Starting at

RRP

£249.00

(incl. VAT)
47

3.9 based on 47 customer reviews

22
14
3
1
7
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

47 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Good

Body + Waterproof Case 25/08/2019 by Ahoj Majsa

Good experience but expensive for that kind of thing.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little cam

Body + Waterproof Case 05/07/2017 by Gsx1400uk

It does all I can ask for an action cam To do It gets a hard life on top of my crossbow doing 3D shoots most week ends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Useless

Body + Waterproof Case 22/04/2017 by VanillaGorilla

Received the Sony Action Cam as a gift and have only been disappointed. The pack came with the wearable live view remote kit, adjustable dog harness and various mounts all of which are useless. The camera won't save video despite the 32gb microSD, the live view remote has a pitiful range of less than 3m which is reduced even more if there is any obstructions. The wifi range of the camera is exactly the same. The dog harness fell off every single time it was used on either dog, large and small. However there is a positive note - the adhesive base on the mount is pretty strong, it can be removed from whatever surface it is placed on but not without some effort.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

Tiny size. Great picture quality.

Body + Waterproof Case 07/04/2017 by Herbalrich

Bought as a cycle safety camera. Picture quality is great but battery only lasts 1HR. The size is perfect but mounting options are not great so have made my own mount with dual lock Velcro.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

compact size

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 27/01/2017 by Deme

its compact and light, picture quality is very good although its not 4K, would have been better if it had a HDMI socket. I got the one with live view which i thought was a bit cumbersome, but one i was wearing it i soon forgot about it. the mounting system is good but again i thought it was a bit big compared to the size of all the Sony action cams and compared to other brands. overall I do like it and think its a great bit of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good picture quality

Body + Waterproof Case 09/01/2017 by Sc00by

Not had a real chance to test to the max but so far so good! Picture quality is good as is the sound capture. Battery life is poor as is the lack of a screen meaning a phone or tablet is required! But then in return the camera is tiny and has some great features! Overall a great compact camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So small but brilliant pictures

Body + Waterproof Case 24/12/2016 by DMacDMac

I use as a head cam to to work on my bicycle. I forget it's on my head

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 07/06/2016 by Jusam

Light and small, can be hold in hand or stativs. Handheld control unit makes use simpel and easy.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

Body + Waterproof Case 05/05/2016 by Davidoo

Very happy with it, connects easy to your mobile delivers great pictures/videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body + Waterproof Case 18/04/2016 by R08mky

Been looking at the Sony cameras for a while, seen a good deal on the mini one(albeit without the remote) so bought it. It's so small and light, fits on the underside of my full face helmet so well. The video quality is superb and the play memories app works well to stream and save straight to my phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD CAMERA - POOR SOFTWARE

Body + Waterproof Case 05/04/2016

I bought this thinking it would be good for capturing tennis games with my family. The camera does well but I'm really disappointed with the poor quality app from Sony. Live streaming is almost impossible for some reason (the biggest reason for its purchase). What Sony promote isn't as easily achieved as you come to realise. Haven't used it for 3 months, just sat in a draw doing nothing. Thoroughly disappointed with the experience. The live streaming would have given other family members a chance to see how well our children's tennis games are improving and watch them play from many miles away. I hope you can fix this.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great easy to use action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 24/03/2016 by Tolosan

I bought this to video my motor cycle ride outs, it is a small compact camera easy to set up and use and has a great smart phone app to apply the settings. The quality of the film is first class, also use this in my car a a dash cam and again the quality of the film is first class.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Action Cam

Body + Waterproof Case 14/03/2016 by Gypsy Jon

Extremely small but powerful, easy to use and totally user friendly

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

really great piece of equipment

Body + Waterproof Case 29/02/2016 by Eamonn6907

i brought the action cam to replace my older version. i take it overtime I ski, video quality is great, and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

left feeling a little dissapointed

Body + Waterproof Case 24/02/2016

received as a gift (promo purchase with mobile ophone) relatively easy set up though editing software from Sony felt a bit basic. Accessories - eg helmet mount had no adjustment, adhesive pads on mount we=rent as flexible as those on competitor (eg gopro) resorted to using an after market stick. Actual picture quality was good though not quite as vibrant as the gopro i didn't think. This is a reasonably cheap alternative to a go pro so is worth considering but I felt accessories let it down. If using wifi to phone or remote - this seemd to eat battery life Had to repeatedly re insert memory card when snowboarding as seemed that relatively minor jolts caused it to unseat

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great, versatile little camera

Body + Waterproof Case 12/02/2016 by StretchArmstrong

The size of this camera makes it great for time lapse projects where you don't want subjects noticing the camera. The video quality although not as good as some other action cams is perfectly usable and the phone app is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

What a package!

