RRP

£1,800.00

(incl. VAT)
25

4.9 based on 25 customer reviews

22
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25 Customer Reviews

0

An excellent super telephoto lens

SEL200600G 23/09/2020 by BruceNE

I bought this lens mainly for photograhing wildlife. As yet, I've not had an opportunity to test it thoroughly. But I was delighted with its performance recently at Washington Wetland Centre, taking handhold pictures of waders.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens but:-

SEL200600G 09/08/2020 by Swanie

Purchased about 6 weeks ago heavier than anticipated quick n sharp My main issue is the location of focus lock buttons they are positioned exactly wear hand goes for hand holding not great kept accidentally pressing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony support
12/08/2020

Hi Swanie,

Thank you for your review.
We're happy that you're enjoying the sharpness of the lens.
We're make sure to deliver your feedback about the zoom button through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support team

0

Precise focussing, excellent images

SEL200600G 14/07/2020 by PMCD3

Have had for only a week but absolutely love my new lens, super quiet and quick to focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Love it but!

SEL200600G 03/07/2020 by SteveIOM

Very happy with the lens which I twinned with a new A7iii. Photos sharp, verry happy. Others have seen it and also considering change to Sony. Only disappointment is the fit of the lens hood. It keeps falling off. Have resorted to carrying gaffer tape to secure. Hence only four stars. It would also help to include more detailed instructions to include birds in flight tips etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Customer support
09/07/2020

Hi SteveIOM

Thank you for your review.

We're glad you like your experience with the lens and have passed your valuable feedback about the lens hood thread design through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support team

0

N.A

SEL200600G 30/06/2020 by DRHA

Bought last week, have not had time to try in the field but seems to be good quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Magnificent lens

SEL200600G 14/06/2020 by Stac

This lens is a masterpiece, such a sharp lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

SEL200600G 12/06/2020 by Dave2020

This is an excellent lens and I found that after an hour or two practising I was taking really good images with it. I enjoy wildlife photography and this lens will help me do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I need for wildlife photography

SEL200600G 10/06/2020 by Philbute

Still getting used to it, so far I'm delighted. It pairs superbly with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Meets my expectations

SEL200600G 09/06/2020 by Rob 38

Only limited use in my garden because of lockdown but satisfied with pictures taken

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smoothly sharp

SEL200600G 31/05/2020

I wanted a big lens. Got a big lens. Job done. Not buying for professional use, the cost of the lens was on the edge of affordability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lens, but with a problem

SEL200600G 10/05/2020 by thegreyfox

I bought this product about six months ago and was extremely impressed with all aspects. I particularly like the programmable buttons on the lens, which I used for the DMF function for fine tuning focus. However, over the last two weeks the lens has developed a fault, in that it will not focus at maximum ( probably between 550-600mm) zoom, and you have to reduce the zoom in order to focus, which defeats some of the lens purpose!. The camera makes a whirring sound, which suggests the focus motors are at fault. Because of Covid, I have not taken things further as yet, but am extremely dissappointed that my "go to" lens" requires some fudging before you can use it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Customer support
14/05/2020

Hi thegreyfox

Thank you for your review.

We would like to offer our help getting the focus issue you are facing with your lens resolved. You can contact us using the following link: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Great wildlife lens.

SEL200600G 30/04/2020 by Fatbobby1226

A sharp well made native lens from Sony. I really like that the zoom is internal which improves the weather sealing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent quality and good price.

SEL200600G 28/04/2020 by Seekyman

Excellent quality, light weight, internal focusing. Just what you need for bird, aircraft and nature photography. A very good addition to my lens collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp

SEL200600G 17/04/2020 by button

Heavy to hold but the sharpness at full zoom is outstanding. Works much better on my a7riii than my a6300 which struggles with focusing with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome telephoto lens

SEL200600G 13/04/2020

I'm an amateur photographer and needed a lens with more zoom than my current 200mm lens. I spent a good few months watching reviews on youtube and finally decided to go for it. I've taken some great photos or birds and the moon with amazing detail and clarity. I have been using this lens hand held. It's quite heavy so takes some getting used to but it's worth it. Remember to set the camera to a fast shutter speed when hand held! I'm super happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very Good

SEL200600G 02/04/2020 by P_C_L

I've had the lens a month now, and used in conjunction with my A7R IV, I'm really pleased with it. Very quick focus, very accurate focus, very sharp, very low distortion. Excellent lens for the money, thoroughly recommend ☺♥

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Still exploiting its capabilities

SEL200600G 27/02/2020 by subs57

This is my 1st large lens, and I am still getting used to handing this physically large item, and while the hand held shots are good, they can be a lot better. I will improve with experience of course, but my opinion is that to get the maximum results out of this lens, a sturdy tripod and mount is required to fully exploit its capabilities. (Hence 4 *)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing performance telephoto

SEL200600G 27/02/2020 by Engineria

Acquired this last month, and the performance is great, the lens is very compact for 600mm and measures less than 330mm with the lens caps on, so fits in my lowepro flipside 200 bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent build quality

SEL200600G 25/02/2020 by Johnwildlife

I bought this lens because I heard that it was good build quality and excellent for wildlife photography. I have changed my whole system to Sony after being a Nikon photographer for 35 years. I believe you are more advanced in you Mirrorless system and the sharpness of your lenses is excellent. I am waiting for the 600mm to arrive in the next week or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

sony 200-600mm

SEL200600G 06/02/2020 by Wingnut photos

Great lens Sony! Portable and light weight for size! Zoom action superb!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent fast focusing lens

SEL200600G 18/01/2020 by Jumbo 57

Great coverage for nature and sports photography. Internal focusing is great to have. Works brilliantly with my Sony a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect sports lens

SEL200600G 17/01/2020 by Sharpysurf

I shoot surfing for a living so when Sony announced this I ordered one straight away. I loved the 100-400 but for surfing this lens is hard to beat. The non-extending design is a real help as I often shoot in terrible weather. AF is incredible and for stills and video this is my go to action lens. It’s also good for lifestyle, assuming you can shout directions at your subjects. Super impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 24/12/2019

If you need 600mm and can't justify the prime, this lens is excellent. Importantly, it's very strong at the long end between 400-600mm, with excellent sharpness at f6.3 and superb sharpness when stopped down to f8. The internal zoom is a nice feature of the 200-600; the lens doesn't extend. Build quality feels just okay, with the general body not feeling particularly solid, but for a G series lens rather than GM this is fine by me. The zoom and focus rings feel great; smooth and no significant play. I own a 600mm f4 from another manufacturer and the sharpness of this 200-600 zoom at 600mm is amazingly close given that it's not really intended to be in the same 'class'. Overall, I'm very happy with it (I primarily use it for birding and moonscapes).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb lens.Exceeds all expectations.

SEL200600G 23/10/2019 by eddiejpeg

Exceeds all expectations.I have been using the lens with the latest Sony A7RIV and the resulting are simply stunning.The photos that i have included are all very highly cropped j pegs fine.The details are simply remarkeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Impressive lens

SEL200600G 22/09/2019 by santa claus

Haven't used seriously yet but my initial test are very encouraging. Focussing is so much quicker than my previous lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

7