RRP

£350.00

(incl. VAT)
38

4.5 based on 38 customer reviews

25
9
3
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

38 Customer Reviews

0

Super UBD STUNNING

UBP-X800M2 29/09/2020 by Musicman100

What A Machine excellent video and super hi Def audio best buy e er.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Big disappointment.

UBP-X800M2 09/08/2020 by Terry61

Ridiculously short on apps, now stopped working after less than 6 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

6

Response From Customer support
12/08/2020

Hi Terry61

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to hear you're facing issues with your player and would like to invite you to get in touch with our team using the following link for help getting it fixed: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Excellent Picture and Sound Output.

UBP-X800M2 09/07/2020 by Daddy Cool

A great 4K player with excellent picture and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Easy operation

UBP-X800M2 20/05/2020 by Johnnie38

I have just bought this product. Found set up easy and operation very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Great new quality product

UBP-X800M2 30/04/2020 by Ropes

Too early to comment. However first impressions great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Almost Perfect

UBP-X800M2 19/04/2020 by MattyT

Had this almost 6 months now and no problems (touch wood)! To sum it up in three words, slow, slick and silent. For 4K discs I have to say its a little sluggish for load times - but only 4K discs (which I guess you could argue is the main point of having it) Obviously there is a huge amount more data on a 4K UHD disc compared to a Blu Ray disc, but pop a Blu Ray inside and it's rapid. Scene selections are instant. Upscaling fantastic too. I'm not going to review picture quality (although mine is simply outstanding) as it will depend on what television you have. I cannot get over how silent this machine is - I don't think I've ever heard it. Audio features are excellent, I also use mine for CD's. Interface is a little bog-standard, but simple and concise. The unit had a great weight and size - and even sits under my bravia - not in the telly stand. It looks so slick too, remote simple. All in all, I wish it was a little nippier for 4K discs loading times and to turn off can take a while, but this isn't enough to knock it down a star. 5/5!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 01/04/2020 by Walshy66

I have just starter to use the Blu Ray player so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Amazing

UBP-X800M2 31/03/2020 by AlanHinckley

Had this a little while now and still getting to grips with everything it can do, however, so far so amazingly good. Firstly the picture quality of my (mostly old) DVDs has suddenly renewed my pleasure at seeing my favourite DVDs like they were Blu-rays. This in itself is a huge bonus, one that makes the cost of this player worthwhile and yet on top of that, the even better picture quality of my Blu-rays (and the sound is far better too) blows me away. AND I have not yet mentioned 4K - all I will say is that until you see it you won't believe the difference. OK so I have a new Sony 4K TV so it was 'necessary' for the player upgrade, but in all honesty I was not expecting such a huge quality increase. Wow! At this time of needing to self isolate my wife and I are watching a lot more television so I am patting myself on the back for getting the new tv and player at just the right time. In all honesty, I do believe I am enjoying my favourite films more now than ever before. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Excellent

UBP-X800M2 07/01/2020 by Scrogs

This is a quality player, much better than my previous model. Pictures are fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great Features

UBP-X800M2 18/12/2019 by Tony190

We owned an older Sony DVD player and this new one is a welcome upgrade with a lot of additional features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Great player, very happy!

UBP-X800M2 28/11/2019 by Qui Gonn Jim

I haven’t actually upgraded to any 4K discs, but wanted the flexibility. This is a top player though, wringing every last pixel of detail out of whatever it plays. The sound is even more impressive, with all sorts of source materials. I’d recommend this machine - the only thing I’m missing is my 4K disc of Bohemian Rhapsody, that I was supposed to be able to claim having bought the player, made the mistake of registering it to my Sony account first and now don’t appear to be able to claim for the disc?! Apart from that though, top machine!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Good machine

UBP-X800M2 19/11/2019 by Alanxxxxxxxxxxx

I bought this to replace my Denon 3133 Universal disc transport that had failed. The picture quality is better than the Denon. The sound when playing CD's is good and the built in music player plays my music collection in Flac format very well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Only one Flaw

UBP-X800M2 16/11/2019 by Jomi18

Purchased 2 weeks ago Great performance, picture and sound ONLY flaw is around "Descriptive audio" I is permanently on with Dolby 5.1 which is what I have so I need to switch to 7.1 to get rid of it but I do not have Atmos speakers so will lose some information

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hi Jomi,

We appreciate your feedback. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2PAqdrD.

