RRP

£319.00

(incl. VAT)
47

4.0 based on 47 customer reviews

22
13
6
3
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Surprisingly sharp, very light

SELP1650 02/04/2017 by Theoldsmithy

The reviews that go on about this being soft are really nit picking. I have so far found this to be very sharp. It also focuses really quite close up, much closer that I was expecting. Not macro, but perfectly good enough for flower close ups. The best feature is the variable zoom speed. turn the ring quickly and it zips from 16 to 50; turn it slowly and you have fine control. I would recommen buying the 3rd party auto lens caps which work a treat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23/06/2014 by maistora

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

24

0

47 Customer Reviews

0

Neat little lens

SELP1650 07/07/2019 by Carmot

Great little starter lens does what it says on the tin

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It broke

SELP1650 05/06/2019 by JeffG53

OK it was after three years of use that it broke - till then as a standard kit zoom it was alright. I didn't like it enough to seriously consider having it repaired.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Customer Support
12/06/2019

Hi Jeff,

We have read your review and we recommend that you contact us to provide us with further information to be able to help. You may find our contact details on the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Epz 16 -50mm soft focus

SELP1650 29/04/2019 by Johnnykid

Sorry to say I have not been happy with this lens at all. Straight out the box it has been very soft. As this is the kit lens that came with the camera I very nearly sent the whole lot back. This lens should not be sold with new cameras as it hides the quality that can be achieved with the camera itself. Very disappointing lens. The build quality is not bad for a kit lens but watch out for the power zoom button as this can be pulled off and lost.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
01/05/2019

Hi John,

Thank you for the review. You can contact us to provide more details about your issue with the lens using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Its a Lens

SELP1650 18/03/2019 by Nala yes ME

Its quite compact - which is what I wanted - and covers the range I was after. Pictures so far are OK but still getting used to using it. Just been using it on "auto" until I get more used to the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact but excellent lense

SELP1650 15/03/2019 by Koichi

I bought this product 1 month ago. I really like it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round lens

SELP1650 25/02/2019 by CPMS

I bought this lens for when I travel, and so for I’m happy with it, however, it’s still early days. I’m not a professional photographer, just an amateur and for the price I thought this lens was a good choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

stunning clarity

SELP1650 21/01/2019 by Devon lad

I have this lens as part of a kit with a 6300 body. This is my first Sony lens, and I used it properly for the first time in difficult light conditions. The images were crystal clear and the overall clarity was amazing. I look forward o using more often in the future, but first impressions are wow!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good kit lens & works with underwater housing

SELP1650 16/01/2019

This was bought with a Sony A6500. It's a good lens & produces nice results both above the water & below, using an underwater housing. There are only a few combinations that give 4K video for underwater work with a reasonable price & this has been a good combination. Good zoom range & reasonable close up work with a minimum focus length of around 9" is good for marine life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens with zoom features

SELP1650 15/01/2019 by MAK53

Came with the Camera, as a first lens and is very useful at the lowest aperture, the zoom feature is very helpful on this small compact lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Kit lens

SELP1650 02/01/2019 by trevor533

I bought this with the camera, and have found it perfect for all my photos. The 16-50mm lens is more than adequate for most shots. The auto focus/aperture/lens zoom is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the beat kit lenses up there, but...

SELP1650 04/10/2018 by Kstsjo

It is a great kit lens. It is sharper than most of the competition and small, although, the built quality isn't a 100%. It rattles, the adjustment ring has too little feedback and is easy to break.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

It came with defect, cannot focus precisely

SELP1650 23/09/2018 by tomcat_ave

I bought this 2 months ago amd all photos are NOT sharp. then making test with other lenses I realized that selp 1650 I bought is not working properly

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Customer support
25/09/2018

Hi tomcat_ave,

We recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with your lens. You can find the contact details in this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony support team.


