FE 28mm F2

Product Reviews

RRP

£429.00

(incl. VAT)
19

4.8 based on 19 customer reviews

15
4
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Great everyday prime Lens

Lens Only 27/01/2020 by Mike1881

Bought this Lens a month ago and I love it great depth of field and good everyday prime.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic little lens.

Lens Only 21/01/2020 by Aberdeenshire

I bought this in MArch 2018 and love its size and low weight along with excellent image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliantly Practical

Lens Only 12/12/2019 by Ashaz666

Very small and light so great for carrying around and outdoor work. The f2 is very useable and not as soft as some reviews suggest, though at the f20 and f22 end it does get a bit soft. Not so hot on starburst effects, I find. I will add a photo but once it's compressed as per the rules it's not really going to tell you anything.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great street lens

Lens Only 28/12/2018 by Bryank67

Small light fast aperture F2.0 fast focussing and sharp 28mm a little wider than what I would normally use but my 35 and 50mm are f1.4 big and heavy tiring to use all day this Sony is ideal very pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good wide angle lens

Lens Only 03/04/2018 by PCPhil

Bought in conjunction with the 21mm Ultra wide conversion and very happy. 28mm is one of my favorite focal lengths and this gives very pleasing results. The Ultra wide is a simple attachment for those specious scenes when required. Great price as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Surprisingly great lens.

Lens Only 29/12/2017 by Milos Brain

I bought this lens to have a reasonably fast(ish) wide angle prime rather than use my 2.8 zoom. I did not expect the resolution and general performance of the lens to be so very good. It is pin sharp, with nice contrast. It is very good value too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens for video and stills

Lens Only 30/11/2017 by wardenet

This is a great lens i brought it mainly for vlogging and needed something that would be good enough to focus and also give good depth of field, i do use it every now and again for stills.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony FE28mm f2.0 lens

Lens Only 22/02/2017 by Altrekkie

I bought this over a year ago to fit on my Sony A7m2

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

23

0

Cracking lens

Lens Only 14/02/2017 by Jacko Jackson

This is the first lens I bought for my A7ii and I am very, very pleased with them both. The lens is very quick to focus the images are very sharp. The wide F2 gives me great control over focus. I really love the 28mm focal length. What I particularly like is that it gives me the right size frame to use a landscape as a background for someone that is near to me or something that is happening near to me. There is plenty of space to capture a subject right in front of me but I still get plenty of background too. The above coupled with it being small and light means I can take it running in the hills to capture the action & the hills! Awesome value, high quality lens, takes cracking pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

35

3

0

LIGHT, SMALL AND SUPER SHARP

Lens + Ultra Wide Converter 01/08/2016 by chrisraph

SUPER SHARP, FAST - EXCELLENT great value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

1

0

FE28/2 - small light and able

Lens Only 06/04/2016

Bought a few months back, great little lens to keep in the bag

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Very Sharp

Lens Only 03/04/2016 by Notginvok

Very happy with this lens, good allround performer and nice sharp results even wide open.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Excellent lens

Lens Only 13/02/2016 by la46

Excellent additional lens to my Sony A7, great wide angle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good value for the price

Lens Only 16/01/2016 by hehenno

Crazy cheap compared to full-frame Sony lenses. First thing should know, is that the distortion is easily noticable, but this bother me at all. If Ineed to get rid of it, I just apply the lens profile correction in Lightroom, but I don't even do that very often. Great small size and the aperture is fairly wide.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great value lens

Lens Only 13/01/2016 by Russtafab

I initially had my doubts about this lens. Since purchasing my Sony a7Rii camera I have spent a considerable amount of money on E mount lenses which cost far more money that this FE28mm F2 lens. I love this lens and it really fits that specific niche for me. With the recent price drop of the Carl Zeiss Vario Tessar T* FE 24-70mm f/4 which is next on my list, I will still be using this 28mm lens a lot. I am not a professional but merely a keen photographer. What I really like with primes is that I have to "work hard' to get the shot and this often captures much better images for me. Also the Sony a7Rii is a really great Video camera. I work in Post Production and will be using this 28mm quite a bit for shooting video. Great lens, do not underestimate it, nor think less about it just because it is cheaper than most of the other E mount lenses. Really recommend this lens, always has a spot in my "kit bag"

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

0

0

28mm f2 full frame e mount

Lens Only 28/11/2015 by Seba84

Worth every penny, quick autofocus, crisp sharpness even wide open, you do not gonna be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great for street photography

Lens Only 27/11/2015 by Dr Paddy

I've been using this lens for the last couple of weeks and find it great for street photography. Though Raw files show a lot of edge distortion, Lightroom sorts it out very effectively. Once shut down to f8 or f11 it's very sharp throughout. Very good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Excellent Value and versatile lens

Lens Only 15/10/2015 by Jackie S

Just acquired this lens 10 days ago. Little usage but pleased with performance, handling and ergonomics.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

6

0

Beautifully crafted piece of kit.

Lens Only 11/09/2015

The quality of the images are outstanding and it meets all my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Such good value for money

Lens Only 22/06/2015 by Sydney2

I own the FE55 F1.8 the FE35 F2.8 and the FE28 F2 completes the trio Although the FE28 F2 is not a Carl Zeiss it has the image and build quality to match my two other primes. I now use these 3 lenses with the A7R to shoot weddings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0