RRP

£550.00

(incl. VAT)
97

4.4 based on 97 customer reviews

59
25
6
4
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

98 Customer Reviews

0

Transparent sound and confusing interface

STR-DN1080 02/10/2019 by mirrormurr

After a week weighing back and forth, I decided to keep the DN1080, despite the fact that the interface is both slow and confusing, and there seem to be some HDMI-handshake issues plus some sync-problems mainly while it offers a clear and spacious sound, and fits our living-room good for both classical listening and movie-nights. Additionally, the possibility to connect via bluetooth (both ways) and the in-build chromecast functions are a bonus in connectivity. Only drawback is that Spotify-in-build has to be use with a premium-account.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great sound plenty of audio features

STR-DN1080 18/09/2019 by Stephen 72

Bought this to replace my Yamaha receiver that was getting on a bit.Im so glad I did excellent product with lots of great features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent AV Receiver at a great price

STR-DN1080 09/09/2019 by PACman63

Only had it 10 days but very pleased with its features and performance. Connected to Sony UBP-X700 UHD Blu-ray and LG OLED TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STR-DN1080 03/09/2019

Great product wonderful all round surrounding sound you feel like your in the theatre

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Read the specs carefully

STR-DN1080 30/08/2019 by Elrey79

Decent enough receiver, but not superb. Upscaling requires a 1080p/24 signal else it won't work, therefore what's the point?! So stuff like Sky boxes etc aren't compatible with the upscaling feature. The operating system is painfully slow to respond (just like Sony Android TV's). I had this receiver for a week before returning it and buying a Denon 3500H which is far better all round.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well specified but frustrating integration with TV

STR-DN1080 30/08/2019 by MusicManBaz

A well specified receiver with the latest features and good interface. Frustrated by the unpredictable sound field selection when used with other devices including a Sony TV - may resort to turning off HDMI CEC and letting a Harmony remote take charge. Be aware that the audio input sockets are shared with the relevant HDMI channels.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic sound and an introduction to Dolby Atmos

STR-DN1080 28/08/2019 by EastAngular

I've had this amp for over a year now and it continues to impress me with its audio performance. Plenty of inputs for HDMI connections from various devices and support for a 5.1.2 Atmos speaker configuration. Set up is easy, with the supplied mic allowing the amp to balance the speakers automatically, though you have complete manual control if you prefer. My only negative is the menu system, which is surprisingly slow, and the amp itself when you first turn it on can take a few seconds to deliver a picture to your TV. It's a minor grumble but I'd love it if Sony could sort that out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony AV Amp

STR-DN1080 27/08/2019 by March1

Great value and specification product. hope it lasts as long as every other Sony product I have ever brought. Only tiny down side is as with most amps. Tight space getting all the speaker wires connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Ease of set up

STR-DN1080 27/08/2019 by mrb2

The product seems to work well though the different settings are quite confusing.I have experienced loud base notes out of the subwoofer which are becoming annoying. I have yet to find a way of adjusting this

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Support team
29/08/2019

Hi mrb2,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review, and we recommend that you reset the system following the steps in this link: https://bit.ly/2PhMl55

If the issue remains, please use the details on the following link to contact us so we can help you further: http://bit.do/eQZGU

Sony support team



0

Impressive

STR-DN1080 20/07/2019 by Hovitose

This is the fourth AVR I’ve owned and the second Sony. I replaced a second Denon that I had. I’d read many positive reviews and decided to get one. It’s a powerful and capable AVR. The sound I’m getting is superb. Fills the room when watching movies. Most importantly for me is the sound quality when streaming music. My sources are either Apple Music or Tidal. The latter because of MQA quality. I’m extremely satisfied. And, ease of use is a significant factor. That is, the settings are straight forward and it was a breeze to set up initially. Choosing different sound settings is also easy. It does what you need it to do, simply and efficiently. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceeded expectations!

STR-DN1080 24/06/2019 by 2poc

My father has owned a Sony Amplifier since the late 1980's and It's still in amazing working order. With this in mind, I decided to buy this Amplifier (or receiver if you're American). I didn't really do much research into the product prior to buying (which in hindsight sounds a bit stupid) but one browse of the instruction manual is enough to see what this baby can do. Watch a YouTube review and buy. You won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

str-dn1080

STR-DN1080 21/06/2019 by top Hat

Excellent AV Receiver good sound so meny settings you will find one that suits you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid performer!

