FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

RRP

£2,269.00

(incl. VAT)
43

4.7 based on 43 customer reviews

34
8
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44 Customer Reviews

0

Beautifully built and very sharp

SEL2470GM 17/06/2019

It’s a heavy lens but the payoff is incredible sharpness throughout the whole focal length range. Paired with an A7R III, I am very happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL2470GM 11/06/2019 by Moods

I have only used this lens for a few weeks but already I can appreciate the quality. It really is a very good lens. The picture quality is pin sharp, it is smooth and easy to use with rapid focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

24 - 70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 31/05/2019 by Camera17

Own this lens now for two weeks super quality, fast focus great around lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality but zoom rubber grip gone lose

SEL2470GM 29/04/2019 by K Hussain

Its a Great lens for photo and video. Unfortunately the zoom rubber grip gone lose after 18 months i don’t have idea how and why

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Eyes Wide 0pen

SEL2470GM 24/03/2019 by Johho

Early days, but so far, sharp impressive results.Glad I went for the 2.8, good low light performance and control over depth of field. X

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An All Round Good and Useful Lens

SEL2470GM 26/02/2019 by Loopy Lou

This is the lens that I turn most of the time. It does not let me down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic but very heavy

SEL2470GM 19/02/2019 by iza123hop

It is very sharp and work perfect with Sony A7Rii. One minus is that the lens is very big to the body and to heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exceptional Quality

SEL2470GM 08/02/2019 by Toffeeman55

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and have been delighted with the results so far. The build quality is excellent, and the focus ring and focal length ring both have a very reassuring feel to them with just the right amount of resistance. Image quality is superb. This is an expensive lens but you get real quality for your money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best standard zoom out there

SEL2470GM 08/02/2019 by Ct1983

This lens is fantastic, it is by far the best standard zoom lens I’ve used. The sharpness is edge to edge and is great for eventing, landscapes portraiture etc. The only thing Which would improve this lens is adding more focus hold buttons like I have on the 70-200 2.8 for when shooting in portrait orientation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp from the centre to the edges

SEL2470GM 07/02/2019 by Sebwa

Sharp from the centre to the edges, working ok in +30C like -20C

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fanstastic lens

SEL2470GM 08/01/2019 by Johnwick

Apart from a bit heavy, this lens is amazingly sharp! Im happy with thw purchase, get youseld one now !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing piece of equipment, a must have lens!

SEL2470GM 23/12/2018 by operator46

I am incredibly happy with the product, its been with me every time I go out. Excellent lens, a must have piece for every street, landscape and travel photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

counrtyfile calendar competion

SEL2470GM 13/11/2018 by Black Bessie

I first brought the Sony A7R II. With the 70/200 F2.8 GM. Loved it so after a few months. I then went back and purchased Sony a9 . With 100/400 GM. And 24/70 F2.8GM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very slick

SEL2470GM 10/11/2018 by The Silverback

First use on a photo shoot and the lens performed flawlessly and was simple to use. Moving from a Leica M, I am very satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Well built, quiet and great images

SEL2470GM 29/10/2018 by Miiick

Easy to use with a feel of top-notch quality and sturdiness

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 23/10/2018 by Tonyh432

The first lens to go with my A7R3. Very impressive sharpness throughout the range. Clearly a very well built product and 24-70 being an extremely useful range. The only slight downside is the weight but thats more than made up for by the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL2470GM 17/10/2018 by Sue80

I bought this lens to go with my Sony a7ii and it’s absolutely fantastic! I photograph weddings, babies and pets professionally and the lens is fantastically versatile. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Workhorse lens

SEL2470GM 17/10/2018 by Smartjack

My standard lens for my A7r3, I have other lenses but this stays on the camera most of the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great leans!

