124

4.5 based on 124 customer reviews

88
26
4
1
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Razor sharp pictures.

DSC-RX100M4 15/01/2016 by Jackflyer

Best compact camera I ever had. I was looking for a camera that I can take with me everywhere instead of my large DSLR without compromising the IQ. This is it, love it. Cost a little to much perhaps? I still think it's worth it. It is the best advanced compact out there at the moment... untill the m5 comes out that is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Failed after 5 months

DSC-RX100M4 14/04/2017 by Aprofessionaluser

As far as features, image quality and functionality goes this seemed like an incredible little camera, and it was for a while. However it would simply not power up after 5 months. I returned it to be repaired and it was returned to me in 3-4 days. Good. However it still had the same fault. I returned it again and I'm now waiting for it to be repaired again. Big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

124 Customer Reviews

0

Does an excellent job

DSC-RX100M4 10/07/2018 by sheilab

I bought this two weeks ago specifically for digiscoping - it was recommended for use with my spotting scope. It's the most sophisticated camera I've ever owned, but I'm having little problem finding my way around and finding a group of settings that give me the best digiscoped images I've yet to take. I particularly find the viewfinder very useful in sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost the complete camera

DSC-RX100M4 23/06/2018 by Kinok41

Purchased to upgrade from a mark1 much better camera I fitted a front grip which is absolutely essential- don’t know why it’s not fitted as standard- the only thing I miss is a longer zoom that has now been addresssed in the upcoming Mark 6 but other than that it’s a superb camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 13/06/2018 by PM50

Had this a few weeks now as an add on to a DSLR which I am finding to heavy to carry round my neck. The Sony RX100M4 is a cracking little camera. My only disappointment is the short zoom. It could have been a bit longer but otherwise am well pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Serious Piece of Kit

DSC-RX100M4 21/05/2018 by JohnnyExton

About the best camera you can get in this field and I did a lot of research before opting for this model. Two minor niggles: first, it doesn't come complete with the plastic grip, which you have to buy separately; second, there's no quick way to do multiple deletes. Otherwise, though, it's everything you need and much more, with so many options you almost get swamped by them. Great camera and even the weight is satisfyingly solid, great monitor and EVF. Haven't taken many pictures yet as I'm still new to it but the ones I have done have come out really well. You can do Auto or Manual and a load of other stuff in between. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact easy to use

DSC-RX100M4 03/05/2018 by Yakstrangler

Fits in my jeans pocket and the 1 inch sensor gives great image quality so cropping is not a problem.I use for all types of shots- Bands,nights out,days out,long night exposures and landscapes.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact with a lot of punch

DSC-RX100M4 15/04/2018 by Royaljock

I have only had this camera a few weeks and I am so glad I made the discussion to buy it. My Canon became to big and heavy for my arthritic hands, so the Sony is a delight to use with lovely pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small superhero

DSC-RX100M4 11/04/2018 by Evil666devil

Everything is fantastic, but I can't create account to download an apps. I live in Poland witch is on the support list, so I don't know what's wrong...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overvalued?

DSC-RX100M4 10/04/2018 by Jasmose

I bought this camera recently and still struggling to establish its value. Very disappointed in the zoom capability which is more limited than I expected. Still struggling to make the WiFi functions work, the software and instructions are not easy to follow. Certainly work in progress at this stage. Pleased with the quality of shots that I have taken.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
23/04/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

You can check the Help guide in the following link for easier access to instructions for this camera and its functions along with the WiFi functions: https://bit.ly/2qS8hdI (Copy and paste the link into your browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Super Snapper

DSC-RX100M4 26/03/2018 by JDL48

Superb quality. Wonderful results. Worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Inpressive pocket sived Camera