Body + Waterproof Case 21/01/2016 by BionicBenjy

Wifi connection is great - see what you record. Cheapest 120fps quality video camera I have found so far - and rather tough as its already taken a bashing and still working fine! Super easy to use by anyone whether they are a wizz kid or a technophobe. Doubles as a remote camera for monitoring something - in my case a secretive animal that wont perform with a human audience!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality.

Body + Waterproof Case 09/01/2016

This was a surprise Christmas present for me. The camera comes with very basic, hard copy instruction manuals and I found it difficult to connect the camera to my phone as I do not have the additional Remote Monitor. I am not at all familiar with any movie making software, so I cannot say if the Sony PlayMemoriesMobile and Action Cam software are any good yet. What I can say for certain is that I would have liked to have received a more robust, mounting method for the camera. The camera clips snugly onto the base plate but that is expected to secure onto my contoured, cycle helmet adequately with just a sticky pad. A pair of reusable cable-ties would have been nice.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

everifing works perfekt

Body + Waterproof Case 06/01/2016 by deimantas

now im uzing this camera an my atv,autdor is -22 and the camera works perfect the video i didnt place in yutube,i gona make sam videos for u on saturday and sendet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + Waterproof Case 31/12/2015

Very good quality of video and pictures, not the best though. The shape of the device really helps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent product

Body + Waterproof Case 23/12/2015 by Rauls

good images in different lighting conditions , a good optical balance , i uses it in sports , excellent service, maintenance and repair ! supper !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camera

Body + Waterproof Case 23/12/2015 by psymon71

Only downside is you can't link it to a windows ph

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great device

Body + Waterproof Case 29/11/2015 by Rmguk

Works well would recommend this product to a friend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice piece of kit

Body + Waterproof Case 03/11/2015 by Codhead

I got this with my new phone have used it once to record casting teqnique over grass easy to use and transfer to my iPad results were average as am learning how best to use

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mounts are limited

Body + Waterproof Case 01/11/2015 by Chris D

Camera is compact, getting video to work on the software required a call to Sony helpdesk which they resolved. B careful that your Mobile phone supports NFC, or you won't be able to watch the video wirelessly on your phone, only via a usb lead.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

The best small action camera!

Body + Waterproof Case 09/10/2015 by paulotex

I needed an action camera to put on my helmet while motorcycling. I needed a small and light camera, but I also wanted good battery life and good image quality (1080p @ 50fps). This is the only camera that has all these features, with a caveat: the battery life isn't very good (I get 90min of 1080p @ 50fps with image stabilization on and wifi off), but it is replaceable. I am very happy with the camera and would buy it again! Here are my pro and cons about this camera: What I like: * 50/60 fps @ 1080p * light and small * replaceable battery * splash proof without case, water proof with case * image stabilization * image preview via mobile * configurable using the phone * time lapse * good low light performance * under £200 This is what it doesn't have, and how I got over it: * No external mic. That's ok, I never used it anyway. If I really needed it, I will have to record the sound on my mobile and then sync it. * Short battery life. 1h30 with 50/60 fps @ 1080p. But since the battery is replaceable, I bough an extra battery and a charger. * No GPS, no screen info. That's ok, I never used it anyway, and it saves battery. Configuration and preview are done using the mobile phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Underwear photography is useless

Body + Waterproof Case 05/10/2015 by doniluga

The picture underwater should be on the box, and then I wouldn't waste my money. Without the flat lense or dive door camera price should be 50% off

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

3

4

0

Simple to use great picture

Body + Waterproof Case 05/10/2015 by The great white Hawkins

I bought this to film skydiving and have only used it a couple of times. However, I found the picture quality and sound exceptional, the wireless monitor really good and being able to stop and start the record function via the monitor really useful. For me the down side is that to charge or access the files you need to take it out of the waterproof housing, and when this is attached to a heavy duty helmet mount, means you have to take it all apart and this in my opinion is the only thing I don't like. I haven't used the gps function to comment on that, but that is not really something I bought the camera for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sound and video very good, rest not so good.

Body + Waterproof Case 17/09/2015 by Fenny

I was given this as a present, and thought it was excellent. Sound and video recording very good. I use it for travelling to and from work, I have found that the battery has a life of about 1.5hrs. and today the card was full so I deleted the video clips now the camera will not except the card. The on/off button is very small and doesn't always seem to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Unfortunately, no good for motorcycling

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 18/08/2015 by harleyg98

I'd been undecided for months whether to go for a GoPro or one of the host of sports cams out there. I'm a big sony fan - there digital cameras are great products. Having mounted this on my helmet (in the waterproof case) I went out to test it. The first few frames were excellent – both video and audio, unfortunately as the bike gained speed, the audio became worse and worse - sounded like a rattlesnake. I took it back for an exchange - thinking it was a faulty model. Sadly, the replacement was just as bad. There isn't any 'padding' in the waterproof jacket so I can only assume that the camera vibrates against the case - resulting in the awful noise. If Sony could sort this issue out I'd happily try again. I'm confident the camera will perform well – as long as it's not placed in a situation where it vibrates – then it's a dog.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Bad picture quality vs good size!

