BLU-RAY DISC™ PLAYER

Product Reviews

RRP

£90.00

(incl. VAT)
312

4.3 based on 312 customer reviews

167
110
16
5
14
Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

312 Customer Reviews

0

Faltan codecs

BDP-S1700 11/10/2021 by Luisdescalzo

En el software faltan codecs o actualizar los que hay, hay veces que no reproduce algunos formatos mkv. Por lo demás pefecto

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Sehr guter DVD-Recorder

BDP-S1700 13/09/2021 by carlo f

Ersatz für einen 16 Jahre alter Recorder. Gerät spielt alle Formate und ist super.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

1

0

waar voor het geld

BDP-S1700 26/08/2021 by theo verfuurden

klein apparaatje voor een leuke prijs en prima kwaliteit

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Ottimo per funzionalità

BDP-S1700 23/08/2021 by eris1954

Acquistato 17 mesi fa, ho potuto aprezzare tutta la bontà del prodotto

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Merci SONY .!!!!

BDP-S1700 04/08/2021 by Pascaloc

C’est du SONY.!! Tout simplement.!! Bravo.!! Continuez.!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Top Blu-Ray speler en mooi compact!

BDP-S1700 31/07/2021 by Familie van Prooijen

Wij hebben deze speler nu 2 jaar in gebruik en het werkt fantastisch! Een prachtig beeld, goede integratie met de Sony TV en een snelle (bekabelde) internetverbinding! Ook is deze speler geschikt om opnames vanaf een USB-poort in het frontpaneel af te spelen en is het installeren en instellen zeer gebruiksvriendelijk, top Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Blu-ray player

BDP-S1700 12/07/2021 by Nick K

this is an ideal Blu-ray player to use in our spare room, easy to use at a decent price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
15/07/2021

Hi Nick,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your player and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Good basic BluRay disc player

BDP-S1700 27/06/2021 by PeteBill

Bought this to view my photos and home videos recorded on cd’s and DVD’s. It works fine with these and is fairly easy to operate. It plays BluRay discs well and the picture quality is good. The installed apps are limited and I found that it isn’t possible to add new apps of my own. If you want a good basic player then this is a good bet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

so many issues

BDP-S1700 14/06/2021 by Speedy Gone Zar liss

I was disappointed from the first day it arrived, I found out this unit was far cheaper than when I first selected this unit, 2nd it did not label as all but DVD2, BD-B, ok it plays all my DVD's fine with a bit of tinkering I can get full screen image even the ones that need a bit more adjustment, but the Blue Ray Disc's hell no adjustments on Aspect ratio of 2.35:1, how much of the screen is blacked in? The Aspect ratio of 1.85:1 is fantastic on Blue Ray Disc's, I have made multiple attempts to get full screen on the 2.35:1 Aspect Ratio, all past attempts failed but this time the unit has locked out, and what did I find to my amazement, I can't reset to factory settings. therefore have you an instruction for me to resolve my current dilemma?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
16/06/2021


Hi Speedy,

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your player. Having
read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information to ensure we can help
you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Prima speler

BDP-S1700 06/06/2021 by CGdL

Ik heb deze speler moeten kopen omdat mijn oude Sony dvd speler niet meer aan was te sluiten op mijn nieuw gekochte Sony TV. Zoals alle Sony producten werkt de speler uitstekend en is een goede koop, omdat niet alleen Blue ray maar ook CD en DVD hiermee afgespeeld kunnen worden. Al met al een goede en goedkope oplossing om toch mijn oude DVD en CD te bekijken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

La verdad que muy bien

BDP-S1700 20/05/2021 by Cuchifarto

Estamos muy contentos ...calidad genial y atención al cliente perfecta

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Reproductor de DVD

BDP-S1700 19/05/2021 by La vieja escuela

Pequeño, compacto y hace lo que dice. Un producto adecuado.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Nicht besonders.

