136

4.5 based on 136 customer reviews

93
31
5
1
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Razor sharp pictures.

DSC-RX100M4 15/01/2016 by Jackflyer

Best compact camera I ever had. I was looking for a camera that I can take with me everywhere instead of my large DSLR without compromising the IQ. This is it, love it. Cost a little to much perhaps? I still think it's worth it. It is the best advanced compact out there at the moment... untill the m5 comes out that is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Failed after 5 months

DSC-RX100M4 14/04/2017 by Aprofessionaluser

As far as features, image quality and functionality goes this seemed like an incredible little camera, and it was for a while. However it would simply not power up after 5 months. I returned it to be repaired and it was returned to me in 3-4 days. Good. However it still had the same fault. I returned it again and I'm now waiting for it to be repaired again. Big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

136 Customer Reviews

0

poor service

DSC-RX100M4 12/10/2018 by mikel71

My wife bought this product for my birthday in September from John Lewis under their 'click and collect' system.There was a £100 cash back offer on the product which despite many 'phone calls and e-mails with Sony I have still not received.

0

0

Response From Customer Support
15/10/2018

Hi mikel71,

We'll need details about the issue you're facing so that we can help, we recommend getting in touch with us to get help with this using the following reference number: 17590770
You can contact Sony customer service on 02073652810, 9:00 am - 6:00 pm Mon-Fri.
Alternatively, you can send an email using this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Almost perfect

DSC-RX100M4 08/10/2018 by JavaGe

I bought this with the hope to left my (sony) handycam home during traveling. Almost perfect for me because much more easy to care. But there is still one problem....I'm not able to zoom all details I used to do during my city trips and vacations !!!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great travel gear

DSC-RX100M4 26/09/2018 by Sherry138

I bought this camera a month ago and so far I loved it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent balance between image quality and size.

DSC-RX100M4 25/09/2018 by SteveHerts

This can't fully match my DSLRs for image quality and flexibility but it can still produce excellent pictures and, most importantly, is with me most of the time, so I actually take those pictures! Given its size and cost I'm very impressed with the image quality, the auto focus and accuracy of exposure (with sensible intervention from me). It's a pity the camera doesn't come with a front grip (which I had to buy as an extra). For me, a viewfinder is essential and this one is good, though fiddly to pull into position; but I guess that's the only way to fit so much into such a small unit. I think this has been one of my best buys in the field of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Tiny and effective

DSC-RX100M4 22/09/2018 by MAdeupname

I bought this because my previous cameras were so bulky I ended up never having them with me at the right time. With this pocket camera I was able to bring it with me every day of my trip to Peru. I was truly stunned with the image quality, and found it very easy to use. I'd love to share some of the wonderful pictures I got from Machu Picchu, but this review site wont let me upload photos bigger than 5MB lol

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

DSC-RX100M4 09/09/2018 by Seanazz

Low light and great picture quality. happy with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great featues for such a small camera

DSC-RX100M4 07/09/2018 by rochford100

I have used it extensively since purchasing the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Camera

DSC-RX100M4 01/09/2018 by Hils2018

I have had this camera a couple of weeks and changed from a Nikon FX camera, whilst I have excellent shots sometimes but find the sony menus complicated and it really takes some time to learn, but I have been assured that perseverance is the key.. The photo was a practice shot hand held. A very comfortable camera to hold and no too heavy. It is very expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good pictures!

DSC-RX100M4 31/08/2018 by BLoew

I bought the cam 2 weeks ago, to have an alternative to my iphone cam. Good pictures, 4K video and low light results. Ui and App connectivity could be very better.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small but excellent

DSC-RX100M4 13/08/2018 by Banner

Haven’t yet got to know the camera fully but so far no complaints, but it does need a touch screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Promising little compact.

