RRP

£429.00

(incl. VAT)
52

3.8 based on 52 customer reviews

21
14
7
4
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

52 Customer Reviews

0

fantastic sounds

BDV-N5200W 13/07/2019 by BillyMcK

bought this along with a new Sony smart TV , soI could get full advantage ,especially on movies and music .Its fairly easy to set upand boy does it make a noise !!! its amazing just how much more enjoyable every type of programme is with good sound like this kit produces .Although the wireless rear speakers are shown on opposite side of room , they work equally well behind the TV . To be honest Im still experimenting a bit . I had to work out that when you switch on each day , although the cinema sound also comes on ,you need to re link . It only takes a few seconds though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Looks good sounds good

BDV-N5200W 23/01/2019 by Aaaaarrrrggggghhhhh

Having owned a sony dvd player previously i was hoping this lived up to its predecessor, which im glad to say it does. Its finished in gloss black and fits my after sale dvd speaker stands perfectly. The sound and picture quality is fantastic its cleat and is more than loud enough for any room. The set up is simple and is usable straight from the box without faffing with settings. Well pleased with my purchase.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Really Good Product

BDV-N5200W 09/01/2019 by Al

I had a previous model Sony surround system which developed a fault (7 years old to be fair). I read numerous reviews about the 5200 with reservations about the remote control of the Blu Ray/DVD cover operation. I have to say, I have had no problems thus far and the sound quality is brilliant! Limited information provided on paper in the original packaging but the operating instructions etc are easily available on-line from Sony. I'm delighted with it!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

BDV-N5200W 08/01/2019 by gracjan

good product for this price ,sound and design ok

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Bluetooth Home cinema System

BDV-N5200W 14/12/2018 by River1

Works fine. Slow to start up. Sound has to warm up to hear it.

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer support
17/12/2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review, and we recommend updating the software version for the system following the steps in this link: https://bit.ly/2rJfXz2

Also, you can reset the system to the default settings following the steps on Page 63 of the following Manual: https://bit.ly/2uhq0y8

Sony support team

0

An excellent product

BDV-N5200W 02/12/2018 by archerman18

I bought this not only to improve tv sound but to play Bluray discs. It took me a little while to set up but now it's fully up and running and tv sound is a definite improvement. I have yet to try playing a Blu ray disc. I have only a few minor niggles. 1. Although there is a printed quick set up guide, a full manual has to be downloaded from the internet and this download covers severals models so it is easy to get confused. For example mention is made of balancing the speakers using a supplied microphone. But this only applies to models other than the BDV-N5200W as there is no supplied microphone or an input socket to plug it in. 2. The two front speakers are on the tall side and therefore have to be placed each side of the tv. In my case I have had to use speaker stands as my 43" tv almost overhangs the cabinet on which it stands. Also the height of the centre speaker is such that it obscures the remote control sensors of my non Sony tv. 3. Personally it has taken me a while to get used to finding the right function on the On Screen Display. Overall however, I am very please with the performance of the system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not good

BDV-N5200W 24/09/2018 by Oliver04

Bought 2 weeks ago and still not working as it should. Sound quality is good but speaker cablkes are as usual with Sony far too short. The system will not link to the TV as it shouls and as previous Sony surround sound system did. 2 weeks working with Customer Support has so far failed to resolve the issue. Not impressed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

nice look and finish

BDV-N5200W 17/09/2018 by Seniorsupervisor

i have now got the speakers on the walls ..having to wait for extra speaker leads.......great sound and the extras on the SEN button are fab.....the sound from playing 4K discs are out of this world with the 9-1 cinema style sounds....also the football button feels like you are in the stadium.................easy to use buttons but i printed out the pages from Sony as easier to explore extras from it written down..........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Home Theater

BDV-N5200W 09/08/2018 by Alv1947

Brought this approx a month ago and its brilliant the sound quality is superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seround sound

BDV-N5200W 21/06/2018 by John648

Rey happy with my purchase very good system would recommend it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Sound System

BDV-N5200W 19/06/2018 by geordie1000

I bought this to replace an LG product from 2003! It was harder to set up, much quieter than expected with poorer sound quality. The "wireless" rear speakers require a mains supplied satellite amp.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Not as good as you would think for a Sony product

BDV-N5200W 13/05/2018 by Scanners56

Very dissatisfied with this 1 not as loud/powerful as advertised ( my old Sony 361 is far louder 2 doesn't upscale normal DVD in fact it makes them look like pirate copies

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

Response From Customer Support
15/05/2018

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

This system can upscale to near a 4K resolution. You can select the suitable screen settings as mentioned and explained on pages 56-57 in the user manual in this link: https://bit.ly/2uhq0y8 (Copy and paste the link into your browser).

