13

4.8 based on 13 customer reviews

11
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13 Customer Reviews

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06/07/2018 by BikeVisionScotland

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17/06/2018 by Humfan1943

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15/06/2018 by Maaggiem

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01/05/2018

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sports and wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 20/04/2018 by Chutch

I bought this lens together with the 2x extender for most of my nature and distance work as it is an ideal combination ie a 200-800mm lens. I am well pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceeds expectations

SEL100400GM 09/04/2018 by G1ITV

Tremendous capability for hand held use in Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic IQ

SEL100400GM 08/04/2018 by Viramati

I bought this lens mostly for landscape use and I have to say that the IQ that it delivers even at wide open apertures across the frame is simply stunning. Focus is very fast and silent and is still good in low light on the A7rIII. Build quality would appear to be excellent and all the controls are well placed. It is not a small or light lens but that is to be expected. My only serious issue with it is that they have not included a zoom lock as my 70-300 G lens had and this means that even when set to the 'tight' position front of the lens can extend if it is hung at your side and you are walking about. There are work arounds to solve this but I would have thought that on a GM lens they would have thought of this. Apart from this it is indeed worthy of the GM rating and though expensive (as all Sony lenses are) I am happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Buy

SEL100400GM 06/02/2018 by WeeMalky

Hard to believe that this is a 100-400mm lens the weight is great after having had other manufacturers.Using it on a A7mk2 not the fastest but at the moment suits my needs.If you have the A9 I envy you because this would be stellar if you can afford it go for it you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great quality Lens and perfect weight.

SEL100400GM 06/01/2018 by Topper1

At last a 400mm lens I can use with my Sony Alpha 6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 11/12/2017 by Barbara_L

Owned the lens for about a month and have done quite a bit of hand held bird life and surfing photos. I am delighted with the quality at all focal lengths. Only negatives are the price, which is the most I have ever spent on a lens, and the weight, but I guess without that the quality of construction wouldn't be possible. Am yet to try it on the tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Very Versatile Lens

SEL100400GM 18/11/2017 by QDF1

I bought this lens to do some wildlife and sports photography. It is a very versatile range for a lens. Not too heavy to carry around. I am using it on an A7R2. It seems very sharp at the shorter focal lengths but the results have been disappointing at times at 400m with too many shots out of focus even for static. birds. It may be that the A7R2 cannot focus well at that end, so I need to find a way of testing it properly on a tripod.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09/09/2017 by MicroPete

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice zoom

SEL100400GM 29/07/2017

I am in the process of changing from Canon cameras to Sony, so I traded in my Canon version for the Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1