E 50MM F1.8 OSS

Product Reviews

RRP

£289.00

(incl. VAT)
34

4.9 based on 34 customer reviews

30
3
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

34 Customer Reviews

0

Superb sharpness

SEL50F18 16/08/2019 by Mr Miyanji

I was long awaiting to buy this lens and boy is it one of the best. It’s sharpest at F2.8-F4.5 and wide open it’s also surprisingly sharp amazing lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18 18/05/2019 by James001

Brilliant lens and fast

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good nifty fifty

SEL50F18 03/04/2019 by GWhitehouse

Paired with the Sony A7iii I think this is really worth it for an affordable prime. Nice and sharp with good autofocus speeds despite some reviews I read

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Gets the job done

SEL50F18 03/04/2019 by TK

Nice little lens, that's cheap and lightweight however the built quality is not so great.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic portrait lens

SEL50F18 26/03/2019 by Rodnie

Very sharp and amazing bokeh! Definitely in. my kit bag for everyday use.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

SEL50F18 27/02/2019 by Belomajo

Is so nice and amazing picture

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

50mm FE 1.8/50

SEL50F18 08/12/2018 by Retski_77

Bought this with my Sony A7iii - great, lightweight lens - good low light performance and great for travel and street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Excellent

SEL50F18 05/10/2018 by Tanya Sony

I am happy about it ,I will recommend it to my friends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ultra pin Sharpness at a great price.

SEL50F18 25/09/2018 by CHRIS

Whatever lens is in you kit you should always have a prime lens for that super sharp result and this one fits the bill at a fantastic orice. Order now while its a good price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent as i imagine

SEL50F18 02/05/2018 by Ionut

Very satisfied of that lens, use it on my Sony Alpha 5000

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL50F18 29/12/2017 by Pkc23

Really excellent lens and performs very well on my A6000. Very fast focus as you would expect. Good value for money. Recommended

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Quick and bright.

SEL50F18 25/09/2017 by JimmyWhirlwind

Works really well as a prime lens. Great bokeh and quick to focus even in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp and good price

SEL50F18 30/05/2017 by Eddie2k2

I like this lens nice and sharp, price is reasonable, works perfectly with my a6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

beauty of a lens

SEL50F18 03/04/2017 by pugsly

i have not had it long but the photos i have taken were sharp and crisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

great lens

SEL50F18 20/02/2017 by pash47

excellent lens very good build and light weight and takes excellent crisp photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Quality images

SEL50F18 08/02/2017 by Davpand

Wanted a decent prime lens for a good price. Great image quality. Ideal for portrait work and low light. You cannot go wrong with this lens and a great addition to my a6000

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

E50mm F1.8

SEL50F18 09/01/2017 by Fergie7

I purchased the 50mm f1.8 as I wanted a fast prime lens that I can use for travel and portrait photography. I am please with the compact size of the Sony lens. The built in optical stabilisation system will aid when shooting in low light conditions. As I have on recently bought this lens I have only used it for some family portraits but was please with the sharpness and clarity of these.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Great Lens

SEL50F18 05/01/2017 by Phase9

This is a great prime lens for the price and it's fast at 1.8 so you can really make use of existing light and still get a reasonable ISO level. Perfect for portraits at 50mm (75mm equivalent) and really a lot of city scape shots if you can get away with not going wide.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Nice lens, great images.

SEL50F18 26/07/2016 by GilesM

I bought this recently, while it offers great images with bokeh produced by the wide range of f stops, the lens is noisy, (as in sound, not image noise) and uses the camera battery at an alarming rate. Something is working hard in the lense. Even with pre-focus turned off, it is still noisy and a real drain on the battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

17

0

good product

SEL50F18 17/06/2016 by lilian

nice performance! works well with Sony 5100.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

It is nice precise build

SEL50F18 07/02/2016 by Dzeky

I did try some portraits and it did go well, price is good for what You getting, it is way way better in low light than one came with my a6000, for this price point I Am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL50F18 06/01/2016 by Aidan123

Really sharp even when wide open. Solid metal construction, feels nice in the hand. Autofocus speed is fine. Leaps and bounds better than the kit lens on the a5000 camera.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great additional len

SEL50F18 18/08/2015 by Kevin

Perfect len for sony. Loving the look and ease of use. Superb for portrait, close up and low light situations.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

50mm

SEL50F18 07/07/2015 by Dr Do

Lovely bright lens great to work with in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

As a prime it does the job well.