Body + Waterproof Case 08/07/2015 by TheGG

Pros: Size!!! Design!!! Cons: Bad picture quality!!! (Photography)

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Awesome cam

Body + Waterproof Case 05/07/2015 by bigguns84

I bought this cam about a month ago it is a good cam dose everything i want it to, not jumpy due to the steady function on the cam good, sound quality in the case is good, my only problem is the editing software available it is not really up to pare with others but that is it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 22/06/2015 by GreggM

Product is great, battery lasts, real easy to setup and work. It does what is says on the box

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for hang gliding - nearly...

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 26/03/2015 by Hang glider pilot John

I need to mount a camera out on the wing, or on a boom in front of the aircraft wing. I need to start and stop recordings remotely so I can capture the interesting phases from a many hour flight (take off, landing, exciting landscapes, etc.) I need a wide field of view. Pros: Very small. Very light. Very wide angle. Good outdoor video quality. Remote recording start/stop. Con: There is no way to put the camera into a low power standby mode remotely. Even when not recording, the camera broadcasts live video over WiFi and there is no option to disable it. Max standby in this state not recording, is about 2 hours. If my flight is over 2 hours, I can't record the landing. Please SONY, add a low power standby feature in the next software release!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big things come in small packages

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 20/03/2015 by Westy117

Brilliant little camera that is extremely versatile, the live streaming feature is great and the picture quality rivals that of cameras twice its price range!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Camera that needs a few tweaks

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 16/03/2015 by Zorbal

Great except for a few (small) niggles - I would like the ability to power the camera from USB whilst in use and a lack of a hard lens protector - the curved front element is prone to being knocked. Otherwise the 50Mbps image is superb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Little Action Camera

Body + Waterproof Case 03/03/2015 by Ronski Torski

I bought this in January 2015. I have only used it once and found it great. It has good sound quality and film footage. It didn't come with manual so I have watched others using it and reviewing on youtube in order to use it. It would be helpful if Sony provided some helpful suggestions on what settings to put the camera on for didn't types of filming. The most surprising thing about this camera is how small and light it is. The water proof housing unit is handy although I see that other sony cameras have a new front cover which is square rather than round which I assume is an improvement but haven't see one available for this little camera yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

nice

Body + Waterproof Case 01/03/2015 by grimas25

Everything good, just not very comfortable to change controls not in camera but in remote control (video, pics, time-laps). I prefer to carry just camera without remote.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Total waste of Time and Money!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 12/01/2015 by David C

Unit and controller do not communicate at all. One shows it working the other does not take any video or still images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

Magic action camera!!!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 24/12/2014 by Ratis

Bought one month ago, excellent camera ,good quality!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent product!

Body + Waterproof Case 14/12/2014 by Euge

I have been extremely happy with this Action Cam from Sony. The product features and quality (image and sound) have exceeded my expectations! I have been using the cam for mainly mountain bike footage which I share with friends and family. The product has also received allot of interest from fellow mountain bikers! Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11/12/2014 by WildKnight

I own the HDR-AS15 Action Cam & the Action Cam Mini is a great evolution from that, good features & very light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very good video capture but GPS Overlay is broken

Body + Waterproof Case 19/11/2014 by Bike A Ride

I like this sony camera a lot, its small size does very good video and photos, but there is a problem with the camera the GPS Overlay Data for your videos does not work and sony does not seem to have a fix yet for this issue, which is a shame because this was one of the reasons I went for this model in the first place, so come on sony get this GPS problem fixed with firmware update or some other fix and you'll have one the very best action cameras you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Hello

Body + Waterproof Case 13/11/2014 by hewa

It not good coz if you damage your teass lenses you can't buying the don't have any part

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

18

0

SONY HDR AZ1VR

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 25/10/2014 by Chadster

What an awesome mini action cam. In my opinion it blows the gopro black 3+ out of the water. Very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony HDR-az1

Body + Waterproof Case 22/10/2014 by Charlie444

Three weeks in and it's a lovely product. The user guide and online help are pathetic it's taking me ages to work out how to use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Tiny little wonder

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 19/10/2014 by baron von cam

I purchased this as soon as it was available as also own the as30v and as100v both really good cameras but the size makes them a bit unwieldy when mounting on a motorcycle helmet. The Action Cam Mini address this issue and the image quality is just as good as the previous versions. Very happy with my new toy!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

9