STR-DN1080 12/06/2019 by Ray82

Updated from Sony STR DA2400ES. Good solid performer with all the latest features and hardware to date

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice amp with some great features, but...

STR-DN1080 21/05/2019 by Naywa01

Purchased this recently through Amazon and overall am happy with this receiver (STR-DN1080). Sound quality is very good, obviously this is subjective, and it has plenty of useful features. But (bad English I know!) it does have a few flaws which Sony could/should fix with software, in summary: 1) You cannot set a default input. I have a Virgin Media STB and Sony Blu-ray attached using HDMI ARC connection to an LG UHD/HDR LED TV. The amp seems to insist on defaulting to Blu-ray, even when switching on using the TV remote and... 2) even after you’ve already switched it to the CAB/SAT input it then insists on showing you the receivers ‘home’ menu. This is a menu that has ‘watch’, ‘listen’, receiver setup sub-menu etc. Very annoying! 3) Randomly the receiver has a habit of switching itself back on again, after you’ve put the TV & amp into standby. I have yet to figure out any commonality as to when or why it does this So recommended for its overall quality and features, in context of the price, but you need to be aware of these flaws. If you search Sony forums you will find many users with the same issues on this and other models.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Love that sound

STR-DN1080 08/05/2019 by pipesflies

Bought this to replace my old and faulty Harmon Kardon. It was very easy to set up and the sound quality is very good with my 5.1 'Infinity' speaker system. I like the range of features and am still discovering extra ones. Not sure if I'll ever get away with adding any more speakers but I may try and sneak a couple in some time! This is a very good AVR and well worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony 1080Amp

STR-DN1080 10/04/2019 by Macduff

Bought the amp in September and have been delighted with the sound and many of its features. However three things are very disappointing. When initially setup the amp could be turned on via the ethernet, useful when getting Spotify to connect via Chromcast. However after a s/w update this functionality was removed and has not been reinstated. Secondly the amp does not support video over DLNA. Music, yes, but no video. Finally, the remote is a waste of plastic.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Slick design

STR-DN1080 02/04/2019 by Boveybutcher

My old Sony amp decided it was time to upgrade as it was 20 plus years old and had performed faultlessly over that time. My new STR-DN 1080 is a slick looking amp. With 7.1 Dolby Atmos and a range of connectivity options it was a must. It performs very well but I have noticed the centre channel sounds muffled and quiet on occasions and also the sound dips for a split second. It’s not constant but can be annoying. I have emailed my local store where I got it from and I’m awaiting a response. Will update review when I hear something.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Sound

STR-DN1080 25/03/2019 by Davros24

I have had this amp for about a fortnight now and have just finished all the wiring, and what a lot of wiring there is. A big design fault is the close proximity of the speaker terminals on the back of the amp, very fiddly. I found it quite easy to set up but mainly through trial and error, the instructions are not always that easy to follow and can be seemingly very contradictory. One thing puzzling me is how to balance the volume between the amp volume and the TV volume, so that when reverting to the TV speakers you are not deafened, still working on this. I hope there is a logical answer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent features and sound quality

STR-DN1080 20/03/2019 by jayemm090847

I bought this receiver as a replacement for an older model Pioneer which was giving good service, but was limited by the outdated HDMI only allowing 4K/Ultra HD passthrough at 30fps. I have 4 sources capable of frame rates higher than the Pioneer could handle, and my Samsung TV had insufficient inputs, so I looked for a receiver that would handle my requirements. Another must for me was DSD decoding via HDMI, as I enjoy SACDs from a Sony UHD disc player. Richer Sounds offered the STR-DN1080 at a fair price, and my research showed that it was well regarded, so I decided to try it. Installation was relatively easy, simplifying my previous arrangement. All sources were connected via HDMI and I used the TV's ARC for TV sound only . Everything worked immediately, and I used the automated speaker configuration program for my 4.1 setup. This was quick; after listening tests I decided that I wanted my subwoofer to be in use at all times, so manually set the speaker size to small and set a crossover frequency. I also set each input to Direct, as I did not wish the Sony to add any sound fields. After a couple of weeks' use I am still very pleased with the sound produced by the unit, which is slightly smoother than the previous unit in the treble, and slightly fuller in the lower midrange. Full justice is done to both pounding film tracks and delicate classical music. Assuming reliability is up to Sony's usual standard, I will be very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound quality