DSC-RX100M4 02/08/2018 by Phill the fish

Only had the camera a week or so and had very little opportunity to test it out fully. However the results I have had have been very impressive. Handling is also good, I particularly like the position of the control ring. Battery life is not so impressive so always worth having a charged spare in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love the size and the great features

DSC-RX100M4 28/07/2018

I spent a long time researching pocket cameras and decided on this one, despite it not being the latest model. It was a good decision as otherwise I would have paid a lot for for features I would probably not have used that much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does an excellent job

DSC-RX100M4 10/07/2018 by sheilab

I bought this two weeks ago specifically for digiscoping - it was recommended for use with my spotting scope. It's the most sophisticated camera I've ever owned, but I'm having little problem finding my way around and finding a group of settings that give me the best digiscoped images I've yet to take. I particularly find the viewfinder very useful in sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost the complete camera

DSC-RX100M4 23/06/2018 by Kinok41

Purchased to upgrade from a mark1 much better camera I fitted a front grip which is absolutely essential- don’t know why it’s not fitted as standard- the only thing I miss is a longer zoom that has now been addresssed in the upcoming Mark 6 but other than that it’s a superb camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 13/06/2018 by PM50

Had this a few weeks now as an add on to a DSLR which I am finding to heavy to carry round my neck. The Sony RX100M4 is a cracking little camera. My only disappointment is the short zoom. It could have been a bit longer but otherwise am well pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Serious Piece of Kit

DSC-RX100M4 21/05/2018 by JohnnyExton

About the best camera you can get in this field and I did a lot of research before opting for this model. Two minor niggles: first, it doesn't come complete with the plastic grip, which you have to buy separately; second, there's no quick way to do multiple deletes. Otherwise, though, it's everything you need and much more, with so many options you almost get swamped by them. Great camera and even the weight is satisfyingly solid, great monitor and EVF. Haven't taken many pictures yet as I'm still new to it but the ones I have done have come out really well. You can do Auto or Manual and a load of other stuff in between. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact easy to use

DSC-RX100M4 03/05/2018 by Yakstrangler

Fits in my jeans pocket and the 1 inch sensor gives great image quality so cropping is not a problem.I use for all types of shots- Bands,nights out,days out,long night exposures and landscapes.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact with a lot of punch

DSC-RX100M4 15/04/2018 by Royaljock

I have only had this camera a few weeks and I am so glad I made the discussion to buy it. My Canon became to big and heavy for my arthritic hands, so the Sony is a delight to use with lovely pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small superhero

DSC-RX100M4 11/04/2018 by Evil666devil

Everything is fantastic, but I can't create account to download an apps. I live in Poland witch is on the support list, so I don't know what's wrong...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overvalued?

DSC-RX100M4 10/04/2018 by Jasmose

I bought this camera recently and still struggling to establish its value. Very disappointed in the zoom capability which is more limited than I expected. Still struggling to make the WiFi functions work, the software and instructions are not easy to follow. Certainly work in progress at this stage. Pleased with the quality of shots that I have taken.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
23/04/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

You can check the Help guide in the following link for easier access to instructions for this camera and its functions along with the WiFi functions: https://bit.ly/2qS8hdI (Copy and paste the link into your browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Super Snapper

DSC-RX100M4 26/03/2018 by JDL48

Superb quality. Wonderful results. Worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Inpressive pocket sived Camera

