Skip to Content
108

4.5 based on 108 customer reviews

76
23
3
1
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Razor sharp pictures.

DSC-RX100M4 15/01/2016 by Jackflyer

Best compact camera I ever had. I was looking for a camera that I can take with me everywhere instead of my large DSLR without compromising the IQ. This is it, love it. Cost a little to much perhaps? I still think it's worth it. It is the best advanced compact out there at the moment... untill the m5 comes out that is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

simply didn't work

DSC-RX100M4 17/01/2018 by gary76

Would not work straight from the box. Could not record 4k even with a recommended Sony card. It has been returned to store. I'm further research it seems these cameras have serious issues with memory cards.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

108 Customer Reviews

0

simply didn't work

DSC-RX100M4 17/01/2018 by gary76

Would not work straight from the box. Could not record 4k even with a recommended Sony card. It has been returned to store. I'm further research it seems these cameras have serious issues with memory cards.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Just keeps getting better

DSC-RX100M4 13/01/2018 by Tigg

Hi I bought the M1 when it came out and boy it takes great photos but that was a few years ago and it’s now a bit battered. Upgraded to M4. Looked at M3 & M5, but iv was the best price/spec compromise. It’s like the original, but just a bit better in almost every way Best feature is probably min ss on auto iso. Menu is exactly the same as original so easy peasy I also have a6000 and regard myself as keen photographer This camera will not let you down. You can control it, but as a point and shoot, it has no equals. Picture quality is fantastic and you can crop and crop without it affecting print quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exciting camera-poor user guide

DSC-RX100M4 09/01/2018 by Henf

The camera is pin sharp, light (ish) and reasonably user friendly (I've moved from Canon) but the user guide is brief,flimsy and not sufficiently detailed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing quality for such a compact camera

DSC-RX100M4 04/01/2018 by Sidlops

I recently decided to switch systems to Sony, and have had my eye on an RX100 as a secondary or family camera for a while. After weighing up the features of each version of the RX100 I deviced on this as it offers so much without being the most expensive. I used it over Christmas, got oads of amazing photos of my 2 year old opening his presents, super slow motion of snow, and crisp winter parks. The lens is stunning, even wide open at 1.8 it's amazingly sharp, I tried an astrophotography shot one night, 10 seconds, ISO100 F1.8 and it's the sharpest starfield I've ever taken. Every other lens is hard to focus, or has coma towards the edges, this is perfect. I haven't had a clear night since to do more, but I can't wait! It's great in low light, high ISO performance rivals my previous APSC mirrorless system, and the OSS makes it even better. Looking at the RAW files in Capture One (the free Sony version!) you can see loads of detail, and dynamic range, being able to get lovely photos of my boy being read a story by firelight next to the Christmas tree without a flash, while zoomed in fully was quite unexpected. The build is great, it feels very solid, the EVF and screen are both superb, and the NFC/wifi and Android app make sharing photos quickly very easy. It lasted me about 5 days of shooting over Christmas before dropping to about 50% battery, so that seems very good too. My only negative to report is that its crams so much into such a small body that it can be a bit overwhelming at first. It's seriously impressive, showing people the popup flash, tilting screen and then a popup viewfinder, then super slow motion video, the photo quality, the normal video... it's just awesome. I highly recommend this camera, and that probably goes for any in the range too. This is the kind of camera you do replace a DSLR with, you can take this anywhere and getting stunning photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Still a great compact

DSC-RX100M4 18/12/2017 by Jony99

Sony invented this super-compact camera type, and still leads the field with sensor quality and smart technology. But it's still difficult to use RX100s except as a rather dumb 'point and shoot' camera. Instead of adding ever more features to this already feature-overloaded model, some thought should be given to ergonomics and to more advanced photographers using this as a second or third camera. Ergonomically, it's still a mess and difficult to hold without a grip. And the features you are always adding are often difficult to access or use properly. And still no control dial for aperture??!! You could always disable it for beginners... And still no way to attach filters without clumsy glue-ons? Silly. Would a tiny screw thread hurt?! The fact that each iteration costs more also erodes the long-term VFM of this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M4 17/12/2017 by Piratemarks

Bought a couple of weeks ago, very pleased. Takes very good pictures out of the box, but allows full range of control, as on a SLR. Full use will take time to learn, as I am moving from a point and shoot camera, but pleased that I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera

DSC-RX100M4 15/12/2017 by Norm 65

Glad I chose this, beautifully made and packed with functions, the quality of processed pictures is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought for night time photography

DSC-RX100M4 10/12/2017 by Keef1962

Doesn't disappoint when taking pictures at night, really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smart and poweful Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M4 07/12/2017 by mandarinbus

