RRP

£450.00

(incl. VAT)
41

4.2 based on 41 customer reviews

19
17
3
0
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

41 Customer Reviews

0

Big zoom, moderate image quality

DSC-HX99 16/11/2020 by Shenn dooinney

I use a full frame camera day to day, but thought the HX99 would be good to carry on country walks, using the big zoom for nature photography. It works well enough, but the images are noisy, even at low ISO, and very soft at the end of the zoom range. If you can live with this, and your images are for online and don't have to be too big, then it's a great little camera: good build quality and lots of features.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support UK
19/11/2020

Hi Shenn Dooinney,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to learn that you are happy with the overall performance of the camera. To reduce noise, we recommend adjusting the scene select to either Hand-held Twilight or Anti Motion Blur while adjusting the ISO levels, and you can find more information here: https://bit.ly/3kN5KKO. If you need any further help, you can contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09.

Sony Support UK

0

Small but Mighty.

DSC-HX99 28/09/2020 by ducter

Out of its box ,and with wrist strap in place I really liked the feel of this neat little compact. Its a solid build and all the user controls are just in the right place. In fact after charging up its battery and inserting an SD card the camera fired up quickly and was more than ready for a quick test in auto mode to take some pictures and video indoors and out. I had no problems with focus, exposure, unstable zoom, or even macro shots using the flash. Have to say the shots and video were excellent. I could live with this camera in auto mode! Have to give credit here for both the pop up viewfinder and the flash, with the viewfinder being very sharp and nice to get the message to "pop up the flash". Long zoom use can show up the smallest handshake and have to say that the HX 99 is very good with its stabilization. The 4K video is very clean and its great for to grab stills from it. I love using this compact and I maybe taking more pictures than my norm and the battery is holding up well from its initial charge. Don't think I would like to use it without its wrist strap in place - and that place is around my wrist. All in all a cracking little camera, as I say in my heading small but mighty..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect choice

DSC-HX99 03/07/2020 by john ml

I consider myself a modest enthusiast in terms of photography and possibly, like others, faced this dilemma. My trusty DSLR with its range of features remains in a solid position whilst at the other end of the spectrum the camera in my Mobile phone is just OK for those 'on the fly' images. i searched for a quality unit to sit between these cameras, a device that had a viewfinder as a 'must' and decent optical zoom. The Hx99 meets all my requirements and its size makes it absolutely ideal. I also like the ability to easily transfer images across devises. Thank You Sony for producing this excellent offering.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb travel compact camera

DSC-HX99 28/06/2020 by Hogjoose

I bought the HX99 in 2019 for my wife's birthday. She's very keen on the extremes of point and shoot photography - close ups/macro shots of flora and fauna, and extreme telephoto shots of birdlife. She also demands lightweight and pocket sized. Based on the reviews of the HX99, and the fact that it was the lightest, smallest ultra-zoom (720mm) with excellent wide-angle performance, I didn't think there was anything better at the price point - still do. As a Sony Alpha 9 user myself, I appreciated the similarity of the Sony Camera Menu system, and the advanced shooting capabilities of the HX99 - 4K video, 10 frames per second shutter rate, 180 degree hinged rear view screen (5-star selfies!), electronic viewfinder, and much more. As a previous Canon PowerShot user, I know my wife would not give up her HX99 now. There are a couple of minor design niggles - why on earth does it take so long to power up and power off after pressing the On/Off button - 4 or 5 seconds is ridiculous - firmware update please Sony? Also the same button is so small and recessed it's difficult to use anyway unless you have tiny sharp fingers. All is forgiven though when you see the quality, detail and colour balance of the HX99's images, and their excellent image- stabilised sharpness when using the extended telephoto power it offers. Good work Sony. Now my daughter has bought one too, based on Mum and Dad's recommendations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

