FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

RRP

£299.00

(incl. VAT)
26

4.2 based on 26 customer reviews

11
9
6
0
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazingly sharp lens.

SEL50F18F 12/03/2017 by GrafxArt

I purchased this lens a couple of weeks ago and the results from it are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice lens on a budget

SEL50F18F 31/12/2017 by Gobs

This is nice budget lens, sharp and light, but AF is terribly slow on A7 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

26 Customer Reviews

0

Great value sharp prime lens but slow focus

SEL50F18F 04/06/2019 by Benzas

I got this along with a new a7iii. It takes fantastically sharp bright photos with good bokeh, especially for the cost. My one negative is it's quite slow to focus and has to hunt a bit. I thought this was just a feature of the camera until I got a 24-70 too but that focuses instantly and silently. Still, great value and a good focal length day to day and nice and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18F 18/05/2019 by James001

Brilliant lens and fast

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Not actually a 50mm - 75mm? Very unclear.

SEL50F18F 13/05/2019 by Annon09

Sent this back because despite doing endless research and this lens being specially for crop sensor cameras such as the A6000 or A6300 - this is not a 50mm lens as advertised! It still crops into a 75mm. Not impressed! I assumed that if I bought a lens that was made for the crop sensor camera's, that the lens wouldn't crop in. Clearly that's not the case! Stupid system!

0

24

0

Excellent optics, slow AF!

SEL50F18F 11/05/2019 by snowy151

This must be about the cheapest "native" Sony-mount lens for full-frame, so I wasn't expecting Leica-quality. However the optics are excellent and the build-quality is a notch above most manufacturers' "nifty-fifty" lenses. The only real downside is the AF which is slow but it's accurate and not particularly noisy. For the price I don't think anyone could complain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality for lower price

SEL50F18F 02/05/2019 by Andre L

Best quality for Manual Focus setting, autofocus working too, but only in best light, for allday, autofocus must be off.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

average

SEL50F18F 28/04/2019 by manage

Purchased a couple of months ago. Optically it is okay, but focussing is slow and hit and miss.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

What do you want a title for? No title.

SEL50F18F 22/04/2019 by None again

I bought this lens as a portrait lens for my 6500 a job it does very well. Good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for the price!

SEL50F18F 19/04/2019 by Pedroteixeira

I bought this lens a couple months ago and i happy with it because I'm using it for product pictures with static scenes. The only complaint i have is the focus delay.. Its just to much to take picures like in a weeding or for people that need a rapid response on their photo. Despite this is a quite sharp lens and overall I'm happy with this 18F50. I'm using it with v3.0 firmware and in a Sony a7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good nifty fifty

SEL50F18F 03/04/2019 by GWhitehouse

Paired with the Sony A7iii I think this is really worth it for an affordable prime. Nice and sharp with good autofocus speeds despite some reviews I read

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Gets the job done

SEL50F18F 03/04/2019 by TK

Nice little lens, that's cheap and lightweight however the built quality is not so great.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic portrait lens

SEL50F18F 26/03/2019 by Rodnie

Very sharp and amazing bokeh! Definitely in. my kit bag for everyday use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Better than expected and great value for money

SEL50F18F 10/03/2019 by Stephen67

I bought this as a budget option for use indoors without a flash. The sharpness is good, though it does hunt slightly more than other lenses and is quite noisy. I don't do clogging or video work so the noise and slight delay in focus does not bother me but something to bear in mind for others. Some reviews I read delayed my decision to get this lens. I think they undersell how good this lens is for price point. I don't regret buying it. Decent bokeh as well

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SEL50F18F 27/02/2019 by Belomajo

Is so nice and amazing picture

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fine backup, use 75mm cropped on FFnA7III

SEL50F18F 06/02/2019 by vanRhine

As backup travel lens, also used for portraits while waiting for my G-Master 85mm F/1.4 Great results, lightweight, sharp.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic lens, even better at the price!

SEL50F18F 04/02/2019

As a professional photographer using a mixture of Canon and Sony equipment I was a bit sceptical of such a cheap lens, but I thought I had nothing to lose, and I have not being disappointed. Yes the auto focus could be quieter and quicker, but I've only been caught out a handful of times in 6 months, yes there is a bit of CA when a subject is heavily backlit but nothing that Lightroom cannot sort with a single click. I have this lens on the camera almost constantly when I'm out and about with the family, but also find it super light and easy to use when producing commercial video work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good value for money

SEL50F18F 28/10/2018 by The Photo Brewery

I bought this lens as a compact option when walking around and when I don’t need my bigger and heavier G Master lenses. The lens is small, light and has an excellent image quality. For me personally, the only real downside is focussing in low light which can be a bit slow. However, you have to consider the price and for that it is great and also comes with a lens hood which other brands like Canon do not manage to give you unless you buy the high end glass. I can wholehartedly recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best value for money lens

SEL50F18F 19/10/2018 by Tomatkins

Really happy great lens for a great price best starter lens for sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great price, great performance

SEL50F18F 03/10/2018 by I3R0k3N7FEET

Everyone needs a nifty fifty. fast, quiet focus, sharp, lightweight, lovely bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Ultra pin Sharpness at a great price.

SEL50F18F 25/09/2018 by CHRIS

Whatever lens is in you kit you should always have a prime lens for that super sharp result and this one fits the bill at a fantastic orice. Order now while its a good price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Slow and searchy wins the race. Oh it doesn`t

SEL50F18F 09/07/2018 by enSnare

I bought this a few months ago. And slow and searchy is the best way to describe it. When you compare it to the 28mm f2 it is applauding slow. When you compare its PRICE to the likes of Canon 50mm f1.8 you feel like Sony are laughing all the way to the bank. The update (which have been done and double checked) make no difference. Don`t bother with this lens get the 28mm and move closer or get cropping

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Customer support
11/07/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

You can get in contact with Sony support to get help with your lens using this link: https://bit.ly/2oUrHPV

Sony support team.

0

Lens

SEL50F18F 09/07/2018 by John the one

Great prime lens good bokeh .cheaper than Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens for the price

SEL50F18F 11/06/2018 by BoyDavey

Prime lens is great for the price only wish I could afford to buy more from Sony .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice lens on a budget

SEL50F18F 31/12/2017 by Gobs

This is nice budget lens, sharp and light, but AF is terribly slow on A7 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good standard lens

SEL50F18F 08/07/2017 by Humfan1943

A good lightweight general purpose lens at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Amazingly sharp lens.

SEL50F18F 12/03/2017 by GrafxArt

I purchased this lens a couple of weeks ago and the results from it are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice quality but a bit beyond my expectation

SEL50F18F 14/05/2016 by Jazz123

"Alright" product but the speed of focusing is slow and make quite loud noise.I'm not satisfied with its image quality. Acceptable prime lens with this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

34

55