STR-DN1080 09/03/2019 by Bill54

This is a big heavy box. Set up was not as easy as it could be. It kept telling me that there was a problem with my high speakers. I don't have any. Rerunning the set up worked though and the result was phenomenal. I heard things on my music DVDs that I didn't know were picked up. Every mutter in the background can be heard. The best is that I can now hear speech on the TV with the background music where it should be, the background.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Quality

STR-DN1080 05/03/2019 by Allan32

After reading multiple reviews I decided the Sony 1080 was the one It is very easy to install and set up, and lots of control if you wish to manually set it up. The sound is great with punch, dynamism this is on my old speakers which i intend to update shortly. The inbuilt Chromecast is a audio only but works very well with google home or your mobile phone casting music. I have a Sky box,Video Chromecast and fire stick plugged into HDMI s all work fine. There are two things i think could be better one is the HDMI switching you have to go to the home menu to change to certain inputs and i would have liked a backlit remote. Apart from these it a great av amp value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb sound and looks, features let it down

STR-DN1080 28/02/2019 by Zak D

Had this for a few months now and the sound is brilliant. However, the following things let it down. The software is slow and clunky. My 10 year old yamaha was way faster. Takes too long switching between HDMI inputs. You can't change the passthrough input without turning the amp on. The dual HDMI ports can't work independently without losing arc capability. Even clone mode doesnt work easily. The google cast option only allows audio, why? The app is not well develop for controlling the dual HDMI ports. The remote is not great, no leds for use in the dark. The home button is slow to load the menu and cannot work transparently I.e. it cuts the current input, there is no small screen in the corner or anything. Dlna does not work well, and only suppprts audio files, really? Only the plus side, the sound controls have a good level of detail, speaker config and level settings are easy to set. Atmos sounds really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good sound but rubbish network features.

STR-DN1080 27/02/2019 by Dam099

Its lucky the sound quality is good on this as there a number of annoying issues with ARC and the Network features are absolutely rubbish. Pros Excellent sound quality Lots of inputs Atmos supported Cons App rarely connects to the AVR even when on and it cannot wake it from standby. The receiver is connected to my network and is reachable (it actually serves a web page for minimal configuration even in standby). Connecting to Bluetooth temporarily makes it reachable by app but go to skip a track or otherwise control again later and its dropped again ARC will not work unless HDMI control is on (eARC on or off makes no difference to this). Once HDMI control is on lots of random switches to non selected devices and/or the Home menu pops up. Makes it unusable with a Harmony remote so have to choose between ARC or reliable remote control. I changed from a Denon for this and on every count bar sound quality it is inferior.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

So far, so good!

STR-DN1080 23/02/2019 by Stuf

Very happy with this receiver so far, easy to setup with a Sony Smart TV. Only issue is the difficult to remove sticker on the front of the unit which blights the look some what.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful home theatre amp with easy(ish) set up

STR-DN1080 11/02/2019 by Deggsy

Happy to have trhis onboard - with Sky Q, Apple TV (4k) and Sony TV and blu ray plugged into it. Sound quality excellent - what you would expect, and set up was relatively easy. Two recommendations to Sony would be: In setup, once speakers identified, the software should select appropriate speaker recommendations - initially setting this up for a 5.2 set up was not as simple as it could be, and why can't the 4k output identify it has a 4k capable TV through eArc and then set inputs to 4k resolutions? Very minor groans for a great AV amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Good but not great

STR-DN1080 10/02/2019 by fredcat

Good: Sound is very good, everything seems focused and well placed. Set up very easy Spotify and sound Cromecast built in. Bad: Really cheap remote control Very plastic and will not control other hifi items Only Cromecast sound, no Cromecast video HDMI through-put only operates when in higher level (wattage) of standby and often confuses the unit. Unit sound great but there is not the level of customisation and control of older Sony units

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Buggy networking features

STR-DN1080 09/02/2019 by alxsj21

I bought this receiver one month ago and I am very disappointed by the buggy networking features. I am using wired network with the Android Qobuz/Sony music applications (mainly) and I am experiencing the following issues : - I cannot stream to the receiver after a receiver poweroff/on cycle. I have to set up wired network each time I want to use it, which is really annoying. - While streaming with Qobuz to the receiver (via Chromecast), the streaming is regularly paused without any known reason.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Customer support
13/02/2019