Sony Support Team

0

Excellent replacement 4K Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 14/11/2019 by epicDT

My previous Samsung disc spinner was not too old but already starting to misbehave. Saw the reviews for the original version so decided to upgrade to the UBPX800M2. Very solidly built, super quite operation and lovely minimalist layout and design. Simple to use and rock solid picture and sound. Very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend. What more can I say; Thank you Sony !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good but could be better

UBP-X800M2 10/11/2019 by Wakey Lad

Picture and sound very very good. Build quality seems fine. Minus points as others have noted are Dolby Vision not being auto detected, (not a problem for me until we upgrade the tv) and lack of atmos support playing mkvs from usb or network, which is annoying.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Sleek & slim!

UBP-X800M2 04/11/2019 by BB2020

A lovely compact unit which does everything I want with great picture quality - no complaints!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great disc spinner.

UBP-X800M2 31/10/2019 by Tebbo

Bought a month or so ago and extremely happy with the build and disc playback quality which is all I bought it for. Cannot fault picture and sound quality of 4K and standard bluray discs and that's coming from an Oppo 203 owner. Only given four stars as one or two areas that could be improved. 1) Ability to auto detect and switch between HDR and Dolby Vision. 2) Atmos/DTS X pass-through not available on files played via attached HDD's.This is not a major issue for me as I have a separate player used for files which does this. 3) The flappy cover over the USB slot is cheap and nasty compared to the rest of the machine. A USB slot on the rear would be good. 4) I don't use the apps but the availability could be more for those who intend to use them. Despite the minor improvement points if you are looking for solid build quality and disc play back this unit is highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

great picture

UBP-X800M2 20/10/2019 by Chuck cant help that

happy with everything about this product, will buy sony products again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Seems to be a good machine out of the box.

UBP-X800M2 29/09/2019

I have only owned this just over a week. I only own two 4k movies. But it is only as good as your tv. I wish you could tell when it is on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

cracking machine

UBP-X800M2 28/09/2019 by DH Sea Vixen

got given end game on 4k and did not have a 4K player so went for the UBP-X800M2 as this now has doldy vison

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Pics and sound is great

UBP-X800M2 26/09/2019 by MobyDick1

Richer Sounds are very helpful and the product is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Features that are advertised don’t work

UBP-X800M2 24/09/2019 by Johnnybeatles

I bought this because it said it played SACD it does not.I thought it was faulty so took it back to the shop.In the manual and online it said it plays SACD. I now have my money back.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

A1 picture

UBP-X800M2 23/09/2019 by AngloBM

No isuues as yet Bought to replace 2 year old UBP X800 that failed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent Picture Quality and Excellent Sound

UBP-X800M2 19/09/2019 by Thomas 3366

I am delighted that I Bought This Blu Ray Player ok

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic player

UBP-X800M2 16/09/2019 by Cpp67

Really great player. Only thing to improve wpuld be to bring back a digital display on front of player and to make it multi region for dvds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features,but big price

UBP-X800M2 10/09/2019 by Lavonas1

I buy about 2 weeks ago,his look same like UBP-X800(I have too),same remote control(I dont like this remote,dont have a light because what I am using player in night time)only diferent interface when you using menu...If you dont have good home cinema speakers dont buy this model,because what UBP-X800 same only price about 100 pound cheaper

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Faster that the previous X800

UBP-X800M2 08/09/2019 by New800MUser

I bought this as an upgrade to my previous UBP-X800 and find the performance is a lot faster. The image quality is as brilliant as before, and the system a lot easier to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Beautiful Machine