SEL2470GM 03/10/2018 by Kgee

Am happy with this leans quality and performance on my Sony A7ii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very impressive

SEL2470GM 20/08/2018 by Arthur2Sheds

I've only had this lens for 2 weeks: purchased together with a Sony A7 III and an FE 100-400mm lens. Moving from a Nikon format the quality of the lens is very impressive: high quality glass providing very sharp images indeed. Overall the quality of Sony camera gear is remarkable: expensive yes but, quality over quantity any time. I wanted just 2 lenses and, although I also looked at the FE 16-35mm I opted for the 24-70mm which is now my 'go-to' lens of choice: I leave to on the camera most of the time. I will enjoy experimenting with the new camera and the supporting lenses over the coming months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fabulous lens

SEL2470GM 03/08/2018 by Dr Dog

Just switched to Sony any paired with A7iii. Lovely lens, simply great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

24-70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 01/02/2018 by Redrossi

Wanted an all rounder lens for weddings and portraits and heard so much about the Sony G Lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

High Quality Standard Zoom Lens

SEL2470GM 16/01/2018 by ipollen

This is a superb standard zoom lens giving excellent image quality at all focal lengths. The weakest focal length is 70mm where the extreme edges do fall below the other focal lengths.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great, but with room for improvement

SEL2470GM 02/01/2018 by LuisR

The F/2.8 max aperture is great for low light photography without having to do long exposures, and the 24-70mm focal length range makes it quite versatile. It's my only lens and I haven't felt the absolute need to get a lens with more zoom yet. It's a bit soft on the edges of the photo and has a lot of purple fringing, at least at wider apertures. The lens is larger and heavier than your average lens under 70mm which makes it impractical for traveling or street photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Great lens for every use

SEL2470GM 28/12/2017 by gugo_1990

It isn't a cheap lens, but it worth it. No comparison with the cheaper Zeiss 2470F4 but if you don't care about the dimension this lens is absolutely astonishing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Superb optics

SEL2470GM 12/12/2017 by Dead eye Dick

This is a first class professional quality lens. I hope I can do justice to it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

65

0

The Perfect do everything lens!

SEL2470GM 12/12/2017

Recently made the jump from Canon to Sony with the A7RII & A6500. Being used to the quality of the Canon glass i was expecting big things from the Sony 24-70mm F2.8 GM after all i had heard through the channels. I was not disapointed with this lens one bit! The quality of the images produced by this lens is second to none. Sharp from corner to corner at all ranges. Extremely quick AF & Eye AF works flawlessly. Build quality is exceptional and with excellent weather sealing. Mix into the equation the existance of the 70-200mm F2.8 GM (which i also own) i am able to basically capture anything and everything with 2x lenses which is a massive benefit when trying to keep kit to a minimum to conserve weight. The ability to replace 7x Prime lenses with 2x top class Zooms is becoming an incredibly enticeing prospect! A complete no brainer for anybody who is willing to invest in the best will be rewarded with top quality results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Worthwhile Upgrade

SEL2470GM 17/11/2017 by hmy7k

I purchased this lens a few weeks ago to go with my A7rii camera as an upgrade from the 24-70mm F4 lens. I wish I had purchased it earlier. Whilst it is noticeably bigger and heavier its worth it for the extra sharpness and lens performance. I also like the focus hold button on the side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lovely lens

SEL2470GM 14/11/2017 by CalvinD

Ive had lens about 2 weeks so very early to truly review. However I'm very pleased so far. I love the starburst effect possible with this lens and it's crispness/clarity. Only downside is it is heavy. It is a go-to lens so use it alot but would struggle if I only used a strap rather than a chest harness. However, it did replace the F4 and a Batis 80mm for travelling so is marginally lighter overall and takes less space in my backpack. Attached photo was an experiment of starburst, taken at f18.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

2nd best lens I won ;-)

SEL2470GM 13/11/2017 by Stephen_L

My primary lens is the Sony 2.8 70-200 GM and the 24-70 comes in as a very close second - both lens are fantastic and have taken my photography to another level - thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding quality

SEL2470GM 21/08/2017 by Chris7W

Purchased the SEL2470GM about 2 months ago and used it for the first time on a holiday to Tenerife combined with the Sony A9 it gives outstanding images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Beautiful design and performance.