Hi,

We have read your review, and we recommend that you update the firmware version of the receiver following the steps in this link: https://bit.ly/2Eruzuo

If the issues remain, you can get in touch with us using this link: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

Great sound and features

STR-DN1080 31/01/2019 by Paulstdom

Bought it to replace a Yamaha amp I have had for twenty years and really impressed with the features, sound quality and easy to use remote and on screen set up

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, software buggy

STR-DN1080 16/01/2019 by Mash1

Although the sound of the AMP is amazing and the features are very good for the price it is I have found the software to be very buggy. Every time I turn the AMP off I have to wait ten seconds as it will always turn itself and the TV back on. I wait for this then turn it off again and it is usually fine after that. Often when I start watching TV on the Samsung smart TV I have it will start the Netflix program and within a few seconds it will stop the program and revert to the HOME screen. It also likes to default to the "game" mode quite often while I am watching TV or while I am on my PC that is attached to the Video 1 option.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

great av receiver

STR-DN1080 08/01/2019 by plugtops

Purchased this to replace my old onkyo and what a difference the sound is bang on the interface is very easy to use and easy to set up. The sound is brilliant Great av receiver

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

7.2 Channel Home Theater AV Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/01/2019 by Skiz

Good solid build, power and sound. only lacks abit more detail on when displaying input information (shows on Av but not tv gui)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Atmos AV Amp

STR-DN1080 23/12/2018 by IanJM

I bought my DN1080 as part of 4K upgrade to my old TV and surround sound system. I selected it due to the many reviews and best in class awards. I added 2 speakers for Atmos functionality. Setup was very easy and fast. Sound quality is excellent and Atmos does give an expanded sound field. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Most boxes ticked

STR-DN1080 22/12/2018 by newbee

Early days but so far mostly good except FM connection is disapointing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Faulty - so had to exchange for a new one

STR-DN1080 21/12/2018 by Neilski

Thought sub-woofer was not working so took it back to shop to test which was found to be OK. Kept checking all the settings on the amp but sub-woofer still would not work. Took amp back to test and confirmed it was the amp that was faulty. This was all very inconvenient as I don't live close to the retailer and the amp was swapped. I was also disappointed that it would not allow internet radio or Spotify etc.. without having to pay for a premium account.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Super amp

STR-DN1080 17/12/2018 by Audio G

Excellent quality product, very easy to set up even for a novice, all menus self explanatory. Both the sound and picture quality are superb. Even using atmos in a 5.1 system is fantastic, the sound is so precise yet immersing you in a sound bubble.Playing back hi quality audio gives new life to the music. Fully deserves it 5 star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Receiver that is rather special

STR-DN1080 11/12/2018 by Mart1080

I purchased the Sony STR DN1080 a month ago. As with most amplification; the item requires running in (48hrs) , as it can sound sterile straight out of the box. Spend some time setting up the Receiver with your source and speakers and you are then rewarded with a familiar Sony sound; a dynamic & enjoyable sound stage however, the DN1080 has additional qualities - the clarity & definition across its broad audio spectrum. Importantly, this injects a delightful sense of realism into Music and Cinema film. A serious choice for the heart of an entertainment system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great features

STR-DN1080 21/11/2018 by Karlos146

I brought this product about 3 weeks ago. The sounds is great. I also like the phantom speakers feature as well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent sound

STR-DN1080 21/11/2018 by cleo8101

Finally got hold of this AV receiver after months of admiring it online. I paired it with Sony XF90 TV and Bose acoustimass 10 speakers and the results are mind-blowing. The sound for both movies and music is superb and ease of use and setting up even easier. Installing the AV receiver speakers cables was a bit tricky but doable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Loving the simplicity

STR-DN1080 09/11/2018 by AB123

Followed reviews from What Hi-Fi magazine and couldn't be happier. Simple to set up and sound excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easey to set Up

STR-DN1080 19/10/2018 by Johngorlston

I have had the machine for a couple of weeks now, what can I say, hard to find fault very happy with it. Easy to set up, remote easy to read (no clutter just essential buttons) I think, however, a better warning there are 215 pages in the Help Manual. I would have selected back and front page printing had I know.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound and great features!

