RRP

£859.00

(incl. VAT)
31

4.8 based on 31 customer reviews

26
5
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31 Customer Reviews

0

Great lens!

SEL35F28Z 28/10/2019 by Jr Lins

Good lens! Sharp at f2.8. Fast autofocus and smooth autofocus transitions on video. Perfect for street photo.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and light

SEL35F28Z 01/08/2019 by Sucofni

Definitely my go to lens. You can keep all the big aperture lenses. I can be bothered taking my A7iii and this lens everywhere and anywhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing optics

SEL35F28Z 18/06/2019 by iiAARD

The sharpness is very good. Very quality optics, amazing flare handling thanks to the coating. Eagle-fast autofocus and very catchy contrast. 100% worth!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 03/06/2019 by RichC58

I am particularly fond of 35mm lenses, they just suit what I do. A 35 and 85 are pretty much all I need. This lens is really good, sharp all the way through, although I don't tend to use it below 5.6. Light weight, easy to carry. When I'm feeling lazy and I just want a light, fast, simple set up for street type use, this lens on my A7iii is all I need, or want! As to whether the peculiar lens hood supplied with the lens does any good is debatable. I use it because it came with the lens, it hasn't caused me any problems and at least provides an unobtrusive solution. Good lens, highly recommended for anyone into street work. Price, a little bit heavy, but...........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Somnath T FE 35mm F2.8ZA

SEL35F28Z 18/03/2019 by helendee1408

One of the first prime lens I purchased this so far I have been super impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL35F28Z 01/03/2019 by Guttersnapper

I bought this lens for street work mainly but it hardly leaves the camera as I like to use it for portraits as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good in parts

SEL35F28Z 16/02/2019 by Darkwright

A reasonable 35mm lens - but f2.8 is a little slow for a fixed focal length 35mm. Performance is reasonable but not outstanding. The external finish is fragile and scuffs easily. For the price this is slightly disappointing. I bought this for the compact size - which is the best feature of this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Must have for Sony FF mirrorless camera owners

SEL35F28Z 03/01/2019 by lawphotog

I bought this days after I got my A73. this is my first lens for this body apart from the kit lens. I now own a few other Sony lenses for different purpose but this lens always stay on the camera. Good for travel and street photography. I have done landscapes and portraits too. As Martin Parr said, if i need to live with one lens for the rest of my life, it would be 35mm. The optics quality of Zeiss glasses needless to say, it's outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Compact and very sharp

SEL35F28Z 20/10/2018 by Dylthedog

I bought into Sony full-frame for something smaller than DSLRs deliver, and if you did the same, this lens is a gem. It's very sharp wide-open, and while f2.8 isn't a huge max aperture, you'll love the size and build quality. When fitted on my A7R3, it makes it a neat, compact package that is easy to take out on a social event when you want the best quality. It also makes a perfect travel companion to the FE 24-105 G OSS for when you don't want the weight. The lens hood seems odd to start with, but it works very well indeed, and it's easy to remove to get the true pancake size. I'm a little disappointed it didn't come with a lens bag, but this is by no means a deal-breaker (just a bit mean IMHO). I've been amazed at the colour rendition and sharpness, and while you can't quite get the separation that f1.8 or 2.0 would deliver, the size more than makes up for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfection

SEL35F28Z 13/07/2018 by WattyG

The quality of this lens is exceptional. Crazy sharp, compact, light and looks great on the Sony A7ii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Small, light and sharp.

SEL35F28Z 30/05/2018 by New Wave

This lens brings the compact A9 alive making a discete light combo but with ecellent IQ and resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great prime lens very sharp

SEL35F28Z 18/04/2017 by Cast a giant shadow

I've had this lens only for 2 weeks but I was immediately impressed by the quality of images it produces - it's very satisfying to use. In addition, it is a small lens so, when mounted on my Sony A7r, it's no bigger than a lot of micro four thirds kit but with full frame and high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Always wanted this lens

SEL35F28Z 07/04/2017 by MarkyMark383

As I am sure many owners know,when I purchased my A7R 3 years ago, this and the 55mm were the initial 2 lens releases. I got the 55mm first and it was/is a fantastic gem of a lens.Was not really impressed with the 2.8 aperture on this 35mm and thought I would hold out for a f2 or 1.4. These have come out but are HUGE (especially the latter one of course). And I kept seeing plenty of happy reviews about this lens so after 3 years decided to bit the bullet. Should not have worried. It is a beautifully small lens that fits the ethos of the compact A7R perfectly. It focuses silently and quickly but does not always lock on as quickly as my other lenses (hence the missing star). Surprisingly sharp also, and bokeh is ok at 2.8. It is so light and small you can carry the A7R and lens in a not very large coat pocket!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great in low light

SEL35F28Z 06/04/2017 by MPount

Been using this lens a few weeks now, and attached to my A7Rii is super fast in AF, and superb in low light conditions in an auditorium where I can't use flash, this lens gives me pin sharp images that I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Product

SEL35F28Z 04/10/2016 by Sibs21

Fantastic quality lens, offering stunning picture quality. Great for travelling compared to the larger lenses often provided alongside. A little expensive so do shop around for the best possible price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

35mm Zeiss Sonnar 35mm

SEL35F28Z 18/08/2016

Really happy with the quality of this lens, although I'm disappointed because it the lens is not supported by my A7's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Really good, must have lens.