SEL2470GM 29/07/2017

Optical, mechanical and electrical perfection all in one lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Lens

SEL2470GM 29/05/2017 by MicroPete

2nd one I have owned sold 1st when moved to another camera, now returned to Sony and love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

It's worth the money

SEL2470GM 16/05/2017 by Luccombe Lad

I'm a prime guy normally, but I got tired of missing shots because I had the wrong focal length lens mounted. This is a very sharp lens. I've not compared it to my Zeiss Loxia 21mm, which is very sharp. But from the images I have taken....I am very happy. At 24mm it is at its very best. For me it's an ideal keep on the camera most of the day lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Nice glass

SEL2470GM 30/04/2017 by Farfield

Mixed with the a7rii it's an unbeatable combination

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great lens worth every penny

SEL2470GM 08/03/2017 by Highdigi

I bought this a few weeks ago and so far very pleased with the images I have taken. Early days as yet but if the results keep coming as they have this lens is worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Exceptional Picture Quality

SEL2470GM 04/02/2017

I purchased this 2 weeks ago and the difference over my previous lens is stunning. If you can afford the high cost of the GM lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Wonderful

SEL2470GM 13/01/2017 by Romca

I`am very satisfied with this product. But price is not so low.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Main Lens

SEL2470GM 10/01/2017 by chriscamera

I bought this lens to fill the gap between the 16-35mm wide angle and the 70-200mm telephoto. I had envisaged that it would be permanently on my A7R2, and this has proved correct, as it is an ideal focal length for general use. The f2.8 allows use in darker shots as well as adding an excellent bokeh when required. The photos taken with it live up to the good reviews from various sites, with sharp images throughout the frame, with no noticeable fall off on the edges or corners. With a narrow UV filter attached I have not experienced any vignette. Auto focus is excellent and fast. Manual handling of the lens adjustment rings is firm without being difficult. I like the lock which stops lens creep. If I have a criticism it is the weight, I changed to Sony full frame from Canon to cut down on the pack weight I seem to have to carry with me, particularly when flying. This lens is heavy and big, but it performs well and is well made and constructed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

Excellent lens great picture and very sharp

SEL2470GM 13/10/2016 by BOY GED

Excellent lens i keep it on my camera all the time good for landscapes and portraits quick focus and very sharp images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Increasing number of high quality lenses

SEL2470GM 01/09/2016 by GPS7

Excellent much needed pro spec 24-70mm lens for the Sony E system. Look forward to more high quality lenses from Sony in the future. Especially a long telephoto and a 16-35mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Super sharp

SEL2470GM 05/08/2016

I bought the FE 24-70 f2.8 GM about 2 months ago and have not been disappointed. Super fast focusing om my A7RII and so very sharp. It is heavy though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

2

0

Outstanding

SEL2470GM 21/06/2016 by keefiman

Being in transition from Nikon to Sony; I was hoping to use the Commlite adaptor on my 24-70E f2.8 VR as it is an amazing lens. However, the adaptor proved next to useless, particularly as the recent upgrade excluded E lines!! So my 24-70 was sold as soon as I could obtain the GM. It is as good as and even better in certain ways. Where as the E had a 'thin' Leica style rendering; the GM has more contrast and depth, i.e.3D. It has a solid build, and does add considerable weight to the A7. Not as large or heavy as the Nikkon E. I don't use the AF freeze button as I back button focus, which makes a lot of the AF modes redundant. If your budget can stretch a bit this lens will cover a large chunk of your needs, with pleasure and style!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

49

0

0

24/70 f2.8 first class,fast focus ,

SEL2470GM 26/04/2016 by Kentweddingpix

As wedding photographers image quality is paramount and this lenses delivers, sharp images with smooth full off at f2.8, fast focus on our a7r ll's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37

30