DSC-RX100M4 10/03/2018 by iamspecialfish

This was an unexpected present and thus it has taken time to get round to writing this review. As it is, much of the review will be limited to handling and performance as opposed to picture quality, as I have yet to edit edit photos taken with it. However, reviewing what pictures I have taken on a TV would suggest that quality will be good. Out of the box the camera is impressively small for something with so many features. In the hand it feels solid and weighty but not overly so. Control buttons are small and set almost flush with the camera body. this makes them hard to find when you have your eye to the EVF (electronic viewfinder) again I expect with time and practice this will become less of an issue. The mode dial feels solid with a positive click and I have not inadvertently change the camera mode in transport or in use. To get the best of all the cameras features you will need a SDXC memory card U3 or equivalent. For such a small camera were space is such a premium I was surprised that it did not accept micro memory cards without an adapter. Setting up the camera to my preferences took some time, the age old issue of the sony menu system did not help as did the lack of a touch screen. That said once you get to know the menu system it does become a lot easier. Being able to map buttons to your preferences helps set the camera up the way you want it. But not all functions a can be mapped to all buttons. For example the eye detection can only be mapped to wither the centre or “C” buttons. The control ring also has a number of options. Set in auto it is semi intelligent it’s function varying with whatever mode you are in, eg in Aperture priority or manual mode it will change aperture in programme mode it will alter aperture and speed to correctly expose and so on, if you wish other option such as zoom control or others you will find them in the control ring option set. However, you can not set the camera to remember a preference in any of the three available memory modes. You should note that if you switch the mode dial guide off, than selecting which of the two auto modes (intelligent auto or superior auto) to use becomes a little harder. So if you do intend to use these auto modes often I suggest that you either leave the mode dial guide on or leave the shoot mode option in the function menu set. This that gives you access to 12 functions at the press of the Fn button. Otherwise you will find yourself having to dive into the the full menu if you wish to switch between auto modes. In use the camera is a great it gives you most of the control you would wish for or allows you to shoot in full auto. I have small to medium sized hands how someone with larger hand would far iI can not say but they might find it a little harder to use than I. As I said above at present I am finding it hard to find buttons when using the EVF. The EVF is a very good feature and particularly useful in bright light. I like that the camera switches on if you pop up the EVF, just remember to then pull it out to actually use it. Like so much of the camera you can control what happens when you take your eye away from the EVF or shut it down. This may sound like a small thing but it is very useful features in some situations. As with most EVFs you can also review photos in the EVF. Focus acquisition is quick in almost all lighting situation and the eye focus is an impressive and helpful focus mode. To get the best from the focusing ability of the camera you do need to become familiar with sony’s focusing modes and drive modes. I do miss touch focus whilst this is on the apps the screen on the camera itself is not touch sensitive and I do miss this feature it would be particularly useful in combination with the evf. Metering is accurate providing well exposed shots control through exposure compensation gives +- 3 stops enough for most purposes and there is a good selection of bracketing option should you wish to do your own HDR photos or are just unsure of the exposure you want. On the down side you can not Link metering to focus point or select where you would like spot metering to occur, not a deal breaker as you you can set a button to auto exposure lock (AEL) but it would be nice to have. On TV as I’ve already said the shots look good the 24mm to 70mm lens produce what seems to be good crisp images. For some the lens may not f have enough reach and maybe 24mm to 105mm would be better. Also others will point out that the maximum aperture of f1.8 is only available at 24mm at all other focal length it is f2 or above. Both to a small extent limiting it usefulness as a premium travel camera but that should distract from what it can produce. Finally whilst I have download some apps from play memories and played with them I am yet to use them. What I will say is download the smart control app from the playmemories store it is free and appears to offer more functionality than the one pre installed on the camera. Maybe I’ll return and update this review once I’ve edited some photos but so far this is a mightily impressive camera, that I believe anyone would be happy with. Would I have got the Mark 5 instead... of that am not sure, so far probably not. Do I already have a wish list for any new marks oh yes but I’ll save that for later.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great solid camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/02/2018 by Iannich

The camera is packed with features and feels very well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything that I hoped that it would be!

DSC-RX100M4 13/02/2018 by Newreview

Only owned this camera for a couple of week and I am still trying to work my way around all the options in the menus. I would only request 2 changes, a decent downloadable manual and a seamless wireless transfer to mobile device. Have a look at how Nikon do this with the D750 (wireless) and for all their cameras on the manual side. It's not a cheap product and no detailed product manual that you can download to your phone...could do better Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony rx100 M4 Ultimate point and shoot camera

DSC-RX100M4 29/01/2018 by ravster

Highly recommend if you want the ultimate point and shoot camera which fits in your pocket. Wish Sony chucked in the camera protection case in the price and package. For me taking good pictures was a priority , the 4K video is a bonus so if you want to do more longer 4K video then I would suggest other options. its a bit pricey but am sure they will make further developments and this one will go down in price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features - but it reveals them slowly

DSC-RX100M4 24/01/2018

I bought this a few weeks ago after some of the best reviews I Have ever read for any product. It is slowly revealing its hidden mysteries to me, but it rewards the patient. It is the most expensive and most sophisticated camera I have ever owned - I guess I like it fine, so far!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I want and more than I'll ever need.