Tales a while to explore all options as very clever camera. Used in Auto mode with very good effects. Particularly impressed with some of the scene selections for night time shooting. Panoramic shooting very quickly stitches together a seamless image. Still getting to grips with the more advanced features. Wifi transfer of images is incredibly slow, much quicker to plug into computer and transfer images that way. Overall though, a very clever piece of kit that takes stunning pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Useful Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M4 01/12/2017 by SNW2

I have many larger cameras but find that I take most pictures on my iPhone simply because it is with me most of the time. Now I can take higher quality pictures in RAW format and control the images much more. So far I am very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

In love sony rx100m4

DSC-RX100M4 15/11/2017

its a perfect compact camera nice picture and video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, Sony still suck at software

DSC-RX100M4 06/11/2017 by hman

The camera itself is wonderful, pictures are beautiful, and controls are well laid out. I find having to pop the eyefinder up and then have to extend the rear of it unnecessarily fiddly, but that's the only thing I can find to criticise on the camera. The software associated with the camera unfortunately still reminds me too much of the Sony software of old. For example to connect the camera to my phone for reviewing and transferring shots is nice, but I ended up downloading 3 separate Sony apps for this! One for the NFC, one for the actual transferring, and the third with a similar name turned out to be for online storage and wasn't actually needed for what I want, but why are they all separate in the first place? After I installed the Sony playmemories software on my PC I noticed some of my photo folders now had duplicates files of the photos in there, in an unrecognised format. I googled it and turned out its a Sony format, and a bunch of people were complaining in *2013* about playmemories duplicating all their photos - thousands of them. Thankfully on mine it only seems to have done it in a couple of folders, not all of them, but how is this still an issue 4 years later? So yeah same old Sony, great hardware, but software yet to catch up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Alround Image Quality

DSC-RX100M4 16/10/2017 by JoBow

High quality images in a very compact camera with excellant set of features - only criticism compact design presents fiddly operation that takes some getting used to

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Happy chappy

DSC-RX100M4 13/10/2017 by rb1904

Bought a few weeks ago to supplement my A6000. Over the moon with the overall performance. Its the ideal size for carrying in the pocket and therefore perfect for every day use. Only one niggle in that it switches off when closing the viewer but I can live with that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pocket maestro.

DSC-RX100M4 11/10/2017 by Welshmagician

This compact digital was purchased to supplement my Nikon D600 full frame digital slr, with the intention of using it as an every day camera that I could carry in my pocket rather than lug around my D600 with associated lenses and other paraphernalia. To date it's lived up expectations although I've yet delve into many of the cameras more detailed features, I've used it mainly in Auto mode for taking quick snaps on the hoof when circumstances have meant carry my D600 with me wasn't practical.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent little camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/07/2017 by SPJ58

Had this for a year and always in my pocket for the taken shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 19/07/2017 by Robbo999

Great camera, I wanted a small camera with big features. The only feature I really miss is the ability to take stills from 4K which I had with my previous camera (Lumix TZ100)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

DSC-RX100M4 07/07/2017 by Ian G61

I bought the RX100 IV after reading excellent reviews and also recommended by a friend. I was looking for a camera to take quality images and keep with me all the time instead of taking my SLR cameras except on photoshoots. So far I am really impressed with the image quality even in low light conditions, which in previous compacts that I owned this was a real problem. I really like the handling and the many features I just need to try them all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 02/07/2017 by Orchard 2

Only had this camera for a week and still finding my way around the various settings but so far the images straight out of camera are on a par with my DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality

DSC-RX100M4 17/06/2017 by photosjohn

I have been experimenting with this camera for only a week.So far I am very pleased with so much quality in so small a size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A lot of camera in a very compact case

DSC-RX100M4 17/06/2017 by Lazb00112

Bought this camera as I needed a very high quality walk-around camera to save dragging the SLR with me everywhere. Big sensor and wide aperture give fantastic results. The zoom range may be limiting but there always has to be a compremise. Brilliant, just need a new TV to view the 4k video!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic images

DSC-RX100M4 05/06/2017 by Toggie

For the size of this camera it produces remarkable images, detailed and, if you shoot raw, an amazing dynamic range. It has to be the best compact on the market. The only thing I would change is to supply the small grip that sticks on the front to make the camera handle better, this has just cost me an additional £12. Other than that, perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pocket sized camera

DSC-RX100M4 26/04/2017 by Tazzo

Wanted a handy sized camera to produce quality shots that would fit in my pocket. A Sony RX100 IV it had to be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best tool for street and travel photography

DSC-RX100M4 25/04/2017 by sspil

Being a traveller and a street photographer i was fed up by carring big slrs and i wanted to give a chance to a small good camera. I was impressed. Epic image quality super fast (faster than my previous fuji) and does everything thatyou may need when traveling. Also i got to use it much more than a dslr as i was having it all the time with me resulting in some nice street shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0