So far - so good

DSC-HX99 21/04/2020 by DottyP

I have only had this little camera for a few days. I have just sold my old Olympus DSC camera and a range of lenses. I travel a lot and cycle so carrying a heavy camera and selection of lenses was becoming a nuisance. I read reviews on the Sony Cybershot and it seemed to tick all the boxes I wanted - small, viewfinder and terrific zoom. I have done a few trial shots and am very impressed with the detail on zoomed subjects. Can’t wait to get travelling again and to take this neat camera with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great camera shame about iPhone connectivity

DSC-HX99 16/04/2020 by MJAK

So far very impressed after doing a lot of research. As the title says, connecting to iOS is not straightforward and I don’t think you can set up geo positioning with iOS at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

0

Capable Camera if you configure it right

DSC-HX99 25/03/2020 by tssmid

Now, first of all, you have to be aware of the general limitations of compact cameras with such a small (1/2.3") sensor and such a wide zoom range. However for prints up to A4 format there is no difference in quality even compared to DSLR cameras. Substantial cropping may obviously lead to a worse quality, so you should always zoom to the right selection already when taking the photo. For low light conditions (e.g. indoors) this type of camera has to default to high ISO values due to the fact that these kind of super-zoom lenses have a rather small aperture by design, so image quality will not be so good (in these cases a phone may actually take better photos since they have a fixed lens with a wider aperture). As for this particular camera, the engineers have made the crazy decision to let the AUTO-ISO range go by default all the way up to ISO3200 which completely negates the capabilities of the image stabilizer and yields very bad picture quality in low light. You have to change the AUTO-ISO range in the menu settings to ISO800 if you want acceptable quality (be aware that, like some other settings, these are buried in a sub-menu, that you can access only by pressing the control ring at the back of the camera accordingly). I also found that the images are significantly less sharp than those of my old HX9V; the text of a page of a newspaper I photographed was outright blurry in comparison; I had to change the in-camera sharpening to +2 in order to make the results from both cameras look the same (this is now my default setting) Further tip: reduce the image size to 10 MP in the menu; this gives equal or even better image quality than 18MP, and you can shoot quicker, use less battery power and SD card storage (it seems that the 18MP are only achieved by interpolation). You can also leave the image quality as Standard (saving you even more storage space); Fine or Extra-Fine give only a negligible improvement. Video I did not manage to test yet in detail Summary: the Sony HX99 is very capable and yields excellent photos for this kind of camera (or any camera for that matter in good light), but only if you take the time to customize the many options.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

10

3

Response From Customer Support
27/03/2020

Hi Tssmid,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback, and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony support team

0

Very Impressive Digital Compact

DSC-HX99 24/02/2020 by John TT

A solid, very compact, pocketable digital camera producing good results. Very impressive optically but its dimensions mean the rear control panel can be a little fiddly with large hands. The menu system is very comprehensive and takes a little mastering (downloaded manual is 500 pages). Can be used as a simple point and shoot or adjusted for more technical results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

Response From Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hi John,

Thank you for your review. We will pass your feedback about the design of the camera and the manual for future development.


Sony Support Team

0

Solid

DSC-HX99 09/02/2020 by Bjn54

Solid quality build with excellent performance. Easy to use but ability to customise, excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Easy to use - good results

DSC-HX99 03/02/2020 by tedt

Bought this to use when walking, motorcycling and holidaying when I didn't want the bulk and weight of heavier cameras and lenses. Pleasantly surprised when I discovered that it was easy to use, good battery life and showed a good range of capability for such a small unit. I have no in-depth knowledge of the art and science of photography and this camera suits me well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Manual not user friendly

DSC-HX99 29/01/2020 by Argomate

The camera seems great so far but I am having problems navigating the user manual. I am not particularly tech savvy and in some sections I would appreciate more detailed explanation.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

Response From Customer Support
31/01/2020

Hi Argomate,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find useful information about using the camera in the Help Guide which has a search function embedded here: http://bit.ly/2J85QMx . If you require any further assistance, you can contact us to help you further using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

brilliant, yet versatile, travel camera

DSC-HX99 22/01/2020 by bill

I had already looked at this camera's specs so I knew exactly what I was buying. With good progress on phone cameras, I expect this sector of the camera market to dwindle, if not disappear so I was keen to get the best available before that happens - and I think that's what I've bought. Totally lives up to my expectations Highly recommended.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great small camera