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2018 by Bairdedoo

I've used another very good make of camera for over 40 years, finally breaking free from my default choice, something I could never previously envisage. I'm so glad I did. The picture quality of this Sony is every bit as good as my other camera and it has all the features I would ever want or need. The Sony is easier to use and, a big advantage this, it has true pocketability and solidity without undue weight. That means that, once again, I carry my camera everywhere, something I had stopped doing. This camera is not only perfect for me, it is a great camera in its own right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2018 by Pete138

Such amazing picture quality in a small body. Packed full of features like slow mo and the pop up flash and view finder. Great results all the time thanks to the quality Zeiss lens and stacked CMOS sensor. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

simply didn't work

DSC-RX100M4 17/01/2018 by gary76

Would not work straight from the box. Could not record 4k even with a recommended Sony card. It has been returned to store. I'm further research it seems these cameras have serious issues with memory cards.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Just keeps getting better

DSC-RX100M4 13/01/2018 by Tigg

Hi I bought the M1 when it came out and boy it takes great photos but that was a few years ago and it’s now a bit battered. Upgraded to M4. Looked at M3 & M5, but iv was the best price/spec compromise. It’s like the original, but just a bit better in almost every way Best feature is probably min ss on auto iso. Menu is exactly the same as original so easy peasy I also have a6000 and regard myself as keen photographer This camera will not let you down. You can control it, but as a point and shoot, it has no equals. Picture quality is fantastic and you can crop and crop without it affecting print quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exciting camera-poor user guide

DSC-RX100M4 09/01/2018 by Henf

The camera is pin sharp, light (ish) and reasonably user friendly (I've moved from Canon) but the user guide is brief,flimsy and not sufficiently detailed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing quality for such a compact camera

DSC-RX100M4 04/01/2018 by Sidlops

I recently decided to switch systems to Sony, and have had my eye on an RX100 as a secondary or family camera for a while. After weighing up the features of each version of the RX100 I deviced on this as it offers so much without being the most expensive. I used it over Christmas, got oads of amazing photos of my 2 year old opening his presents, super slow motion of snow, and crisp winter parks. The lens is stunning, even wide open at 1.8 it's amazingly sharp, I tried an astrophotography shot one night, 10 seconds, ISO100 F1.8 and it's the sharpest starfield I've ever taken. Every other lens is hard to focus, or has coma towards the edges, this is perfect. I haven't had a clear night since to do more, but I can't wait! It's great in low light, high ISO performance rivals my previous APSC mirrorless system, and the OSS makes it even better. Looking at the RAW files in Capture One (the free Sony version!) you can see loads of detail, and dynamic range, being able to get lovely photos of my boy being read a story by firelight next to the Christmas tree without a flash, while zoomed in fully was quite unexpected. The build is great, it feels very solid, the EVF and screen are both superb, and the NFC/wifi and Android app make sharing photos quickly very easy. It lasted me about 5 days of shooting over Christmas before dropping to about 50% battery, so that seems very good too. My only negative to report is that its crams so much into such a small body that it can be a bit overwhelming at first. It's seriously impressive, showing people the popup flash, tilting screen and then a popup viewfinder, then super slow motion video, the photo quality, the normal video... it's just awesome. I highly recommend this camera, and that probably goes for any in the range too. This is the kind of camera you do replace a DSLR with, you can take this anywhere and getting stunning photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Still a great compact

DSC-RX100M4 18/12/2017 by Jony99

Sony invented this super-compact camera type, and still leads the field with sensor quality and smart technology. But it's still difficult to use RX100s except as a rather dumb 'point and shoot' camera. Instead of adding ever more features to this already feature-overloaded model, some thought should be given to ergonomics and to more advanced photographers using this as a second or third camera. Ergonomically, it's still a mess and difficult to hold without a grip. And the features you are always adding are often difficult to access or use properly. And still no control dial for aperture??!! You could always disable it for beginners... And still no way to attach filters without clumsy glue-ons? Silly. Would a tiny screw thread hurt?! The fact that each iteration costs more also erodes the long-term VFM of this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M4 17/12/2017 by Piratemarks

Bought a couple of weeks ago, very pleased. Takes very good pictures out of the box, but allows full range of control, as on a SLR. Full use will take time to learn, as I am moving from a point and shoot camera, but pleased that I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera

DSC-RX100M4 15/12/2017 by Norm 65

Glad I chose this, beautifully made and packed with functions, the quality of processed pictures is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought for night time photography

DSC-RX100M4 10/12/2017 by Keef1962

Doesn't disappoint when taking pictures at night, really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0