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

Great sound

BDV-N5200W 09/05/2018 by Gilbe

Bought this given it had been given Best Buy status by Which. I agree with their report including being disappointed by the digital only version of the manual. Also the rear speakers aren’t really wireless but connect by wires to a shared amp. You might also have to buy a cable or two.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quality system

BDV-N5200W 16/04/2018 by Andy188

Re4cently bought to replace an older but very good cinema system and overall v pleased with sound quality volume and dvd/bluray. especially playing thru new Bravia TV . Only minor niggle - shame the wired front speakers (and the wiring on wireless rear pair) was not sealed into unit / using Sony own connector as want to run under floorboard around fireplace - only option appears to be to cut the wire potentially invalidating any warranty. Also on instructions great if they included guide on how to daisychain a skybox TV and Sound system together as all info only really talks about TV/System not Satellite sound....... resorted to trial and error but sound switching currently lags

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to set up

BDV-N5200W 12/04/2018 by Rusty 47

So pleased I settled for this purchase.Easy to set up.sound is pretty good too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

BDV-N5200W 30/03/2018 by Nick97

I bought this about 5 weeks ago as I wanted surround sound in my newly designed front room

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

worthless to me

BDV-N5200W 09/02/2018 by no nickname what a dumb r

I cannot play my DVDs and DVD Sets so the system - whilst good sound and what I want is basically useless and a waste of my money

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Does the job perfectly!

BDV-N5200W 03/02/2018 by DoItDreckly

Bought a new Sony Bravia TV, unfortunately our old Panasonic Home Theatre couldn't connect to it so bought a Sony Sound Bar, (DO NOT bother with sound bars, terrible sound after having a Home Theatre with surround sound!), so bought this Sony Home Cinema system, set up is easy, sound is wonderful. The only problem was with the speaker wires being too short, (I like to run them in conduit to the 4 corners of the room, and our room is only small) unfortunately Sony do not make extension wires for them, (why not Sony?) so I had to cut and join, easy but I really did not want to on a new system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Needs an update

BDV-N5200W 27/01/2018

Ive had this for a while now and its very slow switching from surround sound to dvd

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Excellent sound but temperamental!

BDV-N5200W 26/01/2018 by NigeH

Bought this about a year ago and whilst the sound quality is excellent, it often misbehaves and needs switching off and on at the socket. Setup was very easy and the wireless link to the (wired) rear speakers works a treat. More recently, it often either does not come on when the TV is turned on or doesn’t switch off! The TV that it is linked to is also a Sony so I thought they would be totally compatible! Last week, it refused to come on at all! I changed the fuse but no difference - the original one tested ok anyway! Left it til later in the day and it turned on fine and is still ok! Contacted Sony Support and they suggested that I send the unit to a repair centre - it’s still under warranty, just! They also stated that if no fault was found I would be liable for charges which I feel is wrong for something with an intermittent fault! Time will tell!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Sony - Blu-ray Home Cinema System with Bluetooth

BDV-N5200W 09/01/2018 by Geoffers3

My ONLY grumble is the amount of time it takes to come out of "mute" when I first switch it on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

BDV-N 5200W

BDV-N5200W 14/11/2017

I bought this item in September as a replacement for an older LG system. Sound quality is outstanding, and the smart features are fully loaded. NFC and Bluetooth are a very handy addition for streaming from my Sony phone and the design is gorgeous.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simples!

BDV-N5200W 04/11/2017 by midsomerjambo

Very easy to set up with pretty much everything working out of the box. Connected with no problems to my PC-based media server (Mezzmo). Sound quality is excellent with several preset sound profiles.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning product

BDV-N5200W 09/10/2017 by Pedwardy

Stylish design and the sound is well balanced and crystal clear.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

