FE 85mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

RRP

£1,889.00

(incl. VAT)
19

4.8 based on 19 customer reviews

15
4
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp and clear images.

SEL85F14GM 05/09/2020 by DWRC

Not had this lens for long but absolutely love it. The images are really sharp, as I expected, and the build is chunky so not too long. This balances my mirrorless camera better. I love the neat lens hood. It has a little safety catch that works well. I have lost too many on my travels.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Image quality is superb, autofocus could be better

SEL85F14GM 22/04/2020 by TSPhoto

Image quality is superb, but the autofocus could be better. It's fairly slow and noisy, feels a bit clunky. But for the superb image quality it's something that you may feel fine overlooking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Customer Support
27/04/2020

Hi TSPhoto,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that you like the lens.

To improve its overall performance, we recommend ensuring that the lens is running the latest software, you can find a link to download the update under the downloads section here: https://bit.ly/358HqNk . If you are still facing an issue with the Auto focus, we recommend contacting us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD .

Sony Support Team

0

Great features!

SEL85F14GM 08/02/2020 by Kjennifer

Bought this because I love portraiture and it is a great lens, not as good as I hoped for low light but I’m still getting used to it and the photos are coming out looking very professional.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi Kjennifer,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony support team

0

Lens great - not happy with Sony

SEL85F14GM 14/09/2019 by Dave951753

I'm happy with this lens - expensive - but good. Cash back is a problem. You have to wait 30 days (hoping we forget maybe?) Then type in serial number and photography serial number etc. They seem to look for any tiny reason not to pay out cashback. Bit shabby since we pay a lot to become Sony customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

11

0

FE85mm F/1.4

SEL85F14GM 12/03/2019 by Fletcher8

The Sony FE85mm F/1.4 is a stunning lens and is capable of producing some stunning images in relation to portraits. I love the rendering of this lens and how it feels. I hope Sony provide an update firmware to improve the speed of this lens and its low light performance. To be fair though most 85 lenses are not speed demons, but I am sure Sony could improve this lens with a future firmware update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL85F14GM 06/02/2019 by shotbyIV

After switching from Canon to Sony and using my old Canon 85 1.2L this lens along with my Sony a7iii focusing much better and is tack sharp! Very sharp and wide aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

FE 85mm F1.4 GM

SEL85F14GM 11/12/2018 by Willwall

Fantastic lens. It lives up to all the reviews I read about before I bought it. Excellent portraiture lens, beautiful boka and sharp as a pin

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Creamy Bokeh and very sharp

SEL85F14GM 14/10/2018 by purephotoni

Having recently moved from Nikon to Sony I needed to purchase a new 85mm lens. As a wedding photographer the 85mm range is an important one for me and most of the portraits of our couples are taken using this focal length. I first purchased the Sony FE85MM f/1.8 which is also a strong performer with very quick autofocus and is razor sharp but I missed the better bokeh that I was able to get when using my previous 85mmm f/1.4. After looking in store I decided on 85mm GM Lens after comparing it to another third party lens. This lens was a little more compact than the third party option and also has the focus hold button which I really like as it I assign eye a.f to this button. Since purchase we have photographed a few weddings and engagement sessions with this lens and I have been extremely happy with the performance. It renders out of focus areas beautifully and is very sharp. The autofocus speed isn't as quick as the f/1.8 Sony but that would be the case with most 85mm lenses. For me this is the best 85mm lens available for e-mount. It's an expensive lens but well worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

85 1.4 gm

SEL85F14GM 28/09/2018 by Unalom

It's not cheap but optical preformance is out of this world.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

One the best portraits lens in the game!

SEL85F14GM 13/08/2018 by AJMCRPhoto

One the best portraits lens in the game! Game changer and faster than other brands at focussing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

All I hoped for.

SEL85F14GM 09/07/2018 by Sussexandy

After much deliberation I part exchanged all of my APS-C equipment and bought an A7-3 and this lens. The lens is magnificent, it is heavy but re-assuringly so, the quality of the images are all that I hoped for. I take many pictures in low light (dawn and dusk) and prefer to avoid external light sources, absolutely no problem for this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharpest and Colourful 85 on the market!

SEL85F14GM 20/04/2018 by GMAN2018

Absolutely LOVE this lens! Skins tones and colour pop is second to none - truly beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very nice focal length

SEL85F14GM 05/03/2018 by BikeVisionScotland

Great focal length for head to full portrait. The f1.4 aperture draws my subject out from the diffused background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sony 85mm G Master

SEL85F14GM 10/06/2017 by FearNoMortal

Awesome bit of glass. 85mm fixed focal length may not suit all however this is a wonderful lens...... bokehlicious with the 1.4 aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Best Portatrait Lens

SEL85F14GM 05/05/2017

Beautiful lens, very sharp and lovely bokeh. Just an annoying autofocus noise

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

First class lens.

SEL85F14GM 30/11/2016 by Anhow

The best lens I've had in 60 years of photography, very pleased with all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

1

0

very sharp lens but with few shortcomings

SEL85F14GM 25/10/2016 by OlivierLondon

I am very impressed with the level of details I get from this lens and I am glad with my purchase. However it is a bulky object that defeats the purpose of my 7RII. Also it is let down by a rather slow autofocus. I thought it would be on par with the best in the business at this price but clearly it can't compete with the likes of Canon or Nikon lenses. I understand it has got a lot of glass to move but stil...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

25

0

Superb glass

SEL85F14GM 25/09/2016 by Aquila1

Stunning Bokeh and pin sharp. Absolute best portarait lens out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

probably the best 85 available

SEL85F14GM 29/04/2016 by BAzzFreeman

This is probably the best portrait 85mm available right now. The resolving ower is designed far past what todays sensors are capable of which should give it a long useful life. It's a little expensive bu the cost of ownership should even out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

35