STR-DN1080 14/09/2018 by Prodigy Square

Upgraded from pioneer and this avr has better sound and features. Zone feature work well to. I’m having issues with some devises failing to use the ARC feature. When connected the AVR keeps going to the home screen and is totally unusable until the device is disconnected. I have now opted to connect the devise straight to the TV instead and all is well. However, Sony must deal with the issue as other users have reported having the same challenge.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great features and easy setup option

STR-DN1080 12/09/2018 by Network analyst

Bought this and a 4k blu ray player for my media room, it was chosen as it was an award winner and has the features and inputs I needed. Setup was easy and following the on screen instructions. So overall very pleased with the product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great AVR, but lacks compatibility.

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Fluorescent_Adolescent

I wish I had read more reviews about this AVR before... I have nothing to complain about the video or sound quality, it's just superb, Sony is always doing a great job. But Sony does have a dark past with compatibility, unless you have a Sony TV (which is not my case) you will have problems with ARC and HDMI Anynet+. Just so you know be prepared to deactivate the ARC and HDMI Control for your TV and Receiver if you don't want to have any glitches or lags with the video, apart from that , the AVR is everything you need. I have a PS4 Pro, a Sony UBP-x800 and a Samsung TV connected to the AVR, If It wasn't for the compatibility problems with the TV and the AVR, everything would be 100%, but I just deactivated the HDMI ARC and I am using a Digital Optical Cable to have the sound from the TV going to the Receiver. Apart from that I'm really happy with the product!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

sluggish, remote not working properly

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Maxi23

Basically a good product, easy to use user surface. Unfortunately very sluggish, takes a while to switch from the different 'home' options to another. Remote not very responsive either. Can't always use the shortcuts/ selecting input on the remote, need to go to the 'home ' to select the related input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Another great product.

STR-DN1080 21/08/2018 by GregC

I have been a Sony man all my life and bought this as an upgrade from my previous STR-DB780 and I am not disappointed. The setting up of the speakers with the microphone supplied was an absolute doddle, and the final result is superb, far better than my previous unit where distances etc. had to be put in manually. The clarity and range of the sound just has to be heard. Bluetooth receive and transmit was another feature that influenced my decision, and the ability to control the unit from my smartphone including playing music stored on my phone is a bonus. However.........I am also old enough to have a large vinyl collection and I was disappointed to find that there is no phono input as on my old unit. This means that I have had to invest in a preamp to enable my turntable to be used. I think this is a retrograde omission particularly as there is now a resurgence of vinyl.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Value for money, sound and pictures!

STR-DN1080 12/08/2018 by Jimny

Having had this receiver for a couple of months now (Aug '18) I can say it has achieved all my requirements. It plays !usic from my NAS, connects my TV box, disc player and TV together seemlessly and plugs into the network without fuss. The sound quality is excellent, as good if not better than higher priced boxes from a few years back. The picture pass through works fine and there are enough connections on the back to satisfy most peoples' needs. Looks good, sounds even better and you should shortlist this receiver at least. Only gripe is that the options on search for the NAS server are slow but by using the pad/phone app instead the problem goes away. No doubt better ones will appear in time but for now, this is the one you are looking for Obi-One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony amp

STR-DN1080 05/08/2018 by Daveto

Had the Sony str dn 1080 about 2 weeks and am still learning what it can do. So far it produces excellent sound which is the main reason for buying it, the other features I’m adding a bit at a time. The Bluetooth is the latest I’ve setup, it seems to me the sound is a bit flat but I’ve yet to try different settings on iPod. I am using it in a 5.1 setup. It is years ahead of what my previous amp could do and look forward to exploring other aspects of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Two stars only!

STR-DN1080 30/07/2018

Very disappointed with this. Firstly the positive is the sound is great but unfortunately the anynet feature does not work. I have a brand new arc compatible tv and a blue ray player and when anynet is set to on I could not see the amp menu on the tv so having researched a couple of blogs I switched anynet off and presto all devices worked fine but this meant I had to use an optical lead for sound. This is not bad as the optical is faster than arc and therefore lip sync is much better. Another disappointment is the amp menus take an age to appear on screen, it is really slow switching devices and I am not able to use the tv feature on the amp remote to switch the device to tv. To be fair to Sony they don’t guarantee this but having paired the remotes I was hoping with the new technology that would work but it doesn’t so you still have to juggle remotes and with the slow amp menu it is a pain. So sound is great but features are poor. I guess if you were using with a Sony tv it may be ok but with other brands you may get the same issues as me so do your homework before you buy and ask the retailer if these features will work with your equipment in advance. Trek.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