DSC-HX99 07/01/2020 by Dave 13

This is a very compact camera and has a lot of good features, you can easily show you photos on your TV or computer without needing any wires. It has a lot of features which I am still learning, the zoom is fantastic and bring thing so close. It takes very good photos and the videos are really good, for the size of this camera it is excellent and give very good results, very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great piece of kit

DSC-HX99 05/01/2020 by Keef2020

I recently bought this camera. It is very good and has many functions. A more detailed printed handbook would have been a help to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Quite sophisticated.

DSC-HX99 04/01/2020 by Gedpin

It's a bit of a learning curve, but I’m getting there. Great pictures. A couple of small annoyances; I wish it used a standard SD card. I wish it had geolocation. This is advertised as being possible with a smartphone, but after purchase it turns out the software is not currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Customer support
09/01/2020

Hi Gedpin

Thank you for your review.
We would like to point out that Imaging Edge mobile is supported by your camera and has the features you mentioned and more: http://bit.ly/2FzKshS

Sony support team

0

This was Replacement Camera

DSC-HX99 01/01/2020 by Not The Digital Nomad

I had bought the same one a few months ago but when the lens zoomed out and back in it made a noise, which obviously gets recorded in the clip so either I can't use the clip while editing or have to take away the sound and voice over or music instead. The night time footage was all very grainy. Unfortunately the replacement makes the same noise when zooming in and out. (Not always but sometimes as with the previous one). I haven't recorded anything at nighttime yet so I don't know if the footage will come out grainy or not. The zoom is excellent and when it does record well the video quality is really good. So much so that Youtube classes some of the videos as 4K. The reviews said that it can record in 120fps but I have not been able to find this feature in the Menu options. Stabilisation on video is decent but not perfect. I just have to make sure most of my footage is either standing and panning and not so much in the way of walking. With the highest stabilisation setting, it can only do a max of 50fps. It is a good camera but needs to be used with these limitations in mind. Unfortunately by the time I noticed the issues, it was past the 28 days and I couldn't return and get something else. But within the limitations of the camera it is a good option

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Customer Support
13/01/2020

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. In order to record in 120 fps, you can adjust the settings as explained here: http://bit.ly/2NjFycM . If you require further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Very Disappointing

DSC-HX99 28/10/2019 by Pip27

Poor build quality especially considering that this is not a budget camera. After a couple of weeks use, I noticed a bulge in the bottom plate of this camera, together with a gap between the base plate and the main body.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

5

0

Zoom is wonderful

DSC-HX99 14/10/2019 by Jagsi

We are delighted with it. Zoom is better than binoculars ad viewfinder is a great asset.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excelen compact camera

DSC-HX99 03/10/2019 by KMjanez

I have this camera as second camera for trekking, where Sony A7m2 is to big and to heavy. It is a bit small for my hands, but results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony DSC HX99

DSC-HX99 19/09/2019 by Jre6198

Compact so easy to carry around. Excellent optical zoom capability. Some deterioration of photo at full extension.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

0

Good

DSC-HX99 05/09/2019

I bought the camera but when we printed the clarity is no there whar should we do

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

0

4

Response From Customer Support
09/09/2019

Hi Avinash,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Compact and feature filled

DSC-HX99 10/08/2019 by Willsley

Owned for a month so still getting to grips with the camera layout. Once I have got to grips with it, it will be perfect fit my needs, due to size and lens quality. So far the results are amazing, getting them on to my iPad however is near impossible, due to Sony App.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Early days

DSC-HX99 26/07/2019 by 56614

Not found all the facilities on the camera yet, so far so good, haven't got the copy to smartphone going properly, persevering.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Well built & very compact camera.

DSC-HX99 23/07/2019 by Pea Jay

Bought to be more portable than my SLR + lenses but still capable of very good photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

STILLS CAMERA???

