsurf action, bees and butterflies in flight, garden birds and show jumping and it does everything I need. On a personal note, I find the grip is a bit uncomfortable, pressing on my top finger

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing all round camera

DSC-RX10M4 10/08/2018 by Glynmar

I bought a secondhand RX10 MkIII a month ago as I wasn't sure I wanted to commit the money required for the MKIV. Well I was so impressed by the MKIII I sold it and bough the MKIV. These are great cameras and because it has such a long zoom with a very good image stabilization the results are amazing. It is a complicated beast but that means it has so many options you can tweak with. I get great really good quality sharp images looking at them on a 21" monitor (thats bigger than A3) that you would not believe possible from a 1" sensor. I have had full frame in the past which meant I rarely carried a heavy bulky and very expensive system around with me so then changed to the Fuji system to reduce the size and weight which was good. However I couldn't tell the difference between shots taken with the Fuji camera and these Sony cameras so the Fuji system went and I now only have the Sony RX10 MKIV which focuses better and quicker that the Fuji ever did. OK the Sony is not perfect but for me it is as close as I can get at the moment. It really is a fun camera to use and I take it with me more than any other camera I have owned. I love it. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Lightweight and good features.

DSC-RX10M4 07/08/2018 by Jules8

This camera was bought to replace a Canon 5D Mk 4 and lenses. The electric viewfinder I find disturbing in use and loading and removing the SD card is annoying. Otherwise the results to date are satisfactory.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

0

Consolidated features

DSC-RX10M4 06/08/2018 by B Granny

I bought this as when on holiday I did not want to carry my DSLR + lenses as this covers a large field.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great performance with superb quality for a Bridge

DSC-RX10M4 02/08/2018 by Paul 11

I bought this camera only last week and am amazed by its capability and overall quality. There is much to learn to optimise its performance which i will pick up with practice and time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Technically great, but has some usability issues

DSC-RX10M4 30/07/2018 by RachaelP

I bought this as an upgrade from a Lumix FZ1000. The key features that appealed were the fast PD autofocus, much larger buffer and maximum continuous shooting rate, 600mm equivalent focal length (compared with 400mm on the FZ1000), and the fact that it claims to be at least somewhat weatherproofed. The FZ1000 manual focus is very poor, and I also wanted something that worked better there. And I thought separate rings for zoom, focus and aperture would be an improvement on the FZ1000, which has one ring for zoom OR focus, and a rather awkward rear wheel to adjust both shutter speed and aperture. In use, the optics do seem to be substantially better, even at 400mm equivalent, and I am getting shots of distant birds that seem to be equivalent to what others are getting with (true) 400mm lenses on cameras with APS/C sensors. The manual focus is much better, so I can focus on birds surrounded by vegetation, for example. So that has been very successful. Overall, clearly a better camera, great for travel, and a worthy competitor to a full DSLR/ILC Against that, I have yet to see the full benefits of the PD autofocus, and for most purposes it does not seem to be much faster than the FZ1000 in an equivalent mode, using DFD technology. Sometimes, even with the zoom range limited to greater than 3 metres, it takes seconds to focus on a distant object and seems to prefer minimum focal distance when it isn't sure, instead of infinity. I tend to use the EVF rather than the screen, and have found I need to turn off all the touchscreen features in order not to make some horrible change just as I am about to press the shutter. The RX10iv also lacks several usability features I really appreciate on the FZ1000. - Focus priority -- If selected on the FZ1000, the shutter won't release until focus is acquired. - Zoom resume: the FZ1000 returns to the current zoom setting on switch-on or after reviewing pictures. Handy if you are walking around at full zoom hoping something interesting will pop up in front of you. - Selective photo delete: FZ1000 lets you select multiple photos for deletion and then do them all in one go (although, it would be even better if you could delete a range rather than selecting up to 100 individually) - Selective photo export: FZ1000 lets you export one or up to 100 selected photos, either as just the JPG or JPG+RAW. The RX10 exports all or nothing. - Faster WiFi. The RX10 WiFI photo export is painfully slow compared to the FZ1000. - The FZ1000's dedicated "quick menu" button. - The FZ1000 still has a more structured and pictorial menu system. Why does "Setup 2" seem to be entitled "Movies" when most of it is again about Still photography? Ah, but that's only the title of *that* screen. - The fully-articulated screen And of course, the RX10 is quite a lot heavier, but that is presumably all down to the larger optics required still to get f/4 at 220mm (true) focal length, so it's hard to complain about the weight. I suppose the test is, Is there ever a time when I would now reach for the FZ1000 instead of the RX10?, and there isn't. But it seems like Sony have missed an opportunity with regards to the user experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

A camera for all reasons....

DSC-RX10M4 19/07/2018 by Rollipics

Although I have not had the camera long enough to give a full review, hence the four stars, it does show the promise of why I bought it. It is sizeable for a bridge camera but lightweight to me compared to my largest for taking around ( I live in Cumbria). The speed of focus, the size and usefulness of the telephoto lens. The only thing I have added to the basic camera is a spare battery and charger and five filters including ND 2.4 & 8. It is an expense but worth it for the broad range it covers from macro to Tele. Good Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Missing manual

DSC-RX10M4 03/07/2018 by dodgynees

I bought this as I had seen my friend with his mark 3. I still cannot focus on an image and the 25 page manual TELLS ME NOTHING so I have no idea how to change any settings to make things work.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

8