UBP-X800M2 01/09/2019 by TeleAddict

There is so much to tell you about this player. The first thing you notice about the player is its weight. It is a proper heavy player at 3kg that’s a whopping 8lbs. The players weight may be explained by the premium chassis it uses to reduce micro vibrations. It is a full size machine and it’s width fills the shelf it’s resting on. It is however much slimmer than my old machine. One slight annoyance I find with the fixed cable and moulded UK plug. As I am using an oak tv cabinet the plug would not go through the port in the back of the unit. I would have preferred a detachable lead. That aside, Sony has done a great job of mixing materials that give the player a High end feel and appearance. I particularly like its sharp corners and rectangular shape that will integrate well with the most expensive audiophile systems and the plastics used have a metallic feel. Setup is quick and easy and mine has the latest firmware installed. I chose WI-FI connectivity over LAN and the player supports 2.4 & 5GHz. I couldn’t get WPS to work and lost patience with it.Probably finger trouble but I couldn’t get it to accept my password first go either and it connected to the adjacent router at 2.4GHZ by default when it did? The Sony boasts a myriad of hi res sound and picture specifications (not photo cd’s) in its resume. There is a dedicated HDMI sound port and with the latest Bluetooth connectivity (LDAC) works well with Bluetooth headphones. I opted for a Bluetooth speaker to pair it, this had no lip sync issues although it can be tweaked in the settings if necessary. I then tried a 5:1 sound bar via HDMI. Sound quality is excellent for both music and movies and could only be bettered had I got an Atmos setup (this is on my Christmas list). On the subject of ports aside from HDMI the only other connectivity is Coax SPDIF (for none HDMI amplifiers) with very little by way of instruction for the latter contained in the operating manual? The specifications too are a little vague. I eventually found the HDMI port is 2.0a for HDR and supports BT.2020 colour palette. The front cover hides the one and only USB port and Is horrible. I do not like this design; make proper hinges Sony! Spinning a 4k disc takes around 10 seconds to load but unlike my old player operation is totally silent perhaps due to the metal chassis. In fact the Sony is so quiet had it not been for the tiny led in the corner of the box one might be forgiven for thinking it had stopped working when not in playback mode? The remote is simplistic and matches the shape of the player with its straight lines and square angles. I particularly like the fact in can be just used! It is intuitive unlike my complex old player where I have to study every function. It has a Netflix button. Netflix is one of a very limited number of preinstalled apps on the very minimalist menu. There is also a programmable function via a heart button and the tv can be operated by the remote. My tv turns on and off when controlled by the player despite not being a Sony tv. On the subject of apps I have a number of movies stored on Sony Pictures servers, wouldn’t it be great to see a native app to play them back? Dolby Vision is breathtakingly good, although the function is not turned on by default and I think it stays on and has to be toggled off? Deep blacks and vibrant colours are eminent with no signs of artifacts, colour bleed and smooth motion without the dreaded soap opera effect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Sony 4K x800m2

UBP-X800M2 30/08/2019 by Andyskywaker

So far so good. Good build quality, excellent picture and great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Rip Off

UBP-X800M2 28/08/2019 by JohnD25

The Sony UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player is a good well engineered piece of kit. It is silent in operation and has played all types of discs that I own ranging form DVD's, Blu ray, 4K Blu ray, 3D Blu ray, CD's and SACD. I have some DVD audio discs but have not yet tried these. I would certainly recommend buying this player. On first switch on of the device and connecting to the Internet, it automatically updates its firmware. Once connected to your network, you can then, should you wish, stream other devices through it (I do not as I stream other devices through an AV receiver). The picture is as good as I have seen from a player. So why only three stars and a rip off. The player was advertised on Amazon sold by a third party company - TPS - and shows an accompanying 4K DVD, Bohemian Rhapsody. However it is only on receiving the player that you find you have to log into to Sony for the DVD to be sent to you. There are some terms and conditions, none of which are shown on the Amazon site and you can only see them by logging into the Sony site given on the leaflet in the player packaging. On sending away for the DVD I was returned an email from Sony stating "Thank you for sending us documents with regards to your purchase. After validation we have noticed that you have purchased from 3rd party dealer on Amazon. Based on this information your participation is unfortunately no longer valid. " This despite TPS being listed in their website where you request the DVD be sent. Whilst I did not specifically buy the player for the DVD, it certainly leaves a sour taste to the purchase which is a shame because as I stated earlier in the review, the player is a good piece of kit. So whilst I can recommend the player, be aware you might not get the accompanying DVD depending on where you purchase it. This does seem somewhat penny pinching on Sony's part, bearing in mind this is DVD costing £25 if bought separately on a DVD player costing £350.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

17

0

Don't bother claiming the free blu-ray dvd.