DSC-RX100M4 10/03/2018 by iamspecialfish

This was an unexpected present and thus it has taken time to get round to writing this review. As it is, much of the review will be limited to handling and performance as opposed to picture quality, as I have yet to edit edit photos taken with it. However, reviewing what pictures I have taken on a TV would suggest that quality will be good. Out of the box the camera is impressively small for something with so many features. In the hand it feels solid and weighty but not overly so. Control buttons are small and set almost flush with the camera body. this makes them hard to find when you have your eye to the EVF (electronic viewfinder) again I expect with time and practice this will become less of an issue. The mode dial feels solid with a positive click and I have not inadvertently change the camera mode in transport or in use. To get the best of all the cameras features you will need a SDXC memory card U3 or equivalent. For such a small camera were space is such a premium I was surprised that it did not accept micro memory cards without an adapter. Setting up the camera to my preferences took some time, the age old issue of the sony menu system did not help as did the lack of a touch screen. That said once you get to know the menu system it does become a lot easier. Being able to map buttons to your preferences helps set the camera up the way you want it. But not all functions a can be mapped to all buttons. For example the eye detection can only be mapped to wither the centre or “C” buttons. The control ring also has a number of options. Set in auto it is semi intelligent it’s function varying with whatever mode you are in, eg in Aperture priority or manual mode it will change aperture in programme mode it will alter aperture and speed to correctly expose and so on, if you wish other option such as zoom control or others you will find them in the control ring option set. However, you can not set the camera to remember a preference in any of the three available memory modes. You should note that if you switch the mode dial guide off, than selecting which of the two auto modes (intelligent auto or superior auto) to use becomes a little harder. So if you do intend to use these auto modes often I suggest that you either leave the mode dial guide on or leave the shoot mode option in the function menu set. This that gives you access to 12 functions at the press of the Fn button. Otherwise you will find yourself having to dive into the the full menu if you wish to switch between auto modes. In use the camera is a great it gives you most of the control you would wish for or allows you to shoot in full auto. I have small to medium sized hands how someone with larger hand would far iI can not say but they might find it a little harder to use than I. As I said above at present I am finding it hard to find buttons when using the EVF. The EVF is a very good feature and particularly useful in bright light. I like that the camera switches on if you pop up the EVF, just remember to then pull it out to actually use it. Like so much of the camera you can control what happens when you take your eye away from the EVF or shut it down. This may sound like a small thing but it is very useful features in some situations. As with most EVFs you can also review photos in the EVF. Focus acquisition is quick in almost all lighting situation and the eye focus is an impressive and helpful focus mode. To get the best from the focusing ability of the camera you do need to become familiar with sony’s focusing modes and drive modes. I do miss touch focus whilst this is on the apps the screen on the camera itself is not touch sensitive and I do miss this feature it would be particularly useful in combination with the evf. Metering is accurate providing well exposed shots control through exposure compensation gives +- 3 stops enough for most purposes and there is a good selection of bracketing option should you wish to do your own HDR photos or are just unsure of the exposure you want. On the down side you can not Link metering to focus point or select where you would like spot metering to occur, not a deal breaker as you you can set a button to auto exposure lock (AEL) but it would be nice to have. On TV as I’ve already said the shots look good the 24mm to 70mm lens produce what seems to be good crisp images. For some the lens may not f have enough reach and maybe 24mm to 105mm would be better. Also others will point out that the maximum aperture of f1.8 is only available at 24mm at all other focal length it is f2 or above. Both to a small extent limiting it usefulness as a premium travel camera but that should distract from what it can produce. Finally whilst I have download some apps from play memories and played with them I am yet to use them. What I will say is download the smart control app from the playmemories store it is free and appears to offer more functionality than the one pre installed on the camera. Maybe I’ll return and update this review once I’ve edited some photos but so far this is a mightily impressive camera, that I believe anyone would be happy with. Would I have got the Mark 5 instead... of that am not sure, so far probably not. Do I already have a wish list for any new marks oh yes but I’ll save that for later.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great solid camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/02/2018 by Iannich

The camera is packed with features and feels very well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything that I hoped that it would be!

DSC-RX100M4 13/02/2018 by Newreview

Only owned this camera for a couple of week and I am still trying to work my way around all the options in the menus. I would only request 2 changes, a decent downloadable manual and a seamless wireless transfer to mobile device. Have a look at how Nikon do this with the D750 (wireless) and for all their cameras on the manual side. It's not a cheap product and no detailed product manual that you can download to your phone...could do better Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0