BDP-S1700 03/05/2021 by BDP S1700

Hallo. Es geht um das Abspielen von (BLU-RAY Disc) tut mir leid, Das Gerät Spielt nicht alle B-r ab. Ich habe mir Ihr Gerät gekauft, weil mir gesagt würde, ich hätte damit keine Probleme, da jede B-r damit angesehen werden kann. Leider ein großer "FEHLER" ;" Die Geschichte der Fliegerei" wird nicht abgespielt. Im Internet wird diese Blu-ray, sehr als gutes Beispiel genannt, ob ein B-r es lesen kann, oder nicht. Dieses Gerät kann es leider nicht. Diese Disc mit der Zusatz Bezeichnung "100 Jahre Luftfahrt" 8 Stunden VERSION kann nicht abgespielt werden! Warum NICHT??? Mfg. L.D.Zim. P.S.: geht nicht wegen des Uhrhebers Recht.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Mooi klein apparaat

BDP-S1700 02/05/2021 by qq317119

Ben er tot nog toe zeer tevreden over. Makkelijk te installeren

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Well Pleased

BDP-S1700 26/04/2021 by MSCMLA

I purchased this item on impulse to allow me to watch some movies that aren't available online, there is something very satisfying about the process of selecting loading and watching via this means.... i also found that i managed without thinking to avoid channel hopping, which I tend to do, this was an unexpected benefit. I had a little difficulty in connecting the device to my broadband router.. but it was rectified within a few moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Leises gerät mit guter Bildqualität

BDP-S1700 26/04/2021 by Redwalkingdevilmachine

Für 75 Euro absolut überzeugendes Gerät. Sehr leise im betrieb, brauchbarer dynamikbegrenzer für Audio

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Toll

BDP-S1700 17/04/2021 by Stephan Bolz

Alles super keinen Sekunde bereut kamn ich nur entfallen

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Bello

BDP-S1700 15/04/2021 by Epifan

La TV è veramente bella. I colori sono caldi e le immagini a mio parere ottime. Se proprio devo trovare un difetto, ritengo la risposta del telecomando un po lenta. Anche l'audio non spacca ma è più che buono. Se si vuole godere di effetti sonori particolari, allora si deve ricorrere a una soud bar.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

zoveel mogelijkheden voor een kleine prijs

BDP-S1700 13/04/2021 by Frans de Bie

Vorige week voor onze kids de Sony BDP-S1700 DVD speler gekocht. Wij hebben voor dit product gekozen om niet alleen DVD's af te spelen, maar ook om Netflix en Youtube te bekijken. Deze dvd speler maakt in een hand omdraai van je oudere LED televisie een smarttelevisie. Makkelijk te installeren en op internet aan te sluiten.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Mooi compact.

BDP-S1700 11/04/2021 by ad71

Mooi compacte Blu-ray Disc/DVD speler met voor mij genoeg mogelijkheden, éénvoudige installatie via online installatie menu. Prima prijs/kwaliteit verhouding.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Conforme aux attentes

BDP-S1700 07/04/2021 by JakoNako

J'ai ce lecteur depuis moins d'une semaine, il correspond à ce que j'attendais pour l'instant. simplicité et prix attractif.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Répond exactement aux attentes

BDP-S1700 27/03/2021 by Pse4

Lecteur facile d'utilisation avec une belle image, et connection au réseau très facile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Miskoop

BDP-S1700 10/02/2021 by Waterbuffel

Vorige maand gekocht maar speel geen muziek af zou alle bestanden af Moeten spelen ziet de mappen niet

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Verrassend veelzijdig

BDP-S1700 08/02/2021 by Bart 57

Veel speler voor mooi prijsje en speelt tot nu toe alles, ook zelfgebrande DVD en BluRay. Ook handig: met de reeds uitgebreide afstandsbediening is ook een Sony TV te bedienen en deels ook andersom, maar ééntje nodig dus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Easy setup

BDP-S1700 06/02/2021 by Rog57

Very easy to set up the player. Good picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Waardeloos

BDP-S1700 23/01/2021

Hoe kan ik nieuwe apps installeren? Duidelijkheid kennen jullie niet Jullie

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

fonctionnement intelligent

BDP-S1700 21/01/2021 by paugd79

bon produite que je viens d'acquérir ce lecteur et il est facile de fonctionnement ,mais il manque de connexion ( audio: rca par exemple) alors je ne sais pas comment connecter un ampli audio

