RRP

£1,079.00

(incl. VAT)
31

4.8 based on 31 customer reviews

24
7
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31 Customer Reviews

0

The sharpest lens period!

SEL90M28G 22/05/2019 by Captured_By_Costa

I purchased this lens around 3 weeks ago mainly for some Macro work and boy does it deliver. I now use this more often than I thought I and also use it for portrait work too. This is a no brainer if you are looking to add this to your collection. 10/10!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great macro performance

SEL90M28G 19/03/2019 by telepies

I got this lens month ago and its great, focus engage is the best mf/af I have ever used :) the only backside is the sound of the af motor :/ for this price it should be silent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Superb macro/short tele lens, great all rounder.

SEL90M28G 06/03/2019 by Chris139

This lens is ideal as a macro lens but also lends itself to use as a short telephoto lens for landscapes, portraits and is perfect for product photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

FE90F28 - very good video lens

SEL90M28G 16/01/2019 by Spearman106

I bought this lens due to the price v an 85mm prime. Having looked on YouTube for reviews and using it in a local butterfly farm I am totally satisfied with its performance, easy to use, features and quality of build more than meet my demands - an excellent choice!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but not Great.

SEL90M28G 22/11/2018 by Marco55_1

Pro: Super sharpness, good manual focus ring, good stabilizer Cons: Changing the focus point also changes a little the magnification. Slow autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well built and feels nice in the hand .

SEL90M28G 12/11/2018 by gefrob

Excellent macro and portraiture lens at about the right focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Macro madness

SEL90M28G 06/10/2018 by TheOlly

Added this to my collection and used on my latest shoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Very Sharp Images

SEL90M28G 01/10/2018 by Bravanboy

This is my First Macro Lens and It's a Great Choice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Good lens

SEL90M28G 18/08/2018 by Rich58

Limited experience of this lens since buying it, but I could tell from the first few shots that it is very good. This came as a pleasant surprise as my previous experience of Sony's own lenses had not been good. I bought this lens to go with my A7lll and Zeiss 24-70 f4 combination. Whilst happy with the 24-70, I needed a little more length, and a closer focus facility. The 90mm 2.8 G would seem to offer both in one package.The only doubt being, as it is designated a "macro" lens, was it capable of delivering the goods at distance as well? The answer to that is, yes! It most definitely is capable of turning in very sharp pictures at both close and distance focus. At 5.6 it is surprisingly good edge to edge, corner to corner. I have yet to try it at 8. AF is good and accurate, reasonably "snappy" OSS works well. I suspect this lens will be getting a lot of use. Anyone looking for a quality short telephoto with close focus facility for the A7 range at a reasonable price would do well to look at this lens. I have tried to find a shortcoming to rate this lens at 4* but I can't, so, a 5* it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Superb Lens

SEL90M28G 11/08/2018

Excellent lens for macro and portrait work. Very sharp, excellent focus and very well built. Not cheap but worth the money I'd say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sony's most versatile lens

SEL90M28G 28/03/2018 by gwhale_photo

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I'm very happy with my purchase. I have used this lens for stills and video on a Sony A7RII and it's overall quality and sharpness is incredible. I can use this lens in various situations such as for food, macro or portrait photography with its telephoto focal length a F/2.8 aperture. This lens also has a really creamy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Very sharp macro prime lens

SEL90M28G 02/02/2018

Have not had this lens very long but it is already a favourite lens for my A7R mk1. It is very sharp and it is great to use a prime lens once again after so many zooms which just make me a lazy photographer. Not over keen on the auto focus as it tends to take too long to hunt the best focus - however the manual focus is excellent and is very easy and quick to use especially for macro work. Not as light as I would like but it does produce excellent results. Rather expensive but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great marco lens

SEL90M28G 30/01/2018 by LG71

Great macro lens, would have loved a 1.8 aperture though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Excellent lens

SEL90M28G 09/11/2017 by bbac

Have only had a couple of weeks but this is an excellent lens. I have been a Nikon user for some years (previously with Canon) but I am now totally going over to Sony and I am really impressed with the results. Add to that how light the equipment is to carry and this is important these days with reduced in-flight baggage restrictions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

FE 90mm F2.8 - WOW & MUST HAVE

SEL90M28G 07/09/2017 by rodriguesn84

Sony has got 5 different lenses for Full Frame E- mounts Mirrorless Cameras available when it comes to Macro & Close Ups. If you're really looking to have outstanding images, the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 is the BEST one within the Sony line of Lens for Macro. Please note that this lens can be used as a portrait lens as well, and the results are just as great as macro images. Yes it is very expensive to buy this lens, but I've always said this and will always stand by it. I believe in buying expensive gear, because they will last for a very long time, as long as you take care of it. I've got a huge OCD when it comes to taking care of all my gear, be it musical instruments, video gear & camera gear. They're all in a MINT CONDITION. I am also very grateful that this lens was given to me as a payment for a project that I am currently working on, thank you very much - you know who you are. Bottom line: Would I recommend the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 Macro Lens? YES. Buy it & you won't regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Promising item

SEL90M28G 28/07/2017 by A Rainy Night in England

Pleased with the macro image quality, once the focus is established. In low light the MF collar is useful. Yet to be 100% proficient with the lens but will be an ideal replacement for a Zeiss Makro-Planar 60mm f2.8 used with a E-mount to C/Y adaptor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

An Excellent Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 22/07/2017 by Humfan1943