0

Reasonable results

SELP1650 23/06/2018 by Kinok41

Not to bad if kept at f6.5 to f8 and avoid minimum and maximum focal length but does not allow an A6000 to show its league capabilities.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good basic lens

SELP1650 28/02/2018 by AndrewBig

Handy to have when you can't carry around multiple lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small But Good

SELP1650 12/07/2017 by JAM13

This lens on the A6300 still able to place in my pocket(Jacket) Could lens, takes great shots and I love the power zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony - E PZ 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OSS -Very easy to use

SELP1650 24/06/2017 by Pete 202

I've had it for a month and have used it twice with excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not bad for kit lens

SELP1650 27/05/2017 by fiftysixa

Not bad performance, best attribute is being compact

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Surprisingly sharp, very light

SELP1650 02/04/2017 by Theoldsmithy

The reviews that go on about this being soft are really nit picking. I have so far found this to be very sharp. It also focuses really quite close up, much closer that I was expecting. Not macro, but perfectly good enough for flower close ups. The best feature is the variable zoom speed. turn the ring quickly and it zips from 16 to 50; turn it slowly and you have fine control. I would recommen buying the 3rd party auto lens caps which work a treat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens!

SELP1650 02/02/2017 by Kamey

Bought this for my Sony a6000 and it's perfect. A good standard lens to cover the mid range distances.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Camera

SELP1650 29/10/2016 by Gajitguy

I purchased this camera which had this E PZ 16-50mm OSS lens to replace my other Sony camera which had the Sony E 18-55 F3.5-5.6 OSS lens. I got it mainly because the newer lens is more compact when the camera is switched off. I am doing a fair amount of travelling now and I wanted something which would be more compact. This fits the bill and the camera takes really great photos with this particular lens attached. I can highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great

SELP1650 13/09/2016 by Sucis

I work with camera one year and this is nice. Fine pictures in dark light And very good in sun day.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small, light and good quality

SELP1650 15/06/2016 by smithy_sid

I bought this bundled with my Sony camera. It's amazingly small and lght, and the optical quality is better than I expected for the price. I've compared it with fixed focal length lenses, and while the optical quality is not quite as good, it's more than adequate.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good everyday lens

SELP1650 15/05/2016 by Magpie2016

This is a good everyday lens for general travel as it does not add weight or bulk to the A6000 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing!!

SELP1650 21/04/2016 by Sabrina101

I bought my Sony camera and lens on my birthday which I was so excited about! I originally was going to buy an Olympus camera but I'm so glad I chose this one! I am very pleased with it and have not had any problems so far! I recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens

SELP1650 24/03/2016 by Bigboytwin

I bought this recently to replace an earlier on that I had sold. I thoughly enjoyed using it before.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Great lens

SELP1650 10/03/2016 by P3nf0ld

Excellent value for money nice build and finish great photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic love my new camera

SELP1650 21/02/2016 by Jilldenn

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and I love it it takes beautiful photos and has a great recording feature so it's perfect for vlogging I'm really happy with my new camera and would defo recommend it is also really easy to use and prompts come up on the screen guiding you it's brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good

SELP1650 10/01/2016 by Ash333

Lens is good. Not superb but considering the price it is a good lens. If you are using it for video you may have an issue with the zoom motor being heard on the audio I would prefer a manual zoom ring

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Not a bad kit lens, but there are better

SELP1650 10/01/2016

I wish I bought my camera as body only and saved the money to buy a better lens. This lens is not bad but it's not great, I find it produces mediocre shots with inconsistency.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Clear focus

SELP1650 07/01/2016 by Jim L

Bought this in December 2015. Still getting used to setting but great camera, light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

no happy :(

SELP1650 14/12/2015 by Gullyraw

As soon as I bought my camera i thought was ideal, they updated this exact model and now I'm left with a camera that feels less than it should... its just disenchanting.....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

15

0

Good kit lens

SELP1650 25/11/2015 by AAG1

Good kit lens. Not fast but reasonable quality images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for beginners

SELP1650 20/11/2015 by Lucian Iurea

Being my first lens, I took over 1000 photos (up to the moment of review) and had no problem. The only thing that I find bad with it is when taking video the zoom is noisy. Overall great product for beginners.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Features ...