DSC-HX99 08/07/2019 by Baptist

Youtube reviews focus on this cameras video qualities and few talk of the still image quality. I have had cameras by nikon, panasonic, and with sony imaging used in top class phones, i decided to go sony for their sensor. As I like to take a camera with me to my local nature reserve i wanted a pocket sized zoomer. unfortunately i am far from satisfied with this cameras stills. even putting the camera on a base and using 700mm to photograph ducks the images were out of focus and poor. I think also that there are far too many settings and features to contend with, i find i am going to have to experiment with the settings to get the best out of it. Then there's the popup view finder. Ok so its a little inconvenient poping it up but its really anoying when you push it down and the lens retracts, then you think its off and put it away, only to have the lens open again. you then have to power off manually with the button, whats going on. Surely when i pop the view finder in i may want to carry on shooting by screen, why does the lens retract then come back out again. I just wanted a point and shoot with zoom. My Huawie p30 pro does better stills. My wifes Panasonic lumix is a 30x zoom and its a few years old now, but it just point zoom and you have a good shot. no worrying about if stupid AI is on etc. Sony, stop putting gimmicy setting on your superb sensors and lets have a point and shoot that does just that. So would i buy on knowing what i know now. Sorry Sony but no. I will probably take my wifes Panasonic with the sony one day and test them out on the same subjects. As for video, well the Utube videos are right, its great. May be im expecting too much and should continue to use my larger format camera but its just a pain to carry when your walking the dog.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

11

Response From Customer Support
12/07/2019

Hi Baptist,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. We recommend trying different shooting modes to achieve the best quality pictures. If the issue is still evident, reset the camera to the original factory settings as explained here:
https://bit.ly/2Lj6CKa. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Good Specification

DSC-HX99 02/07/2019 by Cotswolds

The 'Noise' levels are unbelievably BAD. Noise at 200 ISO

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

My new favourite camera!

DSC-HX99 29/06/2019 by Classic Chris

I've just had this camera for over a week so I haven't had a chance to discover all its features yet. However, since taking some practice shots I have to say i am very impressed as I am really just a point and shoot photographer. I like the fact the camera helps me to get the best photo by offering advice re use of flash. I really wanted a small, lightweight camera to take on holiday but one that would allow me to zoom in on points of interest. This one appears to fit the bill for me. Getting the chance of £50 cashback from Sony is an added bonus. I am impressed with the zoom on this little powerhouse. I took a photo from my back garden then by chance the zoom allowed me to spot a young magpie nestling in a fir tree. I will be looking forward to testing the zoom even more when I go on holiday. Another feature I really like is being able to send photos from the camera to my Samsung phone with ease. This will be handy if I want to share holiday photos to view on the larger phone screen. My husband has decided to rely on my new Sony hx99 to capture all our holiday moments this year rather than take his heavier and bulkier bridge camera. No more lugging a heavy shoulder bag for me! I just hope I don't have to beg to use my new camera as he may not want to give it back once he tries it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Difficult to understand how to work

DSC-HX99 22/06/2019 by No to Sony

Far to difficulty to understand all the functions Also the money back incentive that is on at moment so difficult to get the money back

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

6

Response From Customer Support
24/06/2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. You can find useful information about using the camera in the Help Guide here: http://bit.ly/2J85QMx. We recommend checking the following link for more information regarding the cashback campaign: http://bit.ly/2YdGIdA If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Everything fine

DSC-HX99 06/06/2019 by Earld

So far all aspects of camera are working fine. Only problem is when turning camera off there is a significant lag so unsure whether camera is shutting down or not.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Very small compact but great zoom

DSC-HX99 28/05/2019 by Fazered

Brilliant camera. Auto focus is good and loads of features. For its size it performs really well. Sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Features for A Photography Beginner