A good sharp macro lens with useful features, MF and focus freeze, OSS is a real help when slow shutter speeds are needed. A bit pricey, but overall it`s worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent sharp results

SEL90M28G 01/06/2017 by Swanney

This lens was a replacemnt for a larger 105mm macro which I had used with my previous alpha series cameras. Having moved to the E mount system I needed a suitable lens. This had excellent reviews and has performed bery well so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

High quality construction & precise focusing

SEL90M28G 02/04/2017 by Deepfield

I bought this from a camera store in Euston London and was given some pretty convincing advise why I should have it. I have used it to take about 150 or so shots and notice that a great deal of precision is required in setting up the scene to get near perfect results which slowly I am getting now. I use a Sony Alfa 7RMII which is quite a new purchase. It is large compared to my go to lens Sony Zeiss 55mm 1.8 but walking around London for a day with it wasn't too much hardship it is quite long but but balanced with the camera. The images from the top of the Tate Modern over London and inside the museum were very interesting as were the ones of family. It focuses very quickly and silently but be sure to set the focus limiter on the left side correctly otherwise the lens hunts to focus to much. The manual focus is an excellent benefit and really allows you to focus right in deep by magnifying your subject then fire your shot for very precise results.The steady-shot switch is a help when the wind was blowing although the focus hold I have not used much at this stage. I am still getting used to it but I am pleased with the purchase and I know it will lift my game further. Try it and you might get hooked.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

5

0

All the features and more of this lens type

SEL90M28G 12/03/2017 by Martii

It's in the same class as the 85GM Bokeh not as ball like, it is a good lens for portraiture and macro and usable for street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Excellent quality

SEL90M28G 10/09/2016 by sgfj

Very expensive ! but this is a great lens with a wide aperture (but for macro work, you'd better not use f2.8 since it gives no depth of field whatsoever). I use this on an A6000 body - which it dwarfs - this is physically a fairly large and heavy lens. But it gives excellent edge-to-edge quality and great contrast. On the A6000 it occasionally hunts and cannot find focus - then you have to start again, but this apart, it focusses quickly and surely. There are 3 focus ranges: Full; 0.5m-infinity and 0.28m-0.5m. For photographing butterflies, I generally operate in a range 0.28m - 1.0m so because this falls across two ranges, I often end up shooting on "Full" so I lose some focus speed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

7

0

Lovely lens...

SEL90M28G 28/08/2016 by PaddyP

I bought this lens mainly for macro and the quality of both the lens and the images is impressive. It's quite chunky on an a7rii, but not unmanageably so. Regarless of where you buy it, there's no hiding the fact that competitors lenses are still cheaper, which is the only downside, otherwise I'd give it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

7

0

A Wonderful Lens

SEL90M28G 25/08/2016 by Niggly

I bought this lens two weeks ago, and am delighted with it. Its macro facilities are fabulous, but it's also a great portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

4

0

Superb Optics Macro F2.8 90mm Lens

SEL90M28G 23/08/2016 by FDAC

Amazing Prime Telephoto (Macro) 90mm lenses I have ever used. The Optics are in a class of there own. Limitless possibilities with one of the very best Camera bodies in its class

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Great Lense

SEL90M28G 16/08/2016 by Mike0000001

Fantastic lense, very crisp even at the edges. Manual focus very easy and with nicely placed fix focus button on the side. Use as Macro or 90mm - Highly recommend. Shame about the cost but you do get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Love this lens

SEL90M28G 14/08/2016 by Barbara_L

I have wanting this lens for about 12 months, put off by the price plus other people's feelings about their own (competitor) macro lenses. I needn't have worried. I can finally attempt the sort of macro shots I have been trying for (flowers/bees/bokeh effects). I love this lens, its sharp, easy to move from autofocus to manual focus, good solid feel to it, as have my other Sony lenses. I have used it also as a general 90mm lens and again am happy with the results. More practise needed but that's me, not the lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

A Quality Lens

SEL90M28G 24/06/2016 by Boso

I bought this lens to do some close ups. Early attempts look promising but I've not yet had opportunity to give it a rigorous trial.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

17

0

Best ever on top of market.HIGHE REZ SONY LENS..

SEL90M28G 27/01/2016 by Mo T

I buy week age and surprised by the Best ever on top of market.HIGHE REZ SONY LENS, it's catch picture which show up any thing naked eyes can't see! So glad of Sony product, and high tech from Sony. ALWAYS WAS THE BEST..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

40

0

Love the lens, can't show files, too large :-(

SEL90M28G 18/01/2016 by darkart

Crisp and clear, used on from wide open to fully stopped down, can't fault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

2

0

Superb lens a must buy!

SEL90M28G 13/10/2015 by Mufftrix

I bought this to partner the A7R II and after using it for a few weeks cannot fault the IQ and it's versatility as obviously a macro lens, but also a general walkabout lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

1

0

Great lens for both macro and general work.

SEL90M28G 28/09/2015 by Ulrome

Before I bought this, I used a Leicaflex R 100mm Macro Elmar for my macro and close-up work. This lens is very sharp and has a lovely bokeh, but of course lacked stabilisation, auto-focus and exposure links with my Sony A7. The FE 2.8 90mm from Sony is equally sharp and also has a super bokeh. In addition, it has all the features that the Leica lacked - Steadyshot (which gives at least 2 extra stops), autofocus (that can be easily switched to manual for fine adjustment by simply sliding the focus ring, and a focus hold button. In all it is a splendid lens, and although somewhat heavy and quite costly it certainly delivers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

6