Decent Home Cinema System

BDV-N5200W 02/10/2017 by MS51

This system was easy to set up, and worked straight of the box in terms of playing blu ray discs. It also performs well in playing 5.1 surround music discs. Setting up the link to a wireless router was a little less intuitive, but works fine once the penny dropped. So easy access to the BBC iPlayer. However, I've yet to work out how to get TV sound through the surround sound speakers. This appears to be possible according to the manual, but it's not happening for me as yet. This makes it difficult to assess the sound field options, e.g. for sports stadium. There is access to a whole bunch of foreign TV programmes, which seems pointless unless you are multilingual. Also some odd options such as Green.TV, which gives access to some niche videos ("How to make National Trust Salmon Salad" anyone?) and Opera TV. Internet access is as clunky as usual. But in terms of doing the basics of playing blu ray discs with sharp video and decent surround sound.it's fine. Now if I can just figure out how to get TV sound through th speakers...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Home cinema System

BDV-N5200W 25/08/2017 by Podger46

Bought this after my old Sony surround sound final bit the dust, absolutely made up with this new system, I,ve linked it to a new Sony 4K TV and the sound and picture quality are brilliant, I made the right decision buy this. Would definitely recommend this system to others.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good home cinema but no user manual

BDV-N5200W 28/01/2017 by tonyhdinosaur

having to go online to fault find is a pain, there should be a hard manual

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

6

0

great features

BDV-N5200W 20/12/2016 by mkman35

i brought two week and its well worth buying it and using it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Buggy faulty system

BDV-N5200W 15/12/2016 by Dellboy51

had problems after a few weeks, wont switch hdmi correctly no sound, constantly resetting, frightened to switch it off, an expensive nightmare.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

3

0

Not recommended

BDV-N5200W 23/11/2016 by thorny138

I read reviews about this unit and unfortunately I did not heed them. This bluray home cinema started freezing and being unresponsive almost immediately. I would not recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

9

0

0

Well featured, but flawed

BDV-N5200W 28/10/2016 by Martin_W

Had this a couple of months now, and I'm really impressed with the quality of the sound, the breadth of features and the unit's dashing good looks. The unit is not without its weaknesses, though. I use it married to a Samsung smart TV and a Sky+ HD satellite receiver, with the Sky box as its main input. The surround sound doesn't seem to like having nothing plugged into the RF input, and randomly switches itself from HDMI1 to TV on start up, or after a couple of minutes. It's only a minor irritation really, as a couple of presses on the Sky button on the Sky remote will kick the surround sound out of its daydream and back into the correct HDMI input. Hopefully a future firmware update will correct this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Really impressed

BDV-N5200W 25/08/2016 by Jeff128

Very pleased I bought this system. It was easy to set up but you must read the instructions to appreciate all the features. Sound quality is excellent considering this is not the most expensive in the range.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good product - when it worked!

BDV-N5200W 23/04/2016 by ArDee

We were very impressed with this when we got it. Surround sound was very good and even sound from TV was much better. Menu is familiar due to previous Sony products. Main problem was when playing video from Amazon Prime. The unit would freeze during almost everything that we watched and would not respond to the remote control and required unplugging at the mains and being left for some time before being switched on again. Less than a month after getting it, it switched itself off whilst watching Amazon and, although power was getting to the unit, it did not respond to the remote control or any of the buttons on the unit. Disappointed at having to return the unit as we were impressed with the sound when it worked but very disappointed that it failed in less than a month and the continuing problems when trying to watch Amazon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

4

0

Good looks, great sound

BDV-N5200W 23/02/2016

My old Sony set-up packed up after some 15 years, so I looked for a replacement. I really did examine several makes before deciding to stay with Sony. The box arrived on a Saturday morning. As I opened up I then remembered some reports that the instructions were not very thorough. I soon found out that there was really no need for anything more to get it working. It's great having the wireless arrangement for the rear speakers, saves a lot of wiring. I have since printed out the full instructions and found them useful to get to know the structure of the software. I now have my old smartphone on Bluetooth to play both online stations, and downloaded music, and the BT Box goig through the Sony. The sound is great, including the bass, and I love playing with the various sound arrangements.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Not so happy

BDV-N5200W 01/01/2016 by Dudeizm

I bought this product a month a go for Christmas. Product sounds good when it works. I have to continuously keep unplugging the product to reboot so i can get the menu "home menu" to show up and even when it does, The signals dont come through for the product to work correctly at times. So disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

5

0

Blu-ray cinema system

BDV-N5200W 22/11/2015 by hobart750

glad I bought this it dose what it says and more...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not bad

BDV-N5200W 07/10/2015 by Andi W

I bought this a month ago, only dissapointment is that it does not work with Songpal app. Waiting for Sony to get back to me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good looking, nice design