DSC-HX99 26/05/2019 by lynddyloo

Haven’t used the camera much so can’t review all the features. However, what I have used is great. I love the way the automatic setting adjusts to a landscape, portrait, macro etc picture. The zoom is fantastic, although the picture isn’t as clear at full zoom (I expected this). I am hoping to take some great shots on holiday in a few weeks time. I am one of these photographers that finds it very difficult to get to grips with manual settings so my DSLR is rarely off automatic. This Sony also has the benefit of producing good pictures and still fitting in my handbag unlike my DSLR.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Super zoom super compact

DSC-HX99 26/05/2019 by ExWeddingPhotographer

I have been waiting for a truly pocket sized all round camera for travel pictures and i have no regrets buying this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Exactly what I wanted

DSC-HX99 22/05/2019 by Fred53

I bought this camera a few weeks ago. Having owned Sony cameras for a number of years was sure it would be a good choice. I wanted a camera with bridge like capabilities but small enough to put in a jacket pocket. Having tried the camera initial results are excellent. The small size is taking some getting used to but the pictures I have taken and video footage is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great small camera that fits easily in my handbag

DSC-HX99 12/05/2019 by Sueandwhimsy

Bought it 3 months ago on holiday when my previous camera broke

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to Use, So Portable and Professional Results

DSC-HX99 08/05/2019 by Rob Norfolk

The HX99 camera is such a powerful camera, yet so small that can fit easily into a pocket or in my wife's case easily lost in her handbag. I'm not a professional photographer, just casual snaps with the children, but the pictures we go from the camera at our recent wedding was superb. Fantastic action shot of the confetti, and even with it being zoomed in you could make out each piece of confetti. Amazing, the pictures from the first dance, where it was dark but with some bright lights in the back ground was amazing. Normally blacks become grey and fuzzy in previous cameras or phones we use. But this camera's low light sensors are fantastic. Although the camera has lots of function, we only use it a decent point and shoot and have to say we are very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Compact Bundle

DSC-HX99 27/04/2019 by Caro2

Happy to have a neat camera with excellent features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera but hard to share photos

DSC-HX99 11/04/2019 by Whereisthegeotag

The Sony HX99 is a really great camera but it is really hard to share photos if you don't have access to your desktop. We bought this camera to take photos travelling around the US, but the process to get a photo back to even your iPhone is so messy and time consuming. And the lack of (easy) geotagging is a big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

No More Missed Images

DSC-HX99 10/04/2019 by ChrisB15

I was into the camera as soon as it arrived. Luckily I had a MicroSD card to hand as the camera comes without storage media (the norm these days!). Loved the handling, holding steady is easy but the back-up of 'Steady Shot' is reassuring. The quality of the tiny viewfinder is amazing, as is the range of the zoom. I shoot in Raw so processing is my forte. Noise might be a problem but I am preparing to research into that. Only problem is acquiring a constructive approach to macro. How close and at what focal length do I switch from the 'Aperture-Priority' setting to the Scene setting of Macro. I have downloaded the manual for some intensive research of this and to see if there are many benefits of using the DMF focus setting. Now I don't have to remember where a good image was if I haven't got my Sony DSLR with me & go back later (often forgetting!). The HX99 slips out of my pocket and I can immediately capture the scene I want at high quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Great zoom

DSC-HX99 23/03/2019 by Gilly68

I have had the camera for two weeks, and I love it, small enough to fit in your pocket, but it packs a punch, the zoom is fantastic, lots of other features, very easy to download., and great clear pictures. Against is very small controls. Would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Pocket size power pack

DSC-HX99 16/03/2019 by Scrumpy77

I'm a novice camera man but what a dynamic bundle this camera is. Amazing quality pictures even at the ridiculous 30x zoom. Best camera I've ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

PUCKET CAMERA, GREAT FEATURES, GREAT UHD 4K QUALIT

DSC-HX99 06/03/2019 by Mo

SONY ALWAYS ARE ON TOP. 100% CORRECT ANYTHING THEY TOLD ABOUT THIS CAMERA! I JUST WAITING FOR UHD 8K SONY CAMERA!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0