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

facile d'emploi

BDP-S1700 17/01/2021 by danant

J'ai acheté ce produit compte tenu de ces dimensions . Installation et usage facile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Excellent

BDP-S1700 16/01/2021 by Juwhitby

Great little box, lovely picture, revives our oldish dvds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ne li plus les BD et DVD pour 20 utlisation maxi

BDP-S1700 01/01/2021 by Drakar

J'ai acheter ce lecteur il y à un an et après une utilisation de moins de 20 fois, il ne lit plus aucun BD ou DVD. messages: ce système ne prend pas en charge les couleur ou ne lis pas ce disque ou insérer un disque

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Easy to use and picture quality is exceptional

BDP-S1700 24/12/2020 by Ywurrie

Easy to use and picture quality is exceptional, an excellent buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tolles Gerät mit Extras

BDP-S1700 19/12/2020

Vor einem halben Jahr gekauft und nicht bereut. Jeder Zeit zu empfehlen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Compattezza e qualità

BDP-S1700 05/12/2020 by Ilnervo

Molto compatto e funzionale, utilissimo per chi ha poco spazio

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Easy to use

BDP-S1700 26/11/2020 by Andysandy

This compliments my new Sony TV and Sony Sound Bar. Well pleased!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfection !

BDPS1700 25/11/2020 by Pug Master

This machine is perfect for all your dvd, blu ray and mp4 movies ! The remote is super simple and i absolutlety love it !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does not stay on

BDP-S1700 10/11/2020 by OB43

PURCHASED AUGUST 7 2020 THE MACHINE DOES NOT WORK 1

0

0

0

Super fonctionnalités, surtout si...

BDP-S1700 31/10/2020

Super fonctionnalités, surtout si... vous possédez une TV SONY

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Simpele bediening géén poespas

BDP-S1700 03/10/2020 by MySony03

Uitstekend product en een eenvoudig gebruikers gemak .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Some good features

BDPS1700 02/10/2020 by but no

I have 2 questions on how to get at two features and I cannot complete the registration as your software says the postal code is incorrect which it is not. It is K0G 1A0

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Disappointing

BDP-S1700 06/09/2020 by Rrox77

Will only play Blu-Ray DVD’s. Any regular DVD I’ve tried to play will skip, freeze, picture and volume will cut out. The advert clearly states that the player is able to play both, but that is obviously not the case. Plays Blu-Rays without issue, at least so far, but what’s the point when it can’t play both? And yet it is supposed to. I own far more DVDs than I do Blu Rays and I find this purchase a total disappointing purchase.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Tres bien , simple à installer, fait le Job

BDP-S1700 22/07/2020 by Emmanuel14

recherchais un lecteur simple ca correspond . Supporte presque tous les formats PC

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

mooie speler voor weinig geld

BDP-S1700 14/07/2020 by RONALD1961

Na diverse reviews aangeschaft en zeer tevreden. Het laden van de discussie geeft iets geluid maar niet hinderlijk verder erg blij mee

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

mooi product

BDP-S1700 07/07/2020 by HansBank

Mooi beeld weergave en diverse mogelijkheden via internet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Fijne speler

BDP-S1700 05/07/2020 by JoLiBe

Compact formaat, ben zeer tevreden over het gebruik.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

SUPER LECTEUR DVD

BDP-S1700 02/07/2020 by MICHOUO

JE VIENS D ACHETER CE LECTEUR ET JE SUIS TRES SATISFAIT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Klein und günstig

BDP-S1700 29/06/2020 by Marcisch

Versuche noch mich ein zu fuchsen . Versuche noch neue Apps hinzu zufügen. Ist etwas kompliziert.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

not reliable, but ok as a back up.