BDV-N5200W 01/10/2015 by StuPat

Had this about three weeks now. Easy to fit up but had to download the full manual to get the best out of all the features. The surround sound is really good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Ease of set up , wireless rear speaker set

BDV-N5200W 11/09/2015 by Digger 27

Found it at right price - might be last years model but ticked all the boxes required including potential for 4k upgrade. Easy to set up and quite intuitive in its interface .Radio/wireless rear speaker pair was a must to assist in establishing the full surround sound. Number of pre-set sound modes which are handy if like concerts /music arena playbacks off YOUTUBE and the like. Good sound but might improve if used better cables but that needs proving if go by hifi enthusiasts - slight lack of bass notes from front pair/mid.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Disappointed

BDV-N5200W 01/09/2015 by melwar

I bought it about 6 weeks ago and I'm left very disappointed because I can't get PlayStation movies on it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Good sound although poor on surround sound effects

BDV-N5200W 18/06/2015 by Vorlon

I found it easy to set up. Shame no manual, as still like to print out from internet so not saving trees just saving Sony the printing money. Sound is quite nice but lacking on Surround Sound effects ie very little sound from rear speakers. And I have set them up properly. Picture on blue-ray is good but when playing DVD the colour is all washed out. Looks rubbish when playing DVD's. My old Panasonic DVD player is 10 years old and has superior picture quality.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Pretty good features

BDV-N5200W 11/06/2015 by John3

Makes our TV viewing that much better. ans it is clever how it switches on when we switch on the Tv or recorder.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Loud and Proud!!!

BDV-N5200W 22/05/2015 by TheTruth

I have just purchased this "Mean Machine!" after the trusted advice from Stuff Magazine! With these guys you cant go wrong!! Its neat its sexy its perfect for the home and Yes it will wake up the neighbours!This machine will do many things and it will play more types of files than the XBOX which I was totally impressed with!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Disappointing

BDV-N5200W 21/05/2015 by Booroger

After my old Sony Theatre System which packed up on me after 6 years, I replaced it with this system and whilst it looks good, it's such a disappointment

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Good surround sound

BDV-N5200W 08/04/2015 by healeykid

I bought the DVD player together with a Sony Bravia TV. Individulally they are great but integration is a problem. If I put TV sound through the surround sound on a normal channel, I get both picture and sound. If I then switch to a HD channel,I loose the picture. In addition, if I activate the DVD player whilst the TV is on, I have to manually switch the TV to the DVD player rather than this happening automatically. This maybe sue to an incorrect setting somewhere but if it is, I can't find it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic sound

BDV-N5200W 05/03/2015 by Zimmer

Toyed with surround sound or sound bar and so glad I went for this. The sound is incredible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

did not work

BDV-N5200W 21/01/2015 by keefmay

first one i bought did not have sound, the replacement worked fine until i was instructed to update the software after that it never worked again

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

Sounds good

BDV-N5200W 18/01/2015 by Plural Z Alpha

Overall a good system, but lacking in some settings, for example there doesn't not appear to be a graphic equaliser

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very pleased

BDV-N5200W 03/01/2015 by RichAv

Took me a while to fully set up as I had a problem connecting to the internet for smart features. Now that I have done that I'm very pleased with it. Picture quality is excellent as is the sound for most things. The only problem I'm having with the sound is that for studio programs like the news, I would like an easy way to get 3 channel sound without having to go into the menus. I have ended up using cinema mode with all speakers active, which means the back speakers just have a very low level of noise coming from them. The problem with the internet I fixed by manually entering a different IP address( found solution on Sony forum after searching on google). Also plays back my Hd holiday recordings off a hard disk with no bother where as the media player I had before sometimes struggled.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

sony blu ray cinema system

BDV-N5200W 11/12/2014 by pidd

Very good realy happy with it only thing is no display on screen

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sony BDV 5200w

BDV-N5200W 13/10/2014 by RV1409

After having 2 other 5.1 home cinema sets and 2 soundbars is this my best buy ever. I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Elegant 4K Blu-ray and a very capable Home Cinema

BDV-N5200W 11/10/2014 by Namenick

After much research within the Sony range, I eventially settled for this system. I wanted a system that would not only look good, but to sound good without to much complexity in the initial setup. This has certainly done that with ease. The Blu-Ray is so elegant, with I top sliding power lid to load the Dvd's.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

25