SELP1650 04/11/2015 by blueman

I bought last month and is nice and work very well .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good quality

SELP1650 14/09/2015 by MalckyB47

I bought this lens along with an a6000 camera a month ago, and for a kit lens paired with the camera the quality of photo is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good in parts

SELP1650 08/09/2015 by terrymacsurfer

I bought this lens with my NEX-6 and have been reasonably pleased with the sharpness and colour quality I get on Raw images. There is quite a lot of vignetting at wide open and a lot of barrel distortion, both of which can be greatly reduced in post with software corrections. The build quality of the lens is a little rough and the zoom is noisy and feels a little loose, but seems to work adequately. All in all, for such a small lens and the price it sells for I'm quite happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SELP 1650 Focus Ring Design Problems

SELP1650 08/06/2015 by sonyfan_sometimes

So far I have bought 3 of these SELP 1650 lens, the reason being the focus ring [end of lens] is made out of a very soft material, if you put the camera down a little heavy, the focus ring deforms and then the lens does not function at all, you can try to rebend the focus ring and some times the lens will work again, sometimes it will not, hence that's why I have so far purchased 3 lenses , Sony charge 55 pounds to just look at the lens, and around 100 pounds to fix your lens, I bought a neoprene camera case , and still managed to bend the focus ring, Obviously Sony have a design / material problem, this is not a very robust lens, it is not a camera lens combination that you put in your rucksack or over your shoulder or go cycling , you can not recommend it to a friend, you know they will be buying a new lens in a very short period, if you use your camera on a daily basis it is no use what so ever, it is just not robust enough., it is a lens that you take the camera / lens out of a bag, take a photo , and put it back in the camera bag, not a usable product., could not recommend, Sorry Sony you really need to do some work on this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

Great size and weight

SELP1650 01/06/2015 by Hopbackman

For its size it produces very sharp pictures at a great price. Would have liked the power zoom to keep its focal length after power off. But this is a minor quibble

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

New experience.

SELP1650 28/05/2015 by grandkids6

Compact, light weight with great optics. It will fit in with my travels shortly without adding bulk. Love using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality product.

SELP1650 14/05/2015 by Willwick

Great build quality and looks. Rapid focus and optical performance good. Very happy with product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

EPZ 16-50

SELP1650 04/05/2015 by WeeMalky

On some sites this gets a bad press i also have a full frame Nikon i am just a happy hobbyist and this lens works for me so as a kit lens live with it its a good lens get out and take photos just do it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Easy to use with great results

SELP1650 07/04/2015 by charleigh

great little lens, good for all shooting modes, nice and light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Images not as sharp as nex5n

SELP1650 17/03/2015 by Kath

Images even on landscape setting can be off focus - missed shots.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

Questionable optical performance

SELP1650 23/01/2015 by GordonS

Barely adequate resolution, particularly at the short focal length.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Anglers camera

SELP1650 04/11/2014 by Deano m

I have been searching for a good camera with simple self take options and i believe this camera is exactly what i have been looking for.The camera was purchased mainly for self take fishing photos and it was the smile shutter option that drew me to this camera.All i have to do is smile and the camera does the rest and the 180 degree tillable screen makes the job even easier.Also i like the idea that i can shoot 5 shots one after the other on the self timer mode,so for the thousands of anglers out there look no further for the perfect fishing camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

All a kit lens needs to be and more

SELP1650 02/08/2014 by SgtMajor

The SEL1650's specs make it seem like a typical kit lens you'd get with any entry level DSLR, but packing extra width (24 vs the usual 28 equivalent) comes in handy, and it's all in a very compact package. It has its faults but they shouldn't stop you from getting great images if you know what you're doing.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23/06/2014 by maistora

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

24

0