SEL50F18 07/07/2015 by Seaton Carew

Bought this E50mm F1.8 oss fore my A7 so far had excellent results would highly recommend this lens if you are into prime's being an E-Mount fits the A7 perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Amazing!

SEL50F18 24/04/2015 by GreyFoxIndy

For me this is an essential les for all owners of an e mount compatible camera. Stunning clarity and stabilisation. You will also get amazing depth of field and the lens delivers silent focusing at all times. the best 50mm in terms of pricing and features. Very lovely in its construction and design, feels very sturdy and will last forever. The included lens hood is also a nice bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

1

0

Great Quality Lens

SEL50F18 18/02/2015 by pjhoughton1976

Good build Quality, Great picture Quality lens far superior than the kit lens, more expense than the canon or Nikon equivalent

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Love it, Value for money and then some

SEL50F18 15/02/2015 by Tikcus

Love it, by far my favourite lens. I am not a pro in anyway I own the Alpha 5000 (love this camera as well, so easy to use) I own the 16-50 Kit lens, and the 55-210 Zoom (as well as the 75-300 A mount lens with adapter), along with this fantastic Prime lens. As much as I enjoy taking photos with the 16-50, this has become my default lens for non zoom projects. I just love the separation easily achieved, I uploaded a quick shot to demonstrate that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Compac lens with stellar performance

SEL50F18 06/02/2015 by Jackie S

Bought this lens 2 months ago and have used it regularly, mostly indoors, it being in the winter period. Fitted to the Sony a6000 that it complements perfectly it has demonstrated excellent autofocus and outstanding optical performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

sharp results and so smooth mechanically

SEL50F18 04/02/2015 by Pete 394

I bought this lens only two weeks ago and so far have only taken few test shots, but the results are very encouraging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Very sharp, a bargain at the price.

SEL50F18 13/01/2015 by will77

I've tried this lens out before and liked it so much I bought it straight away (black version). It's lightweight, very sharp and the image quality is great. I've compared images taken on my A6000 and this lens next to images from a full frame camera with equivalent lens and I cannot tell the difference in image quality. Very impressed indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Perfect as expected

SEL50F18 28/10/2014 by Witchine

I bought the Prime lens E 50mm F1.8 OSS a month ago and it's my new toy! I am far from being a professional photographer but with this lens, hardly anything to do to have a perfect portrait. Love it! I think a prime lens gives this little touch that Zoom lens can't have... Even though, I believe my close friends may be a bit fed up of having an objective always so close to their face :D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Sharpest lens in the bag

SEL50F18 11/10/2014 by Tigg

I am an experienced enthusiast. I have progressed from film slrs thru' both Nikon and Canon sales. I recently changed to a Sony A6000 and bought the 50mm lens. It is a fantastic lens and is sooooo sharp. I tried a Sony A7r with a Zeiss 55mm f1.8 and really struggled even with major pixel peeking to see any difference. The lens is that good I carry it around all the time and it has never let me down. OSS is a great help in very low light I would not hesitate to recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent lens. Ideal first prime.

SEL50F18 15/09/2014 by sidneylopsides

I got the a6000 kit with 16-50 and 55-210 lenses. Naturally my next purchase would be a prime. This 50mm doesn't disappoint. It's very sharp, I love how much detail it picks up. The fast 1.8 aperture makes lower light photos easier, and the OSS even more so! It can throw the background out of focus with ease. It even seems very sharp wide open, and only takes a small drop in aperture to be excellent. Very little distortion, and any other issues are easily fixed in Lightroom to give very nice looking photos. Being 50mm on a crop sensor does mean it's a bit telephoto, so not great for indoors, so I think my next lens is the 35mm 1.8. It looks smart in black, feels solid, but not heavy. The hood is a bit plain, I like the look of petal hoods. The large front glass makes it look good! The only thing I've found a bit of a negative is that manual focussing is very slow. Much slower than the other lenses I have. Hopefully that an be changed in a firmware update. Overall it's a great lens for the money! I'd recommend it as the first prime for an e mount camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

2