SEL35F28Z 25/07/2016 by keefiman

This is an older lens now but represents excellent VFM. Of course there are better wider portions around but the quality & size of this optic remain impressive. Whether in a A7 or Nex (52mm) it is small, light and delivers amazing results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Very sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 10/10/2015 by Dr Paddy

A great all round F2.8 lens for street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fantastic 1st lens

SEL35F28Z 24/09/2015 by Mack1

Bought this lens as first to go to lens - coming from a traditional video camera and being new to this type of camera for video I wanted to start with the basics. The 35mm prime allowed me to concentrate on the fundamental principles without being distracted. This lens is so small and light it was nice to use with the A7S, the autofocus when used was surprisingly quick and sharp. I can see me having this in my bag always.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

35mm 2,8 fe

SEL35F28Z 14/09/2015 by bob m

Small size and big on quallity. Does not seem to come with a lens hood but is recessed behind a lens cover.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very very sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 04/09/2015 by will77

Love this lens, small, light and very sharp. This was my first FE lens purchase to go with my A7S and I love what it can do. Sharp corner to corner even at wide apertures, colours come out true. I thought about the 35mm f1.4 but the weight, size and image quality of this one makes it a no brainer. Good for portraits, cityscapes and travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Wonderful sharp lightweight fantastic lens

SEL35F28Z 27/02/2015 by NevilleW

This is my favourite lens always on my A7. It's very light but high quality, sharp great colour and fast focus. Great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Small is beautiful

SEL35F28Z 05/02/2015 by Sydney2

On the A7R this is small, fits in my pocket. Sharp as a razor, beautiful natural colour. The lens copes so well with 36 MP.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sony 35mm f2.8 Full Frame Lens (SEL35F28Z)

SEL35F28Z 26/01/2015 by Yeti

I have always had a 35mm fixed focal length lens in my camera bag and soon after up-grading to the Sony Alpha 7, which came with the 28-70 "kit" zoom lens, I purchased the Sony/Zeiss 35mm. Having looked at various revues of the lens on-line the first thing that surprised me was how small and light the lens was, even with the supplied lens hood fitted. That fact was brilliant for me as I had moved from the big, bulky and heavy full frame Nikon system to the Sony Alpha system solely because of the big savings in size and weight the Alpha system offered. To date I have taken about 250 shots with the lens and can report that these all have excellent sharpness and resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA IS SHARP

SEL35F28Z 09/11/2014 by Martcycling

Very light sharp lens. Just what I wanted for fell walking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 07/10/2014 by Pedrin

Had this lens a few weeks now , on my A7s. As an all round general use lens it is fantastic. It is permanantley fixed to the camera , small size and light weight make it the perfect travel camera / lens combo. The images from this lens are pin sharp. Slightly expensive perhaps but well worth every penny , excellent results and great build quality does in fact deliver good value in my opinion. Could be slightly faster perhaps but that would increase size and weight, It is perfect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Lovely little lens.

SEL35F28Z 28/09/2014 by Kiku

Great lens, very sharp, very small. Won't let me use Steady Shot when mounted on my A7s. "Not available with this lens" message when trying to activate Steady Shot, which is puzzling since this is an OSS lens!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

love how small it is and easy to carry around.

SEL35F28Z 28/08/2014 by cosie

Used it for everything from landscapes to wedding by

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome!

SEL35F28Z 28/08/2014 by Malc2020

I bought this beautiful lens first to pair with my Sony Alpha 7 but followed it later with the Zeiss 24-70 zoom. So, I have two lenses so far to compare. Of these the 35mm is lovely and my favourite. It is light, easy to use, minimalist and very sharp. More than that though is the overall 'look' of the images. I don't regret my purchase. By the way, the 24-70 is great too, if a little heavy as an every day carry round lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great lens

SEL35F28Z 07/08/2014 by macca

I have been using this lens for a few months now, in the main for landscapes. The image quality is excellent , sharp and very clear. Some of the images have been printed at 450*650 with no loss of quality. Brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Quality Lens

SEL35F28Z 02/06/2014 by Countryman

This lens is capable of resolving maximum detail from Sony's full frame A7R camera. Sharp across the frame at most apertures, and with a F2.8 maximum aperture offers excellent out of focus detail when needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0