UBP-X800M2 26/08/2019 by Anne5

I bought this product last week the build of the product is very good indeed with excellent features and easy to setup, in with the product was a offer to claim a free blu-ray movie disc i followed the instructions to claim the disc, example photos of the sales invoice and also photo of the serial number. After a few days i received a email from sony stating that i was not allowed to claim the free disc as i had purchased the brand new sony player from a third party dealer so i think the offer is misleading and a total waste of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

This is an excellent product

UBP-X800M2 23/08/2019 by Bristone

Robust chassis fantastic picture and sound with Dolby vision. Personally going to the setting to start a Dolby vision disk isn't an issue for me. The player does respond to all needs, including 3D , but then like others you stop making 3D 4k televisions for those of us who bought 3D movies in addition to 4k bluays with Dolby vision. Then, people like us are going to think twice about buying a new television . This, the X800M2, is without doubt a really top drawer player. Now let us have inclusion of 3D again on your latest TVs, so we can use it to the full.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Well engineered and high specification

UBP-X800M2 15/08/2019 by Andysmokey1

The item arrived in sturdy packaging. I would have preferred that the internal packaging was recyclable. The item was easily set-up with good documentation clear instructions. I was pleased that the unit could be connected to my network and the ability to do it wirelessly was a real bonus. The ability to connect to YouTube, Netflix and Amazon Prime is a useful addition. The menus are easy to navigate and the remote worked well. DVDs and Blue Rays played on the unit and the image and sound quality are very high. This unit is well engineered and good value considering the high specification.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

A Great machine

UBP-X800M2 13/08/2019 by Thornton 1

I have been using the Sony UBP-X800M2 for a few days, I am very happy with my purchase of this machine. After switching on the Machine I was presented with a clean and simple start menu screen including the only three apps on there for Netflix ,Amazon Prime and You Tube. The menu was easy to navigate and the machine was set up and running quite quickly using the remote control which for me was the right size and the controls was easy to use. Dolby Vision is on this machine this helps to deliver sharp and stunning pictures in vibrant colours with amazing details when using the 4k discs and with 4k media on the You-Tube channel. There is an option for Blu ray 3D as of now i have not been able to try. I love Dolby Atmos so i connected the machine to my sound bar to utilse this function, the sound was powerful, crystal clear with a rich deep bass which was delivered using the digital sound enhancement machine. The machine is great in design with just a little green light to show it is on and is quiet running.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Fantastic 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player!

UBP-X800M2 04/08/2019 by Dswag

I bought the Sony UBP-X800 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player after doing some research and reading some rave reviews. I also looked at a few other players before I decided on ordering it from Amazon. Compared to some other players the Sony is built like a tank! The build quality is fantastic, it feels strong, solid with some weight about it and feels like it’s going to last a long time! I tested it with my Samsung UE55JU6500K and watched The Martian extended edition 4K Ultra HD and was not disappointed! The Sony operates quickly and silently and the picture quality is fantastically detailed and crisp! It’s jaw-dropping in fact! For £279 it represents fantastic value for money! The build quality is amazing and the picture quality, sound, smooth & silent operation will not disappoint you!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great player but lacks functionality

UBP-X800M2 15/07/2019 by AfonsoS

I bought the player last month and I’m quite happy with the result. However, it lacks the ability to add Apps and the setup menus are. It friendly at all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

17

0

Great 4K Blu Ray!

UBP-X800M2 21/06/2019 by anfield ace

Very happy with purchase! A great 4K Blu Ray Player, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Great picture and sound

UBP-X800M2 07/06/2019 by Mr Wonderpants

Replacement for a previous Sony blu-ray (now doing service elsewhere). Excellent quality. Just need a 4k TV to do it justice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

3