15

4.4 based on 15 customer reviews

9
4
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

as expected for a top end camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 21/01/2017 by Nickpicker

I bought this over a year ago and expected I have taken about 2000 photos only down side is charging the battery I bought a separate charger and a spare battery

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Unique mix of size and technical ability

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 07/11/2016 by Oldmike

Looks and feels like my first "proper" camera, which was a rangefinder in the early 70s. Prime lens, full frame, lots of metal, glass and heft. Design encourages creativity and use of manual settings. In use it's discrete, unlike the Chieftain tank gun turrets of similarly specced DSLRs. If you treat photography is an art form then this camera is well worth looking at. However, if you need to just make a record of things, there are better options. Personally, I love it - its looks, the way it feels, the beautifully engineered controls, the way it makes me think about the picture I'm taking, and end results I'm proud of.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good but seriously flawed

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 19/08/2016 by Mike Urban

I was looking for a compact, full frame carry-everywhere camera, and the Sony seemed to fit the bill. It's well built (but not weatherproof, sadly) and is capable of excellent results. The main downside is that it is very slow in low light and the focusing can be frustratingly hit and miss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

SONY RX1

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 17/03/2016 by john fh

Best camera in the world for size, usage, convenience

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

No firmware update !

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 01/03/2016 by hordlandsguten

I baught this camera a couple of weeks ago, and it looks promessing so far. What is very odd is that the firmware is still on v 1.0, and no plans to upgrade according to Sony Support

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

11

3

0

Best fixed lens camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 11/09/2015 by bobed5897

I bought this camera recently and so far I am very pleased with the high standard of photographs that I have taken. The Zeiss lens is excellent and all pictures are very sharp. The camera is well amde and should last for many years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Great lens and electronics

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 12/06/2015 by Stephan2001

I started using the camera outdoors, really working well. Indoors I'm having some trouble getting external flashes to work because the shoe is not compatible with any other camera...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

As a camera should be

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 18/02/2015 by Nickpicker

First let me start my review by given everybody who’s thinking of purchasing the RXR1 how I arrived at my purchase. I started with cameras 1963, and owned two and quarter square roll film cameras and 35mm SLR cameras. Also did all my own developing and enlarging my black and white prints. So with fifty years being an amateur photographer and having owned many cameras, have always known the joy of being able to set a camera up with or without a light meter. These are the most important things to me which made me choose the RXR. My priorities were a camera which a viewfinder could be use and yes I have the FDA-EV1MK any concerning photographer would not be with one. The Zeiss lens having used microscopes for years have not found much too equal Zeiss plus all cameras fitted with Zeiss lens have given superb results. I went for a fixed lens because I found for landscapes, close up of plants and portrait this was ideal, when I did own different lens in the past I found I never needed to carry extra lens. I have had a cable release cable since 1963 and I am glad I held on to it because the RXR1 has a thread in the shutter release button which I may add works. If I have any gripes it’s the flash design while I understand the position when it’s activated is high to clear the lens when being use, the assembly feels flimsy. Also the socket for charging and downloading data could be more robust, but saying that there is no perfect camera we all find the design of the camera we own does not meet our individual needs. One thing would have been nice to have a professional developing software instead of the play memories you have to download to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

Amazing Camera

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 04/02/2015 by sangmoosa

I bought this camera whilst on holiday in the US. I have always used full frame cameras and am totally amazed at the quality of the pictures on this camera. The size and weight are superb and the depth of clarity just unbelievable. A real winner in my books for the amateur and professional alike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

small size and good reviews

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 14/12/2014 by Dinky

Quality of the photos are superb.size of camera is excellent.very easy to carry around all day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Where have you been all my life?

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 02/07/2014 by Gründahl

A wonderful camera. I know it's pointless to speculate what camera "someone or other" would use if he were alive today, but I really think that Cartier-Bresson would have been tempted by this. This is the camera that his company of choice have yet to come up with. Small, beautifully built, versatile, inconspicuous, silent and excellent resolution. Alright, it has a 35mm fixed lens and C-B is supposed to have used a 50mm almost exclusively, but here you're the photographer not C-B.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

15

0

Fantastic Camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 24/06/2014 by bonneville650

This is a great camera but it wouldn't suit everyone. You are "restricted" to a 35mm full frame lens. The Zeiss quality is superb and the results are outstanding. I sold all my Canon gear to buy this camera and have not regretted it since. It will fit into a small bag and without the viewfinder would fit into a coat pocket. The Menu is easy to navigate and you have the option of a macro setting which works very well.Another great feature is flash sync to 1/2000th second. The finish is excellent and it oozes quality. I would recommend that you purchase the EVF, it is very expensive but makes the camera so much better to handle As regards the 35mm lens, all you have to do is move your feet to obtain a different view.I crop my images and this does not affect the quality or the ability to produce large prints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

9

0

RX1-R

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2014 by Hungryguts

I purchased my RX1-r about 3 months ago, main reason for chose being full size sensor with compact camera format. It performs very well, though I have to be careful with aperture settings when taking handheld shots as the speed often drops to 1/80th sec or below which can introduce camera shake. The lens is fairly wide angle which means getting up close to the subject by comparison to other cameras. Optional evf is very expensive, though I manage very well without, fixed position of LCD can mean laying on ground at times. I've had to research web for remote flashes as the sony hotshot is different to that of other cameras, ordered a Sony flash HLV-F43M as I couldn't get solid answers, again latest sony flashes which operate with this camera expensive. The AF is quite slow needs 2 secs to react, this can be annoying and I have lost a number of shots during street photography as a result. I quite like the peeking options which allow very accurate manual focusing. Camera is a very solid piece of kit when compared to the likes of the Sony A6000 and controls excellently positioned with options to change function buttons. Digital zoom is a waste of time as it detracts from image quality. The F2 lens is quite remarkable and cheap attachments to convert the lens to wide angle, macro or telephoto (70mm equivalent) start making the camera good value. Not a sports camera due to slow AF, street photography perfect and great fun. I've limited studio experience, but found the camera takes exceptional photos in this situation. Highly recommended as a practical alternative to carrying a large heavy camera around, for the person that wants high quality photos, likes to exploit a cameras virtues and doesn't need the camera for wildlife or sports. On a final note, I managed some excellent shots of the Northern lights on a recent trip to Iceland, even though they couldn't be seen with the human eye.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

3

0

Fantastic image quality.

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2014 by Lewi5

Great colour and very sharp image quality. Fits in pocket. Viewfinder is an expensive extra though. Limited to 35mm only.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Great features and fantastic photos!!!!

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2014 by boyokos

I bought this a month ago and I am soooo happy that I did ordered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0