4

0

Best yet

STR-DN1080 28/07/2018 by Mick72

I bought this AV a month ago and now having been used for most types of broadcasts, I can say I am very pleased with the Audio quality across the range. In conjunction with my new Sony Oled TV and Sony 4K 800 Blu-ray player, the Dolby Atmos function is superb coming out of my Crystal Acoustic speakers. This AV truly enhances, movie sound tracks and music too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good all rounder

STR-DN1080 12/07/2018 by Odcrypt

The reason I bought this amp is that I seen great reviews and on the plus side it has Dolby vision through an update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fine build quality and state of the art technology

STR-DN1080 20/06/2018 by JJak

This AV receiver gives me the versatility of combining UHD Blu-ray and Sky with my UHD TV. Works flawlessly. Picture and Sound are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So pleased I chose this unit...

STR-DN1080 18/06/2018 by Streetly

Perfect unit for D-Atmos with Sky-Q and works and absolute treat. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable receiver

STR-DN1080 12/06/2018 by Bharat56

Bought in Feb 2018. Broken down 4 times since purchase and hav ego do repeated factory resets. Greta sound when it works

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Customer support
14/06/2018

Hi Bharat65,
Thank you for your feedback
We recommend getting in touch with our customer support to get help with this. You can find the contact details in this link: http://bit.ly/2oUrHPV (copy and paste the link into your web browser).

Sony support team.

0

Super purchase!

STR-DN1080 06/06/2018 by Delta4SJ

Found system a dream to set up. Auto-calibration identified a loose wire and saved me a lot of time. Sounds fantastic, a world of difference from my old Sony system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Virtual 7.2 surround a treat.

STR-DN1080 01/06/2018 by Maxigooner

All you would expect from a class AV Reciever with a nice trick up it’s sleeve. Also add a second sub for more texture to your thump.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and easy to set up

STR-DN1080 04/05/2018 by Zuli

This is my first ever AV receiver so can't compare to others, Thr build quality is second to none and setting it up was very easy all the speakers were calibrated automatically to give the best sound possible for your sitting position Everything was connected to the AV and worked great sync it with my Sony 4k tv and everything was done automatically

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/04/2018 by RB1978

I needed an upgrade once I had bought my first UHD tv, I had chosen one from the new Sony FX range and so I didn't want to pair it with a poor AV Receiver. The 1080 hasn't disappointed, great sound easy setup. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power house amplifier

STR-DN1080 17/04/2018 by Adam72

Amazing features, great build quality, easy to set up, lives up to the Sony brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Test the rest of your system

STR-DN1080 11/04/2018 by One1

Purchased a few weeks ago and now got attached components workig more satisfactory than previous receivers. Now able to stream wireless from laptop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/04/2018 by Andylkwb

Great sound, really happy with it, especially being able to listen to a large quantity of FLAC music files. Wish the built in Chromecast played videos and the USB music player showed album art. DAB would also have been nice. Not biggies or being negative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Committed Sony man.

STR-DN1080 05/04/2018 by BigonksDad

Bought because I have numerous Sony products that I wanted to tie together, so far worked OK, although haven't put it fully to test (no 4k TV connected as yet) the near future will probably see that sorted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good value for money

STR-DN1080 28/03/2018 by Brian A

Very good product especialy at the price paid, bought to replace another Sony AV reciever I have had for several years. I was a little apprehensive about buying at first as my old reciever cost treble the price and was very good, I need not have worried the 1080 did not let me down it's an excellent product and is a definite improvement can't fault it at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Receiver let down by poor software

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Paul60

Excellent receiver let down by poor front end software which is slow. Why you have to select Listen or Watch instead of the input. The home page takes ages to boot up and having directly selected the source the amp suddenly reverts to the Home page.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

7

3

0

Sony 7.2 4k

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Shiftykev78

Had for over 1 month and dammm it sounds awsome . Everything i was looking to run my home cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Some good some bad

STR-DN1080 09/03/2018 by Brianb426

Bought amp in January and found it easy to set up and worked well with Virgin TiVo v3 box for cable tv. However Virgin are currently upgrading their TiVo boxes here in the uk to v6 version for free at the moment and I have just spent 5 days establishing that this upgrade is incompatible with the amp and have had to go back to the previous version. Surprised that sony equipment is not working with uk's biggest cable tv suppliers gear! Regards Brian