BDPS1700 09/06/2020 by Charl13

I bought this back in December 2019, as family christmas gift. we were hoping to play movies and use the youtube tv app, got excited when I saw tubitv on the screen as well. we found the playback of dvd's and blu-rays often cut out volume randomly. the you tube movies ALL stopped and went to next video before the last 10 minutes played. (you know the good part..) I played these same videos on my computer fine--no skippage or lag or volume disruption at all. the tubitv app was the same--skipped last 10-15 minutes of the program. urgh! Not happy, using my son's playstation to watch movies and got a HD cord to transfer from my computer to the tv.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony BDP-S1700 Blu-ray-Player

BDP-S1700 05/06/2020 by chrischu74

Ich war beim Auspacken überrascht, wie kompakt und handlich der Player ist! Der Anschluss des Gerätes war sehr simple. Die nachfolgende Installation war absolut intuitiv und wird auch Menschen ohne umfangreiches technisches Verständnis ohne Probleme gelingen. Die Bildqualität ist hervorragend. An der Front ist noch ein USB-Anschluss verbaut, was will man mehr? Für diese Preisklasse ein sehr gutes Gerät in Blu-ray Qualität, ich kann den Player nur weiterempfehlen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Ottimo prodotto

BDP-S1700 04/06/2020 by Paine

Ho utilizzato subito dopo l'acquisto questo prodotto e mi è risultato molto semplice da utilizzare e molto funzionale

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Ottimo prodotto

BDP-S1700 29/05/2020 by bryan2001

Qualità e prezzo accessibili, prodotto ottimo e di facile utilizzo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

einfache Bedienung

BDP-S1700 12/05/2020 by Manfredo42

Sehr kleines handliches Gerät, Super, habe es nicht bereut,es gekauft zu haben

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

top Gerät

BDP-S1700 22/04/2020 by Edi2017

vor 2 Tage gekauft,gerät soweit Top.Kleines mango: man kann keine neuen Apps hinzu fügen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

ne fonctionne pas ou très mal et quand il veut

BDP-S1700 04/04/2020 by iridium

dejà rapporté chez darty qui m'en à donner un autre mais qui ne fonctionne pas mieux; je suis déçu par sony qui fabriquait des produits de qualité;AVANT!!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

poor instructions; flimsy

BDP-S1700 01/04/2020 by delia6666

skips when watching movies; flimsy design; hard to understand instructions

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

TRES PRATIQUE

BDP-S1700 17/02/2020 by pgleblanc

Je viens d'acheter ce produit, il est trés facile d'emploi.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Great features

BDP-S1700 14/02/2020 by Mikey80

Only used six times to play DVDs and was satisfactory

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Tolle Bedienung

BDP-S1700 10/02/2020 by Wiechers

Es ist ein gutes Objekt um Blue-Rays abzuspielen und wiederzugeben!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Great pictures.

BDPS1700 30/01/2020 by Blackdanelover

I got this a few days ago & love it. Compact & easy to hook up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It had just what I required

BDP-S1700 17/01/2020 by I do not have one at all

I am very happy with the product. I was particularly after a Region free BlyRay player and this does it nicely

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super simple

BDP-S1700 05/01/2020 by christophec

J'ai acheter ce produit suite aux avis publiés sur le site " Sony " et franchement c'est réellement très simple à installer. ( malgré le fait que tout ce qui touche à électronique ne m'aime pas ! ou l'inverse !!! ) Superbe image avec mon téléviseur qui n'est pas un Sony mais un Philips désolé pour Sony. Convection sur Netflix ultra rapide.L’installer m'a pris moins de 10 mn. Bravo pour la simplicité de raccordement.Lecteur peu encombrant, compacte, design élégant, et pour finir très silencieux en fonctionnement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Hervorragend

BDP-S1700 29/12/2019

Vor 2 Tagen gekauft sehr zufrieden erfüllt meine Bedingungen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Bargain

BDP-S1700 27/12/2019 by Bob

Great item, I only needed the basic model but this is still full of useful features and a high spec.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Best fit for my needs

BDPS1700 20/12/2019 by MeNotU

Installed in minutes. Quality output. However, I really have no need for internet connection as by Sony HDTV already provides that.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

super

BDP-S1700 13/12/2019 by paulo78300

j'en suis content il est simple d'utilisation bon produit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Trés bon

BDP-S1700 12/12/2019 by ierdna

Je suis content mais la notice pourrait être plus claire

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

mooi compact

BDP-S1700 06/12/2019 by beka2

mooi compact.. eenvoudig te bedienen. goede kwaliteikt

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0