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great Quality and Sound

STR-DN1080 04/03/2018 by Martinkelly93

Great connectivity, superb sound, many excellent features. Easy to use and configure. Ideal!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound for music

STR-DN1080 27/02/2018 by Sandyman

Forced into upgrade from yamaha 677 having acquired 4k tv. Pass thru problems proved too frustrating. Sony 1080 is a big step up-quality and depth of sound is excellent and i could not believe the difference listening to Spotify via connect. Only minor gripe is time lag for switching between inputs but overall i am delighted with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Sound Definition, Lacking Essential Basics

STR-DN1080 23/02/2018 by ZM76

I needed an AV receiver capable of 5.1 surround sound with the option to enable an Atmos setup in future and also to handle 4K sources with HDR and Dolby Vision support. I initially purchased a Yamaha RXV 683 AV Receiver, the menu and GUI system were nothing amazing but did the job, the HDMI CEC control worked perfectly with my LG OLED TV however the amp was lacking in definition especially at low volumes. I had read the What HiFi review for the Sony STR DN1080 and decided to return the Yamaha in favour of the Sony despite some of the negative user based reviews online. I can say the sound definition on the DN1080 is the best I have heard in ages, so the quality of the product is right up there. However what could be an amazing purchase is let down by some basic essential tech requirements. Firstly, the latest January 2018 update takes care of Dolby Vision passthrough which it didn't have initially. The AV receiver has a habit of randomly going over to the Home Menu screen which has plagues a lot of users. The other issue is that sometimes mid movie, you may want to check the input and output sound format just to ensure it is set correctly to say Dolby True HD or Dolby Atmos or DTS. Pressing the Display button on the remote control does not do this. This is an absolute basic requirement that I have seen on numerous AV receivers and I really don't understand why it doesn't work on the Sony STR DN1080. The only way I can manage to get somewhat a display is by switching channels or source then the sound format is briefly displayed on the AV Receiver visual display. This detracts from the general experience and am sure it would be a trivial firmware change to resolve this, not sure why it hasn't surfaced yet with a lot of others having raised the issue. I contacted LG recently to ask why the magic remote function which seems to take care of a lot of manufactures devices and allows them to be controlled by the LG OLED TV remote does not work at all for the Sony AV receiver. They got back to me to advise that Sony had not sent them the software information for the STR DN1080 and therefore they couldn't support it. There are reviews online that state the AV receiver takes a long time to output sound from the moment it is turned on, or when you switch source, this is generally exaggerated, I feel the it boots up quite quickly and also the delay isn't that bad at all when switching sources. The other issue is the menu system, it is more of a graphical interface than most other menu systems on other AV receivers and looks very impressive however there is a sluggish delay while the home menu screen is displayed and this varies and is not consistent. Its almost as if the processor on the AV receiver for handling the menu system is struggling. Summary: Great AV Receiver for sound quality and definition, really nice looking on screen menu system with intuitive setup, let down by niggly technical faults/issues that need acknowledgement or ETA to fix by Sony, if so I am sure there would be a much higher take up of this product as right now I understand how many people are put off by the lack of successful integration of this amp to a lot of setups.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

A tremendous upgrade

STR-DN1080 21/02/2018 by Marky Mark

Bought this to replace the STR-DN1060 I have had for a couple of years because this offer 4K HDR capability rather than the 4K only of the DN1060. I have been impressed by the fact that the sound quality and usability of the unit have now also significantly improved, especially the 'phantom back' speakers! Just now need to invest in a Dolby Atmos speaker system to get the full benefits!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound and ease of setup

STR-DN1080 14/02/2018 by Norfolkdan

Purchased last month to compliment Sony xe93 tv buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lacking inputs and flexibility of previous models

STR-DN1080 10/02/2018 by Ray999

This is my third Sony AV amplifier and will be my last I have a Sony TV less than a year old which has been a nightmare to sync to this AV unit despite having engineers out and speaking to Sony over the phone this problem has still not been resolved you need to use at least 3 remote controls to get the sound to work when I previous models all I did switch the TV on and you got surround sound or stereo or everyone's playing on the TV when it goes like this and is really good the problem is it doesn't work most of the time I would never buy another Sony product in my life

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

7

0

Great sound and picture

STR-DN1080 06/02/2018 by red man

I had a Sony surround sound system before I purchased this and was surprised how much better the new one is

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0